Overall Rating

MyBankTracker Grade

A+
Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Mobile Deposits
Mobile Banking

Featured Rates

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank Reviews
CIT Bank
Add
Bank News
Community Bank, National Association
Add
Bank News
Amtrust Direct
Add
Compare Banks

Ally Bank Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction

Ally Bank Latest Customer Reviews

McFrugal's Profile Image

Reviewed by McFrugal

Oct 21st 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Very Satisfied Customer Since 2011

When my old bank raised my requirement/fees i decided to look around for better options. I researched several banks and ally was by far the best choice. All my interactions with ally have been positive, good customer service, easy bill pay and money transfers. Now, every month i look at my interest and see i am getting paid in dollars instead of pennies. When asked about banking, i always recommend Ally.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jabauman's Profile Image

Reviewed by jabauman

Sep 20th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great Customer Service

Very pleased with Ally Bank. It was super simple to set-up a money market account and an interest-bearing checking account, plus I was pleasantly surprised to find out they supply unlimited checks for free.

Now for the clincher! They offer free "bill pay" and they covered my butt when I made a mistake on my first trial run. I accidentally processed more bills than my account balance and they covered the deficit with no "bounced check" fees or penalties. I got a nice email to let me know about this "one-time courtesy" for new users. Thanks Ally!

Note: For those of you using online banking for the 1st time, be aware that a money transfer to Ally Bank from your physical bank is not instantaneous. It takes about 4-5 days. Big "duh" on my part, but now that I know this, I transfer money a week before I activate my monthly payments.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

bstern's Profile Image

Reviewed by bstern

Aug 6th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

What's not to like?

It's only been a couple of weeks, but I'm already impressed with my no fee, interest earning checking account. I already had a Money Market and a 12 month CD with Ally, but always chose to stick with an traditional bank for my checking account.

I thought I needed the convience of a branch and at first I really did, but as my visits became frequently less, yet my fees continued to increase each month, I knew it was time to make the switch.

Overall the package is pretty solid. From earning an interest (from nothing at all) to an actual modern mobile app to 24/7 customer service, I can't really see what's not to like.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 2

cgator77's Profile Image

Reviewed by cgator77

Jul 18th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Best Banking Experience I've had

My wife and I have a checking and savings account with Ally Bank and we LOVE It!!! Interest Rates are incredible customer service is top notch and unlike other banks such as Bank of America who we left fees are not an issue for things like needing more checks. I highly recommend Ally and their website and phone app is much better than that of Bank of America as well. People in the past I noticed have had negative reviews but it seems like most of their issues were self-inflicted. They never have done us wrong and they seem to being getting better with time even, so take that for what it's worth.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 2

MACUSER100's Profile Image

Reviewed by MACUSER100

Jun 5th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Don't Understand the Complaints

I really can't understand the complaints about Ally Bank; other then when I added my wife to my accounts (it took them awhile) I've had nothing but praise for this bank. Customer Service is excellent - I've never waited longer then maybe a couple minutes and I can get help 24 / 7 (once I called at 3AM New Year's Eve -- yea, a little drunk-- but still got the help and job accomplished).

I'm drawing a higher interest rate with both my Saving Account and Money Market Account then I did with a 19 month CD at US Bank. I had and have a few CDs with Ally and one time needed to cash one in before the maturity date -- only lost the interest; other banks you lose the interest plus penalty. I use any ATM machine and they reimburse the charges, Bill Pay and all the extras - all free. Love this bank!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 0

lazylazyjoe's Profile Image

Reviewed by lazylazyjoe

Apr 12th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Excellent.

Have had ally for over 2 years. Best bank by far. I tell everyone about them. Can't believe they have anything to do with GM.

There's no monthly fee/minimum.& quick setup. But, that's common these days. Interest on your checking. No ATM fee. They even give you back the money the ATM charges you. One month I used $75 of ATM w/d's and got it alll back. Low overdraft fee of $9. Free savings link for overdraft protection. Transfer to other banks online. Free bill pay. Deposit checks,popmoney, account details from your phone.

Customer Service is excellent too.Never waited for than 4 minutes and most of the time there's no wait at all.App shows you wait time before you even call them. You can chat online for talk on the phone to someone 24/7 with almost no wait.

