A+ MyBankTracker Rating

Ally Bank Customer Reviews

(367 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 34
4 Star 23
3 Star 18
2 Star 69
1 Star 223

The Most Helpful Ally Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By bankaman60 Jan 17, 2015

Five stars by any measure

I'm confused about the the three-star rating when most of the reviews give a glowing five-stars - maybe there were a few folks who gave one star and that dragged it down? Anyway, as most people have noted, Ally is clearly the best way to go for online banking; and for those who are put off by the lack of brick-and-mortar locations, try thinking of banking differently. If you own a smartphone and a computer, there is absolutely no reason to "go to the bank"! Everything you might ever need to do can be done online and/or on the phone. Ally's phone reps are terrific - smart and patient, knowledgable about the products, and speak clear English (and possibly Spanish as well - I haven't checked). The no fee ATM feature is for real, and it's so convenient. It's also awfully nice to get nearly 1% interest on your savings account when virtually all the other banks give you next to nothing (like .005% or some nonsense, which is effectively zero). You even earn a bit on your checking account. No minimum balances, great online and mobile banking interfaces, great customer service: a winning formula, to be sure.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Scofam Jul 21, 2015

Warning!!! Do not lease with this company!!! We were stolen from!

I cosigned for my daughter to lease a Jeep. She leased it and let the Jeep dealership know she wanted to purchase it at the end of the lease.
On Father's day someone ran a red light and hit her. She rolled a few times. She is still sore and has some issues but she is alive.
She had about five months left in the lease. The buy-out at the end was $22,000.00.
The insurance company is offering the current value of the Jeep which is well above the buy-out price. Ally is demanding ALL of the money from our insurance company, not just what was owed and the residual.
My insurance company said they have never experienced the problems they are having with Ally, nor have the ever heard of a finance company not giving the payoff amount but demanding all of the insurance money.
I contacted the dealership and spoke with the head of finance. He said in 30 years he's never heard of a company doing this.
Warning...READ THE FIND PRINT! Do not trust Ally...they are in now way your ally.

Never again!

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Ally Bank Reviews

  • K
    Reviewed By KeithC Aug 20, 2016

    worst banking exerience of my life.

    Ally Bank is about as close to croaked as you can get and still be legal. I am completely fed up with them. I will never use their services and would suggest everyone in the world does the same. I am confused that anyone could give them anymore than 1 star because I would give them 0 if I could, they are at the bottom and they do not try to move up. The fact that they are only online, makes it worse as all of the support is offshore. The people do not understand how to deal with Americans and our expectations, they cannot do more than tell you what they see on the screen, and believe me Ally has a way of changing the data from day to day without anyway to see why it happened. I am getting a divorce from Ally and will never use them again no matter the circumstances. I truly hope they are put out of business.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By sjtx1960 Aug 15, 2016

    Great rates but not helpful when you need docs

    I will agree that Ally has great rates but it can be a real hassle when you are trying to sell your vehicle. There is nothing like going into your local branch and talking face to face with someone who is going help you. I tried several times to get a copy of my title faxed to me. It was promised to me 3 times to be in my possession in 24-48 hours. After not receiving it, I asked to talked to a manager, it was promised in 3 hours - it did not come. After calling back a fourth time the customer service rep told me that it was not possible to get it in the time frame that the other 3 reps promised me. I still do not have a copy of the title because they tell me they do not have it in their possession and have to get it from the state. They put me on hold for 45 minutes and never came back. In the mean time the person who wanted to buy my vehicle is gone. This never happened to me with a bank I could walk in to - never again.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By ripton Aug 3, 2016

    Can't use your ATM machine overseas

    Called the bank to put an alert on my account that I was overseas. Went to use to my ATM card and it was declined. This happened to my one time before, but I thought I would give them a second chance. Boy, that was a mistake. You have been warned.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By MamasGirl Aug 2, 2016

    Unconscionable cheats, their practices should be illegal.

    My mother took out a car loan with Ally about a year before she died. I continued to pay it while her estate was being settled and I noticed that no matter how much I paid, even if I noted to apply the excess to the principle balance, the payoff never changed.

    I wouldn't call Ally a "bank" they are thiefs of the worst kind. I do not understand how their practices (like a $200!!!!!!!!! service charge every month) can possibly be legal.

