A+ MyBankTracker Rating

Ally Bank Customer Reviews

(316 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 32
4 Star 22
3 Star 18
2 Star 63
1 Star 181

The Most Helpful Ally Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By bankaman60 Jan 17, 2015

Five stars by any measure

I'm confused about the the three-star rating when most of the reviews give a glowing five-stars - maybe there were a few folks who gave one star and that dragged it down? Anyway, as most people have noted, Ally is clearly the best way to go for online banking; and for those who are put off by the lack of brick-and-mortar locations, try thinking of banking differently. If you own a smartphone and a computer, there is absolutely no reason to "go to the bank"! Everything you might ever need to do can be done online and/or on the phone. Ally's phone reps are terrific - smart and patient, knowledgable about the products, and speak clear English (and possibly Spanish as well - I haven't checked). The no fee ATM feature is for real, and it's so convenient. It's also awfully nice to get nearly 1% interest on your savings account when virtually all the other banks give you next to nothing (like .005% or some nonsense, which is effectively zero). You even earn a bit on your checking account. No minimum balances, great online and mobile banking interfaces, great customer service: a winning formula, to be sure.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Scofam Jul 21, 2015

Warning!!! Do not lease with this company!!! We were stolen from!

I cosigned for my daughter to lease a Jeep. She leased it and let the Jeep dealership know she wanted to purchase it at the end of the lease.
On Father's day someone ran a red light and hit her. She rolled a few times. She is still sore and has some issues but she is alive.
She had about five months left in the lease. The buy-out at the end was $22,000.00.
The insurance company is offering the current value of the Jeep which is well above the buy-out price. Ally is demanding ALL of the money from our insurance company, not just what was owed and the residual.
My insurance company said they have never experienced the problems they are having with Ally, nor have the ever heard of a finance company not giving the payoff amount but demanding all of the insurance money.
I contacted the dealership and spoke with the head of finance. He said in 30 years he's never heard of a company doing this.
Warning...READ THE FIND PRINT! Do not trust Ally...they are in now way your ally.

Never again!

Is this review helpful?

Latest Ally Bank Reviews

  • D
    Reviewed By daleydo47 Feb 6, 2016

    cheating

    Ally Banks owes me over 1600.00 for a warranty cancellation. They have given me a run around for 3 months.

    Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By newchapter Feb 5, 2016

    Former Bank Teller/ Poor customer service

    I worked in the banking world for a long time. I have a very strong knowledge of banking security standards. I applied for a checking account online and didn't receive any commutation from Ally. I called the customer service 7 days later, verified my information with the Ally representative not once, but 3 times. She (Kelly) placed me on hold multiple times and then, placed me on the phone with a supervisor. He (Ryan) stated, "The reason I have been added to the call is because you can't verify your personal information with us." He then asked me the SAME questions that she had already asked me three times, said everything was ok, and said she would now answer any questions I had. After the supervisor hung up she said, "We have sent a letter out and she can't see what's on the letter." That was the end of the conversion. She no longer could help me. If someone applies for an account with a bank, and the representative can pull your information on their system, they can see the status of your application or transfer you to someone that can.
    Side note: If you ever have to file bankruptcy due to loss income, injury, or divorce, Don't do the right thing and file Chapter 13. Go for a 7 and you will be back on your feet in less then 2 years. In Chapter 13 you repay what you owe, but with reduced interest rates and the attorney can sometimes settle on a reduced amount. The right thing will follow you FOREVER. Chapter 7 erases all your debt, you repay nothing, and you are back on your feet in no time, and able to move with your life...Buy a car, house, open a checking, etc... It doesn't matter if you have since got back on your feet, built a company, and have thousands in a account. Chapter13 is a way for honest people to screw themselves.
    I will continue to bank with Bank of America and have my investments with UBS...Thank you Ally

    Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By AllyBankIsTrash Feb 1, 2016

    Bill Pay Is Garbage

    Ally Bank messed up big time when they switched bill pay systems. Unless you have millions of dollars in savings and don't want to invest it in the market or real estate, then stay away from this bank. You will lose every penny you make with the 1% interest in fees. The bill pay does not work so you have to manually pay every bill. Every time you call them regarding an issue (usually the bill pay), you will be on hold for a minimum of 20 minutes. If the issue cannot be resolved, they will keep putting you on hold and eventually never come back.

