B MyBankTracker Rating

TCF Bank Customer Reviews

(138 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 8
4 Star 4
3 Star 3
2 Star 2
1 Star 121

The Most Helpful TCF Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Wynder Aug 31, 2014

Excellent Service

Have had several accounts for over 10 years. I appreciate the hours on weekends, Sundays, and late days and they are always professional. The online banking works very well. They were the only bank in Chicago to give me an account when I moved here. I am extremely satisfied with my branch on Milwaukee and if necessary, the actual Bank is not too far away on Fullerton.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Steve3PO Dec 31, 2015

TCF Employee Mrs. Samantha Sanchez is a lying bank fraud accountant

TCF has an employee named Samantha Sanchez, who has lied to me about account fees and then proceeded to steal $2000 from my TCF Savings Account. I reported Mrs. Samantha Sanchez to the Maplewood TCF branch supervisors and the Region Manager for TCF. They did a two month investigation and believed the lies Mrs. Sanchez told them. I have had $2000 stolen from my Savings Account by Mrs. Samantha Sanchez, I have reported her to the TCF management and they say that they have no record of money being stolen from my Savings Account. I have documented TCF Account paperwork that says money was removed from my Savings Account by Mrs. Samantha Sanchez without my permission. The TCF management has dismissed my report and stopped the investigation because they believe that Mrs. Samantha Sanchez has not done anything wrong. I have closed both of my TCF Accounts and withdrew the last of my money. Don’t waste your time trying to bank any of your finances at any of the TCF Bank's branches. TCF Bank should be shut down and they should return all of the money that customers have in the TCF Bank accounts.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest TCF Bank Reviews

  •  
    J
    Reviewed By Jenlar May 1, 2017

    Inaccurate hours

    I have always had a good experience at this bank/location, but don't count on the hours posted here. It closes at 5 PM on Mondays! Play it safe with the other days, too.

    This location has a drive-through, coffee, random little giveaways, and a gas station just across the street.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    D
    Reviewed By Doksanen Apr 4, 2017

    Bad Loan

    I just spent 2 months working with a buyer. Took them out 13 times to see houses. wrote offer on 7 of them and finally succeeded in getting a accepted offer. Now to find out they do not qualify for a loan. I asked them how this happened . I am told it is there bank policy to just run a credit check and if it passes then they approved the loan. They don,t even collect all the info to make sure that it will work. So mad wasted my time and gas, the listing agents time and gas. Now the poor sellers have to find a need buyer.

    Do not get a loan with them. You will be sorry.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    C
    Reviewed By CDN77 Mar 21, 2017

    Terrible Customer Service :(

    Very sad how TCF treated me. I've been a customer for 15 years and money was taken out of my account without my authorization. 3 charges in total all for the same amount. These charges caused multiple overdrafts. Between the overdraft fees and the stolen money I'm out about 500+ dollars. I contacted TCF and opened a claim (1st claim in 15 years). I was told it could take 5 - 10 days. I waited 8 business days and called. I was told that my case was closed and they did not find in my favor (I was never provided with any notice of this). If I wanted to appeal the case I needed to provide TCF with more information. Not sure how I could do so as I did not make these charges. Cole (CSR with an attitude) told me that seeing as there were multiple charges to this company it looks like something I "must" have set up. I explained I did not know who or what this company is or what they sell. I also explained that I know many other banks & credit unions look out for the best interest of their customers and I am not sure why TCF is making this so difficult. Cole of TCF stated that Wells Fargo & Bank or America follow the same business practices as TCF in this situation. Ummmm, I had just stated that I was not happy with TCF and their customer service. Throwing other financial institutions under the bus??? Nice job Cole, real professional. I hope someone from Wells Fargo and/or Bank of America sees this and contact's TCF in regards to Cole's statements about them. (I have never banked with either institution so I can not confirm or deny) I may just stay away from those two institutions, just incase Cole is correct about their customer service and business practice. Anyway, in the end I was told that I could fax an appeal request letter and provide TCF with more information (still confused about what I could provide them with other than a google search and a statement that I did NOT authorize payments to any of the companies on the list, which I did) and they may decide to take a second look at my request. Really disappointed with TCF. I am keep my hopes up that I am not out $500 between the fraudulent charges and the resulting overdraft fees. I really hate changes my bank and thought if I was a loyal customer to TCF, then they would look out for me as the customer. In the market for a new bank. Bye TCF...it's not me, it's without a doubt you and your lack of customer service. Also, I think very low of any company that trashes a competitor to prove a point. (Cole, I'm sure you were taught that in CSR training...I worked for a bank before and I know how we were trained ) On the Brightside of things Cole asked if it would be okay to credit me back 2 of the overdraft fees...I said sure and stated I was surprised he was willing to do so if my claim was denied. Of course Cole, had to follow up with asking me if I "wanted the credit or not?" Oooooh, Cole of TCF...not professional. That's a bit cheeky.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By me7 Mar 10, 2017

