C+ MyBankTracker Rating

TD Bank Customer Reviews

(484 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 40
4 Star 12
3 Star 13
2 Star 33
1 Star 386

The Most Helpful TD Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By jcrosita Nov 3, 2012

Horrible

I have been a member for over 20 years including when it was commerce bank. Since it has been td bank i have had many bad experiences but this is the worst. On november 1, 2012 at 6:30 pm i walked in and i waited to see a customer representative to see about closing my account due to a maintenance fee. Stephanie greeted me and asked if she could help me. While talking i had asked her some questions about a student account to see if i could get free checking. When she asked me my age she informed me that i did not qualify, as you had to be younger. Therefore, i asked her to close my account and distribute to me the 250. 28 that i had left in my account. She did all the proper procedures rather coldly without smiling or responding very friendly to me when i tried to spark up a small conversation, however, she did her job and exited to retrieve my cash. When she returned i briefly looked inside the envelope, however, i did not count the amount correctly. When i left the building i went to wells fargo, which is right next-door and began to count my money that she gave to me and i noticed that i was $80. 00 short. I immediately returned to td bank and asked stephanie if i had dropped any money because i was missing some cash. She became very rude and told me no and that she cannot tell me what i did with my money after i leave the bank and that she is not responsible for it. She also angrily said to me that she watched me count it in front of her. I was rather nervous due to the economy today and hoping that some how she could help me so i nicely explained to her that i know and i realize that but i must have not counted it properly because i'm missing money and i only have 170. 00. She then stormed off to the teller counter and disappeared from my sight. I had to ask the teller where she went and he told me she was counting the drawer. She then came back and gave me the 80 dollars and said sorry but never apologized how rude and angry she acted. I closed my account and will never return.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By dissatisfied1 Dec 5, 2013

How hard is it to cash a $2,200 check?

This is the worst customer service I have ever received going to this bank. I sold my upright piano so I could buy a C. Bechstein grand piano. The guy who bought it gave me a check for a deposit for $500 and later another for $2,200. When I went to cash the check I went to their branch in Amherst, NH bto cash it so their was no wait clearing. To cash the checks they charge me $7 each ($14 total). This wasn't even the worst part.

When I went to cash the $2,200 dollar check, I had to wait just under 25 minutes (I was watching my watch, unbelievably this is no exaggeration)! There was no one else in line and only one other person being served (who was just making a small withdrawal). There was at least 3 or 4 employees (including the manager) behind the counter. When I asked to cash it they ask for my license then study it for a long time. I tell them I want it in $100's and it take them 5 minutes to figure out they don't have any left. So they just stand around for maybe 10-15 minutes doing absolutely nothing except stare at me and twiddle their thumbs before they get off their lazy behinds and go to the safe out back and get the money. They then spend another 5-10 minutes getting the money out. When then finally give it to me, then forget to give me back my license so I have to remind them to give it to me.

Please, people don't get checking accounts here so you don't have to make the people who receive the checks suffer to get their money. Not only will they be ripped off trying to cash their check but they will have to waste large amounts of time to get their money because the banks are run by lazy and incompetent people.

I am glad I had this experience because I was almost thinking of getting an account. What a mistake that would have been!

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest TD Bank Reviews

  • M
    Reviewed By Mad_as_hell Dec 1, 2016

    Worst bank ever

    We agreed to sign up for the all inclusive banking account and the infinite visa card.
    The rules say that the monthly bank account fee is $29.95 but if your balance is over $5000 the fee is waived. Sure thing, I kept the balance over $5000 every single day in November. I made sure by logging in every day. We were still charged $29.95 on November 30. I'm angry as hell.

    The infinite visa card rewards are a joke because it takes forever to collect points and we use this card for EVERYTHING. Also: transactions are sometimes showing up 1 week later after using the card. It's almost impossible to keep track of spending like that.

