Profile | Reviews

Umpqua Bank Customer Reviews

National Bank, umpquabank.com

52 Reviews
1 out of 5 stars

Latest Customer Reviews

  •  
    Reviewed By simeconsta Nov 17, 2017

    This 'store' treats its customers with rudeness and long lines.

    I'm very familiar with this Umpqua "'Store" in Phoenix OR. and the folks that work there ; and the only way to describe the service the bank staff delivers is poor and shoddy. It's not unusual to walk through the front doors and see the 4-5 staff members lined up against the wall or staring out into space ;doing an excellent job of goldbricking. As a very small shareholder ,all this is very disconcerting. .. Now ,I know that job security is a major feature of bank employment but a publicly trade bank has a duty to its shareholders as well.
    Now, when these folks do get busy ,they are so slow that a long line immediately forms and given the ages of their clients ,grumbling begins at the knees . .. But to make things worse , a few of these bank specialists can get down right loud and rude for no real reason.
    I wonder if some of these gals working there were raised in a barn..!!!

    Especially sad was when I happened to see an elderly gentleman trying to transfer cash out of his IRA and into his checking so he could get it ;and watching the close to retirement age teller unable to make the transfer. After waiting about 20 minutes ,there she was staring at her comp. screen and trying to read the instructions on how to execute ,only to continue staring and finally initiated a few phone calls ,but to no avail. 20 minutes became 40 minutes and still the old guy was standing scratching his head telling her ,it was an easy procedure since he had it done before by other tellers.
    She told him to quit bugging her. 40 minutes easily became 60 minutes and to make a long story short ,the old guy blew it and told her off. Thankfully she retired from the bank a few months later.

    This is not unusual when dealing with UMPQUA.. too bad ,so sad.. And what about management you ask.. oh ,what management????

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Melsamel Oct 27, 2017

    Over promise, under deliver

    That should really be their motto...when you tout the "World's Greatest Bank" for all to see you really set the bar high. There is nothing about the Umpqua experience that even comes close to it. Even "Your Town's Greatest Bank" would be a flat out fib. I could deal with their sub-par customer service and technology if they just didn't brag about being so darn great but what they truly deliver is a joke.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By fedupwithbanks Jul 14, 2017

    Worst Bank I've ever dealt with

    I would give this bank zero stars if that were possible. I was originally a Sterling Bank customer (which was great). I recently made a deposit in the ATM before the bank opened on a business day 7/12 (in the branch of my hometown). However the deposit will be held until the 20th, which has put my account into an overdrawn state, even though I deposited enough money to cover the charges. I contacted the branch location that I originally opened the account, and was told that they wouldn't reverse the over drawn pending charges, even though my actual balance is not in the negative, and they wouldn't release the funds of my deposit.

    It's all a money making scheme so that the stockholders profit!!! I recommend closing your accounts and going to a credit union.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By MRL Mar 21, 2017

    Sub par Customer Service

    Been dealing with Umpqua Bank for about five years now with the organization I work for. Their customer service is sub par to say the least. Long wait times on the phone, as well as total lack of follow through on their end, have been some of my negative experiences with them over the years. Even when you do get a customer service agent to help you, it takes eons to do a simple task such as place a stop payment. And even then, they totally botch it, thus resulting in more frustration.

    My experience with Banner Bank has been much more pleasant, with competent staff to meet our needs, with a much more user-friendly on-line banking system. I'm happy to say that we'll soon be moving all of the company's money over there, and working with Banner exclusively! I wouldn't recommend Umpqua Bank to anybody, and they are not worthy of the 1 star I gave them. Apparently zero stars is not an option....

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Timp Feb 18, 2017

    Apathetic Staff, Horrible Customer Service, Lack of Banking Features

    I have been eying Umpqua as my Chase replacement for some time now. I have dropped in the location downtown and had great experiences talking to the staff about banking options. That all is good.

