B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Bank of America Customer Reviews

(672 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 30
4 Star 16
3 Star 17
2 Star 35
1 Star 574

The Most Helpful Bank of America Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By ministryroh Jun 4, 2016

The best Bank on our planet with super Awesome Managers and tellers

I am 100% happy with Bank of America service. I am absolutely enthralled at their genuine and outstandingly personal customer service. . I will bring all my banking needs to the Fourth Plain Branch of BoA from now on. Seriously, I cannot say enough good things about ROBIN (Operations Manager). She is helpful, friendly, nice,professional, has GREAT communication. Tracy is great Bank Manager. Tracy, you and your staff are absolutely GREAT!!! THANK YOU!!

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Lisa b. Dec 28, 2012

Very bad

Tried to cash a check made out to me from Bank of America--the bank itself. They wanted to charge me a $5 fee to cash a $130 check even though i have three mortgages at B of A (never paid late). I was in a B of A branch with a B of A check. This mega corporation will nickel and dime regular people any way it can.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Bank of America Reviews

  • D
    Reviewed By danieliam Jul 6, 2016

    horrible customer service

    I got a notice on the 22 of June that my debit card was going to be replaced because they said it was compromised. July 6th they shut off my card with no replacement and no way to access my money. They wanted me to pay $15 to over night me a card. Tjat wss thiet only solution

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Sean007 Jul 5, 2016

    Worst Bank ever. Stupid Manager

    I would never go back to this branch of Bank of America. If you want to wait 40 minutes in line you should go there and spoil your lunch break. There are only 4 people in working in a bank. Two of them are busy on their own another two people are slow as a turtle.

    After 40 minutes finally my number came and a manager gave her to do paperwork. Wtf? Is She blind, can't see other people are standing in line, she need to stop her stupid work and come to help other people.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • W
    Reviewed By word_caesar Jul 5, 2016

    No institution is without its flaws...

    ...and, obviously, BofA is no exception. However, the fact that human beings are still under the employ of this institution should give one a hint that fallibility and human error will still exist. I'm certain that NONE of those leaving nasty reviews have ever messed up on their job, nor have they ever encountered a situation wherein they weren't quite sure what to do or to whom they should turn - circumstances that are exacerbated immensely when dealing with someone else's finances. Perhaps a modicum of diplomacy, understanding and patience are in order in our very selfish and entitled society.
    That said, my latest encounter with BofA landed me at the desk of one Ify Nwosu (who I hope will not be upset at the fact that I am using her name) at the Rockville Pike branch in Rockville, MD. A series of issues, some my own fault and some not, led me to incurring a series of overdraft fees. I strolled into the branch (and as it was my first time at that location, I entered the wrong door), and immediately she spotted me down the hall and asked if I needed assistance. She showed me to her office, where I explained the situation. Within 10 minutes, all of the incorrectly incurred overdraft items were refunded to me. No questions, no problems. I find this attitude is likely indicative of the majority of those agents, and I encourage everyone posting a review to take the time and analyze whether they treated the agents with dignity and respect, allowing them a generous opportunity to handle their concerns; or if they were completely unreasonable and angry during those encounters. If you want a job done right, you must be patient and give that associate the opportunity to research the absolute best course of action, lest they be subjected to your harsh words and overall ignorance. Thank you to the associates who deal with the hostile masses in a kind and caring way. And thank you, Ify.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • U
    Reviewed By usdisabledvet Jul 5, 2016

    United States Veteran

    First off if I could rate a negitive review of negitive 50 I would.

    I'm a Veteran with the Air Force, I'm Disabled now and live straight off my VA Disability. This bank after I've been with them for years decided that on June 30th 2016 to close my account for NO reason, I even asked why>> they said they didn't have to give a reason, I'm a single parent, now fixing to be homeless because of this bank... please do NOT use this bank... They closed it the Day before a deposit was to hit on the First.. Bank of America DENIDE the Transfer from the VA and sent the money back after I requested the money to be released.

    If the Bank of America, suppose to be America Bank for America People can do this to the U.S. Military or U.S. Disabled Vet?

    What are they going to do to YOU???

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By BER Jul 1, 2016

    It is really ridiculous to request ID to make a deposit, who are thinking?

