B MyBankTracker Rating

Valley National Bank Customer Reviews

(25 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 0
4 Star 0
3 Star 1
2 Star 1
1 Star 23

The Most Helpful Valley National Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By David M. Jan 6, 2012

Valley's A Keeper.

I had no major issues with valley national bank. They are one of those regional banks now offering cash bonuses to open accounts (like the big banks) and low mtge costs (like local banks). Their technology is up to par with online and new mobile banking. They had more branches and atm's around me than i realized which made banking with them easy. Overall valley is a good bank with competitive products, rates, technology and service. Did not have a chance to use additional services or products, but for your average banking needs, i think valley's a keeper.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By KKrattiger Dec 4, 2015

So Unhappy, Rude Customer Service, Unnecessary Fees

I refinanced my house through Valley National and do not use them for my online banking. I have one credit card set up on AutoPay through this account. Last month while I was traveling for business, the creditor tried to obtain payment from my account which had insufficient funds. When I returned from my trip, I immediately made a deposit to cover the funds. Valley charged me $35/day for three days in a row (including the day I made the deposit) and an additional $15 fee for the account dipping below the minimum balance which was a result of their penalty charges. I called the manager at the Caldwell branch to explain I was out of town and kindly requested that one of the $35 fees be removed since the money was available. She was rude and adamant that nothing could be done but that she would make the request. Now, two weeks later, and I receive my statement showing the $120 in fees for the month. I'm told that the computer system is responsible for charging me and there's no way to override it....complete BS. Again, I was treated rudely and the situation hasn't been resolved. I doubt she ever tried to resolve it in the first place. Next call is corporate. I have no problem paying a fee for a legitimate charge, but I called my credit card company and they did not charge Valley any fees.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Valley National Bank Reviews

  •  
    E
    Reviewed By EMFischer May 1, 2017

    Fraudulent charges

    I recently purchased a new car and because I was waiting for a settlement check the dealer set up financing with Valley National Bank . As anyone who has ever purchased a car knows, they will not let you take the car off the lot without insurance. To my surprise when 1 month later when I got my settlement check and went to pay off the car loan I found out that Valley National Bank was charging me an additional $4,614. for insurance, claiming that I had not provided them with proof of insurance (which by the way I had 3 times). The irony of this is that if I had not called to find out the exact amount of the pay off I would not have even known they had applied this exorbitant and fake charge to my account. And to add insult to injury, the car has been paid off but the insurance charge still exists.

    Clearly this is an organization that tries to take advantage of the consumer and can not be trusted.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    N
    Reviewed By NDC Apr 26, 2017

    They charge too many fees for being a good customer! I am cancelling our account

    My husband has been a customer of VNB for 25 years. They still charge us a $12 monthly fee and $1.00 ATM Fee. Most quality banks these days do not impose these charges. We will be cancelling our account with them shortly.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    D
    Reviewed By dskzz Feb 21, 2017

    Wont cash check for non-account holder

    This is bs. If a customer writes a check he assumes full faith that the bank will honor the instrument. But not Vally Bank, oh no sir. They demand that you open an account. Here's what I say to that - if you are so desperate for people to open accounts then maybe you should rethink your general banking policies. Go screw. If I every had a thought to use VN, it's out the window now.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    N
    Reviewed By NNS Jan 22, 2017

    Valley National North Brunswick rt.27

    Zero stars is more like it. Worse bank i have ever dealt with. They cause your account to be overdrawn and then charge you an insufficient fund fee. I can't afford to bank at Valley National. And it's almost impossible to find anyone to help because they all claim to not have authority to protect your money. I banked with Valley for 1 year and it's been the worst decision i have ever made. Their system is so out dated. They don't even have the machine that counts the money (they sit there with their calculator and adding machine and sometimes called over another teller to recount the bills). It's a joke how they always ask you to call the 800 number to correct errors because they are not authorized to fix errors that they caused. I swear I think they have a big mattress in the back that they put our money under. Your cash is unprotected. I spoke to them about a transaction that was incorrectly put on my account from a third party (being that it was pending, i let them know that it wasn't authorized by me). They told me there wasn't anything that they can do. I felt that my money was so unprotected and that eventhough I was asking them to note that this was an unauthorized transaction, they did nothing. I called the third party and they removed the charge and apologized for the error. I called back Valley and they had nothing to say. I have had so many problems with my account that I am just waiting for my direct deposit to post and then I will close out my checking as i just closed out my savings account.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By ADRock Oct 5, 2016

    SUPER RUDE

    Avoid this bank at all costs!

    Great location, right on Main street near downtown Dunedin. They are a "smallish" community bank, I was really excited to open an account conveniently located without having to use one of the huge corporate banks where the service is just awful.

    Well color me surprised when the manager of this bank was the most obnoxiously rude COW I've ever encountered at any bank. I'm sitting at the service desk opening a new account, the account rep is entering all my information into his computer, when suddenly this grumpy old lady walks up behind me and is leering at me over my shoulder -- very odd! She begins to interrogate me about my personal life, asking questions which have nothing to do with banking. I worked in banking for 14 years and the questions this lady was asking were not apropos to banking nor even legal to be demanding that a customer answer.

    I was like, "Excuse me, who are you, and why are you asking me personal questions."
    She replies, "I'm the manager and if you don't answer my questions then you can leave."
    I couldn't believe how this old lady was treating me. So I asked if she was anti- gay and lesbian. She replies, "Get out! I don't want people like you in my bank!"

