A+ MyBankTracker Rating

Ally Bank Customer Reviews

(352 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 34
4 Star 22
3 Star 18
2 Star 68
1 Star 210

The Most Helpful Ally Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By bankaman60 Jan 17, 2015

Five stars by any measure

I'm confused about the the three-star rating when most of the reviews give a glowing five-stars - maybe there were a few folks who gave one star and that dragged it down? Anyway, as most people have noted, Ally is clearly the best way to go for online banking; and for those who are put off by the lack of brick-and-mortar locations, try thinking of banking differently. If you own a smartphone and a computer, there is absolutely no reason to "go to the bank"! Everything you might ever need to do can be done online and/or on the phone. Ally's phone reps are terrific - smart and patient, knowledgable about the products, and speak clear English (and possibly Spanish as well - I haven't checked). The no fee ATM feature is for real, and it's so convenient. It's also awfully nice to get nearly 1% interest on your savings account when virtually all the other banks give you next to nothing (like .005% or some nonsense, which is effectively zero). You even earn a bit on your checking account. No minimum balances, great online and mobile banking interfaces, great customer service: a winning formula, to be sure.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Scofam Jul 21, 2015

Warning!!! Do not lease with this company!!! We were stolen from!

I cosigned for my daughter to lease a Jeep. She leased it and let the Jeep dealership know she wanted to purchase it at the end of the lease.
On Father's day someone ran a red light and hit her. She rolled a few times. She is still sore and has some issues but she is alive.
She had about five months left in the lease. The buy-out at the end was $22,000.00.
The insurance company is offering the current value of the Jeep which is well above the buy-out price. Ally is demanding ALL of the money from our insurance company, not just what was owed and the residual.
My insurance company said they have never experienced the problems they are having with Ally, nor have the ever heard of a finance company not giving the payoff amount but demanding all of the insurance money.
I contacted the dealership and spoke with the head of finance. He said in 30 years he's never heard of a company doing this.
Warning...READ THE FIND PRINT! Do not trust Ally...they are in now way your ally.

Never again!

Is this review helpful?

Latest Ally Bank Reviews

  • M
    Reviewed By michael_476 May 13, 2016

    Moved money without my permission.

    I was the first person to tote how amazing Ally Bank is until they started moving money from my savings to my checking without my permission and when I confronted them on this, they said they "sometimes make a decision on whether or not to send money". Um, I don't know about you, but I don't like my bank playing financial advisor with my accounts without my permission. Steer clear.

    Is this review helpful?
  • 1
    Reviewed By 1trucker May 9, 2016

    the worst bank to try to open an account with

    trying foe weeks now to open an ira savings account 1st they wanted my d/l then they wanted my utility bill, then they wanted my s/s card. and all they do is say I'm sorry, sorry, sorry.

    Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By amollenh May 5, 2016

    The WORST bank. Stay far away!

    Have 2 savings and 1 checking. Something went wrong when trying to activate my card. They locked me out of ALL of my accounts that I had thousands of dollars in for 4 days. Absolutely stay away from this financial institution. Just because they have competitive interest rates, they aren't worth it.

    Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By rayhock May 4, 2016

    Blocked from account immediately after verifying bank account.

    Signed up to buy a 18 month CD. Right after I verified my checking account I was using to fund it. I was blocked from on-line access. So I called the 800 number and asked what was going on. Was put on hold for 5 minutes and then told I had to provide proof of residence and id and e-mail it to their fraud dept. So I immediately e-mailed them all they asked for. It has been over a day and still have not heard back from them, but in that time they withdrew the money from my bank account. Seems fishy they block me from my account then fund it with my money. I think I should be the one worried about fraud.

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By mikebinsf Apr 29, 2016

    WARNING Ally Auto Leasing...TERRIBLE

    I just finished a 3 year auto lease through Ally. They were the single worst company I have ever had to deal with and I have leased at least 15 vehicles in my life. BEWARE when you turn the vehicle back in they are going to "take you to the cleaners". They will attempt to charge you for normal wear and tear pointing out just ridiculous things as though the car were new. I mean it wholeheartedly get out of the lease as soon as you can! If I knew then what I know now I would have refinanced the lease immediately. If you bock at paying they will tell you they will ruin your credit.

