Overall Rating

MyBankTracker Grade

C+
Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Number of Locations
Mobile Deposits
Mobile Banking

Featured Rates

650
Branch Locations

Citizens Bank Location Map
We found branches close to you.

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank News
CIT Bank
Add
Bank Reviews
Santander Bank
Add
Bank Reviews
KeyBank
Add
Compare Banks

Citizens Bank Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction

Citizens Bank Latest Customer Reviews

Trooper3396's Profile Image

Reviewed by Trooper3396

Sep 8th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

CD fees

Can I give a Negative 5 Star Review?! I opened a 11 month CD. After it matured, I went to their bank and attempted to close it out and put the money into my savings. The bank tells me that they are going to charge me 60 bucks because I didn't contact them within 10 days of the CD maturing (never received a call, letter, or any contact of any kind stating same). I even called their corporate offices and they didn't even listen to me. They just said "Sorry sir, nothing we can do". TERRIBLE BANK AND SERVICE!!! I'm leaving and telling my friends and family to do the same. Whatever happened to customers being treated like they matter??? I'm going to a bank where the appreciate me as a customer. I advise everyone else to do the same.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Jms131's Profile Image

Reviewed by Jms131

Sep 5th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Do not get a mortgage through them

Terrible communication and never meets deadlines. Horrible experience of purchasing a house with them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MaureenMMS's Profile Image

Reviewed by MaureenMMS

Sep 4th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Nonfunctioning Consumer Finance Operations

My client refinanced a home equity loan with RBS Citizens in 2011. Numerous trips to the local branch following the refinance has not resulted in obtaining a mortgage discharge. She has received two letters stating the loan is satisfied in full and that they are sending the discharge to the appropriate recording office. No discharge has been recorded. She is an older woman is summarily dismissed with the rehearsed corporate response that they would have sent her the discharge (their own correspondence to the contrary is ignored) or that she just has to check the Registry of Deeds as the discharge has been recorded. She can speak to no person in Consumer Finance because they don't like the old account number and tell her it is not her account number despite the fact that it is on all their correspondence. She went to another branch to ask about the old account number and the end result was them closing her current account, collecting a discharge fee and requesting Consumer Finance issue a discharge for the new loan. When I questioned them I got the same lame "we would have sent the discharge to the customer". When I said that was inaccurate and I had the correspondence to prove it we moved on to she needs to close the old account - despite the fact that the correspondence states the loan is closed and satisfied in full. He didn't want to see the correspondence - just wanted me to listen to the corporate rehearsed answer and I told him I wasn't going to listen to "would have, could have" info and I wanted him to actually listen to the facts. This would be comical if she wasn't scheduled to sell her house in two weeks. The legal department did not bother to respond to my request that they check their records and discharge the loan as required by Massachusetts law. With help having this skill level and complete disregard of the customer and the actual facts of a case you should not be in business. I give you no stars except then this won't post.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Heyoka's Profile Image

Reviewed by Heyoka

Aug 29th 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Make Sure Your Accounts Are Linked To Avoid Monthly Fee

My combined amount in checking and money market were always well over the required amount to avoid the $20 monthly maintenance fee. Nonetheless i was charged $20 for several months in a row when my checking account went under the minimum amount. I was told that my checking and money market accounts were not “linked”, thus i was charged the maintenance fee for those months my checking was under the minimum. Now, “linking” the accounts is something the bank does for you, or doesn’t do for you, in my case. They gave me a false sense of security and never mentioned or said anything about “linking” the accounts. This may be a sneaky practice on their part, or just negligence, i don’t know.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

gogo828's Profile Image

Reviewed by gogo828

Aug 27th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Malden Center Branch

