B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Citizens Bank Customer Reviews

(235 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 6
4 Star 2
3 Star 7
2 Star 9
1 Star 211

The Most Helpful Citizens Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By GettingEric Mar 15, 2014

I wish you could bank here and see for your self

I have lived in Philadelphia for almost 12 years . I am a customer of Citizens bank at Godfrey and 5th street Philadelphia 19120 since I relocated to Philly from New York. Since opening account to this day it has been a very good experience for me.Marcia the manager is very welcoming and polite, doing every thing with a smile. There has not been one day that I have seen her in an unpleasant mood. Knowledgeable and experienced she always assisted me with whatever my concerns were. "Overdraft" fees ,ordering checks ,paying bills with my account,she helped me every time .I recently got a referral to their mortgage affiliate RBS,from which I was successful in getting a mortgage for my new home. Everyone at that branch is nice, the security guard all the staff , Marcia . Debbie and Mr Hughes,not forgetting the tellers. I just wish that everyone could come to my branch ,to meet these wonderful friendly people. I know you will want to bank there like I did for years to come.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Barry K. Dec 29, 2012

Worst People On The Planet To Deal With For Home Equity Line - Beware

Beware - you are being warned!!! I have refinanced my home equity line many times so i have real experience to compare with citizens bank which took over my home equity line from charter one. First of all, they reported inaccurate information to the credit bureaus and messed up my more than 800 score. They refused to correct this. So, i decided to refinance and get rid of them. The new. Lender needed a payoff amount in order to close the new line of credit. They told me that they charge $25 to fax a one page payoff letter and get this, they needed 2-3 days in order to generate a fax. So, they suggested that they could mail it for free and it would arrive in 3-5 days. You guessed it. It did not arrive for nine days. In the meantime i was supposed to close and that forced me to order the $25 fax. I told them that i needed the fax that day because my closing was the next day. They said they would do what they could. The fax ended up taking 3 days and i was forced to delay the closing. That left me with a worthless payoff figure that cost me $25. Now for the best part. I called to get the $25 fee for the worth less fax removed. I ran it up to the manager level. And then they did what all extremely inconsiderate and unfeeling customer service reps do. --- no matter what i did to explain the complete failure on their part to provide any service, all they would do is repeat their policy about how someone has to pay for the expensive faxing system at the bank!!! What $400,000 a year executive vice president at their bank made that decision to use such an exorbitant and antiquated (3 days to send a fax) system when the rest of the world faxes for virtually free. I will never do business with this bank and neither should you. They are the equivalent of stick up men with guns. Beware - you have been warned

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Citizens Bank Reviews

  • M
    Reviewed By M80toy Jul 27, 2016

    Overdraft fee happy

    I've been banking with citizens bank for the past 5-6 years. I'll admit I made a mistake and over drafted my account because I used the wrong card (I have 2 checking accounts with citizens). I fixed my mistake the very next day (surprisingly it went they the next day instead of taking the usual 3 days to process). Only the next day for them to charge me the overdraft fee of $35. They seem to take overdraft fees and not care how they get them. They refused to return any of it even after I told them I was going to close my account. I have all my money directed through this bank. My regular job, my part time job and my side jobs installing have equipment. All over a $35 fee that they refused to return. Even after I corrected my mistake before they even caught it.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By Newguy Jul 22, 2016

    Scam artists

    They will alter your transactions if your balance is close in order to get as many overdraft fees as possible. I have paid the same credit card bill (not a citizens crdit card) for years using my citizens bank checking account. If my account is not close to being over drafted, the payment takes daysss to go through. However, if it will cause an overdraft, amazingly it goes through that day. They have also taken it out several days later and posted it for a date that was earlier. It is sn extremely deceitful process and they are 100% doing it on purpose if you are someone who has a problem with this. They were just sued for 14 billion for "reordering" transactions based on amount. Yes that's right, they would re order transactions highest to lowest in an effort to get 4 or 5 overdrafts instead of 1. I can remember during this time they would also put a hold on debit transaction for several days.....a hold on a debit transaction in which I used my pin to make the purchase??? They are all about profit and they will get you any way they can.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Jul 22, 2016

    Good Afternoon, Newguy. We're sorry to hear about your experience and would like to assist. Could you please email your full name and phone number to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have this matter escalated. We look forward to hearing from you.

