B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Associated Bank Customer Reviews

(13 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 2
4 Star 1
3 Star 0
2 Star 0
1 Star 10

The Most Helpful Associated Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Marcy Apr 6, 2014

Great! It Is Awesome That They Are Open On Weekends!

The weeks get busy as a solo-business owner. It is nice to get a few errands out of the way on weekends. The location in copps also lets me run through the salad bar - instant lunch! Great service, good folks working there.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By boreifs May 1, 2014

Horrible experience settling my father's estate.

My father had a TOD Power CD with Associated and it took them over four weeks to even process my request to have the funds transferred after his death. It is now over four weeks since and I am still waiting for the proceeds. I also have a friend who has been trying to settle his aunt's estate; it is now three years and counting.

His regular account was also anything but smooth; they had lost the paperwork for the TOD on the account and I had to jump through all sorts of legal hoops to settle the account. One officer sent me home in the morning (40 minute round trip), claiming she had no time for the paperwork; when I returned late that afternoon (another 40-minute round trip), the "paperwork" consisted of signing a W9 form.

My next step is to bring my lawyer into this; safe to say that once the estate is settled, I will never, ever step inside an Associated Bank. Caveat emptor!

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Associated Bank Reviews

  • L
    Reviewed By La nub Aug 7, 2015

    Big bank with lacking customer service

    This review is for the "higher up" personal of associated bank. Was with this bank for 30 years and it was called state financial. When associated took over, I learned that big banks are in it for themselves and all they were concerned with is finding new business, while neglecting the business they already had, my " personal banker" that was assigned to me for my commercial accounts is someone who only came around when she wanted things from me. She put my back against the wall in 2008 when the recession hit and had zero empathy, even though I had been with the bank at that time for 18 years. I have found a new bank,,, a nice small community bank. They are backing me with what ever I need to continue to grow, the point is this: ASSOCIATED BANK. Is Big Banking with a personal banker in the commercial end with the compassion of a toad, do yourself a favor a find a nice local bank in your community and you will be treated with the respect that you deserve,

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By clwatson333 May 9, 2015

    HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE! HORRIBLE BANK!

    Trying to get help from this bank thru customer service is useless! They either put you on hold or transfer you to somebody else. They recently charged me for two packs of checks I didn't order, and I have been waiting for them to FINALLY close a dispute I on made on a transaction OVER A MONTH AGO. Once that is done, they will then allow? me to close my accounts. And then I will celebrate. Please, think twice before opening an account at this bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By boreifs May 1, 2014

    Horrible experience settling my father's estate.

    My father had a TOD Power CD with Associated and it took them over four weeks to even process my request to have the funds transferred after his death. It is now over four weeks since and I am still waiting for the proceeds. I also have a friend who has been trying to settle his aunt's estate; it is now three years and counting.

    His regular account was also anything but smooth; they had lost the paperwork for the TOD on the account and I had to jump through all sorts of legal hoops to settle the account. One officer sent me home in the morning (40 minute round trip), claiming she had no time for the paperwork; when I returned late that afternoon (another 40-minute round trip), the "paperwork" consisted of signing a W9 form.

    My next step is to bring my lawyer into this; safe to say that once the estate is settled, I will never, ever step inside an Associated Bank. Caveat emptor!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By sudsguzzler Apr 11, 2014

    Terrible Customer Service. A Bad Situation Could Have Been Avoided With Just One Small Tidbit Of Customer Service

    I am in watertown and a customer of associated bank since somewhere between 1988 and 1990. I have a checking account and a money market account. I originally signed up for associated because my father has banked with them for many years. Truthfully, I don't ask a lot from my bank. I deposit money and i withdraw money. I have used associated for a notary from time to time without any trouble as well.

    This all changed for the worse yesterday April 10, 2014. I was leaving for a trip to chicago with my wife and planned on leaving very early, but we had one form related to my Chicago trip which i believe needed a notarized signature. It was a bit unclear if needed, but i didn't want to make this trip only to find out that i needed this notarized form. I was going to leave at 5am, but now decided to leave at 8:45am which would put me at associated bank in watertown when they open.

