Overall Rating

MyBankTracker Grade

B+
Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Number of Locations
Mobile Deposits
Mobile Banking

Featured Rates

256
Branch Locations

Associated Bank Location Map
We found branches close to you.

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank News
CIT Bank
Add
Bank Rates
TCF Bank
Add
Bank Rates
Commerce Bank
Add
Compare Banks

Associated Bank Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction

Associated Bank Latest Customer Reviews

Marcy's Profile Image

Reviewed by Marcy

Apr 6th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great! It Is Awesome That They Are Open On Weekends!

The weeks get busy as a solo-business owner. It is nice to get a few errands out of the way on weekends. The location in copps also lets me run through the salad bar - instant lunch! Great service, good folks working there.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

momof2boys's Profile Image

Reviewed by momof2boys

May 15th 2013

5 out of 5 marks

awesome

I just opened up a account with Amy who is great friendly nice. I talk with Samantha about a loan very nice friendly and knew her stuff. Keep up the great job ladies!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

KarlStark's Profile Image

Reviewed by KarlStark

Apr 13th 2013

4 out of 5 marks

Service Above and Beyond

For an on-going legal matter, my lawyer requested the monthly statements from January 2012 to present for an account which had been closed last autumn. Fearing the worst, since this was an unusual request and it was especially busy Saturday at the branch on Allen Blvd in Middleton, I approached the teller, Meaghan Stehr, and made my request. After verifying my identity, she was able to locate the file, albeit with some difficulty because the account profile had been amended once before I finally converted it to a Money Market account, also with Associated. Despite her heavy workload, Meaghan, took the time to email me, in PDF form, the needed files, twelve separate statements, which I forwarded to my attorney. I had been dreading this task, fearing it would involve a Gordian knot of red tape, but,in the end, it turned out to be easy, thanks to the efforts of Ms. Stehr.

-Karl Stark-

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

sudsguzzler's Profile Image

Reviewed by sudsguzzler

Apr 11th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Terrible Customer Service. A Bad Situation Could Have Been Avoided With Just One Small Tidbit Of Customer Service

I am in watertown and a customer of associated bank since somewhere between 1988 and 1990. I have a checking account and a money market account. I originally signed up for associated because my father has banked with them for many years. Truthfully, I don't ask a lot from my bank. I deposit money and i withdraw money. I have used associated for a notary from time to time without any trouble as well.

This all changed for the worse yesterday April 10, 2014. I was leaving for a trip to chicago with my wife and planned on leaving very early, but we had one form related to my Chicago trip which i believe needed a notarized signature. It was a bit unclear if needed, but i didn't want to make this trip only to find out that i needed this notarized form. I was going to leave at 5am, but now decided to leave at 8:45am which would put me at associated bank in watertown when they open.

I arrived at 9:05am and proceeded to have a check cashed, then asked if i could please have something notarized. The notary employee came over and asked what I need. I told her that my wife, who was standing next to me, needed her signature notarized on the form and handed her the form which she laid down on the counter. She said "so this is for her and not you? Correct? " i said "yes". She then asked if my wife had an account with associated. I said that she didn't but i did. She told me she couldn't notarize unless she has an account. I told her once again that it's my wife. She said it didn't matter! Another woman came up behind this teller and had no idea what had all transpired but only heard that i want my wife's signature notarized. She immediately barged in with "she needs to be here". I, along with the other teller told her she's right here. Now, suddenly she also changed her tune and agreed that this cannot be done. Next came something I'm not proud of and rarely, if ever has happened to me. I forcefully grabbed back my papers and headed for the door shouting how terrible they are!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Ms89's Profile Image

Reviewed by Ms89

Jan 16th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Holding your checks to get overdrafts.

Beyond aggravated that they are able to hold your check once you deposit it. Once deposited, they should not be able to hold your check, on top of giving you overdraft fees when the money is in your account. I was hit with 4 overdraft fees then was told she could only give 1 back to me. So basically, it's an easy way for them to take $105.00, of my hard earned money, then apologize for not giving it back to me when money was in my account. Nonsense. I will not recommend this bank to anyone.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

inthesticks's Profile Image

Reviewed by inthesticks

Dec 13th 2013

2 out of 5 marks

Started nice, slowly degraded as the years have went.

I have banked with Associated Bank for over 13 years, it started out as a decent to great experience. Over the last 6 years it has been a real battle with them, they push the limits trying to get every cent they can, items like posting your deposits last during the day so they can try and get overdrafts, even when they were sued for this it still continues to this day. Their fee's for ATM are really high, and even charge you to use someone else's ATM.

Three weeks ago I decided to trade in my truck I had for 8 years since I had it financed with Associated they still had name as a lien holder, when I went to the bank to get a lien release (truck has been paid for over 5 years) they stated I would need to submit a request and it would take 5 days to process than mailing time, 10-15 days. They wouldn't even print one out while I was standing there. It did in fact take 14 days to arrive at my house, thank god the dealer was kind enough to still sell me a new truck and take the old one. You have to request a lien release they don't just send one once your loan is paid.

