Overall Rating

MyBankTracker Grade

B
Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Number of Locations
Mobile Deposits
Mobile Banking

Featured Rates

1,927
Branch Locations

BB&T Location Map
We found branches close to you.

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank Reviews
CIT Bank
Add
Bank News
Suntrust Bank
Add
Bank Rates
Regions Bank
Add
Compare Banks

BB&T Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction

BB&T Latest Customer Reviews

surfin45gmailcom's Profile Image

Reviewed by surfin45gmailcom

Oct 21st 2014

5 out of 5 marks

BOA to BBT Very Easy

My husband and I have been with BOA for several years. Our branch was purchased by another bank that started off on the wrong foot. So, we decided to move our banking relationship to BB&T. The sign-up online was very easy and straight forward. We opted to go into one of the many branches near our home to make our opening deposit. We were greeted as soon as we walked through the door. They were friendly and professional. The young lady who waited on us was well-trained and efficient. After looking at all the negative reviews, we came home (a 3 minute trip) and immediately checked our account online and the deposits were right and available. I went to order our checks online, but where it was a new account, we had to call the branch. The young lady, again, was pleasant, polite, and more than willing to help us. She took our check order and gave me the price of the checks.

Now, I see a lot of bad reviews because someone didn't pay their mortgage for 4 months and were sent to foreclosure and people and their overdrafts. If people would use a little common sense, they would know that if you don't pay your mortgage, you lose your house and if you make purchases on your debit card and write checks and don't have the funds to cover it, you will be charged a fee. Don't do something stupid and then complain when you get charged a fee or lose your home. All the fees I saw are perfectly reasonable and should serve as a deterrent from bouncing checks and making purchases without the funds to cover them.

My husband and I are your average middle class couple with three kids in college. So, we aren't rich by any means. So, the theory that BB&T caters to rich people doesn't hold water. The median income in our area is $32,000/year (we make more than that) and BB&T has most of the banking business for people in our area. We were treated like the most important customers they had waited on all day. So, I think this is going to be a pleasant banking experience.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

tvlyonhouck's Profile Image

Reviewed by tvlyonhouck

Aug 25th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

So far great bank!

They bent over backwards to refi my house. Gave me a great deal. No one else would touch me. The personnel in this little branch are always very helpful. Haven't had any problems at all.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mandyjmoore's Profile Image

Reviewed by mandyjmoore

Mar 6th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great Service

My mom's accounts were here and when she passed away, as the executor of her estate, I needed a lot of help with the detailed accounting required. The staff at this branch was always helpful and never seemed put out by my requests. They were accommodating and quick to respond, which was such a relief under the circumstances.

I set up an estate account through this branch to pay remaining bills and found that their online tools were great.

I didn't have any exposure to their rates or fees since I only had checking accounts with them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Kathi's Profile Image

Reviewed by Kathi

Feb 18th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

First class customer service!

My personal experience with the Guilford College branch, and with BB&T in general, has been excellent. As a retired math teacher, I expect accurate financial accounting from my bank and, at this branch, I always receive it. The customer service is always pleasant, professional, and personal. I have no worries or concerns about my relationship with BB&T, and highly recommend the manager and staff at the College Road location!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 2

mwilli's Profile Image

Reviewed by mwilli

Oct 6th 2013

5 out of 5 marks

Wonderful Transition From BOA To BB&T!

I just want to begin by stating the following: I work in Sales within the Cruise industry and one thing I know very well is - No-one takes there time to write a review if they are satisfied. 85-90% of the people who write reviews have something negative to say.

With that said, I have to say the transition from BOA to BB&T has actually been quite WONDERFUL! The staff at my branch were friendly and very courteous.

I opened up a student checking account and setup the automatic decline option for overdraft. Furthermore, I opted to receive online E-Statements, so my account is 100% free. Same-thing goes for if I had the standard checking account, my direct deposit would eliminate the monthly fee.

I look forward to doing business with BB&T. Thank you for a wonderful start-off experience.

***Credit To Renzo(Customer Relationship Consultant)***

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Patrick_B's Profile Image

Reviewed by Patrick_B

May 16th 2013

5 out of 5 marks

BBT Estero Grand Oak Shoppes Branch a Very Friendly Bank

The staff of this bank is very diligent making me feel like a trusted and welcomed friend. Any difficulty I have experienced regarding fees has always been resolved to my satisfaction.Their specialized customer services, notary, etc. add to the value of my doing business with them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jcolerod's Profile Image

Reviewed by jcolerod

Dec 31st 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Refinanced Home Mortgage. Outstanding Services!

I had a 2 yr arm with Credit Union. Came up for renewal and it went to 4.75% with no option to buy down the rate. I contacted BB&T and refinanced in less than 2 weeks at 2.99% with a cost of $208 fees. Their mortgage representative Lizzie Clapsadl, could not have been any more professional and expedited the entire transaction with extreme ease.

I was so pleased with this transaction, I have told my family members and they are also considering changing their mortgages from the Credit Union.

I

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

adyshuler's Profile Image

Reviewed by adyshuler

Jul 16th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Wonderful And Caring People Work Here. They Take The Time To Understand My Needs And Offer Their Best Services.

