B MyBankTracker Rating

TCF Bank Customer Reviews

(134 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 7
4 Star 3
3 Star 3
2 Star 2
1 Star 119

The Most Helpful TCF Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Wynder Aug 31, 2014

Excellent Service

Have had several accounts for over 10 years. I appreciate the hours on weekends, Sundays, and late days and they are always professional. The online banking works very well. They were the only bank in Chicago to give me an account when I moved here. I am extremely satisfied with my branch on Milwaukee and if necessary, the actual Bank is not too far away on Fullerton.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Steve3PO Dec 31, 2015

TCF Employee Mrs. Samantha Sanchez is a lying bank fraud accountant

TCF has an employee named Samantha Sanchez, who has lied to me about account fees and then proceeded to steal $2000 from my TCF Savings Account. I reported Mrs. Samantha Sanchez to the Maplewood TCF branch supervisors and the Region Manager for TCF. They did a two month investigation and believed the lies Mrs. Sanchez told them. I have had $2000 stolen from my Savings Account by Mrs. Samantha Sanchez, I have reported her to the TCF management and they say that they have no record of money being stolen from my Savings Account. I have documented TCF Account paperwork that says money was removed from my Savings Account by Mrs. Samantha Sanchez without my permission. The TCF management has dismissed my report and stopped the investigation because they believe that Mrs. Samantha Sanchez has not done anything wrong. I have closed both of my TCF Accounts and withdrew the last of my money. Don’t waste your time trying to bank any of your finances at any of the TCF Bank's branches. TCF Bank should be shut down and they should return all of the money that customers have in the TCF Bank accounts.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest TCF Bank Reviews

  •  
    M
    Reviewed By Mrsfreckles85 Feb 16, 2017

    Worst bank ever-pulling ALL of my money out

    I look at my account at 6 am. Overdrawn. Ok, no big deal. Put money in from savings. They proceed to charge me $37 overdraft fee. So, I call to see what can be done about. They "customer service rep" and I use that term very loosely, proceeds to tell me that nothing can be done because that fee processed at midnight. Are you up at midnight to check you balance? I mean, really. I proceed to tell her I placed money in there first thing this morning. She then tells me I should have a running check register. Wtf is this...1985? This is why I have a mobile app, lady. I told her I'm taking my money out and they only response from this ditz was "uh...ok" yea, ok. I'm gone. This place prefers to keep $37 instead of customers. See ya, TCF. Worst bank in existence.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    C
    Reviewed By customerone Dec 21, 2016

    Bad Customer Support

    I'm from Wisconsin, and started a new job in Ill. I have used the branch in this location a couple of times (#2302). At first I noticed that the employees here were very serious and not customer friendly. The last two times I have stopped here, I have had a issue with how they treat the customers (myself and others). Usually I do not carry my acc number for security reasons. What I usually do is give them my bank card and ID. With this the clerks usually in Wisconsin would help me out with either a deposit or withdraw with out any problems. I experienced that this is not was goes on here in this location. I have been asked to please fill out all the info before I come up to the clerks. I explained to them what I usually do and the reason why I do so. I was informed that this is not what they do here supposedly for security reasons. After this, she started to read my account out loud for me to fill out my own slip. I stopped her and said that this is not safe and not secure, so she wrote it down in a paper so I can fill out my own slip, again not safe. I asked her if she can just fill out the remainder of the slip and was declined the help. I do not understand the purpose of in person clerks if they do not want to help out with the process. I asked for a supervisor or manager and was told that she was not in.. I hate to say it but customer support is the beginning of every good or bad call/help/support. If you help out the customer at the fullest, the customer will come back again. If you do not help out then this can be the end of the customer with the bank. I do not understand why they work in Customer Support if they do not want to provide support to the customer. Do they know that without the customer, they do not have any work? Sad to say that this is the worst bank experience I have had.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    W
    Reviewed By willowtree Dec 8, 2016

    unsatisfied person

    Not so happy with this bank

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    D
    Reviewed By DankSwank Nov 23, 2016

    TCF BANK IS GARBAGE

    First in 2005-2006 they stole $5000+ from me in a snowball effect of overdraft fees. They kept piling up and I was unable to get out of the hole so the fees just kept coming.