    I arrived at 9:05am and proceeded to have a check cashed, then asked if i could please have something notarized. The notary employee came over and asked what I need. I told her that my wife, who was standing next to me, needed her signature notarized on the form and handed her the form which she laid down on the counter. She said "so this is for her and not you? Correct? " i said "yes". She then asked if my wife had an account with associated. I said that she didn't but i did. She told me she couldn't notarize unless she has an account. I told her once again that it's my wife. She said it didn't matter! Another woman came up behind this teller and had no idea what had all transpired but only heard that i want my wife's signature notarized. She immediately barged in with "she needs to be here". I, along with the other teller told her she's right here. Now, suddenly she also changed her tune and agreed that this cannot be done. Next came something I'm not proud of and rarely, if ever has happened to me. I forcefully grabbed back my papers and headed for the door shouting how terrible they are!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By Marcy Apr 6, 2014

    Great! It Is Awesome That They Are Open On Weekends!

    The weeks get busy as a solo-business owner. It is nice to get a few errands out of the way on weekends. The location in copps also lets me run through the salad bar - instant lunch! Great service, good folks working there.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • VU
    Reviewed By Very U. Mar 21, 2014

    Very Dismal

    Without going into a great deal of detail, I am beyond disgusted with the lack of customer service at Associated. I have a mortgage loan through them and contacted a rep from the bank a few years ago in hopes of reducing interest rate to be more appropriate with current rates. I have never seen such chaos in my life-I was directed from one person to the next, having to explain myself time and again, to no avail. Each individual would pass the buck-"not my department". Then, I receive a fed ex overnite 9.95 piece of paper asking me to check them out for a new mortgage-couldn't believe it???
    I have a great deal of difficulty understanding how Associated can buy a block of playoff tickets to help avoid a blackout, but they don't have the ability to take care of their customers.
    Cannot wait to pay off my mortgage----and have been successful in keeping a couple of my friends from going with Associated for their mortgage loans.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By pjdepner Feb 21, 2014

    I came to you seeking advice on my investments and was encouraged to change my checking to Assoc.

    I have constant problems with my savings and checking. If you review how I was manipulated to pay over $400. because my consult failed to have me sign papers to transfer monthly payments. at Community Credit. Since then, I have had ongoing problems. You have so few places to use ATM, etc. I see your ratings are poor; I know why for me. I hate going thru this hassle again,, but I have to go back to Community First,.I would like to keep Kelly W. as my consultant, despite his poor history with me. For some reason, I trust him.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By Ms89 Jan 16, 2014

    Holding your checks to get overdrafts.

    Beyond aggravated that they are able to hold your check once you deposit it. Once deposited, they should not be able to hold your check, on top of giving you overdraft fees when the money is in your account. I was hit with 4 overdraft fees then was told she could only give 1 back to me. So basically, it's an easy way for them to take $105.00, of my hard earned money, then apologize for not giving it back to me when money was in my account. Nonsense. I will not recommend this bank to anyone.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • I
    Reviewed By inthesticks Dec 13, 2013

    Started nice, slowly degraded as the years have went.

    I have banked with Associated Bank for over 13 years, it started out as a decent to great experience. Over the last 6 years it has been a real battle with them, they push the limits trying to get every cent they can, items like posting your deposits last during the day so they can try and get overdrafts, even when they were sued for this it still continues to this day. Their fee's for ATM are really high, and even charge you to use someone else's ATM.
    Three weeks ago I decided to trade in my truck I had for 8 years since I had it financed with Associated they still had name as a lien holder, when I went to the bank to get a lien release (truck has been paid for over 5 years) they stated I would need to submit a request and it would take 5 days to process than mailing time, 10-15 days. They wouldn't even print one out while I was standing there. It did in fact take 14 days to arrive at my house, thank god the dealer was kind enough to still sell me a new truck and take the old one. You have to request a lien release they don't just send one once your loan is paid.
    The branch I am near was sold and they gave my checking and savings account to the bank they sold it to, even said they did us a favor so we didn't have to set one up with them, than closed our Checking/Savings with Associated, but kept our Credit Card and Home Equity loan so we have to pay them via check monthly. The new bank only has three branches, all little towns that you will hardly ever visit so now we are stuck with 1 ATM and a small bank. My personal checks I had made are going to collect dust now. All auto pays, Pay Pal, Netflix, Amazon all need to be updated, but wait, it's Christmas season and I don't have any checks or check card to use. so no purchases for me since my Direct Deposit is not going to work for 2 pay periods to the new bank and I have to wait for snail mail to deliver.

    So with all this fun, I have now signed up with a Credit Union.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By NoWay Sep 10, 2013

    Decades of hell

    Could they be any more apologetic? "We're sorry for releasing your credit card information to hackers." "We're sorry for hosting an online platform that we update every other day to you can never log in." "We're sorry for spending millions in collected service fees to update the carpeting in our fancy offices." Pathetic. Stop being sorry and do the right thing.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.