B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Wells Fargo Customer Reviews

(849 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 48
4 Star 17
3 Star 17
2 Star 67
1 Star 700

The Most Helpful Wells Fargo Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Ben Dec 17, 2012

Terrible Customer Service-Wells Fargo

I went into Wells Fargo in Brooklyn Center, MN to get a replacement Check Card. The woman behind the counter was all too interested in selling me products rather than addressing my reason for visiting, which is exactly why I avoid going into Wells Fargo at all costs. She gave me a temporary card and said my new card would come in 5-7 days. The temporary card was a joke and would decline randomly, which resulted in me having to call Wells Fargo numerous times where someone seemingly flipped a switch and said "ok, it should work in 5 min".

Wells Fargo also called me on a daily basis from "Fraud Protection" and wanted to go over all of my purchases. After 2 weeks had passed I called to check on the status and was told "it was sent and to wait a few more days". A month had passed and I called to see where my card was and the woman told me that no replacement card had ever been issued. Needless to say, I was upset and wondered how so many people couldn't figure this out. All I wanted to do was get a Check Card.

Now it's the middle of December and I spent the better part the morning purchasing Christmas gifts online. Once I got home from work I see email after email saying my card was declined and my orders were cancelled. All of my Christmas gifts!! Cancelled!! So I called Wells Fargo to see what the heck is going on and am told that my temporary card was cancelled and I would have to stop into a branch to get a new card. At this point I'm pretty upset but keeping it cool because by now I understand how Wells Fargo Customer Service works.

The woman tells me that she hopes my card comes in the mail in time to reorder my Christmas presents in time for the Holidays....Just before she tries to sell me BillPay....
I will be taking my money elsewhere.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Marta Lugosi Jul 20, 2015

Service fee

This morning as I checked my balance at Wells Fargo I noticed they posted a service fee of $13 on my checking account. According to the contract (everything is a contract when you sign up for something) I was told there is no service fee as long I don't request hard copies of my statements. I've been a customer from 1995 at First Union, Wachovia and now Wells Fargo and I am treated like this. They sent no notes, or mail or e-mail to announce this change. After a long discussion with a supervisor she gave me a partial reimbursement of $3.25 and pocketed $9.75, which in my opinion is unjustified. This supervisor also told me, the change was communicated in the monthly statement and I could have avoiding it by switching over to a different type of checking account 3 months ago. How should I have known this??? I have decided to close my account and open a checking account at a different bank. STAY AWAY from Wells Fargo, they are stilling our money.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Wells Fargo Reviews

  • P
    Reviewed By pratima Aug 29, 2016

    The bank gave fake $100 bill

    I took some cash from the wells fargo tailor and he did the machine count before handing the money to me. I went to deposit in my other bank account in less than 5 minutes time interval and the ATM in the other bank found out it was a fake $100 bill. I went back to the wells fargo bank and told the problem, they can not help since I walked out of the bank already with the money. I am never going to trust their money counting machine again. I lost $100 for nothing.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Skieb123 Aug 28, 2016

    Terrible Practices

    Worst bank EVER! Have plenty of money in my account, went to purchase furniture to replace because we lost everything in a flood. The "bank" declined my charges because it was over 2,000.00, left me standing and embarrassed. Spoke with the "I don't have authority to do anything" customer service clown, gave her all of my identifiers, last transactions to verify my identity to see if they will give me a limit increase, she said I didn't "qualify". Really? It's MY money, NOT credit!. When I received an insurance claim check from this so called bank, I took it to deposit it into WELLS FARGO, a check from WELLS FARGO and they said they have to hold the check to make sure it CLEARS! Their insurance claim process is TERRIBLE and you get a different story from different people about the same topic! I have a credit card through them and have had AUTO PAY for EVER, the auto pay fell off (don't know why) I asked them to waive the late fee (never late with them before on cards or mortgage) you know what they said? Yep, "I don't qualify for a fee waiver". I asked If they would set up my auto pay AGAIN, they said, "since the auto pay is NOT paying out of a Wells Fargo Bank, they cannot" them trying to make you have them as their sole bank! When you want to transfer money on line to another bank they want to know why, like it is their money! I am making formal complaint, with documentation to the attorney generals office and I cannot wait until Monday comes fast enough as I am pulling ALL of my money out of this so-called bank and refinancing my home loan with a REAL bank that I have been with for years! Terrible bank, terrible practices, terrible customer service, terrible claim process.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By newriverguitars Aug 23, 2016

    Wells Fargo has horrible customer service

    Wells Fargo is absolutely the "WORST" people I have ever done business with.
    I have a credit score of 803 and I am just trying to refinance a loan I already have with them at a lower interest rate and this has dragged on for 2 months. They never return my calls and it seems one hand doesnt know what the other hand is doing. Tomorrow I am going to my credit union where I should have gone in the first place. Then I am canceling all of my accounts with Wells Fargo.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By chubbiechaser Aug 23, 2016

    You could not pay me to use this bank ever again.....HORRIBLE!

