B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Bank of America Customer Reviews

(642 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 27
4 Star 16
3 Star 17
2 Star 35
1 Star 547

The Most Helpful Bank of America Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Britalg4 Mar 28, 2016

My favorite bank by far!

I absolutely love Bank of America! Ive been with Wells Fargo, Chase, Ally...and dont get me wrong all three were pretty good banks but BOFA is THE BEST. The staff and costumer service are awesome! I have been banking with them for 2 years and it has been very easy. I wanted to refinance my truck and unfortunately didnt approve for a smaller rate by BOFA but i am still pleased with how quick they got back to me with the answer. Ive also had an overdraw fee, due to another company's mistake, which BOFA helped me resolve. I love the online banking app as well! Good job Bank Of America, keep it up! I recommend this Bank to everyone :)

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Lisa b. Dec 28, 2012

Very bad

Tried to cash a check made out to me from Bank of America--the bank itself. They wanted to charge me a $5 fee to cash a $130 check even though i have three mortgages at B of A (never paid late). I was in a B of A branch with a B of A check. This mega corporation will nickel and dime regular people any way it can.

Is this review helpful?

Latest Bank of America Reviews

  • M
    Reviewed By mruscher May 3, 2016

    Not good

    I’m not the person who normal writes in but I want to say that you have made a bad experience worst then it was I found out that you bad trained customer service and worst management. On Thursday 4/28/16 my wife was at the park with our 9 month old son when someone broke out the window in the car and stole her purse with the cheek book, debit cards, driver license. So I took off work on Friday 4/29/16 so we could go to the bank and close the account and open a new one the laid at the bank told me she would be able to attach my debit card to the new accounts she did not do that as my card was denied and then on Monday 5/2/16 I called BOA and was on the phone for 56 minutes to find out my card cannot be switch to the new account and that the laid at the bank should have told me that because a error box poops up when you try and she didn’t close the saving account so I’m getting charge a fee for a new debit card and was given bad information. So on Tuesday 5/3/16 I called BOA to do the fraudulent charges claim I’m on the phone for 43 minutes the gentleman said all was good and done then transfers me to customer service to close the account now 57 minutes on the phone the customer service guy said he needs to transfer to the claims side it does not look like it was put in I had to hang up after been on hold once more to get back to work 72 minutes on the phone and will have to call tomorrow over $70 in fees and still not fixed fill like BOA doesn’t care.

    Is this review helpful?
  • V
    Reviewed By Vhurst May 3, 2016

    BOA, The Colony Texas

    This bank has all the equipment for drive thru service but doesn't utilize it. This is where my business has it's account. I walk in 9:30 in the morning to have two guys in suits greet me yet there is only one teller on staff and a line to the door. This is infuriating! It's the first of the month, lots of financial things happening and they can't have more than one teller to help people out, yet they have plenty of employees standing around doing nothing. Way to go BOA !!

    Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By TurnerChas Apr 28, 2016

    This was the worst bank ever!

    I opened an account for my husband and I. I moved from a credit union to a bigger (nationally known bank) so that we could have more access to our money. Our bank at the credit union was only open M-F 9-4 and they were never available if you needed to talk with them. So we changed. After my first week at BOA I attempted to log in and check my balance, I noticed that when I logged in it stated that my account had been locked, and that I needed to call an 800 number to get the issue resolved. I called the 800 number given and got the RUDEST person available, she stated that my husband had a previous balance on an old account for $58.00 which was made after he closed the account. I told them to go ahead and take that money out of my account. They did that day, and I attempted to log into the account again after they told me that the account was cleared. I still could not get in, I called them back and they said they forgot to charge me the convenience fee for the $58.00 debit they took, and attempted to charge me $84.00 dollars ontop of the $58.00 they already took. So I had the account closed. I had over 700 in that account, needless to say I closed the account. Guess how much I had in my account? $108.00 out of $700.00 I cannot explain how upset I am, and because I closed my account they cannot tell me where that money went. I never did anything to them, just questioned them... I cant see how they can do this. I went ahead and opened an account with BBVA Compass who my Car and Home are through and they are AMAZING! Super sweet people and they already know me by name when I come into their branch to make a deposit. Oh and BOA said that I made too many cash deposits that were "questionable" UMMM IM SORRY THAT I HAVE 2 JOBS AND I ALWAYS HAVE CASH??? You're my bank, not my mother. I pay you, not the other way around. Needless to say BOA, YOU CAN READ BETWEEN THE LINES!!!!!

    Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By pinny Apr 19, 2016

    Don’t waste your time walking in their is no one to talk to there

    I was looking to open a new saving account, I already have a checking and a savings account with another bank, but for this savings account I was considering Bank of America. So I want online and scheduled and appointment to talk with an associate.
    I got there exactly on time for my appointment, I walk in and see there another person who is also waiting to talk to an associate. OK, well I have an appointment, I thought to myself, but there is no bank associates to be seen, all the banker desks are empty, one banker was behind the teller and that was it..
    After waiting 5 minutes the person who was waiting there before me gave up and pick herself up and left.
    I’m still waiting because I made an appointment, so someone will for sure be available to assist me…
    Finally, another bank associate showed up, I walk over and tell him, I made an appointment and its already 15 minutes later.
    “Someone will be he for you shortly” he said.
    OK, I continue waiting…
    Another person arrived and started waiting, 1 2 3 4 5 minutes past and he too left.. I’m still waiting…
    Well you are probably wondering if I am still waiting now. Well, NO, after an half hour of waiting and no one showed up I too left.
    Good luck for Citi Bank they now have another savings account customer.