    BUT, I just actually opened an account at the 61515 S Highway 97 location and had the worst banking experience of my like. I don't know about other staff, but my experience was with Mila Gabler...and it wasn't just her lack of passion for customer service that was the issue. In general I felt like she simply was not listening and not interested in answering my questions. Specifically

    -she did not know the services offered well enough to answer questions
    -she seemed more interested in rushing us out of the branch by the 1pm closing time than servicing our needs.
    -she tried to take shortcuts on our account by only signing my wife up fior online banking and she had the audacity to suggest I come back and set mine up at another time
    -she could not answer why the bank was requiring my occupation to open a checking account. She could not tell me if it was an Umpqua requirement or a federal requirement, and she wasn't interested in finding out. She simply kept saying "I dont know, its a pulldown so I just need to fill it out.
    -she told me I was suspicious because I was asking questions around why the bank required my occupation to open a simple checking account.
    -She then selected an occupation without our permission or okay, simply to try and move the process along faster
    -She was irritated when I had question on the account form I was about to sign, and showed serious apathy in answering questions
    -then after all that, she implied to my wife that I was difficult and she was sorry for her

    Top notch service companies do not employ apathetic customer folks in a customer facing role. I'd recommend managers and staff drop into any Chase bank if you would like to see outstanding customer services.

    I would love to talk to you more about this experience if you are interested and you can call me at any time.

    Tim Pfiffner
    503-528-6333

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By oeg9qu Jan 27, 2017

    Umpqua SUCKS

    These idiots bought out my mortgage and it's been a huge pain in the ass. They constantly ask for proof of insurance for my personal condo policy and our master HOA policy. I've never had a lender do this as frequently as Umpqua. At this point I'm going to either refinance or pay it off as soon as possible just so I don't have to deal with these clowns.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Chezchoix Dec 23, 2016

    If you want nice people smiling while giving you crap service, this is for you

    Basically Umpqua offers you all the limitations of a small, low-tech bank with the corporate sleaziness of a big bank. They have a carefully cultivate homey image, with cookies and smiles and freshly brewed coffee, but if you have any trouble with your account (mystery charges, poor notification, etc) expect them to be really nice and utterly powerless to help you. If you hate Bank of America, Umpqua is BofA with 1990 technology and a smile. Their website looks like it was built by a 14 year-old on Angelfire and they have so many fees buried in their TOS (good luck locating it) you basically just have to throw up your hands and expect you will be robbed. But if a cookie makes you feel better about it, hey, Umpqua on Donald Street is the place for you.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Takenbyumpqua Nov 29, 2016

    Surprise overcharging on auto loan

    I have been paying extra every month on my auto loan for a year. When I got the loan I was told it was fine to pay off early. Now I realize they weren't taking the extra off of the principle. They were just letting it accrue in their pocket and still charging me full interest. To fix it they want me to give them access to my account at my credit union instead of using auto pay at my credit union. I wish I had looked for an alternate source for this loan. My sacrifice for a year was going into their pocket. No effect whatever.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By pinecone Oct 31, 2016

    Ridiculous online experience of any bank

    I have tried over the past several years to like Umpqua Bank-- I love the branding, the bankers in the Portland branches are super nice and awesome-- but, the freakin' website is an absolute nightmare. Quite often, you cannot log in around 11 PM PST to the website, and then if you are able to get on, loan accounts will be missing. Statements are duplicative, my debit card was closed for NO reason (I called customer service and they said I had requested it... um nooooo.... "oh we didn't call you?" Uh, NOOOOOO). Absurd. I wanted to like this bank but when podunk no-name credit unions have more robust and reliable online banking platforms than Umpqua it makes you wonder. Whoever is in charge of their digital banking experience for consumers needs to be fired and replaced immediately.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Monk Oct 13, 2016

    Bounce Guard Bull $hit

    In 2010 the Fed Reserve made a LAW against automatically "providing" overdraft protection that lets ATM/POS charges to go thru and incure a fee (usually $35 per). Umpqua calls their service "Bounce Guard" and, magical, you are signed up for it even if you don't want it. I opened a savings account to act expressly as OD protection for my business checking. This week, almost 5 years later, I get hit w 4 OD charges. No one, anywhere in the system seems to have the authority to help or remove these charges. And no one seems to know how I didn't get my accounts properly linked. I will be closing my account tomorrow (after over a week) of getting the complete run around from everyone at Umpqua bank!

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.