B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Wells Fargo Customer Reviews

(789 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 45
4 Star 16
3 Star 17
2 Star 66
1 Star 645

The Most Helpful Wells Fargo Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Ben Dec 17, 2012

Terrible Customer Service-Wells Fargo

I went into Wells Fargo in Brooklyn Center, MN to get a replacement Check Card. The woman behind the counter was all too interested in selling me products rather than addressing my reason for visiting, which is exactly why I avoid going into Wells Fargo at all costs. She gave me a temporary card and said my new card would come in 5-7 days. The temporary card was a joke and would decline randomly, which resulted in me having to call Wells Fargo numerous times where someone seemingly flipped a switch and said "ok, it should work in 5 min".

Wells Fargo also called me on a daily basis from "Fraud Protection" and wanted to go over all of my purchases. After 2 weeks had passed I called to check on the status and was told "it was sent and to wait a few more days". A month had passed and I called to see where my card was and the woman told me that no replacement card had ever been issued. Needless to say, I was upset and wondered how so many people couldn't figure this out. All I wanted to do was get a Check Card.

Now it's the middle of December and I spent the better part the morning purchasing Christmas gifts online. Once I got home from work I see email after email saying my card was declined and my orders were cancelled. All of my Christmas gifts!! Cancelled!! So I called Wells Fargo to see what the heck is going on and am told that my temporary card was cancelled and I would have to stop into a branch to get a new card. At this point I'm pretty upset but keeping it cool because by now I understand how Wells Fargo Customer Service works.

The woman tells me that she hopes my card comes in the mail in time to reorder my Christmas presents in time for the Holidays....Just before she tries to sell me BillPay....
I will be taking my money elsewhere.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Marta Lugosi Jul 20, 2015

Service fee

This morning as I checked my balance at Wells Fargo I noticed they posted a service fee of $13 on my checking account. According to the contract (everything is a contract when you sign up for something) I was told there is no service fee as long I don't request hard copies of my statements. I've been a customer from 1995 at First Union, Wachovia and now Wells Fargo and I am treated like this. They sent no notes, or mail or e-mail to announce this change. After a long discussion with a supervisor she gave me a partial reimbursement of $3.25 and pocketed $9.75, which in my opinion is unjustified. This supervisor also told me, the change was communicated in the monthly statement and I could have avoiding it by switching over to a different type of checking account 3 months ago. How should I have known this??? I have decided to close my account and open a checking account at a different bank. STAY AWAY from Wells Fargo, they are stilling our money.

Is this review helpful?

Latest Wells Fargo Reviews

  • L
    Reviewed By lewis1 Feb 11, 2016

    Terrible Customer Service plus discriminatory treatment

    Today, at exactly 4:58pm I pulled up at the Wells Fargo branch at Barrett Parkway, in Kennesaw, GA. I knew that I was running a bit late, but when I saw another pull up and get out of their car and ran up to the door, I did the same. A black Wells Fargo representative came up to close the door as the white man reached it. I was literally 3-4 footsteps behind when the representative opened the door for the white man and let him in. As I made a step forward to enter the Wells Fargo representative closed the door. I was so shocked I asked him if he was not going to let me in too. He said, "No, sorry ma'am. The bank is closed." I went back to my car and called customer service to report the discriminatory incident. Of course, it took them a full 7 minutes to get someone the phone. As usual, I received only apologies. All this time, the man who went inside has not come out.
    I believe that I should have been let in just as the white man was let in, and I regard this as a discriminatory incident. Tomorrow, I plan to go to the bank and make my mortgage payment, which was what I was there to do. I will be canceling my accounts with Wells Fargo, since this has not been the first time I believe that I was treated unfairly by Wells Fargo's service.

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By sirworrix Feb 11, 2016

    Staff Slow and inept.

    This branches manager was not only now willing to cash a money order for cash but required it be held overnight for next day deposit. I also needed to reset my PIN on my ATM card and was told I would have to wait 45 minuets. Wells Fargo lost a customer today!

    Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By PBC Feb 9, 2016

    10 Day Hold

    I have been a customer of wells fargo for 20 years. These guys put a 10 day hold on a check that has already cleared the bank. Do not trust this bank. They are thieves.

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By ddsara Feb 5, 2016

    Do not run your Business with Wells Fargo

    For no reason at all they terminated our 15 year relationship. At the time of termination we had 12 accounts and over 100k in cash in the bank. They terminated all business and personal accounts as well as our payroll. They never gave a reason, stating that they were not required to. This took a toll on our business and was a great inconvenience for us. After researching our issue, we found it was common practice to do this to customers. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH WELLS FARGO.

    Is this review helpful?
  • W
    Reviewed By Workingclass Feb 4, 2016

    Wells Fargo on Hamilton ave in Hamilton NJ is a joke!!!