    This bank is garbage. You're on hold for hours just to get your money back - and you're lucky if that happens. I should get paid for all the time I spend arguing with this shitty bank.

    Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By levelm Jan 23, 2016

    Depositing is a Nightmare

    Ally is almost a decent service unless you need to make an eDeposit. Even if you meticulously follow image guidelines, the system will reject it providing zero information why. On average 50% of my deposits do not go through. There tech support department is full-on unqualified to explain why this is the case. Also if you are consultant and have a company name, Ally will not allow you to deposit the check if it is made out to your business, even if your business and personal account is the same. So expect to be on call with them for hours and to not have money when you want it. At this juncture I need another bank account with a reasonable bank to cash the checks that Ally won't. Not worth the hassle.

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By spots Jan 20, 2016

    Awful bank

    Opened a CD with them and due to the transfer process being unclear, Ally withdrew $10,000 twice from an outside savings account causing my savings account balance to drop below zero. It took 7 days for the money to get transferred back out to my savings account. I was charged an overdraft fee by my other bank and lost out on interest for those 7 days. Ally's response? Sorry, not our fault (although the customer service representative agreed with me and stated that several other clients had similar issues).

    Then, Ally requires a signature verification card sent back to them within 60 days of opening a CD. Without the verification card, Ally starts withholding interest that is reported to the IRS. I sent this form in on Dec 22, within that 60 day window. Ally claims they didn't receive it till the new year in Jan. Because of this, I had a portion of the earned interest withheld and reported to the IRS, although I did everything appropriately. Ally's response? Sorry, not our fault, talk to the IRS?

    I've had this account open less than 3 months and had 2 major issues with them, and all they can say is sorry, but there's nothing we can do.

    I find that unacceptable...Ally can easily give a credit to my account for the interest, they just choose not to. They could let me close my account early without penalty (which I feel is reasonable given all these mishaps), they just choose not to.

    Awful, awful, awful.

    Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By poetnerd Jan 19, 2016

    Bill Pay service has problems that Customer Support can't fix.

    I've had a lot of problems using the Ally Bank Bill Pay service.
    Recently they switched to a new third party back end provider.
    It made things worse. I detailed my problems in a long blog posting at:
    http://angrypoetnerd.blogspot.com/2016/01/new-ally-bank-bill-pay-system.html

    Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By Arask Jan 18, 2016

    They do Not know how to use Fax or email

    I just moved from CA to NY so I need to register my car. I asked Ally on 1/13/2016 to send me power of attorney so I can register my car.

    (1st) It's hard to believe but in 2016 they still don't use email to send documents. The only way you can have your documents are fax or mail and it takes them 48 hours to process request and for any reason if they were not able to send it out, you have to request again and wait 48 hours again.

    (2nd) you would NOT believe me but they don't know how to use fax machine. Every time I asked them for power of attorney in past 6 days they fax me a page and it write on it

    "Please open the attached documents. Type pdf, multi-page"

    I called Ally more than 8 times and tell them you should open the pdf file first then fax it But they just keep fax me the same page.

    A job that should takes less than a day took more then 6 days and it's not done yet.

    Great Job Ally

    Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By bankswillburn Jan 18, 2016

    CRIMINALS!!!! 100% CRIMINALS!

    I have over $6000 that Ally bank has received, and is NOT giving me, and giving me a 90 day policy run around, even though I have ALL the proof of money being transferred.

    Legal department promised to call?

    NEVER CALLED

    Executive resolution team promised to call?

    NEVER CALLED

    They FLIP all the information on you.

    NEVER EVER DO ANY BUSINESS WITH THEM, THIS IS A 100% ** MAFIA OPERATION **

    Mark my words.

    All banks are MAFIA.

    Is this review helpful?
  • Y
    Reviewed By yinhang Jan 14, 2016

    New customer

    Wish I read all the reviews, mostly negative ones, before becoming an Ally bank customer 2 days ago. I've already had some negative experience with it. I'll post it in detail after my issue resoled, hopefully.

    Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By CrystalMacNees26 Jan 13, 2016

    CrystalBearMacnees

    Amazing.

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.