Overall Rating

MyBankTracker Grade

B
Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Number of Locations
Mobile Deposits
Mobile Banking

1,009
Branch Locations

Citibank Location Map
We found branches close to you.

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank Rates
CIT Bank
Add
Bank Reviews
Chase
Add
Bank Reviews
Bank of America
Add
Compare Banks

Citibank Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction

Citibank Latest Customer Reviews

jeobamboogmailcom's Profile Image

Reviewed by jeobamboogmailcom

Aug 1st 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Spam or CITI! Who the Hell is Calling YOU?

I'm frustrated that for some reason a payment paid on time is not received by CITI that they use different departments that leave different messages and use different phone numbers that makes the consumer weary or responding to them. I've received a call and a text for the last 4 days thinking and reading online that these numbers are spam.

I shared this concern with the customer service rep today that reviewed my issue and the only thing she could say is we have different departments. (Phone number off my statement, which is different then any others I've seen this week).

If you want to make a difference make sure your customers are given some kind of information that we can use to verify that you are CITI calling and not spam. The first thing these calls do now is ask the consumer for personal information to verify who we are and your call us.

Not Good business!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

aaronandrews's Profile Image

Reviewed by aaronandrews

Jul 31st 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great Bank for Credit Cards.

I don't know why other people are rating this bank so low. I applied for a student card with them. They are friendly and go out of their way to help. I have never had a problem with them. I feel they really do care about your security and relationship with them. I give this Citi a 5 of 5 for customer satisfaction. My only comment about this bank is they need to add more branches across the nation. Preferably in Arkansas and Oklahoma.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

got2fly's Profile Image

Reviewed by got2fly

Jul 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible Bank - stay as far away as possible

I opened an account in Las Vegas.. I was living in Thailand, and needed an account to transfer my income into the USA. Since Citibank has a branch in Bangkok and they offer free international transfers from Thailand to the USA division, I decided to try it. Bad choice. Even though there is no fee for transferring money, they get about 4x as much out of you in the low exchange rate from Thai Baht to USD. I had another local account in Thailand, and was able to transfer my money to another US Bank for far less cost. The "Free Transfers" promise they advertise in Thailand is just a marketing gimmick. It is just a hook to get more of your money. Four times as much!

I use an address in the USA that is a PO box at a shipping business. When I opened the account, I told the assistant Mgr what I intended to do, and that this was a post office box. He said, "No Problem", It is the same address I use for other bank accounts. After I deposited several thousand dollars in the account, the account was suddenly blocked. I couldn't log in online, use the ATM card or transfer money. I called customer service and they said they couldn't figure out what was the problem but promised to call me back. They never did. Later I talked to a supervisor in customer service (which is a Philippine call center) and learned that my account was blocked because my original address was a PO box. No email warning, phone call or letter. Just blocked the account. I emailed my branch Assist Mgr. asking about this problem. He emailed me back saying that he was contacting the main office to try to get my account unblocked. Then no answer. I called/emailed him numerous times when I was in the USA and left messages but got no calls returned. Nothing. My money was in limbo for 6 months until I could get to a branch in Miami and close the account. Upon closing the account, it was the same NV branch mgr who unblocked it so it could be closed. He lied about contacting main office.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

soongsup's Profile Image

Reviewed by soongsup

Jun 23rd 2014

2 out of 5 marks

ATM problems

I often go to this branch to use ATM. But the thing is that I've experienced ATM problems three times. When I tried to make deposit by ATM, it says something the machine has problems. It didn't give a receipt at all, so I felt like my money is gone into the machine. Whenever it happened I had to go back to this branch again, telling the problem. It is so uncomfortable.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Shinnar40's Profile Image

Reviewed by Shinnar40

Jun 16th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Outstanding Customer Service and the Best Bank I've Ever Had

I have been a customer now for 3 years. Whenever I call or walk into a Citibank branch I am greeted like I'm a member of the staff and or the wealthiest customer they have. This is a true greeting for all the customers as I have observed each time I visit.

They have a small town ambiance and not customer is too small or not important to them. I really appreciate Citibank and their customer service attitude. I commend management for having the ability to implement a program that is prevalent throughout your organization.

