D+ MyBankTracker Rating

Webster Bank Customer Reviews

(69 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 3
4 Star 0
3 Star 0
2 Star 3
1 Star 63

The Most Helpful Webster Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By tink9697 Jun 25, 2015

very helpful!!!!!

I needed help with a situation, lakeysha was very helpful and efficient.Best service is at this branch on highland avenue waterbury.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Markboucher Jan 17, 2017

Compliance policy's change depending on branch and teller

This bank has the worst ( if any) compliance policies. They change from visit to visit and branch to branch. Have had significant problems initiating POA's. Specifically the compliance dept is unfamiliar with common legal verbiage and how it is to be treated. They also have no understanding of Probate issues and language. The branches all call to verify with their compliance dept, however the compliance group changes requests and procedures depending on who takes the calls. Terrible communication and service.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Webster Bank Reviews

  •  
    P
    Reviewed By Patnac May 23, 2017

    Worst. Bank. Ever

    Not sure who is more rude the tellers or the phone reps. Went to bed with a positive balance, woke up with fees central, this is how they roll their customers. It is software based robbery. They don't tell you your negative until too late. Then they pile up the 37 dollar hits and wouldn't approve trump for OD protection

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    W
    Reviewed By Webstersucks Apr 29, 2017

    Horrible fee structure

    On top of even worse phone customer service. I was directed to go into a branch to get the most basic issues sorted out. I just finally closed my personal checking ive had for over 20 years. Closing business account next.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    N
    Reviewed By narayanbaral Mar 9, 2017

    Very unprofessional and cruel

    I opened two accounts (Checking Premier and Value checking) online last night and deposited two Citi bank's checks online using iPhone. Unfortunately, the checks were not activated by Citi bank. I have been a customer with Citi /Chase for at least 12 years but I did not know that I have to activate my checks. I never had to use them so I did not know. I called Webster bank to explain the situation. Rather than understanding my problem and let me open bank account they said that my account will be closed. I spoke to two ladies they told me that I can not open an account at all. What is this? Which age are you in? I will post my bad experience in various websites. I am an Engineering professional and a NY state employee but did not know that there are such cruel bank out there treating customer like this.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    J
    Reviewed By Jkeith Jan 26, 2017

    Overdraft fees

    I was charged $37 six times. My account never posted it was in the negative. I called and was told they couldn't do anything about it....well I will make sure I get the correct phone and report this kind of practice. I have been a loyal customer for years . I will be changing banks. Shame shame on the people that can sleep at night while taking people's hard earned money!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By Markboucher Jan 17, 2017

    Compliance policy's change depending on branch and teller

    This bank has the worst ( if any) compliance policies. They change from visit to visit and branch to branch. Have had significant problems initiating POA's. Specifically the compliance dept is unfamiliar with common legal verbiage and how it is to be treated. They also have no understanding of Probate issues and language. The branches all call to verify with their compliance dept, however the compliance group changes requests and procedures depending on who takes the calls. Terrible communication and service.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    F
    Reviewed By Frankoriely Dec 29, 2016

    Overdraft Fee Scam, Theives!

    Most of the tellers are the best!
    But the executive office is usinf software to cheat you out of your money by charging unjustified overdraft fees. Webster CREATES their own overdraft fees by posting checks to their advantage, meaning they are a corrupt bank. Don't trust them. They steal and get away with it. Someone please get the Federal Agency that overlooks bank practices and file complaints if you have been a victim of their overfraft fee scam.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    C
    Reviewed By ccjj Oct 2, 2016

    SEVEN YEAR NIGHTMARE: Morgage Servicing is unfair and practices are legally questionable.

    We are preparing to file action against this bank for years of torture. Seven years ago we were behind a month and, using unfair and deceitful practices, forced into an agreement that was not the modification we sought. Seven years and multiple complaints to regulators later, they are still at it. They refuse to provide information legally requested etc. They acquired our mortgage servicing when they bought a smaller bank. We are looking for others who may had had similar problems. Leave a comment and we will make arrangements.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    MS
    Reviewed By M S. Aug 23, 2016

    WORSE BANK EVER, STAY AWAY FROM THIS BANK

    Opened an account not even a week ago, after checking online bad reviews about this bank, I got freak out and decided to closed the account within 3 days of opening it, I requested 1 checking acct but manager gave me 3 "free accounts" even tho I didn't requested 3 but only 1 but was told no matter they were free and it was a bank promotion when you open a checking acct, he said I didnt have to use it at all. I wanted closed my account but was told 1st need to pay closing fee $15 per account for all accounts even tho if I didn't want 3 or ever used it they were there,2 days before requested close accounts I made a check of the balance to my new bank, account was zero balance when requested to closed it, the bank wants to charge me $37.00 insufficient fee for the paid check. Are these people crazy? money was available full amount, made a check to have acct zero balance and close it, on top of closing fees, they trick bankers with lies about insufficient fees, WEBSTER BANK are thieves, the charge you fees under lies with nonsense excuses. Now I understand why there are so many bad reviews about this bank. customer services really bad as well

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    J
    Reviewed By janetrompe Jun 22, 2016

    Contact your attorney general if you have problems with this bank.

    Our issues are the same as every complaint listed here. They seem to make a policy of overcharging without notifying their customers. We have contacted the Massachusetts attorney general to see if they will help us get our funds back. The staff does not have any information, we actually had to tell them some of the policies of their own bank. The only way to get help and to stop them from doing this to others is to complain to a formal government entity. In our state, that is the attorney general. Good luck everyone.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By MikeeA May 3, 2016

    Webster bank integrity/trust and customer service

    I believe Webster bank is the epitome of how not to do business as a bank. I have been with them too long and each year say I'm out of here! After payroll this week I am closing accounts and moving on. Reasons:

    1. fees, fees, fees, they expect you to believe that the checks you deposit are always credited after they receive a request for payment. Are they stupid! They think we are, yes they do and nobody stands up to them. See item 2.

    2. Can tell you how many notices I have received about a "Class Action Lawsuit" for fees being charged to customers. Can we see the transaction history they see and who knows possibly manipulate so they can charge us a fee.

    Managers -3-4 in the last few years - reimbursed me. Then your labeled a pain in the A-- and you get the subtle look, they don't return calls promptly. I'm waiting for a call back now from this morning and this afternoon. Nothing yet!
    I am a low maintenance guy. Just don't feel a bank should fee led entitled to my money. They think they should I guess.

    All the professional and pleasant respectful tellers don't stick around. And the screw ups move up?

    Webster Bank is a truly disappointing experience for me and many folks I know have banked with Webster and look at me funny that I'm still there. Now I get it!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.