B MyBankTracker Rating

UMB Bank Customer Reviews

(24 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 4
4 Star 0
3 Star 0
2 Star 2
1 Star 18

The Most Helpful UMB Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Mizzou Oct 26, 2015

Umb columbia mo

Wonderful helpful people!! Coming from out-of-town to fix college son's account. They knew we were cutting it close with time. They had everything ready and we were in and out within minutes. Thanks again

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By coloradolove Oct 16, 2016

Charges on charges on charges on charges...

After accidentally buying two packs of gum and a taco with a near 0 balance in my checking account (oops), I incurred three $40 overdraft fees without warning. I've never over-drafted before and was even under the impression, based on a conversation with a teller, that I didn't have over-draft protection enabled (so the charges would bounce instead of go through).

As a college student with my finances tied up and no financial support from my parents, these were pretty devastating. I spoke to someone in admin at my local UMB branch about the charges and asked if they could decrease or drop one of the charges given my situation and my history of good behavior. She said no. Didn't work with me at all, just no.

Now, less than a year after closing & canceling my UMB account, I got a letter in the mail from UMB informing me that I was being charged $50 for a "custodial account fee" for having an inactive account for more than a year. Again, as a college student, this is a pretty big deal.

1. I specifically asked the lady helping me cancel my UMB account if there was anything else I needed to do be fully finished with UMB, and she told me no. Was that a lie, or did she just not know how to check? Really?
2. I cancelled my account 10 months before getting this letter, so they charged me preemptively.
3. I never got any notification or warnings that I was going to get this fee, just the $50 invoice.

Ent, my current bank, would never pull this shit. UMB simply doesn't care about their customers.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest UMB Bank Reviews

  •  
    B
    Reviewed By Bstell May 16, 2017

    Long time customer

    I will start by saying this has been my bank for 29 years (since I turned 16). It is definitely not the bank I used to know. Within the last 10 years every time I have went in the bank office in Monett, MO the service person is either not very knowledgeable or not very friendly. Likewise every time I have contacted Customer Service in KC, MO they are not friendly or customer oriented. I will be going in to my local branch tomorrow to close out my account and deposit box. I am done with this slowly failing bank. There are at least 2-3 local banks that have been trying to garner my business and I will be going to one of them. If the customer service was at a better level I would reconsider but the indifference at my local branch and at the corporate level is not acceptable to me as a customer.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By Arpsydaisy Apr 29, 2017

    IF there were negative stars that would be what I would rate.

    They have NEVER NEVER given me a break on anything. I applied to tie my 4k savings accounts to my checking. The paperwork was sent to the branch closes for me to sign on a friday at 4pm.
    I go in sign all paperwork was NOT given copies and amazingly NO ONE could find anything, not even the orginal bank down town on GRAND where I opened an account more than. 15 years ago. I cannot wait to move my bank accounts. Never tied my ATM card to my savings but charged me 3 dollars for too many transfers per month only allowed 3 I was told LATER, when I made an online transfer to avoid overdrafts. Then I deposited my paycheck into ATM as bank is closed and the branch doesnt open till 9am. AFTER EVERYONE IS AT WORK! They but a 7 day hold and charged me 36 dollar over draft fee on my automatic withdrawls. Then mailed me a leter in the mail to inform me. HORRIBLE HORRIBLE BANK RUN!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    J
    Reviewed By Jeanieshook Apr 15, 2017