Thank you Citibank!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

pmmck's Profile Image

Reviewed by pmmck

Jun 9th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

I hate Citibank too.

I have been trying to move our money from a retirement account at Citibank into a trust at Schwab. Citibank is doing everything possible to stall the process, coming up with new documents needed every time we think we have completed the process to their satisfaction.

Three months later they have just demanded yet more proof we are who we say we are! After waiting over two weeks for their letter stating it was done, I called, they asked for more documents. They would have never contacted us, I can only assume they want to keep our money there for as long as they can get away with their ridiculous demands. I received a letter from them telling me they were happy to serve me. The individual included a phone number. Upon calling the number I was told I could not talk to the individual who wrote the letter. "They don't let people in the back talk to customers". Now I am waiting for yet another person (no name given to me) to call me back.

The most ridiculous part of this is our money is in the "Personal Wealth Management" accounts. There is nothing personal about it.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

carmazon's Profile Image

Reviewed by carmazon

May 15th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

If you're willing to lose all authority over your money

I find citibank just very sloppy and callous about how they treat their customers and their customers' money. Their interest rates are pitiful. When I had a fair bit of money in my accounts there, they made me "gold" which I thought was fairly benign-no great benefits but slightly better service.

When I transferred money out to another bank with much higher rates, I suddenly found a $30 charge on my account for having under 50,000 in Citibank. If you online bank, and someone doesn't cash a check they can be sloppy about letting you know that, but keep your money instead of returning it to you. The straw that broke the camel's back for me was that without my knowledge, consultation, or approval they canceled out standing checks to a payee, checks that had been issued within the last month. I never told them to cancel the checks, and it put me in a very embarrassing precarious position. Citibank's explanation was pretty much --"oops."

I became too uncomfortable with a bank that could threaten my financial and personal credibility, so I'm closing my account with them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

tasleem's Profile Image

Reviewed by tasleem

May 11th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Conversion of Suvidha Account into a minimum balance of 1 Lakh account

Citibank is one of the worst bank when it comes to hidden charges and customer service.

My Suvidha salary account was converted to a regular salary account which has to have a minimum balance of 1 lakh or a service charge of 500 + ST would be charged. Now, this is an absolutely unfriendly move both from the customer as well as from the business point of view. Because, there are other equally (if not more) competitive banks offering a salary account with zero balance. From the customer point of view a Rs. 1 lakh lockdown is just way too much.

I was not even intimated of this conversion and because I stopped working I did not pay attention to the service charges. Had I known this fact, I would have closed my account.

Even when a customer calls he/she has to go through a really tedious process and by the time the call is transferred to a citibank personnel our balance will go down by a minimum of Rs.5. Does Citi have a tie up with the telecom operators I wonder!

Anyways, I wish to terminate my relationship with Citibank and never go back to it again. Remember that this bank played a major part in the financial crisis. Not surprising at all considering how they cheat their customers.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

qualitytoys's Profile Image

Reviewed by qualitytoys

May 10th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Citi online banking site not working properly too often

The worst online banking among mojor banks -- at least among the ones I have used -- Bank Of America, American Express and Chase.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

AnneSmith's Profile Image

Reviewed by AnneSmith

May 8th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Citibank/Citicard -- online payment issues

I can't believe my online Citicard payment went through twice. I called after looking at my bank statement online and seeing 2 payments deducted from my account. I called to inquire.

Boy! did I get the run around. I always copy my receipt and keep them on file with a confirmation #. After getting the shuffle from Kansas Office to India to South Dakota and back to India and a refer back to my bank, Citicard finally admitted they made a mistake. There was only one confirmation # on the payment and they, oops, put it through twice. I now have to wait for 3-5 days to receive my $100 payment.

I question the security of online banking. Is someone skimming bank accounts? Sorry is all they could say, and no you can't have it back today even though we take it fast. 2x. You gotta love the big banks. They can't figure out why people don't trust banks and the economy. Yikes! I give them a minus 10.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

cable2600c's Profile Image

Reviewed by cable2600c

Apr 30th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Citibank refuses to give me a balance transfer for two years

I've been a regular customer of theirs for 15 years. Always paid my balance off and always was responsible.

