B+ MyBankTracker Rating

BB&T Customer Reviews

(296 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 34
4 Star 7
3 Star 9
2 Star 23
1 Star 223

The Most Helpful BB&T Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By kburriss Jun 29, 2015

5 Stars!

Andrea Brown has been nothing but a huge help for us! I am so glad we chose to open our account with the Taneytown BB&T!

Thank you for all of the help and keep up the great work :)

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Danielle Feb 28, 2013

Omg! The Worst. Please Stay Away!

Funds that's transferred to your account will always be late. Days late. I had funds transferred to my acct. On 15th feb. 2013 & didn't get it until 21st feb. 2013. Right now, i am waiting for a transfer that was wired on 22nd feb. 2013 & guess what? Yep. I am still waiting! Again, please stay away! Don't say you haven't been warned. Here's how i rate my experience.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest BB&T Reviews

  • H
    Reviewed By Hlh Jul 21, 2016

    excessive fees

    it all started when i was written a check from someone and the check was returned. No problem, I told the person that wrote the check... they wrote another check and i deposited it. I was surprised and angered when i received notice that I was being charged 12 dollars for someone else "bouncing" a check. I call and expressed my disappointment with the bank, all they could say was "well that's our policy". So i said ok, I will look for another bank. I did, and found a bank that has great reviews. I kept my bbt bank account open, and began the tedious job of switching online banking payments to my new bank. well, i missed a payment that was scheduled to go out, It was my fault. What infuriates me is the "policy" of the bank. when i went to my local branch, after being charged 252 dollars in fees, they said well we can only "forgive" 76 dollars. OK, you got me... well today i received through the mail their overdraft notices. I'm sure i'll get another in a day or so, but I was charged 36 dollars for a 2.94 dollar return, and 108.00 for a 55.96 dollar return.

    DO YOURSELF A FAVOR, STAY AWAY FROM THIS BANK...UNLESS YOU HAVE MONEY TO GIVE THEM....AND TRUST ME THEY WILL TAKE IT....

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By Jeepers Jul 21, 2016

    BB&T in Bath, PA.

    Bath, PA Rt. 946.........Windows were closed. Had to go inside to make two transactions. Polite people but they knew nothing. At least a half hour later, I cashed a personal check & put some in savings. I was carded. I had a long wait for them to get 5 $100.00 bills. I asked them for a check sample so I could order new ones. They have no checks. They will order checks for me. I said no, I will order my own checks because it will cost less. They didn't not have a blank check for BB&T to give me. I have never heard of a bank that had no checks. This BB&T is scary for me. I can't believe how STUPID the employees are & even the boss lady who was the helper. Blind leading the blind.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By pgizmo Jul 20, 2016

    Worst bank ever.

    This Bank and its management are the worst I have ever dealt with.

    The main manager, a disgustingly overweight woman, (Luann Robinson) who talks more than she listens, thinks she is some sort of mother to the customers she treats as unruly children. She is dishonest, and a complete bitch.

    She promotes a culture were you are PRIVILEGED to bank there, as if it is something she allows. She does not get or act as though you are a customer. They feel they dont "need" you... you need them.

    They ALLOW you access to YOUR money.

    The teller staff is a collection of bitches. They act as though you are reaching into THEIR pockets taking THEIR money when making a withdrawal.

    I cant think of a single good thing to say about ANY experience I had while dealing with this den of cunts.*

    It kinda started on one of my first experiences... I sat in the waiting area KNOWING I needed a banker... not a teller. The branch manger asked me what I needed... I started to say "well... I need to deposit these checks and..." she cut me off and said "deposits are done at the tellers" and started to walk away. "She sensed I was perturbed with her response, and said, "you need to go to the teller line for deposits. " I smiled and said ok! Went to the teller line, waited in line for a few min, and then showed the teller that I needed to deposit some checks and cash, but first need to get signature cards on the accounts as well as group multiple accounts together under the same profile as they were set up online... As expected... she sent me back to the bankers. The only guy in the place, an inept but friendly fella named Alex did help... although he screwed it all up and even today the signature cards and groupings are a source of problems.