The branch I am near was sold and they gave my checking and savings account to the bank they sold it to, even said they did us a favor so we didn't have to set one up with them, than closed our Checking/Savings with Associated, but kept our Credit Card and Home Equity loan so we have to pay them via check monthly. The new bank only has three branches, all little towns that you will hardly ever visit so now we are stuck with 1 ATM and a small bank. My personal checks I had made are going to collect dust now. All auto pays, Pay Pal, Netflix, Amazon all need to be updated, but wait, it's Christmas season and I don't have any checks or check card to use. so no purchases for me since my Direct Deposit is not going to work for 2 pay periods to the new bank and I have to wait for snail mail to deliver.

So with all this fun, I have now signed up with a Credit Union.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 0

pjdepner's Profile Image

Reviewed by pjdepner

Feb 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

I came to you seeking advice on my investments and was encouraged to change my checking to Assoc.

I have constant problems with my savings and checking. If you review how I was manipulated to pay over $400. because my consult failed to have me sign papers to transfer monthly payments. at Community Credit. Since then, I have had ongoing problems. You have so few places to use ATM, etc. I see your ratings are poor; I know why for me. I hate going thru this hassle again,, but I have to go back to Community First,.I would like to keep Kelly W. as my consultant, despite his poor history with me. For some reason, I trust him.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

boreifs's Profile Image

Reviewed by boreifs

May 1st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible experience settling my father's estate.

My father had a TOD Power CD with Associated and it took them over four weeks to even process my request to have the funds transferred after his death. It is now over four weeks since and I am still waiting for the proceeds. I also have a friend who has been trying to settle his aunt's estate; it is now three years and counting.

His regular account was also anything but smooth; they had lost the paperwork for the TOD on the account and I had to jump through all sorts of legal hoops to settle the account. One officer sent me home in the morning (40 minute round trip), claiming she had no time for the paperwork; when I returned late that afternoon (another 40-minute round trip), the "paperwork" consisted of signing a W9 form.

My next step is to bring my lawyer into this; safe to say that once the estate is settled, I will never, ever step inside an Associated Bank. Caveat emptor!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

VeryUnsatisfied's Profile Image

Reviewed by VeryUnsatisfied

Mar 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Very Dismal

Without going into a great deal of detail, I am beyond disgusted with the lack of customer service at Associated. I have a mortgage loan through them and contacted a rep from the bank a few years ago in hopes of reducing interest rate to be more appropriate with current rates. I have never seen such chaos in my life-I was directed from one person to the next, having to explain myself time and again, to no avail. Each individual would pass the buck-"not my department". Then, I receive a fed ex overnite 9.95 piece of paper asking me to check them out for a new mortgage-couldn't believe it???

I have a great deal of difficulty understanding how Associated can buy a block of playoff tickets to help avoid a blackout, but they don't have the ability to take care of their customers.

Cannot wait to pay off my mortgage----and have been successful in keeping a couple of my friends from going with Associated for their mortgage loans.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

NoWay's Profile Image

Reviewed by NoWay

Sep 10th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Decades of hell

Could they be any more apologetic? "We're sorry for releasing your credit card information to hackers." "We're sorry for hosting an online platform that we update every other day to you can never log in." "We're sorry for spending millions in collected service fees to update the carpeting in our fancy offices." Pathetic. Stop being sorry and do the right thing.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

LaurenceScott's Profile Image

Reviewed by LaurenceScott

Nov 15th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Very Poor Experience

I will shout from the roof tops never ever to use associated bank. About 2 weeks ago I got a check from my father due to illness to help me with my rent. For whatever reason it got returned from his bank...Funny thing is we resubmitted it Went, through fine. And, there was no evidence that there was even a draw from his bank the first time we put it in. To make thie long and short of it associated hit me with 600 in bounce fees and won't refund me anything for their error. Stay away from them they are crooks.....

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

RGLuz1's Profile Image

Reviewed by RGLuz1

Jan 26th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Very Bad!

When they ran into financial problems their attitutde toward their customers totally changed... Quite difficult to deal with i have found. What ethnic background are you? I have seen people from a specific group that have had big problems with them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Facebook User's Profile Image

Reviewed by Facebook User

Feb 17th 2010

1 out of 5 marks

Stay Away Form Associated Bank They Are Lairs The We Take All Your Money In Fees

I had deposited a check my sister wrote me and well they put i hold on 260 bucks of it never told me. The next day i seen i had over darft my checking. When i called and told them i didnt know about the check hold, they said ok just depost 75 bucks on monday and you wont me charged the fee and them told about the hold. Well they had lied to me and charged the fee anyway. They well say anything to make you happy and to shit you up. And them when you call to ask about the fee and ask to get it removed they well say sir you know about the hold we sent you a letter and told on the phone many times they did none of this! They have changed the rules so many time i cant keep up they well do anything to get money form you and the have done it to me the last time am going to a credit union

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

J. B's Profile Image

Reviewed by J. B

Feb 5th 2010

1 out of 5 marks

Stay Away From Associated Bank

Associated Bank has a way to double debit fees on single overdrafts. I had $60 in overdraft and in two days had $200 in fees...unbelievable. When I asked for a reconciled account ledger, they said they are not legally required to give me one. No customer service and client's beware of hidden fees never disclosed.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

dave  N's Profile Image

Reviewed by dave N

Feb 3rd 2010

1 out of 5 marks

scammed what little money I had with fine lines and fine lies

I am sure this review is like any other complaint about how they stuck me with unjustifiable fees and there was no way that I could ever give me my money back. Do not use this bank period. They let me know why having my accounts at a credit union was such a good idea.o my only advise is to go credit in the union direction with your bqanking needs.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Post a review