It's rare to find compassion at a large company of any type today but bb&t by far exceeds my expectations. From the teller to the loan officer they always seem to know how to respond to my needs. I would definitely recommend bb&t to my friends and family as i do already.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

karenseery's Profile Image

Reviewed by karenseery

Jan 23rd 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Excellent

After several problems with my bank of over a decade, i was introduced to mr. Britt through a local real estate company, and was encouraged to do business with bb&t to secure a loan to purchase property in beaufort,nc. That was almost ten years ago. Since then i have bought several lots and purchased a home in western nc. Mr. Britt has stood by me and helped me to make good and sound business decisions regarding my investments and personal finances. Bb&t along with mr. Britt have continued to help and guide me through a very rough economy and i have complete trust in his continued effort and the company he represents. I would encourage anyone to do business with this bank and pop your head in to mr. Britt’s office and just say hello…. It may be the beginning of a good a prosperous future for you.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

PitBullRad's Profile Image

Reviewed by PitBullRad

Jan 11th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Very Well Rounded Bank To Work With.

I have tried other banks and bb&t has been the best to deal with. The employees are very friendly and very helpful. We have all of our accounts with them and never have had a problem. In previous years we have taken lines of credit and signature loans and it has always been a very easy process and they seem to care. You will find, as i have as i travel, that all of their branches are smaller and less employees but this does not mean that customer service suffers. They are great!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Peachy's Profile Image

Reviewed by Peachy

Sep 10th 2011

5 out of 5 marks

Excellent!

Lost my debit card and received great customer service. Nice to be treated like a person instead of just a number!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

David S's Profile Image

Reviewed by David S

Nov 13th 2009

5 out of 5 marks

Wow! What a great bank!

I have so far been with BB&T for a year and eight months I love this bank they have been very helpful with my account and they have been there when I needed there help if you want a good bank to deal with in TN this is a bank you will want to deal with you can also go onto there website and see if there is a bank in your state and if there is get an account there is an opening deposit of 50.00 but you will never regret going there.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 2

fossettdiva's Profile Image

Reviewed by fossettdiva

Mar 4th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great Bank!!

I don't understand the negative comments about BB&T on this website. My experiences with this bank are all positive.

Susan Custred and Brenda Holdridge at the Branch in Mt. Airy Md 21771 have gone over and beyond for my family. In fact every teller and everyone at that branch have always been

extremely helpful.

My Mother unexpectedly became ill. We had to attach POA on her account and make sure her bills were being paid correctly. They helped us with all the details going over and beyond every step of the way. They asked about her and I really felt they considered her a friend. I felt they treated us like a family member. Thank You BB&T..

Jacqueline

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

JudyB's Profile Image

Reviewed by JudyB

Jan 23rd 2014

5 out of 5 marks

I use primarily 2 of the branches, Court Square & Pantops..have had nothing but good experiences at both.

I have been banking with BB & T for at least 15 years and have had all good experiences. Everything from Mortgage Loans, Safe Deposit Box, and Checking and Savings Accounts..have had the best banking care I have ever had at another bank. Everyone I have dealt with has been friendly and helpful.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

wilt's Profile Image

Reviewed by wilt

Jul 12th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Great Customer Service.

Great customer service.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ahc4th's Profile Image

Reviewed by ahc4th

Jan 8th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Easy Banking Experience

Great big bank with small town customer service. No complaints here!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Millsaps's Profile Image

Reviewed by Millsaps

Dec 2nd 2011

5 out of 5 marks

Top Notch Personal Service!

This bank has very strong personal service. I have utilized many of their services and they are super.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

Lightworkx4's Profile Image

Reviewed by Lightworkx4

Apr 25th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Dishonest and Very Illegal!

In 2011, my accounts were breached and my personal Statements were given to a 3rd party without any legal permission. This was done by an Executive Vice President of Commercial lending out of the Newport News Virginia office. I call it "The good old boys club!" Wait for it, because now 2 publishers from New York City are buying the rights to the book.

The FBI will be given all the data so be on the watch for this story through Reuters. This will make wonder how far the corruption in our banking system goes.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

johnhughes's Profile Image

Reviewed by johnhughes

Dec 13th 2013

5 out of 5 marks

Wonderful. The entire organization is just fabulous.

Customer service is A+Excellent.

Best banking experience ever.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

Clown's Profile Image

Reviewed by Clown

Mar 21st 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Excellent

Relationship Banker ll- Gladys Boseselager is so excellent to work with in all our banking needs.

She is very professional, polite and helpful.

Gladys Bosese was so helpful with our 4 girls accounts while they attented College, she would answer all their questions, if she wasn't available she would call them back as soon as possible. Gladys is very friendly and makes you feel comfortable asking all your banking questions.

I have my business account with BB&T, and Gladys has always been so helpful and has a great knowledge of good things to help my business.

We also have an open Home Eq. Acc. if we ever need it at a very low rate. We have had friends that were talked into a bad type of load by their Realtor and within a few minutes BB&T helped them create a new loan and saved them alot of money and worry. We love banking at BB&T

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Raleigh R's Profile Image

Reviewed by Raleigh R

Feb 19th 2011

5 out of 5 marks

Excellent. Literally, excellent with a period.