    I got an auto loan through wells fargo and it was by far the worst, most stressful, most infuriating experience i have ever had with any bank. I paid them a settlement for my totalled car of 14K and they would not even work with me on the next payments for a car i dont even have anymore. they told me that my thousands of dollars were great but would not be applied as a monthly payment.... not only that but when i went to pay them off in full (so i would not hurt someone there!!) they couldnt even give me a piece of paper stating it was paid off and i had a $0 balance!! apparently there is a dept for printing, a different one for faxing, another one who can look at checks, another one for this and for that. I COULD NEVER GET ANY HELP FROM ANYONE IN ANY BRANCH!! i was always told "thats not my department." ....they have alot of "sit on your a** and do nothing" departments obviously because that is the only thing they did!!!! They were ALWAYS rude and NEVER helpful!!! I would rather drink battery acid then ever go through this "bank" again! all they are is money hungry and the customer service is a JOKE!!! no one there knows what they are doing! My dog could do a much better job then most of their employees. Seems to me the employees take a class to learn how to run off customers because from every other review i have seen, they are doing a damn good job at it!!! Wells fargo is a joke at the very least. NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By nbrodeur Aug 22, 2016

    Stay away from this bank. They don't care about the small person. Customer service below a 1

    UPDATE: Checked with Chase and the check went through and the money was sent to Wells Fargo. I called the dial a banker and they said that they still have to have the 9 day hold on the account. I asked her the reasoning of why they would have to hold a check were they have received the money from the check issuing bank. She said that is just the way it is. I asked if it matters that I have been a customer for 27 years, since 1989, and she said NO it doesn't matter. I'm switching and never looking back at this HORRIBLE BANK...WELLS FARGO!!!!!

    I have been banking with them since 1989 and I am switching. I just deposited a payroll check and they are putting a hold on it for 9 days! The check is from a big company and they bank with another large institution, Chase. Chase said the check would process through the next business day and Wells Fargo would get the money. I explained this to one of those dial a bankers and she said that it didn't matter that would still hold the check for 9 days. I asked them why they were holding money hostage and all she did was quote a Federal Reserve regulation. I tried to tell her she was telling me the regulation incorrectly, because I had that regulation in front of me. All she did was continue to restate the regulation. I am not sure where they get their dial a bankers from. I will be switching as soon as I get my money and I will be going with a Credit Union or smaller local bank. The big banks just don't care about the smaller guys. The problem with that is the smaller guys is sometimes they become the bigger ones and people don't forget how they are treated. STAY AWAY UNLESS YOU WANT TO BE TREATED LIKE SCUM!!!!! If I could give them a negative number I would.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • W
    Reviewed By WeAreDragons Aug 12, 2016

    Worst Bank In History Of Man Kind

    Let us begin our journey of the worst bank in history of man kind... Wells Fargo. First I will point out they have the worst customer service! They are a secretive company; they charge hidden fees. They will find ways to nickel-and-dime you for the hidden fees they don't tell you. They secretly give teenagers credit cards; by putting it in the name of one of the legal guardians. If this was not enough lets talk about how slow the company is. They take a day for funds to be transfer over form Wells Fargo to Wells Fargo. They make it look like it is fast if you are not aware; look at your bank statement closely and you see, a pending notice under pending transactions. It means the funds are not one hundred percent there or transferred; hey take two to three days with other banks. Talk about slow! Oh it gets better they claim they have fast replies, but it turns out they don't. When your demanding something right now or in ten to twenty minutes they get back to you hours later. Or they get back to you the next day. They are even slow over the telephone; I made a call with them at 7:00 P.M. Pacific Time. They had a wait time of four minutes; you think it is not much but your sadly mistaken! I had to wait an additional sixteen minutes just to close an savings account. This was August 11th, 2016; the following day I called Wells Fargo same thing but instead of four minutes it was three. I waited five minutes total before someone finally contacted me. The whole issue was this; " We are sorry we unusually got a unexpected amount of callers." Yeah right; it can only be two things; Ether they are slow playing or customers are complaining about the garbage they put us threw. Now lets continue; Wells Fargo is very pushy when it comes to banking. Wells Fargo push you into credit cards, they push you to stay with the company. Next Wells Fargo have low payment options to open an account; however its a high up keep to avoid fees. You have to ether; make twenty-five purchases every month on your debit card, have two qualifying payments of $500, have at lest $1500 in your account, or have a linked collage campus debit card. This is just for basic everyday checking. For savings you only get interest up to $25,000. Then you are done. Other banks it would be one droller of from a billion. Plus other companies have a better interest rate. If you invest in Wells Fargo; it would be the worst mistake you could possibly make! Be aware of the strings they pull. Find a better bank this one is garbage! If you stay then let your life bleed out in suffering. But it is up to you rather or not you want stay with Wells Fargo! Share this message with many and let us stop Wells Fargo's corruption!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By SamG Aug 11, 2016

