B MyBankTracker Rating

Umpqua Bank Customer Reviews

(48 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 1
4 Star 0
3 Star 1
2 Star 1
1 Star 45

The Most Helpful Umpqua Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By JII Aug 7, 2015

A Dolphin swimming in a pack of sharks

Opened an account in West Seattle after receiving poor service from another local bank in the area. The West Seattle Umpqua bank employees go out of their way and attempt to treat you more like a person than a number. I actually had one employee tell me that my account was overdrawn and they contacted me personally to let me know and said they didn't want to see me get an overdraft over a starbucks coffee or something. What other banks do that?

The West Seattle branch is excellent to work with. Kelsey is excellent and cares a lot, Lai is very responsive to issues and the manager Kirk has been very helpful and responsive. The one area where I had some trouble in the past was with the institutional policy on wiring service a couple of years ago which they had made very difficult to process if you are out of the area due to wire fraud and I had to jump through a lot of hoops to get it done. But Kirk, Lai and Kelsey were extremely helpful in finding ways to get it taken care of. Best Bank I have dealt with so far.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Johnyamas Dec 7, 2015

Do not use this bank if you plan on traveling

I am traveling out of the country.
I called to let them know. When I try to log in on line they want a code from a phone where I am not at.
If I call when they are open I am calling long distance. I wait forever. They say if I want a callback to press star key. That does not give enough space for the phone number where I am. So I lose my place in line after 11 minutes and have to start over

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Umpqua Bank Reviews

  •  
    T
    Reviewed By Timp Feb 18, 2017

    Apathetic Staff, Horrible Customer Service, Lack of Banking Features

    I have been eying Umpqua as my Chase replacement for some time now. I have dropped in the location downtown and had great experiences talking to the staff about banking options. That all is good.

    BUT, I just actually opened an account at the 61515 S Highway 97 location and had the worst banking experience of my like. I don't know about other staff, but my experience was with Mila Gabler...and it wasn't just her lack of passion for customer service that was the issue. In general I felt like she simply was not listening and not interested in answering my questions. Specifically

    -she did not know the services offered well enough to answer questions
    -she seemed more interested in rushing us out of the branch by the 1pm closing time than servicing our needs.
    -she tried to take shortcuts on our account by only signing my wife up fior online banking and she had the audacity to suggest I come back and set mine up at another time
    -she could not answer why the bank was requiring my occupation to open a checking account. She could not tell me if it was an Umpqua requirement or a federal requirement, and she wasn't interested in finding out. She simply kept saying "I dont know, its a pulldown so I just need to fill it out.
    -she told me I was suspicious because I was asking questions around why the bank required my occupation to open a simple checking account.
    -She then selected an occupation without our permission or okay, simply to try and move the process along faster
    -She was irritated when I had question on the account form I was about to sign, and showed serious apathy in answering questions
    -then after all that, she implied to my wife that I was difficult and she was sorry for her

    Top notch service companies do not employ apathetic customer folks in a customer facing role. I'd recommend managers and staff drop into any Chase bank if you would like to see outstanding customer services.

    I would love to talk to you more about this experience if you are interested and you can call me at any time.

    Tim Pfiffner
    503-528-6333

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    O
    Reviewed By oeg9qu Jan 27, 2017

    Umpqua SUCKS

    These idiots bought out my mortgage and it's been a huge pain in the ass. They constantly ask for proof of insurance for my personal condo policy and our master HOA policy. I've never had a lender do this as frequently as Umpqua. At this point I'm going to either refinance or pay it off as soon as possible just so I don't have to deal with these clowns.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    C
    Reviewed By Chezchoix Dec 23, 2016

    If you want nice people smiling while giving you crap service, this is for you

    Basically Umpqua offers you all the limitations of a small, low-tech bank with the corporate sleaziness of a big bank. They have a carefully cultivate homey image, with cookies and smiles and freshly brewed coffee, but if you have any trouble with your account (mystery charges, poor notification, etc) expect them to be really nice and utterly powerless to help you. If you hate Bank of America, Umpqua is BofA with 1990 technology and a smile. Their website looks like it was built by a 14 year-old on Angelfire and they have so many fees buried in their TOS (good luck locating it) you basically just have to throw up your hands and expect you will be robbed. But if a cookie makes you feel better about it, hey, Umpqua on Donald Street is the place for you.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    T
    Reviewed By Takenbyumpqua Nov 29, 2016

    Surprise overcharging on auto loan

    I have been paying extra every month on my auto loan for a year. When I got the loan I was told it was fine to pay off early. Now I realize they weren't taking the extra off of the principle. They were just letting it accrue in their pocket and still charging me full interest. To fix it they want me to give them access to my account at my credit union instead of using auto pay at my credit union. I wish I had looked for an alternate source for this loan. My sacrifice for a year was going into their pocket. No effect whatever.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    P
    Reviewed By pinecone Oct 31, 2016

    Ridiculous online experience of any bank

    I have tried over the past several years to like Umpqua Bank-- I love the branding, the bankers in the Portland branches are super nice and awesome-- but, the freakin' website is an absolute nightmare. Quite often, you cannot log in around 11 PM PST to the website, and then if you are able to get on, loan accounts will be missing. Statements are duplicative, my debit card was closed for NO reason (I called customer service and they said I had requested it... um nooooo.... "oh we didn't call you?" Uh, NOOOOOO). Absurd. I wanted to like this bank but when podunk no-name credit unions have more robust and reliable online banking platforms than Umpqua it makes you wonder. Whoever is in charge of their digital banking experience for consumers needs to be fired and replaced immediately.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By Monk Oct 13, 2016

