B MyBankTracker Rating

Trustco Bank Customer Reviews

(41 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 1
4 Star 1
3 Star 1
2 Star 3
1 Star 35

The Most Helpful Trustco Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Coryerrr Oct 21, 2015

Bay Hill Florida Michelle Gibson made us feel at home

To Trustco Bank Board Members,
My wife and I have been a customer of Trustco Bank for 31 years in the Schenectady then Saratoga NY region. While on vacation in Florida my wife won a large sum of money at the Seminole Casino. We took the payout in cash to ease our casino exit. Not wanting to hold a large sum of cash and knowing Trustco had locations in Florida we decided to make a deposit to our NY account. We quickly located the Trustco Bank Bay Hill branch office and entered requesting to speak with a manager. Enter Ms. Michelle Gibson. We were treated promptly, professionally, but most of all with that neighborly touch that we are so a custom to. We want to thank Michelle for personally handling our transaction and ease our burden of carrying such a large amount of cash. Trustco Bank would be well served in naming Michelle the manager of the Bay Hill location. We will visit the Bay Hill branch and do our hometown banking again as we vacation in Lake Buena Vista multiple times each year. Thanks again Michelle. You made our day.

Randy and Darlene Coryer

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By heatherk Nov 3, 2015

Trustco Lost My Money - DO NOT BANK WITH THEM

On the most recent occasion, Trustco bank LOST $380 from my deposit. They said it was my problem, not theirs. The one teller who tried to help me get to the bottom of this matter was disciplined. I called corporate but have not yet received a response.

Another time, the branch manager accused me (yelling loudly) that I was trying to deposit a fraudulent check. This check was from a client who has written them for five years with no problem. I calmly asked him to give me the checks back. He put them in the drive thru drawer, but missed and they slipped underneath. When I told him they were not in the drawer and he literally screamed at me for lying. He proceeded to open and close the drawer 6 or 7 times (still yelling at me) and ended up ripping my checks apart.

Their inattention to detail also amazes me. When I withdraw cash, they have given me the wrong amount numerous times. When I opened the account, they put down the wrong address and misspelled my name. I guess I should have gotten the hint at that point.

Please, whatever you do, DO NOT BANK WITH TRUSTCO! I have had nothing but headaches. There is a reason their branches are always empty.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Trustco Bank Reviews

  •  
    H
    Reviewed By HORRID Apr 18, 2017

    BRANCH MGR

    Terrible experience from teller to the Branch Manager. Unprofessional deportment, unable to propose or find solutions. My requests for assistance were met with a defensivie posture as opposed to viable solutions. An email and 2 calls to the corporate office have yielded no response. This company does not care about its clients. I do not trust them with my money.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    J
    Reviewed By Johnorl Mar 20, 2017

    The worst CS of any bank

    When I thought i could get worst service from this bank calling the 800 number proved me wrong. Monica and Angela have shown me I need to find another bank you want to be treated with disrespect and see just how unimportant you are to trustco give these lady's a call. After dealing with corp. CS I now understand why my local branch is so bad it starts right at the top. Save yourself the headaches of having to switch banks after opening your account and just don't open one..

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    R
    Reviewed By rebo05 Jan 11, 2017

    Technology at Trustco Bank still in the 70's

    I moved to "Venice Florida" October of 2016 and selected "Trust-co Bank" because I wanted
    the hometown banking experience. After 6 months, I have decided to cancel my savings and checking accounts due to the long delays it takes for them to post deposits, move money through accounts, and the time consuming delays when using online bill pay. They literally are many years behind in computers and technology. They still use deposit slips, banking statements are hard to read, and they also took money for what they considered insufficient funds when we had plenty of money in the account. It actually takes up to 2 day's for government and pension checks to deposit fully into you're account on automatic deposit. During my account with them, they took $300.00 dollars from my account with no explanation, when you try to call the corporate number, they still send you to the branch office, and want nothing to do with it. I really liked the people working there, they did the best they could, but their hands are tied because they get no help. It also takes them a month to return any insufficient funds to you, even if you are in the right, it's just the way it is, they have no power to fix anything fast and sufficient. I would recommend a "online banking" company, I changed, and so far they are miles above this banks services.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    1
    Reviewed By 1231money Dec 29, 2016

