Overall Rating

MyBankTracker Grade

B
Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Number of Locations
Mobile Deposits
Mobile Banking

1,858
Branch Locations

BB&T Location Map
We found branches close to you.

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank Rates
CIT Bank
Add
Bank Reviews
Suntrust Bank
Add
Bank Rates
Regions Bank
Add
Compare Banks

BB&T Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction

BB&T Latest Customer Reviews

FedUp304's Profile Image

Reviewed by FedUp304

Jul 24th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Good riddance

We have been banking with BB&T for years in several states. Our current local branch very convenient as it's right around the corner, and that's where the positives end. Highlights of the negatives: I've had to remind tellers at least half a dozen times that I was getting cash back (presumably an honest mistake but still), I once noticed that the wrong amount was entered electronically on a deposit slip (sloppy), and one of the floor managers takes the cake. She is lazy, rude and incompetent. She refused to notarize a common document for a house closing, claiming she "wasn't authorized." We took it down the street to another bank where we have no accounts and got it notarized with no problem. She slogs around the office as if she's doing the bank a favor by being there, and if she doesn't feel like helping you, she won't. A simple request for an account confirmation letter was refused because she claimed she couldn't verify we have accounts there (Um, hello? Try looking on your computer, which is how I log into my own account!). We offered to do that and provide our ID and were dismissed with the "I'm not authorized" excuse and told our request would have to be sent to some department which would take three days and $20. So we went to another branch and received the requested letter in minutes, no questions asked, no fee charged, no b.s. Kudos to that employee, who was unfortunately an aberration from my typical BB&T experiences.

I filled in the form online to report a complaint and two weeks later have received no response. Big surprise (not).

Went into the bank today to let them know we will be using our debit card overseas, and I received a patronizing lecture from the sour-faced manager about how despite letting them know, the card could still be blocked. Whatever. It's a back up since I'm already in the process of transferring our accounts elsewhere. Oh, and they also charge outrageous fees on foreign ATM withdrawals.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

LauraWiggins's Profile Image

Reviewed by LauraWiggins

Jul 23rd 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Rude tellers

Just wanted the branch to know that I dislike going to their location because the tellers in the drive through window always seem extremely rude. They never look happy and act like it's a pain to help you because they don't go out of their way expect what they're suppose to do. I get it, it's not part of their job, but just because it's not written in your job description doesn't mean you should turn your nose up. I'll be using other locations from now on.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

aelaf18's Profile Image

Reviewed by aelaf18

Jun 30th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst experience

BB&T bank is the worst bank to deal with when it comes to your own money. Funds were already released a week ago and next thing I know, my whole account was held blocked to a negative balance because I did't sign the back of the check, and LRM telling my "my case is with an other agent and that they are not available to help me. This is the kind of unprofessional job a cooperate company could ever do. Instead of blocking all my funds and playing with my money, why not call to ask me to go to the branch and sign the back of the check but bb&t will call u every day to sell you there product. Obscure.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

dazzleme's Profile Image

Reviewed by dazzleme

May 28th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Banking Experience

I opened a BB&T bank account because of the convenient location to my office. Since opening this account six months ago I have had more problems with my account than I ever had. This bank couldn't get debit cards to us for nearly two months and have the worst customer service.

This has been the worst banking experience I have ever had. Do not bank with them! Take your money and run!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

worstbank00's Profile Image

Reviewed by worstbank00

May 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Holding my check/ Worst bank

I had a fire in my apartment. waited 5 months to get the check. I went to BB&T to open a new account with the insurance check that was sent to me. They said it was going to be a 7 day hold on the check. Okay Cool. I went online to log into my online banking and it says account account locked. I call in to customer service and they tell me that the account was closed at the simple fact there was a check that was fraudulent with my social at another bank. In such shock I say well why didn't know one contact me to tell me that I was flagged you guys have my information. The representative tell me that the check from my insurance company could be fraud to. I tell them that I have nothing to do with someone using my information to try to deposit a fraudulent check at another bank.

I drive to my local bank and when speaking to the manager, he tells me the check has to run his course threw the fraudulent department, I tried to show him all my documentation from my insurance company and he refused to look. He tells me "nobody walks in the bank with a $14,500 check"," you could be trying to pull a dosy on me" I told him sir I have all my documentation even the paper that you notarized from the insurance company. Then he states to me that there is no number to contact the fraud department they will have to contact me.