    It is really ridiculous to ask to make a deposit id who are thinking

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By kapila8750 Jun 29, 2016

    misplaced mortgage payment

    time and time again, this bank proves how awful they are. our local branch does not even answer phones. you have to physically walk into the branch so they can waste your time and add to your stress level. now they have misplaced a mortgage payment that i made in cash at the local branch. thank god i have the receipts. i completely despise this bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By Lorene8010 Jun 28, 2016

    After 43 years BOA has finally driven me away -2

    I finally arrived at the 176th and Meridian branch and met a customer representative who was calm, intelligent, and customer centric. She also had a wonderful sense of urgency once I explained the issue (why, why, are you working for BOA? I wanted to ask). She was able to locate people from two other departments to work on resolving the issue. Note- It didn’t appear to be much easier for her to get humans on the phone than it was for me. So once I sat down with the BOA folks it took two hours to resolve the issue. One spent too much time explaining how my bill pay account had been set up incorrectly and needed to be fixed since one field was triggering human intervention (implied message -was my mistake) to which I responded it had worked for 20+ months and if it was not correct then it should have been discovered at the first payment. Obviously their processes were not robust if every time my “incorrect” payment arrived someone effectively “flipped a coin” to decide whether to process my payment. This type of arbitrary decision should never be allowed and should have been challenged and a corrective action implemented- long before an error could happen. What other time bombs are ticking out there with the rest of my automated bill pays I now wonder. Of course through all this BOA was pushing to make a counter payment to bring the account up to date then we would “fix” my electronic payment so it would work correctly next month. I countered with let’s fix the electronic payment glitch now then use it to make June’s payment so we would have some level of confidence that July’s payment would work as well. This was the fix / solution that we agreed upon (grudgingly by BOA- my impression). We won’t know if it worked until July 1st, 2016 which was the earliest the automated / instantaneous BOA system would allow a payment from one BOA account to another BOA account (bear in mind this was on June 26th… wow slower than dial up- ok that was snarky, sorry). One of the people on the phone finally offered to follow up on all the outstanding items to make sure my payments are received and my foreclosure is cancelled (crossed fingers). I have to add that everyone I spoke with told me, at the end of their discussion, that I would receive a survey as to how I was helped and hoped I’d received a satisfactory experience. Really- LOL!

    Summary
    Out of the 8 people I spoke with yesterday they are rated as follows: One: 5++ stars, One: 3 stars, Five: 2 stars, One: 1 star.

    My take on BOA is their customer service is very poor and that management does not allow their people very much latitude to resolve an issue (i.e. autocratic). They talk a good customer service game but don’t back up their words with actions. These “surveys” seem to be their way of forcing employees to provide good customer service (stick rather than carrot). However fear is never a successful management tool and obviously isn’t working. Most corporations have a majority of wonderful employees with a few substandard. From my experience over the years this trend is reversing with BOA. Since they do not invest in their employees you would think their automated systems would be more robust and have an embedded decision trees that determined a customer’s standing (worth, value, whatever) prior to triggering an automated foreclosure process. It’s not that tough these days. Has this customer ever missed a payment? Does this customer have thousands of dollars in your bank? Some set of parameters that would trigger a phone call from a customer service representative rather than some action that might anger / lose a customer. But then that would require a robust customer service department… oops!

    Time to leave.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Steve8010 Jun 28, 2016

    After 43 years BOA has finally driven me away -1

    So many complaints so few words allowed for this review. Please bear in mind I’m still a little irritated from yesterday’s debacle so excuse any excessively snarky remarks I make here. Writing this is a form of therapy- thanks much BOA.

    Background:
    I live near Tacoma Washington and have banked with BOA or the bank it acquired (Rainer Bank) since I was 18. Multiple car loans, several mortgages, excellent credit rating, credit cards, and thousands of dollars in savings. Not rich but comfortable.

