B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Citizens Bank Customer Reviews

(240 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 6
4 Star 2
3 Star 7
2 Star 9
1 Star 216

The Most Helpful Citizens Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By GettingEric Mar 15, 2014

I wish you could bank here and see for your self

I have lived in Philadelphia for almost 12 years . I am a customer of Citizens bank at Godfrey and 5th street Philadelphia 19120 since I relocated to Philly from New York. Since opening account to this day it has been a very good experience for me.Marcia the manager is very welcoming and polite, doing every thing with a smile. There has not been one day that I have seen her in an unpleasant mood. Knowledgeable and experienced she always assisted me with whatever my concerns were. "Overdraft" fees ,ordering checks ,paying bills with my account,she helped me every time .I recently got a referral to their mortgage affiliate RBS,from which I was successful in getting a mortgage for my new home. Everyone at that branch is nice, the security guard all the staff , Marcia . Debbie and Mr Hughes,not forgetting the tellers. I just wish that everyone could come to my branch ,to meet these wonderful friendly people. I know you will want to bank there like I did for years to come.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Barry K. Dec 29, 2012

Worst People On The Planet To Deal With For Home Equity Line - Beware

Beware - you are being warned!!! I have refinanced my home equity line many times so i have real experience to compare with citizens bank which took over my home equity line from charter one. First of all, they reported inaccurate information to the credit bureaus and messed up my more than 800 score. They refused to correct this. So, i decided to refinance and get rid of them. The new. Lender needed a payoff amount in order to close the new line of credit. They told me that they charge $25 to fax a one page payoff letter and get this, they needed 2-3 days in order to generate a fax. So, they suggested that they could mail it for free and it would arrive in 3-5 days. You guessed it. It did not arrive for nine days. In the meantime i was supposed to close and that forced me to order the $25 fax. I told them that i needed the fax that day because my closing was the next day. They said they would do what they could. The fax ended up taking 3 days and i was forced to delay the closing. That left me with a worthless payoff figure that cost me $25. Now for the best part. I called to get the $25 fee for the worth less fax removed. I ran it up to the manager level. And then they did what all extremely inconsiderate and unfeeling customer service reps do. --- no matter what i did to explain the complete failure on their part to provide any service, all they would do is repeat their policy about how someone has to pay for the expensive faxing system at the bank!!! What $400,000 a year executive vice president at their bank made that decision to use such an exorbitant and antiquated (3 days to send a fax) system when the rest of the world faxes for virtually free. I will never do business with this bank and neither should you. They are the equivalent of stick up men with guns. Beware - you have been warned

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Citizens Bank Reviews

  • J
    Reviewed By Jazlee02 Aug 19, 2016

    Worst bank ever

    Ive been with citizens for years they can never help any type of Situation now u get. 35 for overdraft fees and 30 more after 3 days that is crazy everyone seems to be having same issues and im switching today

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • E
    Reviewed By em56794 Aug 19, 2016

    Very bad bank

    Im canceling my account with them. To much overdraft fees and now they have a new policy which you'll also get charged another service charge which is another $30 if you don't pay it in less than 3 days. It's funny because they don't care about there customers at all. Poor customer service. Got transfered like 4 times on the phone.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By Rjdean123 Aug 3, 2016

    Worst Bank to Deal With!!

    Citizens Bank over drafted my account three different times all in one day over the weekend, so I am now $150 over drafted and they said there is nothing they can do about it! I explained to them that I was unaware these charges were being added to my account since it was Saturday and bank records were not updating on my account, so I thought I had money to spend which I did not, Citizens can see that I was over drafted but I was unable to see these charges. I am beyond upset about this since I get paid every two weeks and now I will continue getting over draft charges until I pay them which won't be for another week since again, I get paid every other week! I want to leave this awful company that only cares about stealing money rather than caring for their bankers. I intend on letting everyone I know how awful Citizens Bank is to work with.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Aug 03, 2016

    Good Afternoon, Rjdean123. We're very sorry to hear about your frustration. We'd like to have our Office of the Chairman assist. Could you please email your full name and phone number to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We look forward to hearing from you.

  • J
    Reviewed By jbartos Aug 3, 2016

    use at own risk

    This has happened to me twice know. I would have pad for something online or over the phone. They would take the money out that daythen 3 days latter the money is back in the checking account. Wate a day and still there I would then spend a little of it being it's my money. When I wake up I have over drafted my account. This weekend is an example saterday I paid my gas and electric over the phone the money was takin right out. Wake up on Tuesday to see money in the account. Know I am over drafted.never in my life with a bank have I seen this.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Aug 03, 2016

    Good Morning, Jbartos. We have received your email as well and would like to assist. Could you please email your phone number to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have our Office of the Chairman contact you.

