Overall Rating

MyBankTracker rated Bank of America based on the following criteria that includes real customer reviews and bank fees, among others. Our bank report card is a proprietary rating system that highlights the financial health and stability of the bank.

B+

MyBankTracker Rating

Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Number of Locations
Mobile Deposits
Mobile Banking

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »

5,314
Branch Locations

Bank of America Location Map
We found branches close to you.

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank News
CIT Bank
Add
Bank News
Citibank
Add
Bank Reviews
Chase
Add
Compare Banks

Bank of America Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction

Bank of America Latest Customer Reviews

Shamaro8's Profile Image

Reviewed by Shamaro8

May 22nd 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Exceptional Branch Manager

Will not say what I went in for, but the Branch Manager Jason, was exceedingly professional and friendly...I was thinking, the tellers must enjoy their job, with such leadership present!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

aoeuaoeu's Profile Image

Reviewed by aoeuaoeu

May 21st 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Works with customer, excellent security

My experience at a New Haven branch of BOA has been exceptional. Most importantly, the employee I talked to had my best interests at heart and went above and beyond to find me the best account to fulfill my needs and save me money.

Additionally, I enjoy using BOA's online banking tools because of their simplicity and security. Making money transfers, finding account/routing numbers, and keeping track of finances are all accomplished in an easy-to-use interface that is not found at other banks I have used. However, I am most impressed by BOA's active security measures, not just online login security, but fraud detection as well. When I recently purchased an international flight, BOA immediately notified me of a potentially fraudulent charge. I was able to easily deem the charge valid and continue to purchase my ticket.

Overall, it's a great feeling to know that BOA has my best interests at heart and is actively trying to protect my finances.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

LLeffert's Profile Image

Reviewed by LLeffert

Apr 28th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Above and beyond

Today I visited the Merritt blvd. BOA to open an estate account for my mother who recently pass away. I was so privileged to deal with Betty Eanes, who in my opinion is by far one of the best and most understanding representatives I've had the pleasure to deal with. Her condolences were sincere, her attitude positive, and her advise priceless. I came in frustrated and overwhelmed with my executive responsibilities over my mothers will, and left with a sense of accomplishment, and a better grip on what is expected of me, for she has been in my position and related to my responsibilities. Thank you Betty, the world needs more people like you.

-Lauren L

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

dahwoman's Profile Image

Reviewed by dahwoman

Mar 6th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

the BEST Bank

this is one of the best banks EVER! I have had an account here sense 1983 and would never dream of changing to another bank. The staff is friendly and courteous. This bank has it all. The staff is knowledgeable and willing to solve any problem and work with you.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 2

Terryrig's Profile Image

Reviewed by Terryrig

Mar 6th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Great Customer Service

On Saturday February 28th. I went in to the Conyers Ga. location on Hwy 138 and meet with Amy about opening an account for my son who is 15 years old. Amy's service was great. She made me and my son very comfortable during the visit. She was very helpful when explaining all the details about the account. All in all it was a great experience for me and more important my son. Thanks Amy, keep up the excellent work. Terry R.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 2

hoytman's Profile Image

Reviewed by hoytman

Dec 7th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

I like

The staff in this branch has always been friendly. If people don't watch there checking account and be careful how you use your cards then you will have problems.

The teller on the outside has always worked for me.

Also concerning checks I deposit I always look and see how much I allowed to spend then. There is always going to be a hold on checks until they verify info, there is alot of fause checks out there

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 3

amandamarie9208gma's Profile Image

Reviewed by amandamarie9208gma

Oct 23rd 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Excellent Customer Service

I recently had an issue with a creditor withdrawing unauthorized funds. I used the online chat was helped through the process of applying for a new debit card to ensure no further drafts were taken out and then given the claim number to get the money back. The person i chatted with waived the $5 fee for a new debit card and sent it right away and was helpful and personable the whole time.