    BRANCH MANAGER ALLOWED SENIOR TO SIGN DOCUMENTS WITHOUT GLASSES AND NEVER READ DOCUMENTS

    BRANCH MANAGER ROBIN WILKIE LAKE EOLA ORLANDO FL 32801 ALLOWED SENIOR TO SIGN DOCUMENTS WITHOUT GLASSES AND NEVER READ DOCUMENTS AND WITH THAT THIRD SIGNED DOCUMENT ATTACHED TO ANOTHER DOCUMENT AND SENT IT TO SOMEONE TO TAKE MY MONEY FROM MY BANK ACCOUNTS// AND NOW I ASKED BRANCH MANAGER AND SHE DENIES IT AND GAVE ME A THIRD DOCUMENT SIGNED STATES GUARANTEE OF WHICH THAT IS WHAT I SIGNED TO OPEN MY ACCOUNTS FOUR YEARS AGO THAT THIRD DOCUMENT THAT WAS MAILED TO ME THE INNOCENT VICTIM SENIOR 70 WAS NOT THE DOCUMENT THAT WAS ATTACHED TO ANOTHER DOCUMENT TO PUT LIEN ON MY BANK ACCOUNTS IF THAT IS WHAT THE BRANCH MANAGER IS TRYING TO DO WHEN NO MONEY OWED TO NOONE NEVER ITS THE BRANCH MANAGER ROBIN WILKIE FAULT AND NEED TO VOID OUT OVERTURN CANCEL THAT SIGNED DOCUMENT ALLOWING SOMEONE TO TAKE MY MONEY AS BRANCH MANAGER WONT TELL ME WHO SHE SENT THE DOCUMENTS TOO/ THIS IS BANK FRAUD CAUSED BY BRANCH MANAGER ROBIN WILKIE FL

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By MikeC May 10, 2016

    Beyond Incompetent - Mortgage

    Applied for a refi on our home in Orlando. I am a professional with a 25 year background, have a dual income, no debt other than our mortgage, income to debt ratios are within 28/36, have credit scores in the 800 range and after 2 months of waiting were declined for insufficient income. When we asked for details, all we heard was "I don't know".

    We then approached another mortgage lender and was approved in less than a week.

    Do yourself a favor and stay away from this bank. They are beyond incompetent.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By mjh256 Apr 27, 2016

    DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THEM!!

    MY PARENT'S HAD A CERTIFICATE OF DEPOSIT WITH THIS OUTFIT. IN JUNE & JULY OF 2015 DROPPED OFF PAPERWORK TO RE TITLE THE ACCOUNT AT THE WOLF ROAD BRANCH. COME TIME FOR REDEMPTION, GUESS WHAT??? NO RECORD OF SAID LEGAL DOCUMENTS!!! NOW HAVE TO JUMP THROUGH HOOPS TO REDEEM BEFORE THEIR 10 DAY "GRACE PERIOD" BEFORE AUTOMATIC CD RENEWAL. HAVEN'T HAD ANY PROBLEMS DEALING WITH OTHER LOCAL BANKS THAT MY FOLKS HAD BUSINESS WITH. DON'T DO BUSINESS WITH TRUSTCO BANK!! THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE RATING ARE IN THE TOILET!!! WISH I COULD HAVE INFORMED MY FOLKS OF THEIR RATINGS BEFORE THEY DID BUSINESS WITH THEM!! IF I COULD HAVE GIVEN THEM NEGATIVE STARS I WOULD HAVE!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    D
    Reviewed By DonB123 Apr 8, 2016

    Incompetency beyond belief with a splash of horrible customer service Should be MINUS 1000STARS

