B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Citibank Customer Reviews

(194 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 19
4 Star 3
3 Star 11
2 Star 14
1 Star 147

The Most Helpful Citibank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By delavega Sep 17, 2012

Very Good Service

Everytime i went to the bank, the attention was correct and i did not spend more than 10 minutes. The attention by telephone and email is very good too.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By rmckinney15 Jan 28, 2015

Poor Management

This branch is a joke. I opened an account via phone and I went into the this branch because they wanted more information. At that time I opened up business accounts as well. I wanted to receive some type of voided check so that I can have my merchant deposit go directly into that account and the assistant branch manager told me that their carbon was low on there printer and advised me to go to another bank. I then went to another branch which told me they wouldn't be giving me any type of voided check or anything I would have to go to the bank that I opened up the account at.

This happened on a Saturday and on that Monday they closed out my accounts due to fraud, I spoke with the branch manager in Forest Park Aamad…. (He's the real Joke) and he told me that no one will ever advise you in this bank to go somewhere else to get voided checks, you would have to get it here. Which was a laughing matter because I countered by saying well how do I know that your carbon is low in your printer; he never answered the question but he went in the back and came back and told me that someone will be coming out to my office to verify that I have a legit business I guess because he was calling during the holiday season thinking we were working and wondering why he didn't get an answer.

Keep in mind that he knows my company name he has access to the www, so what a smart person would have did was some research on the company! If he would have did that he would have seen that my business is a 4.5 star rated company and we are doing well! Something that couldn't be fabricated over night. Haven't said that I said ok; a week went by and he sent me off twice saying that someone was going to be there and never arrived! So I went back into the bank and now the story changed to "I just need you articles of incorporation." I said ok sent them to him right away! Now another week later and every last single one of my accounts are closed! And I didn't get a valid reason as why they were. I am g

Is this review helpful?

Latest Citibank Reviews

  • C
    Reviewed By cajessica May 25, 2016

    So Unprofessional!

    They were not knowledgeable of their products. The manager was looking up the product as we were sitting there then handed me off to another associate. Then she didn't help at all and kept telling us the minimum for the product was $500 but kept insisting we had to do $1000 minimum. When I pulled up the product I was looking for on my phone she refused to acknowledge that product existed. On top of that the bank manager had the blinds open so personal info could be stolen, I had to request it be closed, and the associate talked very loudly, again disregarding personal security. Horrible.

    Is this review helpful?
  • E
    Reviewed By ebinet May 24, 2016

    Don't believe it when they say you have an Underwriter Reviewed Pre-Approval

    In October 2015 we applied for a mortgage pre-approval with Citibank. We decided to work with Citibank because I’ve been with Citibank for over 20 years since back when they were EAB. We thought they had a great reputation and we could trust them with this large purchase. My fiancée and I were ecstatic when our Agent James Boyer, said we had pre-approval that was underwriter approved.
    And so our search began. After losing a few houses to better offers and one that we went as far as having an engineer report, we were ready to give up. Our broker kept checking in and reminding us to tell Sellers that we had an Underwriter reviewed pre-approval. We finally found a house 8 months later. Our mortgage broker James gave us another pre-approval and again stressed that it was Underwriter reviewed.
    After signing contracts and obtaining all the documents they asked for, we ordered a title search, survey and termite inspection. Then three weeks after signing contracts we receive a call that the mortgage was denied by the Underwriter because of my fiancee’s child support. Really??? He’d been paying child support for 8 years. This was all included in all the documents first submitted back in October. They had all our financials including W2s and paystubs back then. What changed?

    We are embarrassed and ashamed with everyone involved. We are out over $2,000 and Citibank’s only response is that there was an oversight on their part. Our future was in their hands and that was their only response. From the beginning the bank was completely unprofessional. They had two separate inspectors calling my real estate agent to set up an inspection and each kept saying they were the only inspector. She refused to see either one until everything was cleared up because she wasn’t sure if it was a scam. I had to call James and ask him to please clear things up and let us know who the actual inspector should be. Then when I was told we were declined for a mortgage, Citibank’s attorney emailed the Seller’s attorney that they were ready to go to closing. Again confusing everyone.
    I should have listened when everyone warned me how terrible Citibank is. I am closing out all my Citibank accounts and moving over to a bank that is more professional and caring. This has been hands down the worst experience of our lives. Elizabeth and Bobby

    Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By CitiBankSucks May 9, 2016

    Lack of words... what is going on with this company?

    THEY ARE NOT PAYING ME MY $550 BALANCE EVEN AFTER CLOSING MY ACCOUNT WITHOUT MY PERMISSION, OVER ME FORGETTING TO SIGN THE "SIGNATURE CARD"... NO ONE EVEN WARNED ME MY ACCOUNT WOULD BE CLOSED, OR THAT I NEED TO SIGN AND RETURN A SIGNATURE CARD!!!

    Background Story:

    I signed up for the Citigold bank account, with a bonus of 50,000 miles for opening an account.

    After a month of it being open, they closed the account because I didn't return the "signature card" included in the packet they sent me.

    I opened the account in a branch, and no one mentioned this card to me. Why didn't they get my signature at the branch???! It would have been so simple.

    Since I opened it in-branch, I assumed everything would be good and carried on using the account.

    One day, I logged in to see a $0 balance, and the transaction history said my funds had been "teller withdrawn" from a Citibank branch some city I've never heard of in California.

    Of course I panicked, thinking my account had been hacked and my funds stolen. I called, and the first representative had no idea what had happened, and opened a claim with the fraud department.

    Well, I called back 2 or 3 times trying to get more info on who had hacked my account, and on the 4th phone call (after a few hours), someone finally told me that it was actually Citibank that had closed my account. It took another few calls to find out it was because of that signature card.

