B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Citibank Customer Reviews

(207 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 19
4 Star 4
3 Star 11
2 Star 14
1 Star 159

The Most Helpful Citibank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By delavega Sep 17, 2012

Very Good Service

Everytime i went to the bank, the attention was correct and i did not spend more than 10 minutes. The attention by telephone and email is very good too.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By rmckinney15 Jan 28, 2015

Poor Management

This branch is a joke. I opened an account via phone and I went into the this branch because they wanted more information. At that time I opened up business accounts as well. I wanted to receive some type of voided check so that I can have my merchant deposit go directly into that account and the assistant branch manager told me that their carbon was low on there printer and advised me to go to another bank. I then went to another branch which told me they wouldn't be giving me any type of voided check or anything I would have to go to the bank that I opened up the account at.

This happened on a Saturday and on that Monday they closed out my accounts due to fraud, I spoke with the branch manager in Forest Park Aamad…. (He's the real Joke) and he told me that no one will ever advise you in this bank to go somewhere else to get voided checks, you would have to get it here. Which was a laughing matter because I countered by saying well how do I know that your carbon is low in your printer; he never answered the question but he went in the back and came back and told me that someone will be coming out to my office to verify that I have a legit business I guess because he was calling during the holiday season thinking we were working and wondering why he didn't get an answer.

Keep in mind that he knows my company name he has access to the www, so what a smart person would have did was some research on the company! If he would have did that he would have seen that my business is a 4.5 star rated company and we are doing well! Something that couldn't be fabricated over night. Haven't said that I said ok; a week went by and he sent me off twice saying that someone was going to be there and never arrived! So I went back into the bank and now the story changed to "I just need you articles of incorporation." I said ok sent them to him right away! Now another week later and every last single one of my accounts are closed! And I didn't get a valid reason as why they were. I am g

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Citibank Reviews

  • H
    Reviewed By hugol13 Aug 25, 2016

    bad sevice

    Very bad. I have never been to a bank where they make assumptions and discriminate people just because the way they look.
    This lady was very rude as soon as my brother and I enter the bank, she said if you want to open an account here you should have at least $500 and she ask if we were citizen or residents.. and to make an appointment when we had enough money to open an account.
    and she also said if you don't have money on you don't waste your time. and open the door for us. I would never ever will try to open an account with them . She was very offensive an racist .

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By janetmcnamara Aug 22, 2016

    Husband dies, they close account and "delete" my thousands of accumulated points!!! .

    This is the worst customer service on every level of "service". I called to report my husband died and without informing me they cancelled my card and "deleted" thousands of accumulated points! I have been a customer for over 20 years, never a late payment. I only found out that the card was cancelled after going through the checkout line. Seems to me a little common courtesy and customer service would have gone a long way. After reporting my husband's death the customer service agent should have told me the card and points would be cancelled, but no...she should have noted that I was a long-time customer, ask if I want to apply for a new card, and transfer the points to my new card, but no!! I spent hours on the phone with Citibank and the Thank You Rewards, I was transferred 8 times and received 8 different answers! Finally the last "supervisor" was extremely rude and condescending. I was told NO I couldn't get the points transferred, I gave up after that.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • F
    Reviewed By FUCitibank Aug 22, 2016

    Citibank sucks A$$ - Take your business anywhere else but them...under the mattress would be better!

    Worst company and customer service I have ever experienced. I will never ever use this card again. Called them with the primary card holder present who talked with them as well to make me a fully authorized administrative user; telling them explicitly that I need to be able to do everything and access everything the primary card holder can. We have called them no less than 5 times and currently I am still listed as simply an employee and they say they can not look up the information we need without the primary card holder available. Dumb bimbo in Arizona couldn't even tell me how and why my account balance is higher than what is stated on the statement but she could sure take a payment. Completely inept these idiots are! If you talk to any of their service reps in Arizona you may as well be talking to a rock - at least I could bang my head on the rock to get some relief from these brain dead morons!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By simply2o9me Aug 22, 2016

    worst bank ever!!!!

    Spent an hr on the phone with customer service only to get nothing resolved. They allow you to make a deposit into a newly opened account but fail to tell you it has a block so when you go to use the money you deposit it is not available. Aweful just aweful bank!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By Rastap1991 Aug 21, 2016

    33313

    I work for citi bank.if yall need any assistant contact me.im willing to help yall with any questions yall. Have.9547939606 eddie

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By robinlenogue Jul 22, 2016

    Online AWFULNESS

    Just spent 1h on the phone with EVERYTHING but useful. One of the reps didn't even know what a Citi Prestige Credit Card was. Nearly impossible to get someone on the phone if you don't have a Citibank account, also, which is kinda funny I guess they don't want new customers. I was to go with the Citi Prestige CC, but I might stay with my good Amex Experience and apply to their Platinum Card instead then.....