    Bounce Guard Bull $hit

    In 2010 the Fed Reserve made a LAW against automatically "providing" overdraft protection that lets ATM/POS charges to go thru and incure a fee (usually $35 per). Umpqua calls their service "Bounce Guard" and, magical, you are signed up for it even if you don't want it. I opened a savings account to act expressly as OD protection for my business checking. This week, almost 5 years later, I get hit w 4 OD charges. No one, anywhere in the system seems to have the authority to help or remove these charges. And no one seems to know how I didn't get my accounts properly linked. I will be closing my account tomorrow (after over a week) of getting the complete run around from everyone at Umpqua bank!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    C
    Reviewed By chris974 Aug 20, 2016

    Terrible experience

    It is 2016 and yet their online tools simply do not work, even to make a simple mortgage payment. I tried contacting the customer service several times but they are no help. I got the generic "Sometimes it takes a few days for the website to start working and allow payment" response. It's been weeks and it still does not work.

    We also started receiving a lot of mortgage related spam mail since we opened our account, for various third party companies :/

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    N
    Reviewed By Ndsouza Jul 26, 2016

    Terrible service

    I would give a Zero Star rating if I could. Obtained a loan through the auto dealer. Refinanced through Wells Fargo. Asked for a payoff. Was charged $30 for the statement. Could not open the secure email, requested it again charged another $30. Tried to get a refund, answer sorry no refunds even though it was their fault. Run don't walk from this bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    P
    Reviewed By pdxuser Jul 4, 2016

    The biggest catch: ATM fees everywhere!

    Almost everyone uses an ATM at one point or another, but with Umpqua, you pay up to $6 every time you touch any ATM besides their own branch ATMs, even just to check your balance.

    On top of other ATMs' fees of about $3.00 (and Umpqua charges a ridiculous $3.50 for non-members), Umpqua also charges their own $2.50 fee on top of that, totalling $5.50 to $6.00 per transaction! They even charge this fee if you just check your balance. Even more amazing is that they have no free ATM network. Literally every other small and medium-sized bank I could find had tens of thousands of free ATMs through a network like MoneyPass or Allpoint. Even the tiniest credit unions offer tens of thousands of free ATMs through the Co-op and CU24 networks. And of course the big banks have thousands of their own ATMs. But Umpqua doesn't have any such network. Either drive to the bank to use their own branch ATMs, or get double-charged. If you ever travel outside the West Coast, you're out of luck.

    But none of this is obvious if you look at their website. It says checking accounts offer $10 ATM fee reimbursements* and free Plus Deposit Network ATMs. Except these turn out to be illusions. If you click on the asterisk, you'll find out that you have to keep a minimum balance of $2,500 every day to get the ATM reimbursement. This is a $2,500 loan to Umpqua that either they keep until you close your account, or you start paying fees. And remember how they double-charge you? This means that $10 reimbursement only fully covers one ATM use, and you start paying on the second use. So in exchange for a $2,500 loan to Umpqua, you get one free ATM use. Don't waste it all on a balance inquiry.

    And the Plus Deposit Network is nothing like the vast Plus network. In my city of Portland, Oregon, it consists of just two ATMs in the entire city limits besides Umpqua. Two whole ATMs. And they're only free if you just make a deposit. Again, don't check your balance, or Umpqua will charge you $2.50 for that.

    This is the absolute worst bank I've ever seen when it comes to ATM fees. And believe me, once I found out how stingy Umpqua is about ATM fees, I checked literally every other bank and credit union in the downtown area I live in. Umpqua really is the absolute worst for ATM fees, by a long shot.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    F
    Reviewed By fst442 May 31, 2016

    Umpqua, unfair mortgage practices

    This review is for Umpqua's mortgage department located at 8121 W Grandridge in Kennewick. I called Umpqua to see what my refinancing options were, after receiving a few options, I chose the loan I wanted. We own a 4 bedroom 2 bath, 1/2 of the living quarters are located in the 768 sq ft basement. We've recently remodeled our basement and are about 85% complete, we need doors and molding. The appraiser made his assessment on a 2 bedroom 1 bath at 768 sq ft because the basement wasn't "complete".
    Based on our loan officer's advice, we appealed the appraiser's assessment and the decision was upheld. Umpqua did not insist on a Freddie Mae form 442 be completed with our appeal(we learned about this form later) stating the home's worth after the basement is completed.
    During this fiasco with the appraiser, Umpqua's underwriting department wanted a copy of my husband's Dissolution of Marriage. He provided it, the underwriting department told him that wasn't the right form. Umpqua even requested a copy of the Dissolution of Marriage from the county of his divorce and were provided the exact same thing my husband provided them. Still, they insisted there should be more. There isn't and after haggling back and forth, the underwriter's moved our loan forward.
    At this time we were so defeated and didn't want to start the loan all over again, we finished our refinancing with Umpqua only to save $100.00 a month. We couldn't even get the mortgage insurance taken off because of the bad appraisal. Umpqua told us that they'd reimburse us for the inspection fee, which they did but added that reimbursement to our closing costs.
    I'm disappointed that a local bank would carry out these practices and continue to wonder why I'm paying taxes on a 4 bed 2 bath when the appraiser states we have a 2 bed 1 bath.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.