    The costs of this account and card are way higher than the rewards. What a freaking joke. We're mad as hell. We're already on small incomes and I don't understand why were were offered an account that requires $100,000 income. We don't earn that much!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • O
    Reviewed By Otter Nov 28, 2016

    Slowest bank I've ever been to

    The staff are very nice, but to only have one teller station open at the lunch hour open is just bad buisness, and the customers have jobs that are thirty minute lunches to an hour, you can't expect this to be acceptable. I am most likely switching banks

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • G
    Reviewed By GV889 Nov 12, 2016

    TD Bank Experience

    I on occasion pay my credit card bill here and all of the teller's that work here are extremely kind and bend over backwards to make it a wonderful experience. A special thanks to Ms Castillo and Ms Sherry! I would have given this review 5 Stars but there is a young man by the name of Zach who is not very pleasant. TD Bank I hope this helps!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By CuriousGeorge Nov 7, 2016

    Used be a good bank, now horrible

    I recently was a day late in paying my small credit card (CC) bill on a TD Bank Visa Signature Card. A+ credit, large amount of money in my checking account, loyal customer for many years. Made electronic payment in full as soon as I realized I was a day late. TD held the payment for several days before crediting the CC account. Meanwhile they blocked me from using the CC.

    By the way, I tried to reach customer service which TD Bank prominently claims is available 24/7 by photo. Not so for credit cards. Only, 8am-9pm EST weekdays, 9-5 EST on Saturdays and no customer support at all on Sundays. Now all physical branches in my area also have reduced their hours for Saturday and Sunday.

    Oh well, time to move to another bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • U
    Reviewed By UpNorth Oct 21, 2016

    TD rips off its customers

    TD had been been spotty for a few years. I joined, with my daughter, because she would be going to school up in Canada. Over the years they significantly screwed up a couple of wire transfers, had some snot-nosed millenial mess up my accounts because they didn't know the banking regulations, while lecturing me with a bunch of garbage he'd just made up on his own, and a few other annoyances.
    But the latest has me closing my accounts.
    I deposited a Canadian check in my daughter's account. They charged a 4% exchange rate. If I'd known when I deposited it, I would not have done so. But they wouldn't disclose the exchange at the time of the deposit. This is basically theft, and when I wrote to complain, they responded with "we have forwarded your suggestion....." Suggestion? I didn't make one. I complained and they sent me a form letter.

    Bye-bye TD, I vote with my feet. Staying open 7 days isn't much of a sales feature in the age of internet banking. Incompetent and dishonest service certainly isn't.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By LaurelH Oct 18, 2016

    Unfair mortgage "policy"/ practice

    So TD Bank thinks it can renew a mortgage with only one signature when there are two people on title in a situation where they did not consult the second person and there is marital breakdown? Because they have a "policy"? Sounds illegal or a scam to me. Perhaps they would like to pay the ongoing legal fees and the court costs when the petition to sell the house goes forward? Not to mention how this is helping to prolong an already acrimonious and unsettling process disrupting the lives of two young children. But I suppose profit is more important. I will be pursuing this to the highest levels of government and law because of the injustice of it. I realize that the person who did this is also a scumbag but I can't say I admire the ethics of a bank official who does something I perceive as unprofessional at the very least. I am not going o quit until there is justice and this cannot happen to anyone else in the future. The worst sort of profiteering. If there was a minus star option I would have chosen that.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By tkarasick Oct 14, 2016

    Very welcoming, but fees galore

    They have great branches which are big, with plentiful parking, bright lights, and of course all of their branches have convenient hours (America's most convenient bank!). Open almost all day Saturday and Sunday.

    One of their biggest draws (outside of their operating hours) was their free coin counter. That went away earlier this year (2016) as the system had problems and they could not fully guarantee the final coin count.

    They usually have the friendliest signup offer on the market. Get $150 free for opening a convenience checking account and making a required number of debit transactions, no direct deposit required. $100 minimum opening deposit. Very simple.

