B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Bank of America Customer Reviews

(600 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 24
4 Star 16
3 Star 17
2 Star 34
1 Star 509

The Most Helpful Bank of America Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Seamus Nov 14, 2013

Business Line Of Credit

We've been a customer since 1993. We had a $50,000 business line of credit with bofa with a $0 balance for at least 2 years. When i came back from vacation out of the country, i noticed that there was a draw of $10,000 against our loc. I immediately called bofa and asked who withdrew the money and asked where the money; it didn't show in our bank account. Bofa couldn't answer me so i asked that the loc be frozen until i got an answer. All they could tell me 3 days later was that it was a teller error (they entered the wrong account number). Two years later i needed to access our loc. They said it was frozen. I said yes, i know, i froze it. They told me hat if i wanted to access the line i have to go through an approval process all over again. I told them to shove it and got a $120,000 loc elsewhere. They had the nerve to send a rep to get my business back.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Lisa b. Dec 28, 2012

Very bad

Tried to cash a check made out to me from Bank of America--the bank itself. They wanted to charge me a $5 fee to cash a $130 check even though i have three mortgages at B of A (never paid late). I was in a B of A branch with a B of A check. This mega corporation will nickel and dime regular people any way it can.

Is this review helpful?

Latest Bank of America Reviews

  • P
    Reviewed By pavelzoe Feb 11, 2016

    Trying to get my 1098

    I have been trying to get my 1098 interest statement from BOA since January, 30, 2016. I paid > $600.00 in interest so they are required by law to mail it to me.
    I have called multiple times, gone to my local branch, submitted a complaint on BBB.
    Wait times to talk to someone in the HELOC department are longer than 20 minutes and you are lucky if they don't hang up on you.
    BOA even created a "special" 1098 department, but wIt times exceed 30 minutes.
    Today is 2/11/16 and I still do not have my 1098.
    My next step is to go to the consumer advocate reporter on the local TV station.
    Don't know what else to do.

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By Mari1223 Feb 10, 2016

    Bank of America sucks!!!!

    The worst bank I ever had. ANYONE NEW TO GETTING A CHECKING ACCOUNT, DO NOT GO WITH BANK OF AMERICA THEY SUCK!!!

    Is this review helpful?
  • I
    Reviewed By ishtamos59 Feb 10, 2016

    Bad Service from Start to Finish

    I have had four recent problems with Bank of America.

    After 18 years as a customer, B of A is sending out a demand letter to re-verify personal information that was verified less than two months ago. Unless I comply with their duplicate request, they will arbitrarily close the account. They make a veiled reference to Federal law requiring them to do so with no cited authority for their demands.

    It took five phone calls to receive a BankAmerideals incentive due me with the repeated message that I could not speak to the Research function and I would have to wait five to seven business days for a response.

    Even though I had a scheduled appointment for notary service, I waited over half an hour past the appointment time at the branch before the one notary became available.

    Bank of America took ten days to transfer funds from my account to another Bank of America account through its on-line bill pay system adminstered by its third-party contractor, FiServ. B of A claimed it can't electronically transfer such payments and must waste money and computer time generating a paper check and sending it via snail mail. Are we in the 19th or 21st Century when it comes to banking processes?

    Bank of America clearly can't service its accounts efficiently and effectively.

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By Dscurlock Feb 9, 2016

    Most unfriendly and unhelpful people on earth

    Most unfriendly and unhelpful people on earth. I will never step foot in this branch again 837 Murfreesboro Road, Nashville, TN 37217. Ever!

    Is this review helpful?
  • V
    Reviewed By Vittfill Feb 9, 2016

    You've read most of BoAs complaints in other reviews. Mine however is regarding the charge to those who have just turned 23 and still in school. You will get charged 12$ a month because you turned 23 years old. Unless you get at least one 200$ direct deposit to your core account, or have 1500$ in said account. I'm sorry Bank of America but why are you charging the poor people of the country you claim to serve in your name?