I went in with my son who is just 6 years old for cashing two checks. My son suddenly wanted to pee. He always holds his pee to the point he can not control any more. I asked for permission let him to use bathroom. I was told that they do not have public bathroom. First, i think we are customers and in fact i did pay seven dollars for cashing each check. Second, for little kids or older folks, bath room accident happen often. I do think they should make this as an exception. In the end we had to rush across the street used bath room in a tea shop. I only hope they could be little more friendly to their customer.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

deltrain's Profile Image

Reviewed by deltrain

Aug 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Cancelled Account

I have had a business account with Citizens for more than five years. Today, I received an envelope with a return address from PW2480 in Pittsburgh PA. Inside was a letter from Citizens telling me that my account was being cancelled on September 3 and suggested I immediately stop using the account as Citizens might cancelled it sooner. I called Citizens customer service and was told there is no information on my account indicating closure and to call my branch office. I called the branch office, spoke with Mike, who spoke with Katie (business banking rep) about the issue. Katie called someone in the organization but was unable to determine why my account was being cancelled. I was directed to call the Priority Response Department in Providence RI. I spoke with Michelle who said the account was being cancelled due to a missing "doing business as" document. I asked why I was not notified earlier, whereupon Michelle said 3 letters were sent, but could not tell me when. I asked who PW 2480 was. Michelle said it was an outside contractor. After some confrontational discussion where I told Michelle that Katie said the information about the account was purged, a 3-way call to the branch was made. Michelle told Katie where to find the info. Katie said the information about why the account was being cancelled was not on an internal banking report, and Michelle said the account was being cancelled anyway and could not be saved. My only option was to open a new account after providing Citizens with a DBA document. I went to the branch office, spoke to Mike and withdrew all funds and requested the account be closed.

It was purely by happenstance that I opened the envelope from PW 2480, which frankly looked like junk mail. Had I not done that, the account would close, issued checks would not be honored, thus creating an unfavorable impression of my business, which could have led to lost business. Bottom line: Citizens lost a customer!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MichelBoston's Profile Image

Reviewed by MichelBoston

Aug 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Bogus fees

My wife and I have been Citizens Bank clients for 19 years. This week, returning from a week vacation, I got a mail telling me that my Checking account was in the red and that I had $ 218.00 in fees because of that. When we opened the account we set it up with overdraft protection. We are signed up for online banking and never got a notice that the account was in the red; we would have solved this problem in 30 seconds with our computer, considering we have money in our CD and our Savings account. This is just insane. I have talked to the branch manager and 3 people from customer service, but nobody listens. can somebody at Citizens tell me who I should contact to solve this issue?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jay0215's Profile Image

Reviewed by jay0215

Aug 20th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Outrageous Charges

Charged $ 7. 00 to cash a check at citizens bank from a customer. I will no longer accept checks from customers who bank with citizens.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

IReview's Profile Image

Reviewed by IReview

Aug 14th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Citizens bank-better if they wouldn't have customer support

Citizens bank truly does not care about their customers at all. If I could I would give this bank less then one star. My whole family has this bank and when I call customer support because I see problem on my online banking, they are not ready to help at all, they are ignoring what I'm telling to them and after I'm done talking they just continue whit what ever they were learn to say when somebody call. On top of that they were arrogant, mean and were trying to make me feel like I'm idiot the whole time I was on the phone with them. It would truly be better if Citizens bank would not offer customer support at all than offering such a bad one.

I talked to two people when I call them. First it was a lady that was very mean and was cutting me off when I was talking. When I asked her to talk to someone else it took some time to talk to other person. When they pick up it was clear that lady I talked to told him what was going on because when I explain him her unhelpful and mean behavior he did not even apologize or react, actually he was just quiet. Very unprofessional. If I recall correct he said he was manager of customer service. I can't say I'm surprise that customer service is so bad, after talking to him.

Well after one hour of calling them and getting no help at all I decided to send them message. I explained what happened and asked them if they can help me. I got no respond at all. I guess Citizens bank is incapable of apologizing to their customers, but they are very well trained in ignoring them.

