B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Citizens Bank Customer Reviews

(188 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 6
4 Star 2
3 Star 7
2 Star 8
1 Star 165

The Most Helpful Citizens Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By GettingEric Mar 15, 2014

I wish you could bank here and see for your self

I have lived in Philadelphia for almost 12 years . I am a customer of Citizens bank at Godfrey and 5th street Philadelphia 19120 since I relocated to Philly from New York. Since opening account to this day it has been a very good experience for me.Marcia the manager is very welcoming and polite, doing every thing with a smile. There has not been one day that I have seen her in an unpleasant mood. Knowledgeable and experienced she always assisted me with whatever my concerns were. "Overdraft" fees ,ordering checks ,paying bills with my account,she helped me every time .I recently got a referral to their mortgage affiliate RBS,from which I was successful in getting a mortgage for my new home. Everyone at that branch is nice, the security guard all the staff , Marcia . Debbie and Mr Hughes,not forgetting the tellers. I just wish that everyone could come to my branch ,to meet these wonderful friendly people. I know you will want to bank there like I did for years to come.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Barry K. Dec 29, 2012

Worst People On The Planet To Deal With For Home Equity Line - Beware

Beware - you are being warned!!! I have refinanced my home equity line many times so i have real experience to compare with citizens bank which took over my home equity line from charter one. First of all, they reported inaccurate information to the credit bureaus and messed up my more than 800 score. They refused to correct this. So, i decided to refinance and get rid of them. The new. Lender needed a payoff amount in order to close the new line of credit. They told me that they charge $25 to fax a one page payoff letter and get this, they needed 2-3 days in order to generate a fax. So, they suggested that they could mail it for free and it would arrive in 3-5 days. You guessed it. It did not arrive for nine days. In the meantime i was supposed to close and that forced me to order the $25 fax. I told them that i needed the fax that day because my closing was the next day. They said they would do what they could. The fax ended up taking 3 days and i was forced to delay the closing. That left me with a worthless payoff figure that cost me $25. Now for the best part. I called to get the $25 fee for the worth less fax removed. I ran it up to the manager level. And then they did what all extremely inconsiderate and unfeeling customer service reps do. --- no matter what i did to explain the complete failure on their part to provide any service, all they would do is repeat their policy about how someone has to pay for the expensive faxing system at the bank!!! What $400,000 a year executive vice president at their bank made that decision to use such an exorbitant and antiquated (3 days to send a fax) system when the rest of the world faxes for virtually free. I will never do business with this bank and neither should you. They are the equivalent of stick up men with guns. Beware - you have been warned

Is this review helpful?

Latest Citizens Bank Reviews

  • S
    Reviewed By SMW Feb 4, 2016

    Worst Bank Ever.

    My husband and I moved from out of state. No wells Fargo anywhere. His company does flawless business with Citizens, so he recommended that we do our personal banking there. Apparently if you're a corporate business, you get the good service. I would not recommend anyone do their personal banking there. It's a disgrace to your hard earned money.

    We went to open an account. The woman who was helping us had such a hard time on the computer. She could barely get our address in the computer. I'm fact, she changed it three times. I know this, because we got three separate pieces of mail in our box, on three different days with an "updated address" headline. So glad we went paperless!

    We opened an account, where we deposited all of our money. She handed us our packet without information and bid us a good day. At all of our former banks, upon opening accounts, or lost/stolen cards were replaced immediately with a temporary card, until the new cards came in. We inquired about a temporary card, and she actually laughed. She made it painfully clear that was not an option, and our new cards would be here in 7-10 business days. She knowingly let us deposit every dime we had into an account we couldn't use. Finally, we got our cards in the mail, with no way to activate them. Before, the cards would have an activation pin number or we could take them into a branch and a banker would assist us in choosing a pin and activating the card. We went into citizens, where they basically told us to wait 3-5 more business days and we'll eventually get our pin number in the mail. We asked if they could activate the cards. They seemed fairly inconvenienced by it, but they activated our cards, and informed us to only use credit, because if we attempted to use debit, they'd have to freeze the cards for fraud. Awesome!

    My husband got a refund check. We deposited it into the bank, and I checked our account the next day, it is now being held for a week. That's never happened to me before. We deposited the check to have the funds available. Not to see it sit there for an additional week. I'm grateful that all our bills are already taken care of and we aren't really counting on that check.