    The biggest problem I have with TD Bank is their fees. All these conveniences come at a cost. Those extra hours on Saturday and Sunday have to be paid some how. I mean, like EVERYTHING has a fee. New book of checks? Fee. Paper billing? Fee. Transfer cash to another bank? Fee. Balance drops below minimum for the day? Fee. That balance minimum thing is a joke, by the way. You have to maintain that balance every single day, or else you qualify for the maintenance fee. It is not an end-of-statement minimum balance, it is a DAILY balance minimum. The paper billing is turned on by default and costs $1/month. You have to turn it off from within your online account.

    The online page is also a joke. I feel like I am using a webpage from 10 years ago. I have used many other financial institution websites and many of them keep up to date with current design trends. Not TD Bank.

    Bottom line. If you need a bank to deposit cash, and you need a low DAILY account minimum, the TD Bank convenience checking is where it is at. At every other B&M bank I have encountered, the checking accounts generally require a $1,000 or $1,500 minimum balance to avoid maintenance fee. Money market accounts at these banks have a lower minimum, $300, but are of course federally restricted on the number of transactions you can do per statement period (6). But if you need a full access bank with a great online presence with low fees to do advanced banking, I'd look elsewhere.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By RANDY1985 Oct 10, 2016

    Secaucus NJ branch tellers service is HORRIBLE

    I was trying to open a checking account at the td branch in secaucus NJ (1262 Paterson Plank Rd, Secaucus, NJ 07094)
    While I was waiting for one of the advisor I notest that the tellers were not busy with clients so I was asking them very politely a few questions about opening an account. They responded to me in a very mean way and made me feel like why should I bank here? A lady by the name Beta gave me a very bad attitude and she was very rude to me I just left the bank without seeing the advisor and I ended up opening my account in a different branch with a much better behavior from tellers. At the new branch I mentioned this bad experience with the branch manager and I was told that this is not the first time that they get complaints on the tellers from the secaucus nj branch.
    Td bank is not a bad choice but depending what branch you are choosing.
    Good luck!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By TAMIKA89 Aug 28, 2016

    THEY DONT EVEN DESERVE ONE STAR

    I THOUGHT TD BANK WAS A GOOD BANK BUT I THOUGHT WRONG THEY ALLOWED PEOPLE TO STEAL MONEY FROM MY ACCOUNT AND LAUGHED AT ME WHILE TELLING ME THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO FOR ME!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By Kelster Aug 1, 2016

    Horrible Customer Service and Bank

    My account was hacked a week ago on Friday. They emptied it out. I was told that I had to dispute the charges and that they would try to expedite it. Today is Monday, I went back to the bank to find out why my account had not been credited. First, I was called Heather and that is not my name. She said as I told you Heather, I put an expedite on it. I said first of all, I am not Heather, secondly, this is a standard story for you? Apparently, TD Bank just likes to hold on to your money with excuse after excuse. The best one was the fraud department is backed up. What does that say about this bank. They were unsympathetic and down right rude. Note to everyone, if you get hacked with TD Bank they will hold your money for 10 business days. Completely ridiculous. Sad thing is is that I reported this 2 days before it happened and no one responded until 4 days after it happened. Stay away from this bank!! There are so many other great choices out there with a bank that will care about you and take care of you. This bank changes tellers constantly and on Fridays usually have only 1 teller working the drive thru and 1 working the window which leads to long lines while mgmt sits behind their computers and says someone will be with you in a minute. I called the 888 number after my visit was on hold for 30 minutes, finally asked to speak to a supervisor, was put on hold another 10 minutes and when I got transferred to "Steve" a supervisor, I was disconnected. Yes, I am back on hold again now and have been for 20 minutes. Why can't they handle themselves professionally? Whatever you do, DO NOT USE TD BANK!! ESPECIALLY THIS LOCATION!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.