Profile | Reviews

USAA Customer Reviews

Online Bank, usaa.com

181 Reviews
2 out of 5 stars

Latest Customer Reviews

  •  
    Reviewed By MichelleRios Dec 1, 2017

    Just Sad USAA :(

    Lots of fees, I mean lots. They locked me out of my online account, Can only use mobile app. Called and asked why no one knows why. Its been eight months now. Told me to call back after twelve months and see if I can get access back. Why am I being punished?

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By dovdes Oct 20, 2017

    I had frudulant charges, returned bills and over draft fees Horrible bank!!

    I had some company from another country attempt to take money out of my account. The fraud department contacted me regarding 4 debit charges from the same company trying to take money out but I did not have the money tin my account at the time therefore they could not pend or post. I was called the same day I noticed $220 pending in my account from a company I never heard of. I googled the name and it was in a different language. I told the fraud department but was told they couldn't do anything until it POSTED. I asked about my bills coming in. They said "it takes 1-5 days before the pend posts so they cant do anything before then". I thought "what the F" ? My bills were returned and I obtained over draft as a result and they refused to refund the over drafts. I was screwed twice. The pending /post was dropped on day 5 but my bills were still returned. I turned in a new direct deposit slip to another bank for my employer. Chase would never do that. USAA kick a person when they are down. YOU SUCK!!!

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By LT_2020 Aug 28, 2017

    What Happened to USAA?!?!

    I've been a member for 11 years, and for the last six years or so, the Bank has become terrible! USAA used to boast that they were rated #1 in service - they don't post that anywhere any more because they are fricking awful!!! Almost every time I have to interact with the bank, there is a mega problem. It's infuriating. All of the following examples occurred in the last 6 months but this crap has been going on for a long time: #1 I needed to get a money order for a deposit to get a new apartment, and was put on hold off and on for 40 minutes with a really rude person (who sounded like a 13 year old). I called back on a separate line and was able to solve it quickly. However, the original person who was really rude somehow found a way to freeze my accounts and delete our conversation from the USAA system. When I called back to complain and fix the issue, the person I talked to could not see any history. I later called back again and my account was locked, and USAA charged me a late fee on my car insurance that couldn't process because of my account being locked, which only happened because of USAA's stupidity. Example #2 - I was bumped by a car in my rear bumper. The guy who bumped me had Geico and was a former police officer (really nice guy and very apologetic). He gave me all of his info. When I called USAA about getting my bumper fixed, USAA wanted me to follow up with Geico to take care of everything. They kept dodging trying to help me get my car fixed. What am I paying insurance for?!?!?! Example #3 I haven't gotten a ticket in over ten years and have not gotten in an accident where I wasn't bumped by someone from behind in over 15 years. However, my insurance only goes up. The only time my insurance went down was when I got married. It's gone up otherwise even though I am a very safe driver.

    USAA chose corporate profits over customer service, and they are now reaping what they sowed. I am switching my accounts to Geico, Chase, and Wells, and I know many other buddies from the military who are doing the same. This bank does not deserve the vets and their families they claim to serve.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Tsys100718 Aug 8, 2017

    They USE your money for 9 days before allowing you access to it.

    I made a full balance payoff with an EFT that showed posted to my account on August 1, 2017. As of today, August 8, 2017, it is STILL not reflected in my available credit. There is now doubt in my mind that this is a ploy to extend the average daily balance used for interest calculation purposes. When I call, I am always told tomorrow. Funny thing about tomorrow, it never seems to get here! At least not with USAA!