    Used this bank in 2009. Was an ok experience however I did have similar issues of other reviewers but not as bad as some. I noticed recently they had an advertisement for a low 3.75% refinance. I called and spoke to the Lee MA branch manager Elisabeth Rogers. I explained my situation. I explained my wife was to go on the application but we have different days off so she could come in the following day. She said thats not a problem. So I went into the branch Tuesday April 5th. Elisabeth seemed to be confused as to why I was there. After talking for a bit it clicked in her head. She said because my wife had to come in the following day that she had to date the application for the following day. It didn't bother me because my wife had the next day off and would be there. During the interview Elisabeth seemed to be uptight and was struggling with what she was doing and what was needed. After 2 hours of sitting there with her smelling her stinky breath and hearing her breathe hard and belching under her breath she said I think we got it. So the following day I went to work and I received a text from my wife stating Elisabeth was struggling and didn't know what she was doing. She even started crying. Her assistant Anthony even came over to help her and stated there's no crying in banking. Anyway my wife sent another text that they had to have me resign and they dated everything for April 5th which was strange. Anthony drove an hour & 1/2 to my work and had me sign everything dated the previous day. He left and I thought ok this should be it. At 4:58pm Elisabeth called me and said I withdrew your application. I said what does that mean. She stated well I assumed you didn't want to come in tomorrow and do this all over again .I asked why did we go through all this. She replied I don't know, I asked tell me do you even know what your doing. She replied no. She was rude and didn't even care that we just wasted all of our time. I asked to speak to her supervisor , she said well I ll have her call you tomorrow. I was obviously aggravated. The following day I waited until 10:30am and didn't hear anything. So I called and spoke to another employee there who was rude as well. She said Elisabeth is busy. I said I asked for her supervisor not her. Whats your name so I told her my name. Oh I have a name and number for you. Shes expecting your call. Im like Im expecting her call. Any way I called Amy Anderson from their headquarters. She was even ruder. I explained what happened. She said Elisabeth bent over backwards to help you .I was like no she actually tried covering her butt because she intentionally mis dated the application and got me to sign a new copy with a different date and as soon as she had that in hand she then refused to help me and withdrew the application. I said the woman didn't even know what she is doing did you train her? Well long story short the problem lies with upper managements inability to properly train their bank reps and obviously instead instructed them to be rude and nasty to customers. She obviously was part of the cover up. Amy Anderson should be held accountable for the nonsense her employee put me through. She ran my credit and everything. All for what. Not to help me but to hurt my credit and to cover her behind. Well Im going to invest time in telling this to everyone who will listen including the CPB, SEC, Attorney General, BBB, and every review website. Apparently Amy Anderson is the CEO of the bank because when I asked to speak to her superior she stated I am the Superior. SO this ladies inability to train her staff and take care of customer complaints isn't high on her to do list. But treating customers this way is. All I did was try to get a mortgage they advertised, yet this according to Amy Anderson is my fault. Well not only did they lose a customer but Im going to share this incident again with everyone I know. At the end of the day I hope She is found to be accountable for all this along with her rude staff. DO NOT GO NEAR THIS BANK. Unless you want this kind of treatment.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    S
    Reviewed By skahnehtati Feb 9, 2016

    Fined for "unsafe" banking practices and consumer law violations (2015)

    PLEASE DO NOT BANK WITH THIS INSTITUTION - They are a group of dishonest people. Trustco bank policy actually impact the lives of people who mistakenly of "trusting" the company.
    "The federal comptroller of the currency, disclosed that the OCC found "unsafe" banking practices and consumer law violations - indicating that regulators may have found more fault with Trustco's procedures or internal guidelines rather than problem loans or accounting problems."
    http://www.bizjournals.com/albany/news/2015/07/23/trustco-adjusts-business-plan.html

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By merakibrooklyn Feb 6, 2016

    Incompetence to the point of malice.

    Incompetence to the point of malice.

    Customer Satisfaction to Service Provided Ratio: 0%

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By alb Feb 3, 2016

    Do not get a mortgage with this bank save yourself from trouble

    I recently refinanced my house in Orlando with this bank, first their customer service in the branches is awful, poor customer service quality besides now I'm in the process of filling complaints with FTC and CFPB because after several inconveniences before closing and then 40 days after closing they are asking me to disburse more money because of their incompetence and lack of due diligence they absolutely misinformed me and misguided me about the amount to be paid for recording a new deed. With the new TRID regulations is stated that they can't come back to the customers asking for more money but I guess they are not considering that closing cost so now I'm headed to an attorney as well to see if the can be held responsible for poor practices. My advice to you all. STAY AWAY FROM THIS BANK. If I could I would have giving them cero stars

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.