For the past two years they denied me a balance transfer, even though I was a good customer.

Don't do business with them, they have a high APR and refuse to give you a lower one. Then when you request a balance transfer they look into it for 15 seconds over the phone and then tell you no. It is a trick they use to get rid of you for asking.

I just talked to an executive, she was no help at all!

Boycott Citibank, I am going to stop doing business with them!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

balzlisbcglobalnet's Profile Image

Reviewed by balzlisbcglobalnet

Apr 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Citibank Refuses To Stop Sending Preapproved Applications For Credit Card!

Citibank refuses to stop sending pre-approved applications for credit card to my mailbox. I have written to them to stop now they send 2 pre-approved applications per week was one! People should know citibank is one of the main reasons we have identity theft maybe a lawsuit will get them to stop their careless practices!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

madmadmad's Profile Image

Reviewed by madmadmad

Apr 4th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst bank card service in the Universe.

When I paid my bill online, Citibank wanted me to authorize my new card. I would not authorize something I never received. I called the 800 number to complain and the lady cancelled my card. She also raised my interest rate with a new card. They screwed up and want me to pay more. Hopefully we will pay the bill off soon and I promise to never use Citibank again.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

AbrahamParra's Profile Image

Reviewed by AbrahamParra

Apr 1st 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Never had any problem -- as far as in Intruders

Ive been banking with Citibank for a couple of years now and I have not had any major problems.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

GraceViana's Profile Image

Reviewed by GraceViana

Mar 30th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

The most complicated bank I have ever dealt with

I have been a Citibank customer in Brazil since 1994 and in Houston since 2000. My son used to work for Citibank so I have a somewhat long and close relationship with the bank.

But I have to admit my patience is reaching the limit. SInce I live overseas and don't want my cards delivered through international mail for obvious reasons, I have been trying for over a week to find a solution on something as simple as sending a new debit card to my branch (was told "we no longer ship to branches"!) or to get a satisfactory response when asking to ship to another address under my husband�´s name since he is travelling to the US and could pick it up. I have provided all the required info to validate I am who I say I am, I have wasted time on the online chat with no solution, I have called 3 times the Citigold line, and the card has not been delivered.

What is most astonishing is that although I have approved that the card be shipped to my husband under his name (and it is a joint account anyway) he cannot get any information on whether it was shipped or not or even a tracking number unless I am on the phone with him. What if he asks a female friend to call or if he speaks with a falsetto voice claiming to be me? Would then this fantastic security feature identify that it is not me? Or is this just another ridiculous requirement made by employees that are not empowered to work out simple issues?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

LaterGaitor's Profile Image

Reviewed by LaterGaitor

Mar 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Rude, Not Professional, Not Helpful, Horrible Customer Service

We took legal documents for 2 different Family Trusts into the bank showing the death of one Co-Trustee and the Resignation of another Co-Trustee. The legal documents also included the Appointment and Acceptance of 2 new Co-Trustees.

Keep in mind both of these Trusts were established over 20 years ago with Cal Fed Bank before Shiti-Bank took over. Now Shiti-Bank's legal department wants the original Family Trust documents (that they failed to maintain) to see if my mother has the authority to appoint my sister and I with her as Co-Trustees on the accounts that my mother is already a Trustee on and we (my sister & I) are the future beneficiaries of.

If that's not idiotic enough, they also requested the death certificates of my grandmother (over 40 years ago) and my grandfather (over 20 years ago).

Needless to say, ALL the accounts at Shiti-Bank are now being closed.......

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

joejacquemin's Profile Image

Reviewed by joejacquemin

Mar 18th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

loosy services

never seen such bad service from a bank.

there must be a reason employes are quitting the branch in pinecrest., fl

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

InaldoRomandini's Profile Image

Reviewed by InaldoRomandini

Mar 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Excellent Agency

I have been with them since so many years, and they are a very nice people. Specially my wife and me we like the service and support of Mr. Franklin Ramirez who is an excellent professional.

