B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Citizens Bank Customer Reviews

(221 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 6
4 Star 2
3 Star 7
2 Star 9
1 Star 197

The Most Helpful Citizens Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By GettingEric Mar 15, 2014

I wish you could bank here and see for your self

I have lived in Philadelphia for almost 12 years . I am a customer of Citizens bank at Godfrey and 5th street Philadelphia 19120 since I relocated to Philly from New York. Since opening account to this day it has been a very good experience for me.Marcia the manager is very welcoming and polite, doing every thing with a smile. There has not been one day that I have seen her in an unpleasant mood. Knowledgeable and experienced she always assisted me with whatever my concerns were. "Overdraft" fees ,ordering checks ,paying bills with my account,she helped me every time .I recently got a referral to their mortgage affiliate RBS,from which I was successful in getting a mortgage for my new home. Everyone at that branch is nice, the security guard all the staff , Marcia . Debbie and Mr Hughes,not forgetting the tellers. I just wish that everyone could come to my branch ,to meet these wonderful friendly people. I know you will want to bank there like I did for years to come.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Barry K. Dec 29, 2012

Worst People On The Planet To Deal With For Home Equity Line - Beware

Beware - you are being warned!!! I have refinanced my home equity line many times so i have real experience to compare with citizens bank which took over my home equity line from charter one. First of all, they reported inaccurate information to the credit bureaus and messed up my more than 800 score. They refused to correct this. So, i decided to refinance and get rid of them. The new. Lender needed a payoff amount in order to close the new line of credit. They told me that they charge $25 to fax a one page payoff letter and get this, they needed 2-3 days in order to generate a fax. So, they suggested that they could mail it for free and it would arrive in 3-5 days. You guessed it. It did not arrive for nine days. In the meantime i was supposed to close and that forced me to order the $25 fax. I told them that i needed the fax that day because my closing was the next day. They said they would do what they could. The fax ended up taking 3 days and i was forced to delay the closing. That left me with a worthless payoff figure that cost me $25. Now for the best part. I called to get the $25 fee for the worth less fax removed. I ran it up to the manager level. And then they did what all extremely inconsiderate and unfeeling customer service reps do. --- no matter what i did to explain the complete failure on their part to provide any service, all they would do is repeat their policy about how someone has to pay for the expensive faxing system at the bank!!! What $400,000 a year executive vice president at their bank made that decision to use such an exorbitant and antiquated (3 days to send a fax) system when the rest of the world faxes for virtually free. I will never do business with this bank and neither should you. They are the equivalent of stick up men with guns. Beware - you have been warned

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Citizens Bank Reviews

  • L
    Reviewed By Littlecliffy69 Jun 25, 2016

    Fees outrageous and poor customer care

    As a customer of this bank I can tell you that this bank only seems to care about charging outrageous fees to their customers and not looking out for the customers best interest. I will be closing this account and avoid doing business ever again with this greedy fee hungry selfish Company who does not put their customers first. Now I know it is my fault that I accidentally overdrew my account by 97 cents but because I did not notice this until I went to the bank the overdraft and continued overdraft fees made the balance negative $95,97 so a mistake on my part for not noticing the 97 cents overdraft until I went to the bank but in my opinion does not justify 95 dollars in fees that citizens bank would not wave So I feel like I was robbed and ripped off by this lousy bank who has no interest in customer service and only in interest in taking people's hard earned money through under justifiable outrageous fees to benefit their bottom line. I will pay their fees cause I have no choice next pay day and then I will run not walk as far away from this bank and let all my family, friends, neighbors and who ever will listen to stay away from citizens bank as they are a fee hungry bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By pfinklestein Jun 21, 2016

    The absolute worst bank I have ever had the displeasure of dealing with.

    We recently acquired a new car, and the car dealership used Citizens Bank. I have been trying for 2 months to set up online auto debit for the loan payment, and have hit roadblock after roadblock. The auto debit authorization paperwork was misplaced by them the 1st time, the 2nd time it was deemed illegible because someone at the bank sent a fax of the paperwork over to another department, and the numbers were cut off by that person. Today I received 3 separate letters detailing why they could not set up the auto debit, along with another new for to complete. I called them once again and after speaking to the second representative for 20 minutes (the first one put me on hold and then disconnected me) I told the representative that tomorrow I will be taking the loan to another bank. Which is what anyone with any good sense would do!!!!! They are unhelpful, disorganized, confused, frustrating and inept.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • E
    Reviewed By emmettfan1102 Jun 15, 2016

