Overall Rating

MyBankTracker Grade

C+
Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Number of Locations
Mobile Deposits
Mobile Banking

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »

65
Branch Locations

Citizens Bank Location Map
We found branches close to you.

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank Rates
CIT Bank
Add
Bank Rates
Santander Bank
Add
Bank Rates
KeyBank
Add
Compare Banks

Citizens Bank Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction

Citizens Bank Latest Customer Reviews

GettingEric's Profile Image

Reviewed by GettingEric

Mar 15th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

I wish you could bank here and see for your self

I have lived in Philadelphia for almost 12 years . I am a customer of Citizens bank at Godfrey and 5th street Philadelphia 19120 since I relocated to Philly from New York. Since opening account to this day it has been a very good experience for me.Marcia the manager is very welcoming and polite, doing every thing with a smile. There has not been one day that I have seen her in an unpleasant mood. Knowledgeable and experienced she always assisted me with whatever my concerns were. "Overdraft" fees ,ordering checks ,paying bills with my account,she helped me every time .I recently got a referral to their mortgage affiliate RBS,from which I was successful in getting a mortgage for my new home. Everyone at that branch is nice, the security guard all the staff , Marcia . Debbie and Mr Hughes,not forgetting the tellers. I just wish that everyone could come to my branch ,to meet these wonderful friendly people. I know you will want to bank there like I did for years to come.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 2

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Mar 17th 2014

Thanks so much for your kind words, GettingEric! I'll be sure to pass your thoughts on to Marcia and the team at Godfrey and 5th Street.

ChristaManzi's Profile Image

Reviewed by ChristaManzi

Jan 5th 2013

5 out of 5 marks

A+++++++

I love this bank. The ladies here are wonderful!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 2

kathy pease k's Profile Image

Reviewed by kathy pease k

Jul 30th 2010

5 out of 5 marks

Bergeron b's Profile Image

Reviewed by Bergeron b

Jun 19th 2010

5 out of 5 marks

excellent!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 2

John S's Profile Image

Reviewed by John S

Feb 27th 2010

5 out of 5 marks

Citizens Bank pays its customers

They don't take your money with excessive fees. Instead they pay you for using various features of your checking account. The savings account plan will help you reach your goal, track your goal, then they reward you with a gift certificate when you reach your goal. If you are considering a big bank look to Citizens Bank first.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 8

JohnG45's Profile Image

Reviewed by JohnG45

Feb 15th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Update of: If you want a clueless banker, Citizens Bank is the place posted on Febrary 14, 2014

To their credit, Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman responded to my complaint about not being able to remove the voluntary additional portion of a required loan payment. The voluntary portion, which was in place to speed up the payoff of the loan, has now been removed effective immediately. I could not ask for better service.

I wish to specifically thank Erin R. of the Chairman's Office for personally facilitating this transaction.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Feb 20th 2014

Hello John, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks, John -- we look forward to hearing from you!

JohnG45's Profile Image

Responded by JohnG45

Feb 20th 2014

I have responded to your request through my normal email account. The subject heading will reference, "Clueless Banker on BankTracker."

emc2guru's Profile Image

Reviewed by emc2guru

Jul 12th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Good to you if your good to them, a no BS kind of bank.

If you looking for a bank that will work with your flaws this is not the bank for you, they solve their problems quickly and without regret. They are simply a wonderful bank if your honest with finance. I see all these bad reviews and think to myself why would anyone review a bank unless they had a problem. I must also mention for those looking for a reason to join, Citizens is always near the top of the list of best new member bonuses! I think this forum should incorporate banking bonuses into each banks review.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

Chrisbernhard's Profile Image

Reviewed by Chrisbernhard

Feb 27th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Excellent

Everyone is extremely polite and professional at the Perinton / Fairport branch.

Citizens Bank as a company is average but the great customer service that the employees give at this branch is the only reason why I stay.

Thank you

Sincerely,

Chris Bernhard

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

wellman's Profile Image

Reviewed by wellman

Aug 2nd 2014

4 out of 5 marks

ATM building concrete divider posing hazard to larger vehicl

Recently in one of the evenings, my wife happened to go to the ATM in Burlington. After completing the transaction at the ATM, she moved her minivan to the parking space in right front. In the process she heard a noise and it turned out that the minivan was scratched by the concrete divider on the side. The divider in your Burlington location is very unusual – it’s much taller than normal and there is no sign to tell how long it is. As a result, a driver on his/her seat of a larger vehicle has no way to notice there’s such a block. The divider imposes a potential hazard to the larger vehicles.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Aug 4th 2014

Hello wellman, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I'd like to learn more about your experience at the Burlington branch. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks, wellman -- we look forward to hearing from you!

smidget's Profile Image

Reviewed by smidget

Jan 28th 2013

4 out of 5 marks

Excellent!