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jhnyangel Apr 13, 2016

    Wish I could give them lees than 1 star

    Worse customer service you could possibly imagine. I have 2 words for Bank of America and they are not Happy Birthday.

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By Jovanca Apr 12, 2016

    have a problem find another bank

    A issue that started in the beginning of March. I had a charge on my account used bi a online source. In which I have never dealt with. Of $566. So the next morning I called bank of America. Warning Customer service is horrible. They are very unhelpful long wait times and crappie to say the least. Anyway they processed to tell me the next steps to get this issue resolved. Was to close my debit cards and to place the 566 dollers back in to my account "temperaly" until the matter is resolved. Did that happen no way. So I waited 2days because it was the weekend .I call again yet again another unapologetic customer service rep. Witch had bad manners and poor people skills. Only to find out that the only way I could despite the charge is once the charges where no longer pending and posted to the account. Now couldn't the first so called customer service rep tolled me this? Now fast forward it post to my account I place a my claim. Only to have to call in 9 MORE TIMES . before anyone has any idea of what I'm calling in regards to. They proceed to tell me my claim was denied because I failed to send back a paper they sent in the mail. So I go to the post office and they have no record of a letter being sent to me. And I asked all 9Times about this so called letter and I asked for it to be sent again. Never the less I contact the Company who recived the funds and guess what the had no problems sending me my money no thanks to Bank of America. But it doesn't end there I go in yo the bank to ask why the money hadn't been place back in my account. It's because the bank placed a hole on it. Are you kidding first yhey where very unhelpful didn't want to refund the money. But they will place a hold on it I'm so over this bank this has been over 30days of aggravation please be very careful when chosen a bank there are so many other choice out there

    Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By tt01 Apr 11, 2016

    Obiviously BOA does not want my business

    I have had to many inconveniences not being able to use my card. Every charge was coming up as "suspicious/fraudulent". I have been in the check out line too many times and even after IMMEDIATELY responding to the fraud alert I received in my email my card still didn't work. After holding for 30 minutes (while still in the check out line) BOA could still not tell me why my card would not work. Lucky for me I have good credit and have many options to use with other institutions that actually appreciate my business and don't inconvenience me. FYI I have never had a fraudulent transaction so I really can't understand why my charges come up "suspicious" as they were small amounts. I have several credit cards with BOA but due to the embarrassment I have experienced I will no longer due business with BOA. I've never dealt with a bank that takes 30 minutes to answer while still not providing any resolution. Their sham of "fraud protection" is a joke it will only inconvenience and embarass you! Shame on you BOA!

    Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By a1tnheffer Mar 31, 2016

    REFINANCE MORTGAGE

    My husband and I have had our mortgage with Bank of America for over 20+ years. I was late on "1" payment..."1" payment over those 20+ years, and it wasn't intentional. We recently decided that we wanted to refinance our house and get some extra cash out to pay off some student debts and a credit card...AFTER ALL, WE GET NUMEROUS MAILINGS FROM BOA that says that we were "prequalified" for a refinance due to our outstanding credit!! WRONG! For almost two months, we were put through crap trying to get them everything they asked for. RIDICULOUS, the things they wanted. I should also point out that they would always say they didn't get what we had sent them, and it had to be sent by a certain that day, or the underwriters would be canceling our request!! They totally belittled us by questioning everything we sent them and told them! It was finally denied, which ended up being the best thing that could have happened for us! We called Quicken Loans on March 7th, and I am happy to say, that last night, March 30th, we closed on our loan! We lowered our house payment even more that BOA had said they could and we are CLOSING OUR ACCOUNT WITH BOA!!! I will never refer anyone to use BOA, and I will get the word out about them!

    Is this review helpful?
  • Reviewed By Lee W. Mar 29, 2016

    Bank of America Review test

    Bank of America Review testBank of America Review testBank of America Review testBank of America Review testBank of America Review testBank of America Review testBank of America Review testBank of America Review testBank of America Review testBank of America Review testBank of America Review testBank of America Review testBank of America Review testBank of America Review testBank of America Review testBank of America Review testBank of America Review testBank of America Review testBank of America Review testBank of America Review testBank of America Review testBank of America Review testBank of America Review testBank of America Review testBank of America Review testBank of America Review testBank of America Review testBank of America Review testBank of America Review testBank of America Review testBank of America Review testBank of America Review testBank of America Review test

    Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By cwfinc12 Mar 29, 2016

    Rip-off bank double dripping

    I was divorce in 2010 and my card was suppose to be paid by my ex-wife. But she is in welfare and they went after me. The gave me a 1099 for 6,088 in 2012, to put on my taxes. Well I lost money there! Than I look at my credit report and see the same 6,088 as a balance. I called and they said " Even when a 1099 is giving there is still the balance owed" Well that is double dripping. I paid for it in 2012 less received money and now they want me to pay the balance again! What a rip-off

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.