A+ MyBankTracker Rating

Ally Bank Customer Reviews

(347 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 34
4 Star 22
3 Star 18
2 Star 68
1 Star 205

The Most Helpful Ally Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By bankaman60 Jan 17, 2015

Five stars by any measure

I'm confused about the the three-star rating when most of the reviews give a glowing five-stars - maybe there were a few folks who gave one star and that dragged it down? Anyway, as most people have noted, Ally is clearly the best way to go for online banking; and for those who are put off by the lack of brick-and-mortar locations, try thinking of banking differently. If you own a smartphone and a computer, there is absolutely no reason to "go to the bank"! Everything you might ever need to do can be done online and/or on the phone. Ally's phone reps are terrific - smart and patient, knowledgable about the products, and speak clear English (and possibly Spanish as well - I haven't checked). The no fee ATM feature is for real, and it's so convenient. It's also awfully nice to get nearly 1% interest on your savings account when virtually all the other banks give you next to nothing (like .005% or some nonsense, which is effectively zero). You even earn a bit on your checking account. No minimum balances, great online and mobile banking interfaces, great customer service: a winning formula, to be sure.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Scofam Jul 21, 2015

Warning!!! Do not lease with this company!!! We were stolen from!

I cosigned for my daughter to lease a Jeep. She leased it and let the Jeep dealership know she wanted to purchase it at the end of the lease.
On Father's day someone ran a red light and hit her. She rolled a few times. She is still sore and has some issues but she is alive.
She had about five months left in the lease. The buy-out at the end was $22,000.00.
The insurance company is offering the current value of the Jeep which is well above the buy-out price. Ally is demanding ALL of the money from our insurance company, not just what was owed and the residual.
My insurance company said they have never experienced the problems they are having with Ally, nor have the ever heard of a finance company not giving the payoff amount but demanding all of the insurance money.
I contacted the dealership and spoke with the head of finance. He said in 30 years he's never heard of a company doing this.
Warning...READ THE FIND PRINT! Do not trust Ally...they are in now way your ally.

Never again!

Is this review helpful?

Latest Ally Bank Reviews

  • M
    Reviewed By mikebinsf Apr 29, 2016

    WARNING Ally Auto Leasing...TERRIBLE

    I just finished a 3 year auto lease through Ally. They were the single worst company I have ever had to deal with and I have leased at least 15 vehicles in my life. BEWARE when you turn the vehicle back in they are going to "take you to the cleaners". They will attempt to charge you for normal wear and tear pointing out just ridiculous things as though the car were new. I mean it wholeheartedly get out of the lease as soon as you can! If I knew then what I know now I would have refinanced the lease immediately. If you bock at paying they will tell you they will ruin your credit.

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By mt4463 Apr 27, 2016

    Worst customer service and security protocols

    Ally Bank seemed to be a good idea for a simple checking account. I usually just deposit money from my PT job there, so use it as a savings account and pretty much don't do any other transactions at all. I did not check my online statement every month since pretty much I just deposited money, but in January I decided to check my balance and noticed over 5K gone!!! In one day in November, someone made 25 transactions at the three Sam's clubs in my town (all within one hour), for $250 each. We later found out that they were buying $250 Visa gift cards. I'm not even a Sam's Club member and these happened within one hour...25 different transactions for same amount!!! I was NEVER notified by Ally bank, not a single e-mail or call inquiring about these charges, which to anyone with an ounce of intelligence will clearly seem like a red flag. Once I brought it up with Ally, they never had an explanation to me as to why I wasn't notified and everyone said, "Yes...that should have been a red flag!" I was required to submit pages of paperwork, to dispute the charges, scan and send to them via e-mail. Well, they never received the paperwork via e-mail (no one could ever find the e-mails I sent) and had to re-submit via mail. I even spoke to a division manager since they put a "provisional credit dispute" on my money stating that while I would have access to it, it was pending their investigation and they could take the money back!!! After months of following up with customer representatives, having to tell my story a million times to everyone, since there didn't seem to be an open record of my dispute anywhere, I finally got resolution A WEEK AGO, that they believe the charges were fraudulent. It was 5 months of headache, paperwork and calls to resolve something that they should have caught right away. With my other credit cards, they immediately call me if somethings seems fishy and in the few cases that someone has charged something fraudulent, my money is simply returned and end of story. This has been an extraordinary stressful situation and I have no faith in their banking services, customer service and specially in their security protocols. If you are looking for a bank that will allow for thousands of your dollars to disappear from your account in a clearly fraudulent way, without ever notifying you or raising a red flag...then this is the bank for you! I closed my account and went back to brick and mortar bank with actual people that care about me as a client.

    Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By caryncpa Apr 21, 2016

    Awful Horrible

    Awful bank. Had huge5 yr CD come due. Never notified just rolled it. Happen to notice within the 10 day window. Then tried to get it wired to my Vanguard account. Could not do. Tried setting up bank transfer after 2 hours and four different persons hopefully will be sent to a checking account within 3 business days. That means I lose interest while they keep the interest until I can get the funds settled elsewhere.
    Never deal with this bank.
    Even the supervisor never thought to ask the title of the accounts until I mentioned it to her.
    Awful awful awful!!
    Deal with real banks only!!!!

    Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By cmbogard Apr 19, 2016

    BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE

    Double payment pulled....contacted Ally.....oh they will refund to our account....no longer than 10 days. Money not received. Contacted them again, they were rude, combative and very unhelpful. They told us too bad, they cut and sent us a check and it would be another 10 days. It is funny how they can take the money in a day but can't seem to refund it electronically? I thought they were an internet based company. You would think they would do what they could to help or even be apologetic because the first customer service rep gave us the wrong information. We will never use this bank again!

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Starfish91 Apr 18, 2016

    I Cannot Use Real Money at this Bank; Does Not Work with Clients in Mind

    When I first swtiched from Bank of America (which had railroaded me with overdraft fees) to this bank that had such great reviews and interest rate I was very exicted. After a few years with them, however, the honeymoon period was over. Several of the issues I experienced were:
    -When real people in the real world gave me cash (say room mates); I had no where to put it without incurring a fee. Though you can use almost any ATM and get reimbursed for the charge there is no way to put actual cash into the bank unless you buy a money order or have a check made out (which also costs money).
    -Processing time: This was what drove me over the edge. Most large banks give their customers at least a partial balance of any check they deposit. With Ally youa re not able to get any portion of the check for 2 days to allow for processing. Which means the bank is saving itself by making you completely broke. So if you happen to submit a check Friday morning? You are cash barren until Monday at some point.
    -Weekends: Same deal with weekends; if your pay roll is processed say on a Saturday you aren't getting paid until Monday.
    -Check deposit only with the app: this is perhaps why there is such a delay in processing.You also have to wait some time to make sure the deposit was accepted.
    Though I love this bank in a world where I have the time to wait for its "safety my sake" I would prefer a bank that allows me to use my money when I need it.

    Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By Bballow2016 Apr 15, 2016

    Worst customer experience EVER

    I've both and financed lots of cars. My situation for this transaction was due to a death in the family. I was transferring the account of the family member to my name. It took more than 90days to even get close to finishing the deal. Then I was informed my signature had expired, so they needed me to start the process again. I spent countless hours on the phone with so many folks....all telling me something different. In the end I went to my local bank, spent 20 minutes and the deal was done.

    I would NEVER use these folks for ANY transaction.

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By sriddell Apr 15, 2016

    Very poor customer interaction

    1. Filled out an on-line application for a checking account. The system said it would take 3 to 5 business days to process, and provided me with a reference number. This was the end of my positive experience with Ally.

    2. Never received an email or any other acknowledgment of my application.

    3. After 5 business days, still no communication from Ally.

    4. Tried on-line chat - they weren't able to help - refererred me to the 800 number.

    5. Called the 800 number. As I'm going through the menu, I answered "Yes" to taking a survey at the end of my call.

    6. Finally spoke with a human. He was able to find my application with the original reference number (mildly reassuring), but said it would take another 3 to 5 business days to process my application. He said they get backed up. I let him know it had already been 5 business days - he repeated they get backed up. He couldn't see what might be causing the delay...speculated maybe they needed a copy of my driver's license, or maybe something else.

