C+ MyBankTracker Rating

Webster Bank Customer Reviews

(62 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 3
4 Star 0
3 Star 0
2 Star 3
1 Star 56

The Most Helpful Webster Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By tink9697 Jun 25, 2015

very helpful!!!!!

I needed help with a situation, lakeysha was very helpful and efficient.Best service is at this branch on highland avenue waterbury.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Marzena Farfan Jul 21, 2015

Horrible!!!!!!

Don't let them touch your money! Very shady and unethical practices. Holding transactions, rearanging transactions to cause overdrafts, and allowing transactions to go throgh while the acct is already negative. I am completly discusted and frustrated!!!! ON the verge of a nervous break down my acct is negative 600 because my acct was charged 15 $37 fees for a one check that was presented agains insuficient balance that should have been returned. What happened to doing the right thing for the customer, what about integrity!!!!! This bank has no values. I have now worked for a week for free and have not ability to pay bills and buy groceries. The bank manager can't even show me in their policy why the check got paid when it should have been returned. (they have returned checks before) They cleared the check before all other small charges,( like 2.95 coffees0 arranging them larges to smallest to maximize the amount of charges. They even charged me nsf fees for PIN card purchases. I have reached out to the branch manager who is now avoiding me and not returning my call. I will seek legal advice, someone needs to stop them from ruining other peoples lives.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Webster Bank Reviews

  • MS
    Reviewed By M S. Aug 23, 2016

    WORSE BANK EVER, STAY AWAY FROM THIS BANK

    Opened an account not even a week ago, after checking online bad reviews about this bank, I got freak out and decided to closed the account within 3 days of opening it, I requested 1 checking acct but manager gave me 3 "free accounts" even tho I didn't requested 3 but only 1 but was told no matter they were free and it was a bank promotion when you open a checking acct, he said I didnt have to use it at all. I wanted closed my account but was told 1st need to pay closing fee $15 per account for all accounts even tho if I didn't want 3 or ever used it they were there,2 days before requested close accounts I made a check of the balance to my new bank, account was zero balance when requested to closed it, the bank wants to charge me $37.00 insufficient fee for the paid check. Are these people crazy? money was available full amount, made a check to have acct zero balance and close it, on top of closing fees, they trick bankers with lies about insufficient fees, WEBSTER BANK are thieves, the charge you fees under lies with nonsense excuses. Now I understand why there are so many bad reviews about this bank. customer services really bad as well

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By janetrompe Jun 22, 2016

    Contact your attorney general if you have problems with this bank.

    Our issues are the same as every complaint listed here. They seem to make a policy of overcharging without notifying their customers. We have contacted the Massachusetts attorney general to see if they will help us get our funds back. The staff does not have any information, we actually had to tell them some of the policies of their own bank. The only way to get help and to stop them from doing this to others is to complain to a formal government entity. In our state, that is the attorney general. Good luck everyone.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By MikeeA May 3, 2016

    Webster bank integrity/trust and customer service

    I believe Webster bank is the epitome of how not to do business as a bank. I have been with them too long and each year say I'm out of here! After payroll this week I am closing accounts and moving on. Reasons:

    1. fees, fees, fees, they expect you to believe that the checks you deposit are always credited after they receive a request for payment. Are they stupid! They think we are, yes they do and nobody stands up to them. See item 2.

    2. Can tell you how many notices I have received about a "Class Action Lawsuit" for fees being charged to customers. Can we see the transaction history they see and who knows possibly manipulate so they can charge us a fee.

    Managers -3-4 in the last few years - reimbursed me. Then your labeled a pain in the A-- and you get the subtle look, they don't return calls promptly. I'm waiting for a call back now from this morning and this afternoon. Nothing yet!
    I am a low maintenance guy. Just don't feel a bank should fee led entitled to my money. They think they should I guess.

    All the professional and pleasant respectful tellers don't stick around. And the screw ups move up?

    Webster Bank is a truly disappointing experience for me and many folks I know have banked with Webster and look at me funny that I'm still there. Now I get it!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • F
    Reviewed By fuzzy May 3, 2016

    beware of scanners at ATM machines at Webster Bank!!!!!