I am in great discuss at this manager and I have already filled a complaint with the better business bureau and with corporate for him not finding a solution to my problem.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

SherriFields61's Profile Image

Reviewed by SherriFields61

May 19th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Mortgage

I have been a BB&T customer for years. I have a line of credit, a commercial mortgage, and my home mortgage with them. I have never missed a payment nor been late. This morning I pulled the third letter from their mortgage department telling me I was late with my April house payment. I went on line and checked because I was sure I had made the payment. And I had. It was due the 29th, it was made and cleared my account on April 30th. I'm not sure what has happened with them since the beginning of the year, but I'm looking at moving all my accounts away from them. When I call, I'm on hold for minutes. Their customer service has gotten sorry. I would no longer recommend this bank to anyone.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Farukh's Profile Image

Reviewed by Farukh

May 14th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst experience with BB&T mortage officer.

Unfortunately I cannot provide the full details about what happened in my case, because the number of characters is limited here. But I will mention that this was my worst experience dealing with mortgage officer of BB&T, who was incompetent and negligent and who caused me a lost house, lost appraisal fee money, inspection fee, two months of time and a depression. I would not recommend to anyone to deal with BB&T mortgage.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

coatichin's Profile Image

Reviewed by coatichin

May 11th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Stay Away From This Bank. They Are Thieves. The Things They Do Should Be Illegal!

If you don't have a lot of money, this is not the bank for you. They will charge you hundreds of dollars in insufficient funds fees by taking out larger check amounts before smaller ones that were already pending and holding deposits. I deposited a $5000.00 check on May 7 from my father. They will not release it until May 16 -- even though it cleared my fathers account on the same day I deposited it. I will probably get hit with many more fees before then from automatic withdraws that come out of my account. I am going to go on my day off to the credit union and open an account. As soon as i can get my direct deposits changed over, I will be rid of them. People really need to get together and fight these thieves. Close your accounts. If they have no more money to steal, maybe they will disappear. I also have to ask how the government lets them get away with what they do.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

stoneking's Profile Image

Reviewed by stoneking

May 6th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Bad bank

I get paid every other week and when I deposit my check they only give me $100 dollars and i have a bill taken out they set me back $36 dollars in the negative. If you don't have a lot of money in bb&t, it's not the bank for a poor guy like me so they steal money from the poor in that if you don't have no money to cover your bill -- you're done for. Not fair.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Lightworkx4's Profile Image

Reviewed by Lightworkx4

Apr 25th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Dishonest and Very Illegal!

In 2011, my accounts were breached and my personal Statements were given to a 3rd party without any legal permission. This was done by an Executive Vice President of Commercial lending out of the Newport News Virginia office. I call it "The good old boys club!" Wait for it, because now 2 publishers from New York City are buying the rights to the book.

The FBI will be given all the data so be on the watch for this story through Reuters. This will make wonder how far the corruption in our banking system goes.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

tnnntjhn's Profile Image

Reviewed by tnnntjhn

Apr 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Deceptive Loan Practices

Do not do business with this bank. They tried to reduce 100% verified income by 50%, which is illegal per the FTC under the mortgage discrimination laws (complaint was filed). Then they kept trying to add back in student loans that were consolidated, even after I communicated several times that these loans had been conolidated. There is little to no communications or call backs, the underwriting process is weak and deceptive and seems to rely on illegal practices. They then tried to push me into a high fee point loan which would have required high out of pocket costs after selling me on another product that I would have easily qualified for if they would have underwrote the loan correctly.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Ursula's Profile Image

Reviewed by Ursula

Apr 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Lost a 15 year client over $10.00.

If I was you I would never bank at BB&T ever! I am a 15 year account holder that will be closing my account over a $10.00 fee that they charged and stated that while it was not charged correctly they will not refund it. Spread the word! (Share if you would like!)

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

tscat007's Profile Image

Reviewed by tscat007

Apr 11th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

"Selena" Wins worst employee of the year award

I have had a commercial banking account with BB&T bank for the last 5 years. I run roughly on average $50,000 per month through this bank. The fees this bank charges are criminal. If I need any historical financial data it cost me roughly $150 each time to obtain it. (My accountant lost a lot of my files). I'm charged a $9.95 fee per month to link my account to quick books.