    I've never been treated so poorly by a bank. And to finish the story, I went up the road to USAmeribank (also a community bank) and they opened my account on the spot and were very nice. They even had free freshly baked cookies. Yay USAmeribank... boo Valley National... more like Valley of the Lepers.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By MysticZero Aug 31, 2016

    This place has been a headache since day 1...

    Two stars ONLY because most of the tellers and bankers I've met have been pleasant people.

    When I joined I didn't initially get online banking because the banker didn't know how to set it up and told me to call the 800 number. I did... and they bungled processing so thoroughly that because my information is half-logged into their system, I haven't been able to correct it or get a different online account.
    I've been charged insufficient fee funds when I had appropriate money in my account; I've had checks cashed two and three times out of one check, putting my account well into the negatives on a few different occasions (at different locations).
    Recently, while out of town, I checked my balance at an ATM. I checked a few days later, it said the same thing, so I proceeded from there. Turns out the ATM was broken and reporting wrong numbers so my account hit the negatives. I was notified of the error by my branch, explained what happened, and they asked why I hadn't called or checked my balance online. I said I had no reception and cannot use the online system. They said the overdraft fees and corresponding additional charges could probably be waived through customer service.
    I called customer service the next day to explain, and the rep was extremely rude. She kept saying she didn't understand what the problem was, that I was overdrawn and punished accordingly for it. I asked if she could waive the late fees and she raised her voice to berate me for not calling in, saying "you know, we are here twenty four hours a day. How hard it it to make a phone call?" Pretty hard, actually, when you're roaming and have no reception in another state. She would not help or even stay calm enough to speak with me rationally.
    I've had plenty of negative interactions with their customer service team, but this was the worst and it was the final straw. Valley National no longer has my support.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By acry112 Jun 28, 2016

    Outdated and frustrating

    I have an auto loan with VNB. Not my first loan but first with them and they are by far the worst. They offer terrible service with no online platform to review loan balance/repayment and make you jump through hoops and pay unnecessary fees at every turn instead of getting with the times. I have been trying to update my address and set an autopay account with them for months now, but even something as simple as that requires several forms getting sent then faxed over...yes fax - because that's the only way to manage your account with them according to their reps. Why even have customer service reps if they don't have the authority to do anything, even something as simple as update your account to reflect your new address so that you can actually receive the forms needed to schedule payments without the additional phone scheduling fee. The fact that they make this process so difficult and drawn out, and then have the nerve to charge an extra fee even when paying on time is ridiculous. It seems that they intentionally make it a convoluted process to charge the extra fees.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    W
    Reviewed By Wilk Mar 29, 2016

    PMI For 30 years, crazy!

    I have been with this bank for 13 years and my house value is more than half of my remaining mortgage but they still charge PMI. Other banks take that away after the value of the house is 20% more of what you own. I am getting out this month, going to another bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    K
    Reviewed By KKrattiger Dec 4, 2015

    So Unhappy, Rude Customer Service, Unnecessary Fees

    I refinanced my house through Valley National and do not use them for my online banking. I have one credit card set up on AutoPay through this account. Last month while I was traveling for business, the creditor tried to obtain payment from my account which had insufficient funds. When I returned from my trip, I immediately made a deposit to cover the funds. Valley charged me $35/day for three days in a row (including the day I made the deposit) and an additional $15 fee for the account dipping below the minimum balance which was a result of their penalty charges. I called the manager at the Caldwell branch to explain I was out of town and kindly requested that one of the $35 fees be removed since the money was available. She was rude and adamant that nothing could be done but that she would make the request. Now, two weeks later, and I receive my statement showing the $120 in fees for the month. I'm told that the computer system is responsible for charging me and there's no way to override it....complete BS. Again, I was treated rudely and the situation hasn't been resolved. I doubt she ever tried to resolve it in the first place. Next call is corporate. I have no problem paying a fee for a legitimate charge, but I called my credit card company and they did not charge Valley any fees.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    J
    Reviewed By JenMcDonald Nov 1, 2015

    Horrible Customer Service

    Apparently they're switching to new debit cards. I received a call on 10/29/15 from the branch where I opened my account and they told me I hadn't activated it. I honestly didn't know what the person was talking about. I told her I didn't receive it. She kept insisting I did. I told her all of my mail was open and if I did receive it, I must have overlooked it and threw it away. Either way, I don't have it. All she kept saying was, "You did receive. We sent all of them out." I wasn't sure how else to get the point across that I did not have it. I asked her what she can do. She said she'll have to call "headquarters" and see IF they can send me a new card. I said great. So the next day I had trouble when I tried to use my current debit card, which I thought was just the place I was at. Then I tried to use it the following night at two different ATMs and was told my card was cancelled. I called the following morning to find out why. The representative, a different person, told me it was cancelled because I said I never received the new card. She tells me a new one has been sent. What no one explained to me was that the card I already had and the card I apparently threw out, thinking it was an offer and not a mandatory thing, were the same number. So when they cancelled the one I threw out, they cancelled my current one. Do I comprehend what happened? Sure. As I told this representative. What I don't comprehend is why I was never informed about this. Why I wasn't contacted. Also, a new card will take 7-10 business days. When most business days say this, you receive it in a week, Trust me! Not Valley National! I've also had my information stolen, attempted to be stolen, lost my card. Always takes 2+ weeks to get a new card. Not a clue why. Anyway, the woman was rude and defensive. I work in retail and know how to treat customer. This company, sucks ultimately. I will be closing my account. I've been with them awhile, since my job is associated with them. I'm done!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.