    BE WARNED...Abusive Dishonest Thieves/Terrible Customer Service

    I have been battling with Citizens Bank for a few days now over $895 in overdraft fees that should be refunded to me. Back on May 13th I had a positive balance in my checking account and had a check deposit clear on the morning of May 16th. This brought my balance up to over $400 and I had just under $300 worth of items clear later that day. On May 17th I was hit with 7 overdraft fee’s adding up $245. This then put my account into the negative and the nightmare of fee’s after fee after being tacked on began ($105 on 5/19, $30 on 5/23, $245 on 6/1, $35 on 6/2, $35 on 6/3, $65 on 6/6, $65 on 6/9 and $70 on 6/10). When I questioned the bank on this I was told that they process the debits first then process the credits. Not really sure how they can do this when the money was there and the actual credit /deposit is listed on my transactions before the debits. Citizens Bank then continued to hit me with more overdraft fees as I continued to set up online payments all along thinking that the money was there. The only reason why any future payments went into overdraft is because this abusive bank kept taking out overdraft fee’s and putting my account more and more negative. As of the morning of 6/13 they took $825 in overdraft fees out of my account in the past three weeks. I went into my local branch first thing Monday morning. The gentleman that helped me didn’t understand why they took the fees on 5/17 etc and said that he would look into this further and get back to me. I never heard back so I reached out to them first thing Tuesday morning. I was told that they were still looking into it. Now, while all of this was going on they posted $70 more in overdraft fees Monday night and I am now out $895. They are abusive; they continue to take money from me when this was their error. They are unprofessional and thieves. I will be submitting a formal complain to the BBB, CFPB and FRB. I will be closing my checking account and never do business with Citizens Bank again. My father has also very large accounts with this bank and has been a customer for many years. He will also be taking his banking business elsewhere.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Jun 16, 2016

    Good Morning, emmettfan1102. We are very sorry to hear about your frustration. Could you please email your name and phone to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have this matter escalated to our Office of the Chairman for resolution. We look forward to hearing from you.

    emmettfan1102

    Replied on Jun 16, 2016

    Hello. I sent this information to the the above email address yesterday.

  • T
    Reviewed By Titanic444 Jun 15, 2016

    Closed accounts at citizens. They won't close them for 60 days

    I'm very upset that this bank in mentor on the lake ohio that I had done business with for several years. Would not close my checking and savings right away. They had gotten a withdraw from Kohls a couple weeks after I supposedly (closed my accounts and charged me an extra $125.00 in fees. This was my wedding money. I am so upset that they are such a rip off. Will never deal with them. Is there any way I can get my money back????

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Jun 16, 2016

    Good Morning, Titanic444. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. Could you please email your name and phone to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have this matter escalated to our Office of the Chairman for resolution. We look forward to hearing from you.

  • J
    Reviewed By jrversaw Jun 1, 2016

    Harassment

    Have an auto loan with this company. Paid through bill pay. The VERY next day (a Saturday) I was receiving phone calls asking for my payment! On the same day they received my payment they called that same night and again the next morning. Didn't speak directly with anyone as I missed the call. I returned the call and received the info: they had called because my payment was delinquent and had been sent to their internal "collection" department, for a payment they received ON TIME! I spoke with the department that made the calls and they continually transferred me as soon as they got my loan number. Stay away from this "company". Apparently, harassment is acceptable to them.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Jun 03, 2016

    Good Afternoon, jrversaw. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. Could you please email your name and phone to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have this matter escalated to our Office of the Chairman for resolution. We look forward to hearing from you.

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Jun 03, 2016

    Thank you for your email, jrversaw. We appreciate you allowing us to assist you further. We will be in contact soon.

    jrversaw

    Replied on Jun 07, 2016

    After having spoken with customer reps I have downgraded my rating to a negative 5. They are extremely unprofessional.

  • H
    Reviewed By Handersen May 25, 2016

    The worst

    I don't normally take time to make a review unless it is really bad of an experience. The branch manager at 330 w. Oregon ave Philadelphia,PA 19148 helped to fax over some of my documents to student loan department and the documents were never faxed. The student loan department contacted me said that they never received any documents. This is really bad they will only help you if they get the commission or whatever bonus for every application that approved under their name. She even said if only you applied with me it would have been better. She didn't even apologize and blaming me instead. The worst customer service ever, only care about the commission.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on May 27, 2016

    Good Morning, Handersen. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. Could you please email your name and phone to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have this matter escalated to our Office of the Chairman for resolution. We look forward to hearing from you.

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on May 27, 2016

    Hello, Handersen. We have received your email and will be in contact soon.

  • A
    Reviewed By AJ66 May 23, 2016

    Closing all Accounts

    A loyal Citizens bank customer for the past 10+ years with multiple direct deposits, paying bills on time and no overdraft ever. Then, this month with no reason given, they sent us a letter that they close all our accounts. Letter was also backdated (or our post office is really slow) and I got it 2 days before accounts were closing. I called multiple numbers and nobody would give me a reason nor they would give me any options to dispute it. We went to our branch and person there tried to be helpful, trying to reach the regional manager. Regional manager was not available and never called back/returned his phone call or email (so we were told) . I will do my best at my professional and personal dealings not to recommend this back to anyone and steer any possible customers away from them. I understand that business is business. We only asked for a reason for closing if possible and 2 additional weeks to get our direct deposits someplace else and get all our bills in order. They couldn't care less.. Stay away from this bank at any costs. By the way, they had both our email address and phone numbers and they didn't give us courtesy of any warning. They contacted us many times before for branch reviews, statements and special offers, but not this time. My credit cards are doing much better job taking care of my affairs. Don't bank with Citizens!
    Update to my original post. We tried to work with branch manager as well as called office of the chairman with no resolution. They closed our accounts day earlier than the letter stated, bills were not paid as scheduled BEFORE the closing date. I lost day of work trying to straight this mess out, with no resolution and zero information from Citizens, what can we do and who made this decision. They obviously have a secret court nobody is allow to talk to. I recommend credit unions, they much more client orientated and helpful! Especially stay away from Citizens, not sure how many people know that they were just fined millions for not applying whole amounts to clients deposits.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on May 27, 2016