    Many many reasons

    We had been depositing checks from our own bank account at a different bank. Inexplicably they decided to hold on to one of these checks for several days., which is actually a violation of federal law. Federal law states that the bank must make checks available by the second business day following the deposit. (The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System Regulations created the Expedited Funds Availability Act (EFAA) Regulation CC: Availability of Funds and Collection of Checks 12 CFR 229. See Section 229.12. The computer portal showed they had the check, but they had not applied it to the balance. They did not apply the check until the 8th business day. And, although they had decided to randomly hold this particular check for so long, they did not inform us or contact us about it. Thus, we had several overdraft fees. I did paperwork to close both accounts that we had. They refused to close the account for which they were holding the check- from my own other bank from my account- a check from myself to myself, but they did agree to close the other and had me fill out paperwork to do so. Lo and behold, they did not close it, but continued adding monthly maintenance fees. Because I had already withdrawn my money on this particular account to make the account balance 0 then, we were over drafted again due to the monthly maintenance fees. So what this means is all this is going to go on my credit report unless I pay up these fees that they cause me themselves. I can't get away from this bank!!!! I did everything I could to add money to the account to avoid this! This kind of thing has happened randomly over the years and they always handle it terribly. And they give no help when we call it on the phone. They always say we have to go down to our specific branch in person. Maybe I wouldn't be so mad if their general concern towards their customers was better. We use the ATM that's in their parking lot several times over several weeks and it never once was cleaned. The keys you had to touch were GROSS! They had black caked stuff on them (the keys were supposed to be white.) When I threw a fit about it, they finally bothered to clean it and gave me excuses as to why they never walked into their own parking lot to clean it. Not only that, but they change their bank operating hours to open a lot later. However, they never bothered to change the sign on the door. Several weeks went by and after waiting for the bank a couple different mornings to open and leaving again, figuring there must be some bank holiday I didn't know about, I finally called to find out what was going on. Apparently, despite having several security cameras watching everyone's every move in the parking lot, they had let their customers stand in the parking lot by the door waiting for the bank to open every morning for several weeks. How were the customers to know? They were looking at the sign on the door.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    T
    Reviewed By troylacey Oct 18, 2016

    No assistance for their customers

    Approximately 10 years ago we financed some work on our house and the company used UMB for their financial services. We made monthly payments for many years without receiving a statement. I called a couple years ago requesting a payoff balance and UMB finally decided to send monthly statements. Getting close to being done with the loan and called a few weeks ago to ask a question. They advised me our loan was serviced by a person in KC at the main office. Called the number I was given from customer service and left a very detailed voice mail and a request for a return call. Two weeks passed and no call back. Called customer service again and I was advised the person I was told to call did not handle calls from the public. I asked why the person's name was given to me and why their name was on our statements and they said it was a default, computer generated name and the person on the phone did not know why the name was on my statements. I was told that I would have to contact someone at the branch I used to secure the loan and when I advised the person on the phone no branch was involved, I was told to contact a local branch. I told them I was not sure there were any local branches in my town and they said they found one and they would transfer me to the branch for assistance. I was transferred to the branch and told the manager would need to assist me, but they were busy at the moment and would call me back either that day or the next. Today is two weeks and still waiting for a call back. This has got to be the worst customer service I have received from a bank. I am very glad we did not open an account with them as I would hate to see how poor their service is with new accounts if it is this bad with existing accounts! Would not recommend this bank to anyone!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    C
    Reviewed By coloradolove Oct 16, 2016

    Charges on charges on charges on charges...

    After accidentally buying two packs of gum and a taco with a near 0 balance in my checking account (oops), I incurred three $40 overdraft fees without warning. I've never over-drafted before and was even under the impression, based on a conversation with a teller, that I didn't have over-draft protection enabled (so the charges would bounce instead of go through).

    As a college student with my finances tied up and no financial support from my parents, these were pretty devastating. I spoke to someone in admin at my local UMB branch about the charges and asked if they could decrease or drop one of the charges given my situation and my history of good behavior. She said no. Didn't work with me at all, just no.

    Now, less than a year after closing & canceling my UMB account, I got a letter in the mail from UMB informing me that I was being charged $50 for a "custodial account fee" for having an inactive account for more than a year. Again, as a college student, this is a pretty big deal.

    1. I specifically asked the lady helping me cancel my UMB account if there was anything else I needed to do be fully finished with UMB, and she told me no. Was that a lie, or did she just not know how to check? Really?
    2. I cancelled my account 10 months before getting this letter, so they charged me preemptively.
    3. I never got any notification or warnings that I was going to get this fee, just the $50 invoice.

    Ent, my current bank, would never pull this shit. UMB simply doesn't care about their customers.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    J
    Reviewed By jmw Mar 7, 2016