I don't have any claim. For us Citi is one of the best banks in USA because of the people they have.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

SteveHodges's Profile Image

Reviewed by SteveHodges

Mar 15th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Poor Customer Service on home refinance

This was the worst experience with refinancing a home that I have ever experienced. Never again, will I do business with Citibank again. Our agents would not return phone calls or keep us posted on the status of our loan. Do Not use this company.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

tJW's Profile Image

Reviewed by tJW

Mar 13th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Citi slower than snail mail!

My wife and I have our home with Citi, We have been waiting for three, going on four months for a re-evaluation on our mortgage. This is an FHA mortgage and Citibank will not refinance it. They always want to re-evaluate. Never refinance.

We only get a phone call maybe once a month asking for more paper work to be filled out. We have sent a stack of paper work several times all of the same thing only to have to do it all over again and again. They are always missing something. This is one bank that SUCKS!!!!!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Gabby77's Profile Image

Reviewed by Gabby77

Mar 6th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

By far the worst bank ever !!!!

citi and is the worst. I opened my account a week ago Saturday. I received my permanent card. Would not let me activate card. My temp card always declined. So therefore I would have to leave the place of business and go to the ATM. Then another issue aroused when I transfered all but 190$ into my savings. Wasn't able to withdraw any money from savings nor checking account.. So I would have to drop everything just to go to a branch and personally have the cash put in my hands. Supposedly my accounts weren't linked to my account. Then the teller informs me everything is fixed. She then sheds my team card and thanks me for using Citibank. I go to an ATM a few days later just to have cash on hand. Card could not be approved . So I called customer service . the rep. Says my card was not activated she then activates my card and tells me to try the ATM again. Several minutes later while still on the phone with the rep. She informs me that my security # located on the back of my card was not accurate and does not match. She tells me that she would have to issue me another card and I DONT Have access to my money at the moment. I have had nothing but issues since day one with this bank !!! How is this possible ? A disfunctional card is issued to a paying customer. I do not recommend this bank ! Horrible service and too many issues . not enough branches close enough and the Free ones in 7-11 are always down !!!!!!!! The worst bank ever ! I wish I could give you avrating less than one. I'm highly upset and furious. I need my money now !

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Kelly's Profile Image

Reviewed by Kelly

Mar 2nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Citigold customer service will find any reason to slap you with a penalty

They will nail you for the most honest mistake. I've been using their mobile app for over a year, and I've never had issues, until now. Apparently, I inverted my numbers and it easy to see how a person could make a mistake like I did, and they hit me with a $20.00 penalty fee. Do not use the Citi mobile app unless you're certain you won't make a mistake. Isn't the purpose of taking an image of your check for verification purposes, in case the customer put the wrong dollar amount into the data entry box? Meaning, they do not work on an honor system which is understandable, but furthermore, it's to catch mistakes a fix them. Not fix the mistake, and then harshly penalize the customer for making the mistake. When I go to the teller, and in the rare case I come with the wrong amount, they call me and tell me the amount was adjusted. There's no penalty issued.

An easy fix: put a disclaimer that explains in the mobile app, if the amount is entered wrong, you may subjected to a steep return fee. The app doesn't warn of this, so I believe that a first time mistake should have no penalty. Have a little compassion. They see how much I make biweekly, which is a dismal. This return fee hit me hard.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

womanownedbusiness's Profile Image

Reviewed by womanownedbusiness

Feb 11th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible

Can't refinance our loan and then we get hit with a pre-penalty payment when we are forced to go elsewhere. Takes a month to get any response from Citibank about any issue.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

andj2003's Profile Image

Reviewed by andj2003

Feb 6th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Aweful bank!! Should have never switched from PNC! Nightmare!

Citibank certainly is not in business for it's customers. What you get with Citibank is basically 'sorry about your luck' kinda attitude anytime there is a problem. I regret my decision to switch from PNC and am currently working to go back to PNC. No local branch, no local ATM, no way to do banking in person. Sorry Citibank, but your services are horrible!! I wish I could give less than a 1.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ronak's Profile Image

Reviewed by ronak

Jan 31st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Experience .. Request all please dont take credit card from these banks..