    Now currently they have taken $20+ in "Dormant Account" fees. So, if I leave my money in YOUR bank, and I am not using it and trying to save - they will just give you a fee and steal your money. This company is SHIT, and I strongly advise banking somewhere else.

    I'd give them 0 stars if that were an option. DON'T BANK WITH THESE THIEVES. Only good thing about this company is they have cute tellers that are easy on the eyes.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    T
    Reviewed By TerryMac Nov 15, 2016

    Bank error

    I made a $500 deposit and included a deposit slip for that amount. The drive-up bank teller could not process the deposit slip, so rewrote one on his own. He incorrectly wrote the deposit slip for $5000. When I got home that day and noticed the error on line, they immediately sent a deposit correction transaction and took back $4500. The $500 deposit was written as a check from another bank. The next day I get an email from the other bank because I was overdrawn. TCF sent the $500 check through as $5000. I contacted TCF several times that day and they informed me it would take up to 5 business days to replace those funds. I told them that answer was totally unacceptable, but they insisted it has to go through the dispute process, even though it was clearly a mistake on their employee's part. I will be closing this TCF account that I've had for over 25 years when their mess finally gets straightened out. What terrible customer service!!!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    J
    Reviewed By Jimbos Aug 30, 2016

    Worst TCF in the system for service

    This branch does not believe in staffing the drive thru portion of their business. You go thru the drive thru and you wait. You ring the help button and they just ignore you like you are not even there. Went in to speak to the branch manager, and of course he/she wasn't there like normal. Very seldom is there a branch manager there. I sat there once for 4 minutes, stupid me for waiting that long.
    This wasn't just for today, this is an ongoing situation. You get there excuse that I'm the only one there. That's not the customers problem, learn how to run a bank or business.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    R
    Reviewed By robnels2000 Jul 29, 2016

    TCF make small problems major ones

    I had a withdrawal process twice over drafting my account.

    I call the bank to do a stop payment on the transaction but they told me they could not do it because it was pending.

    They said it will be rejected in processing over night so it would not be an issue.

    The next day it did pass processing so I called them again.

    They said I should have done a stop payment yesterday/

    I told them I tried but they said they couldn't.
    They told me they could have.

    Now they are filing a dispute and say it will take a week to process. Mean while I will be accruing overdraft fees. All because they didn't do the stop payment.

    This was a small mistake that has now become a major issue because of their not doing the stop payment when I asked.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By angryshopper Jun 28, 2016

    DO NOT BANK HERE !!!

    This is the worst bank in the country!

    I live paycheck to paycheck and this bank does whatever it can to get overdraft fees. Just this weekend I noticed that I had spent a little to much money, so I transferred $300 from saving right into checking, this piece of crap bank pended the transaction, and then charged me $37 for four overdrafts. A day later the transfer is still pending, I assume the bank is hoping I have more transactions coming thru.....and they would be correct, for about $100.00 which they took from me in overdrafts....

    They are crooks.... keep your money in a sock drawer.....do not bank here!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    S
    Reviewed By Sunny789 Jun 28, 2016

    I'd give zero if possible

    Exactly what everyone said. TCF Cub in Fridley. Awful. Charged me ridiculous fees they said would be reversed, never happened. Told me I couldn't deposit money, had to let everything clear...I said if you do this with these charges I'll go negative. They said "oh no, we'll take care of them." We'll they didnt. I was told for 2 weeks a supervisor would call to fix it. Phone call never came. I went up there over 12 times and I was always told no supervisor was working at the time. This place is a SCAM!!! I Have never had ANY issue with Wells Fargo. In all my life I have never had an overdraft until TCF'S mistake ( which wasn't a mistake, they purposefully said I couldn't deposit money or it would screw up their system) RUN from this "bank"

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    N
    Reviewed By nmellin Apr 11, 2016

    TCF customer service is horrible

    Unfortunately, I had my mortgage with TCF and never had a decent customer service experience. Over the course of 8 years interactions with TCF representatives ranged from
    merely apathetic to downright rude. Also , staff training must be almost non-existent because it is astounding how ill-informed the bankers are. Eventually I was able to leave TCF and was never so glad to "dump" a company. Several acquaintances have the same view. I have never come across a decent opinion of this banking system As a public service to others who may be reading this DO NOT do business with TCF.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.