I hate to read all the negative reviews of BB&T on this site. Sorry you guys had those experiences, and maybe you should try somewhere else. I used to bank at the state credit union, which people rave about. But they never called in to check on me or treated me like more than a random person. I went into my BB&T today, and this was the first time in about 4 months. While at the table writing up my deposit slip, one of the tellers welcomed me by name. My psychiatrist doesn't even know me that well (j/k). They've even called me with offers to lower my interest payments. And they have every service I need -- right down to the iPad app so I can bank from the comfort of my bed. As a result, I'm fully banked here. Feel free to join me and try for yourself.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

James J's Profile Image

Reviewed by James J

Dec 25th 2010

5 out of 5 marks

The ads are right. BEST BANK IN TOWN!

I've been banking with BB&T in Cartersville GA for a year and a half and have nothing but great things to say. The tellers, banker and the manager are great. They have a new manager and he seems to go out of his way to interact with the customers. At my previous bank the people in the offices never came out to talk or interact with customers. I have never had any issues with my deposits or bank fees. It maybe due to the fact that I keep a register and don't spend money I don't have. The banks in my county are having financial issues and it feels good to know my money is with a strong and safe bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

RobinW's Profile Image

Reviewed by RobinW

Mar 11th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

The best bank we have ever experienced!

We have been living overseas for the past 8 years and have continued banking with BB&T, dealing almost exclusively with the Cedar Lane Branch. With sons and daughters in college and in the military (in the USA) we have had a multitude of financial issues that we have needed help with, sometimes due to emergencies. Without fail, the people at the Cedar Lane Branch have helped to resolve our problem and have always been courteous and pleasant. In particular, Wayne Chen has been helping us for years and it is always a relief to have him answer the phone.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

OasisOmegaOishii's Profile Image

Reviewed by OasisOmegaOishii

Jan 6th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Excellent!

The only reason we bank with BB&T at this location is because of the employees. They go all out of their way to get things done for us. I Have never had anything bad to say or any bad experience with any transaction. Thanks a bunch to Rhonda, Dan, Margeret, Mike and Erica.

From Mike & Jenny.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

casper's Profile Image

Reviewed by casper

Sep 11th 2013

4 out of 5 marks

refi on our Lynchburg home.

Amonth ago my husband and I refinanced thru Rivermont BB @ T. Mr. Elvis Perez and Ms. Carrie White were so great. They kept us up to date, it was fast, 2 weeks from appraisal to closing and they are also nice. I had Wells Fargo for 8 years and tried to refi with them and well, just try to get a human being on the phone.Wanted you to know and I will use them again on my next mortgage, Applause to them, and the staff at Rivermont and they derserve praise. (did send a card) Sincerely, sharon and Sig [Redacted] , (middle aged refier's)

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

david01's Profile Image

Reviewed by david01

Nov 18th 2012

4 out of 5 marks

I found my banking experience to positive and enjoyed the attention given to the customer in a smaller intimate setting.

It was re-assuring to find a former banker from Bank Atlantic willing to continue with good customer relations. In fact,

the existing tellers did their best to match this in their delivery, making it easier to return to this branch for repeat business.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

bikemore7's Profile Image

Reviewed by bikemore7

Sep 8th 2011

4 out of 5 marks

Fantastic Customer Service And Attention To Detail

Banking with bb&t has been a pleasure! I work with banking professionals who have about a decade of experience in the industry. After banking with the largest bank in the u. S. , this has been a refreshing and rewarding experience.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Annita K's Profile Image

Reviewed by Annita K

Feb 22nd 2011

4 out of 5 marks

Great Service, Few Fees

I switched to BB&T after leaving Wachovia because of their awful customer service and ridiculous fees. The moment you step into one of their branches they are completely friendly and always treat you with respect. Their tellers are always willing to help and even when you decline one of their services they continue being nice. I never had a problem with fees at this bank. I have a Bank@Work account and it comes with tons of extras including travel discounts and quarterly rebates. You can also use other ATM's up to a certain # of times per month for free.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MICKEYCOKER's Profile Image

Reviewed by MICKEYCOKER

Mar 1st 2014

4 out of 5 marks

ALWAYS FRIENDLY. NEVER HAVE TO WAIT VERY LONG FOR SERVICE.

THEIR OFFICER ROBIN MCMAHAN HAS ALWAYS GONE ABOVE AND BEYOND AS FAR AS MAKING MY BANKING EXPERIENCE AT THAT BRANCH QUICK AND PLEASANT.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

debbielv's Profile Image

Reviewed by debbielv

Nov 30th 2013

4 out of 5 marks

My needs were taken care of even quicker than explained and in a very professional manner.

I have several accounts with this bank, including vehicle, home mortgage and investment loans, as well as checking and savings accounts. Everyone was extremely professional, courteous, and made me feel that they wanted my business. My previous bank (of 12 years) seemed like they wanted me to jump through hoops to get anything. So I switched to BB&T for everything and I have not been disappointed.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Post a review