A+ MyBankTracker Rating

TIAA Direct Customer Reviews

(33 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 2
4 Star 1
3 Star 3
2 Star 2
1 Star 25

The Most Helpful TIAA Direct Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Sandush Jul 23, 2016

Excellent customer service

Their customer service is excellent. My call was taken right away. The agent understood what I needed and handled it very professionally. All in all I am very happy with my choice in banks. I had to move around a lot of banks before I was able to find the right fit.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Roar2j May 28, 2016

Mad as hell!

I have been waiting for a new card for over 2 weeks and still have not received it. The first card i ordered was supposed to come normal mail the second was expedited to next day deliver an its day 3.....well time to move my direct deposit some where else due to them not even having a tracking number then im told today that they were having issues with the cards getting out!!!!!!! You dont wait 2 n half weeks to tell a customer who btw has his retirement funds attach to his account that! I am in disbelief as i sit up here on a holiday weekend with no access to my money. Thanks Tiaa your message was very direct u dont care. God bless.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest TIAA Direct Reviews

  •  
    M
    Reviewed By mariaz Mar 27, 2017

    lost your chance

    I was all ready to open several accounts and after doing a search and reading the endless reviews on the lack of customer service, I'm glad I didn't jump in.
    So I'll go elsewhere. Your loss especially because I don't need a loan. I was just looking do open accounts, but after reading what people are going through and your standard response to each review.... Nope, lost your chance.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    TIAA Direct

    Replied on Mar 28, 2017

    We’re very sorry to hear this. Nothing is more important than helping our customers succeed and we would love to see how we may be able to help you too. Please email us at social@tiaadirect.com with your contact information so we can have a consultant follow up, if you’d like to discuss.

  •  
    E
    Reviewed By epat Feb 22, 2017

    Terrible Company Terrible Service, Terrible Website, AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL COMPANY STAY FAR AWAY

    its hard to say where to start as there's so much wrong with this company that its hard to believe they can stay in business. I have a home mortgage with TIAA and it's auto debited every month, ok no problem there.

    But try to get access online to your information and you wait and wait and wait and wait some more for a page to pop up. then when your account page appears you click on a link and wait and wait...well you get the picture. very hard to view basic info or docs online.

    And if you dare call their customer service dont put it on speaker as they ask for your FULL SS number then REPEAT the FULL number for the world to hear...really!? then push the buttons on your phone to get to their mortgage dept and it send you to the checking dept over and over and, well you get the point.

    The only upside is that some of the customer reps are nice, but that doesnt make up for total lack of competence in every other area.

    stay away.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    TIAA Direct

    Replied on Feb 22, 2017

    We’re sorry to hear you’re having trouble with the website. Nothing is more important to us than serving our customers. Please email us at social@tiaa.org with your contact information so we can have a consultant reach out to help.

  •  
    T
    Reviewed By timcpi Dec 12, 2016

    Room for Improvement

    I have found TIAA Direct to be responsive and it's easy to access and manage my account electronically. Where I seriously fault the Bank is that I can only download transactions if I also buy an accounting software package. No other bank I've ever done business with has so narrow a download facility.

    It's a pity, really, when everyone else is permitting multiple formats to downloaded transactions. If this were not a problem with TIAA Direct, I'd rate the bank with 5 stars.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    TIAA Direct

    Replied on Dec 12, 2016

    Thank you for your message, we appreciate you letting us know as we are always looking for ways to improve. If you need additional assistance, please email us at social@tiaadirect.com so we can have a consultant reach out to help.

  •  
    D
    Reviewed By DRHEHILLDVM Nov 3, 2016

    TIAA-CREF NEW WEBSITE

    I have visited the new tiaa-cref website 2 x this week & it only took me 5x as long as previously
    to complete my transactions. Mabe after a couple of months I will learn if there are any benefits
    that are worth this disaster.

    DR. HILL

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    TIAA Direct

    Replied on Nov 03, 2016

    Dr. Hill, we’re sorry to hear you’re having trouble with the website. Nothing is more important to us than serving our customers. Please email us at social@tiaa.org with your contact information so we can have a consultant reach out to help.

