B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Citizens Bank Customer Reviews

(216 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 6
4 Star 2
3 Star 7
2 Star 9
1 Star 192

The Most Helpful Citizens Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By GettingEric Mar 15, 2014

I wish you could bank here and see for your self

I have lived in Philadelphia for almost 12 years . I am a customer of Citizens bank at Godfrey and 5th street Philadelphia 19120 since I relocated to Philly from New York. Since opening account to this day it has been a very good experience for me.Marcia the manager is very welcoming and polite, doing every thing with a smile. There has not been one day that I have seen her in an unpleasant mood. Knowledgeable and experienced she always assisted me with whatever my concerns were. "Overdraft" fees ,ordering checks ,paying bills with my account,she helped me every time .I recently got a referral to their mortgage affiliate RBS,from which I was successful in getting a mortgage for my new home. Everyone at that branch is nice, the security guard all the staff , Marcia . Debbie and Mr Hughes,not forgetting the tellers. I just wish that everyone could come to my branch ,to meet these wonderful friendly people. I know you will want to bank there like I did for years to come.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Barry K. Dec 29, 2012

Worst People On The Planet To Deal With For Home Equity Line - Beware

Beware - you are being warned!!! I have refinanced my home equity line many times so i have real experience to compare with citizens bank which took over my home equity line from charter one. First of all, they reported inaccurate information to the credit bureaus and messed up my more than 800 score. They refused to correct this. So, i decided to refinance and get rid of them. The new. Lender needed a payoff amount in order to close the new line of credit. They told me that they charge $25 to fax a one page payoff letter and get this, they needed 2-3 days in order to generate a fax. So, they suggested that they could mail it for free and it would arrive in 3-5 days. You guessed it. It did not arrive for nine days. In the meantime i was supposed to close and that forced me to order the $25 fax. I told them that i needed the fax that day because my closing was the next day. They said they would do what they could. The fax ended up taking 3 days and i was forced to delay the closing. That left me with a worthless payoff figure that cost me $25. Now for the best part. I called to get the $25 fee for the worth less fax removed. I ran it up to the manager level. And then they did what all extremely inconsiderate and unfeeling customer service reps do. --- no matter what i did to explain the complete failure on their part to provide any service, all they would do is repeat their policy about how someone has to pay for the expensive faxing system at the bank!!! What $400,000 a year executive vice president at their bank made that decision to use such an exorbitant and antiquated (3 days to send a fax) system when the rest of the world faxes for virtually free. I will never do business with this bank and neither should you. They are the equivalent of stick up men with guns. Beware - you have been warned

Is this review helpful?

Latest Citizens Bank Reviews

  • H
    Reviewed By Handersen May 25, 2016

    The worst

    I don't normally take time to make a review unless it is really bad of an experience. The branch manager at 330 w. Oregon ave Philadelphia,PA 19148 helped to fax over some of my documents to student loan department and the documents were never faxed. The student loan department contacted me said that they never received any documents. This is really bad they will only help you if they get the commission or whatever bonus for every application that approved under their name. She even said if only you applied with me it would have been better. She didn't even apologize and blaming me instead. The worst customer service ever, only care about the commission.

    Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By AJ66 May 23, 2016

    Closing all Accounts

    A loyal Citizens bank customer for the past 10+ years with multiple direct deposits, paying bills on time and no overdraft ever. Then, this month with no reason given, they sent us a letter that they close all our accounts. Letter was also backdated (or our post office is really slow) and I got it 2 days before accounts were closing. I called multiple numbers and nobody would give me a reason nor they would give me any options to dispute it. We went to our branch and person there tried to be helpful, trying to reach the regional manager. Regional manager was not available and never called back/returned his phone call or email (so we were told) . I will do my best at my professional and personal dealings not to recommend this back to anyone and steer any possible customers away from them. I understand that business is business. We only asked for a reason for closing if possible and 2 additional weeks to get our direct deposits someplace else and get all our bills in order. They couldn't care less.. Stay away from this bank at any costs. By the way, they had both our email address and phone numbers and they didn't give us courtesy of any warning. They contacted us many times before for branch reviews, statements and special offers, but not this time. My credit cards are doing much better job taking care of my affairs. Don't bank with Citizens!

    Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By Kitskycat May 19, 2016

    Closed for good.

