B+ MyBankTracker Rating

BB&T Customer Reviews

(307 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 34
4 Star 7
3 Star 8
2 Star 24
1 Star 234

The Most Helpful BB&T Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By kburriss Jun 29, 2015

5 Stars!

Andrea Brown has been nothing but a huge help for us! I am so glad we chose to open our account with the Taneytown BB&T!

Thank you for all of the help and keep up the great work :)

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Danielle Feb 28, 2013

Omg! The Worst. Please Stay Away!

Funds that's transferred to your account will always be late. Days late. I had funds transferred to my acct. On 15th feb. 2013 & didn't get it until 21st feb. 2013. Right now, i am waiting for a transfer that was wired on 22nd feb. 2013 & guess what? Yep. I am still waiting! Again, please stay away! Don't say you haven't been warned. Here's how i rate my experience.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest BB&T Reviews

  • S
    Reviewed By sknowlton3 Aug 25, 2016

    BB&T = Burglars, Bandits & Thieves

    A National Penn customer who was assured that Burglars, Bandits & Thieves (BB&T) would continue to service in the same way that National Penn did. WRONG!!!! This is absolutely the WORST BANK EVER!.. Stay away...STAY VERY FAR AWAY! They steal your money. Lost $72 in overdraft fees they caused by deducting money from my account two days before they were instructed to. Can't even get customer service to respond, let alone get my money back. Do yourself a favor and give this crew a wide berth.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By TWA Aug 19, 2016

    Questionable Practices at BBT

    I have been a customer of BBT for 30+ years. Recently they changed their policy on check card purchases without notifying me. As a result they charged me $396 in overdraft fees which they won't refund. Stay away from these crooks. They are trying give me some bs about why this suddenly happened but I know they are lying because I know how my check card purchases have always been handled.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By Joejohn1 Aug 15, 2016

    BB&T is the Worst bank i ever had experienced

    I was a satisfied national penn bank customer for several decades. I am a victim caught up in a BB&T merger. Since the merger I have had nothing but headaches with BB&T service. I called customer service and was placed on hold for 40 minutes and finally Catalina Little BB&T service personnel askede how can I help you. I explained that I was part of the take over of national Penn Bank and was a long time customer and never was charged fees for using ATM's at Wawa before with National Penn Bank. Why am I getting charged $2.5 in fees everytime I make a withdraw now when I'm using ATM's at WaWa? See said sorry to here that but that's our policy. I thought that the transistion would only be the name. Not true now BB&T is steeling my money for me withdrawing my own hard earned money. Never had an issue with National Penn Bank in 24 years. No fees for ATM usage. The rep for BB&T Carolina Little tells me this is their policy and procedure that I need to us aBB&T ATM. Ok. So I look up the closest ATM near me. I drive about 5 mile to the Branch/ATM at MAYFAIR
    6633 ROOSEVELT BLVD
    PHILADELPHIA, PA 19149-2417
    To find the ATM is out if Service. Looked up the next closest BB&T bank. The next closest to me was Branch/ATM at FRANKFORD
    4625 FRANKFORD AVE
    PHILADELPHIA, PA 19124-5803
    Drove there to find out they don't have an ATM but above location was taken off BB&T's Web site. So I looked again on their website and found the next closest BB&T ATM was Branch/ATM at BRIDESBURG
    2601 ORTHODOX ST
    PHILADELPHIA, PA 19137-1626
    215-743-6673. Now I have driven 20 Mikes to find out that they also don"t have an ATM. I am getting upset with this BB&T banks Website. To say I never found a BB&T ATM. This is a way for them to scam people out of $2.50 fees for not using a BB&T ATM because they either are of service or there website states that they have ATM service but they really don't. This is false advertisement and a way for them to scam the people that bailed them out. Steel their money and say this is a policy or their procedure. I'm sorry to have been a part of this merger or takeover. I will you if you like to be scammed BB&T is right for you. Not me I will remove my money from this mismanaged bank. I will find a bank like National Penn Bank was. I will post it when I find it. I think all the people that have been scammed by BB&T should file a class action suite against them. Unagreed upon fees without notification of such fees that weren't charged prior to merger with National Penn Bank. Their should be some laws against this type of banking scams. They also charge you for calling customer service $2.00 per call. Never heard of such a thing in my life. Banking ways of scamming money out of customers. If you are a lawyer and can help me and many others please contact me at joejohn1@live.com

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By JojoYoder Aug 14, 2016

    Somewhere behind the 21st Centry.

    I work long distances, often unable to make it to the bank before it closes after work on Fridays, which is why I'm VERY dependent on mobile banking and deposit.

    Key factors that suck about this bank:

    • Bank is only open till 5pm Mon-Thu. 6pm on Friday.

    • New accounts can't mobile deposit more than $100/day, and no more than $500/month.

    • New accounts can't get a temporary debit card while the official one gets mailed to you. Which is up to 14 days if you customize it.
    (See where this is a problem for me depositing and withdrawing if I can't make it to the bank by 5, or 6 on Fri.?)

    • 6pm Deposit deadline, or considered deposited the following business day.
    (So if you can't make it to the bank by 6pm Friday with your check that you can't mobile deposit because it's over $100, it's not considered deposited until Monday, and not available until Tuesday or Wednesday; longer if the decide to put a hold on it.

    • They do a hard credit check while opening your account, so it will have a negative effect on your credit score.

    • The bank just recently stopped using envelopes for depositing through the ATM. However, many of the banks still haven't updated their ATMs so you still have to use envelopes. Meaning the ATM doesn't automatically count up your cash or scan your checks to verify the amount. So cash deposits aren't always available as soon as you deposit them.

