B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Citizens Bank Customer Reviews

(207 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 6
4 Star 2
3 Star 7
2 Star 10
1 Star 182

The Most Helpful Citizens Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By GettingEric Mar 15, 2014

I wish you could bank here and see for your self

I have lived in Philadelphia for almost 12 years . I am a customer of Citizens bank at Godfrey and 5th street Philadelphia 19120 since I relocated to Philly from New York. Since opening account to this day it has been a very good experience for me.Marcia the manager is very welcoming and polite, doing every thing with a smile. There has not been one day that I have seen her in an unpleasant mood. Knowledgeable and experienced she always assisted me with whatever my concerns were. "Overdraft" fees ,ordering checks ,paying bills with my account,she helped me every time .I recently got a referral to their mortgage affiliate RBS,from which I was successful in getting a mortgage for my new home. Everyone at that branch is nice, the security guard all the staff , Marcia . Debbie and Mr Hughes,not forgetting the tellers. I just wish that everyone could come to my branch ,to meet these wonderful friendly people. I know you will want to bank there like I did for years to come.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Barry K. Dec 29, 2012

Worst People On The Planet To Deal With For Home Equity Line - Beware

Beware - you are being warned!!! I have refinanced my home equity line many times so i have real experience to compare with citizens bank which took over my home equity line from charter one. First of all, they reported inaccurate information to the credit bureaus and messed up my more than 800 score. They refused to correct this. So, i decided to refinance and get rid of them. The new. Lender needed a payoff amount in order to close the new line of credit. They told me that they charge $25 to fax a one page payoff letter and get this, they needed 2-3 days in order to generate a fax. So, they suggested that they could mail it for free and it would arrive in 3-5 days. You guessed it. It did not arrive for nine days. In the meantime i was supposed to close and that forced me to order the $25 fax. I told them that i needed the fax that day because my closing was the next day. They said they would do what they could. The fax ended up taking 3 days and i was forced to delay the closing. That left me with a worthless payoff figure that cost me $25. Now for the best part. I called to get the $25 fee for the worth less fax removed. I ran it up to the manager level. And then they did what all extremely inconsiderate and unfeeling customer service reps do. --- no matter what i did to explain the complete failure on their part to provide any service, all they would do is repeat their policy about how someone has to pay for the expensive faxing system at the bank!!! What $400,000 a year executive vice president at their bank made that decision to use such an exorbitant and antiquated (3 days to send a fax) system when the rest of the world faxes for virtually free. I will never do business with this bank and neither should you. They are the equivalent of stick up men with guns. Beware - you have been warned

Is this review helpful?

Latest Citizens Bank Reviews

  • R
    Reviewed By raj3 Apr 28, 2016

    If you want your house go on taxsale, bank with citizens

    Hi,
    If i get a chance i will give -million Stars for Citizens one bank. they are the worst, i do not have any other words to say. Unprofessional, lazy, least bother about the customers.
    My builder forced us to go with citizens one bank, then builder himself realized how lazy these guys and fired them. But unfortunately we had to stick with them as we were already in contract. They are know for so many things, i am listing few.
    1. I paid my ESCROW on timely manner(auto deduct from bank account), Still my house went on TAX sale as citizen one did not paid my property tax.(Same thing happen 3 of my neighbors). I had to follow up them for 2 weeks for tax payment. After that they charged me the late payment fine, which they supposed to pay.
    2. They will run your credit with out your notice. It happened twise. There is no response if you ask why did they run?
    3. On closing day, your interest may go up or new charges will be added.

    Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Apr 28, 2016

    Hi there, raj3. Could you please email your full name and phone number to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have our Office of the Chairman assist with this matter. We look forward to hearing from you.

  • D
    Reviewed By drd Apr 26, 2016

    Abusive & Irresponsible

    It is Citizen One's official policy to send their loan customers a monthly billing statement. You are supposed to get a monthly statement for the amount of payment due and the payment due date. When Citizen One suddenly and unexpectedly stops sending you your billing statements you'll be charged $20 in late fees for not making a payment. How convenient (and profitable) that Citizen One gains from their own failure! When you call Citizens about not getting a statement they'll promise to deliver one. Don't hold your breath. I haven't had a statement for over 6 months. What's even worse is that Citizen One refuses to take responsibility for their blunder and rejects out of hand any reasonable resolution.

    Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Apr 28, 2016

    Good Morning, drd. We're sorry to hear about your experience. Could you please email your name and phone number to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to assist with this matter.

    drd

    Replied on Apr 28, 2016

    Sure. I'll do that. But be warned: I have tried repeatedly to get customer service to resolve this issue for over 6 months without any success. If you can't get me a monthly billing statement and waive the two late fees that I've incurred as a result of your failure to send me monthly billing statements then I intend to continue to use public forums to alert other consumers to just how miserable a bank Citizens One is. You pissed the wrong guy off and I'm not going away as long as this problem is unresolved.