    So I am single mom working two jobs. Had two direct deposits with them so money would be guaranteed weekly. Paid my bills on time, but as soon as they hit the bank the fiasco begins. At first they paid overdrafts and charged me the overdraft fees which at times was so helpful. Then it was the sustained overdraft after three days, then another fee if they return the item back, knowing from the direct deposits they would get paid, I then saw a pattern of them always returning my items, not paying a single overdraft for me and from December to May they must have charged me $800 in fees. I could see it was a sort of pattern they were doing when I could not get out from the fees. So once the account got to a positive balance. I walked into the bank and told the teller to close the account immediately that they had taken enough from me. I now have a bank account with real money inside. I have paid all my bills which I always did and NOW I HAVE A REAL POSITIVE BALANCE in my account. I have slept wonderful in a week and know they cannot recoup any more of their settlement loss from my account. Then I get a letter from them saying they will now charge a $12.00 fee to take money from YOUR savings in THEIR bank to cover anything in the checking accounts. PEOPLE GOOD LUCK. Can you imagine a bank charging a fee to take money from your savings in their bank when everything is automated? IM OUT AND SOOO freeeeee.

    Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on May 19, 2016

    Good Morning, Kitskycat. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. Could you please email your name and phone to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have this matter escalated to our Office of the Chairman for resolution. We look forward to hearing from you.

    Kitskycat

    Replied on May 19, 2016

    At Christmas, I had to call my childs father to deposit $350.00 in citizens bank for fees so I could at least get my child a christmas present because you had me so overdrawn with fees I could barely stand it. I understand you have to charge fees but you can tell by my account that I could barely swim out of your fees. I lost so much money in fees that I cried at nite wondering how I would get out of the mess. I would take my tips I made daily and deposit each and every dime to get out of the negative and overnight you would add another sustained overdraft so you had me right by the neck each and every day while getting $3.27 an hour and even having check direct deposited and my child support check direct deposited you still didnt care, I finally had to notify child support and my payroll department to get them out of your bank because you sucked every dime from those also. I finally paid you off last week and closed the account so you could never take another dime from me and my child. There were numerous nites your fees left us with nothing to eat. And I only once in three years ever asked for a refund on your fees. You are literally driving people out of your bank, we are all sorry you got sued, but you are now feeing everyone to a point where people have no choice but to close their accounts to keep you people from grabbing it all back regardless of their lives. Change your name because you could care less about the citizens of your neighborhood you sit and pry on.

  • Z
    Reviewed By zenakis May 17, 2016

    Literally the worst bank ever - Deceptive, predatory, and fraudulent

    There's a reason you see almost unanimous 1-star reviews here. In fact, this is the first time in my life that I've felt compelled to leave a negative review about ANY business. Aside from the painful customer 'service' experience I've endured over the past year, I've ultimately learned the hard way that Citizen's Bank engages in marketing practices which are blatantly deceptive.

    Despite meeting all requirements for a new account opening bonus, they have openly refused to honor their obligation. A quick search will confirm there are many others who have been taken by this scam. No hidden 'fine print'. They're just not going to pay.

    AVOID THIS BANK AT ALL COSTS. Don't say you haven't been warned...

    Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on May 19, 2016

    Good Morning, zenakis. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. Could you please email your name and phone to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have this matter escalated to our Office of the Chairman for resolution. We look forward to hearing from you.

  • S
    Reviewed By Student5717 May 15, 2016

    Poor customer service

    I was given verbal confirmation about a credit limit increase and was told it would take 3-5 business days to be applied. After 5 business days, I called in to ensure I would have enough of a limit to make a necessary purchase, only to discover the increase (which I already was told was approved) was denied. Very good customer service. Keep feeding your customers (or former customers) lies. I will make it a point to inform everyone about the great customer service I received.

    Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on May 16, 2016

    Good Morning, Student5717. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. Could you please email your name and phone to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have this matter escalated to our Office of the Chairman for resolution. We look forward to hearing from you.

  • W
    Reviewed By willy10706 May 14, 2016

    Inaccurate Banking

    When I started paying the bills, my balance was $1,127.88. According to your records, this number doesn't exist on my online account. Your records are not accurate at all. I signed up with the bank on November 2014 from a promotional flyer. I could easily close out my account and resign u p a year later for another promotional flyer offer. You won't waive a second overdraft fee of $35 when bank offers customers a $200 sign up bonus.I live off a small amount each month, I need my $35 refunded a.s.ap.

    Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on May 16, 2016

    Good Morning, willy10706. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. Could you please email your name and phone to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have this matter escalated to our Office of the Chairman for resolution. We look forward to hearing from you.

  • P
    Reviewed By papashark May 11, 2016

    Nightmare Bank!!! Only cares about bottom line, not making the situation right!!!

