B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Washington Federal Customer Reviews

(41 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 1
4 Star 1
3 Star 0
2 Star 3
1 Star 36

The Most Helpful Washington Federal Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By mrlieu Nov 8, 2016

Telling It Like It Is (An Honest Review)

I have been banking with Washington Federal since January of 2016 and I am a very satisfied customer. Most the issues mentioned on the other reviews regarding online banking have since been addressed. As long as you remember the requirements of the password and security questions you should have no issues logging in. The interface is easy to navigate around and provides sufficient information. What many people overlook is the very handy Money Sync application that is built right into the online banking experience. It tracks your spending and allows you to set both short term and long term goals for your financial needs. It allows you to also link banks that you transact at other institutions and provides a overall status of your financial situation. The automated ATM's are very useful for depositing cash and checks, the standard 2 day hold on the check does not bother me, and the system will give you the first $200.00's first there are certain regulations that I have noted in the banking industry that affects what's available to the depositor, judging a bank based on government regulated policies shows lack of knowledge by the common street client. Washington Federal is part of the Money Pass Network, so during my vacation in Los Angeles, I was able to withdraw funds from an US Bank without having to pay a service charge fee. The mobile online banking app allows you to deposit checks at your convenience. My in branch experience at a few branches were pleasant, I have been to the Everett Branch, Lynnwood, Downtown Seattle, and Marysville branches on my days off and I have always been treated well by the employees there. One needs to realize, at least in the customer service sector, that there are noticeable turnovers of employees, especially tellers, I am reviewing Washington Federal based on my personal experiences and encounters with employees at the branches I mentioned above, from what I saw, the information provided and the services administered is within line with other banks in the area that I also bank with. The branches are well laid out according to their floor plans and signs are easy to read and interpret. Currently I have the Simple Checking account which requires no minimum balance and no monthly service fees, I also have the Statement Savings that requires just $100.00 to avoid the monthly service charge which makes sense, why would you have a Savings account in the first place if you're going to keep that little in there? I have also compared the current CD rates at the time of this review and they are very competitive to many of the local banks in the area. I received paper statements in the mail at first but I have since switched them over to E-Statements so I can view them during my downtime. This bank offers many if not all of the modern features of the bigger banks. The Client Care Center is very helpful when I need to increase the ATM withdraw limits on the weekends, there are times that I have waited for a few minutes but that is expected with any call center support line. Over all my experience with Washington Federal has been very positive, many of the critical reviews I see here are just frustrated people that blame the online banking system for being difficult to login to , but in reality these measures are placed for the security of our accounts. I would highly recommend Washington Federal for anyone that enjoys banking with a local to medium sized bank with minimal fees, fair CD rates, excellent customer service, and good online and mobile banking tools.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By HughKyle Nov 21, 2015

Washington Customer For Fifty Years

Over the years I have always considered Washington Federal as an example of a well managed bank offering good customer service with limited risk for one's money. There were times when WF was one of the few banks that did not offer checking, Saturday opening, however one stood by the bank, due its excellent reputation. Today, as a business owner I find Washington Federal has slipped to the bottom when compared to their competition, For one week, I have been unable to go on line to review my checking accounts including credit card deposits. I have left over five messages to Customer Service with no reply. If you stay on hold for Customer Service, for over ten minutes, it automatically hangs up. In addition Washington Federal has new policy of putting a "hold"on incoming checks. My conclusion is to move on to a better managed bank where their employees are not put into a difficult position of defending poor upper management, low wages and a negative working environment.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Washington Federal Reviews

  •  
    C
    Reviewed By CWJ Jan 12, 2017

    Mortgage Serving

    Misapplied payments, un-applied payments, horrific computer system, incompetent employees, dishonest culture. One star is highly overrated.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By mrlieu Nov 8, 2016

    Telling It Like It Is (An Honest Review)