I was always planing to stay with Citizens bank, because as I mentioned my whole family is doing banking with them, but they leave me no choice but to search for new bank. And the sad thing here is, that when I mentioned to them I will have to leave bank because I got no help from them, they still did not respond to me...because I guess they do not care at all.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

KyleCarney's Profile Image

Reviewed by KyleCarney

Aug 8th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Major Security Problem in Citizens Online Banking

I am a long time customer at Citizens Bank in Mass (15 years plus) with 8 bank accounts there along with my mortgage for years and a home equity line of credit. On Wed, Aug 5th, I went to a local branch to make a deposit to two of my accounts and noticed that the balances were not right so I clicked statements and come to find out in the previous 12 hours, $14,472 had been withdrawn fraudulently from three checking accounts. Apparently someone had called online banking (which I never had set up) and had accessed my home equity loan and taken out $30,000 and then transferred it online to three separate accounts, made ATM cards with passwords, and headed to ATM's and withdrew $14,472 in less than 12 hours. Quite shocking that I, the customer, was the one to notice this NOT Citizen's Bank! The money was withdrawn in increments of $803 every couple of minutes and NO algorithym picked this up??? Very worrisome that someone posing as you can set up Online Banking over the phone. I dealt with the local bank manger on Wednesday at noon once I noticed all the fraudulent activity but it took until Friday at 3:00PM for anyone from the Fraud Department to followup with a call to me DESPITE my filing a police complaint. My local police department said that by Friday at noon, Citizens had NOT returned any of their investigative calls. The only reason the Fraud Department finally called on Friday at 3 PM I believe is because I said I wanted to followup with the Regional Supervisor. This whole debacle does not inspire confidence in the least and the Online Banking/Phone system clearly has a very MAJOR security flaw that for some reason Citizens doesn't seem to worried about. That a random person can call in with your first/ last name and last four digits of your social security number and enroll in Online Banking in minutes, give an email address, set up a user ID, and then get a temporary password, and then are good to go.Very Worrisome!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

excelsior2014's Profile Image

Reviewed by excelsior2014

Aug 5th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Worst bank ever...

After many years of paying thousands in fees to this bank, have reached a complete breaking point. The complete lack of accountability by this bank is beyond comprehension. With the thousands spent to them, one would think that their systems would reflect seamless efficiency, instead I get nothing but vague answers and insincere apologies. If my business operated the way this bank does, I would be out of business in a matter of months.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Aug 5th 2014

Hello excelsior2014, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experiences, and I'd like to have someone from my team call you to learn more and to see how we can best help. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

wellman's Profile Image

Reviewed by wellman

Aug 2nd 2014

4 out of 5 marks

ATM building concrete divider posing hazard to larger vehicl

Recently in one of the evenings, my wife happened to go to the ATM in Burlington. After completing the transaction at the ATM, she moved her minivan to the parking space in right front. In the process she heard a noise and it turned out that the minivan was scratched by the concrete divider on the side. The divider in your Burlington location is very unusual – it’s much taller than normal and there is no sign to tell how long it is. As a result, a driver on his/her seat of a larger vehicle has no way to notice there’s such a block. The divider imposes a potential hazard to the larger vehicles.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Aug 4th 2014

Hello wellman, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I'd like to learn more about your experience at the Burlington branch. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks, wellman -- we look forward to hearing from you!

dyk5040's Profile Image

Reviewed by dyk5040

Aug 1st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible Customer Service from Branch Manager

This is a review for Route 22 East 5999 Allentown Boulevard Harrisburg, PA 17112 branch.

Phone: 717-540-7320

Branch manager always seems to be in a grumpy mood. Friendliness is not a word in this branch's vocabulary. I feel very awkward walking into this branch as she constantly looks and speaks like she is angry to be at work. I used to go in here at least once a week but will be removing my accounts from citizens bank so I do not deal with the average/ to below average service and customer service. Its starts from the top and if the branch manager is grumpy, I guess it trickles down to the rest of the employees. Highly dissatisfied with how this branch is being ran.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Aug 1st 2014

Hello dyk5040, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience! I would like to learn more about your experiences at the Harrisburg branch. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

LuckyCleaners's Profile Image

Reviewed by LuckyCleaners

Aug 1st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Very Rude, Mean & Horrible Manager & Poor Customer S...

