B MyBankTracker Rating

TD Bank Customer Reviews

(497 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 43
4 Star 12
3 Star 13
2 Star 33
1 Star 396

The Most Helpful TD Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By jcrosita Nov 3, 2012

Horrible

I have been a member for over 20 years including when it was commerce bank. Since it has been td bank i have had many bad experiences but this is the worst. On november 1, 2012 at 6:30 pm i walked in and i waited to see a customer representative to see about closing my account due to a maintenance fee. Stephanie greeted me and asked if she could help me. While talking i had asked her some questions about a student account to see if i could get free checking. When she asked me my age she informed me that i did not qualify, as you had to be younger. Therefore, i asked her to close my account and distribute to me the 250. 28 that i had left in my account. She did all the proper procedures rather coldly without smiling or responding very friendly to me when i tried to spark up a small conversation, however, she did her job and exited to retrieve my cash. When she returned i briefly looked inside the envelope, however, i did not count the amount correctly. When i left the building i went to wells fargo, which is right next-door and began to count my money that she gave to me and i noticed that i was $80. 00 short. I immediately returned to td bank and asked stephanie if i had dropped any money because i was missing some cash. She became very rude and told me no and that she cannot tell me what i did with my money after i leave the bank and that she is not responsible for it. She also angrily said to me that she watched me count it in front of her. I was rather nervous due to the economy today and hoping that some how she could help me so i nicely explained to her that i know and i realize that but i must have not counted it properly because i'm missing money and i only have 170. 00. She then stormed off to the teller counter and disappeared from my sight. I had to ask the teller where she went and he told me she was counting the drawer. She then came back and gave me the 80 dollars and said sorry but never apologized how rude and angry she acted. I closed my account and will never return.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By dissatisfied1 Dec 5, 2013

How hard is it to cash a $2,200 check?

This is the worst customer service I have ever received going to this bank. I sold my upright piano so I could buy a C. Bechstein grand piano. The guy who bought it gave me a check for a deposit for $500 and later another for $2,200. When I went to cash the check I went to their branch in Amherst, NH bto cash it so their was no wait clearing. To cash the checks they charge me $7 each ($14 total). This wasn't even the worst part.

When I went to cash the $2,200 dollar check, I had to wait just under 25 minutes (I was watching my watch, unbelievably this is no exaggeration)! There was no one else in line and only one other person being served (who was just making a small withdrawal). There was at least 3 or 4 employees (including the manager) behind the counter. When I asked to cash it they ask for my license then study it for a long time. I tell them I want it in $100's and it take them 5 minutes to figure out they don't have any left. So they just stand around for maybe 10-15 minutes doing absolutely nothing except stare at me and twiddle their thumbs before they get off their lazy behinds and go to the safe out back and get the money. They then spend another 5-10 minutes getting the money out. When then finally give it to me, then forget to give me back my license so I have to remind them to give it to me.

Please, people don't get checking accounts here so you don't have to make the people who receive the checks suffer to get their money. Not only will they be ripped off trying to cash their check but they will have to waste large amounts of time to get their money because the banks are run by lazy and incompetent people.

I am glad I had this experience because I was almost thinking of getting an account. What a mistake that would have been!

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest TD Bank Reviews

  •  
    D
    Reviewed By DiGgZ Mar 20, 2017

    Best experience with any bank thus far.

    I was referred to TD bank about two months ago. Since that time i've had a good experience with TD bank. The atmosphere is very welcoming, including the fact that the staff interacts and assist each other like a family does. I realized that i was in the right hands when on Friday, March 17, 2017 i witnessed the Vice President/Bank manager personally educate a customer that was on line to speak to a teller. He did this with a smile, compassion, and understanding. I'm very thankful to be banking with a team/family with these attributes, these virtues are shown by the staff i've met thus far.

    A satisfied customer
    D. McLeod

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    G
    Reviewed By Goojosie Mar 17, 2017

    04495

    Worst bank ever. The teller drained my bank account and gave ALL my money to a con artist. The bank refused to pay me back. Even worse, the teller gave him excess money, and now, two years later, Td bank is putting my account with a collection agency. They never called the police to report the theft.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    S
    Reviewed By Seank Mar 7, 2017

    TD Employee Experience

    Having experienced roles across multiple departments - from Wealth Management to Credit Cards to TD Insurance, where focus is on achieving cost efficiencies by:
    1. Reducing workforce - laying off over 40 people last year in one department alone
    2. Increasing the workload on frontline "colleagues" to unmanageable levels and setting unachievable goals - processing of over 200 claims per claims analyst, which results in severage pay cost avoidance when "colleagues" quit,
    3. Freezing compensation and forcing overtime - resulting an increase in number of employees on stress leaves, followed by an increase in long-term disability deductible from paycheques to unprecented levels, currently at over $400 per month, and
    4. Minimizing customers' claim payouts to reduce claims costs and improve profitability at the expense of poor customer experience as demonstrated by missing Net Promoter Scores

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    K
    Reviewed By kassityh Mar 6, 2017

    Most TERRIBLE bank in the world!! SCAM!

