Overall Rating

MyBankTracker Grade

C+
Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Number of Locations
Mobile Banking

650
Branch Locations

Citizens Bank Location Map
We found branches close to you.

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank Rates
CIT Bank
Add
Bank Rates
Santander Bank
Add
Bank Rates
KeyBank
Add
Compare Banks

Citizens Bank Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction

Citizens Bank Latest Customer Reviews

formercustomer2234's Profile Image

Reviewed by formercustomer2234

Jul 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

lied to about exchange rate

My husband just returned from picking up a few euros for an upcoming trip. They literally lied to him about the exchange rate, telling him it changed from $1.35 to $1.45 over the weekend. He looked it up when he finished and found it to be untrue, it's still $1.35. In addition, he waited 20 minutes even though there was no line AND paid a fee for the "convenience" of being ripped off. First thing on the to-do list when we get back from vacation? CHANGE BANKS!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

m2annika's Profile Image

Reviewed by m2annika

Jul 20th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

More fees one can count of

Two pages are not enough to list fees, next just using my own phone will be an extra fee.

Time to research and transfer .

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

nothappy9's Profile Image

Reviewed by nothappy9

Jul 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

For years I have been a customer. Not anymore.

I have been a customer here for years, always raving about how great of a bank they are, even had my parents switch banks and open an account. Boy was I wrong. After having an issue today with them charging me $70.00 worth of fees that they can't even prove took place I will never bank here again. Good hour lunch going to be spent closing my account. Thanks but no thanks.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

4646ss's Profile Image

Reviewed by 4646ss

Jul 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

incorrect bank fees

Over the course of a year, I have had about 6 months where I can incorrectly been charged bank service fees. I have well of the minimum amount so as not to have fees. Every time I see the charges, I call my local branch. They are very nice and apologetic on the phone. However, it takes a minimum of 3 phone calls to get it resolved - each month!! This last happened in May, and I was told that it will permanently be fixed and it will never happen again. I did hope that was true - but it wasn't. For June and July I have again been given back fees. They never give me any interest, however they seem to hang onto my $25 fee for as long as possible. Planning on pull all of my money out of this bank, very frustrating!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

emc2guru's Profile Image

Reviewed by emc2guru

Jul 12th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Good to you if your good to them, a no BS kind of bank.

If you looking for a bank that will work with your flaws this is not the bank for you, they solve their problems quickly and without regret. They are simply a wonderful bank if your honest with finance. I see all these bad reviews and think to myself why would anyone review a bank unless they had a problem. I must also mention for those looking for a reason to join, Citizens is always near the top of the list of best new member bonuses! I think this forum should incorporate banking bonuses into each banks review.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

basstracker72's Profile Image

Reviewed by basstracker72

Jun 14th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

The worst

Doing whatever it takes to stick it to the customer. I deposit a tenants rent check to my line of credit, they deduct it from a random checking account when it bounces. Why you ask? Perhaps so we can sock it to you for NSF fees before you realize whats going on! Screwing the customer is lucrative business at Citizens Bank!

I have 2 lines of credit at this bank, one with a balance the other no balance. One would think asking a teller to apply a payment "to my line with a balance" would be a no brainer. Not here! Apparently lines of credit can have negative balances at Citizens Bank. Just don't expect them to pay you interest on it.

Oh, and the attitude when you expect them to fix it. Makes a guy want to run for the door. I deposit a check at another bank at 3:17 in the afternoon, transferring funds to cover the next AM. At that time, there's a positive balance in the checking account. Two days later it shows the check was presented same day for payment -- a first -- and physical impossibility. Bam! "Dear "valued" customer we've "returned" your check and charged you $35". Then have the gall to ask for my deposit account business? The day pigs fly!

Oh, and the best one! Citizens is always hassling customers to open additional accounts, I suspect they somehow tie compensation to it. They finally badger my wife into opening a credit card account. With $450k in lines of credit at this bank I would think they'd know how to correctly spell my name on the card. Nope! And when I call and point out the error, they tell me "my wife will have to call in to tell them to change it". Guess how fast those cards went through the shredder!