    7. I let the representative know that I would have been happy to supply additional information any time over the last 5 business days. But now I'm very concerned about the capabilities of this on-line only bank. They don't seem to have good technology backing them up.

    8.He offered to withdraw my application and I agreed. He said if I said if I agreed to take a survey I should stay on the line after he hung up. Well he didn't hang up. I listened to about 45 seconds of him humming and asking his supervisor how to close out my application. I finally said "You know I'm still here?" OH! Well I'll hit release now.

    9. After he released the call, no survey - just disconnected. So no ability to even give feedback.

    In summary, I feel like I dodged a bullet!!!! If they are this hard to work with during the application process, what the heck will I do once they have my money!

    For anyone considering this bank, be aware they don't really have their act together.

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Sherikae Apr 12, 2016

    I'm ticked off

    Never had a problem with Ally until I submitted a name change. When they received it and processed it, they deactivated my banking card, without telling me, just that awful feeling when you go to pay for something and you get the sympathetic "your cards been declined, I'm sorry".

    I call Ally and that is their policy. I will receive a new card in 7-10 business days, but in the interim, no access to MY money. Other banks ship out new cards and keep the existing one active until the new one is activated, what is their problem?

    Like I said, I liked Ally until now. This situation is frustrating and embarrassing. Account will be closed as soon as I can get access to my money again and change my direct deposit and automatic pay e-bills.

    Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By addra Apr 8, 2016

    I had better online banking in 2004

    Pros: the saving rates Cons: Everything else. The savings rates come at the cost of incompetent customer service, poor outdated processes, and countless other little hassles. First off, to actually get everything up and running takes obnoxious back and forth via physical paperwork and mail--not even FAX is possible. I learned fax wasn't possible after speaking to one rep who told me it was and who actually gave me a fax number. But, after not getting confirmation from the bank, when I called back I found out from a second customer service rep (who read the transcript from my previous call) that the initial rep was incorrect, thus adding another 15 days to the process--time for me to reprint and mail the doc and for the 7-10 days for them to process it. Overall it took a full month for me to actually get my debit card from the bank. Of course, that was just to get simple checking and savings accounts up and running. To add my husband as a joint account holder took about 28 more days, 3 more pieces of paperwork (separate ones for each account) mailed back and forth and two phone calls once we hadn't heard back from Allybank. If only that were it, I experienced a fraud alert while on vacation in Miami, to be exact about five transactions into my trip to Miami and at a restaurant for a $50 charge. I'm not necessarily upset about the fraud alert but am annoyed that it took Allybank's automated system 4 hours after declining my card to contact me regarding the alert. And, after I confirmed the charges the system didn't even confirm that my card was reactivated, it simply hung up. Once when this same thing occurred with my AMEX, the company texted, called and emailed me within a minute and we cleared it up while I was still standing at the cash register so I could proceed with my purchase and get on with my life. Another annoying niggle, the bank account doesn't count any transactions that you do through it's bill pay as pending on your account, as they explained to me, those are through a separate system and they treat those just like writing a physical check, which means I need to manually keep track of them in a separate place. Let's ignore the fact that I haven't written physical checks in years, but even my old bank accounts kept track of all payments issued against my checking through their bill pay as pending. Why, because it's just helpful customer oriented banking.
    Because I've been banking with online only banks, like ING Direct and Capitol One 360 since 2004 I know that better processes and customer service exist. If you ask me Ally's reputation is only skating off their higher interest rates, which is why I gave them a try. But sometimes these things aren't worth the crappy banking experience that comes with them. I recommend anyone considering it avoid this bank like the plague there are too many better ones out there. I will be quickly moving back to my previous bank.

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By mattya Apr 8, 2016

    Ally Bank is the worst

    Just read these complaints on the Consumer Affairs web site. My case rests!!!!!!!
    http://www.consumeraffairs.com/finance/ally_bank.html?review=915471#review-915471

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.