B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Wells Fargo Customer Reviews

(822 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 47
4 Star 16
3 Star 17
2 Star 67
1 Star 675

The Most Helpful Wells Fargo Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Ben Dec 17, 2012

Terrible Customer Service-Wells Fargo

I went into Wells Fargo in Brooklyn Center, MN to get a replacement Check Card. The woman behind the counter was all too interested in selling me products rather than addressing my reason for visiting, which is exactly why I avoid going into Wells Fargo at all costs. She gave me a temporary card and said my new card would come in 5-7 days. The temporary card was a joke and would decline randomly, which resulted in me having to call Wells Fargo numerous times where someone seemingly flipped a switch and said "ok, it should work in 5 min".

Wells Fargo also called me on a daily basis from "Fraud Protection" and wanted to go over all of my purchases. After 2 weeks had passed I called to check on the status and was told "it was sent and to wait a few more days". A month had passed and I called to see where my card was and the woman told me that no replacement card had ever been issued. Needless to say, I was upset and wondered how so many people couldn't figure this out. All I wanted to do was get a Check Card.

Now it's the middle of December and I spent the better part the morning purchasing Christmas gifts online. Once I got home from work I see email after email saying my card was declined and my orders were cancelled. All of my Christmas gifts!! Cancelled!! So I called Wells Fargo to see what the heck is going on and am told that my temporary card was cancelled and I would have to stop into a branch to get a new card. At this point I'm pretty upset but keeping it cool because by now I understand how Wells Fargo Customer Service works.

The woman tells me that she hopes my card comes in the mail in time to reorder my Christmas presents in time for the Holidays....Just before she tries to sell me BillPay....
I will be taking my money elsewhere.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Marta Lugosi Jul 20, 2015

Service fee

This morning as I checked my balance at Wells Fargo I noticed they posted a service fee of $13 on my checking account. According to the contract (everything is a contract when you sign up for something) I was told there is no service fee as long I don't request hard copies of my statements. I've been a customer from 1995 at First Union, Wachovia and now Wells Fargo and I am treated like this. They sent no notes, or mail or e-mail to announce this change. After a long discussion with a supervisor she gave me a partial reimbursement of $3.25 and pocketed $9.75, which in my opinion is unjustified. This supervisor also told me, the change was communicated in the monthly statement and I could have avoiding it by switching over to a different type of checking account 3 months ago. How should I have known this??? I have decided to close my account and open a checking account at a different bank. STAY AWAY from Wells Fargo, they are stilling our money.

Is this review helpful?

Latest Wells Fargo Reviews

  • C
    Reviewed By ConejitaCotton May 4, 2016

    SICK OF GETTING RIPPED OFF

    DISCLAIMER: This is not about a particular branch... this is about Wells Fargo as an institution------ When considering a bank... do not fall for the cushy advertisements or the fact that Wells Fargo is a household name... this is like letting a crook live with you just because he is family.

    With that said, Wells Fargo has nickeled and dimed my struggling family for a good 4 years. Hefty monthly service fees, ludicrous overdraft "protection" fees.. and BEST OF ALL... *note the sarcasm* is the disappearing POSTED transactions which then seem to reappear when it best serves them or when it will surely cause you to overdraft. They charge for their accounts... they may not be upfront about this.... but when you pay about $30 in monthly service fees, pay fees for transfers... and of course over-drafting.... which happens more often than not because of their sneakiness and them REARRANGING your transactions to suit them... basically your largest transaction will be last... no matter if it was actually first... which causes MORE of an overdraft for you. There have been several class action suits (regarding several of these issues) against them... which make noise... but accomplish nothing in the long run. We are closing our account this week... and the only decision that needs to be made now is which bank we are going to use.... I am so sick of the criminal institution that is: WELLS FARGO.

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By JustMe123 May 3, 2016

    Mortgage Account Customer Service

    Worst service I've ever received. These idiots sends you a notice in the mail, and then when you question them on the phone, they tell you something different. The poor customer service I've received within regards to my mortgage, if I had known it was going to be this bad, I never would have financed my home with them. Run, hide.....go to any other company but these unskilled and ignorant people.

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By dkruchoski May 2, 2016

    Horrible

    You all touched on everything that is wrong with Wells Fargo but are people leaving because of it - I sure hope so. I had a horrible situation with them and I am leaving for a different bank. I have to wait for my Direct Deposit to come through to the new bank and then I am closing my account. I hope you all follow suit. Most complain and then stay on with them and constantly complain but don't do what they need to do...LEAVE!

    Dawnmarie

    Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By teriunger May 1, 2016

    Disappointed

    Absolutely horrible. I did not like doing business with Dustin Dang. He refused putting a medallion signature stamp on my letter of instruction to one of my stocks. I showed him all my paperwork that the stock people sent me but he just wouldn't do it. My son has millions of dollars in this bank and is now considering moving to Chase.