    I have been banking with Washington Federal since January of 2016 and I am a very satisfied customer. Most the issues mentioned on the other reviews regarding online banking have since been addressed. As long as you remember the requirements of the password and security questions you should have no issues logging in. The interface is easy to navigate around and provides sufficient information. What many people overlook is the very handy Money Sync application that is built right into the online banking experience. It tracks your spending and allows you to set both short term and long term goals for your financial needs. It allows you to also link banks that you transact at other institutions and provides a overall status of your financial situation. The automated ATM's are very useful for depositing cash and checks, the standard 2 day hold on the check does not bother me, and the system will give you the first $200.00's first there are certain regulations that I have noted in the banking industry that affects what's available to the depositor, judging a bank based on government regulated policies shows lack of knowledge by the common street client. Washington Federal is part of the Money Pass Network, so during my vacation in Los Angeles, I was able to withdraw funds from an US Bank without having to pay a service charge fee. The mobile online banking app allows you to deposit checks at your convenience. My in branch experience at a few branches were pleasant, I have been to the Everett Branch, Lynnwood, Downtown Seattle, and Marysville branches on my days off and I have always been treated well by the employees there. One needs to realize, at least in the customer service sector, that there are noticeable turnovers of employees, especially tellers, I am reviewing Washington Federal based on my personal experiences and encounters with employees at the branches I mentioned above, from what I saw, the information provided and the services administered is within line with other banks in the area that I also bank with. The branches are well laid out according to their floor plans and signs are easy to read and interpret. Currently I have the Simple Checking account which requires no minimum balance and no monthly service fees, I also have the Statement Savings that requires just $100.00 to avoid the monthly service charge which makes sense, why would you have a Savings account in the first place if you're going to keep that little in there? I have also compared the current CD rates at the time of this review and they are very competitive to many of the local banks in the area. I received paper statements in the mail at first but I have since switched them over to E-Statements so I can view them during my downtime. This bank offers many if not all of the modern features of the bigger banks. The Client Care Center is very helpful when I need to increase the ATM withdraw limits on the weekends, there are times that I have waited for a few minutes but that is expected with any call center support line. Over all my experience with Washington Federal has been very positive, many of the critical reviews I see here are just frustrated people that blame the online banking system for being difficult to login to , but in reality these measures are placed for the security of our accounts. I would highly recommend Washington Federal for anyone that enjoys banking with a local to medium sized bank with minimal fees, fair CD rates, excellent customer service, and good online and mobile banking tools.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    U
    Reviewed By ucudnevabme Jul 3, 2016

    LIars LIars Liars.............

    I worked for WAFD Insurance Group and they would not hire anybody to help, all the employees walked out which I don't blame them now. They left me there for months alone keeping the doors open by myself and using a ex employees license to write insurance that I refused to do but they threatened me with termination if I did not. They are the most unmanaged unethical ran business Ive ever met including HR Clarissa Overlin and using false licenses to write insurance when the employee of the license works for a different agency in town. Duane Hensen and Paul Spain are long time buddies and friends and have manipulated WAFED's CEO Roy Whitehead obviously on opening up fraudualant insurance agencies. They should be shut down for being frauds and making there employess break the law then fire them and accuse them of breaking the law. Charges of felony offenses have been brought upon me for there unlawful acts in running a business they should have no business running. Making shady deals under the radar of manager contracts, trying to save there shady deals of wages and discrimination laws.The truth is coming out soon on President Duane Hensen and contract Manager Paul Spain, the CEO Roy Whitehead better save you- once everything is presented to the media and civil proceedings. Yeah Yeah you have money but I've got my word and the multi media on my side. So BRING IT YOU LYING NO GOOD unethical sons of ______. You tell um I'm coming and hell's coming with me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    K
    Reviewed By KristinDudley May 21, 2016

