B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Able Banking Customer Reviews

(6 Reviews)
3 out of 5 stars
5 Star 0
4 Star 1
3 Star 2
2 Star 1
1 Star 2

The Most Helpful Able Banking Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Stephen R. Oct 23, 2012

Pretty Impressive So Far!

Shopped around for weeks. Came down to tiaadirect, bank of internet, americanexpress, and able bank. Ended up going with able bank and am quite happy so far. * best rates (excl tiaa which isn't accepting applications)
* socially responsible banking / good principles
* non-political banking. I'm tired of my money going to banks that pick candidates and lobby. I want them focused on my money and my community.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By leroy Apr 18, 2013

This bank is a fraud

This bank which pretends to be a community bank in Maine is run by a bunch of thieves based in Boston. Dont be fooled by their faux charitible story line

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Able Banking Reviews

  • J
    Reviewed By jterrine@yahoo.com Oct 8, 2014

    Almost Satisfactory Initial Web Chat Account Set up Inquiry

    The agent was direct in responding to all of my inquiries, except when it concerned the full list of fees. A simple yes or no would have more than suffice. Certainly, it would have calm any lingering doubts.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • NA
    Reviewed By not a. Jun 1, 2013

    Worst banking experience ever!

    This account was barely even 3 months and the bank had reduced the interest rates twice in that time which made it pointless to have even opened this account in the first place. Also it is the only online bank out of any I have used that restricts transfers out to 25K a day. But they have no problem with other online banks allowing you to transfer money in without restrictions. Then the do-gooder charity that gets pushed up the yin yang. Customers have savings accounts to earn interest, one already pays full state and federal taxes on the petty amount being earned. Essentially, by the rate reductions, it was like taking 500 dollars a year away from my account in interest while giving me back 50 dollars a year to donate to charity through the bank. Sure, sounds like a deal, not. Then they closed the account without notice, claiming I added a 2nd linked account and that I checked my bank account online too often. In inquiring about this, the security watch dog said that these actions raised red flags. I think the only thing questionable and suspect was that the bank took this action only after I was trying to transfer money out to one of the linked bank accounts. I should have known from the get go that a bank with such a stupid name would be a farce. However, on the positive side, the employees working the basic customer service line were very polite and nice. it was obvious the bank does not hire those with that hideous Boston speech impediment to staff the phones. The online web site was a disaster, it would trip up and log you off at the drop of a hat. I have used enough bank websites and this was by far the clumsiest one ever. Glad to be out of that dog and pony show for good.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By leroy Apr 18, 2013

    This bank is a fraud

    This bank which pretends to be a community bank in Maine is run by a bunch of thieves based in Boston. Dont be fooled by their faux charitible story line

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • SR
    Reviewed By Stephen R. Oct 23, 2012

    Pretty Impressive So Far!

    Shopped around for weeks. Came down to tiaadirect, bank of internet, americanexpress, and able bank. Ended up going with able bank and am quite happy so far. * best rates (excl tiaa which isn't accepting applications)
    * socially responsible banking / good principles
    * non-political banking. I'm tired of my money going to banks that pick candidates and lobby. I want them focused on my money and my community.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • ZY
    Reviewed By Zach Y. Sep 19, 2012

    Simple To Use And Get A Great Rate

    I'm an avid supporter of internet banks. I came across them while browsing bankrate. Com. Their rates were much better than other rates out there. The process was simple. This is all relatively standard for other internet banks. What really interested me was the charity part of their offering. All in all i'm looking forward to savings with them.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By Mat Jun 28, 2012

    Shady Service

    Last week, the minimum amount to open a MM account was $250. This week, it's $1,000. Even though I got the invitation when the minimum was $250, They still insisted that I put $1,000 in if I wanted to open an account.

    You'd think a bank (even if they just opened) would get their story straight if they wanted to get more customers, or at least accommodate those who were told one thing one week, then were told a total different story the week following.

    No worries, AbleBank, there are many other banks around who know what they're doing and would love to help me manage my measly $800.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.