Profile | Reviews

Union Bank Customer Reviews

National Bank, unionbank.com

56 Reviews
2 out of 5 stars

Latest Customer Reviews

  •  
    Reviewed By scammedbyunionbank Oct 15, 2017

    $2,100 in overdraft fee's in 20 days

    i've had this account since 2005 with 0 issues
    now i owe $2,400 in literally less than 1 month
    i did not sign up for overdraft protection b/c as i see it, if there is no money in my bank account, the bill should NOT be paid....well union bank only sees dollar signs, they charged me over $2000 in this scam..... hello lawyers

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Zohreh66 Sep 8, 2017

    The worst bank and rud teller

    I have account abut 5 years in west wood branch, one of a teller which his name is Steven , issued a mistake cashier check, when I asked him to correct it, he told me " you should go in the line again". After all he got my check and crossed it out. I told him ok issue the correct one , he told me no I don't , it is illegal, I told him I have more than 10 cashier checks like this that issued by your bank . Then he told me " go out of my bank". He is so rud and impolite , I was so angry , I called the customer service and complained, they talked to Jesse another stuff and he issued it for me. If it is illegal, why another stuff can do it ?????
    There is no manager at this branch and they told me , Steven is also manager!!!!!
    I'm so sorry for the bank that it's manager and teller is one person like him.
    I have account with Chase bank next to this branch, every time they say welcome and doing everything perfect. Please tell everybody don't go to this branch.
    Thanks

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By dwightde Aug 30, 2017

    Truely the worst

    Bankers are friendly. Back office is mean. Closed my checking account without even notifying me. 10 business day holds are common. If you like pain and frustration this is the place for you.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Maytontj Apr 24, 2017

    Worse than b of a

    Absolutely worst customer service of any bank around. They have very poor comunication skills and no one really knows their own policy. As much as i dislike b of a. They are a much better ran bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By keepithonest Nov 15, 2016

    Bank with another bank...any other bank

    Union Bank is very serviceable when establishing the account but fail to point out all of their delays and fees. don't expect to be able to cash checks quickly even when they are from long standing reputable companies until you've been with them for a couple months they use that as an excuse to freeze your funds and use it as they want! Also, their claims office is the most unprofessional and dishonest I have ever encountered!! Their website does not offer many services online and you are forced to work over the phone so you can't keep a record of what was said/done. The double talk and patronizing on behalf of the staff is done with such confidence that it is obvious it is taught and encouraged, not just tolerated or a rogue staff. the vendor made a mistake on their end, charged my account, provided written documentation and asked to be called to verify the for the claims department that the charge should be reversed by bank because the computing error on their end did not allow them to reverse it on their end and yet it took the claims department nearly a month and a half to reverse the charge and only after multiple calls, hours of my wasted time, many false promises from them and lies on their part that they would put me through to a manager to speak with. It was ridiculous. Alisa then said..."I said I was looking for a manager, but I couldn't find one so I spoke to the team about it." she had me one the phone for half an hour waiting for the manager to pick up knowing only to come back to say there wasn't a manager there today! They also processed a claim on the wrong transaction. I made a claim and they picked up the wrong transaction and contacted the wrong vendor and told them I was refuting that purchase. They never apologized for picking up the wrong claim, for contacting the wrong vendor, for delaying my claim, etc. is like the three stooges over there, but worse because these people are dishonest. I provide proof in writing from the vendor that the item I ordered was not received and they choose to believe the vendor's documentation that they informed me they have only 20 minutes after they had informed me that they did not have a response from the vendor yet and had to wait two weeks for a response. the list goes on....I insisted on speaking to a manager and on getting copies of all the documentation regarding the two claims they botched and turned into three claims. they promised that would happen they same day. Of course, it didn't. Don't bother banking with Union Bank. Go to another bank with more ATMs , more branches and better customer service which is almost any other bank because they have set the bar so low!

