A+ MyBankTracker Rating

TIAA Direct Customer Reviews

(30 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 2
4 Star 1
3 Star 2
2 Star 2
1 Star 23

The Most Helpful TIAA Direct Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Sandush Jul 23, 2016

Excellent customer service

Their customer service is excellent. My call was taken right away. The agent understood what I needed and handled it very professionally. All in all I am very happy with my choice in banks. I had to move around a lot of banks before I was able to find the right fit.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Roar2j May 28, 2016

Mad as hell!

I have been waiting for a new card for over 2 weeks and still have not received it. The first card i ordered was supposed to come normal mail the second was expedited to next day deliver an its day 3.....well time to move my direct deposit some where else due to them not even having a tracking number then im told today that they were having issues with the cards getting out!!!!!!! You dont wait 2 n half weeks to tell a customer who btw has his retirement funds attach to his account that! I am in disbelief as i sit up here on a holiday weekend with no access to my money. Thanks Tiaa your message was very direct u dont care. God bless.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest TIAA Direct Reviews

  • D
    Reviewed By DRHEHILLDVM Nov 3, 2016

    TIAA-CREF NEW WEBSITE

    I have visited the new tiaa-cref website 2 x this week & it only took me 5x as long as previously
    to complete my transactions. Mabe after a couple of months I will learn if there are any benefits
    that are worth this disaster.

    DR. HILL

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    TIAA Direct

    Replied on Nov 03, 2016

    Dr. Hill, we’re sorry to hear you’re having trouble with the website. Nothing is more important to us than serving our customers. Please email us at social@tiaa.org with your contact information so we can have a consultant reach out to help.

  • W
    Reviewed By william50000 Oct 5, 2016

    Inept Customer Service

    I have just had the misfortune of experiencing some of the most inept customer service from a financial institution I have ever encountered. All I wanted to do was fund a new checking account. I had asked for it to be funded when I opened the account by a transfer from a checking account at another financial institution. I verified that I owned the account by doing the trial deposits. TIAA DIRECT opened the account, sent me an ATM card, and sent introductory materials. However, they never never funded the account as I had requested or made any communications about difficulties in funding. Then, on my first attempt to obtain customer service on why my account had not been funded as requested 2 weeks after the account had been opened, I was told the rep could not discuss my account with me and I would have to call back. When I called the next day, the rep did lengthy research and told me that the only way I could fund my account would be to email copies of my bank statements at the other institution to her, then she would examine the bank statements and make a decision on whether to fund the account or not. That was my only option if I wanted to fund my account. I briefly considered going through all of that hassle and then decided it would be alot easier just to open a checking account at another financial institution that actually took care of their customers (which I have done with no similar problems such as I encountered at TIAA DIRECT), since this was obviously a sure sign of the poor customer service I would receive in the future. My current financial institution actually values me as a customer.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    TIAA Direct

    Replied on Oct 05, 2016

    We’re so sorry for your frustration and want to help. Our top priority is helping our customers succeed. Please email us at social@tiaadirect.com with your contact information so we can have a consultant follow up with you directly to discuss.

  • A
    Reviewed By annheidi Sep 6, 2016

    Excellent Service

    Very easy to manage accounts and excellent advise regarding investments.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    TIAA Direct

    Replied on Sep 07, 2016

    Thank you, Ann! Our top priority is supporting our customers. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you.

  • S
    Reviewed By Sandush Jul 23, 2016

    Excellent customer service

    Their customer service is excellent. My call was taken right away. The agent understood what I needed and handled it very professionally. All in all I am very happy with my choice in banks. I had to move around a lot of banks before I was able to find the right fit.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    TIAA Direct

    Replied on Jul 23, 2016

    Thanks for your message. We're so happy we could help you. Let us know if you need anything else.

  • J
    Reviewed By jryoungHOU Jul 14, 2016

    Horribly Insane Customer Service

    When you call for customer service, no matter the day or the time of day, you will sit on hold for five minutes and be directed to voicemail!!

    I refused to deal with a bank that has such disregard for customers! Tiaa Direct holds your funds but doesn't have the courtesy to take a call?

    NO THANKS!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    TIAA Direct

    Replied on Jul 14, 2016

    We’re sorry to hear this. Nothing is more important than serving our customers. Please email us at social@tiaadirect.com with your contact information and we can have a consultant follow up with you directly to help.

  • H
    Reviewed By hjablo May 28, 2016

    Thinking!