    Good Morning, AJ66. We are very sorry to hear about your frustration. Could you please email your name and phone to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have this matter escalated to our Office of the Chairman for resolution. We look forward to hearing from you.

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on May 27, 2016

    Hello again, could you please email us the full name as it appeared on the account in question? Thank you. AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com

  • K
    Reviewed By Kitskycat May 19, 2016

    Closed for good.

    So I am single mom working two jobs. Had two direct deposits with them so money would be guaranteed weekly. Paid my bills on time, but as soon as they hit the bank the fiasco begins. At first they paid overdrafts and charged me the overdraft fees which at times was so helpful. Then it was the sustained overdraft after three days, then another fee if they return the item back, knowing from the direct deposits they would get paid, I then saw a pattern of them always returning my items, not paying a single overdraft for me and from December to May they must have charged me $800 in fees. I could see it was a sort of pattern they were doing when I could not get out from the fees. So once the account got to a positive balance. I walked into the bank and told the teller to close the account immediately that they had taken enough from me. I now have a bank account with real money inside. I have paid all my bills which I always did and NOW I HAVE A REAL POSITIVE BALANCE in my account. I have slept wonderful in a week and know they cannot recoup any more of their settlement loss from my account. Then I get a letter from them saying they will now charge a $12.00 fee to take money from YOUR savings in THEIR bank to cover anything in the checking accounts. PEOPLE GOOD LUCK. Can you imagine a bank charging a fee to take money from your savings in their bank when everything is automated? IM OUT AND SOOO freeeeee.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on May 19, 2016

    Good Morning, Kitskycat. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. Could you please email your name and phone to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have this matter escalated to our Office of the Chairman for resolution. We look forward to hearing from you.

    Kitskycat

    Replied on May 19, 2016

    At Christmas, I had to call my childs father to deposit $350.00 in citizens bank for fees so I could at least get my child a christmas present because you had me so overdrawn with fees I could barely stand it. I understand you have to charge fees but you can tell by my account that I could barely swim out of your fees. I lost so much money in fees that I cried at nite wondering how I would get out of the mess. I would take my tips I made daily and deposit each and every dime to get out of the negative and overnight you would add another sustained overdraft so you had me right by the neck each and every day while getting $3.27 an hour and even having check direct deposited and my child support check direct deposited you still didnt care, I finally had to notify child support and my payroll department to get them out of your bank because you sucked every dime from those also. I finally paid you off last week and closed the account so you could never take another dime from me and my child. There were numerous nites your fees left us with nothing to eat. And I only once in three years ever asked for a refund on your fees. You are literally driving people out of your bank, we are all sorry you got sued, but you are now feeing everyone to a point where people have no choice but to close their accounts to keep you people from grabbing it all back regardless of their lives. Change your name because you could care less about the citizens of your neighborhood you sit and pry on.

  • Z
    Reviewed By zenakis May 17, 2016

    Literally the worst bank ever - Deceptive, predatory, and fraudulent

    There's a reason you see almost unanimous 1-star reviews here. In fact, this is the first time in my life that I've felt compelled to leave a negative review about ANY business. Aside from the painful customer 'service' experience I've endured over the past year, I've ultimately learned the hard way that Citizen's Bank engages in marketing practices which are blatantly deceptive.

    Despite meeting all requirements for a new account opening bonus, they have openly refused to honor their obligation. A quick search will confirm there are many others who have been taken by this scam. No hidden 'fine print'. They're just not going to pay.

    AVOID THIS BANK AT ALL COSTS. Don't say you haven't been warned...

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on May 19, 2016

    Good Morning, zenakis. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. Could you please email your name and phone to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have this matter escalated to our Office of the Chairman for resolution. We look forward to hearing from you.

  • S
    Reviewed By Student5717 May 15, 2016

    Poor customer service

    I was given verbal confirmation about a credit limit increase and was told it would take 3-5 business days to be applied. After 5 business days, I called in to ensure I would have enough of a limit to make a necessary purchase, only to discover the increase (which I already was told was approved) was denied. Very good customer service. Keep feeding your customers (or former customers) lies. I will make it a point to inform everyone about the great customer service I received.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on May 16, 2016

    Good Morning, Student5717. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. Could you please email your name and phone to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have this matter escalated to our Office of the Chairman for resolution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.