    I used to work for a fortune 150 company in sales and marketing so I (sadly) have a high threshold for silly policies and employees who become so mired down with procedure they forget about their most valuable asset which is the customer. BOA however has finally pushed to to find another bank by losing my mortgage payment and immediately implementing foreclosure (based on one missed payment -wow, I mean wow!). Their automated system which was very efficient (amazingly when they are taking your money or home for that fact they seem to have their processes down perfectly…mmmm) and sent me several letters last week stating I’d missed one payment and was accessing a late fee. I called last Friday to investigate (during hours stated on their letter) and recording said “Office was closed”. Monday arrived and I received (by certified mail) a foreclosure notice. Wow, never a missed payment in 30+ years and given them all the business mentioned above and this is their process. Lol, it gets even better since I was trying to leave on a vacation today, their timing was perfect. My main issue with all of this was- BOA was wrong. I tried explaining my account showed payment being taken out electronically like it had for the 20 previous months (from a BOA checking account to a BOA mortgage account) However no one seemed to be able to help me since no single person had a world view of all the BOA systems - so I was told repeatedly to call “another” group. Why a customer, who can clearly show that BOA has made a horrible mistake, (followed immediately by another nuclear option/ mistake of foreclosure) has to be the one tasked to sort out the issue is a mystery to me. A reasonable person would think that once this scenario was presented to BOA they would move mountains to resolve their error - oh you silly, silly, silly reasonable people, this is not the case. Anyway I quickly ran out of patience with their phone based customer service (see all negative reviews on this site regarding BOA phone service and multiply by 10) and drove to my Summit View branch to seek help. The lone banker/manager there was sympathetic but could not help since he already had multiple customer appointments scheduled (with the BOA customer service ratings I’m finding on the web you would think they’d have managers stacked 5 high to deal with angry hordes of customers but I digress). He did have another employee call all the local branches to try and obtain me an appointment. The employee came out once and said she couldn’t get anyone to answer the phone (ok, manic laugh, if a BOA employee cannot get through to any branches what chance does a customer have?) and suggested I drive over to one of the other branches… Ahem, the thought of driving all over the countryside in the hope of finding someone to assist did not appeal to me so I asked her to continue trying. She finally was able to make me an appointment at another branch. I thanked her but frankly left feeling a little miffed at her suggestion I drive all over the place to find another branch to help me - this was after I’d given her a brief synopsis of the issue, BOA’s error, and, oh yea, the pending Foreclosure…omg.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • E
    Reviewed By e2u_2000 Jun 27, 2016

    Loan Process for "Valued Customers"

    Recently applied for a HELOC loan with BoA and BoA considers me a valued customer having been with them for 30+ years and having over $500k of account balances (+ & - ). They sold me on loyalty and not the APR as the APR was not competitive as other banks I could have gone to. So, I applied online and agreed on the initial VAPR and terms. They called me for an interview a few days later. A few days later, I missed a call. I called back and the person was not available, but the person said let me see what they needed.... The interview all over again and I was kind and answered.
    When I returned home two weeks later, I had a BoA package identifying a form to be submitted and nothing more. Immediately signed scanned and sent. (oh, I had requested all information via email as I was traveling) 5 days later, I missed a call from BoA. Called back and again the interview questions.. I was furious as I felt like they were giving me one of thus trust tests... constantly asked the same questions in different ways/ They dis ask for 2years of w2s at this time. The next week, they asked for home owners insurance and tax information.. provided immediately. At this point I was calling every three days asking what else or leaving messages. Then a call came in stating they could not provide me the amount wanted but if I were to payoff a $2.2K credit card they could. Lastly about 6 weeks into this they asked for some credit card statements and I provided.
    Finally got the call on the 7th week and wanted to set the closing date. We agreed on a date. When I arrived in the morning as agreed they were not ready and asked for me to return. I returned and were very apologetic, but were still not ready (no real reason given) After cancelling travel plans and visiting the bank twice, I got a call at 4:30 stating they were ready to close, however the terms and amount had changed. Apparently, they decided to re-run my credit and did not like there was an inquiry about 50 days prior to a credit card which I deny was of my doing. The bank wanted to reduce the loan amount by 60k and raise the rate over an inquiry and no additional debt. Later, I came to find out the date they set the closing on was the 60th day... I feel they pushed me to that date just to adjust the loan terms as they would not negotiate as they did during the original process. Now, I'm going through the process of transferring my accounts to a a few other banks as my loyalty days are over.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By slane4662 Jun 16, 2016

    Bank of America BAD BUSINESS, THEY DON'T CARE. IN THE END THEY WILL LOSE

    I had a Bank of America credit card. One day I received a letter stating they closed my account because of credit cards I already have with high balances. Well guess what they extended the credit to me with the credits I currently have. I think Bank of America really don't care about it's customers, because by them closing my credit card, which will affect my credit score. Bad business practice. If they would check further they would see I have been paying large amounts on my credit cards. I paid one thousand dollars on one card, five hundred on another, and five hundred on the third. Bank of America you will not win in this situation. I will be debt free soon, and I hope you don't come asking me to take your credit card because I won't. If you do I will let you know, I will send you a letter. This is what you told me to do if I had any question. Sorry I won't waste my time.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.