    Overall I dispise this bank due to its lack of what I call SERVICE. Of course they can get you by, but there are better banks out there that can have your hard earned money available ASAP. This bank isn't there for your convenience, it's there to serve its self.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • F
    Reviewed By Frustratedbbtcust Aug 11, 2016

    Would Give a Negative Rating If Possible

    I deposited a large sum of money I received from selling my car at a large nationwide dealership 8 days ago. The funds have yet to be made available in my account. I have never seen a bank withhold funds like this before. I will be closing my account as soon as that check clears. 8+ days to clear a certified check? You have got to be kidding me!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • H
    Reviewed By HamSmith Aug 9, 2016

    Can I give BB&T A Minus Rating? They deserve it

    Susquehanna was a reasonably competent bank but then it was taken over by BB&T and it's all been downhill since then.. We'd banked with Susquehanna for years and never had a problem. They had a system where we could EFT money from one account to another quickly and efficiently. Since BB&T's takeover this transfer involves live checks sent through the mail which can take up to five days. I guess with BB&T being from NC, that's how they do it in the backward states.
    Only last week I had set up a bill pay for my Amex account. Only it didn't get paid on time which had Amex charging me a $27 late fee all due to BB&T somehow being unable to transfer the funds on time. I checked my account and the bank had the transfer scheduled to take place a whole week later than I had requested. Hence the AMex late fee charge. I am still going around with them. I tried contacting the bank using the online email as I am presently out of the country. It took a week for them to tell me to call the bank.
    How backward are these people. Well I can tell you they are really dumb. In these days of IM and chat why does it take two to three days for an email to be answered. There's no reasonable excuse for any of this unless they are trying to hid something. Or their system has been hacked and they don't want to admit it.
    I am changing banks as soon as I can once I'm back in the US and I urge everyone out there to do the same. And certainly never get yourselves involved with this incompetent useless bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • I
    Reviewed By IWorkHard Aug 6, 2016

    Worst bank I've ever dealt with

    First off, let's start off with the fact that the ATM at the Cambridge branch is rarely working and this includes the new machine that was recently installed. For me to get cash elsewhere, including Royal Farms, which has "no surcharge" machines - BB&T will charge me TWO fees of $2.50 each for every withdrawal I do there. I asked BB&T to waive the fees since their ATM was not working at these times and the next closest branch is about 15 miles away. BB&T refused to waive the fees.

    Next issue with this bank - disputed charges. I had paid an ebay charge, which should have come from my Paypal account. Ebay instead took the money from my checking, which I did NOT authorize. This led to over $200 in overdraft fees. I disputed the charges and fees with BB&T and in their usual fashion, they said I approved the charge, which I DIDN'T. On top of all of that, while trying to contact their customer service department - I was literally on hold for 30-40 minutes each time, got disconnected 3 out of 4 times, as soon as an operator got on the line. I was literally on the phone for about half the night and I had to get up at 4:00 am to go to work. The kicker out of all that was that BB&T had the nerve to charge me $2 for each of the calls to customer service. Unbelievable!

    Now, let's talk about their most recent shenanigans. I had just changed jobs and got my first paycheck on the Thursday before Memorial Day weekend. This paycheck was for two weeks of work plus overtime with a net amount of $1056. I went to the branch at lunch time to deposit $856 and get $200 cash back. The teller made me wait for 10 minutes, then asked for my drivers license. She made me wait 10 more minutes, then said I could only have $100 and the rest of the money would not be available until Wednesday - 6 days to have access to my payroll check?!?!? Give me a break. She said the reasoning was because the check was "too much." I hate to think what they do to people who actually make a lot of money, because in my world a $1000 check for two weeks work (working 11 hours a day) is not all that spectacular. I had bills that needed to get paid and clearly BB&T does not understand the fact that when a lot of people deposit a paycheck, they do that because they are going to write checks to pay bills, not just give that money to the bank to hang onto until it decides that I'm allowed access to the money that I earned.

    I've never dealt with such a horrible bank in my life. I'm literally tempted to just cash all my checks at the bank where they're drawn on and bury the money in a coffee can in my yard. That's how horrible BB&T is.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • V
    Reviewed By Viva Aug 5, 2016

    $2 customer service phone call

    Ridiculous service! BB&T give you only two free calls a month!
    If you have more than two questions a month - you have to pay $2 for each next answer over the phone!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By BMW Aug 3, 2016

    The WORST!!

    They have one person working drive thru and walk ins. You'll wait 10 or more minutes before she can help you. They over work their employees and make their customers wait! BB&T is worth 2.5 billion dollars! Same one in Boynton Beach! Get some help in your banks we pay enough for services or I'll find another bank! They made me select a star or I can't post. I would give them 0 stars!!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By billrosenblatt Jul 31, 2016

    Incompetent

    We recently sold a house in Philadelphia and were on the receiving end of a mortgage that our buyers took out at this bank, which used to be Susquehanna Bank but was recently taken over by BB&T, a big chain based in North Carolina. The people there are experienced at mortgage lending but new to this bank's procedures.

    These people just plain do not have their act together. Their level of communication was poor, they missed one schedule commitment after another, were unfamiliar with certain state requirements, and even screwed up the date on which the closing was to take place. The realtor in the transaction -- an experienced broker at one of the biggest and most respected real estate firms in the Philadelphia area -- was representing both parties, which put her between a rock and a hard place. At many points during this deeply frustrating process, she tried to convince the buyers to "jump ship" to a more reliable mortgage lender, but they would not, so we had to see the process through. Through the realtor's perseverance, we finally got it over the finish line -- almost two weeks after the date that BB&T represented to us as their targeted settlement date.

    The combination of ineptitude and poor communication adds up to a bank that I would not recommend doing business with, at least not for mortgage lending.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.