  • D
    Reviewed By daniel1_ Jul 21, 2016

    This Citizens Bank branch in Defiance Ohio SUCKS!!!

    As a 100% complete and total disabled US Military Veteran I take great offense as seeing the US Flag that I fought under and for, being disrespected. And the branch here is Defiance Ohio has done it not once, but THREE TIMES in the last six months!

    I contacted them today (7-21-2016) about their illegal lowering of the US Flag. Dont get me twisted, I consider the police force my brothers and sisters as they do for the public locally, what we in the military did for you nationally. But sadly the US Federal Flag Code (title 4 USC) is very specific on who the flag can be lowered for and why. The first two times I was told that they lowered the flag "in sympathy". That is not a designated or named reason for lowering the US Flag. And now today they said they had an email from the President of the US to lower the flag. Really? President Obama is going to send out a personal email to a low rent bank charter in the midwest? President Obama does not even know this stupid bank exists. And isnt it so funny that this bank received this email and yet the Corporate offices in Rhode Island never received one or was notified to lower the US Flag? Then they tried to claim they were a public office, and that failed because a public office are city offices-county and state offices and so forth, Banks have NEVER been considered a public office.

    As a 100% complete and total disabled Veteran who walks with five braces and a cane; and has had 25 operations on my military injuries with 12 more to go, I find it also completely offensive that this Branch manager (Abby) took it upon herself to call the police on me for having the audacity to correct her on the proper flying of the US Flag. The police officer was very kind and completely understood after I explained what happened and he was also a Veteran and not happy with the disrespect shown to the US Flag either, but he could not tell her that. And he implied that Abby was somehow scared of me for correcting her on the proper flying of the US Flag. If Abby is this scared about being corrected, then maybe she should not be dealing with people as you ARE going to run into people who are going to be nasty. I on the other hand made sure I was very polite and never raised my voice.

    I am going to tell all my Veterans associates in the American Legion-VFW-DAV-VVA-AmVets and a couple other Veterans groups about the actions of this bank branch and let them decide if they ever want to do business with this branch. The actions of this bank branch are disgusting and a slap in the face of the ones who served and died under this Flag. Abby and the rest of her bunch should be disciplined and ashamed of their actions.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By dthomas Jul 19, 2016

    Citizens Bank Lost my Paycheck

    Citiziens Bank lost my paycheck, closed my account and charged me $50 all in 3 days. Please do not bank with them.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Jul 22, 2016

    Good Afternoon, dthomas. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. Could you please email your full name and phone number to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have this matter escalated to our Office of the Chairman for resolution. We look forward to hearing from you.

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Jul 22, 2016

    Good Afternoon, dthomas. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. Could you please email your full name and phone number to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have this matter escalated to our Office of the Chairman for resolution. We look forward to hearing from you.

  • B
    Reviewed By bgolding724 Jul 11, 2016

    Open New Account - Was never told about holds on checks

    I opened a checking account with Citizens and deposited my PAYROLL check last Thursday. Well on Saturday I went to make my car payment and was embarrassed when my debit card was declined. Spent two hours on the phone with Citizens only to be told you can't have your money until next Thursday 7/14/16. I get paid every two weeks and this is not acceptable to me. The teller did not say that there would be a hold on a payroll check. Spoke with the mentor office on Saturday and was told they are working on it. Then I called back at 1:30 and was told I would have to call the branch Monday morning and speak with Patty. Called at lunch time today and of course she's away from her desk. Just called again and she said she would see what she could do. Told her I would be at the branch in Cleveland today to get my money. They already received the funds from 5/3rd bank where the funds were drawn on but they insist that they have to hold my money. This is unacceptable and had I known this ahead of time, they would of never got my business. I will continue to spread the work to my friends and any companies not to go to this bank. Here's the funny part, Patty said she would call me back. I'm still laughing.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Jul 11, 2016

    Good Afternoon, bgolding724. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. Could you please email your full name and phone number to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have this matter escalated to our Office of the Chairman for resolution. We look forward to hearing from you.