    They canceled all my credit cards while I was traveling... no one can explain why.

    my online banking access was revoked... no one can explain why.

    A block was placed on an account with thousands in it... I cant get the money untill they can close the account... I cant have MY money untill they figure things out.

    The bank is so screwed up, I would rather bank with the government or a 3 time felon thief than these idiots.

    I went to the counter to try and withdraw the last of my funds the other day... I could only get half... signature cards were STILL screwed up... as I left I told the woman (who was acting like a real bitch... as though I was begging her for her money) "I am done with this bank...I will be here monday to close every account. FUCK bbt."

    Monday morning Fatty Pants calls... tells me its HER closing my accounts "I hear you made quite the spectacle of yourself and swore at my tellers!"

    This makes me laugh... you wanna "scold" me and punish me by closing my accounts? What she didnt know was in my pocket was a cashiers check for $630,000.00 from the sale of a business. That check was deposited in my new account at another bank that was OVERJOYED to have a new customer... and 3 of the people that came in to welcome me ALL said they had heard identical complaints about BBt and the oak st branch.

    I would rather shove pinecones dipped in superglue up my own arse than ever deal with BBT in any way. I own several websites...I am blocking every single BBT BIN from being able to use my sites. If there was any way I could legally take a giant crap in the lobby, I would.

    My only hope is 2 things... 1 Every bitch in that branch reads this, and 2... customers seeking a bank see this and look elsewhere. (my real hope is the company folds in bankruptcy and every person I dealt with is laid off being owed money... but I will settle for them just losing business becasue of me.)

    Tiffany is an absolute sweetheart. She is as efficient as she is beautiful. She is so out of place among these morbidly obese morons its scary. She defines diamond in the rough.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By sonofmickeymouse Jul 19, 2016

    Rude, pretentious, disrespectful, lying, indignant, condesending, oh yeah did I say disrespectful.

    Rude, pretentious, disrespectful, lying, indignant, condesending, oh yeah did I say disrespectful. Security of trust account broken into twice, customer service not in timely fashion, my banking business discussed with someone not associated with my account (they failed that test). RUN PEOPLE FROM THIS BANK IT IS NOT A SAFE PLACE FOR YOUR MONEY.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • E
    Reviewed By eqharel Jul 13, 2016

    ATM Deposit Gone Horribly Wrong

    Yesterday I used the ATM to deposit Cash into my business account. I inserted my card and followed the prompts as I've done several times before. After inserting my money and waiting on it to total out and give me a receipt the screen went back to its original state as if nothing had happened. No receipt no money back...nothinh. I went inside and the teller tells me it doesn't show my deposit and that she has to send an email inquiring about the deposit but couldn't give me a time line or something of when this issue would be resolved. There was no sense of urgency or concern about my money and why or when it would be posted to my account. I've been banking with BB&T for over a decade. I can't believe how horrible they're handling or not handling this important issue.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By Lorrie20109 Jun 24, 2016

    Branch Manager

    BB&T Sudley Road Branch
    7801 Sudley Road, Manassas, VA 20109
    My husband has had a business account with this bank sense 1994 we have never had any problems cashing our checks untill today now all of the sudden after all these years they say each person has to come in with Id in hand to cash the checks wow so for all these years gone by anything could of happened now yall want to be safe really this is crazy and a burden because my mortgage payment is due today good job way to go yall rock NOT!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By bstokes Jun 18, 2016