Their hours are typical banking hours. Their 800 phone number makes it very, very difficult to reach a human on the phone even if you have an account and absolutely impossible if you do not have an account. Their outside ATM use fees are high. Their own ATMs are antiquated. Their ATM's never have deposit envelopes for afterhours or they are soaked with rainwater. They don't show check images for deposits, they recommended I take a picture of my deposits with my smart phone and email the pictures to myself!

Whenever I have a problem and call the closest branch to me (Newnan, GA Main Branch) the customer service personnel do not do anything they say they are going to do, so do not get your hopes up when they say they will "look into that and call you back". They act as if they are doing me a favor by talking to me in the first place and Selena, an employee there will not do anything for you period but hey at least she is bilingual and that is very important to the people who speak the native language here in the USA. Selena only refers me to the BB&T branch that I opened my account with located in Fayetteville, GA. and stops there. All the while Chase Bank has been courting me and asking for my business to switch to their bank including purchasing new check stock to make the transition seamless.

In 5 years BB&T never showed the first ounce of appreciation of my business. Thus I have since switched banks and for good reason. In the 3 months I have been with Chase the banker has contacted me at least 5 times to discuss any needs I may have.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

fhpmanagementgmail's Profile Image

Reviewed by fhpmanagementgmail

Apr 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Dishonest and Extremely Sneaky!

We moved bank accounts from Bank of America, Wells Fargo to BB&T, thinking that they had good customer service. We signed up for the overdraft protection which was a line of credit we were told they would never be any fees we just pay the interest on the money we borrowed.

We did this for several years with no problems. My husband and I very rarely check our bank account or look at the statements we know what we're spending and we know we have the money to cover it if we don't, it's covered by the protection plan we always just move the money back. After looking at our today going back several months we found we have been charged over $400 in fees due to a Ainu $9 fee that they enacted but never notified their clients about.

Today I called the bank and ask them if they could go ahead and reverse those charges since they never notified a I was told no but in the future if I didn't want to be charged the $9 fee I can move the money myself. Use caution when using this thanks they are very sneaky and often put things in fine print or do not notify you of changes. Very disappointed we just did another refinance they have several loans with us and several accounts. Bad customer service for this instance.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jeffo's Profile Image

Reviewed by jeffo

Apr 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible phone service.

Trying to get a third health savings access card for daughter. Finally made contact, then only two show up in mail. Took 45 minutes to finally contact person the first time who took information. Now we have to do same thing again.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

vick's Profile Image

Reviewed by vick

Apr 8th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

awful

The bank took over BankAtlantic and now they are charging their new customers plenty of bank fees. Watch your statements guys these guys can and will start charging you fees at will. There is very little notice and they won't waive the fees or return your money even if you close the account. They also have no way to speak to a customer service representative. All the numbers you get are automated. They promise they will have a branch manager call you back and instead they send you to collections for a $30 balance and then charge you an additional $35 for the privilege of closing your account. I will now be moving all my work's money out of this treacherous bank into a bank that is more company friendly.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Aladdin's Profile Image

Reviewed by Aladdin

Mar 31st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Not good

People very nice but...

Charges higher than Bank of America.

Can't ever reach a real person on the phone at 800 number.

Very complicated to open business e-savings.

Can't find way to open personal e-savings on site.

Dislike the look of accounts online.

No response to messages online.

Always end up going into the bank for help.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

RobertWhipple's Profile Image

Reviewed by RobertWhipple

Mar 30th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Many of their employees are very non-professional and lie regularly to customer -- then they black ball your credit!

I have a mortgage with them and call and asked to defer the principle payment until the end of the loan so I could do needed repairs to sell the house. Their mortgage loan agent that talked to told me that I could do that for six months without any problems. The amount to be paid, for the interest and mortgage insurance was agreed upon.

The next month payment for the mortgage was reduced to the amount agreed. The following months payment was also reduced to that same amount. Then I got a message from BB&T that my mortgage loan was in default and I had to correct the no payment for two month. I call and talked to another agent and she informed me that the payments I had been making had not been applied to any part of the loan, the interest, etc. and that they had cancelled my mortgage insurance!

Since they had my mortgage in foreclosure I had to pay the full two months payment right then! I finally got her to acknowledge that they had a substantial amount of money that was being held somewhere and she would track it down and get it applied. She also gave me an exact amount that would bring the loan up to current and since we were already well into the next month, she included the third months payment in the that total amount. I paid the amount to the penny as agreed and then received a call from them informing me that my loan was in foreclosure! The fact that I had paid the full three months of payments did not matter. She also demanded that I pay the three months or lose the house.

