Overall Rating

MyBankTracker Grade

B
Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Number of Locations
Mobile Deposits
Mobile Banking

Featured Rates

1,009
Branch Locations

Citibank Location Map
We found branches close to you.

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank News
CIT Bank
Add
Bank Rates
Chase
Add
Bank News
Bank of America
Add
Compare Banks

Citibank Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction

Citibank Latest Customer Reviews

DeanGregory's Profile Image

Reviewed by DeanGregory

Sep 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Dismal Service

After 2 months of unresponsiveness, misdirection, and lack of follow-through about Citi sending my rollover CD to another company, I have come to the conclusion that Citi deserves a public ass-whacking.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

heggy1's Profile Image

Reviewed by heggy1

Sep 15th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Citi Bank Is Horrible Closing Branches In Texas

I have been a member with Citi Bank for over 20 years and have never had a complaint . But now yes I do because of the closings of so many branches in Texas . It seem that the banks that have stayed open all in cities with populations greater that 200,000 . I had a branch were i live pop . 100,000 plus , closed . another 95 miles away pop 150,000 and 4 branches closed . They moved my account 125 miles away and all the smaller town branches closed, who is going to serve them .

all is ok but when I have a check more than $1,000 I cant deposit online

unless I go to the bank 125 miles away . they say you can deposit in atm no atms around that accept deposits or you can mail the deposit in, what if I need the money (three days by US Mail) then the hold another three day for the checks to clear . boy is the service, who need a bank like this . I am hearing all citi banks are to be closing in

texas . I guess they don't want texas money

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Fall2014's Profile Image

Reviewed by Fall2014

Sep 6th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible Client Service

The manger Jeff at this location forced me to close my account that I only had for 3 days due to me changing my address online and receiving a wire transfer. (Citi bank does not value new clientele.) Jeff tried to deny me access to my funds and gave me a really hard time and produced no reason as to why he was closing the account but that it was at his discretion. The whole situation was just awful he insulted my intelligence by telling me the funds were not available the wire had to clear ,yet the funds showed in the available account balance. I had to go back in forth with him to get him to release my money. Then had the audacity to ask me why it was so important that I received the funds that day. This is the worst experience I ever had with any business. The only other time I wrote a review is when an associate at another establishment went above and beyond to help me. This is my 2nd review I've written to just tell people to choose another bank if you can.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

JeanPierreD's Profile Image

Reviewed by JeanPierreD

Aug 27th 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Inter-Acting With International Customers

My first contact with Citibank at Spectrum Center was a pleasant experience. Living in West Africa, I have often inter-acted with the bank on the phone, and found the staff to be courteous and helpful.

However, calling the bank from abroad and sorting out problems can be quite a nerve-racking experiment: You are put on hold for very long time, and shifted from one official to another. This can prove frustrating, especially considering that from West Africa, for instance, there is no using free call numbers.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

janadurham's Profile Image

Reviewed by janadurham

Aug 24th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Incredible telephone banking hell

I have an account (premier) with citibank in Budapest, Hungary. I went travelling in the countryside by car, and received a text message informing me that my debit/mastercard had been blocked. So, I call and I am told that my card has been found in another part of the country. No, It is impossible because it is in my hand.

No it is not, I am told.

Naturally, I request that they ask me further security questions, including my passport number, but they refuse?

This continued for 3 days and I had to spend 2 nights sleeping in my car with little food and water. I hadn't enough petrol to get to a town where there was a branch and no more telephone credit?

Fortunately, a friend called me and put credit on my phone. 3 insane calls later someone, somehow decided to reactivate my card.

After returning to Budapest, I have made an official complaint and received a reply apologising, and stating that it was due to human error.

AND

"f you have any documentation in connection with claim for damages please send that to" bla bla bla.

Of course I incurred no costs, I was denied access to my money!

But I did have an extremely traumatic experience being homeless and impoverished which they are "sorry" for.

Is this not illegal? If I refused to give you money which you could prove belonged to you, isn't that a temporary theft?

I have an audio copy of all telephone conversations from them.

Any legal advice would be much appreciated.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

luluc's Profile Image

Reviewed by luluc

Aug 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible is the word

This morning I walked into the

branch because my fiancées brother had a problem cashing Amex travelers checks abroad that we had purchased at that branch. We were greeted by a young lady .After telling her the reason for being there the bank manager spoke to us. She never introduced herself. .