The person i spoke with about the claim was very helpful and efficient. I have dealt with two banks before and by far this was the easiest claim i have ever made. The money will be in my account tomorrow which is wonderful for someone living paycheck to paycheck!! The level of professionalism and empathy i have received during this and other transactions have made me a customer for life.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 4

EricInPDX's Profile Image

Reviewed by EricInPDX

Aug 14th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

HELOC handled excellent

I have heard nightmares about BofA, but I have to say that my recent experience with Bank of America has been nothing short of excellent. When I recently needed a Home Equity Line of Credit, I shopped Wells Fargo, Chase, US Bank, B of A, and a couple of credit unions. I am a current customer of Wells Fargo for 20 years, and I have to say they were the absolute WORST. They did not even call me back to discuss what I needed after I applied in branch. I dealt with Bank of America over the phone, got a quote right away, filled in information online and sent documents, and through each stage of the process each customer rep I dealt with at BofA was professional, cordial and efficient. I also liked the fact that all my documents could be submitted online, and the status of my loan could be tracked online from beginning to end. It is not often that I review companies, especially in the banking sector, in a positive light. I would give BofA an A, and Wells Fargo an F, for how I was treated. I am thinking of moving all my business from WF to BofA after my experience.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 5

mandylance's Profile Image

Reviewed by mandylance

Jul 25th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

what a great bank

I have always enjoyed doing business with bank of America. They are always able to give me quick and accurate info regarding my accounts. The ATM is also my favorite thing about this bank. I rarely ever have to go into the bank, the atm can do everything. I have been doing business with them since 2010 and plan on doing business with them for another 10 years.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 5

elisa's Profile Image

Reviewed by elisa

Mar 15th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Excellent

I was there to collect my routing and account information for autodraft for the gym.

I worked with Vera H. Willis, Officer, Assistant Manager, Northeast Banking Center.

She came to help thin the line,and answer any questions people had.

She was very helpful, most importantly polite and informative.

She answered all my questions, and also made me aware of how I can keep my information secure. It was a vital piece of information that I probably should have known, but didn't.

She held no judgment.

I was very happy with the service I received.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 4

silverwinged's Profile Image

Reviewed by silverwinged

Feb 23rd 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Bank of America Has Improved!! Awesome Experience!

Bank of America has listened and learned. They actually care about their customers. I have had bad experiences with them in the past, but was surprised at how much they've improved. They are the largest bank - very good policies - but fees can be triggered easily, but they are pretty good about giving courtesy refunds. Very nice employees, and I would trust this bank with my business. They actually care! I did not like BofA's "FIA" back in 2008 and felt they were horrible; but for banking and even credit card services now it seems as if they have improved since then. I would say they are a 5+.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 3

gsilva210yahoocom's Profile Image

Reviewed by gsilva210yahoocom

Dec 6th 2013

5 out of 5 marks

Whose business is it?

Well, how shocked would you be to find out that on every check that goes out from your checking account has the ITF and the name of that person! Why would a check sent out need to have that information on it? Whose business is it who you have your money entrusted to?

Oh, if you have any questions on that account and elected not to speak with someone in another country, then plan to spend at minimum a hour and a half waiting on the phone. Please!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 2

Seamus's Profile Image

Reviewed by Seamus

Nov 14th 2013

5 out of 5 marks

Business Line Of Credit

We've been a customer since 1993. We had a $50,000 business line of credit with bofa with a $0 balance for at least 2 years. When i came back from vacation out of the country, i noticed that there was a draw of $10,000 against our loc. I immediately called bofa and asked who withdrew the money and asked where the money; it didn't show in our bank account. Bofa couldn't answer me so i asked that the loc be frozen until i got an answer. All they could tell me 3 days later was that it was a teller error (they entered the wrong account number). Two years later i needed to access our loc. They said it was frozen. I said yes, i know, i froze it. They told me hat if i wanted to access the line i have to go through an approval process all over again. I told them to shove it and got a $120,000 loc elsewhere. They had the nerve to send a rep to get my business back.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 0

Luis's Profile Image

Reviewed by Luis

Mar 31st 2013

5 out of 5 marks

Best Bank

I have been with other banks in my lifetime and bank of america has been the only ones who actually care for my banking experience. Other banks have left me in the dark without answers while bank of america fixes issues instantly. I'm truely greatful to be with such a proffesional bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 3

akale1982's Profile Image

Reviewed by akale1982

Feb 22nd 2013

5 out of 5 marks

Great Experience

Have had BofA for 2 years and never an issue. Friendly and fast service and great ease of use. Great Job guys!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 5

Brit's Profile Image

Reviewed by Brit

Dec 1st 2012

5 out of 5 marks

I Had The Best Customer Service Experience Of My Life!