    I just had a run in with a manager customer service representative online named DAVE, that because a check cleared before my deposit, SAME DAY, he had no problem with me shutting down my account and changing banks as apposed to making things right and reversing a $70 charge on my account. He basically told me what I needed to do to close out the account, and never once attempted to discuss any type of resolution for the issue. My statement shows the deposit going into the account prior to the charges, but they can't produce actual times for me to show otherwise according to DAVE. If this isn't fixed within the next 24 hours, I will be banking elsewhere.........do the right thing here Citizen's.....DON'T be a DAVE!!!! Chad 7348226550, I am looking forward to speaking to anyone, but DAVE!

    Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on May 16, 2016

    Good Morning, Papashark. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. Could you please email your name and phone number to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have this matter escalated to our Office of the Chairman for resolution. We look forward to hearing from you.

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on May 16, 2016

    Hi there, we have received your email and will be in touch today Thank you for allowing us to assist you further.

  • L
    Reviewed By Lilly123 May 6, 2016

    Froze my account and denied claims!

    I filed a claim for unauthorized charges on my Visa/debit card. Citizens Bank responded and told me that they were denying the claim because I "authorized them" on a recorded line. I absolutely did not authorize almost $13,000 in charges! I had to do my own investigation and found that these companies are international and were from an online gambling site. I was absolutely furious! I have been fighting with them for almost a month now and they just closed my account and froze my paycheck that was direct deposited yesterday and said they would send me a check on May 19th. It is illegal for a bank to allow charges for online gambling in the United States and even though I told them that I found out these were from a gambling site they still denied my claim! When I asked them for a copy of the recording that I authorized these charges they will not release it to me. So not only did they freeze my account and are holding my paycheck for two more weeks they basically stole money from me by not refunding the unauthorized charges. I have been banking with this bank for over 18 years and this is how they treat customers! Don't ever do business with Citizens Bank. My next step is to file a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission and also hire an attorney. I am absolutely infuriated!

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By michellesicely May 6, 2016

    Essex jct vt location

    I called with an issue on my account and spoke to I believe a man named drew.. he was very kind and professional but said he would have a manager or the rebate office call me back with a decision in a day or two. I waited 2 days and called back to hear the decision and spoke to the assist manager Ashley .... I made it a point to be calm and kind since I knew my issue was not her fault directly but she became very irritated and rude. She got mouthy with me and instructed me to calm down while I myself was the calm one .... I think she is used to Customers calling and being rude but I myself was not that customer ... I didn't appriciate her tone at all.. when I asked if Maybe I should speak to another manager she told me no one else would be able to assist me ... my issue was resolved by drew. And I have no issues with him but I am now looking to change banks entirely due to her poor customer service. If she is going to be so rude with customers she has no place as a manager .... maybe drew should be promoted he was wonderful.

    Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on May 06, 2016

    We'd like to have your concerns escalated, Michellesicely. Could you please email your name and phone to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We look forward to assisting you further.

  • K
    Reviewed By kdcblue2004 May 4, 2016

    NIghtmare company to deal with. Please don't deal with them.

    We refinanced our house approximately two years ago when we got behind in payments. This refinancing helped us get back on track and we started making our payments. In August of that year Citizens One returned approximately 9,000.00 dollars that we had paid saying that we signed the agreement late and no longer had a mortgage. We applied for Obama relief help and gathered all the information they needed and were declined. They said we could reapply and we did and again were denied because of something else. I believe we applied again and were told we were not eligible for some reason. (my husband has documented the exact dates and reasons). They suggested we go for a short sale in January. We did get an offer and submitted it with all of the paperwork. We had no choice, we had no place to send mortgage monies. We sent the offer in with all the paperwork again and we were denied. They said we did not send the paperwork in time to stop the foreclosure auction. Our house went to foreclosure auction on March 23, 2016 and Citizens One is now the proud owner and will put it on the market as soon as everything is out of the house. (A realtor let us know this.) We bought this house in 1987 and have paid the original mortgage of 105,000 several times by now. It is in a desirable neighborhood and our kids still have the friends they made. Many of our friends sold their house and upgraded. Now new families are raising their families with other young families like we did. I have heard that the bank does this to people who have owned their house for a long time and have paid the original mortgage and more over the years. They now get to sell the house and get more money. To make things worse they kept on sending us monthly statements and ruined our credit because of the 240 late payments. I think our last statement was for 34,000.00 and even if we had it they would not accept it because they are saying we do not have a mortgage with them. We now are renting a condo where we pay more than we did in mortgage payments. This was not due because we did not have the monies to pay. We had no place to send the money. This has been a nightmare and I hope no one else goes through was we have.

    Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on May 06, 2016

    We're very sorry to hear about your experience, kdcblue2004. We'd like to have our Office of the Chairman review this matter for you. Could you please email your name and phone number to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We look forward to hearing from you.

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.