They have always been extremely helpful not only in our personal bank business but we have been handling an estate for 4 years and the estate account is there. They are always willing to go the extra mile for us.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

Aaron H's Profile Image

Reviewed by Aaron H

Jul 29th 2010

4 out of 5 marks

bailey126's Profile Image

Reviewed by bailey126

Sep 29th 2011

4 out of 5 marks

Checking

I deposit my disability check once a month and get out enough cash to get a money order for my rent. My cable and video memberships i pay online. I get money every week or so at specifcally a citizen's bank atm so i don't get hit with an atm fee. Everything else i use my debit card but punch it in as a credit card purchase because the bank told me i can avoid the debit fee by doing this.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

joegersch's Profile Image

Reviewed by joegersch

May 25th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Easy to bank with

I love Citizens bank.

I can view my statement online daily. The local branch remembers my names and has even reversed fees.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 3

lacinda68's Profile Image

Reviewed by lacinda68

Apr 30th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Just okay -- not spectacular.

Citizens has a varied portfolio of banking products that are standard but nothing really that is outstanding. Their rates and fees are competitive and I would recommend Citizens for your primary bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

CFowler's Profile Image

Reviewed by CFowler

Feb 8th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Outstanding customer service

I found myself scrambling to get some documents reviewed, notarized, and mailed out today. I walked into the bank with my 2 year old son and was promptly taken into Mr. Melon's office. While signing the paperwork and dealing with my toddler tearing his office apart we got to talking about the economics of mortgages, loans, and modifications to them. By the time I left Mr. Melon's office I was educated on subjects I needed help understanding. This exceptional service allowed me to feel confident during my personal financial decisions.

As a business woman in a customer service profession, I realize we are expected to be honest and ethical in all that we do. As a customer, I realize how crucial this is and how vulnerable we are to unethical companies and professionals. During my visit with Mr. Melon he went up and beyond delivering exceptional customer service.

This type of role model service should not go without recognition. I am writing today to deliver you my experience as a Citizens Bank customer. I feel reassured, confident, and trust with all my banking needs at Citizens Bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

evanlandry's Profile Image

Reviewed by evanlandry

Jan 28th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Nice people

I'm surprised this bank's review average isn't higher, because I've always had good experiences. Congenial staff, good banking. I don't bother keeping a savings account there because the rates are so low, but I haven't seen a savings account in the country over 1% APY, so it's not just an issue with this bank.

Checking services are great, good website, decent infrastructure. The website gets taken down for maintenance more frequently than it should in my opinion, but the auto bill pay feature is superb.

And for a $6.99 monthly fee (which is optional- you can get free checking if you want) you can get Greensense which pays you $0.10 per electronic transaction. With as many transactions as we do every month, we always turn a profit of at least $3-5 per month.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 2

Clayton S's Profile Image

Reviewed by Clayton S

Mar 9th 2012

4 out of 5 marks

Good Overall Experience

I have had my citizens bank account for a number of years. It started for me as a young adult and i had a joined account with my family. I have never had any problems with their employees or their online services. I do a lot of online purchases and it is very easy to monitor my spending and deposits. I have never had any lost or held deposits and any questions i have the employees are always happy to help. Their rates and their atm fees do stink though. Thanks!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 2

Senn's Profile Image

Reviewed by Senn

Nov 2nd 2011

4 out of 5 marks

Short And Concise: It's A Nice Enough Bank

I think this is a small bank with more effects than defects, some of defects i found are there have no many branches banks in some places ej. Manhatam. My last visit at the big apple, i couldn't found a citizen's branches, so i had to go to queens for make some issues. That happened on 2008 the worst is that i'm coming back for visit next december 2011 to the crazy lovely city, and i'll have the same issue there. Including that i'm having a monthly charges that no one, never told me. Even with having that issues, until now, i have had a nice experience being a citizen's bank's custommer.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

Eldago's Profile Image

Reviewed by Eldago

Apr 3rd 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Disappointed

I've had this bank for many years and no problems ever. All of a sudden I check my account and see a 200 dollar withdrawal I did not make. This issue was solved by reimbursing me the money withdrawn, I appreciate the gentleman for listening to my concerns at Niagara Falls blvd branch now today I go to this branch to cash my husbands check of which I'm his payee.

