Profile | Reviews

Valley National Bank Customer Reviews

National Bank, valleynationalbank.com

28 Reviews
1 out of 5 stars

Latest Customer Reviews

  •  
    Reviewed By ericanthony176 Dec 14, 2017

    Robert D'Alessio: worst branch manager of all time!

    Robert D'Alessio (Jersey City Branch Manager) is by far the very worst customer service Ambassador I have ever met. He not only insulted me but literal accused me of committing a crime. Valley National gives you on-line tools. I use their on-line tools like mobile check deposit. Robert D'Alessio had the audacity to claim my deposited check was counterfeit because it didn't look good in the picture. Again, I'm using VN technology and the check doesn't look good and somehow this becomes my fault and he makes an assumption that my check is fake? My laywer is currently looking for grounds to sue this company and its poorly-put-together branch manager. He wasn't articulate and didn't really explain his companies products very well either, and that should have been a sign for me to run out of the door and take my business elsewhere.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By RealEstateHolder Oct 27, 2017

    Worst Bank Ever for Commercial Loan

    This bank is a disaster. We have a commercial loan with them and a business bank account. (The bank we made the loan with was acquired by VNB.) We cannot automatically pay our VNB loan with our VNB account. The online system is a disaster - so inefficient. Ever customer service person you call gives you a different answer. It takes forever for them to pull up my accounts' information - so, I believe they don't have a centralized computer system. Their tellers are lazy - I asked one to add up a deposit and he refused because he didn't have a calculator. A bank teller who doesn't have a calculator, seriously? I would give them a negative number if I could.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By DMZMAN Aug 12, 2017

    Terrible Customer Service, On Line Banking is Ruse to Charge Overdraft Fees!

    Yesterday, I went on line to see my balance. It showed I had XXX.XX as an available balance. An hour later, I went to a Valley National ATM to take out some money. Low and behold, the receipt showed my balance was a lot lower. I went to my branch to find out what was going on and was told that was because I had recent purchases with my debit card that were on hold. Then why didn't my on line account history show those items as they're usually displayed and deducted from the on-line available balance? I never use my debit card without checking my balance first. Then I was told that it's my responsibility to keep track of all my uses with the card. Isn't that why we have computers and smart phones nowadays since not everyone can keep track of every last transaction they make? This is how they (think) they can get away with BS overdraft charges. I felt insulted and likely will be pulling my account soon.

    Also, 2 weeks ago, I applied for overdraft protection. Think I ever got an answer in the mail like I was promised? No wonder there's so many negative reviews here about this bank.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By EMFischer May 1, 2017

    Fraudulent charges

    I recently purchased a new car and because I was waiting for a settlement check the dealer set up financing with Valley National Bank . As anyone who has ever purchased a car knows, they will not let you take the car off the lot without insurance. To my surprise when 1 month later when I got my settlement check and went to pay off the car loan I found out that Valley National Bank was charging me an additional $4,614. for insurance, claiming that I had not provided them with proof of insurance (which by the way I had 3 times). The irony of this is that if I had not called to find out the exact amount of the pay off I would not have even known they had applied this exorbitant and fake charge to my account. And to add insult to injury, the car has been paid off but the insurance charge still exists.

    Clearly this is an organization that tries to take advantage of the consumer and can not be trusted.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By NDC Apr 26, 2017

    They charge too many fees for being a good customer! I am cancelling our account

    My husband has been a customer of VNB for 25 years. They still charge us a $12 monthly fee and $1.00 ATM Fee. Most quality banks these days do not impose these charges. We will be cancelling our account with them shortly.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By dskzz Feb 21, 2017

    Wont cash check for non-account holder

    This is bs. If a customer writes a check he assumes full faith that the bank will honor the instrument. But not Vally Bank, oh no sir. They demand that you open an account. Here's what I say to that - if you are so desperate for people to open accounts then maybe you should rethink your general banking policies. Go screw. If I every had a thought to use VN, it's out the window now.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By NNS Jan 22, 2017

