B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Wells Fargo Customer Reviews

(826 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 48
4 Star 16
3 Star 17
2 Star 67
1 Star 678

The Most Helpful Wells Fargo Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Ben Dec 17, 2012

Terrible Customer Service-Wells Fargo

I went into Wells Fargo in Brooklyn Center, MN to get a replacement Check Card. The woman behind the counter was all too interested in selling me products rather than addressing my reason for visiting, which is exactly why I avoid going into Wells Fargo at all costs. She gave me a temporary card and said my new card would come in 5-7 days. The temporary card was a joke and would decline randomly, which resulted in me having to call Wells Fargo numerous times where someone seemingly flipped a switch and said "ok, it should work in 5 min".

Wells Fargo also called me on a daily basis from "Fraud Protection" and wanted to go over all of my purchases. After 2 weeks had passed I called to check on the status and was told "it was sent and to wait a few more days". A month had passed and I called to see where my card was and the woman told me that no replacement card had ever been issued. Needless to say, I was upset and wondered how so many people couldn't figure this out. All I wanted to do was get a Check Card.

Now it's the middle of December and I spent the better part the morning purchasing Christmas gifts online. Once I got home from work I see email after email saying my card was declined and my orders were cancelled. All of my Christmas gifts!! Cancelled!! So I called Wells Fargo to see what the heck is going on and am told that my temporary card was cancelled and I would have to stop into a branch to get a new card. At this point I'm pretty upset but keeping it cool because by now I understand how Wells Fargo Customer Service works.

The woman tells me that she hopes my card comes in the mail in time to reorder my Christmas presents in time for the Holidays....Just before she tries to sell me BillPay....
I will be taking my money elsewhere.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Marta Lugosi Jul 20, 2015

Service fee

This morning as I checked my balance at Wells Fargo I noticed they posted a service fee of $13 on my checking account. According to the contract (everything is a contract when you sign up for something) I was told there is no service fee as long I don't request hard copies of my statements. I've been a customer from 1995 at First Union, Wachovia and now Wells Fargo and I am treated like this. They sent no notes, or mail or e-mail to announce this change. After a long discussion with a supervisor she gave me a partial reimbursement of $3.25 and pocketed $9.75, which in my opinion is unjustified. This supervisor also told me, the change was communicated in the monthly statement and I could have avoiding it by switching over to a different type of checking account 3 months ago. How should I have known this??? I have decided to close my account and open a checking account at a different bank. STAY AWAY from Wells Fargo, they are stilling our money.

Is this review helpful?

Latest Wells Fargo Reviews

  • M
    Reviewed By mv5000 May 13, 2016

    Horrible customer service

    We are small business and we suffered fraud in our merchant account. Instead of helping us, their customer care people are referring us to different branches and keep charging us fine and more fine instead of resolving case. It seems we robbed by the person who fraud us and now bank is robbing us by not solving the case and charging unnecessary charges. We paid close to $900 fee unnecessarily. Customer care has no interest, its so frustrating. I hope there is someone who can teach them the meaning of their duty "customer service" not "customer frustrating "

    Is this review helpful?
  • I
    Reviewed By Ismaelleon May 11, 2016

    Excellent service performed by Altairis Cambara ( Banker)

    Hi,
    Today I went to my neighbor Wells Fargo Bank trying to fix my daughter's bank account issue. And, we fixed. Thanks to this kind lady all issues were fixed in the online account. But, better than the technical job, is the professional and ethics ways used with us. Excellent costumer service, pretty clear and focus. Good example how a good Banker have to be.
    * I used to work in a Bank Institution for 10 years.

    Is this review helpful?
  • 1
    Reviewed By 1971woody May 10, 2016

    Worst customer service ever

    The Wells Fargo location on main st winona is by far the worst example of corporate banking at its worst. Rude and unhelpful.