The lady tells me I cannot cash the check only make a deposit. So I told them last month it was cashed no problem so why is it a problem now? The other lady comes and tells me the same thing and said let me make a phone call. I'm waiting 5 minutes and no one called back, she then comes back to tell me there's nothing they can do, I left furious and cashed my check at the tops customer service for $1.00, please explain to me why the hell Tops can cash my check and my own bank cannot?

I called to file a complaint, got a call back and they tell me they spoke to the lady but she said that it was not that they did not want to cash my check, it was a system error. So tell me again, why did she not explain that information to me? I would not be upset and would understand a system error. Instead I was treated as if I was a fraud trying to cash a check I was not entitled to. Not to mention they don't have name badges. I don't need to be worried about my account for missing money or unable to cash my checks.

I am closing my account and banking with a bank that knows how to handle these situations and make me feel comfortable to bank with them because Citizens Bank has lost my trust!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Apr 10th 2014

Hello Eldago, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks, Eldago -- we look forward to hearing from you!

dennisfoley's Profile Image

Reviewed by dennisfoley

Jul 6th 2011

3 out of 5 marks

Fine, No major problems

The only problem was that the commercial representative was non responsive. They have a new one, I haven't used the new one yet so I don't know how they will be.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

dlm1970's Profile Image

Reviewed by dlm1970

Jan 5th 2012

3 out of 5 marks

Good bank - but sad to see their (free) Greensense plan go.

This bank was my favorite last year. Not only did they have generous cash bonus deals going on ($240 bonus for using billpay!) but their Greensense program was great and it paid CASH (very rare and much better than points)! But alas, they've changed the plan and began charging for it. The best part was not having to think about it too much, I just setup a bunch of billpays to reach the # of transactions needed to get the max cash reward.

I'm sure their new plan has great added benefits for their customers, but it's not for me. I already have an account that pays me a decent interest rate, and I don't shop with a debit card. I wanted an account that gave me rewards for transactions (like Capital One, but they pay points and have much lower transaction limits)

shhh - I may be leaving Citizens soon.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Jenn L's Profile Image

Reviewed by Jenn L

Dec 15th 2010

3 out of 5 marks

so far, so good, had problems in past about 10 years ago but hoping fpr a fresh start!!!

well they kind of shuffled me around alot. go here, come here, go there, ya know? but they are really nice and empathetic. the only thing that really pissed me off was the debit card thing was supposed to be instant there they were supposed to be one of the ony one to have instant debit but not me sadly.... but other than that, no complaints. hated them about 10 years ago so we will see how it goes, thinking positive

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Heyoka's Profile Image

Reviewed by Heyoka

Aug 29th 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Make Sure Your Accounts Are Linked To Avoid Monthly Fee

My combined amount in checking and money market were always well over the required amount to avoid the $20 monthly maintenance fee. Nonetheless i was charged $20 for several months in a row when my checking account went under the minimum amount. I was told that my checking and money market accounts were not “linked”, thus i was charged the maintenance fee for those months my checking was under the minimum. Now, “linking” the accounts is something the bank does for you, or doesn’t do for you, in my case. They gave me a false sense of security and never mentioned or said anything about “linking” the accounts. This may be a sneaky practice on their part, or just negligence, i don’t know.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Nov 18th 2014

Hello Heyoka, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experiences, and I'd like to have someone from my team call you to learn more and to see how we can best help. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

vera b's Profile Image

Reviewed by vera b

Dec 31st 2010

3 out of 5 marks

EXCELLENT IN THE BEGINNING, BUT i AM LOOKING FOR A NEW BANK

BANK ARE CHARGING TO MUCH FOR SERVICE CHARGE, AND IF YOU USE SOMEONE ELSE ATM, YOU LOSE MONEY, THAT IS NOT GOOD.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Christopher R's Profile Image

Reviewed by Christopher R

Dec 22nd 2010

3 out of 5 marks

CL492's Profile Image

Reviewed by CL492

Nov 8th 2013

3 out of 5 marks

Seven year customer review

I've been with Citizens Bank for about 7 years now and have tried their checking, savings, and credit card. Here's my summary:

The good:

- Helpful (but slow) phone customer service (but I've only called to get new debit cards, close accounts, or up my daily max)

- Have only encountered nice/helpful branch staff

- Easy-to-use online banking (clean interface, rarely down, stores data from eons ago)

- Several physical locations in my area

- Great cashback credit card (1% on everything)

The bad:

- Slow service (2 full weeks to receive my credit card; going on 3+ days to see my closed savings account actually closed)

- Low interest earnings (0.01% for savings)