Dear All

Request you to not to apply any credit card with this bank...

If you apply a credit card and even though you have credit card please dont take any insurance from these banks.. Because I am the suffrer who have suffered a lot from this.

I would like to share my experience as follows:-

My father who expired in the month of July 2013 was having a Citibank credit card for which he continued a citibank card for almost 7 years and for which he was paying the insurance (Accidental Insurance from Citibank)

This Citibank has debited regularly insurance premium amount from his account . But when he expired there is no help from the citibank even though these people say that there is no nomination... Being waiting for so long my claim is not been passed because of citibank.

So I request you all in case these citibank credit card people ask for any insurance to be done on credit card please dont entertain..

Worst bank in the world..

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

crewserwr's Profile Image

Reviewed by crewserwr

Jan 31st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Rude obnoxious staff at Citibanks retirement plan services.

I have an IRA at Citibank and have been trying to get some information from the folks there. Over the phone they acted like they didn't give a crap. I decided to close my IRA and ever since then I have been getting the run around. Today I called to find what the status was and the fella who took the call acted like I was a piece of crap for closing my account. Not a SIR or thank you in his vocabulary.

There are a lot of financial institutions out there - STAY AWAY FROM CITIBANK!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Deja's Profile Image

Reviewed by Deja

Jan 26th 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Received a PHONY check printed with this bank name & branch

This is an e-mail and evidently a phone scam involving checks for large sums of money for which a person is supposed to use (in my case) Western Union to send the "balance" back to a strange name and money order number. It's a digital version of the old street sting of "I found a huge amount of money and I'll share it with you if you give me a good faith deposit of $400 CASH".

In my case, the company called itself "At Your Service Marketing", a mystery shopper firm.

Citibank, New Castle, DE: what are you doing about this assault on your reputation? I'm going to call you about it tomorrow.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

LAM's Profile Image

Reviewed by LAM

Jan 24th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

CITI Busines Plan: Scam instead of Provide Good Customer Service

In December 2013, CITI charged a $95 Annual Fee to a card I have had for 2 years and never paid a fee. I called immediately to cancel the card because I was not willing to pay an annual fee as none of my cards have fees and my credit score is over 800 so I have many good credit card options available to me. CITI said they could convert the card to a no-fee card and credit the $95 so I could ignore that bill (there were no other charges or carry forwards on that month's bill). I told them okay. In January when I saw that the credit was not processed, I called and was told that it is still being processed and can take up to 60 days. They also reported my non payment on the $95 Annual Fee to TransUnion as a past due and billed a $25 late fee. They would not fix it so I told them I didn't want anything to do with them and to cancel everything . . . I didn't want their new no-fee card. They said okay, but as of now, I will still owe them $33 ($8 for January's Pro-Rated Annual Fee (even though I cancelled in December because their cancel processing time is up to 60 days) PLUS a late fee of $25 (because their credit processing time is up to 60 days). I could also owe another $33 + 15.24% interest for February if their processing department is behind and they still haven't processed it yet (since they can take up to 60 days for processing). I told them that my payment of the $95 that I do not owe has not reached them yet because my processing time is up to 60 days. Apparently, only CITI can establish self appointed 60 day processing time. All they had to do was apologize for the processing delay, credit the charges and correct the reporting on Trans Union and I would still be a customer (annoyed, but still a customer). No, they would not do that. They prefer the power play to scam a customer rather than provide good customer service. Nice business plan . . . no wonder CITI review are the worst of them all.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Suzanness's Profile Image

Reviewed by Suzanness

Jan 20th 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Excellent Branch.

It always hated Citibank customer services. I went into the Spanish river branch and I was such a relieve how helpful and friendly everyone is. The branch manager goes above and beyond to help everyone that comes in.

Thumbs up for this branch!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Suzanness's Profile Image

Reviewed by Suzanness

Jan 20th 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Excellent Branch.

It always hated Citibank customer services. I went into the Spanish river branch and I was such a relieve how helpful and friendly everyone is. The branch manager goes above and beyond to help everyone that comes in.

Thumbs up for this branch!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Post a review