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By mt4463 Apr 27, 2016

    Worst customer service and security protocols

    Ally Bank seemed to be a good idea for a simple checking account. I usually just deposit money from my PT job there, so use it as a savings account and pretty much don't do any other transactions at all. I did not check my online statement every month since pretty much I just deposited money, but in January I decided to check my balance and noticed over 5K gone!!! In one day in November, someone made 25 transactions at the three Sam's clubs in my town (all within one hour), for $250 each. We later found out that they were buying $250 Visa gift cards. I'm not even a Sam's Club member and these happened within one hour...25 different transactions for same amount!!! I was NEVER notified by Ally bank, not a single e-mail or call inquiring about these charges, which to anyone with an ounce of intelligence will clearly seem like a red flag. Once I brought it up with Ally, they never had an explanation to me as to why I wasn't notified and everyone said, "Yes...that should have been a red flag!" I was required to submit pages of paperwork, to dispute the charges, scan and send to them via e-mail. Well, they never received the paperwork via e-mail (no one could ever find the e-mails I sent) and had to re-submit via mail. I even spoke to a division manager since they put a "provisional credit dispute" on my money stating that while I would have access to it, it was pending their investigation and they could take the money back!!! After months of following up with customer representatives, having to tell my story a million times to everyone, since there didn't seem to be an open record of my dispute anywhere, I finally got resolution A WEEK AGO, that they believe the charges were fraudulent. It was 5 months of headache, paperwork and calls to resolve something that they should have caught right away. With my other credit cards, they immediately call me if somethings seems fishy and in the few cases that someone has charged something fraudulent, my money is simply returned and end of story. This has been an extraordinary stressful situation and I have no faith in their banking services, customer service and specially in their security protocols. If you are looking for a bank that will allow for thousands of your dollars to disappear from your account in a clearly fraudulent way, without ever notifying you or raising a red flag...then this is the bank for you! I closed my account and went back to brick and mortar bank with actual people that care about me as a client.

    Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By kimcandrug Apr 25, 2016

    Lease Final Account Statement

    I received my final account statement on my leased Buick Enclave 2012. They have nickel and dimed me on everything to the tune of $1765. I was told you were allowed a credit of $500 for normal wear and tear. This was a 3 year lease and they want it returned in perfect condition. The representative on the phone told me you were allowed a 3 days grace period and for turning it in a day late I was charged $150. Also charged sales tax on all the repairs. Do not ever use Ally Bank.

    Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By caryncpa Apr 21, 2016

    Awful Horrible

    Awful bank. Had huge5 yr CD come due. Never notified just rolled it. Happen to notice within the 10 day window. Then tried to get it wired to my Vanguard account. Could not do. Tried setting up bank transfer after 2 hours and four different persons hopefully will be sent to a checking account within 3 business days. That means I lose interest while they keep the interest until I can get the funds settled elsewhere.
    Never deal with this bank.
    Even the supervisor never thought to ask the title of the accounts until I mentioned it to her.
    Awful awful awful!!
    Deal with real banks only!!!!

    Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By cmbogard Apr 19, 2016

    BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE

    Double payment pulled....contacted Ally.....oh they will refund to our account....no longer than 10 days. Money not received. Contacted them again, they were rude, combative and very unhelpful. They told us too bad, they cut and sent us a check and it would be another 10 days. It is funny how they can take the money in a day but can't seem to refund it electronically? I thought they were an internet based company. You would think they would do what they could to help or even be apologetic because the first customer service rep gave us the wrong information. We will never use this bank again!

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Starfish91 Apr 18, 2016

    I Cannot Use Real Money at this Bank; Does Not Work with Clients in Mind

    When I first swtiched from Bank of America (which had railroaded me with overdraft fees) to this bank that had such great reviews and interest rate I was very exicted. After a few years with them, however, the honeymoon period was over. Several of the issues I experienced were:
    -When real people in the real world gave me cash (say room mates); I had no where to put it without incurring a fee. Though you can use almost any ATM and get reimbursed for the charge there is no way to put actual cash into the bank unless you buy a money order or have a check made out (which also costs money).
    -Processing time: This was what drove me over the edge. Most large banks give their customers at least a partial balance of any check they deposit. With Ally youa re not able to get any portion of the check for 2 days to allow for processing. Which means the bank is saving itself by making you completely broke. So if you happen to submit a check Friday morning? You are cash barren until Monday at some point.
    -Weekends: Same deal with weekends; if your pay roll is processed say on a Saturday you aren't getting paid until Monday.
    -Check deposit only with the app: this is perhaps why there is such a delay in processing.You also have to wait some time to make sure the deposit was accepted.
    Though I love this bank in a world where I have the time to wait for its "safety my sake" I would prefer a bank that allows me to use my money when I need it.

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.