    I made a sizable deposit by check from my attorney I was looked at like I was trying to pass off a bogus check. Than on top of that they put a hold on it for 7 days to make sure it was real. The check already cleared my attorneies account but the bank still won't release my money till the end of the hold they put on it. This is total B.S.!
    I make sizable deposits all the time at another branch never have any problems no matter how I look, scruffy,dirty from work or clean cut and shaven always treated with respect and the most time I ever had to wait for a check to clear was 2 days.n
    The worst part is I called the customer service and there answere was (we have to wait for the federal reserve to clear my check) WTF. Federal reserve has nothing to do with my check! Maybe if I was depositing gold bars I would take that answer. They really need better training. Oh I still haven't gotten any apology from the branch I made the deposit at. I guess they don't need to they are always write.

    Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By rickyrab Feb 3, 2016

    Transfer Chatges

    I called the bank to inquire if there were any associated fees to transfer money from a Wells Fargo account to a Non Wells Fargo account. Without hesitation he assured me there were no fees if I performed this transaction online. He did say it would take 2 -3 days for the transaction to be completed using this method, but No Fees involved.
    Well I did the online transfer and guess what? There is a $3.00 fee charged. If you can't depend on their answer for a simple question such as this, I would definitely never take their financial advice for anything of real value. I called to complain about this lack of knowledge on their representatives part and the lady was not helpful either. Poor business in my mind.

    Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By Lorianne2010 Jan 30, 2016

    Wells Fargo Free checking ( not so free) WF changing rules over and over Don't Trust them

    I have a " FREE CHECKING" account that requires I use the account 10 times a month to avoid service fees.Although I don't use this account very often I make a point to use it just enough to avoid the fee.

    Last month Wells Fargo began delaying my transactions so they could charge me a fee. And when I called them they were rude and unhelpful.

    I am closing my account and would urge anyone looking into a new account with WF to go elsewhere.The free checking isn't free and it isn't worth the stress.

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By dmgonza63 Jan 28, 2016

    WARNING: DO NOT USE Wells Fargo Merchant Services!!!

    If I could post a -10 rating, I would. Here's my story ...

    Was told by the Sales Rep she could beat the rate of our then current processor. Our previous processor was averaging about 2.7% effective rate monthly, that's inclusive of all fees, charges, etc. The Wells Fargo Sales Rep quoted a rate of 2.2% plus a few small extra fees, but didn't mention ANYTHING about the interchange fees. And we sent her statements from our previous processor so she could do a competitive analysis. After we switched to Wells Fargo, the effective rate was 2.84% (first month), 5.15% (second month), and finally 7.99% (third and last month), before we finally cancelled. Took me over a month to reach the Sales Rep's supervisor (she would never call back) and her only way of an apology or explanation was saying the Sales Rep was new and would get more training. I would NEVER do business with Wells Fargo Merchant Services again and I'm looking and switching all my regular business banking as well.

    P.S. Was able to get last Service Rep to reduce termination fee from $500 to $250 when I cancelled.
    P.P.S. Our new Merchant Services Provider offered to pick up the cancellation fee from WFB for switching over.
    P.P.P.S. Forgot to mention, the WFB Sales Rep had promised a $100 rebate on the $199 setup fee. The rebate never showed up and when I called to inquire, was told I didn't qualify. Had to fight tooth-n-nail to finally get the rebate.

    Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By trailrunner Jan 27, 2016

    My favorite branch I have ever had

    I have to pick one Wells Fargo branch to wire the money to Taiwan once a three months. Southland branch is by far my favorite Wells Fargo branch I have ever had since 1990's. Everyone that I have deal with at this branch have been extremely helpful, friendly and courteous. Sanam Saati was my banker this time. She is so sweet, nice and professional. She finished the job very efficient and fast. In order to prevent any careless mistake, she check the information three times with me very carefully in total. Not only is the level of her service exemplary, but her level personal care and attention to me is unparalleled..
    If you need to find a good Wells Fargo branch, you should just come to this one. You will not regret it.

    Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By antibank Jan 23, 2016

    long time customer looking to get out

    Wells Fargo customer for 15 plus years. Investor in rental properties. Always went to Wells first and always told they were not interested but shortly after I went elsewhere they bought the loans back.

    Always charging ridiculous fees and changing accounts around to make more fees appear.
    You always have to keep an eye on them so they don't change things up on you and start hitting you accounts with service fees. Who has time. I spent countless hours in my branch and on the phone getting things straightened out. Wells Fargo could care less about you as a customer they just want to nickle and dime all of their customers to death.
    Went through this crap for years and now I have gone elsewhere with most of my accounts so now because we have no relationship they say, Wells is raising all of my three accounts interest rates. The lack of relationship means I don't have a checking account or savings account so they can scam money from a direct deposit so they are sure to get my money in their bank.
    I am in the firearms industry and Wells Fargo is one of those anti gun banks and all about their political agenda not the customer.

    Soon I will take the rest of my accounts away from them never to return. I have nothing good to say about Wells Fargo.
    I have lot of friends and co-workers that feel the same and have also pulled out of this Bank.

    I could go on and on but I am so tired of them I don't want to talk about it anymore. Stay far away!!!
    Give your business to a credit union instead.

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.