We own a dry-cleaners right next to citizens bank (5999 allentown boulevard harrisburg, pa 17112) and there is a tree between our properties. The tree branches have grown so much that the branches are disrupting the view of sight for our customers to drive in and out of our parking lot. We have went into the bank and have requested for the tree branches to be trimmed short due to the blocking of sight. However, the manager there has been very rude and ugly to us. Having been declined every time we have went in to request the urgent need, we had no option but to contact the local township, penndot, the local district magistrate, and the police department. They were kind and informed us about several codes & regulations that the bank was violating and told me to go inform the bank manager of those regulations. I went in today to inform the manager and the answer i received in return was "e;are you threatening me? Are you threatening the bank? I'm going to talk to our attorneys. "e; she was very mean,rude,and ugly. I'm very upset about this matter and plan to file for a civil suit. That manager needs to get fired and i would also like a very sincere apology from her. After all, it wasn't like we asked her to cut down the tree, but to trim up the branches so that our dry-cleaners customers can see the road when they are driving in and out of our parking lot. The bank can be held reliable for our customers car accident on our parking lot due to the obstruction of view due to the banks tree. One additional fact is that we have been customers of citizens bank for over 10 years. We have personal and business accounts set up with this branch. After this experience with the branch manager, we plan on closing out all of our business and personal accounts from citizens bank. P. S please let me know the customer service number that i can contact and have this matter settled other than that horrible branch manager.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Aug 1st 2014

Hello LuckyCleaners, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience! I would like to call you to learn more and to see how we can best help. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

furiousbanker's Profile Image

Reviewed by furiousbanker

Jul 31st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Charges Left And Right!!!!

I am sick and tired of this bank. I have been given the run around online and over the phone. Horrible customer service, charges for things they should not charge for. If you are thinking about opening account with them - run away! You are better off just stuffing your money in a mattress - at least then you know where it is going and how much is there. They pay for larger amounts first because they feel they are more important - are you kidding???? As i explained to the manager at the call center "so you mean if someone buys a $5,000 watch and then buys $200 in medicines, which is more important? " they make sure they pay for the larger amounts first to make sure you over draw on your account so they can charge the $35 per as well as the $6. 99 a day (regardless what day you make it whole). Big scammers!!!! Run, run run away from them!!! Save yourself and your money!!!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Jul 31st 2014

Hello furiousbanker, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

furiousbanker's Profile Image

Responded by furiousbanker

Jul 31st 2014

To Whom it may conern:

I find it very sad that you have to actually create an automated reply to angry "customers" - shows how much negative feedback you get. I will not reach out to you further since you wouldn't give me the time of day for the past three.

Incredulous's Profile Image

Reviewed by Incredulous

Jul 29th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

You guys are gonna love this one!

You won't believe this one! I go to Citizens in Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania and deposit 240 dollars which I then transfer to my best friend's account because it's linked to mine. It's an immediate book to book transfer-funds are debited from my account and posted to hers instantly.

The next day Citizens reverses the order of events, saying I transferred the money to my friend's account BEFORE I deposited the money into the atm! This is IMPOSSIBLE because their system WON'T LET ME TRANSFER THE FUNDS unless they are there and available. So they say I transferred the funds before they were deposited and charge me a thirty five dollar overdraft fee!

But this is the best part! When I complain about something that was clearly not my fault they get all defensive and CLOSE MY ACCOUNT! UNBELIEVABLE!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Jul 29th 2014

Hello Incredulous, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

nyerod1212's Profile Image

Reviewed by nyerod1212

Jul 23rd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

They Hire People Off The Streets ,no Education!!!!

