Profile | Reviews

Washington Federal Customer Reviews

National Bank, washingtonfederal.com

44 Reviews
1 out of 5 stars

Washington Federal operates over 180 offices in Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Utah, Nevada, Arizona, Texas, and New Mexico. Established in 1917, the Company provides residential real estate loans, commercial real estate financing, consumer deposit accounts and business banking.

Latest Customer Reviews

  •  
    Reviewed By PeaceOut Dec 17, 2017

    Worse Bank Ever

    They will never have money when you need it. They are robbed weekly so cusyomers need to order their own money 5 days in advance.. If you need money fast they make you buy a cashiers check and take it to another bank to cash it. Worse bank ever. They commit fraud and ask customers to do the same to avoid negative audit reviews.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Tinsel Oct 26, 2017

    Dishonest Creative Bookkeeping Banking Practices

    Stay away from this bank. I viewed my checking account online and noted the balance and available balance was the same. This should indicate that there were no pending transactions. I then deposited cash to my account but when I checked my online balance I was clipped for a $25 NSF charge. I called the bank to ask why and was told that a check must have come through at 3 in the morning prior to my deposit. I said, then why was that not reflected in the balance and available balance in my account? He could not answer that question. If a check was pending that would overdraw my account, my available balance should have been a negative amount. Also, they posted the check to my account after they posted the deposit further indicating that the check came in after my deposit not before. So even though my deposit more than covered the pending check and was deposited before the check was posted, Washington Federal clipped me for $25. That is called "creative bookkeeping" and should be illegal. They pulled this stunt about a year ago and I reported it to the FTC. FTC denied my claim because Washington Federal is not based in the same state where I reside. I am opening a new account with another bank and will begin the PITA process of switching over my auto bill accounts. Washington Federal has cheated me for the last time.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By alzang Aug 3, 2017

    Stringing me along!!!

    I had been working with Maureen Sprague at the Everett office on Evergreen for most of the year. I found a home and wanted to get an updated pre approval letter for this house. I contacted her on Thursday 7/25. She said she had been transferred to another department and could no longer work on my account. She gave me the contact information for Felipe at the Murphy's Corner branch. Felipe told me that day to send him my current bank statements and send them to his assistant Sandi as he was going on vacation the next day. He said it would be cleared through underwriting by Monday 7/31 or Tuesday 8/1. That night I sent the documents to he and Sandi. Sandi said my file was sent to underwriting Friday morning 7/26. Monday and Tuesday came and no word from underwriting. Wednesday 8/2 Felipe was back from vacation. He called underwriting in the afternoon. He told me at 3 pm that even though underwriting had the file on Friday it wasn't assigned to a processor until Wednesday afternoon!!!!! In the meantime I'm needing to get the letter so I can send in my offer on the house. This afternoon, Thursday 8/3 I finally got the letter!!! Unfortunately the house was not available!!! I contacted Caliber Home Loans this morning 8/3. My agent had an approval letter by this afternoon! But like I said I didn't get the house I wanted. I am going to tell everyone not to go to Washington Federal for a home loan. Go to Caliber Home Loans.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By CWJ Jan 12, 2017

    Mortgage Serving

    Misapplied payments, un-applied payments, horrific computer system, incompetent employees, dishonest culture. One star is highly overrated.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By mrlieu Nov 8, 2016

    Telling It Like It Is (An Honest Review)

    I have been banking with Washington Federal since January of 2016 and I am a very satisfied customer. Most the issues mentioned on the other reviews regarding online banking have since been addressed. As long as you remember the requirements of the password and security questions you should have no issues logging in. The interface is easy to navigate around and provides sufficient information. What many people overlook is the very handy Money Sync application that is built right into the online banking experience. It tracks your spending and allows you to set both short term and long term goals for your financial needs. It allows you to also link banks that you transact at other institutions and provides a overall status of your financial situation. The automated ATM's are very useful for depositing cash and checks, the standard 2 day hold on the check does not bother me, and the system will give you the first $200.00's first there are certain regulations that I have noted in the banking industry that affects what's available to the depositor, judging a bank based on government regulated policies shows lack of knowledge by the common street client. Washington Federal is part of the Money Pass Network, so during my vacation in Los Angeles, I was able to withdraw funds from an US Bank without having to pay a service charge fee. The mobile online banking app allows you to deposit checks at your convenience. My in branch experience at a few branches were pleasant, I have been to the Everett Branch, Lynnwood, Downtown Seattle, and Marysville branches on my days off and I have always been treated well by the employees there. One needs to realize, at least in the customer service sector, that there are noticeable turnovers of employees, especially tellers, I am reviewing Washington Federal based on my personal experiences and encounters with employees at the branches I mentioned above, from what I saw, the information provided and the services administered is within line with other banks in the area that I also bank with. The branches are well laid out according to their floor plans and signs are easy to read and interpret. Currently I have the Simple Checking account which requires no minimum balance and no monthly service fees, I also have the Statement Savings that requires just $100.00 to avoid the monthly service charge which makes sense, why would you have a Savings account in the first place if you're going to keep that little in there? I have also compared the current CD rates at the time of this review and they are very competitive to many of the local banks in the area. I received paper statements in the mail at first but I have since switched them over to E-Statements so I can view them during my downtime. This bank offers many if not all of the modern features of the bigger banks. The Client Care Center is very helpful when I need to increase the ATM withdraw limits on the weekends, there are times that I have waited for a few minutes but that is expected with any call center support line. Over all my experience with Washington Federal has been very positive, many of the critical reviews I see here are just frustrated people that blame the online banking system for being difficult to login to , but in reality these measures are placed for the security of our accounts. I would highly recommend Washington Federal for anyone that enjoys banking with a local to medium sized bank with minimal fees, fair CD rates, excellent customer service, and good online and mobile banking tools.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By ucudnevabme Jul 3, 2016