I am 21 and opened 2 credit cards online without reading anything about them. I always pay my bills a week before they're due because i have anxiety about late payments and bad credit. I didn't understand how i paid my bill early but didn't have the full available credit so i called bank of america customer service. Rochelle was beyond amazing and i hold client service very high and she surpassed my standards!

I did not understand the issue whatsoever and she patiently explained it in like 20 different ways until i completely understood, she even offered to transfer me to someone who could help me further if she wasn't capable of doing so. After i got what she was saying i asked her a few more questions and she's not only very intelligent but she's so personable. She's seriously amazing and made my day! She made my baking experience easier and when you understand what's going on with your money your life is easier! Thank you rochelle and bank of america

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 5

bjones0407's Profile Image

Reviewed by bjones0407

Jun 28th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Checking Account Is Great! ATM Everywhere! Free No Charge Overseas Withdrawals!

If you're looking to open a simple checking account, go with bank of america! They are great!!! Not only do they have convenient no charge atm everywhere you go (down in subways, in mall, airport etc), they offer great online banking services!!! Plus, the customer service is super smooth and very efficient!

A great big plus is that when bank of america offer 0% charge over-sea international atm withdrawals in several countries! I recently travelled to china, and boa is partner with one of the better bank branches of china - constructional bank - i was able to use it for free!! And boa keeps great security, i never had a single problem, rather, they would be monitoring my online banking activities 24/7! I love it!!! Go with bank of america!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 2

bostonjl's Profile Image

Reviewed by bostonjl

Sep 13th 2011

5 out of 5 marks

Great, No Problems!

I have a mortgage, home equity line, credit card and checking account with boa for the past 5 years. I have always paid my mortgage and credit card payments on time and have never had any problems. I have 0 bank fees for my checking and savings accounts. The customer service at the banking centers have always been excellent. The online banking is very user friendly and east to navigate. Boa also gives alot back to my community which i think is great!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 2

larry c's Profile Image

Reviewed by larry c

Jan 12th 2011

5 out of 5 marks

verey good

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 2

emily t's Profile Image

Reviewed by emily t

Dec 18th 2010

5 out of 5 marks

Bank of America is wonderful. The people are friendly and willing to help.

Every experience I've had with Bank of America was wonderful. People accuse the bank of being thieves and stealing money. um NO! If you have $8 in your checking account and go spend $50, thats not the banks fault. By law the bank (all banks) have to notify customers of fees so its not a shock when you get a fee. Learn how to bank and manage your money and the bank wont be such a crook. People just want to blame someone else because they are careless. Banks need to make a profit too otherwise they would go out of business.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 2

Marc's Profile Image

Reviewed by Marc

Aug 6th 2010

5 out of 5 marks

Since 1990

I have used BoA since 1990 and my father used it before me!

i have accounts with other banks so i am not biased!

BoA has always gone above and beyond for me and solved my problems if any arose.

there was one such incident where ebay/paypal took out an amount that was more then the total on my account. and what was worse is that for some reason they took out the total amount in two transactions

which means that i overdrew TWICE!

i went in and seen my local BoA branch and they promptly removed the fees and let me hold a negative balance for a few days until i got the money!!

THIS IS A CHECKING ACCOUNT!!

crazy huh?

for anyone who has had trouble with this bank it all does depend on your attitude and the customer service rep you get!

don't give up never lose your "cool"

if you feel that you are losing the battle switch to another REP!

and when all else fails and you've spoken to EVERYONE and there is no one higher...

