A MyBankTracker Rating

Charles Schwab Bank Customer Reviews

(32 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 8
4 Star 1
3 Star 0
2 Star 1
1 Star 22

The Most Helpful Charles Schwab Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Max_Power Jan 28, 2013

Fantastic, All Around

I've been with schwab for about 1. 5 months now, and i've been extremely impressed. I was reluctant to go with such a large corporate institution, but my experience has only been positive. I don't know what a guy has to do to get charged a fee at schwab, but, i haven't been charged one yet. In addition to the niceties you'd expect from a well rated online bank (free atm use at any atm, no maintenance fees, free online billpay, etc. ) there are things here you simply can't find anywhere else:

1) free checks. I don't mean you get your first 100 checks free. I mean free checks. Always. 2) atm fee reimbursements. I don't mean, reimbursement of the first $5 per month. I don't mean only in your state, or even your country. I mean, reimbursement of all atm fees, everywhere in the world. That's right. I can take money out of an atm in thailand and they'll reimburse the fee. 3) speaking of thailand, no currency conversion fees. Other banks, in addition to not reimbursing international atm fees will also charge you a percentage of your withdrawal just for 'converting' it to the local currency. Schwab does not charge this fee.

Aside from that, i've had to call customer service a few times. Awesome. It's not farmed out to india. It's not some stoner playing angry birds while he's talking to you. I'd swear i was talking to a real bank manager everytime. I generally hate calling customer support but, everytime i've hung up the phone with a schwab representative, i'm downright ecstatic that they are my bank. You know, the concept of a bank fails without depositor accounts. I don't mean they'd do less business or make less money. I mean there simply would not be banks without depositor accounts. So, it's really nice to finally find a bank that 'gets' that and treats depositors as they should. Which is to say: grateful to have your money in their bank. -joe

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By skipper29 Oct 8, 2014

Used to be Good, Not anymore

I had a brokerage account and a high yield checking account. I was using my ATM/Checking far too often (online shopping, traveling, etc---FYI: I never over drafted or bounced a check). But I decided to open a new checking account with them to better manage my finances for the holidays and the new year and close the current one. Guess what?

I was denied a new checking account due to something they perceived negative on my credit report. Not only was I denied a new checking account but they ended up closing my current one at random. I find it interesting that they kept the brokerage account alive and well. Point being, if you have good credit this bank may not be for you. I think they require excellent or near perfect credit. (yes, they do pull a hard inquiry on your credit when you attempt to open an account).

Is this review helpful?

Latest Charles Schwab Bank Reviews

  • L
    Reviewed By Lmaussi Apr 20, 2016

    Mislaid my money!

    On March 6, 2016 I transferred the remaining funds from a bank in Connecticut to our checking account at Charles Schwab bank using their 'external transfer' feature, which I had used multiple times before between these two banks. To avoid paying a fee, I called the CT bank on March 8 and asked that they close the account, which they did.
    The money showed up in the Schwab account and then disappeared on March 22. I called them asking why and was told they couldn't get confirmation of the originating account and so sent the money back. I called the CT bank and they said as the account was closed, they sent the money back to Schwab on March 24. It is now April 20 and the money (just under $7,000) is still 'missing'. Schwab keeps telling me 'sorry' but obviously is doing nothing. I have a contact and a case number and all the contact says is 'sorry, we're working on it'. My question is: If there was an issue with the funds, why wasn't I contacted. They have multiple ways of doing that: In their system using the "message center", via email, phone or text but they chose to do nothing but return the funds to a closed account. The CT bank has been very helpful, calling the Schwab contact (who doesn't call back) and providing them with transaction numbers, etc. to the Schwab person's voicemail. As soon as this is resolved, I am closing the account and moving elsewhere. Customer service deserves a ZERO.

    Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By ThomasM123 Mar 2, 2016

    Quite Disappointed

    I opened an account with this bank a couple years back and during the process, I had deposited a personal check that took an overtly long time to clear (I believe it was close to 10 days). Which caused me to overdraft my new account (the only time I have ever done so). I tried to explain the situation as I was preparing to move all my checking funds over to Charles Schwab. But they didn't seem to understand or give me a good explanation for the length of time it took to clear the check. I decided to close my account and the representative didn't try once to maintain/retain my business. I originally really liked Charles Schwab as a brokerage, but this soured the company overall for me.

    Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By RWA Nov 5, 2015

    CAN'T GIVE LESS THAN 1 STAR

    OPENED A CHECKING ACCT. AND MADE AN ELECTRONIC DEPOSIT TO FUND IT.I THEN FIND OUT THERES A 4 DAY HOLD ON MY DEPOSIT.THEY DON'T RESPOND TO EMAILS AND THEY PUT YOU ON HOLD FOREVER HOPING YOU'LL GO AWAY. IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE AND EASY ACCESS TO YOUR MONEY, DON'T GO HERE!

    Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By novelchick Sep 25, 2015

    I would give them a 0 if that was an option

    Charles Schwab really needs to work on their customer service! A week ago I spoke with an agent because I was interested in receiving a debit card before I left on a trip. I told him that I would be leaving in 2 weeks and was assured there would be no problem and they would expedite it for $15. He suggested that I go to the local branch to make a deposit and stated that as soon as the deposit was made that they could process the debit card and wouldn't need to wait for the hold that they would place on the funds ( that should have been my first clue-why would they put a hold on my money even after it has cleared my bank?) On Tuesday I drove 25 minutes to the local branch and made the deposit and was told I would need to call the toll free number to have the card sent. I called the number and was informed by another represenative that actually there would be a hold on my funds until the following Tuesday and they couldn't process the card before then. However he said to wait a couple of days and to call back once the funds had a chance to clear my current bank. On Friday I checked to make sure my check had cleared and called. I talked to the fourth representative who told me that he would need to have my identity verified by an independent representative before he could process the debit card. Now a fifth person comes on the phone and says that I can either go back down to the local Charles Schwab office and show them 2 forms of identification or I could take a "quiz." She warned me that if I failed this quiz I wouldn't be able to get my debit card. No redo. No problem on the first question. On the second question, she asked me what was the exact purchase price of a previous house we lived in 15 years ago. When I told her that I would have to look, she informed me that the time to answer the questions were limited. At that point I informed them that I just wanted to close the account. Her response simply was "fine". Now begins the rigmarole of getting my funds returned. Meanwhile I have no access to my trip funds.

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jef1028 Sep 14, 2015

    Horrible Customer Service

    Schwab turned off my debit/Visa card due to "fraud protection" because I made 1 purchase out of state for $98. What made it really frustrating is they never notified me. I found out 3 days later when trying to purchase groceries. I called customer service and they blamed it on Visa. I asked how come they didn't call or email me since they have all of my contact info, and they said its not their policy. The only way you are notified is when you try to make another purchase and get denied. Then it's YOUR responsibility to call them. The person I spoke with kept saying "I apologize" but couldn't answer any other questions. I've had other issues with Schwab but this will be the last one. Closing all accounts.

    Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By cac123 Jun 23, 2015

    Truly the Best

    If you do not do your banking with Schwab you need to reconsider.

    I have had a Brokerage account with a linked High Yield Checking account for the past six years and have yet to pay any sort of fee. You get unlimited checks for free, no foreign transaction/conversion fees, and refunds for all ATM bank fees anywhere in the world.

    In addition, every time I contact Schwab I hang up the phone in a better mood than when I called. I did not even know that was possible when calling customer service before them. They connect you with agents nearby and they are all very knowledgeable and go out of there way to help you. I have never had to call them because of an issue on there end, only for advice, travel notices, or change of address.

    I have used a variety of banks in the past and they have never come close to the experience with Schwab!

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By mbtietest33 Mar 4, 2015

    bad experience

    bad customer service on the phone

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By skipper29 Oct 8, 2014

    Used to be Good, Not anymore

    I had a brokerage account and a high yield checking account. I was using my ATM/Checking far too often (online shopping, traveling, etc---FYI: I never over drafted or bounced a check). But I decided to open a new checking account with them to better manage my finances for the holidays and the new year and close the current one. Guess what?

    I was denied a new checking account due to something they perceived negative on my credit report. Not only was I denied a new checking account but they ended up closing my current one at random. I find it interesting that they kept the brokerage account alive and well. Point being, if you have good credit this bank may not be for you. I think they require excellent or near perfect credit. (yes, they do pull a hard inquiry on your credit when you attempt to open an account).

    Is this review helpful?
  • F
    Reviewed By FuckSchwab Aug 20, 2014

    Charles Schwab is the Worst Bank Ever!

    Stay Away! Horrible! You will be sorry if you bank Here! Just get ready to waste the most precious thing on this earth if you bank with Charles Schwab! TIme! Problems with Debit/CreditCard, Slow Updates, Customer Service cant do shit for you.Name it they can fuck it up.The Experience is just a plain Nightmare period!

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By David20581 Jun 20, 2014

    Money locked and no one cares or does anything about it!

    I recently opened a Schwab Bank account because CNN called them one of the "least" evil banks today. I was using them just fine for over a year with no issues or complaints at all. They assured me when I signed up that even though there are no "local" branches near me in Minnesota I could call into the 24 hour phone line and request temporary ATM limits to access my money if necessary and so forth, so I went ahead and did it.

    Yesterday afternoon I called in to get a temporary 24 hour ATM card limit increase because I need to take some cash out for a international trip I have coming up. They hung up on me while I was on hold to confirm the limit has been raised for 24 hours. When I went to use the ATM it didn't work, so I called in to find out Instead of raising the limit they blocked all of my 3 ATM cards from being able to pull out any money and no one on the phone there knows how to lift the block. It's now been over 24 hours and not only have they not increased the ATM limit on my card for me, they blocked all my ATM cards from withdrawing any money.

    I've talked to customer service reps, managers, supervisors and now the "Client Advocacy Team" but still nothing, no one knows why my ATM cards are blocked, no explanations as to why its happening and no date if ever that they will be unblocked. Only way to get my money now is to close my accounts and hope they issue a check for the balance because they refuse to call me back or explain why they've locked my ATM cards, and I'm not willing to "FLY" to the nearest branch just to withdraw my money.

    Think twice before putting your money in the hands of Schwab, at any moment they may lock your account, say no one knows anything, and leave you high and dry for an "unknown" amount of time. Today is Friday so I'll have to cancel my upcoming trip on Sunday because the department that put the block on my account that apparently no one can get a hold of is closed on the weekend.

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.