All communication they send you is stored in PDF that you can access.

I recently had to ask for a chargeback to MLB.com. They issued me a provisional credit in 3 days while chargeback is in progress.They sent me a form & prepaid evenvelope to fill out which I lost & reprinted (Luckily, all communication is in your profile). They even called me to make sure I didn't have any trouble filling it out.

The only situation you shouldn't consider Ally is if you make all your deposits in cash (no cash deposits), need integrated loans, or just really like going to a bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

gsmiller's Profile Image

Reviewed by gsmiller

Mar 5th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

A bank I actually like

I don't understand all the hate against Ally Bank in previous reviews. I have had a checking account with Ally since 2011, after my local bank screwed me on overdraft fees, and have been very satisfied since. Signing up is painless, much less than what I have experienced at other online-only banks, and their website is very easy to use. In 2012 all of my debit card transactions were suddenly being declined and upon calling Ally it turned out my card number had been stolen so they froze my debit card. I wish they had notified me, but getting a new card was easy and I was not responsible for the fraudulent charge. I have only incurred one overdraft fee of $9 since banking with Ally and it was due to my own negligence. If you're tired of old-fashioned banking and their fees I highly recommend Ally Bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 0

Reuben518's Profile Image

Reviewed by Reuben518

Dec 22nd 2013

5 out of 5 marks

Mobile Bank is superb!

I have banked with so many banks both online and via mobile. I've practically tried them all! Ally's mobile banking is not only easy, all the features are awesome! Their mobile banking features and the way it was put together beats Citibank, Chase, TD Bank, HSBC, Bank of America and so many others. Great Job, Ally!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

CRJay's Profile Image

Reviewed by CRJay

Dec 14th 2013

5 out of 5 marks

Excellent at every level

I have been an Ally customer for the past 5 years. I have both savings and CD accounts. I have never had one things go wrong and with accounts at Wells Fargo and Citibank I do have comparisons! The Ally website is the best bank site ever done, the customer service people are helpful and knowledgeable. Everything I have tried to do has gone smoothly, including monthly transfers of interest from Ally to Wells. An outstanding experience always.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 1

koxon's Profile Image

Reviewed by koxon

Nov 20th 2013

5 out of 5 marks

Great Bank

Great service. Love the rates. No ATM fees anywhere thanks !

No limit. Just the way it should be.

Thanks Ally, best choice I've made for my financials. Made $150 in interests in one year. I was making $1 with bank of america ! I'm serious.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

JasonLohmeyer's Profile Image

Reviewed by JasonLohmeyer

Sep 2nd 2013

5 out of 5 marks

Awesome experience with Ally

Created the online application for interest checking account in about 5 minutes. I had to call to add my wife - waited on hold for about 90 seconds and was on the phone for 9 minutes and they fixed everything. Very professional and helpful. They are available 24/7!

The rates are 4 times higher then my old bank.

Their bill pay and online interface is very user friendly and easy.

I am so pleased: No fees, no minimum daily balances or opening amounts. Super interest rates and great customer service!

My wife and I are so pleased.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

Tracy's Profile Image

Reviewed by Tracy

Mar 14th 2013

5 out of 5 marks

Awesome!

I have 2 auto loans, 1 cd and savings account totaling 450k the only problem i had was trying to set my account up online because of the fraud alert but other then that its been great! Now i'm waiting for the interest money to roll in!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

DuHatsin's Profile Image

Reviewed by DuHatsin

Mar 7th 2013

5 out of 5 marks

Great rates for CDs, never had a problem.

I've been used them for a year now and they successfully accept my money from my chase account and return it when my CDs are complete (and I ask for it of course).

No idea about the rest of their business, but if you are just looking for no frills CDs with the best rates these guys do nicely.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

WendyPhilly's Profile Image

Reviewed by WendyPhilly

Jan 2nd 2013

5 out of 5 marks

So far so good

I called on a holiday to open my account and was on hold for less than 5 minutes. The representative was helpful, patient and easy to understand. I wanted a joint account and a single owner account. She helped me get both accounts opened in the most efficient manner possible. I did most of the process over the phone and the last part on my PC. When I hooked the new accounts up to accounts at other banks that was easy, too. I have made my first two transfers and just have to wait for them to clear. The interest rates are better than other accounts that I have looked at and there are no fees for normal transactions.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Benefitofthedoubt's Profile Image

Reviewed by Benefitofthedoubt

Dec 19th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Miserable! Ally Bank Receives Funds But Hates To Let Them Go.