    I spend about 5 hours total calling Citibank over a period of 2 weeks trying to figure out what was going on, how I can fix it, and how to get my money back. I'm not even going to mention the 50,000 mile bonus.

    I can't reopen the same account, can't get the bonus, but this has been such an awful experience that I am NEVER banking with Citibank again. I can't believe how disorganized their system is: their reps have no idea what's even going on. "Dolores Lozano" was the person in charge of my case, and she and other reps "Promised" that someone would call me back with more information... no one ever called back. Ever.

    This company is so disorganized, I'm actually afraid to bank with them. Who knows where your money might end up. "Oops... you bank account is $0?... Let me put you on hold to figure out what the problem is... Oh, your money got stolen... Oh wait, no, we closed your account.... Why?.... I don't know... Let me put you on hold a moment..."

    On top of that... I have $550 in the account at the time it was closed... it has been over a MONTH... and I still haven't gotten that money back!!! They say it's going to take 90 days for them to send me a check... WTF???? So your bank earns free interest for a few months on my money, and I can't pay my bills, because your bank needs to hold it for 90 days...

    Insane.

    I've never had a bad experience with Citi credit cards... but banking with Citi is literally insane. I've never seen this level of negligence and disorganization in a corporation, ever.

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By Davidfaulkner May 1, 2016

    Credit card balance transfer

    Citi has lied to me twice and the third time I called to find out when the transfer would occur they said it would occur when it occurred. The said they were treating me like this since I was a new customer. I would cancel the card if it would not affect my credit rating but as it is I will just destroy the card and never use it. I had to gage them one star to post, the do not deserve one star

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By Monab Apr 30, 2016

    Monab

    Owed money to the citi bank credit card, tried to work with them, as paying monthly payment, put garnish on my wage also lien on my house. Still paying them, citi bank collects my monthly check under citi bank name, but sold the account to a law firm.

    Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By natkoko Apr 28, 2016

    Awful service under leadership of a Brunch Manager - Andres A. Quiros

    I'm working for a management company that banking with Citibank. The nature of this type of business requires us to deal with petty cash checks that I usually cash at brank branches. For two years I never had problem until moved to West Hollywood and came to Fairfax branch. Terrible experience. Lock of competence of branch tellers is perfectly balanced by arrogance and appalling attitude of their Branch Manager - Andres A. Quiros. With a nice sarcastic smile he suggested me to use other branches if I'm not happy with their customer service!

    Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By Anatoly Apr 15, 2016

    Great service

    Dear Lubov Natanova, we know how busy you are, so we really appreciate the time you spent with us. Thank you for your support. Sincerely, your clients.

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By dubber1 Apr 1, 2016

    Cut off without prior notice

    I had gotten a citi credit card with a $1,000.00 credit line a couple years ago. I was never late on payments each month. On 04/01/2016, I emailed them to see why I hadn't received my new card that expired on 03/31/2016. With out any prior notice, they cancelled my credit. I asked for a lower interest rate until this was paid off since I didn't have a credit line anymore. Of course, DENIED. If at all possible, STAY AWAY FROM THEM!!

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By DENIZ585 Mar 30, 2016

    CITI CHEATS

    BE AWARE OF CITI CARD FALSE ADVERTISING:
    For over two years they kept sending me pre-selected or pre-approved credit card offers (simplicity and diamond credit cards( with 18 months 0 interest. The offers include what my interest will be after this period.

    I called them one week after the last offer was expired. The customer rep TOLD ME SHE COULD RE-ACTIVATE MY OFFER. SHE ALSO SAID I CAN GO TO CITI CARDS WEBSITE AND SUBMIT AN APPLICATION THERE TOO. and the offer on their website was even better with 21 months 0 interest. I submitted the application online and they declined.

    I called them back. The second customer rep had no respect to me. She acted like I'm criminal or something. I was trying to tell her how weird is that that they kept sending me all these deals for over 2 years, I responded to their advertising and how come they decline it now. She said I can opt out from the mailing list if I want to as if I was asking her how to opt out from the mailing list. She was extremely rude, and she kept repeating the same thing for opting out and acted like she doesn't hear my question.

    I called them again to opt out from the their mailing list rest of my life. They say they can only opt out the current address, so when I change my address they will add me.

    I wanted to speak to a supervisor. He offered me to do another application on the phone. So they would ruin my credit score... I told him you already have my information why would I give you the same information second time. with a cold heart he didn't care if my credit score is being effected or not.

    My conclusion is CITI CARD is not a good company that care about business. They're the scammers.... Their deals on the mails are deceitful and the people working at citi are deceitful and RUDE...!!!

    Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By Chiubr Mar 25, 2016

    Be careful. The Mortgage Office named Tamer Abouelezz, Citi bank loan officer (NMLSID: 587631).

    Be careful. The Mortgage Office named Tamer Abouelezz, Citi bank loan officer (NMLSID: 587631).

    He promised in written to give me a loan with no points and additional 1,500 of lender's credit. He told me that it is approved so I decided to continue.

    During my loan application process, Tamer is trying to put conditions that was not previously agreed to stop me from asking about the discount he promised. I managed to fulfill all the condition, however at the end, he still can't provide me with what he agreed. Therefore, I was forced to sign the loan document in order to meet the closing date to avoid further consequences. He ended up charged me 1,300 (0.25 points) and did not give me 1,500 of lender's credit as promised at the beginning. So I paid 2,800 more to get the loan because he failed to honor the terms he agreed in written.

    In addition, he does not take any calls from you and once you signed the application with him.
    No service at all. I would recommend you to find another loan officer in Citi. But if you have to deal with him, be very careful...

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.