    I also find it interesting that while we were signing up, I was automatically offered a citizens credit card with a $500 limit. I couldn't help but be amused and politely decline. All of our other banks offer credit cards to me with significantly higher limits, and there's no doubt it my mind that somehow, Citizens would hit me with out of this world interest rates and it would take me a life time to pay off a piddly card of theirs, when I could pay off all of my other loans and cards quickly.

    I have just never had such disappointing service with any bank. We have banked with Bank of America, Chartway, and Wells Fargo and never had service this poor. I'll be happy when we move again and can find a new bank, because this is crazy. I really wish we had read these reviews before we chose to sign up with this bank!

    Also, I was forced to at least give this bank at least one star.

    Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Feb 04, 2016

    Hello SMW, I am very sorry to hear about your experience. I'd like to escalate this matter to the Office of the Chairman. In order for them to talk with you regarding your concerns, they will need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please send an email with your name and a phone number they can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) We look forward to assisting you!

  • V
    Reviewed By vlrbarbee Feb 2, 2016

    Seriously Unhappy

    I was fine with Citizens Bank until I had money disappear. I have a checking and a savings account with this bank. I made a transfer from my checking account to my savings account. That day, I could see the money in my savings and properly deducted from my checking. This was on a weekend. Well this morning, the money has vanished from my savings, but you can see the transaction deducted from my checking. I called Citizens this morning for an explanation of where the money is, and i'm told that "sometimes" when transfers are made between 3am - 5am EST during the system update, this can happen. They are now "monitoring" my savings to ensure that the credit posts to my savings, and it "should" post by tomorrow morning at the latest. How in the WORLD does money just DISAPPEAR? How can money be transferred from a checking account, the debit posts, and the credit to the counter account just disappear. This is unacceptable and makes me uneasy. Everyone should make sure that they look over their accounts and transactions with a fine tooth comb. I can no longer trust this institution!

    Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Feb 02, 2016

    Hello vlrbarbee, I am very sorry to hear about your experience. I'd like to escalate this matter to the Office of the Chairman. In order for them to talk with you regarding your concerns, they will need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please send an email with your name and a phone number they can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) We look forward to assisting you!

  • D
    Reviewed By Dreynold1 Jan 31, 2016

    "No fees"

    I have the circle gold savings and a checking account. The savings isn't linked to my debit card. Somehow my card over drafted (hmmmm I had it set up to where it would decline overdrafts) so anyways I was using cash and didn't go to the bank to deposit the cash for over a month and ended up with $35 fee plus $6.99 a day and paid over $100 to this incompetent bank. Switched that real quick after countless other hassles they gave me like being stuck on vacation with no money because even though I told them I was going out of state they still declined my money and even after I called and told them about the issue they said I had to come in person to handle it when there were no banks around where I was. If you want a good place to put your money, put it under your mattress if you're considering Citizens Bank.

    Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Feb 01, 2016

    Hello Dreynold1, I am very sorry to hear about your experience. I'd like to escalate this matter to the Office of the Chairman. In order for them to talk with you regarding your concerns, they will need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please send an email with your name and a phone number they can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) We look forward to assisting you!

  • A
    Reviewed By AppleC Jan 23, 2016

    Load of CRAB policies, Incompetent Employees..