I had a direct deposit go into my account at ally, from a depositor that had sent funds there before. I needed those funds and could not wait the week or more normally required to transfer funds to my brick and mortar bank. So the only option left was to pay the $20. 00 they demanded to do a wire transfer. I initiated this transfer in the morning and while repeatedly checking with them throughout the day, providing whatever they asked for in the way of verification, even so far as to have the depositor contact them directly to ask them to release the funds, it still ended up in the fraud department just before the fraud department went home for the day, so much for 24 hour a day service. At best, you can reach a non-empowered employee who will wring their hands an feel really bad for you, but can do nothing to help. Do not believe the ads, that is all they are, ads, there is no real connection between the empty promises and actual experience. I regret the day i ever applied for an account, i should have never left my local bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 1

reb52's Profile Image

Reviewed by reb52

Aug 20th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Great Experience

This is just a great bank. You call customer service you get a real English speaking courteous person on the phone in 30 sec or less that is very nice and happy to help you. There are no fees for any amount in your accounts and you get interest in both checking and savings. Everything is free. Free checks. Free Postpaid deposit slips and envelopes. Free Debit card good at ANY ATM in the country with NO FEEs. If you are charged a fee Ally reimburses you. Free over draft protection from either a Money market accnt or from your savings. Up to 6/ mo. Its just a great experience. I love this bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

jflynn4's Profile Image

Reviewed by jflynn4

Jul 3rd 2012

5 out of 5 marks

No Problems Whatsoever

From day one, i've been happy with this bank. Some of the best rates out there (still low but better than most), set up was easy, needed a new debit card and had it in hand within 3 business days (great service), can make deposits by scanning online, and 100% rebated atm fees. At this point, after using them for about 8 months, would have to rate them a "5" (on a scale of 1 to 5).

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

dany20mh's Profile Image

Reviewed by dany20mh

Jun 30th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Awesome Bank

In a few words:

- Very fast

- High interest rate for user

- NO FEE

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Matvey M's Profile Image

Reviewed by Matvey M

Jun 12th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

No Hold On Support, Flexible Rates, Great Service.

This bank is damn good. The best apy on checking and savings accounts. Very flexible with money transferring between accounts. If your account in another bank (mine was boa) they will not charge you any fees for a money transfer. Once i lost my debit card outside the us in ecuador. They send me a new card in ecuador next day after my call, and i got it in 4 days. Plus atm fees back make this debit card the best choice i've ever done.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

match4060's Profile Image

Reviewed by match4060

Jun 2nd 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Ally is the ONLY bank I'd recommend

Ally is the first bank in over 20 years that has far exceeded my expectations. Their rates are higher. Their customer service is far better than most banks. You can always get a live voice or online chat when you need it. Staff is always friendly. Your problems are resolved. You get reimbursements for ATM fees. Their online services are easy to use. Their overdraft fees are far lower than ANY other bank that I know of. And they have very flexible options for CDs and money markets. The list goes on and on. I would recommend Ally versus any other bank that I have used.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

farris48's Profile Image

Reviewed by farris48

May 23rd 2012

5 out of 5 marks

PoweredByWSI's Profile Image

Reviewed by PoweredByWSI

Jan 31st 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Love The Ease Of Use And Online Convenience

My wife and i have one of the cmg homeownership accelerator loans that was part of gmac ("back in the day") that have enable us to significantly reduce the mortgage balance on our home much faster that with a conventional mortgage. We are thousands of dollars "ahead" of where we would have been under a traditional 30-year (or even 15-year) term loan, yet have not had to cut back on our spending in any way. The ability for us to access funds, transfer money between banks and see our mortgage balance (go down) has been great.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 1

lmbebo's Profile Image

Reviewed by lmbebo

Jan 9th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Great

I've been with Ally for 2-3 years now. The setup process is simple. They are always available when you have a question. Transferring between accounts and non-Ally accounts couldn't be simpler.