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Manofmayo66 Jul 30, 2016

    The bank sucks but never had a problem with the branches

    I started out with Frontier Bank 10 years ago, then it got bought out by Union Bank. Honestly never had a major issue until 2016; they treated me right, $ got deposited in a day or less, etc. Now though, with their new "rules", I feel like I am getting slowly screwed. I had 4 business accounts & 1 personal account. In Jan 2016, they started charging me $12 per account. When I complained to the branch manager, she 'fixed' it, so it was only $12 for all my business accounts & $12 for the personal. So for a few months I stayed within the guidelines & no charges. Then in May, the bank must have decided to screw me again, and we went back to $12/account/month. So I closed 3 accounts and moved most of my banking to a much better CU.

    Yesterday I went to drop $ into my account, like I always do. It was before their afternoon 'cutoff' point. The check was drawn on another Union Bank account and was (supposedly) deposited directly into my account that day. A day later, Saturday, not a penny in the account. The business bank customer service says they put a hold on the check for 3 days (Wednesday) because it exceeded my monthly deposit limit. WTF? Never had a problem with money not being there the next day....NEVER!!!!! It didn't matter if it was the day before a holiday, or not. I always had the $$$$$$. Even when I was with Bank of America, they never put that long of a hold on my check. Oh and the client had more than enough $ to cover my check.

    I was planning on keeping 1 account open just to keep my safety deposit box (I have a cool number), but to heck with that! They have lost a good business customer. Never again will they get my $.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By manishwari Jun 9, 2016

    Made a bad situation even worse

    Terrible recent experience with this Union Bank branch. My father-in-law just passed away a few months ago. After going through a long and drawn out experience of trying to prove to them that he had actually passed, my mother-in-law ordered new checks so his name wouldn't be on them anymore.

    The new checks arrived this week - but both of their names were still on them! She went to the bank today to work it out with them, and she comes home sobbing because it was such a painful experience for her to have to argue with the employees about her dead husband...having to prove AGAIN that he had in fact died. In addition, apparently they forgot to notify the correct people about the name change for the checks (an understandable mistake), but only would agree to not charge her for the reprints after she burst into tears in front of them because she can't afford the $80-something they charge for checks.

    You would think that any institution would try to treat sensitive situations such as a death of a loved one with the utmost care, but after our experience here it doesn't seem like this Union Bank branch does. We understand that mistakes happen once in a white, but this mistake was not handled well at all...they instead re-opened a wound in this woman's heart and did very little, almost the least required, to make it right again.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Gabriela68 May 31, 2016

    Poway branch worst customer service ever

    I cannot write all the bad experience I had. Please don't go to this branch. Tellers need a lot of training. Very rude customer service and treat you like you don't know what you're asking for. Avoid the headache. Trust me

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Mari16 Apr 30, 2016

    Ms MTP

    Love this bank, never have problems, always positive good feeling when I do personal banking because of the positive people who work at them I recommend this bank to people all the time. Thank You for your wonderful service

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By edborine Apr 6, 2016

    My Refinance Horror Story

    This all started 6 months ago, in October, when my wife received a call from Antonio Gomez, telling her that he could offer us a fantastic lower rate on our existing mortgage with Union Bank.
    I then contacted him, obtained a list of all the documents that he required, and provided the bank with everything requested within 48 hours of their request. Then, the next request, was to provide them with copies of credit card statements and other documentation. This went on for about 45 days, and then they told me that there was a problem with my income-to-debt ratio, and that I would have to pay off some of my credit cards. I did that, to the tune of $30,000. This was requested by one of their vice presidents, who purported to be "on my side" - my advocate. For the next few months, he kept telling me how much he had done for me. I assume that he became involved because Antonio is not the brightest bulb in the lamp. Needless to say, the lock on the original rate had expired, and I was told that it was all my fault that the loan could not close. It is now exactly 6 months from the beginning of the process, and I am back where I started, The vice president will not answer my emails. However, the funniest part of this is that 2 weeks ago, Farzad from Union Bank called me to offer a "fantastic lower rate" if I would refinance the existing loan. It appears that the right hand does not know what the left hand is doing at Union Bank. This whole thing is a scam, or certainly appears to be one, intended to lure you into refinancing, earning a nice commission check for their employees, and then telling you that the "rate lock has expired", and that all of the delays are your fault, not the bank's. Absolutely do not deal with these switch and bait artists.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.