She then said that she couldn't do anything because we don't have an account there. ( When we bought the travelers checks they took the fees and we were not required to have an account).

"I don't know what to tell you", she said. I told her she has to make some phone calls to resolve this problem. She said as far as she was concerned, "I can just tell you to take a walk". After much discussion, she made some phone calls.

She was told that we should open an account, deposit the travelers checks .

She called another bank employee to do that because she said "I'm the bank manager and I don't do that job.

A very pleasant employee, Patrick, opened the account for us. He also confided that other bank customers had trouble with travelers checks abroad.

This bank manager was rude, obnoxious, nasty and disgusting.

Citi Bank should have someone from their central office come in as an ordinary customer with a banking problem and see how this woman will respond to their problem.

I have accounts, Iras, investments and mortgages with other banks. In the 40 years that I have dealt with banks, I Never experienced such a terrible interaction. I wouldn't hire this woman to clean the toilets in Walmart!!!! Citi Bank with employees like this you only lose customers and ruin the reputation of the bank!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

HiddenAgenda22's Profile Image

Reviewed by HiddenAgenda22

Aug 14th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Received Phony Check As Well!

Wow, it is unbelievable to see that so many people have encountered the same situation. I was supposed to be starting a working relationship as well, but this time the business name is "dignity health" and i was supposed to western union money to a "vendor" to receive equipment to do work from home data entry. It is really sad to see that people are able to try and pull off scams at the expense of other people that are too gullable to identify the signs. Luckily, i am not effected as i did not allow these people to have any access to my personal accounts. I will be shutting down the erroneous account created specifically to deal with scum like this! If it seems to good to be true..... Wake up people, it is! Follow your spidey senses at all times.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

wrg31968's Profile Image

Reviewed by wrg31968

Aug 7th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worthless Simplicity card, worse customer service

I have had the Simplicity card for a couple of years now, and the rewards points are completely worthless. They can only be used on auction items, or you can buy a $100 gift card for $90-$95 if you have enough points.

I called customer service to see about switching to a cash back card ( I already have several of those and they have been very good) and was told "We don't really switch up cards like that, you can apply for a new card if you want." When I asked if I could transfer the balance from the Simplicity card to the new card (again never a problem with the other two cards I have), I was told "We don't transfer balances between cards."

I will be paying off this card in a couple of months and dropping Citibank as I only do business with companies who treat me as if they value my business

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

FarahS's Profile Image

Reviewed by FarahS

Aug 7th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Bad.

I tried wire transfer to two of my children and both were a complete fail, my son they took from me 35 dollars to send the money and then they weren't able to send it and took 15 extra dollars to return the money, my daughter they are taking too long to tell me if her money is reached or not, it's been almost 10 days. Worst bank experience, and the customer service told me to just wait which was useless. I think they're ignorant about the customer's money. I wasted my money on failed transfers.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jeobamboogmailcom's Profile Image

Reviewed by jeobamboogmailcom

Aug 1st 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Spam or CITI! Who the Hell is Calling YOU?

I'm frustrated that for some reason a payment paid on time is not received by CITI that they use different departments that leave different messages and use different phone numbers that makes the consumer weary or responding to them. I've received a call and a text for the last 4 days thinking and reading online that these numbers are spam.

I shared this concern with the customer service rep today that reviewed my issue and the only thing she could say is we have different departments. (Phone number off my statement, which is different then any others I've seen this week).

If you want to make a difference make sure your customers are given some kind of information that we can use to verify that you are CITI calling and not spam. The first thing these calls do now is ask the consumer for personal information to verify who we are and your call us.

Not Good business!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

aaronandrews's Profile Image

Reviewed by aaronandrews

Jul 31st 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great Bank for Credit Cards.