    I recently sent a check to my nephew for $100.00. On the line below I wrote "One Hundred and xx/100". Well, when it was scanned, the scanner printed out $100,000.00. Yes, one hundred thousand dollars!!!!! When he went into the bank, the banker told my nephew that they could do nothing about it. They told him that my bank would catch the error and rectify it. What an incompetent bank!!!!!!
    I immediately called my bank, and told them of the situation. I had to place a stop payment on the check or my account would be overdrawn. It was a good thing that my nephew called me and did not listen to Webster Bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By paulaf Mar 23, 2016

    Horrible Customer Service

    HSA bank acquired my health savings account from Chase. Trying to set up online banking with HSA has been nothing short of a nightmare. Their website doesn't function properly and it is impossible to reach a HSA representative by telephone or email. I will be transferring my account to another bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By Janicempa Mar 14, 2016

    Worst Lender Ever!

    The only account I have with this so-called bank is a 2nd mortgage that I had to take out in order to purchase my townhouse. The 1st mortgage is with CitiBank, which I recommend.

    A few years into this dysfunctional relationship Webster decided that my townhouse association management company did not carry sufficient hazard insurance and took out a policy on my behalf. According to Citibank, it's fine. According to the association management company and many, many neighbors who have various lenders, no on else in the area has this problem. Initially I talked to a customer service rep who told me she would take care of it and to only pay the mortgage amount. A few weeks after following her instructions, I received a robocall from Webster telling me that my loan payment was late. I called and was told the payment was held because it was not the correct amount. I explained the situation and was told not to worry, it would be taken care of. The robocalls continued and they tagged me as delinquent and reported it to the credit agencies. I called again and talked to someone who told me she was embarrassed by her employer and that this was not the first time this has happened. I paid the balance (she waived the late fee) but the credit reports still have me as a late payer for that time period. I've been paying this stupid hazard insurance for years.

    I refinanced my first loan with Citibank three years ago and almost lost the rate because Webster would not respond to Citibank and would not provide information needed. The Citibank rep asked me if I could get through to someone there and I just laughed. Eventually Citbank got what they needed (cost me a few hundred dollars to get it from Webster). Webster then had the nerve to send me a Webster credit card! Citibank jumped all over me for having a new credit card and I promised the rep that I shredded it into little pieces. The refinance only happened because of Citibank.

    I have been trying for years to get someone with authority from Webster to respond to my emails and phone calls regarding the hazard insurance, late payment report and refinancing the ridiculously high interest rate. (The house is upside down right now so CitiBank can't take it on.) I have not received the courtesy of an email or return call.

    This is a horrible bank and I will be reporting it to all the appropriate parties. Please, for your own sake, do not get involved with Webster. It's horrible. No bank/lender is perfect, but this one has NO redeeming qualities.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By davelounder Feb 9, 2016

    Welcome To FEEble!

    Fees, fees, and more fees. I'm closing my accounts and NEVER going back. Go to Webster, get feed to death, and then try to feed your family to prevent them STARVING to death. Small bank with big bank-mentality. What goes around, baby ........

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By sabina Jan 13, 2016

    horrible

    I completely not recommended .If you have account already chek the every stetmet. In September 2015 lot of webster bank account was hacked . I still don't get my money back and my friends also.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • V
    Reviewed By VictimofWB Dec 18, 2015

    Fees and more Fees - yet no customer service

    We were forced into this bank as my company set up an HSA through their HSABank devision. I have been banking since I was 7 years old and never paid a fee for a bank to have my money. HSA/Webster wants a fee to send you statements and a fee for every month that you have less than a certain amount of funds in your HSA (keep in mind the contributions to HSA are government limited, with Webster increasing the minimum every few years it is difficult to keep out of the fee area if you ever use your HSA). In addition to a predatory fee schedule, they keep reducing the avenues to keep track of them. No more paper statement (without fee), no more direct access using Quicken, then recently stopped offering even the ability to download account activity in a Quicken format.

    In addition to all that, I recently called them to work out some "oddities" and after suffering through their phone system was connect to a person who was either trying to screw with me or is in fact one of the stupidest people walking the plant.

    All I can really say is that if must use this bank (like our company HSA) you have my sympathy. If you actually want to use this bank, then you would probably be better off paying someone a fee to hit you in the head with a baseball bat.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By joee47 Nov 17, 2015

    Webster Bank Used to have good customer service

    Now, Customer Service is less than poor.
    First, to get through the phone prompt system you need a math degree.
    Secondly, when you finally do, the person can't help and tries to blow you off.
    Asking to speak with a manager in another adventure. took over 30 minutes before someone actually came on the line
    This bank is now a joke, at least the corporate side is.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.