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • W
    Reviewed By williamwaw Jul 15, 2016

    Consumer BEWARE of Citi

    Very very poor customer service. Was charged $25.73 late fee for a payment due on July 3 and I paid on July 1. Tried to get fee waived but was only put on the phone merry go round with calls to the Philippines who did not understand the English language. Fee is not important but the manner of their extremely poor customer service is a problem. I have been an outstanding customer and always pay the total amount monthly to avoid charges (maybe why they are acting ignorant). Don't really care because I have other accounts with Citi which I will be closing out. Wish I could give zero stars or negative stars! BEWARE of this unethical and shyster business.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • V
    Reviewed By vinayfwc Jul 9, 2016

    Trigger happy fraud department.

    I applied for and was approved for a Citi double cash back card. I've had nothing but problems since I got this card. Problems first started when I tried to add the card to apple pay. I was instructed to call a number to complete the apple pay setup. When I called up Citi to do just that, the agent at the fraud department said that since he couldn't verify my phone number as belonging to me (even though I have had this number for over a year now) in public records and hence was placing my account on hold. Anyways after spending quite some time I was able to verify my home phone number because it was associated with another credit card. It did not matter that everything else checked out since they were so fixated on the phone number. A couple of days later I called up the customer service to notify them of a large purchase I was about to make that day. I was put in touch with the fraud department again and after going through an onerous process of proving my identity to them, they finally said that I could go ahead and make my purchase. Unsurprisingly when I tried to make the purchase the transaction was denied. When I called up Citi customer support I was directed to their fraud department again where I was told that I couldn't be helped because my cell phone number wasn't verified. Apparently my option was to go home and call them from my home number! I put the charge on another card and called Citi back when I got home and demanded to know why my purchase was declined even though I had notified Citi and they told me to go ahead. The agent actually tried to blame me saying that I shouldn't have tried to add the card to apple pay as soon as I got it, and that I shouldn't have tried to make a large purchase on a new card. I told him if that was Citi's policy then they should have told me as much when I called ahead to notify them of the purchase. I asked to talk to a supervisor and got in touch with a lady who acknowledged that this shouldn't have happened and this was Citi's error. However the fact remains that Citi's fraud detection is over zealous and has too many false positives. I have excellent credit, no debt and the only reason I got the card is for the excellent rewards program. Unfortunately I realized after reading several forums that I am not the only one who has had experiences such as these. I wish I had read them before I got the card. Now I'm afraid to even use this card anywhere since I don't know what purchase/action will trigger a fraud alert. At this point I'm debating whether I should keep this card or cancel it and take a small hit on my credit score. I understand the importance of fraud detection but not to the point where the customer experience is so broken that the card is basically useless. I don't have time for Citi to 'learn my purchase pattern' as one agent put it. Stay away from Citi, not worth the hassle. I have cards from Chase, Amex and BofA and never ran into any issues like these. Citi is only interested in reducing their liability in lieu of customer satisfaction. How can you have any fraud if you decline all transactions to begin with? That seems to be their modus operandi. Seriously go with some other bank. I'm sure they will not be perfect either but I doubt if any will be as bad as Citi.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By nancymiranda Jun 27, 2016

    miserable bank that does not care about their customers

    Citibank decided to cancel a checking account i have without giving me notice or me giving authorization. A week after account was closed i had to move money into that account because my other active account with Citibank had fraudulent checks written and ACH debits that were not authorized coming through. At this time all this is happening i am in another country with no access to money except from the citibank account. Citibank refused to open the account they closed leaving me with no access to money and stranded in another country. They continued to allow more fraudulent activity to come through my open account. All they had to do was open the closed account so i could move my money over and they refused to help me. They didn't return my calls, hung up on me when i did call and couldn’t care less i was stranded with no money in another country. HORRIBLE BANK THAT DOES NOT CARE ABOUT ITS CUSTOMERS.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By lovetocamp1954 Jun 25, 2016

    The worst to deal with.

    I remember when Citi was a giant in customer service. Now they are the worst financial company in the world. They are incompetent in everything they do. I just contacted Costco and closed my account with them after trying to get the new card from Citi. I hope they are very happy together without me. I spent over 13k with Costco last year but if this is the best they can do I'm done

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.