    Potential Home Buyers Be Aware

    This has got to be the worst bank, including National Penn Bank. We are currently selling our home and two possible buyers were both denied by National Penn Bank and BB & T. This bank provides Pre-Qualification Letters for people who do not qualify. This bank also makes potential buyers pay for their appraisal without even first checking their credit. You would think the first step would be to check their credit rating before moving forward, but they do not. With our first potential buyer, when it came to the banks commitment day, our agent needed to be transferred to 6 different people because the loan agent was on vacation. Well, we found out that person did not qualify after waiting 2 months for this information. Why did it take two months to find out they could not verify her employment? Again, they had her pay for the appraisal, home inspections, at her own expense, only to be denied. Our second potential buyer, the same thing. With this buyer, the bank did not meet their commitment date and nobody could even call us to let us aware. When our agent was finally able to got in touch with someone, we were told they needed to exceed the commitment date for another 20 some days or longer. Why, when they already had all of the load paperwork for 2 months? This all took place the week we were supposed to close. This bank does not know what one hand is doing. Our agent was informed that they assigned the loan to a title company, why when this was already done and they had not idea. How can this be? This merger should not effect the customer, and it did. I called this bank myself to complain and was transferred to someone not even in the mortgage loan department. He informed me that I would have a call by the end of the day with an answer. Well, we all know that did not happen. I called the bank the next day to complain again and was told that this buyer did not qualify. Why would it take over 2 months and for them to ask for an extension, to verify employment and credit and then deny the loan? To me, this bank is nothing but a scam to take potential buyer money, in the hopes of getting a loan. I have never heard of a bank making someone pay for an appraisal without first checking their employment and credit. We just wasted 4 months with our house being under a contact and this bank not following up on their loans.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By Lehman Jun 17, 2016

    Tellers refusal to cash check

    My husband and I have three accounts with BB&T. Today a teller at this bank on highway 9 refused to cash a check in my husbands name for me.She said because he must be there with me. Seriously, the man works 10 hour days ,how is that possible ?I was told to go to a bank where they know me.Thankfully the bank on rt.17 south in NMB cashed it, as they always do, and Ashley said she will handle the problem for me.Doubt I will ever use this highway 9 branch bank again.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By BBT_HATER Jun 10, 2016

    THIS BANK SUCKS!

    THEY ARE NO HELP AND CHARAGE YOU FOR EVERYTHING.
    I NEEDED TO KNOW ABOUT A DEPOSIT I MADE AND THEY CHARGED ME FOR GATHERING THE INFO I NEEDED.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By MMinDC Jun 9, 2016

    SEP ACCOUNT

    3 years ago I decided to use BB&T for my newly created business. I also decided (terrible move) to open a SEP employer sponsor account and do a rollover from 2 other banks that had my SEP -
    To open a SEP account took about 3 days - The rep. had no idea what I was talking about and BB&T did not have forms. I actually had to use a Capital One SEP form -
    The transfers took over 3 months. It was nightmare, the paperwork was lost, the branch supervisor did not know she had to sign it - It was a complete total chaos . The worst part is that at one point they tried to blame me. I had actually call a Vice President for the DC area and ask to help/ There was $5,000.00 "floating around" ( it was already taken from my old account but was not showing into the new SEP) Stupid me I kept the SEP open (closed the business checking account) and made regular deposits.
    EVERY SINGLE TIME I had to make a SEP deposit, there was a delay. The teller had to do something so special that needed a particular training, in fact I will get this " Sorry I have to call the supervisor because I don't know how to handle this transaction" It was so frustrating that I stopped going - I actually paid by assistant to make what should have been a simple deposit, but I refused to go inside. Two months ago I had to go in and make the deposit myself, and sure enough, the teller had to wait for another teller (who was busy) before could process my SEP deposit. It took 23 minutes. For 3 years I used the SAME branch.
    After the last experience and the pathetic interests the account was accruing i ( a whopping 15 cent per year) I decided to close it and to make a rollover to my personal bank (NFCU).
    Since BB&T forced my SEP money to be in a 3 month term CD I sent the paperwork to NFCU and request that my balance ($ 25K) be handled as a rollover - bank- to bank- at CD Maturity date on June 7 . Today June 9 I founded out the BB&T allegedly never received the request from NFCU. NFCU stated that the requested was mailed on May 23rd. I don't know who is telling the truth but NFCU faxed the request today June 9. To be noted that all my call MUST go thru the local branch as the Retirement Department is not accessible by anyone but ONLY to the Branch MANAGER. what kind of bank is this ??
    When I requested that the check be mailed to NFCU by registered mail I was told NO, even if I pay for the secure mail myself. I also requested to pick up the check at the branch but that too was turned down. "the check will be put in the regular mail in 3-5 days and mail to NFCU"
    This makes me very very nervous what if the check gets lost in the mail like the request ? How long before I can have my money? I can wait to close all ties with BB&T and stay away from this bank as far as possible.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.