    This is a terrible bank. I will not recommended to anyone. They scammed my money and left me with a collection balanced. I opened a checking account online with TD Bank with $100, after a few weeks, I found out that they started charging me for all these weird fees that I didn't sign up for. First, they charged me a "Paper Statement" fee, then a monthly maintenance fee. When I checked my account balance online, I was only left with $24!! WTF!! I contacted the customer service to close my account, but they refused by telling me that my balance needs to be $0 in order for them to close my account. I was out of the country with limited internet access at the time, so I decided I will resolve the issue when I'm back in the United States. So when I returned home after 3 months out of the country, I found all these collections letter from TD bank saying that I owe a $21 balance...a double WTF!! I called the customer service again asking what's going on, they transferred me to all these different departments because no one knew how to resolve this issue. So finally someone from the Collections Department told me that I had to go to a branch to close my account. When I arrive to the branch, the first thing that they asked if I want to pay my $21 balance. I explained to them that I don't owe them anything and have asked many times to close my account. The woman at the bank refused to issue me a refund and telling me the reason they can't close my account until it's $0 balance because it's good customer service for them to present the closed account check to their customer IN PERSON!! I can't believe my ears! I lost all my money that I used to open the account, Plus, I owe them $21 after TD Bank refused to close my account. WHAT A SCAM!! THIS PLACE SUCKS, DO NOT OPEN AN ACCOUNT WITH THEM.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By adel_ghoneim Mar 4, 2017

    TD Bank is steeling your money, beware

    My son has a student account and after 3 years they switched the account to another account with monthly fee $10.95 without any notice by phone or mail, Just like that. They got that for 14 months. When I noticed that, I thought it was just a mistake, so I went to the branch and I thought it will be an easy thing. They said they only can refund me 3 months, because it is my responsibility to follow my account as "I signed on the agreement when I opened the account". I called customer service and the gave me the same cliche statement. With a simple calculation: A thief institution steels $10 per month from each customer for over a year from at least one million customers will collect 120 million dollars and will return max 30 million, so they legally stole 90 million dollars. WTF. I decided to close all my accounts and adviced all the people I know to do so and I advice everyone who read this to stay away from those thieves if they didn't have an account with them yet. If you insist, please review your account activities every month.
    I'm going to file a complaint thru a lawyer. Anyone from GTA has the same or similar issue and would like to sew them, please let me know to be a group has the proper effect.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    P
    Reviewed By Patsplace123 Feb 19, 2017

    Broke My Heart

    I left a competitor of TD Bank after doing business with them for over 40 years.When I left I had no idea in my mind which bank I would continue to do business with.So one bright summers morning,a Monday to be exact,i walked into the TD Bank branch near my old home on Wade Hampton Blvd.To my surprise as soon as I walked into their door I was greeted by two of the most attractive ladies, much to my surprise.Oh,ive already said that,excuse please.Well to start over, after gaining my composure and wiping my brow, after being greeted I was shown more southern hospitality than I had never been shown in my old bank in over 40 years.Since that day I realize that when I first walked into that door years ago I had made a very wise decision if I may say so myself !!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By Acac8080 Jan 25, 2017

    Worst bank

    This is absolutely the worst bankni have ever banked with. From the holds on the accounts, to not following thru with their promotions for opening new accounts ...they even screwed up on the checks I ordered. Never bank here!!! Im going back to BOA!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    L
    Reviewed By lpgi Jan 23, 2017

    Outrageous fees!

    I've been with TD bank for years now because it has a lot of convient locations. Over the years, the number of fees I've been charged has been enough for me to switch banks. I've been charged for doing too many transfers online, checking my balance at another ATM (no money was withdrawn. A balance check was conducted because the TD website and app was down.), and I've been charged overdraft fees numerous times even if I deposited the money 10 minutes later. Checks are processed at 11pm, so if your account overdrafts you will not know until the next business day. The last time I called to inquire on an overdraft was because my balance never showed that I went into the negative. When I explained that the balance shown on my app was never negative during the past three days after the supposed overdraft occurred (I check my balance 3-5 times a day), I was more or less accused of lying and was told the balance I had seen was never there. I'm sorry, I wanted to like this bank, but the amount of fees charged are outrageous. I will never again be a TD bank customer.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    D
    Reviewed By daved75 Jan 14, 2017

    Astoria-Ditmars isn't good

    They always keep this branch understaffed and will take way too long for service. One glance at all the unavailable desks and teller stations contrasting with the number of employees and its obvious they are trying to squeeze all the can from their staff. The branch manager just stares at her phone as pandemonium ensues. The assistant branch manager stays with her one customer while the supervisor guy somehow takes deposits, fixes the coin arcade, ATM Card printer, manages customers waiting for CSRs and gets money from the vault before assisting more customers in the safety box room all while addressing new customers walking into the bank to assure them they'll be seen asap. If it weren't for him I'd have zero respect for this branch. Small TD locations can get by with just a few on staff but not this one. Management must be greedy and making a fortune. Hope they never have to reply on the younger staff for a job one day when they get fired!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    H
    Reviewed By Hadi58 Jan 7, 2017

    Credit card department bad customer service

    Every time I contact the credit card department for an issue they keep transferring to someone else and minimum of 30 minutes wait.

    I extremely recommend to stay away from td bank America and the only reason I have an account with them because I am a Canadian in usa and I tought its better to deal with a Canadian oriented bank.

    Td in usa is completely different than Canada and the service is really crazy and extremely frustrating.

    Stay away from TD AMERICA

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.