    Too bad you can't enter zero stars

    The online system is terrible. It doesn't synch with Quickbooks???!!! How does a modern bank expect to survive without the ability to synch with Quickbooks. Customer service is also bad. I needed past copies of my bank records, which Wash Fed lost due to switching systems. They charged me $10 per month and I needed a year. $120 for my own records???!!! That's crazy. Then, I needed to stop payment on bill that was being automatically deducted from my account each month. The customer service person was more than happy to help, never mentioning that it was going to cost $25. I had other solutions... if she would have mentioned the charge, I would have done something else. That's $145 in fees in one month. Never never never going back.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    L
    Reviewed By libertad May 17, 2016

    Inanely inefficient

    This bank has been going downhill over the last several years. New rules/policies have created bizarre security measures that have turned at-the-branch banking into a slow-motion nightmare. Example: I took in a small check from some 3rd party to deposit - $20 or so - along with some cash to deposit as well. The account held several thousand dollars and I obviously was not withdrawing anything. The process took almost 15-minutes to complete as the tellers had to verify that the $20 check was real. It was bizarre. Getting into the safety deposit box now takes inordinate amounts of time due to new "security" measures. Getting my wife added to an existing account took two separate trips to complete. And the Online Banking now officially SUCKS! It's a good day when I can get an internal transfer processed... something that formally took all of 30-seconds to handle. Not sure why I'm even giving them 2-stars... guess I'm merciful, lol.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    T
    Reviewed By timruns Mar 9, 2016

    Not willing to accept mistake - blame it on the 'software'

    The personnel in this branch, where I have quite a bit of $$$ deposited, were unwilling to work out an issue where I was charged a fee by my Direct Deposit vendor over a mistake made by the branch. There only response was that it was all back end software and there was nothing they could do about it.
    I will definitely start looking to move my accounts to a bank that is more willing to be reasonable.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    K
    Reviewed By KFRAZIER Feb 13, 2016

    Involuntary supporter

    Involuntary transfer from BankofAmerica when they closed in Yuma, AZ. Washington Federal is in Washington state. They do not allow address changes or account changes online. Fees continue to accrue during the period you have not personally contacted them. Address updates online also impossible. Awful bank. Similar to PNC from what I understand. Can't wait to get this account closed.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    O
    Reviewed By October Feb 6, 2016

    They make mistakes and charge their customers fees for their errors

    I've only been dealing with Washington Federal for 1 year when they updated their bank software with an unproven replacement. The new software in question couldn't process my house payment which was linked to my checking account through their so called EZ pay. I brought it to their attention and was told that they were working on it and it was just a glitch. They then in turn started charging me assessment fees and late fees when the error was on their end. This is the worst banking experience I've ever had and I am in the process of getting my mortgage refinanced to another bank.
    I would not ever recommend Washington Federal to anyone for any reason. I am also filing complaints with the BBB and federal banking commission against them for their bad business practices.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    H
    Reviewed By halandsherry Jan 19, 2016

    Not efficient at all!

    I have been banking with WF for about 2 to 3 years and have not had a very good experience. Just recently I started the mobile online banking and it has been aweful! It takes many days, sometimes up to a week, for payments to come out. I started the mobile deposits and they held my check for 5 days this last time but it told me that I had the full amount of the check, so I started paying bills and they hit me with an insufficient funds fee. I put the check in on Saturday and did not get my full amount until the following Thursday! I was not too happy about it. The staff are very rude on the phone. They are not open at my local branch on weekends at all! It just seems to me that they are doing things delayed so they can get more money with their fees. Also, they sent me new cards with chips in them and I had an incident with my card so I ordered another card and it was $5.00. I ordered it about a week and a half ago and have yet to receive it. The man I spoke with on the phone to order my card treated me like I was a child and irresponsible for the card. I will be switching banks very soon.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    S
    Reviewed By SAA Jan 14, 2016

    Terrrible Online system and they do not care.

    I have trying to make principle only payments since November and they still can not make it work. I can not see the payments in online banking. Their solution is to wait a month until statements come out. I went to online statements and it doesn't work. It has not worked for months now. Avoid this bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.