After much discussion, she admitted that I had in fact made a payment, but the amount was wrong. They were demanding another full months payment to bring it up to current. Since I had been lied to already we agree that a four month payment plan would be ok. Then they destroyed my credit rating for the first 8 months of the year and refuse to consider their part in it and will not correct their screw up! Very very poor business to work with, lies and more lies.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MrMoney's Profile Image

Reviewed by MrMoney

Mar 30th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Terrible Customer Service

Border line ignorant! If you are having a bad day ask to leave you should never treat your customer like $#!T. After waiting 30 minutes to connect with customer service this idiot N.B. hung up the phone while I was talking. This is only 1 account of 5 that I have with the bank but I can say for sure by noon Monday all of my accounts will be closed!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

abahabah's Profile Image

Reviewed by abahabah

Mar 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

horrible

I am quite upset. I was told that if I had a recurring automatic deposit into this account over 100 dollars I would not receive a maintenance fee. However I have continued to receive this maintenance fee. The 10 dollar monthly fee is exorbitant. (There is no bank on the planet that charges this type of fee)

Apparently they changed requirements (Just up and changed it---& didn't grandfather in their loyal clients who had agreed to different terms)They up and changed the minimum deposit amount to 500--I should have paid attention--They reimbursed 20 of the 80 dollars they stole. (I found out 8 months after the change---They are not legally liable---because they sent out a notice)

What a scam! They must have made upwards of a million on this one.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

marykpfaison's Profile Image

Reviewed by marykpfaison

Mar 15th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

the worst ever no business in customer service

We called about pending fraudulent activity, and realize no actions can take place without the charges being complete however the rep did not ask or verify charges, blocked the card as it is still in our possession. We have no idea how the charges even occurred. When asked to have the card overnighted we were given the option of a free card by going to the branch. We were told it would cost $30 to have the card expedited. We do not go out often as our children are special needs and this would require a lot of work to have this done. I asked to have this waived as a courtesy and was told they apologize for my life difficulties but the charge would take place regardless. The 2 different reps, the initial and her supervisor, were condescending and need to go back to training class if they are working in fraud to understand the frustration of having this happen as now 2 loan payments will be declined due to this. Further, neither verified a new card was ordered and when it will be sent out. So now we have to call back for another 30 minute hold time to have this information given.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

sageman07's Profile Image

Reviewed by sageman07

Mar 14th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible bank. Terrible customer service. Treated like a criminal. Closing accounts and going to First Tennessee.

Had friends taxes deposited into account because they did not have one. BBT held the funds. Was told they needed her to sign some papers to release but she could not get up to bank and we were only given three days notice before funds would be sent back to IRS. Got signed power of attorney notarized as well as a notarized letter from her allowing the deposit. Venus, the manager, would not accept. Had to get her to leave work which she was written upfor in order to sign the papers. She ended up not having to sign anything but took copies of everything to fax to legal (so she said). Still has to be approved and funds will not be available until then. Venus acted like I was trying to commit fraud on a bank account in my name. Will never do business with again. Cancelled and moved all my business and personal accounts for my entire family. They are not the police or the irs and have no right to hold funds. A power of attorney is a legal document they have to recognize yet they wouldn't. I have deposited family members irs returns many times over the years with other banks with no issues. This bank is terrible. There are far more customer friendly banks out there where respectable, law abiding citizens are not treated like criminals and just a number. Their policies are terrible. They charge for everything. OD fees are $36 (highest around) and they do not allow you to cover in the same business day even though funds are not closed out till the end of the business day. These guys are the real crooks of the banking community.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

time2review's Profile Image

Reviewed by time2review

Mar 13th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Drone like customer service representatives

I'm not sure when BB & T quit counting coins but am disappointed that they will happily count my bills with a machine but not coins with a machine. I was told to use the coin counter before approaching the cashier she couldn't possibly count $20 worth of coins. Why is this left to the customer? When did the bank stop counting money?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

RobinW's Profile Image

Reviewed by RobinW

Mar 11th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

The best bank we have ever experienced!