I don't know why other people are rating this bank so low. I applied for a student card with them. They are friendly and go out of their way to help. I have never had a problem with them. I feel they really do care about your security and relationship with them. I give this Citi a 5 of 5 for customer satisfaction. My only comment about this bank is they need to add more branches across the nation. Preferably in Arkansas and Oklahoma.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

got2fly's Profile Image

Reviewed by got2fly

Jul 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible Bank - stay as far away as possible

I opened an account in Las Vegas.. I was living in Thailand, and needed an account to transfer my income into the USA. Since Citibank has a branch in Bangkok and they offer free international transfers from Thailand to the USA division, I decided to try it. Bad choice. Even though there is no fee for transferring money, they get about 4x as much out of you in the low exchange rate from Thai Baht to USD. I had another local account in Thailand, and was able to transfer my money to another US Bank for far less cost. The "Free Transfers" promise they advertise in Thailand is just a marketing gimmick. It is just a hook to get more of your money. Four times as much!

I use an address in the USA that is a PO box at a shipping business. When I opened the account, I told the assistant Mgr what I intended to do, and that this was a post office box. He said, "No Problem", It is the same address I use for other bank accounts. After I deposited several thousand dollars in the account, the account was suddenly blocked. I couldn't log in online, use the ATM card or transfer money. I called customer service and they said they couldn't figure out what was the problem but promised to call me back. They never did. Later I talked to a supervisor in customer service (which is a Philippine call center) and learned that my account was blocked because my original address was a PO box. No email warning, phone call or letter. Just blocked the account. I emailed my branch Assist Mgr. asking about this problem. He emailed me back saying that he was contacting the main office to try to get my account unblocked. Then no answer. I called/emailed him numerous times when I was in the USA and left messages but got no calls returned. Nothing. My money was in limbo for 6 months until I could get to a branch in Miami and close the account. Upon closing the account, it was the same NV branch mgr who unblocked it so it could be closed. He lied about contacting main office.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

soongsup's Profile Image

Reviewed by soongsup

Jun 23rd 2014

2 out of 5 marks

ATM problems

I often go to this branch to use ATM. But the thing is that I've experienced ATM problems three times. When I tried to make deposit by ATM, it says something the machine has problems. It didn't give a receipt at all, so I felt like my money is gone into the machine. Whenever it happened I had to go back to this branch again, telling the problem. It is so uncomfortable.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Shinnar40's Profile Image

Reviewed by Shinnar40

Jun 16th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Outstanding Customer Service and the Best Bank I've Ever Had

I have been a customer now for 3 years. Whenever I call or walk into a Citibank branch I am greeted like I'm a member of the staff and or the wealthiest customer they have. This is a true greeting for all the customers as I have observed each time I visit.

They have a small town ambiance and not customer is too small or not important to them. I really appreciate Citibank and their customer service attitude. I commend management for having the ability to implement a program that is prevalent throughout your organization.

Thank you Citibank!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

pmmck's Profile Image

Reviewed by pmmck

Jun 9th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

I hate Citibank too.

I have been trying to move our money from a retirement account at Citibank into a trust at Schwab. Citibank is doing everything possible to stall the process, coming up with new documents needed every time we think we have completed the process to their satisfaction.

Three months later they have just demanded yet more proof we are who we say we are! After waiting over two weeks for their letter stating it was done, I called, they asked for more documents. They would have never contacted us, I can only assume they want to keep our money there for as long as they can get away with their ridiculous demands. I received a letter from them telling me they were happy to serve me. The individual included a phone number. Upon calling the number I was told I could not talk to the individual who wrote the letter. "They don't let people in the back talk to customers". Now I am waiting for yet another person (no name given to me) to call me back.

The most ridiculous part of this is our money is in the "Personal Wealth Management" accounts. There is nothing personal about it.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 0

carmazon's Profile Image

Reviewed by carmazon

May 15th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

If you're willing to lose all authority over your money

I find citibank just very sloppy and callous about how they treat their customers and their customers' money. Their interest rates are pitiful. When I had a fair bit of money in my accounts there, they made me "gold" which I thought was fairly benign-no great benefits but slightly better service.

When I transferred money out to another bank with much higher rates, I suddenly found a $30 charge on my account for having under 50,000 in Citibank. If you online bank, and someone doesn't cash a check they can be sloppy about letting you know that, but keep your money instead of returning it to you. The straw that broke the camel's back for me was that without my knowledge, consultation, or approval they canceled out standing checks to a payee, checks that had been issued within the last month. I never told them to cancel the checks, and it put me in a very embarrassing precarious position. Citibank's explanation was pretty much --"oops."