Do not go to the citizens bank on panorama trail in rochester 14625. They have workers there that have absolutely no education what so ever. No ged, no high school diploma and defintely no college. I have proof. I went in there to open an account and this girl gave me her card. Her name is sara mason. She told me that she just started not to long ago cause i was talking about my daughter needing a job. Sara told me that she has no ged or high school diploma. She went to a school called bryant and stranton for like 4 months and it was a school that you can work on your ged and trade. But she told me that she only went there for a few months and had them write her a resume which probably lied. I dont know but she said she got hired. Now i dont know about you guys but when it comes to my money i want it in good hands, and someone who has no education what so ever is in the bank that you probably have your account in. I was so pissed when i found that out i left. I will never open an account there now.. I have family in this bank and i am telling them about this situation and who ever else cause thats not right. I think other peoples identity and money is in jeopardy. Please people be careful. Your whole life is basically handled by just anyone off the streets....

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Jul 29th 2014

Hello nyerod1212, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

formercustomer2234's Profile Image

Reviewed by formercustomer2234

Jul 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

lied to about exchange rate

My husband just returned from picking up a few euros for an upcoming trip. They literally lied to him about the exchange rate, telling him it changed from $1.35 to $1.45 over the weekend. He looked it up when he finished and found it to be untrue, it's still $1.35. In addition, he waited 20 minutes even though there was no line AND paid a fee for the "convenience" of being ripped off. First thing on the to-do list when we get back from vacation? CHANGE BANKS!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Jul 29th 2014

Hello formercustomer2234, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

m2annika's Profile Image

Reviewed by m2annika

Jul 20th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

More fees one can count of

Two pages are not enough to list fees, next just using my own phone will be an extra fee.

Time to research and transfer .

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Jul 29th 2014

Hello m2annika, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

m2annika's Profile Image

Responded by m2annika

Jul 29th 2014

Dear Mr. Chairman's Office...

Closed my high balance account, transferred to a CU due to your fees for online banking bill payment fees. You refer me to your face book page to post my email.

I wonder why your MyBank Tracker grade is listed as D+... I have been banking many years of one of your recent buy out American Security Bank, never had any issues with that institution. Excess fees were my issues with Citizens Bank.

My experience is listed on two pages of bank fees you started to impose on your costumers.

Regards

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Jul 29th 2014

I'm sorry for the confusion, m2annika -- American Security Bank was bought by Citizens Business Bank, a different company than us. We are a regional bank in the Northeast and Midwest, operating between New Hampshire and Michigan.

4646ss's Profile Image

Reviewed by 4646ss

Jul 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

incorrect bank fees

Over the course of a year, I have had about 6 months where I can incorrectly been charged bank service fees. I have well of the minimum amount so as not to have fees. Every time I see the charges, I call my local branch. They are very nice and apologetic on the phone. However, it takes a minimum of 3 phone calls to get it resolved - each month!! This last happened in May, and I was told that it will permanently be fixed and it will never happen again. I did hope that was true - but it wasn't. For June and July I have again been given back fees. They never give me any interest, however they seem to hang onto my $25 fee for as long as possible. Planning on pull all of my money out of this bank, very frustrating!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Jul 29th 2014

Hello 4646ss, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

emc2guru's Profile Image

Reviewed by emc2guru

Jul 12th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Good to you if your good to them, a no BS kind of bank.

If you looking for a bank that will work with your flaws this is not the bank for you, they solve their problems quickly and without regret. They are simply a wonderful bank if your honest with finance. I see all these bad reviews and think to myself why would anyone review a bank unless they had a problem. I must also mention for those looking for a reason to join, Citizens is always near the top of the list of best new member bonuses! I think this forum should incorporate banking bonuses into each banks review.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

basstracker72's Profile Image

Reviewed by basstracker72

Jun 14th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

The worst

Doing whatever it takes to stick it to the customer. I deposit a tenants rent check to my line of credit, they deduct it from a random checking account when it bounces. Why you ask? Perhaps so we can sock it to you for NSF fees before you realize whats going on! Screwing the customer is lucrative business at Citizens Bank!