    Great customer service

    I enjoy this location at the Jewel/Osco at 119th and Marshfield because the stakeholders are very courteous and respectful. It is a very convenient location, being right across the highway. I have had to have several documents notarized and I frequently have to make deposits and withdrawals because of circumstances. They are prompt and knowledgeable, always courteous and cheerful. I recently had a charge that was made in error on my account and spoke to a rep on the 800 number and was told resulting overdrafts from this error would be corrected once the company refunded the error. I went into the bank to take care of it because I also had to make a deposit. The manager Daisy dela Torres tried to help me and the issue could not be resolved totally. She was calm and patient although I was very upset. She was limited in her solution because the computer did not show her the information she needed to resolve the issue. She was professional all the way and did her best and wished me well at the end of the encounter. I went home and called the 800 number again and a supervisor was able to research and find the correction that needed to be done. Later that day I was able to return and thank her again for the assistance and informed her that the issue had been resolved. After the effort she put into trying to correct the issue, I thought it would be nice if she knew the ultimate outcome.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By Mrsfreckles85 Feb 16, 2017

    Worst bank ever-pulling ALL of my money out

    I look at my account at 6 am. Overdrawn. Ok, no big deal. Put money in from savings. They proceed to charge me $37 overdraft fee. So, I call to see what can be done about. They "customer service rep" and I use that term very loosely, proceeds to tell me that nothing can be done because that fee processed at midnight. Are you up at midnight to check you balance? I mean, really. I proceed to tell her I placed money in there first thing this morning. She then tells me I should have a running check register. Wtf is this...1985? This is why I have a mobile app, lady. I told her I'm taking my money out and they only response from this ditz was "uh...ok" yea, ok. I'm gone. This place prefers to keep $37 instead of customers. See ya, TCF. Worst bank in existence.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    C
    Reviewed By customerone Dec 21, 2016

    Bad Customer Support

    I'm from Wisconsin, and started a new job in Ill. I have used the branch in this location a couple of times (#2302). At first I noticed that the employees here were very serious and not customer friendly. The last two times I have stopped here, I have had a issue with how they treat the customers (myself and others). Usually I do not carry my acc number for security reasons. What I usually do is give them my bank card and ID. With this the clerks usually in Wisconsin would help me out with either a deposit or withdraw with out any problems. I experienced that this is not was goes on here in this location. I have been asked to please fill out all the info before I come up to the clerks. I explained to them what I usually do and the reason why I do so. I was informed that this is not what they do here supposedly for security reasons. After this, she started to read my account out loud for me to fill out my own slip. I stopped her and said that this is not safe and not secure, so she wrote it down in a paper so I can fill out my own slip, again not safe. I asked her if she can just fill out the remainder of the slip and was declined the help. I do not understand the purpose of in person clerks if they do not want to help out with the process. I asked for a supervisor or manager and was told that she was not in.. I hate to say it but customer support is the beginning of every good or bad call/help/support. If you help out the customer at the fullest, the customer will come back again. If you do not help out then this can be the end of the customer with the bank. I do not understand why they work in Customer Support if they do not want to provide support to the customer. Do they know that without the customer, they do not have any work? Sad to say that this is the worst bank experience I have had.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    W
    Reviewed By willowtree Dec 8, 2016

    unsatisfied person

    Not so happy with this bank

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    D
    Reviewed By DankSwank Nov 23, 2016

    TCF BANK IS GARBAGE

    First in 2005-2006 they stole $5000+ from me in a snowball effect of overdraft fees. They kept piling up and I was unable to get out of the hole so the fees just kept coming.

    Now currently they have taken $20+ in "Dormant Account" fees. So, if I leave my money in YOUR bank, and I am not using it and trying to save - they will just give you a fee and steal your money. This company is SHIT, and I strongly advise banking somewhere else.

    I'd give them 0 stars if that were an option. DON'T BANK WITH THESE THIEVES. Only good thing about this company is they have cute tellers that are easy on the eyes.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    T
    Reviewed By TerryMac Nov 15, 2016

    Bank error

    I made a $500 deposit and included a deposit slip for that amount. The drive-up bank teller could not process the deposit slip, so rewrote one on his own. He incorrectly wrote the deposit slip for $5000. When I got home that day and noticed the error on line, they immediately sent a deposit correction transaction and took back $4500. The $500 deposit was written as a check from another bank. The next day I get an email from the other bank because I was overdrawn. TCF sent the $500 check through as $5000. I contacted TCF several times that day and they informed me it would take up to 5 business days to replace those funds. I told them that answer was totally unacceptable, but they insisted it has to go through the dispute process, even though it was clearly a mistake on their employee's part. I will be closing this TCF account that I've had for over 25 years when their mess finally gets straightened out. What terrible customer service!!!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    J
    Reviewed By Jimbos Aug 30, 2016

    Worst TCF in the system for service

    This branch does not believe in staffing the drive thru portion of their business. You go thru the drive thru and you wait. You ring the help button and they just ignore you like you are not even there. Went in to speak to the branch manager, and of course he/she wasn't there like normal. Very seldom is there a branch manager there. I sat there once for 4 minutes, stupid me for waiting that long.
    This wasn't just for today, this is an ongoing situation. You get there excuse that I'm the only one there. That's not the customers problem, learn how to run a bank or business.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.