    Is this review helpful?
  • MD
    Reviewed By Maria D. Feb 9, 2016

    Dissapointed!!

    This is my first time posting a review. Being with BANK OF AMERICA for 7 yes or more, I am very dissapponted on what is happening now. I know they have helped me before with refund of overdraft fees. And for that, Thank you. But My account have been a victim of fraud three times. One is someone able to open a business account under my name and they use the account to get tax money.,then 2 is fraudulent activity including this last one that they are able to use my debit card, I dont know how!!! And the saddest part is when I called and inquire how will I close my account because I am really frustrated, the agents are not even concern and did not even ask if they can help me woth something. It sucks. And Iam still talking because Of dissapoontment, the agent jist hang up on me. So sweet!!

    Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By newergrounds22 Feb 7, 2016

    DO NOT USE THIS BANK! IF YOUR BEING ROBBED. THEY HAVE ZERO PROTECTION.

    This is the WORST BANK IN AMERICA! I was robbed at one of the Bank of America ATM machines by a person with a weapon, while I was making a withdrawal transaction. I called Bank of America and reported my claim. Bank of America did their investigation and falsely accused me for participated in the act. So Im like "really" you just accused me for robbing myself, because I cooperated during the robbery. What am I supposed to do? react to the robbery then find out later I'm no longer alive? Basically, Bank of America wanted me to risk my life over a $500 dollar fake check that the robber put into my account during my personal transaction and then BOA end up charging me to pay them back for that transaction when they're the ones who authorized it into my account. The robbery was clearly on camera and it was pervasive.

    On top of that, they refused to give me a report to send to the police and has given me the runaround. I wanted the person name who was on that check and where it came from to give to the police in order for them to find the suspect. Bank of America refused to do so. Not to mention this bank have poor customer service. They are trained to transfer you to the wrong department's which takes up to an hour or two just to speak with someone. This has got to be the worst bank ever, they run their business like a dictatorship all they do is charge and take! and they are trained to waste your time.

    They authorize false checks to make their customers vulnerable to get robbed, so they can turn around and charge you to pay them back. They are the ones who are participating in the robbery "if you ask me" because now they are robbing me.

    DO NOT USE THIS BANK!

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By swanking28 Feb 6, 2016

    Bank Fee Gouging

    I have been with Bank of America for approx 2-3 years. I had an account with them once before but left because of the lack of customer service and the failure to resolve issues. A recent incident occurred where my account had went under at -$2+ and I was charged a $35 insufficient funds fee for such a minimal amount. I contacted the bank and requested the $35 to be credited back to my account only to be told that it did not involve a fraudulent occurrence so there is nothing they can do. The amount is excessive in comparison. I know that I am not one of their customers that has an account that is beneficial to the bank so they get money out of the little people any way that they can. There are times when I have gotten up in the morning, my account was in the negative but I had an opportunity to cover it before noon and was not charged a fee. I have a habit of checking my account 2-3 times per day. The amount that came through, which put my acct in -2+, must have came through the night prior/early morning of, but the $35 charge was already assessed so I never had an opportunity to cover that amount but others. This is the worst experience that i have ever had at any bank. They are money hungry and greedy, absolutely no concern for customer satisfaction nor into resolving issues

    Is this review helpful?
  • O
    Reviewed By ouch Feb 1, 2016

    They are ridiculous clerks who dismiss long time customers

    I went with my parents on 3 occasions to their local branch in Sun City Florida. Every time was excruciatingly painful.

    Even though they have been customers there for 25 years, the desk folks require ID for every transaction, and when elderly people don't understand the need for state issued ID, they get turned away. The good news is that there are other banks, just across the parking lot. Sayonara.

    These people are imbeciles and deserve whatever comes their way.

    Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By RoxieBme Jan 30, 2016

    Find another bank!

    Bank of America does not care about their customers at all!! Find another bank! Make a mistake and they will nail you for every charge they can. Wish I could leave 0 stars!!

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.