I have 2 lines of credit at this bank, one with a balance the other no balance. One would think asking a teller to apply a payment "to my line with a balance" would be a no brainer. Not here! Apparently lines of credit can have negative balances at Citizens Bank. Just don't expect them to pay you interest on it.

Oh, and the attitude when you expect them to fix it. Makes a guy want to run for the door. I deposit a check at another bank at 3:17 in the afternoon, transferring funds to cover the next AM. At that time, there's a positive balance in the checking account. Two days later it shows the check was presented same day for payment -- a first -- and physical impossibility. Bam! "Dear "valued" customer we've "returned" your check and charged you $35". Then have the gall to ask for my deposit account business? The day pigs fly!

Oh, and the best one! Citizens is always hassling customers to open additional accounts, I suspect they somehow tie compensation to it. They finally badger my wife into opening a credit card account. With $450k in lines of credit at this bank I would think they'd know how to correctly spell my name on the card. Nope! And when I call and point out the error, they tell me "my wife will have to call in to tell them to change it". Guess how fast those cards went through the shredder!

Complaining at the branch is like talking to a wall, lots of "we'll look into it" followed by silence best described as deafening. The rate on the lines are a good deal - but handling these people requires the same level of caution as handling an active sample of plague virus. I'm starting to wonder if it's worth it.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Jun 19th 2014

Hello basstracker72, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

HBrown's Profile Image

Reviewed by HBrown

May 28th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Stop charging so many fees

I have banked with Citizens for about 11 years (convenient location to home). In that time I have paid so much money in fees. The class action lawsuit against them for overdraft charges is not enough. Beware.

This company will charge a fee so fast to your account and the transaction barely is being done but if you make a deposit. Well, you don't have access to that money until at least the next business day. Any debits or charges are taken out immediately so why the delay?

My most recent experience was putting a stop payment on a check. I give a check number to my mortgage company each month and they withdraw a payment as check transaction through my checking account at Citizens. I don't write a paper check.

When I filled out the stop payment form on-line I gave the exact amount of the check to be stopped and the bank name and check number.

The check went through anyway a few days later. I was charged a $35 fee from Citizens for a service that I didn't get. When I called customer service in Rhode Island to request a refund. They simply said, "it was not a bank error because a paper check didn't come through." The disclaimer states that they will attempt to stop the payment. Well, there was absolutely no attempt to do anything here except charge me a fee. No refund but they lost a customer and I hope more lawsuits will come forward to put them out of business.

I have not had any good experiences with this bank. They are not customer friendly! I am switching to a credit union!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

May 29th 2014

Hello HBrown, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

joegersch's Profile Image

Reviewed by joegersch

May 25th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Easy to bank with

I love Citizens bank.

I can view my statement online daily. The local branch remembers my names and has even reversed fees.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 2

jcramer1's Profile Image

Reviewed by jcramer1

May 5th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Auto Refinance pay off letter problems from RBS CItizens

I attempted to refinance my RBS Citizens auto loan with a different bank on 05/01/2014 and the bank did every thing in their power to not send a pay off letter. The first Rep. I spoke to said they do not put Vehicle Identification numbers on pay off letters. I asked the Rep. for her supervisorand spoke with Mike the supervisor, who was arrogant as the first Rep. Mike stated that they would request the VIN on the pay off letter.

The new financial company I spoke to today Monday 05/05/2014 stated that the RBS Bank sent the pay off letter without the VIN requested and the letter was not signed. I belive that this was intentional because I had problems with my last auoto refinance through RBS Citizens. How can a finance company pay off a vehicle on a letter that is not signed and with no Vehicle I.D. Number on it? How does the new finance company know what vehicle they are paying off without the VIN.The same problems are exactly the same RBS discourages customers intentionall to refinance their RBS loan. I had to pay a $25.00 fee to have RBS fax the payoff letter to the new lender, which I paid both times. The new finance company stated that it is outrageous that the RBS charges $25.00 to fax a payoff letter. I will never do business with RBS Citizens Bank and will not refer anyone to RBS for Banking. Run away from this Bank, don't walk, terrible service.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

May 29th 2014

Hello jcramer1, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

lacinda68's Profile Image

Reviewed by lacinda68

Apr 30th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Just okay -- not spectacular.