    Valley National North Brunswick rt.27

    Zero stars is more like it. Worse bank i have ever dealt with. They cause your account to be overdrawn and then charge you an insufficient fund fee. I can't afford to bank at Valley National. And it's almost impossible to find anyone to help because they all claim to not have authority to protect your money. I banked with Valley for 1 year and it's been the worst decision i have ever made. Their system is so out dated. They don't even have the machine that counts the money (they sit there with their calculator and adding machine and sometimes called over another teller to recount the bills). It's a joke how they always ask you to call the 800 number to correct errors because they are not authorized to fix errors that they caused. I swear I think they have a big mattress in the back that they put our money under. Your cash is unprotected. I spoke to them about a transaction that was incorrectly put on my account from a third party (being that it was pending, i let them know that it wasn't authorized by me). They told me there wasn't anything that they can do. I felt that my money was so unprotected and that eventhough I was asking them to note that this was an unauthorized transaction, they did nothing. I called the third party and they removed the charge and apologized for the error. I called back Valley and they had nothing to say. I have had so many problems with my account that I am just waiting for my direct deposit to post and then I will close out my checking as i just closed out my savings account.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By ADRock Oct 5, 2016

    SUPER RUDE

    Avoid this bank at all costs!

    Great location, right on Main street near downtown Dunedin. They are a "smallish" community bank, I was really excited to open an account conveniently located without having to use one of the huge corporate banks where the service is just awful.

    Well color me surprised when the manager of this bank was the most obnoxiously rude COW I've ever encountered at any bank. I'm sitting at the service desk opening a new account, the account rep is entering all my information into his computer, when suddenly this grumpy old lady walks up behind me and is leering at me over my shoulder -- very odd! She begins to interrogate me about my personal life, asking questions which have nothing to do with banking. I worked in banking for 14 years and the questions this lady was asking were not apropos to banking nor even legal to be demanding that a customer answer.

    I was like, "Excuse me, who are you, and why are you asking me personal questions."
    She replies, "I'm the manager and if you don't answer my questions then you can leave."
    I couldn't believe how this old lady was treating me. So I asked if she was anti- gay and lesbian. She replies, "Get out! I don't want people like you in my bank!"

    I've never been treated so poorly by a bank. And to finish the story, I went up the road to USAmeribank (also a community bank) and they opened my account on the spot and were very nice. They even had free freshly baked cookies. Yay USAmeribank... boo Valley National... more like Valley of the Lepers.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By MysticZero Aug 31, 2016

    This place has been a headache since day 1...

    Two stars ONLY because most of the tellers and bankers I've met have been pleasant people.

    When I joined I didn't initially get online banking because the banker didn't know how to set it up and told me to call the 800 number. I did... and they bungled processing so thoroughly that because my information is half-logged into their system, I haven't been able to correct it or get a different online account.
    I've been charged insufficient fee funds when I had appropriate money in my account; I've had checks cashed two and three times out of one check, putting my account well into the negatives on a few different occasions (at different locations).
    Recently, while out of town, I checked my balance at an ATM. I checked a few days later, it said the same thing, so I proceeded from there. Turns out the ATM was broken and reporting wrong numbers so my account hit the negatives. I was notified of the error by my branch, explained what happened, and they asked why I hadn't called or checked my balance online. I said I had no reception and cannot use the online system. They said the overdraft fees and corresponding additional charges could probably be waived through customer service.
    I called customer service the next day to explain, and the rep was extremely rude. She kept saying she didn't understand what the problem was, that I was overdrawn and punished accordingly for it. I asked if she could waive the late fees and she raised her voice to berate me for not calling in, saying "you know, we are here twenty four hours a day. How hard it it to make a phone call?" Pretty hard, actually, when you're roaming and have no reception in another state. She would not help or even stay calm enough to speak with me rationally.
    I've had plenty of negative interactions with their customer service team, but this was the worst and it was the final straw. Valley National no longer has my support.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By acry112 Jun 28, 2016

    Outdated and frustrating

    I have an auto loan with VNB. Not my first loan but first with them and they are by far the worst. They offer terrible service with no online platform to review loan balance/repayment and make you jump through hoops and pay unnecessary fees at every turn instead of getting with the times. I have been trying to update my address and set an autopay account with them for months now, but even something as simple as that requires several forms getting sent then faxed over...yes fax - because that's the only way to manage your account with them according to their reps. Why even have customer service reps if they don't have the authority to do anything, even something as simple as update your account to reflect your new address so that you can actually receive the forms needed to schedule payments without the additional phone scheduling fee. The fact that they make this process so difficult and drawn out, and then have the nerve to charge an extra fee even when paying on time is ridiculous. It seems that they intentionally make it a convoluted process to charge the extra fees.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.