- Fees just absolutely everywhere. There's a $5 fee for not keeping $300 in your savings account daily (so in the days between opening my savings and transferring money, I was considered below 300$ and charged), 10$ fee for not using your checking account at least 5 times in a billing cycle, $2 fee per cycle for receiving paper statements (not a big deal for my generation, but is for people like my parents who don't use computers), and $3 fee for using any non-Citizens Bank ATM (I hear overdraft fees are high too, but I have no experience with them)

Read the fine print on everything. It is generally a reliable bank, but they try very hard to nickle and dime you. Their checking account and credit card is fine, but their savings account just isn't worth it.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Nov 20th 2013

Hello CL492, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) We look forward to hearing from you.

cs768's Profile Image

Reviewed by cs768

Dec 4th 2013

2 out of 5 marks

Fees, fees and more fees

I've been a customer ever since Citizens Bank came to NH, at least 15 years. This is in response to the letter I received stating that I must now maintain a $200 balance every day in order to avoid a $4.99/month "maintenance fee" on my savings account. Previously I was able to avoid fees by participating in an automatic savings plan. That option is gone. I wasn't happy when overdraft protection started costing me $30/year, but a potential $60/yr just to keep a savings account? No thanks.The credit union down the street will be happy to have my business. I already have a savings account there, so I'll just move my checking there too.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Dec 4th 2013

Hello cs768, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am

sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to

see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your

concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email

your name and a phone number we can reach you at to

AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal

information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your

email.)

Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

cs768's Profile Image

Responded by cs768

Dec 11th 2013

This was my review. I sent in my contact info as requested on 12/5 and haven't heard from Citizens.

RRS's Profile Image

Reviewed by RRS

Apr 27th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Citizens Bank Premier Banking gives 0.1% interest

After having a large amount of money in my Citizens Bank Premier account getting 1% interest.

They reduced the interest amount down to 0.1% over a period of 6 months with no notice.

They hoped I would not check my paperless statement. I did not check often enough, I trusted my account rep to inform me of interest rate changes. I was nice enough to speak to my new account rep to see if he could help. Nothing, no response after our initial conversation. I have moved this large amount of money to ING getting 0.75 or more.

To treat your Premier Banking customer with 0.1% interest and no notice for over $200,000 show there is no Premier Banking at Citizens. What a joke Premier Banking is.

This paperless statements are no more than ways to keep information from the customer in our busy lives. Go elsewhere.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

May 29th 2014

Hello RRS, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

randy101's Profile Image

Reviewed by randy101

Dec 20th 2013

2 out of 5 marks

Business Account frozen, without being provided notice, and then closed outright with zero access to funds.

As the saying goes: It only takes one bad experience to turn a relationship upside down. We were one of the first accounts opened at the RBS headquarters and yet without warning, our account was frozen, unfrozen, frozen again, and then closed (no prior notice sent). As a result of Citizens actions, we had several electronic deposits returned, not knowing how much was actually returned and our funds have been restricted for three weeks now. Citizens refuses to release $2K in funds and has decided that they may decide on New Year's Eve whether or not to release the funds. (The local branch is good. The back office absolutely clueless).

In the meantime, we have incurred $411 in fees ($255 of which has yet to be credited). This includes a $50 penalty for a tax payment which Citizens returned back to the state unpaid.

Many good banks have suffered as a result of acquisition (TD Bank taking over the former Commerce Bank being a prime example). As TD Bank lost thousands of customers through the years, Citizens Bank is on the same trajectory. RBS intends to clean its hands of Citizens Bank in two years: leaving behind a toxic waste (2008 all over again) and a worthless IPO (should you wish to divest your savings).

As a business customer, the nightmare that Citizens put us through makes them unworthy of recommendation. All business customers avoid this bank. They are not interested in deposits and their loan portfolio (or what they call a loan portfolio) is pathetic at best. The regulatory agency that oversees them is the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC). The only action that can be taken on the state level is filing an objection or appearing in person during a meeting of the Department of Banking when Citizens Bank files to move or open a new branch in the state. You would need to stay on top of filings with the Dept. of Banking and lodge your objection at that time. Maybe, and maybe only then, will Citizens finally show concern.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Jan 6th 2014

Hi Randy,

I am sorry to hear about your experience. I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.)

Thanks, Randy -- we look forward to hearing from you!

Aall's Profile Image

Reviewed by Aall

Nov 29th 2011

2 out of 5 marks

Watch Your Account Balance Close Up

They signed me up for hotline service without my permission and charged every month $15 until i finally noticed it and cancelled. The service is average and work hours are not convenient for the client.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Post a review