I became too uncomfortable with a bank that could threaten my financial and personal credibility, so I'm closing my account with them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

tasleem's Profile Image

Reviewed by tasleem

May 11th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Conversion of Suvidha Account into a minimum balance of 1 Lakh account

Citibank is one of the worst bank when it comes to hidden charges and customer service.

My Suvidha salary account was converted to a regular salary account which has to have a minimum balance of 1 lakh or a service charge of 500 + ST would be charged. Now, this is an absolutely unfriendly move both from the customer as well as from the business point of view. Because, there are other equally (if not more) competitive banks offering a salary account with zero balance. From the customer point of view a Rs. 1 lakh lockdown is just way too much.

I was not even intimated of this conversion and because I stopped working I did not pay attention to the service charges. Had I known this fact, I would have closed my account.

Even when a customer calls he/she has to go through a really tedious process and by the time the call is transferred to a citibank personnel our balance will go down by a minimum of Rs.5. Does Citi have a tie up with the telecom operators I wonder!

Anyways, I wish to terminate my relationship with Citibank and never go back to it again. Remember that this bank played a major part in the financial crisis. Not surprising at all considering how they cheat their customers.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

qualitytoys's Profile Image

Reviewed by qualitytoys

May 10th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Citi online banking site not working properly too often

The worst online banking among mojor banks -- at least among the ones I have used -- Bank Of America, American Express and Chase.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

AnneSmith's Profile Image

Reviewed by AnneSmith

May 8th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Citibank/Citicard -- online payment issues

I can't believe my online Citicard payment went through twice. I called after looking at my bank statement online and seeing 2 payments deducted from my account. I called to inquire.

Boy! did I get the run around. I always copy my receipt and keep them on file with a confirmation #. After getting the shuffle from Kansas Office to India to South Dakota and back to India and a refer back to my bank, Citicard finally admitted they made a mistake. There was only one confirmation # on the payment and they, oops, put it through twice. I now have to wait for 3-5 days to receive my $100 payment.

I question the security of online banking. Is someone skimming bank accounts? Sorry is all they could say, and no you can't have it back today even though we take it fast. 2x. You gotta love the big banks. They can't figure out why people don't trust banks and the economy. Yikes! I give them a minus 10.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

cable2600c's Profile Image

Reviewed by cable2600c

Apr 30th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Citibank refuses to give me a balance transfer for two years

I've been a regular customer of theirs for 15 years. Always paid my balance off and always was responsible.

For the past two years they denied me a balance transfer, even though I was a good customer.

Don't do business with them, they have a high APR and refuse to give you a lower one. Then when you request a balance transfer they look into it for 15 seconds over the phone and then tell you no. It is a trick they use to get rid of you for asking.

I just talked to an executive, she was no help at all!

Boycott Citibank, I am going to stop doing business with them!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

balzlisbcglobalnet's Profile Image

Reviewed by balzlisbcglobalnet

Apr 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Citibank Refuses To Stop Sending Preapproved Applications For Credit Card!

Citibank refuses to stop sending pre-approved applications for credit card to my mailbox. I have written to them to stop now they send 2 pre-approved applications per week was one! People should know citibank is one of the main reasons we have identity theft maybe a lawsuit will get them to stop their careless practices!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

madmadmad's Profile Image

Reviewed by madmadmad

Apr 4th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst bank card service in the Universe.

When I paid my bill online, Citibank wanted me to authorize my new card. I would not authorize something I never received. I called the 800 number to complain and the lady cancelled my card. She also raised my interest rate with a new card. They screwed up and want me to pay more. Hopefully we will pay the bill off soon and I promise to never use Citibank again.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

AbrahamParra's Profile Image

Reviewed by AbrahamParra

Apr 1st 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Never had any problem -- as far as in Intruders

Ive been banking with Citibank for a couple of years now and I have not had any major problems.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

GraceViana's Profile Image

Reviewed by GraceViana

Mar 30th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

The most complicated bank I have ever dealt with

I have been a Citibank customer in Brazil since 1994 and in Houston since 2000. My son used to work for Citibank so I have a somewhat long and close relationship with the bank.