  • M
    Reviewed By m1cha3l Jul 8, 2016

    This bank is a joke

    The bank is worthy of one star, since I don't think they are intentionally trying to steal the money deposited with them. But their incompetence is costing us money. For a major regional bank, I cannot really understand how Citizens Bank can be so far behind in terms of what services they offer. Our company is switching banks as soon as we get out of the peak season.

    I am a bookkeeper and our company maintains three checking accounts with Citizens. Inexplicably, the Citizens website stopped syncing with Quickbooks after it had been working for over a year. After hours on the telephone with each company (each one blaming the other), I discovered that Citizens website was, indeed, the issue. They have about five different listings for banks within Quickbooks, for which no one at Citizens could explain a reason. Further, I imagine each business that banks with them and utilizes Quickbooks/Intuit would have run into this issue, yet no one in tech support was aware of the systemic problem.

    Next, I've noticed that each account is getting dinged $25 per month, even though we maintain the monthly combined minimum. This must be an error with the computerized banking system, so I can only conclude that their employed technology is actually as bad as their website looks and feels. What a terrible looking site, and it's not even functional! It's probably been offline or aspects of account services have been down a dozen times in the last six months.

    I really don't like big banks in principle, so I though Citizens might be the happy medium, offering comprehensive services and customer service. But the bank does neither. At least our banker at Wells Fargo recognizes our staff and their website and apps actually work.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Jul 11, 2016

    Good Afternoon, m1cha3I. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. Could you please email your full name and phone number to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have this matter escalated to our Office of the Chairman for resolution. We look forward to hearing from you.

  • S
    Reviewed By shushes Jul 7, 2016

    worst customer service - especially Home Equity Loans

    Worst banking experience. I am closing all my accounts and will never deal with them again No matter what bait and switch rates they offer. They have horrible customer service - never received a call back after dozens of calls & the branch (Richboro, PA) was just as bad... besides being rude nobody seems to know what they are doing and every time I did get to speak with someone they had a different answer.

    Would recommend any bank but Citizens for business or personal

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Jul 11, 2016

    Good Afternoon, shushes. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. Could you please email your full name, phone number and additional details to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have this matter escalated to our Office of the Chairman for resolution. We look forward to hearing from you.

  • I
    Reviewed By IBmw Jul 7, 2016

    Worse bank ever!

    Yon need 2-3 hours to reach customer service by phone!!!!!!
    Every time you will have too much issues. No one wants to help or solve your issues. Just run from this bank!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Jul 11, 2016

    Good Afternoon, IBmw. We are very sorry to hear about your frustration. Could you please email your full name, phone number and additional details to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have this matter escalated to our Office of the Chairman for resolution. We look forward to hearing from you.

  • F
    Reviewed By Fedup39again Jul 6, 2016

    THIS BANK

    I CAN'T TAKE THIS BANK CITIZENS BANK IS UNREAL FEDUP39 AGAIN. we talked to someone and it was very pointless they are costing us money and after all they did to us they gave us 19.95 off on our closing that was what they said they could do for all the bullshit they did and we still have not closed

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • H
    Reviewed By haouki Jul 5, 2016

    Very Disappointed in Citizens Bank

    I have gotten into a problem of overdraft and got charged over 100 dollars without any notice and it kept happening until i went to withdraw money and not find anything in my account.
    the Same exact thing happened two weeks after i solved that problem and i cant keep on paying overdraft money fees with no notice AT ALL.
    his used to be my bank of choice and now i am never looking that way ever again. system just took all my money that i cant even afford without even noticing me. everything is about communication and they do not have that checked. the Online APP doesn't work either.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Jul 06, 2016

    Good morning, Haouki. We are very sorry to hear about your frustration. Could you please email your full name and phone number to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have this matter escalated to our Office of the Chairman for resolution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.