Best aspect happened the other day. I tried to add my wife's checking account with BoA to my Ally Account is we could transfer funds. The addition failed and told me to contacted Ally. I was on my way out for work, so I postponed calling. That same afternoon I received a call from Ally asking if I had tried to link up the BoA account and asked if I still wanted to. I said yes, but I was late for a meeting and didn't have time to talk at the moment. She said that she could do it right then and there with a simple yes.

I never got such service at other banks!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

frankiesayrelax's Profile Image

Reviewed by frankiesayrelax

Jan 9th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Really Great. No Problems. Very Informative, Send The Perfect Amount Of Emails (No Junk, No Excess, No Bad Offers)

I haven't been a customer with ally long, but i think they've got a great gig going. Unbeatable savings rates, very helpful customer service. As i mentioned before, they send all the right emails and non of the wrong ones, which is really underlooked, i think. They take care of my money perfectly because they know that's what i want them to do; they don't try to do anything else, and screw up the important part in the process. Well on.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

AllyGreat's Profile Image

Reviewed by AllyGreat

Jan 4th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Exceptional in every way

For those of you complaining about Ally. Go back into your memory banks and think about all the fees and extra costs you were charged with other banks.

From my experience, Ally has been very professional and helpful in every way.

I tell all my friends and family how wonderful this bank is.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

brentj84062's Profile Image

Reviewed by brentj84062

Jan 3rd 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Excellent

Albeit I've been with Ally a couple months, here are my observations:

- Customer Service is fantastic

- They care about security and, when I've had to call due to some mistakes on my part (address wrong, etc.) my problem is resolved quickly, by someone speaking American English, and they're right on top of it.

- Integrates with Mint and other financial services really easily

- It's a snap to create accounts and move your money the way you want to.

The cons:

- No mobile app

- It can take a day or two to get deposits cleared

- It takes about 10 days to get checks and cards

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

blackRICHsassy's Profile Image

Reviewed by blackRICHsassy

Dec 13th 2011

5 out of 5 marks

I'm In Love

I love the bank. Any questions i have, they address immediately. I love that i can chat online or call them whenever i have a problem. I'm just waiting for the mobile app to hit. Other than that, i am in love--as for now! Lol.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

mrmoonshine's Profile Image

Reviewed by mrmoonshine

Nov 13th 2011

5 out of 5 marks

Great

I switched to Ally from Chase, who I found to be awful in just about every way, but especially their charges.

Ally is a joy. Very few charges, and interest rates that actually mean I get money on my balance.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ande1352's Profile Image

Reviewed by ande1352

Nov 2nd 2011

5 out of 5 marks

Ally Bank - good rates, good customer service

I've been with Ally for almost 2 years now after switching to them from another big bank because they had much higher rates. While the rates are still higher than industry average - we all know that rates are so low now on savings accounts that it won't even keep up with inflation. But at least Ally has one of the higher rates out there right now.

In the few times I've contacted support I've had good luck as they answer the phone right away, and they've always been helpful in issues that I had.

The recently also released support for e-check deposits which allows you to scan in and deposit your checks from home without mailing them in. It makes it much more convenient to use the account. I look forward to their announced smartphone check deposits as well - which should be released in 2012 sometime.

In summary, I've loved the account at Ally so far and have no complaints to speak of. Highly recommended.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Liltoytoy1983's Profile Image

Reviewed by Liltoytoy1983

Nov 1st 2011

5 out of 5 marks

Great Customer service

I dont knw about everyone else. I really like having ally bank since my previous banks fees have gone up twice in the last year. Everytime I have chatted or called them I was connected with someone in a matter of minutes. I was never given the run around, and everytime I was done talking to them I was happy with the service. I got ally bank in the middle of September. After I funded my account the only problem I had was that it took a while to receive my bank card. I received my checks and pin, but no card. I called them to see what happend. They said it may have gotten lost in the mail, so they ordered me a new one. Ten days later still no card. I called them again, turns out when the card was re-ordered it did not register in the system. They ordered me another card but express delivered it at no charge to me. This was Friday afternoon, and Tuesday morning I had my card and pin delivered to my door.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Post a review