    Is this review helpful?
  • I
    Reviewed By iben909 May 5, 2016

    online customer service rep.

    i am sure what date paticularly i think it was around the 1st or 2nd of May ,i called to ask about why monthly fee is being charged on my travel account the rep a girl i talk to don't remember her was so rude i couldn't believe it .Wells Fargo is so big that they don't care about their customers anymore.
    I live in midsize city in the midwest i have no choice but to bank with wells fargo it is the only reasonable bank that i am stuck with i don't like the local banks because they cannot help me because i am world traveller and they have no services for foreign travels.US bank is here in my city but they are worse than Wells Fargo ,I wish Bank of America is here they have treated me the best they have always been polite and treated with dignity.They appreciate my business by way i have one credit card with them their customer service reps are excellent.

    Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By ConejitaCotton May 4, 2016

    SICK OF GETTING RIPPED OFF

    DISCLAIMER: This is not about a particular branch... this is about Wells Fargo as an institution------ When considering a bank... do not fall for the cushy advertisements or the fact that Wells Fargo is a household name... this is like letting a crook live with you just because he is family.

    With that said, Wells Fargo has nickeled and dimed my struggling family for a good 4 years. Hefty monthly service fees, ludicrous overdraft "protection" fees.. and BEST OF ALL... *note the sarcasm* is the disappearing POSTED transactions which then seem to reappear when it best serves them or when it will surely cause you to overdraft. They charge for their accounts... they may not be upfront about this.... but when you pay about $30 in monthly service fees, pay fees for transfers... and of course over-drafting.... which happens more often than not because of their sneakiness and them REARRANGING your transactions to suit them... basically your largest transaction will be last... no matter if it was actually first... which causes MORE of an overdraft for you. There have been several class action suits (regarding several of these issues) against them... which make noise... but accomplish nothing in the long run. We are closing our account this week... and the only decision that needs to be made now is which bank we are going to use.... I am so sick of the criminal institution that is: WELLS FARGO.

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By JustMe123 May 3, 2016

    Mortgage Account Customer Service

    Worst service I've ever received. These idiots sends you a notice in the mail, and then when you question them on the phone, they tell you something different. The poor customer service I've received within regards to my mortgage, if I had known it was going to be this bad, I never would have financed my home with them. Run, hide.....go to any other company but these unskilled and ignorant people.

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By dkruchoski May 2, 2016

    Horrible

    You all touched on everything that is wrong with Wells Fargo but are people leaving because of it - I sure hope so. I had a horrible situation with them and I am leaving for a different bank. I have to wait for my Direct Deposit to come through to the new bank and then I am closing my account. I hope you all follow suit. Most complain and then stay on with them and constantly complain but don't do what they need to do...LEAVE!

    Dawnmarie

    Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By teriunger May 1, 2016

    Disappointed

    Absolutely horrible. I did not like doing business with Dustin Dang. He refused putting a medallion signature stamp on my letter of instruction to one of my stocks. I showed him all my paperwork that the stock people sent me but he just wouldn't do it. My son has millions of dollars in this bank and is now considering moving to Chase.

    Is this review helpful?
  • W
    Reviewed By Wendejreid Apr 28, 2016

    Wells Fargo Credit Card

    Very disappointed in Wells Fargo!!! I had an secured credit card for 2 years and upgraded to an unsecured card a year ago. I've never missed a payment! Although it did help me to re-establish my credit, and I've recieved 3 other credit cards. I requested an increase after 3 years of no increase, and was denied. My credit score was a 659. I've had no late payments in the last 5 years on any of my accounts. And they wouldn't budge! I am closing my account and never use Wells Fargo again!!!

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By snapshot87 Apr 28, 2016

    Wells Fargo Bank

    This bank is horrible! They flagged my account for fraud and told me it was due to a deposit in the ATM but, I have the 2nd chance checking which only allows deposits inside of a branch so I am trying to figure out how a deposit was done at a ATM! I received my tax return to this account and in my secure inbox it says the deposit is available it was showing pending all day and I check this morning it magically disappeared and nobody knows whats going on but, I have the message still in my secure inbox! Then to top it all off they cut your debit card off for no reason at all you will be shopping or something and the site or person will tell you to contact your financial institution

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.