    IN-competent employees!!! Terrible Policies and rules which do not make sense. It actually deserves "ZERO" star!!!
    I have a few CDs are going to mature one by one in few weeks. And, I have a checking account with them. I went to the bank in person to ask them to roll the going-to matured CDs to my checking account when it is matured. NO! They said that they can NOT do it. According to their "POLICY", I have to go in in person when each CD matured to "CLOSE" each CD account "in person". After protest, the rep called manager unwillingly. And, I was told that I could write a letter to them and saying that I wanted to roll the CDs to checking after CDs matured. But, Watch this: Their policy says that I could not just write the letter in front of them even though they have checked my IDs and verified my identity. According to their "POLICY", I have to take the letter to another place to have it notarized that I am the one who wrote and sign the letter. And, that is NOT all. I can NOT submit this letter to them in person. I have to go to the POST OFFICE and MAIL it to them. ONLY doing that, they will maybe consider to honor my request. They said that that is doing me a FAVOR.... And, how about the CD that was matured today??? Oh, she said "you do not have a CD matured today." That one is already auto renewed for another year+ and that is going to mature at 2017 with interest rate 0.03%!!! After protest, another employee came out and told this incompetent employee that since it is within 10 days grace period, she could cancel the new CD and issue me a check. Did you see the conflict here? First, she told me that I have to come in in person after each CD matured to close the account. But, when I was actually there for the CD that is matured at that day, the CD has been renewed!!! And, if I did not protest, I would not get my money out. They are trying to hijack my money. Few weeks ago, they told me to go in in person to get a better deposit rate for they could not give out on the phone. NO, they do not have a better CD rate. They cheated me to go in in person and tried to sell me their other investment products!!!
    When I opened the CD accounts, they told me that if I deposited this XXX large amount, I could get this xxx rate. I could transfer the money IN (i.e., deposit to the Citizens bank) without problems, But, when I wanted to use the online banking to transfer money out of the bank, the limit is $5000 per month because the POLICY says to prevent money laundry. They tried all the stops (i.e., all different kinds of POLICIES) to prevent me taking the money out. They gave me a load of crabs!!!
    I opened a local bank account with the Citizens Bank hoping for the convenience. BUT, all I got is loads of POLICIES and crabs.
    AVOID CITIZENS BANK! If you need a local bank, CHASE bank next door is much better - they provide notary services for free for their customers during the office hours and the employees do their best to help. At least, CHASE hires only competent employees. I have checked the Chase policies. They do not have such crabs.
    *** There is more story this week.
    We got snow storm going. The Bank said that I HAD to go in in person. So, I risked my life driving to the branch to close the CD that is matured yesterday.
    The store manager did NOT apologize for the inconvenience. What he said was: "You should be GLAD that we are open today!"
    I asked him whether he got my "notarized" letter (sent through the POST OFFICE) about transferring the CD (when it is matured) to my checking account and that I do not want to renew. He said YES. Then he said this: "You got to call me on or before the CD matured and to "remind" me to do that for you". ME: What ???? He said that he might not remember to do that because he might be away or have meeting or .... Does this bank know what is called "customer service"??? This bank has ZERO customer service.
    And, due to the snow storm, the branch had NO other customers. However, it took them 30 minutes to issue me a check!!! NOT Recommend this bank.

    Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Jan 25, 2016

    Good Morning AppleC, I am very sorry to hear about your experience regarding your CDs. I'd like to escalate this matter to the Office of the Chairman. In order for them to talk with you regarding your concerns, they will need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please send an email with your name and a phone number they can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) We look forward to assisting you!

  • A
    Reviewed By ayount Jan 21, 2016

    They can't even process a check correctly!

    I have been a customer of Citizens Bank for over 20 years. I have most of my personal and business accounts with them (personal checking and savings account), three business accounts, and two business lines of credit. The customer service has steadily declined over the years. Today was the last straw!
    I deposited a check last month from a business client and it was returned to me unpaid. I spoke to the client and she said that she was baffled as to why it did not clear. She assured me that the funds were in her account and she asked me to redeposit the check. I physically took the check to her bank and they verified the funds were there. I went to Citizens and re-deposited the check. It was returned again!
    I contacted her again and she again told me she did not know what was going on. I gave her copies of the returned check notices and the front and back of her check. She called me the next day and said that Citizens made an error. She had her bank write a letter detailing the problem. It turns out that Citizens encoded the check with the wrong bank routing number (twice) and that is why the check was returned unpaid (it was presented to the wrong bank for payment – twice)!
    So I went into the bank today and waited in a long line to speak to a customer service representative about this issue. He took a long time (about 20 minutes) to read a 3 sentence letter that clearly outlined the issue and to review the copies of the two returned check notices and a copy of the returned check itself. He did not know what to do. Finally, he rebated me the fees and “opened a case” to look into this matter. No apology, no sympathy, just a smarmy look on his face. He was surprised that I was not grateful that he had rebated the fees that never should have been charged in the first place! He kept telling me that “mistakes happen” and “we are all human”. This is banking 101 – process the check presented for payment correctly.
    I have lost a client because of this error. I client who was paying me over $500 a month. I also spent a good deal of time going to Citizens three separate times to deposit the checks and try to straighten out this matter, and going to my client’s bank to check on the availability of funds. In addition, I sent the customer a gift card as an apology for all this confusion (which Citizens caused).
    I have no confidence in Citizens anymore. They cannot even process a check correctly! Their customer service stinks. They have no regard for their customers and they do not even have the decency to admit when they are wrong, own up to it, apologize profusely and set about making it right.
    I will be closing all my accounts as soon as possible and taking my banking business elsewhere. I have had it with these jerks!

    Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Jan 22, 2016

    Good Morning ayount, I am very sorry to hear about your experience. I'd like to escalate this matter to the Office of the Chairman. In order for them to talk with you regarding your concerns, they will need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please send an email with your name and a phone number they can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

  • G
    Reviewed By G_money Jan 14, 2016

    Home Equity Loan

    Worst Bank ever to get an Home Equity Line of Credit. Almost 3 months to get it processed. They tell you they have everything, then something else. Every time you provide them a document, they have to fax it in and it takes 3 days to get into the system.

    Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Jan 14, 2016

    Good Afternoon G_money, I am very sorry to hear about your experience. I'd like to escalate your concerns to the Office of the Chairman and have someone contact you to assist. Could you please email your name and phone number to: AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) We look forward to assisting you!

    G_money

    Replied on Feb 01, 2016

    So I have spoken to Kirsten at the chairman's office a couple of times, not to much avail. Equity loan approved but apparently no sense of urgency to get to closing. We have passed 3 months and pushing toward 100 day mark on this equity line of credit. Missed out on yet another opportunity due to lack of financing. Once I finish this HELOC I think I will close every other account I have with Citizens.

  • R
    Reviewed By RogerL Jan 13, 2016

    RBS Citizen Auto Loan

    Worst online website I have ever dealt with. All I wanted to do was pay down my principal after 20 minutes of searching was directed to a website not connected to RBS where I paid 300 dollars Next day I checked back and found all it accomplished was to reduce next months payment by 300 dollars. Tried to call customer service that was another run around, especially since I don't have a checking or savings account. Finally after many minutes reached a live person, she said the transaction would cost 20 dollars by then I had it with them and just paid the loan off. Checked back to today found that my account at Citizens is closed can't look at any E statements. I know that they took the money out of my bank account.
    I'll never deal with RBS Citizens again what a piss poor bank.

    Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Jan 13, 2016

    Hello RogerL, I'm very sorry to hear about your experience with your auto loan. I'd really like to have someone from the Office of the Chairman contact you to assist with your concerns. Could you please email your full name and phone number to: AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) We look forward to hearing from you!

  • D
    Reviewed By dontsign36842 Dec 16, 2015

    Awful!

    Nothing but playing with my hard earned money! Statements are always wrong. They took $100 of my deposit like it never existed. Worst bank that there could ever exist. No matter how good the deal sounds to open an account with them, DON'T!

    Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Dec 17, 2015

    Hi dontsign36842, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please send an with your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

    dontsign36842

    Replied on Dec 19, 2015

    Growing even more irritated. Two weeks since they screwed up and I still do not have my money back! Spreading the word about how terrible they are!

  • D
    Reviewed By dec4traxjunkmail Dec 15, 2015

    December 2015 WEBSITE "IMPROVEMENTS" ARE TERRIBLE

    Citizens recently upgraded their website with "many new improvements".
    I am sorry, but I dont consider making it look different, changing everything around, and providing less features an "improvement".
    I called Tech Support and asked exactly what "Improvements" they made. What features were ADDED that were not available before ?. The Tech Support guy could not answer the question. He could not cite any specific new features. He just kept saying they made the font size bigger and moved this information to a different page. They played a bad joke on their customers by embellishing their definition of "improvements" when all they did was make it look different, hide and move all the features we were accustomed to using, and took away some of the most basic functions of the website like getting a summary balance of all your accounts on one page.

    Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Dec 16, 2015

    Hi dec4traxjunkmail, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please send an with your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

  • 7
    Reviewed By 7a2f92 Dec 15, 2015

    These people are scam artists!

    I left Huntington for Citizen's because Citizen's was offering to refinance student loans. The interest rate would be even lower if you had an account with them. The teller I spoke with told me all the benefits to having an account with Citizen's, such as lower interest rates and a $200 sign-up bonus. This teller failed to mention three things: 1) I had to make three payments to my student loan servicer before they would consider refinancing for me, 2) the total sum of my loans had to be greater than $10,000 (which they weren't), and 3) to receive the $200 bonus, I had to make online bill payments through their app. So, not only was I not able to refinance my loans, I will also never receive the $200 bonus that I was expecting. These people will scam you. Do not open an account with Citizen's bank. This is the absolute worst bank I have ever dealt with in my life.

    Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Dec 15, 2015

    Hi 7a2f92, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please send an with your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.