  •  
    W
    Reviewed By william50000 Oct 5, 2016

    Inept Customer Service

    I have just had the misfortune of experiencing some of the most inept customer service from a financial institution I have ever encountered. All I wanted to do was fund a new checking account. I had asked for it to be funded when I opened the account by a transfer from a checking account at another financial institution. I verified that I owned the account by doing the trial deposits. TIAA DIRECT opened the account, sent me an ATM card, and sent introductory materials. However, they never never funded the account as I had requested or made any communications about difficulties in funding. Then, on my first attempt to obtain customer service on why my account had not been funded as requested 2 weeks after the account had been opened, I was told the rep could not discuss my account with me and I would have to call back. When I called the next day, the rep did lengthy research and told me that the only way I could fund my account would be to email copies of my bank statements at the other institution to her, then she would examine the bank statements and make a decision on whether to fund the account or not. That was my only option if I wanted to fund my account. I briefly considered going through all of that hassle and then decided it would be alot easier just to open a checking account at another financial institution that actually took care of their customers (which I have done with no similar problems such as I encountered at TIAA DIRECT), since this was obviously a sure sign of the poor customer service I would receive in the future. My current financial institution actually values me as a customer.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    TIAA Direct

    Replied on Oct 05, 2016

    We’re so sorry for your frustration and want to help. Our top priority is helping our customers succeed. Please email us at social@tiaadirect.com with your contact information so we can have a consultant follow up with you directly to discuss.

  •  
    A
    Reviewed By annheidi Sep 6, 2016

    Excellent Service

    Very easy to manage accounts and excellent advise regarding investments.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    TIAA Direct

    Replied on Sep 07, 2016

    Thank you, Ann! Our top priority is supporting our customers. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you.

  •  
    S
    Reviewed By Sandush Jul 23, 2016

    Excellent customer service

    Their customer service is excellent. My call was taken right away. The agent understood what I needed and handled it very professionally. All in all I am very happy with my choice in banks. I had to move around a lot of banks before I was able to find the right fit.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    TIAA Direct

    Replied on Jul 23, 2016

    Thanks for your message. We're so happy we could help you. Let us know if you need anything else.

  •  
    J
    Reviewed By jryoungHOU Jul 14, 2016

    Horribly Insane Customer Service

    When you call for customer service, no matter the day or the time of day, you will sit on hold for five minutes and be directed to voicemail!!

    I refused to deal with a bank that has such disregard for customers! Tiaa Direct holds your funds but doesn't have the courtesy to take a call?

    NO THANKS!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    TIAA Direct

    Replied on Jul 14, 2016

    We’re sorry to hear this. Nothing is more important than serving our customers. Please email us at social@tiaadirect.com with your contact information and we can have a consultant follow up with you directly to help.

  •  
    H
    Reviewed By hjablo May 28, 2016

    Thinking!

    I was thinking of getting involved with TIAA on a promo basis. Before I did, I decided to read the reviews and they don't look all that good. So, TIAA, if you are tracking this post, you had better clean up your mess, before people like myself get involved with you. Way to many negative posts!.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    TIAA Direct

    Replied on May 29, 2016

    We are here to help our customers succeed and would love to discuss how we can help you too. Please email us at social@tiaadirect.com with your contact information and we can have someone reach out.

  •  
    R
    Reviewed By Roar2j May 28, 2016

    Mad as hell!

    I have been waiting for a new card for over 2 weeks and still have not received it. The first card i ordered was supposed to come normal mail the second was expedited to next day deliver an its day 3.....well time to move my direct deposit some where else due to them not even having a tracking number then im told today that they were having issues with the cards getting out!!!!!!! You dont wait 2 n half weeks to tell a customer who btw has his retirement funds attach to his account that! I am in disbelief as i sit up here on a holiday weekend with no access to my money. Thanks Tiaa your message was very direct u dont care. God bless.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    TIAA Direct

    Replied on May 28, 2016

    We’re sorry you’re having a problem and want to help. Please email us at social@tiaadirect.com with your contact information and we can have someone reach out.

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.