    Worst Bank Ever

    I had only dealt with UMB Bank briefly in the past and did not care for there service so did not stay with them long.
    Recently my brother died and had his account there. I took my court letter and death certificate and had the account converted to an estate account, made a deposit to it and they printed me counter checks plus a lot of his old bank statements, as I needed to track IRS deposits. They took about an hour filling out paperwork and keying things into the computer. I signed a signature card. I did not get copies mainly because it was not a new account, just changes.
    I have been making deposits made out in my name as administrator and paying his bills on-line as he left me his on-line banking info. No problem.
    I went in the other day - account changed Sept, I went in March 3rd - to cash a check on the account. Now that I want money out the whole file is missing. No where to be found. They had no signature card for me. Turns out they had no file or paperwork at all. No changes were apparently made in the computer. I kept his account at that bank for specific reasons. I came home to be sure I had no paper copies and went back Sat. The branch I went to now has no Sat lobby hours. So I went to the other branch in town and I thought possibly they sent the file there. They have nothing. So I tried to start over with the changes. She said not the simple need new account because his social security number is still attached to that. OF course, it is. I have the court letter to take it over. She made copies of Letter, Death certificate, and my driver's license and Fed ID I got for estate again. She said she would to talk to legal and call me on Mon. Legal does not open accounts. She would also have a manager call me Mon as well. Around noon after hearing nothing, I went in to just close the account. Took letter and death etc again. Now they decide they cannot accept the court letter because it is more than 90 days old. The Letters are good for several years according to the court. They want a certification from the court that the estate is still open, per their legal dept. OF course it is, they still have his money that I have to collect and distribute. The court does not constantly re-issue letters, never heard of one not being accepted. I called the court and they will for a tiny fee re-issue the letter. So now I have to wait on the mail back and forth to settle. How does a bank just lose all the paperwork and everything keyed into the computer? Totally unacceptable. Also on one of my trips I heard a teller tell a drive through customer she could not find his account. Eventually she did. I sent a complaint through customer service, of course no response to that either. All the most untrained, incompetent people ever. Including their legal dept because the letter is still good and they should know that. It has been quite a year yet. How do I know someone did not take my information home as is using it? I have checked my credit reports and bank accounts. At the moment all ok. Once this is settled Never Ever will I step into a UMB Bank again. IF you know anyone who uses them - tell them to get out fast.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    E
    Reviewed By eja Jan 31, 2016

    Sunday night problem with no one to call

    On a sunday night my kids notice we can't get into our account and all our questions have been changed without any notice. I call the tiny number on the back of the card only to find out that I can only talk to a live body monday through saturday during the specific hours. So we are all trying to figure out if we need to go clean out our bank accounts or if someone has done that for us! If you are a criminal make sure you commit your cyber crime after 10 pm on Saturday night through Monday morning. Unreal!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    P
    Reviewed By Phebo81 Dec 31, 2015

    Worst UMB experience ever!

    I have been a UMB customer for w0 years, and have always had a wonderful experience. I'm literally in the lot right now after leaving at 1230pm new years eve. After waiting in line for 10 minutes I had a lady tell me she couldn't help me because i had a deposit and a money order. I'd have to wait for the next teller. As the next person arrived at her window she loudly proclaimed to the rest of the line (condecendingly, I might add) that everyone needed to already have they're deposit slips filled out. Then the manager came out and again stated that everyone needed to have everything filled out. When I finally got to the teller he said there were no envlopes for my money order (which they gladly give me at every other branch I've ever been to). Overall, 3 people plus a bank manager working on new years eve is ridiculous, on top of everyone treating they're customers like children. I will never come to this location again.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    B
    Reviewed By bolts Dec 29, 2015

    Denies Credit Worthy Applicants

    I applied for a Born Free credit card through UMB to help the elephants and was denied. I have credit in the excellent range, it was stated on the denial letter. Granted, this is a bank I had never EVEN HEARD OF until I saw the application on Born Free's website.
    Just goes to show why I had never heard of it. It is a joke of an institution.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    F
    Reviewed By formercust Oct 27, 2015

    Know nothing about customer service!

    At this UMB bank, I am treated consistently as if I should bow down and kiss the feet of the bank personnel. A couple of years ago I informed them the purpose of my visit was to withdraw the Required Minimum Distribution from a Beneficiary IRA. After going through all the steps to complete the withdrawal I was confused when I was told the balance of the IRA, as it did not correspond with the statement I held (the only one I have ever seen, which was sent to my mother's address). It turns out that the bank had just recently sent me the RMD payment without notifying me, either before or after completing the transaction. I was told they could not reverse the transaction that I had just made, even if I had no knowledge of the stealth RMD payment I had yet to receive from the bank. I have made multiple requests for a statement - so far the result has been absolutely none. Today I tried to cash a $20 birthday check I recently received at the bank, but was told that to cash the check I had to go to Chase. Well that is just what I am doing. Rolling over that IRA to the Chase just down the street. No wonder there are NEVER any customers when I visit this UMB. I imagine the employees are always chuckling over the latest text they sent/received from another employee - just like the unprofessional clerk was doing today when I approached her. STAY AWAY. YOU WILL BE GLAD YOU DID

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.