    Is this review helpful?
  • W
    Reviewed By Wendejreid Apr 28, 2016

    Wells Fargo Credit Card

    Very disappointed in Wells Fargo!!! I had an secured credit card for 2 years and upgraded to an unsecured card a year ago. I've never missed a payment! Although it did help me to re-establish my credit, and I've recieved 3 other credit cards. I requested an increase after 3 years of no increase, and was denied. My credit score was a 659. I've had no late payments in the last 5 years on any of my accounts. And they wouldn't budge! I am closing my account and never use Wells Fargo again!!!

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By snapshot87 Apr 28, 2016

    Wells Fargo Bank

    This bank is horrible! They flagged my account for fraud and told me it was due to a deposit in the ATM but, I have the 2nd chance checking which only allows deposits inside of a branch so I am trying to figure out how a deposit was done at a ATM! I received my tax return to this account and in my secure inbox it says the deposit is available it was showing pending all day and I check this morning it magically disappeared and nobody knows whats going on but, I have the message still in my secure inbox! Then to top it all off they cut your debit card off for no reason at all you will be shopping or something and the site or person will tell you to contact your financial institution

    Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By charlessim Apr 25, 2016

    Stop getting ripped off. change banks this one is greedy.

    Hey guys maybe you all do not understand or know about the other opportunities you have. there are banks bigger and smaller then wells fargo out there and everyone offers free checking now days wells fargo does not. Also wells fargo say they have over draft protection but what they do is charge you 29.99 for over draft then 29.99 transfer fee to transfer fund from your savings to protect your overdraft. ummm so you transferred my own money from saving which covered the over draft but you charge me for a transfer fee and still charge overdraft? Tell me how that is over draft protection. on top of that the overdraft was created by the bank they take 25 dollars every month and move it to my savings and I don't pay attention to this bank account because I use it for emergencies. There are fees after fees and they are all hidden charges when you get charged the fee and complain they tell you to read their agreement book. Umm thats long and you can not understand it because they don't use plain and simple english. They say things like section iv will charge a minimum fee if and or met at 5% or 50 dollar which ever is greater with restriction that vary and if or at the time of purchase is variabled by apr and so on. This is just an example why cant they just say if you don't use 50 bucks a month you will be charge 5 bucks. Do not go with wells fargo there are absolutely no benefits and a company that will screw you will always screw you. If you follow stocks you will know that the banks will crash soon when this happens wells fargo will look for loopholes to screw you. If they are greedy when they have money what do you think will happen when they go bankrupt. Remember when you get screwed I told you so.

    Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By rventura Apr 20, 2016

    SERVICE FEE $10 TO USE CHECKINGS ACCOUNT, NOT ME!

    I've been a loyal Wells Fargo customer for 5 years and I ended it just now. It started when I switched over from joint bank account to a new on several months ago. I was under the impression that it was the same College Student account, but it turned out it wasn't. So for being unable to meet the conditions for that new account (having at least $1,500 in account, direct deposit of at least $500, and having at least 10 transactions with my debit card), I was charged $10 SERVICE FEE to use the checkings account. Before, when I had the college student account, having automatic transfer of $25 monthly from checkings to savings was enough to keep my account free. I called them to have take the charge back since I have >$2000 in m account after learning the conditions, but they won't or they're saying they can't. If they think that losing a loyal customer is worth it over losing $7.50 over, then they can have that $7.50 and I'm gone. Now, who would pay $10/month for a checkings account? NOT ME! There are too many banks around who offer FREE checkings account just for you to do business with them. My credit score would probably take a dip from closing my accounts with them, but I'm sure it will bounce back. GOOD BYE WELLS FARGO!

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jedwards Apr 15, 2016

    Bad Service

    Several months I ago I hit a deer. The insurance company told us to get quotes which we did and we would have to pay for the repairs, when repairs were completed we were to send them the receipt of completed work. We had the repairs completed and sent the information as they requested. A check was issued to us with the loan company also on the check. Wells Fargo Auto Finance. We were instructed to send the check to Wells Fargo for signature and they would send it back for us to deposit. After sending the information in the mail and several calls we were told this was never received. They did however have the check. I immediately faxed the information as I had to borrow the money for the work to be done and needed to be reimbursed. My husband has called weekly speaking with Joe, who has continually told us he needed different things. We have faxed the estimate, completed work showing amount paid in full and finally a letter saying we were happy with the finished work. It is going on three months and today I received the check in the mail unsigned. My husband spoke with Joe again today who said he never received any information from us I have several fax confirmations showing this information has been repeatedly sent. We have called weekly. I am now very much in debt to loans for work that was done two months ago. I would never do busness with Joe at branch. He lies and has hurt a hard working family!

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By justaguy Apr 14, 2016

    terrible, the advisor is not your friend

    i had my retirement account and funds set up with wells fargo for the past 4 years.
    Since I was starting out with a savings account, I ended up thinking it is safer to pay a professional to help me with it.
    well, they professionally screwed me out of my money like leeches. (and charged my on top of that)
    my adviser ryan love, never replied to my emails unless it was regarding deposits or in a way he could charge me more money, and my suggested fund kept dropping prices, and they didnt advise me to trade it out till i 'left' them.

    Well thats what I did, and I manage it now, myself, with the extremely limited experience I have, and I'm happier! and richer.

    F*****u Wells group.

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.