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Apr 28, 2016

    Thank you for your email. We will have this matter escalated and will be in contact today.

    drd

    Replied on Apr 28, 2016

    The public should know that this issue was escalated to the Office of the Chairman weeks ago and they did absolutely nothing to get me monthly billing statements and they also steadfastly refused to waive the late fees incurred as a result of the bank's failures. BTW, doesn't it alarm Citizens that of the 207 reviews posted on my banktracker a whopping 88% of them are the very lowest possible rating? You might like to regard this as an anomaly but Citizens fairs just a poorly on other sites. Consumeraffairs.com shows 86 reviews with an average rating of approximately 1 star (again, the lowest possible rating). And on the Better Business Bureau's website, using a scale of A+ to F, Citizens earned a paltry D. Doesn't any of that bother you at Citizens? Don't you care? If yes, then what the dickens are you doing to make it right?

    drd

    Replied on Apr 28, 2016

    I see that you replied and then removed your own response. Why? In the e-mail notification 'my banktracker' sent me I see that your response said, in part, "We have a lot of very happy customers. Unfortunately, those who have had positive experiences rarely post on these sites." I have no idea what "a lot" actually means but, judging by the facts (your internet reviews), you really have a lot of very dissatisfied customers (and precious few satisfied ones). Your notion that customers "who have had positive experiences rarely post on these sites," may be a imaginary shelter of comfort from the storm of vitriol raining down on you but what actual, factual evidence can you offer to support such a claim?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Apr 28, 2016

    Hi there, we have escalated this matter and someone will be in contact with you tomorrow morning. We take customer concerns very seriously and look forward to assisting you further.

    drd

    Replied on Apr 28, 2016

    Earlier this morning (in this very thread) you asked for my e-mail and phone number. You said that you would escalate this matter and that someone would be in contact with me today. Today! All day long and not one phone call or e-mail from Citizens. Now, finally, at the close of day, you manage the message: someone will be in contact with me tomorrow. How sadly indicative of the way that Citizens conducts itself. You fail to keep your word. You try your customer's patience. Your corporate culture is broken promises and failures to deliver. We'll see what tomorrow brings. We'll see if someone actually contacts me. For today, Citizens remains unreliable, irresponsible and, therefore, contemptible. For now, Citizens' continued dereliction make it impossible to believe that they genuinely take their customers seriously.

  • D
    Reviewed By davidjthomas Apr 15, 2016

    DO NOT DEAL WITH THIS BANK

    Lousy bank go elsewhere. I am serious, run from this bank... I am shocked at the amount of negative reviews do not ignore, as said in past reviews YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!!!!!

    Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By ReneeF Apr 11, 2016

    Online Banking is archaic and unreliable

    Citizens Bank's online banking is shameful considering it is 2016. The site is constantly down or under construction. It's completely unreliable and I'm often prevented from conducting basic online transactions such as viewing my recent activity, paying bills and accessing my account data. They have gone through numerous site 'upgrades' boasting their new and 'improved' site, however it always results in the same archaic and unreliable site.

    Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Apr 12, 2016

    Sorry to hear about your impression, ReneeF, but appreciate and value your feedback. Could you email us your full name and a phone where you can reached to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have someone contact you about your concerns. We look forward to speaking to you one on one in relation to this matter.

  • H
    Reviewed By HBont1989 Apr 6, 2016

    terrible customer service

    I was charged over draft fee's on multiple purchases, after I had money transferred to my account. I went in to the local branch to resolve this issue and was told I could contact branch manager, I left voicemails and they never called me back. I wouldn't recommend using this bank at all.

    Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Apr 12, 2016

    We're very sorry to hear about your experience, HBont1989. Could you please email us your full name and a phone number where you could be reached to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to assist you with this matter. We look forward to hearing from you.

  • J
    Reviewed By jillsue Apr 2, 2016

    These people are Loan Sharks

    Acquired a construction loan from Citizens One/ COO mortgage. They did not disclose that a penalty of $2,300 will be applied every 3 months, after the initial 12 months. We have had the loan for 12 months and our builder (been in business for 40 years) has never encountered anything like this. Now Citizens One is "offering" to refinance the entire loan. This bank is lower than low, they found a way to gouge the consumer and still follow all of the guide lines.

    Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Apr 04, 2016

    We're very sorry to hear about your experience, jillsue. Could you please email your full name and phone number to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have our Office of the Chairman assist you with this matter. We look forward to hearing from you.

  • H
    Reviewed By Hybanker Mar 28, 2016

    Poorest customer service ever

    I'm a citizens bank customer for over a decade. FICO scores over 800. Good LTV. I applied for a heloc and was given a closing date of 6-8 weeks. 4 months later they were ready to close, after being told again and again "just a few more days". Horrible experience. Currently shopping for a heloc anywhere but citizens bank.

    Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Mar 31, 2016

    We're very sorry to hear about your experience, Hybanker. Could you please email your full name and phone number to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have our Office of the Chairman investigate this matter for you.

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Apr 06, 2016

    Hello Hybanker, thank you for your recent email. Could you please email us your phone number as well? We look forward to assisting you further.

    Hybanker

    Replied on Apr 19, 2016

    After being contacted by Mandy at the office of the president, she came up with a pathetic excuse of "your wife had to come to a branch to sign some extra documents". My wife was there less than 24 hours of being notified, and this doe not excuse a loan closing of four months when 6-8 weeks was promised. I will take my business elsewhere and I suggest you do the same. Do not walk, RUN away from your Citizensbank branch. They make promises they cant keep, their customer service is abominable, and their dispute resolution through the office of the president is a joke. Run!!!

  • M
    Reviewed By marisaf78 Mar 24, 2016

    Not helpful to customers

    I had a car loan with Citizens Bank in 2009 they were paid off in 2013, but they never released the lien on the car, so that I can get my title. I was supposed to pick up my new car yesterday but couldn't because I don't have the title for a car that was paid off over two and a half years. You would think that since it was a slip up on their part that they would bend over backwards to help you.. NOT. I have dealt with a lot of banks before, and they go above and beyond to keep their customers happy. But not Citizens bank I am so disappointed.

    Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Mar 24, 2016

    Good afternoon, Marisaf78. We'd like to escalate this matter for you. Could you please send an email with your name as it appears on the account and phone number to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We look forward to hearing from you.

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Mar 24, 2016

    Hi there, we've received your email and will be in contact.

    marisaf78

    Replied on Mar 28, 2016

    So I have come to the conclusion that these people just don't care about their customers. I received a call on Thursday stating that they have the original title so I would a need a lien release that they could just send the title, I asked her if she could overnight it , she said she can't guarantee it, and if not can she send it by regular mail (they just don't want to bend for their customers ) I said whatever. I never heard back from her. I got a call on Friday from a guy from the office of the Chairman who said he would look into the matter, I never heard back from him. Even if she had mailed it by regular mail on Thursday I would have received it in the mail today. I decided to call today to check the status on the person that answered the phone told me that because it was paid off so long ago I would have to go to mytitlesupport.com to order it and pay a fee to get it (are you kidding me) so I asked to speak to her supervisor who informed me that it was mailed today and by regular mail. In the meantime my family is without a car, to get anywhere we call friends and family for rides my husband works more than 30 minutes away from home, so imagine how much of an inconvenience it is for us and others. I will report this matter to consumer affairs and the BBB, so that no one else experience this type of frustration and ordeal.

  • C
    Reviewed By crysb12583 Mar 24, 2016

    Overdraft fees took my entire pay check...

    I had opened a checking account back in January of this year. The teller who had helped me open my account had briefly went over the $5 overdraft protection plan and suggested that it was a really good plan to opt into. Never once was anything explained about a regular overdraft protection plan. Seeing that I don't check my online account very often I was unaware that I had overdrawn my account by what was initially $120. This morning I had thought to check the account to see if my check has been deposited... it was. $842.52. My ending balance was $164. They took almost $700 of my paycheck. My hard-earned money. I had called to ask if the fees could be waived because I had no idea about the protection coverage i was enrolled in by the bamk tellerand assured them that it would never happen again. I then told them that I was only supposed to be enrolled in the $5 overdraft protection. The woman told me that I couldn't because they only allow one overdraft fee / 12 month period. I asked to speak to a supervisor for further assistance and the woman had then stated that the supervisor would not allow the fees to be waived either. I got frustrated and hung up on her because of her poor customer service and refusal to transfer me over to a supervisor. Now this was a huge mistake on the bank tellers behalf so I should not be responsible for something I did not opt into. Therefore every fee should have been removed. But now since it is so hard to get good customer service from the bank I am going to have to find another bank and close my current account out.

    Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Mar 24, 2016

    Very sorry to hear about your experience, crysb12583. Could you please send us an email with your full name and phone to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have the Office of the Chairman assist you with this matter. We look forward to hearing from you.

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Mar 24, 2016

    Thank you for your email, crysb12583. We will be in contact.

  • G
    Reviewed By girlscout Mar 22, 2016

    Poor service

    I visited your bank the afternoon of 3-22-16 at 1:45 pm. There was one clerk on duty. One customer was at her line. No problem, I thought. Just one customer ahead of me. It will only be a minute, a clerk sitting at a desk told me. 1 minute....5 minutes......the customer seemed to have bags of money and the clerk was counting and counting....8 min.....10 minutes and I walk about of the bank and have to go out of my way to find another bank. Poor customer service!

    Is this review helpful?

    Citizens Bank

    Replied on Mar 23, 2016

    We're very sorry to hear about your experience, girlscout. Could you please email your full name and phone to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? We'd like to have our Office of the Chairman discuss your concerns with you. Look forward to hearing from you.

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.