But I have to admit my patience is reaching the limit. SInce I live overseas and don't want my cards delivered through international mail for obvious reasons, I have been trying for over a week to find a solution on something as simple as sending a new debit card to my branch (was told "we no longer ship to branches"!) or to get a satisfactory response when asking to ship to another address under my husband�´s name since he is travelling to the US and could pick it up. I have provided all the required info to validate I am who I say I am, I have wasted time on the online chat with no solution, I have called 3 times the Citigold line, and the card has not been delivered.

What is most astonishing is that although I have approved that the card be shipped to my husband under his name (and it is a joint account anyway) he cannot get any information on whether it was shipped or not or even a tracking number unless I am on the phone with him. What if he asks a female friend to call or if he speaks with a falsetto voice claiming to be me? Would then this fantastic security feature identify that it is not me? Or is this just another ridiculous requirement made by employees that are not empowered to work out simple issues?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

LaterGaitor's Profile Image

Reviewed by LaterGaitor

Mar 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Rude, Not Professional, Not Helpful, Horrible Customer Service

We took legal documents for 2 different Family Trusts into the bank showing the death of one Co-Trustee and the Resignation of another Co-Trustee. The legal documents also included the Appointment and Acceptance of 2 new Co-Trustees.

Keep in mind both of these Trusts were established over 20 years ago with Cal Fed Bank before Shiti-Bank took over. Now Shiti-Bank's legal department wants the original Family Trust documents (that they failed to maintain) to see if my mother has the authority to appoint my sister and I with her as Co-Trustees on the accounts that my mother is already a Trustee on and we (my sister & I) are the future beneficiaries of.

If that's not idiotic enough, they also requested the death certificates of my grandmother (over 40 years ago) and my grandfather (over 20 years ago).

Needless to say, ALL the accounts at Shiti-Bank are now being closed.......

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 0

joejacquemin's Profile Image

Reviewed by joejacquemin

Mar 18th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

loosy services

never seen such bad service from a bank.

there must be a reason employes are quitting the branch in pinecrest., fl

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

InaldoRomandini's Profile Image

Reviewed by InaldoRomandini

Mar 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Excellent Agency

I have been with them since so many years, and they are a very nice people. Specially my wife and me we like the service and support of Mr. Franklin Ramirez who is an excellent professional.

I don't have any claim. For us Citi is one of the best banks in USA because of the people they have.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

SteveHodges's Profile Image

Reviewed by SteveHodges

Mar 15th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Poor Customer Service on home refinance

This was the worst experience with refinancing a home that I have ever experienced. Never again, will I do business with Citibank again. Our agents would not return phone calls or keep us posted on the status of our loan. Do Not use this company.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

tJW's Profile Image

Reviewed by tJW

Mar 13th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Citi slower than snail mail!

My wife and I have our home with Citi, We have been waiting for three, going on four months for a re-evaluation on our mortgage. This is an FHA mortgage and Citibank will not refinance it. They always want to re-evaluate. Never refinance.

We only get a phone call maybe once a month asking for more paper work to be filled out. We have sent a stack of paper work several times all of the same thing only to have to do it all over again and again. They are always missing something. This is one bank that SUCKS!!!!!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Gabby77's Profile Image

Reviewed by Gabby77

Mar 6th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

By far the worst bank ever !!!!

citi and is the worst. I opened my account a week ago Saturday. I received my permanent card. Would not let me activate card. My temp card always declined. So therefore I would have to leave the place of business and go to the ATM. Then another issue aroused when I transfered all but 190$ into my savings. Wasn't able to withdraw any money from savings nor checking account.. So I would have to drop everything just to go to a branch and personally have the cash put in my hands. Supposedly my accounts weren't linked to my account. Then the teller informs me everything is fixed. She then sheds my team card and thanks me for using Citibank. I go to an ATM a few days later just to have cash on hand. Card could not be approved . So I called customer service . the rep. Says my card was not activated she then activates my card and tells me to try the ATM again. Several minutes later while still on the phone with the rep. She informs me that my security # located on the back of my card was not accurate and does not match. She tells me that she would have to issue me another card and I DONT Have access to my money at the moment. I have had nothing but issues since day one with this bank !!! How is this possible ? A disfunctional card is issued to a paying customer. I do not recommend this bank ! Horrible service and too many issues . not enough branches close enough and the Free ones in 7-11 are always down !!!!!!!! The worst bank ever ! I wish I could give you avrating less than one. I'm highly upset and furious. I need my money now !

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Post a review