Citizens has a varied portfolio of banking products that are standard but nothing really that is outstanding. Their rates and fees are competitive and I would recommend Citizens for your primary bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Hanykiro's Profile Image

Reviewed by Hanykiro

Apr 27th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Bad customer service and too much fee

Too many fee charge for anything (monthly charge, cash deposit charge, NSF ), and if you speak with bank about this fee, they don't care. I personally I don't like this way. Plus I choose 1 but if I have zero I will take it .

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

May 29th 2014

Hello Hanykiro, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

RRS's Profile Image

Reviewed by RRS

Apr 27th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Citizens Bank Premier Banking gives 0.1% interest

After having a large amount of money in my Citizens Bank Premier account getting 1% interest.

They reduced the interest amount down to 0.1% over a period of 6 months with no notice.

They hoped I would not check my paperless statement. I did not check often enough, I trusted my account rep to inform me of interest rate changes. I was nice enough to speak to my new account rep to see if he could help. Nothing, no response after our initial conversation. I have moved this large amount of money to ING getting 0.75 or more.

To treat your Premier Banking customer with 0.1% interest and no notice for over $200,000 show there is no Premier Banking at Citizens. What a joke Premier Banking is.

This paperless statements are no more than ways to keep information from the customer in our busy lives. Go elsewhere.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

May 29th 2014

Hello RRS, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

jennap's Profile Image

Reviewed by jennap

Apr 25th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Citizens Bank Sucks

After being a loyal customer of Citizens Bank for almost 15 years -- carrying a balance of about $50,000 between my checking and savings accounts, taking out student loans with them, having one of their largest safe deposit boxes, never having an overdraft, etc. -- my account was closed with no notice of any kind. I was told Citizens Bank decided they no longer want to do business with me. Oh, but this was after numerous lies from 2 different branch managers and their "customer" service rep after I called them to find out why my debit card wasn't working.

I am a professional, hard working person (not a drug lord/drug dealer/money launderer) who has done absolutely nothing wrong. Yet, with no notice, courtesy, etc,. they close my accounts and mail me a check for the balance in my accounts (so they say though it's yet to be determined if I actually get the money without having to argue about it), Yet, they are too chicken to say what the actual problem is.

Citizens Bank is absolutely the worst bank in the U.S. in my opinion and I will encourage everyone I know to pull their business and never bank with them again. If I could rate them all zeros below, I would.

Thanks for nothing, Citizens!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

May 29th 2014

Hello jennap, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

jameslavelle's Profile Image

Reviewed by jameslavelle

Apr 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Cold, Greedy, Bloodsucking Thieves!

I was a citizens customer for over 10 years. I have a checking, mortgage and equity line of credit. I have never overdrawn my checking, made my line of credit payment early every month and had my mortgage payment automatically deducted from my checking. I also had direct deposit of my pay.

On Feb 1st of this year, I had a severe financial emergency. It was a tough decision, but I had to withdraw most of my pay from my checking account. I did however, leave enough funds in the account to cover 6 smaller debit charges I had made. I fully intended to replace the money in 2 weeks to cover the mortgage, and I was more then willing to pay an overdraft fee to cover the missed automatic mortgage payment.

Before I could even begin to recover, the thieves stepped in and completely crushed me with ridiculous fees. My all time favorite is their $6.99 a day for 10 day sustained overdraft fee. The only thing they forgot to do was come over and slash my tires.

My checking is now closed (good riddance) and I am now receiving threatening letters from the bank. They say I owe almost $1000.00 and if I don't pay they will report me to chexsystems and the major credit bureaus. Thanks Citizens Bank!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

May 29th 2014

Hello James, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks, James -- we look forward to hearing from you!

Post a review