    I was thinking of getting involved with TIAA on a promo basis. Before I did, I decided to read the reviews and they don't look all that good. So, TIAA, if you are tracking this post, you had better clean up your mess, before people like myself get involved with you. Way to many negative posts!.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    TIAA Direct

    Replied on May 29, 2016

    We are here to help our customers succeed and would love to discuss how we can help you too. Please email us at social@tiaadirect.com with your contact information and we can have someone reach out.

  • R
    Reviewed By Roar2j May 28, 2016

    Mad as hell!

    I have been waiting for a new card for over 2 weeks and still have not received it. The first card i ordered was supposed to come normal mail the second was expedited to next day deliver an its day 3.....well time to move my direct deposit some where else due to them not even having a tracking number then im told today that they were having issues with the cards getting out!!!!!!! You dont wait 2 n half weeks to tell a customer who btw has his retirement funds attach to his account that! I am in disbelief as i sit up here on a holiday weekend with no access to my money. Thanks Tiaa your message was very direct u dont care. God bless.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    TIAA Direct

    Replied on May 28, 2016

    We’re sorry you’re having a problem and want to help. Please email us at social@tiaadirect.com with your contact information and we can have someone reach out.

  • D
    Reviewed By dbfaulkner May 11, 2016

    In the middle of trying to get a mortgage

    I am weeks into trying to get a mortgage with TIAA Direct. The customer service contacts I have are rude and email me almost daily with problems with my loan and reasons they might not be able to meet contingencies, etc. My husband and I have perfect credit and good incomes. We have bought and sold four other homes and never had anything like this experience with TIAA Direct. It has been a very stressful experience and I have absolutely no confidence that this loan will eventually be closed.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    TIAA Direct

    Replied on May 11, 2016

    We understand the frustration and want to help. Please email us at social@tiaadirect.com with your contact information and we can have someone reach out.

    dbfaulkner

    Replied on May 31, 2016

    After posting this review, I was able to get in touch with management and the experience has been pleasant since then. We haven't closed yet, but TIAA Direct has been very helpful and efficient to move the process along.

  • K
    Reviewed By ksmichael Dec 22, 2015

    I guess they just aren't that good at basic checking

    I have been a loyal customer and proponent of TIAA-CREF for over two decades.
    When my bank of about two decades decided to "fee" me to death, I was only too happy to switch my account to "TIAA Direct."

    It was really all pretty easy until my debit card, which I use multiple times every day, developed a crack. In an effort to be pro-active (never a good choice) I called TIAA Direct to request another card. Somehow they interpreted this as a "stolen card" and reported it as such. I had no idea until I went to use the "old" card, which still should have been active, and the lady at the gas pump register actually asked me for my card. Then I waited two weeks for a new card. Driving across three states for work, this was a nightmare.

    Well, I figure, a glitch is a glitch and I survived. However, now my phone app won't work, which isn't the biggest deal, except that is how I deposit money. Three calls and one email later, I have been referred to "web tech support," which is closed.

    I am not sure if this Internet bank thing is just not my thing or if TIAA Direct is just problematic. I think I will give them one more chance, just because it is such a pain to switch banks (again) and then if they can't permanently rectify the problem, I will have to go back to "brick-and-mortar."

    I would suggest you wait for TIAA-CREF to work out the kinks before you rely on them for everyday banking services.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    TIAA Direct

    Replied on Dec 23, 2015

    We’re so sorry you had a bad experience and want to help. Email us at social@tiaadirect.com with the best way to reach you and we will be in touch shortly.

  • B
    Reviewed By Bill Hefley Aug 12, 2015

    We fired them!

    I laughed when I read the claim about excellent service. We thought that too, until we encountered many of these problems also. We even filled out a survey for the Executive Office of the President, and spoke to them, but they sent us back to the same Processor instead - there were no Executives or Presidents minding customers. After fighting for days about their needing information they had for weeks, and didn't like our contract because it didn't have certain clauses pulled out as Addendums titled they way they expected to see them, we fired them, even though we have just over a week left before our close. We have no confidence that they will ever rise to a level of competence to complete our loan in time. They are already five times over their committed duration for approval after they said they had all they needed and are still asking for things they had almost a month ago. My speciality is service management and these people are so bad I would not even take them on as a consulting client, and I've put them on notice that we will review the entire portfolio of investments we have at TIAA as a result of this experience.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.