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By DJJOSEPH Apr 21, 2017

    Sad to see a former pillar becoming dust

    USAA no longer deserves to represent themselves as a company for Veterans. Just read their reviews. Ive been a member for 28 years and am now pulling out everything but life insurance. GOD I hope I dont die.
    Had an auto accident in December 2016. As of April 2017 we have yet to receive reimbursement. Communication is poor. They have played games throughout the whole process and have now agreed in words only to pay a very small portion of the money needed to repair the car. Got hit by a huge city bus and they can't understand the damage and say they see rust on a well-kept Florida car that is rust-free. They insult your intelligence and stick together internally no matter how high you go. They say the police report only notes damage in rear quarter. Sad to see a former pillar becoming dust. Will be sending a letter to Florida Insurance Commissioner and Senator.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By dtroitlions21 Apr 14, 2017

    Missing Money

    USAA was never my "main" checking/savings account. I would transfer large amounts into it for savings, then use it a little at a time if needed. Today, I noticed that when I went to transfer money into the account, it told me that the account did not exist. When I went onto my USAA online account neither my checking nor savings were available.

    After looking at some past statements, I noticed that funds had been transferred out of both accounts on the same day in August (not a whole lot, but that's besides the point) to bring the accounts to $0. In October, they sent out an updated policy letter about them being able to close your account with no notice if it was at $0. I didn't pay much attention to it seeing as how I was under the impression that I still had money in both accounts. Apparently, that is what happened. They closed both accounts in November (only 2 months after them having a $0 balance).

    When I called to find out what happened to the money that was transferred out, and possibly reopening both accounts, I was told that their records didn't go that far back (let me remind you that it's only been 6 months since they closed my account), and that they could put in a "locate transfer request", but that department was separate and in order to do that I would have to pay $15 an hour for them to locate my money...for each account. It could have ended up costing me more to find the money, than the amount of money that was missing.

    Like I stated before, it wasn't a whole lot of money (maybe about $75), but the fact that money could just go missing like that and they wouldn't/couldn't do anything about it unless I paid them more money is absolutely ridiculous. On top of them just closing the accounts with no notice of them having done so.

    Needless to say I did not reopen my account, and I will never have another checking/savings/credit card/or any other type of account with them.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By mollema Apr 11, 2017

    The Worst Bank EVER

    I have never had so much trouble with a Bank! I thought being a bank geared towards veterans that it would be good! NO it isn't. The people you deal with on the phone are pretty useless and not helpful. It seems their procedures change constantly. They were good at first but went downhill quickly. Don't expect much professionalism from them. I would recommend ALLY BANK. They are so much better. They are also an online bank.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By JDough Apr 5, 2017

    INFURIATING HOLD TIMES/CALL TRANSFERS SETTING UP TRUST ACCOUNT

    Incompetence. Conflicting info. Multiple department transfers. BLOOD-BOILING hold times (almost an hour for each of the 4 calls I experienced). "We have what we need" then "We need another document". After several rounds of this, I exploded and told them forget it, I will not proceed, I'm taking my $$$ elsewhere.
    Then surprisingly a packet arrived, displaying my FULL SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER, saying "Your accounts are set up, please send us money". I called and closed the accounts. Three weeks later a duplicate packet arrived! It took another 2 calls, multiple transfers and long hold-times to "get me to the right department authorized to close accounts".

    Run. Run far away.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By USAAhater Mar 9, 2017

    Yet another worthless bank

    I got a secured credit card with these losers. Two of my business creditors were declined when they tried to charge the card, even though they have 100% of the credit limit on account in their bank and there was 10 times the available credit on the card as the amount of the charges. I called the imbeciles up to tell them they are absolutely NOT allowed to decline any charges on my account for ANY reason. It's my money, not theirs. By not accepting my charges, they are stealing my money and behaving like what they absolutely are, criminals. I had hopes this bank would be different...NOPE. Just another bunch of worthless scumbag thieves...pathetic! They refused to accept my terms and I dropped the rotten criminals like a hot rock. What use is an effing credit card that doesn't accept charges? These crooks will do anything to keep your money. Even destroy your credit with your creditors. Go to Hell USAA bank. It's where you belong!

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Sickofusaa Aug 19, 2016

    What happened to USAA?

    I remember when being a member of USAA was a badge of honor. Now it is more like walking around with a STUPID stamp on your forehead.
    They treat me as a second class citizen because my husband is the veteran. I have spent HOURS trying to get the simpliest of tasks accomplished. Good luck if you choose USAA, I'm going to a bank that cares.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.