    DO NOT "bank" with them. DO NOT, under any circumstances, finance a loan with them. They are the lowest scum and they need to be sued and their board should be jailed.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By Ketol Jul 30, 2016

    Thieves

    Ally bank opened my account. I then downloaded app and photo deposited my paycheck. On the following Tuesday I tried to log into my account but was unable...apparently my account was locked by someone named Kimmi. I immediately called customer service and though the rep was very friendly, she couldn't help me, but did tell me Kimmi needed more documentation which I sent in immediately. A few days go by and I have heard not one word. Nothing from this mythical Kimmi ; no email, no phone call, nothing. Account still locked. Called again, rep tells me that my photo deposit cleared and money is in account...yet I can't access it STILL. More unreturned phone calls to Kimmi. So they cashed my payroll check, and are basically holding it hostage, I can't log in, can't activate my debit card or anything. I called CS again, I'm totally broke now, they have nearly $300 of my money and I can't access it. I need it to pay my rent. They respond "sorry, u have to talk to Kimmi, no one else can help or override her. That's ridiculous. At this point I wouldn't bank with them if they lured me with a million dollars. I just want my money. TODAY. Not Monday or Tuesday or whenever. I needed it this past week. I live paycheck to paycheck..this is unethical at this point. There is no timeframe from them...still can't get in touch with Kimmi no matter what day or time I call. They have basically stolen my money at this point, and I will be contacting someone regarding this issue. It's insane.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By aldrich Jul 23, 2016

    Wire transfer episode

    I joined Ally a couple of years ago because of the savings and CD rates (and obviously the reputation and security). On a Thursday evening, I made a wire transfer online to pay for my 16 year-old son's first vehicle I was purchasing from an individual (as a surprise). The next morning, I rec'd a call from Ally to verify the action. I talked to a rep and it was verified. Four hours later I called Ally again to ask if the payment had gone through. I was told by this rep that everything was done and to have a good weekend. Later, I returned home to see on caller ID a call from Ally. It was a message to call them. I called back and spoke with a rep and this rep said that I had missed the deadline to verify the transfer and that instead of going to get my son's vehicle, it would now be three days later before they could wire the transfer because after 3 p.m. on Friday, they don't wire anything until the following Monday.

    I tried not to blow my stack with the rep because I didn't need further problems but they completely left me hanging out to dry. There was nothing I could do at that point. The amount was significant enough that I couldn't transfer to a checking account because that additionally would take two days. The point of my post is that they advertise 24/7 banking and are available anytime to help. That didn't hold true.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By moralcitizen2016 Jul 22, 2016

    Frustration at your own expense

    I opened a new account with Ally reading reviews and per recommendation from my company in the month of May. In a couple of days somebody from the bank reached out to me asking for identification documentation. I sent all that I had and asked a follow-up question. It's been a couple of months since then and I have called the helpline many times and sent many many emails without resolution of question. Now the great people at bank have revoked my access to my account and my money. (Yes, I was stupid enough to keep my money and salary with them!). They have got me down on to my knees to get me access to my own money. I am at a stage where I don't need the account just my money back.

    Where do I go now?

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • E
    Reviewed By esposito4rb Jun 27, 2016

    Deception and a lack of responsibility

    Ally Bank has incredibly deceptive business practices.

    In one example, they advertise FREE international transfers, only to have their intermediary bank (Chase), assess fees. Since Ally forces customers to internationally transfer THROUGH Chase, Ally is therefore charging fees, but they never warn of this or take any responsibility. Instead of understanding this, Ally pushes me to contact chase directly, who I am not a customer of nor care to be. They blame me and take no responsibility.

    The only course of action after speaking to representatives? I would need to MAIL or FAX a report to their banking team - they claim they have no email or secured messaging (lie) support to do this, despite being an online-only bank.

    Their website is full of deceptive marketing and probably fake reviews and ratings. I wouldn't touch this bank. And this is just one example of many that I have had since opening my account with them 3 months ago.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By profrod Jun 26, 2016

    Horrendous customer service and website.

    I was in the process of opening an account with this bank because of their high returns on their accounts. I am, now, in the process of closing the accounts. Their customer service reps are terribly undereducated about the processes of the bank and come across as being very "dumb" for lack of a better word. Some of them try to be nice, but they still don't know what they're doing. Some of them clearly don't care at all.
    When I logged in today to see if the transfers had gone through I received a notice to click on a link to verify my SSN. The grammar and composition of the page is so terrible that it's impossible to know whether to answer yes or no to the question.
    I don't know how on earth this bank has received any 5 star ratings from anyone. It's ludicrous.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By Aeonix Jun 22, 2016

    Find another bank, especially if you need to do foreign transactions

    This bank is completely useless. If I wasn't already moving out of the country, I'd be finding a new bank. They have blocked my card for fraud so many times, for no reason at all. The one time there was a charge that shouldn't have been allowed, they let it go through! They declined a wire transfer I initiated myself, I had to call the fraud department to ask them to send it through.

    They also keep allowing transactions to post to an account we no longer use, making it overdrawn, even though we have turned off overdrafts for that account.

    Today I was trying to pay for visas so I can move to the UK. My card was blocked, and it took over an hour on hold to talk to anyone in the 'card services' department, then the call got disconnected after a horrible screeching noise came through the line.

    Now they are telling me I've hit my $5,000/day spending limit. It's MY money, who are they to tell me how much I can/cannot spend in one day?

    I'd save my time and go elsewhere, especially if you do any type of foreign transactions, or even transactions in other states, or for any large purchases, unless you like having a migraine and waiting on hold for hours on end.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.