    This bank lacks the ability to transact properly. Terrible

    Beyond pitiful. Can't fathom how they can possibly provide such poor service. I've had problems with an account for 4 months; still not resolved. I advise everyone to steer clear of this antiquated excuse for a bank operating in 2016. Local representative has been on the phone with online banking for each of the 4 months and even she is flummoxed. Never will I have any business with them again.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By Bwicl Aug 5, 2016

    Acct closed...nope, due to bank mistake 13 cents will overdraft

    Moving out of state, I went to close my acct. I specifically asked if all transactions had cleared and was informed they were. I closed acct. at home, checked on line to ensure all closed. Nope, balance of 13 cents charge still pending. Bank INSISTS I drive back in to personally pay 13 cents or get full overdraft charge tomorrow. I cannot send check, as they think the 13 cents will post tonight. Nope, even tho their mistake,they won't hold the charge til a check gets there nor will they put in the 13 cents. TERRIBLE SERVICE ....never ever doing business with these people again

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • V
    Reviewed By Vickey861 Aug 4, 2016

    Never can get anything done at this bank

    I always get the run around at this bank. They STINK. The customer service is abominable!! You call for an explanation and all you get is the run around. I just wasted 30 minutes of my life listening to them rationalize why they had to hold a check for 8 days. EIGHT DAYS. In this day and age. Just goes to show you - - they are still in the wagon train era.

    Run, do not walk away from these clowns.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By mariat Aug 4, 2016

    Rude Manager

    Since Wells Fargo took over from Wachovia, customer service has gone down the drain. They never have enough people for their volume. You would think that as management they know they need more people on weekends more so that their banking hours are limited.To top it all they have managers on the floor who are rude and arrogant. I don't like going to the North Brunswick Branch for that reason. But it was the closest to where I live so I grin and bear it so to speak. Until I come across a real ***hole of a manager on the floor. I went there on Saturday July 30 ,2016 between 11:00-12:00 nn. As usual the line was long, only 2 tellers out of the 4 or 5 stations. I was in a hurry to get to work, so when the teller attending to the on the curb customers called out that those intending to make just a deposit can go to her. So I did. One customer was ahead of me so I waited. and waited, and waited for about 20 or more minutes. that if I stayed on the line where I was, I could have been attended to much ahead. When this on the curb teller called customers to go to that station, She would have known she had other customers to attend to, so why mislead customers ? so I complained. There were two managers on the floor just standing there doing nothing .One male manager initially approached me and he was a bit apologetic, but this other taller bigger, arrogant manager, waved him away and told him he will handle" it" that means me. Then He tried to teach me a lesson or two that as a customer I was wrong -saying that I should not have moved from my spot until the teller was free to serve another customer ! Really ??? So what was the reason for waving the customers who will make deposit only over to her station ?? so I asked him, " so it's my fault ?? " and he said YES ! then I said I will never come back to this branch again and he said " It's okay if you don't. He then arrogantly handed me his card, saying that If I have any further complaints here is my card. what use? so I can be more miserable and complain to Wells fargo which I know nothing will happen. I tore his card up and left it there. I wanted to tell him he badly needs a lesson in customer service. But I would rather not waste my breath. But here's a message for you arrogant manager :" No matter what young man, if you got a lesson or two in customer service before you became a manager, and if you know what the word means, you never say in front of the customer that he or she is wrong.You should go on training and learn a lesson or two from your counterparts in the Stelton road branch where the lady managers there in particular, are so friendly and helpful." Good luck Wells Fargo , you are so far lucky you still get the business you are getting from ordinary customers like me. But this is a competitive world , and sooner or later you will realize that customer service still counts.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.