LOSE YOUR COOL! lol

GL

BoA ROCKS

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

Adam B's Profile Image

Reviewed by Adam B

Jul 29th 2010

5 out of 5 marks

Awesome service.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

Facebook User's Profile Image

Reviewed by Facebook User

Aug 22nd 2009

5 out of 5 marks

One of the best Online Banks

I can't believe people are complaining about overdraft show me one bank that does not charge you for it. If you have your finances in order meaning making sure that you have enough funds to cover your bills you should be ok.

Now lets talk about BAC Experience:

I don't like to go to the branch since I live in NYC and it always crowded no matter what bank you use. I opened account online in 15 min with no issues

They don't charge me any fees for my checking or savings account since I have direct deposit I was able to link my external accounts with ease and transfer money into BAC checking account for free ( if you need to transfer out use your other bank /brokerage transfer in which most bank don't charge for) I do my online bill pay with ebills which awesome and easy to track I can also send a check to individual person using bill pay if needed and track that online( I use account for a year now and never had one issue with bill payment). You can see all your statements online I believe for at least 18 month. They also offer aggregated service where you can link all your accounts from investments, credit cards to 401K and have one picture of all your net worth.

Another new feature that I've just noticed you can actually add new pay from account by linking other bank checking account and use billpay feature to pay from lets say CITIBANK you don't see your other account balance but still if you want to keep history of all your bills in one place but at certain moment don't have enough funds in BAC account you can then pay with other bank that you just linked in.

I think overall all they have the best online experience I tried other banks Chase,Citi, TD Bank HSBC and even though they have some of the same features BAC seems to me have much better user experience online versus other banks

The reality is that finding good customer service is extremely difficult these days and I'd rather do things online then talk to someone on the other side of the world

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 0

Rashel N's Profile Image

Reviewed by Rashel N

May 26th 2009

5 out of 5 marks

Bank of America is the Bank for Me

As a first time bank account holder, I have to say that the Bank of America has made it effortless and straightforward to open up an account and keep track of my personal finance. The Bank of America is great for college students with simple needs like depositing and withdrawing money, and has a branch located near many college campuses with great customer service and quick procedures. As long as I have my pin and card ready, I’m good to go.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Carrie's Profile Image

Reviewed by Carrie

May 8th 2009

5 out of 5 marks

Easy online access and mobile banking!!

Aside from average customer phone service, BofA is a great bank. The online banking is the best around, mobile banking is very convenient and the million credit/debit card options are great. Their loan rates are also very competitive for auto and home.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Annie C's Profile Image

Reviewed by Annie C

Aug 22nd 2008

5 out of 5 marks

Long Time Customer

I have only banked with BofA, and have never had a major problem!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

MikeS's Profile Image

Reviewed by MikeS

Aug 19th 2008

5 out of 5 marks

convenience trumps all

ATMs are everywhere, check card works everywhere, everything just works.

If you can, keep enough in checking and savings to avoid monthly fees.

Interest on savings is low - so put most of your savings elsewhere.

Customer Service is just like it is at all other mega-companies, but I've been with them since they took over Fleet Bank and I've not had any problems that weren't easily resolved.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 1

sarah j's Profile Image

Reviewed by sarah j

Jul 20th 2008

5 out of 5 marks

Loyal Customer

I have been B of A member for almost 15 years and I have not had any problem with them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

salek10's Profile Image

Reviewed by salek10

Sep 21st 2013

5 out of 5 marks

Great bank! I've tried them all (Big 4) this bank beats the all!

I have baked with Chase, Wells Fargo, and Citi. Why so many banks you asked? Well I moved very frequently in my younger years. I looked for the closest bank to my house and work. I have nothing bad to say about the other banks (except maybe wells Fargo) but BofA definitely is the best of the bunch. There is a bank of America everywhere I go, I have two credit card perfectly tailored for my usage. I started my relationship with BofA with a student account which fit perfectly with my school expenses and all. Once I turned 23 I was told by one of the teller at my local branch that I should talk to a PB so that they could better accommodate my banking needs. I got was presented with different options and I chose the best for myself. I have visited branches in 7 different cities and they have all lived up to high standards in terms of customer service. The fees are not the best, but all the big boys have them so I can live with that.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Post a review