  • A
    Reviewed By adamzimmer Aug 2, 2016

    Worst Bank I've ever done business with.

    I took out a home equity loan 3 years ago. I used it once 3 years ago but wanted to close it out. For me to do this I had to hold it 3 years or pay a large penalty. At the third year I tried to close it out. They will do everything in their power to stall the process so they can collect additional fees. Their first tactic is to pass you off from group to group. I've been told to go to a branch, at the branch they tell me to call the loan line, they in turn tell me I have to do if via mail. I ended up at one of the branches and ask them to assist me. The guy was completely perplexed and said he's never had any one want to close an equity line. He told me I needed to pay a $75 discharge fee, I wasn't happy but I paid it, he promised me I would not have to pay the $50 annual fee as this was for the up coming year. Today I get a letter telling me they can't close the loan because I need to pay the discharge fee. I called the support number and they tell me they never got my $75 check. I handed the check to the teller, and he in turn gave me a receipt that was scribbled on the back of a scrap of paper. Yes on a piece scrap of paper, I was stunned that a bank has no way of generating a receipts. How they claim to be a major bank and function like it's the 1800's is perplexing. The kicker is I went on to my real bank and saw the check had been cashed, when I told the phone rep this and gave him the date. He said he couldn't help because it wasn't on his screen. I'm pretty sure what these jerks did was take $50 for the annual fee which I was promised I didn't have to pay. My statement says I have a credit of $25 and now they want an additional $75.
    So one of two things is happening, these folks are complete inept morons who just have no idea how to run a bank, or they are deliberately stalling the process to collect more fees.
    I did notice that the bank often responds asking folks to get in touch with them. Has anyone had any success with this or is this just a tactic to look like they care but then not really solve the problem.
    Lucky for me I don't have any other accounts with them and won't be opening any ever.
    Please stay away, the vast majority of these reviews all have the same ending. You will get ripped off.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Aug 03, 2016

    Good Afternoon, Adamzimmer. We take concerns regarding our products very seriously and would like to have this matter escalated to our Office of the Chairman for resolution. Could you please email your full name and phone number to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We look forward to hearing from you.

    adamzimmer

    Replied on Aug 09, 2016

    I sent you my full name and phone number. I even included a home and cell number and gave you my account number. So why haven't you contacted me? I'm guessing you have no intention of contacting me. After someone posts a negative review you use pretty much the same reply to give the impression that you want to help, this way other folks reading the reviewes think you are being proactive and taking care of your customers.

    So here's an update. The guy at the branch, you know the one that's never closed out a loan and clearly has no banking experience. Well the bank finally figured this out and didn't want him at the counter, so you promoted him to Branch manager. Yep the same guy that couldn't figure out how to give a proper receipt so he wrote it on a scrap of paper is now a Branch Manager. My account still is not closed, you cashed my $75 but still can't account for it. I was able to get in touch with someone at the 800 number. He was pleasant but admitted he didn't have the ability to help. How this bank is still in business is perplexing.

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Aug 10, 2016

    Good Morning, adamzimmer. We have not received your email. Would you mind sending again? Once we receive, we will have someone contact you this morning.

  • M
    Reviewed By M80toy Jul 27, 2016

    Overdraft fee happy

    I've been banking with citizens bank for the past 5-6 years. I'll admit I made a mistake and over drafted my account because I used the wrong card (I have 2 checking accounts with citizens). I fixed my mistake the very next day (surprisingly it went they the next day instead of taking the usual 3 days to process). Only the next day for them to charge me the overdraft fee of $35. They seem to take overdraft fees and not care how they get them. They refused to return any of it even after I told them I was going to close my account. I have all my money directed through this bank. My regular job, my part time job and my side jobs installing have equipment. All over a $35 fee that they refused to return. Even after I corrected my mistake before they even caught it.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Aug 01, 2016

    Good Afternoon, M80toy. We'd like to assist you with this matter. Could you please email your full name and phone number to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We look forward to hearing from you.