    LIars LIars Liars.............

    I worked for WAFD Insurance Group and they would not hire anybody to help, all the employees walked out which I don't blame them now. They left me there for months alone keeping the doors open by myself and using a ex employees license to write insurance that I refused to do but they threatened me with termination if I did not. They are the most unmanaged unethical ran business Ive ever met including HR Clarissa Overlin and using false licenses to write insurance when the employee of the license works for a different agency in town. Duane Hensen and Paul Spain are long time buddies and friends and have manipulated WAFED's CEO Roy Whitehead obviously on opening up fraudualant insurance agencies. They should be shut down for being frauds and making there employess break the law then fire them and accuse them of breaking the law. Charges of felony offenses have been brought upon me for there unlawful acts in running a business they should have no business running. Making shady deals under the radar of manager contracts, trying to save there shady deals of wages and discrimination laws.The truth is coming out soon on President Duane Hensen and contract Manager Paul Spain, the CEO Roy Whitehead better save you- once everything is presented to the media and civil proceedings. Yeah Yeah you have money but I've got my word and the multi media on my side. So BRING IT YOU LYING NO GOOD unethical sons of ______. You tell um I'm coming and hell's coming with me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By KristinDudley May 21, 2016

    Too bad you can't enter zero stars

    The online system is terrible. It doesn't synch with Quickbooks???!!! How does a modern bank expect to survive without the ability to synch with Quickbooks. Customer service is also bad. I needed past copies of my bank records, which Wash Fed lost due to switching systems. They charged me $10 per month and I needed a year. $120 for my own records???!!! That's crazy. Then, I needed to stop payment on bill that was being automatically deducted from my account each month. The customer service person was more than happy to help, never mentioning that it was going to cost $25. I had other solutions... if she would have mentioned the charge, I would have done something else. That's $145 in fees in one month. Never never never going back.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By libertad May 17, 2016

    Inanely inefficient

    This bank has been going downhill over the last several years. New rules/policies have created bizarre security measures that have turned at-the-branch banking into a slow-motion nightmare. Example: I took in a small check from some 3rd party to deposit - $20 or so - along with some cash to deposit as well. The account held several thousand dollars and I obviously was not withdrawing anything. The process took almost 15-minutes to complete as the tellers had to verify that the $20 check was real. It was bizarre. Getting into the safety deposit box now takes inordinate amounts of time due to new "security" measures. Getting my wife added to an existing account took two separate trips to complete. And the Online Banking now officially SUCKS! It's a good day when I can get an internal transfer processed... something that formally took all of 30-seconds to handle. Not sure why I'm even giving them 2-stars... guess I'm merciful, lol.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By timruns Mar 9, 2016

    Not willing to accept mistake - blame it on the 'software'

    The personnel in this branch, where I have quite a bit of $$$ deposited, were unwilling to work out an issue where I was charged a fee by my Direct Deposit vendor over a mistake made by the branch. There only response was that it was all back end software and there was nothing they could do about it.
    I will definitely start looking to move my accounts to a bank that is more willing to be reasonable.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By KFRAZIER Feb 13, 2016

    Involuntary supporter

    Involuntary transfer from BankofAmerica when they closed in Yuma, AZ. Washington Federal is in Washington state. They do not allow address changes or account changes online. Fees continue to accrue during the period you have not personally contacted them. Address updates online also impossible. Awful bank. Similar to PNC from what I understand. Can't wait to get this account closed.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.