We have been living overseas for the past 8 years and have continued banking with BB&T, dealing almost exclusively with the Cedar Lane Branch. With sons and daughters in college and in the military (in the USA) we have had a multitude of financial issues that we have needed help with, sometimes due to emergencies. Without fail, the people at the Cedar Lane Branch have helped to resolve our problem and have always been courteous and pleasant. In particular, Wayne Chen has been helping us for years and it is always a relief to have him answer the phone.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mandyjmoore's Profile Image

Reviewed by mandyjmoore

Mar 6th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great Service

My mom's accounts were here and when she passed away, as the executor of her estate, I needed a lot of help with the detailed accounting required. The staff at this branch was always helpful and never seemed put out by my requests. They were accommodating and quick to respond, which was such a relief under the circumstances.

I set up an estate account through this branch to pay remaining bills and found that their online tools were great.

I didn't have any exposure to their rates or fees since I only had checking accounts with them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

marielamatute's Profile Image

Reviewed by marielamatute

Mar 5th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

under federal law is very sirious offense

under federal law is very sirious offense to open an account to any indivudual o corporation that presents false documentation, this is beyond my comprehension that your bank would be involved in something like that; I am requesting full refund of my wire transfer ASAP or you would leave me no choice but to proceede with a law suit just like my attorneys are advising me.

1100008457792 your bank confirmed that belongs to Factory Closeouts Inc; tha�s why I went ahead with the transaction therefore it is your full responsability and I expect You to Act properly in this matter.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Halfpintthedog's Profile Image

Reviewed by Halfpintthedog

Mar 5th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Poor

Paid off an auto loan with BB&T and it took over 2 months to receive my lien release. Contacted the bank on multiple occasions and was given the same run around until finally had to go to bank and get a notarized letter stating that the loan was paid in full to give to new lien holder. Paperwork finally arrived post dated 64 days after pay-off.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

fossettdiva's Profile Image

Reviewed by fossettdiva

Mar 4th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great Bank!!

I don't understand the negative comments about BB&T on this website. My experiences with this bank are all positive.

Susan Custred and Brenda Holdridge at the Branch in Mt. Airy Md 21771 have gone over and beyond for my family. In fact every teller and everyone at that branch have always been

extremely helpful.

My Mother unexpectedly became ill. We had to attach POA on her account and make sure her bills were being paid correctly. They helped us with all the details going over and beyond every step of the way. They asked about her and I really felt they considered her a friend. I felt they treated us like a family member. Thank You BB&T..

Jacqueline

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

HaroldHatcher's Profile Image

Reviewed by HaroldHatcher

Mar 3rd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible Bank the worst Ive ever dealt with

I was a customer with Coastal Federal when BBT bought it out.�Initially BBT said that I could order new checks 24/7 at no cost to me. Wrong on all accounts. All of it a lie.��

A local branch manager told me that my account was not the right account and I was moved into the right FREE account. Another lie! ��

Six months later I found that they had been charging me $5 a month for the "free" account. They refused to refund the $30 I had paid for my free account.

Again, I felt I'd had enough so, told them to close the account. Then they changed their mind and refunded the money, so I stayed.

��My son entered College. He needed gas so I wrote him a $20 check on my BBT account. BBT charged him $8 to cash it.

BBT took almost half of my son's gas money. ALMOST HALF, from a struggling college student!!��

I complained about it and they told me they were providing my son a service by cashing a check drawn on their own bank. Their own check, because he didn't have an account.

I said, "of course he doesn't have an account he has no job, no income. He's a college student and he lives with me" Made no difference to BBT! They NEEDED my son's money more than he did.

��I looked into closing the account again but it very complicated to change banks.�� I have a lot of direct deposits and payments.

My home and my RV are financed with BBT. They offered a Visa with no interest for 12 months on anything I purchase, so I applied.

My Visa was DECLINED because my son had 2 (two) LATE payments on a car loan that I co-signed for him almost two years ago! TWO LATE PAYMENTS! TWO!��!!

This, after me being a customer for nearly 20 years and paying every payment on my house, RV and equity account (for over eight (8) years) exceeding $2,000.00 a month, on time, every time. I was never late and I never missed a pay

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MICKEYCOKER's Profile Image

Reviewed by MICKEYCOKER

Mar 1st 2014

4 out of 5 marks

ALWAYS FRIENDLY. NEVER HAVE TO WAIT VERY LONG FOR SERVICE.

THEIR OFFICER ROBIN MCMAHAN HAS ALWAYS GONE ABOVE AND BEYOND AS FAR AS MAKING MY BANKING EXPERIENCE AT THAT BRANCH QUICK AND PLEASANT.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Post a review