  • N
    Reviewed By Newguy Jul 22, 2016

    Scam artists

    They will alter your transactions if your balance is close in order to get as many overdraft fees as possible. I have paid the same credit card bill (not a citizens crdit card) for years using my citizens bank checking account. If my account is not close to being over drafted, the payment takes daysss to go through. However, if it will cause an overdraft, amazingly it goes through that day. They have also taken it out several days later and posted it for a date that was earlier. It is sn extremely deceitful process and they are 100% doing it on purpose if you are someone who has a problem with this. They were just sued for 14 billion for "reordering" transactions based on amount. Yes that's right, they would re order transactions highest to lowest in an effort to get 4 or 5 overdrafts instead of 1. I can remember during this time they would also put a hold on debit transaction for several days.....a hold on a debit transaction in which I used my pin to make the purchase??? They are all about profit and they will get you any way they can.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Jul 22, 2016

    Good Afternoon, Newguy. We're sorry to hear about your experience and would like to assist. Could you please email your full name and phone number to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have this matter escalated. We look forward to hearing from you.

  • D
    Reviewed By daniel1_ Jul 21, 2016

    This Citizens Bank branch in Defiance Ohio SUCKS!!!

    As a 100% complete and total disabled US Military Veteran I take great offense as seeing the US Flag that I fought under and for, being disrespected. And the branch here is Defiance Ohio has done it not once, but THREE TIMES in the last six months!

    I contacted them today (7-21-2016) about their illegal lowering of the US Flag. Dont get me twisted, I consider the police force my brothers and sisters as they do for the public locally, what we in the military did for you nationally. But sadly the US Federal Flag Code (title 4 USC) is very specific on who the flag can be lowered for and why. The first two times I was told that they lowered the flag "in sympathy". That is not a designated or named reason for lowering the US Flag. And now today they said they had an email from the President of the US to lower the flag. Really? President Obama is going to send out a personal email to a low rent bank charter in the midwest? President Obama does not even know this stupid bank exists. And isnt it so funny that this bank received this email and yet the Corporate offices in Rhode Island never received one or was notified to lower the US Flag? Then they tried to claim they were a public office, and that failed because a public office are city offices-county and state offices and so forth, Banks have NEVER been considered a public office.

    As a 100% complete and total disabled Veteran who walks with five braces and a cane; and has had 25 operations on my military injuries with 12 more to go, I find it also completely offensive that this Branch manager (Abby) took it upon herself to call the police on me for having the audacity to correct her on the proper flying of the US Flag. The police officer was very kind and completely understood after I explained what happened and he was also a Veteran and not happy with the disrespect shown to the US Flag either, but he could not tell her that. And he implied that Abby was somehow scared of me for correcting her on the proper flying of the US Flag. If Abby is this scared about being corrected, then maybe she should not be dealing with people as you ARE going to run into people who are going to be nasty. I on the other hand made sure I was very polite and never raised my voice.

    I am going to tell all my Veterans associates in the American Legion-VFW-DAV-VVA-AmVets and a couple other Veterans groups about the actions of this bank branch and let them decide if they ever want to do business with this branch. The actions of this bank branch are disgusting and a slap in the face of the ones who served and died under this Flag. Abby and the rest of her bunch should be disciplined and ashamed of their actions.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By dthomas Jul 19, 2016

    Citizens Bank Lost my Paycheck

    Citiziens Bank lost my paycheck, closed my account and charged me $50 all in 3 days. Please do not bank with them.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Jul 22, 2016

    Good Afternoon, dthomas. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. Could you please email your full name and phone number to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have this matter escalated to our Office of the Chairman for resolution. We look forward to hearing from you.

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Jul 22, 2016

    Good Afternoon, dthomas. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. Could you please email your full name and phone number to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have this matter escalated to our Office of the Chairman for resolution. We look forward to hearing from you.

  • B
    Reviewed By bgolding724 Jul 11, 2016

    Open New Account - Was never told about holds on checks

    I opened a checking account with Citizens and deposited my PAYROLL check last Thursday. Well on Saturday I went to make my car payment and was embarrassed when my debit card was declined. Spent two hours on the phone with Citizens only to be told you can't have your money until next Thursday 7/14/16. I get paid every two weeks and this is not acceptable to me. The teller did not say that there would be a hold on a payroll check. Spoke with the mentor office on Saturday and was told they are working on it. Then I called back at 1:30 and was told I would have to call the branch Monday morning and speak with Patty. Called at lunch time today and of course she's away from her desk. Just called again and she said she would see what she could do. Told her I would be at the branch in Cleveland today to get my money. They already received the funds from 5/3rd bank where the funds were drawn on but they insist that they have to hold my money. This is unacceptable and had I known this ahead of time, they would of never got my business. I will continue to spread the work to my friends and any companies not to go to this bank. Here's the funny part, Patty said she would call me back. I'm still laughing.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Jul 11, 2016

    Good Afternoon, bgolding724. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. Could you please email your full name and phone number to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have this matter escalated to our Office of the Chairman for resolution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.