Overall Rating

C
Grade

Citizens Bank Report Card

Overall rating score 35%
Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Number of Locations
Mobile Banking

650
Branch Locations

Citizens Bank Location Map
We found branches close to you.

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank News
CIT Bank
Add
Bank Rates
Santander Bank
Add
Bank News
KeyBank
Add
Compare Banks

Citizens Bank Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction
Post a review

Citizens Bank Latest Customer Reviews

msudi's Profile Image

Reviewed by msudi

Apr 7th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Citizens Bank seems to have misplaced $40,000

I've wired that money five days ago from my business account to another Local bank that Citizen Bank always deals with. Next day I've got a call from the Assistant Manager that handled my transaction�she told me she received an email and the wire was return for insufficient information. I contacted the other bank and corrected the info I needed before I go back to the bank.

I went back to the Citizens bank that same day to re-do the process. I had to wait for 15 minutes since the Vice President of the bank was on a long, and chatty phone call, and my assistant from last time was busy.

Finally, I handed her the same exact info that I had the first day. And of course I was charged another fee, since she was re-wiring the fund again. She assured me that things will fine and it may take 24 hours to clear. So I checked if the wire reached its destination next day which didn't happen. I've spent 4 days going to this branch to solve that problem. Today I went back to the branch to cancel the transaction, and to inform them that I want to close both my business account, and personal when my wire returns; they didn't care and didn't seemed apologetic as well. When entered the branch my assistant was occupied and I had to wait for ten minutes, while the Vice President was free, and didn't ask me if I need any assistant since she could recognize my face from the past three days. Not one day she tried to even find out why this customer that is staring at her is keep coming back. At last I cancelled the wire. They refunded the fees. I told them how inconvenience this experience was since the transaction was business. Again, no one cared.

I will make sure my business account that is not priority, and important for them will be close when all my business checks clear this month.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Apr 10th 2014

Hello msudi, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

LarryAdams's Profile Image

Reviewed by LarryAdams

Apr 3rd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Humiliating, belittling, frustrating!!

My experience with citizens bank in Lexington center, reaffirms my comparison that banks and the police are one in the same, banks are always in the positions to stand between you and your money, cops stand between you and your freedom both use these positions to make you jump through hoops whenever you get the chance. Both the banks and the police are an inconvenience to society and nothing more than power hungry bigots. I went to citizens bank on April 1, 2014 to do something as simple as retrieve an atm card I by mistake left in the atm machine at their Lexington center location. I called before hand to see if the card was indeed at the bank. I was told it was and I needed to bring an ID in order to have it returned, they specifically said I needed a driver's license. I can only imagine the examination I would have gotten and the hoops I would've had to jump through, If I hadn't had a drivers license. Before I could get all the way in the bank, I was approached by a young bank manager and asked what he could do for me, gave me a look and the feeling that I had no business in there. I told him why I was there and he immediately asked for my driver's license, not and ID. I made the big mistake of physically putting my license in his hands. That's when the power display began, he took the license and strutted away like a peacock, or a cop going back to his squad car to run a make. He went behind the counter with my license had a discussion with the teller who had already heard me tell him why I was there, they both went to the atm machine that was in the lobby as if they needed my license in there hands in order to open the atm machine. I stood there wondering why he couldn't have just looked at the license confirmed it was me gave back the license, get the atm card. give it to me and I would've been on my way. No that would've been to simple and to accommodating to me, he needed to flex some muscles and I needed to jump through at least one hoop. After they retrieved the atm card from the machine in the lo

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Apr 10th 2014

Hello Larry, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks, Larry -- we look forward to hearing from you!

Eldago's Profile Image

Reviewed by Eldago

Apr 3rd 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Disappointed

I've had this bank for many years and no problems ever. All of a sudden I check my account and see a 200 dollar withdrawal I did not make, this issue was solved by reimbursing me the money withdrawn, I appreciate the gentleman for listening to my concerns at Niagara Falls blvd branch now today I go to this branch to cash my husbands check of which I'm his payee. The lady tells me I cannot cash the check only make a deposit. So I told them last month it was cashed no problem so why is it a problem now? The other lady comes and tells me the same thing and said let me make a phone call. I'm waiting 5 minutes and no one called back, she then comes back to tell me there's nothing they can do, I left furious and cashed my check at the tops customer service for $1.00, please explain to me why the hell tops can cash my check and my own bank cannot? I called to file a complaint, got a call back and they tell me they spoke to the lady but she said that it was not that they did not want to cash my check, it was a system error. So tell me again, why did she not explain that information to me? I would not be upset and would understand a system error. Instead I was treated as if I was a fraud trying to cash a check I was not entitled to. Not to mention they don't have name badges. I don't need to be worried about my account for missing money or unable to cash my checks. I am closing my account and banking with a bank that knows how to handle these situations and make me feel comfortable to bank with them because citizens bank has lost my trust!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Apr 10th 2014

Hello Eldago, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks, Eldago -- we look forward to hearing from you!

Carslisle's Profile Image

Reviewed by Carslisle

Mar 27th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Miserable!

I HAD my mortgage and home equity loan with Citizens.The original "glitter" was irresistible! It was a fiasco from the beginning. During the past eight years I had to fight fees and errors on the bank's behalf. A simple example of the bank's mistake was that the tellers couldn't figure out how to put a payment to principal in correctly. When I went to the bank with the mistake in hand the response was (and I quote) "Oh well, just take the money out of your checking and redeposit it as a principal payment". Really??? I felt I had to check my bank account daily due to the fact that they would either "double" charge" my home equity loan on a short month...say February with only 28 days, or put a yearly $50.00 maintenance fee into the home equity loan for the privilege of paying the bank on top of the interest that they were already charging! This maintenance fee was not in the original form that I signed, it was added as an addendum three years later. There has never been a bank that I have trusted less and I am thrilled that I no longer have to deal with them. Be well aware that all that glitters isn't gold!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Apr 10th 2014

Hello Carslisle, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks, Carslisle -- we look forward to hearing from you!

UknowWho's Profile Image

Reviewed by UknowWho

Mar 26th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

not the greatest

1. overdraft fees $35

2. additional $6.99 PER DAY

3. $35 "overdraft" even if they decide NOT to cover a check, EVEN if you've opted IN. (total rip off)

4. I suspect they will prolong posting direct dep. if it means incurring a juicy overdraft.

5. I DO NOT trust this bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Apr 10th 2014

Hello UknkowWho, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

Post a review

Sumit your question by creating a free account

Already a member?