Complaining at the branch is like talking to a wall, lots of "we'll look into it" followed by silence best described as deafening. The rate on the lines are a good deal - but handling these people requires the same level of caution as handling an active sample of plague virus. I'm starting to wonder if it's worth it.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Jun 19th 2014

Hello basstracker72, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

HBrown's Profile Image

Reviewed by HBrown

May 28th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Stop charging so many fees

I have banked with Citizens for about 11 years (convenient location to home). In that time I have paid so much money in fees. The class action lawsuit against them for overdraft charges is not enough. Beware.

This company will charge a fee so fast to your account and the transaction barely is being done but if you make a deposit. Well, you don't have access to that money until at least the next business day. Any debits or charges are taken out immediately so why the delay?

My most recent experience was putting a stop payment on a check. I give a check number to my mortgage company each month and they withdraw a payment as check transaction through my checking account at Citizens. I don't write a paper check.

When I filled out the stop payment form on-line I gave the exact amount of the check to be stopped and the bank name and check number.

The check went through anyway a few days later. I was charged a $35 fee from Citizens for a service that I didn't get. When I called customer service in Rhode Island to request a refund. They simply said, "it was not a bank error because a paper check didn't come through." The disclaimer states that they will attempt to stop the payment. Well, there was absolutely no attempt to do anything here except charge me a fee. No refund but they lost a customer and I hope more lawsuits will come forward to put them out of business.

I have not had any good experiences with this bank. They are not customer friendly! I am switching to a credit union!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

May 29th 2014

Hello HBrown, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

joegersch's Profile Image

Reviewed by joegersch

May 25th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Easy to bank with

I love Citizens bank.

I can view my statement online daily. The local branch remembers my names and has even reversed fees.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 2

jcramer1's Profile Image

Reviewed by jcramer1

May 5th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Auto Refinance pay off letter problems from RBS CItizens

I attempted to refinance my RBS Citizens auto loan with a different bank on 05/01/2014 and the bank did every thing in their power to not send a pay off letter. The first Rep. I spoke to said they do not put Vehicle Identification numbers on pay off letters. I asked the Rep. for her supervisorand spoke with Mike the supervisor, who was arrogant as the first Rep. Mike stated that they would request the VIN on the pay off letter.

The new financial company I spoke to today Monday 05/05/2014 stated that the RBS Bank sent the pay off letter without the VIN requested and the letter was not signed. I belive that this was intentional because I had problems with my last auoto refinance through RBS Citizens. How can a finance company pay off a vehicle on a letter that is not signed and with no Vehicle I.D. Number on it? How does the new finance company know what vehicle they are paying off without the VIN.The same problems are exactly the same RBS discourages customers intentionall to refinance their RBS loan. I had to pay a $25.00 fee to have RBS fax the payoff letter to the new lender, which I paid both times. The new finance company stated that it is outrageous that the RBS charges $25.00 to fax a payoff letter. I will never do business with RBS Citizens Bank and will not refer anyone to RBS for Banking. Run away from this Bank, don't walk, terrible service.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

May 29th 2014

Hello jcramer1, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

lacinda68's Profile Image

Reviewed by lacinda68

Apr 30th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Just okay -- not spectacular.

Citizens has a varied portfolio of banking products that are standard but nothing really that is outstanding. Their rates and fees are competitive and I would recommend Citizens for your primary bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Hanykiro's Profile Image

Reviewed by Hanykiro

Apr 27th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Bad customer service and too much fee

Too many fee charge for anything (monthly charge, cash deposit charge, NSF ), and if you speak with bank about this fee, they don't care. I personally I don't like this way. Plus I choose 1 but if I have zero I will take it .

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

May 29th 2014

Hello Hanykiro, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

RRS's Profile Image

Reviewed by RRS

Apr 27th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Citizens Bank Premier Banking gives 0.1% interest

After having a large amount of money in my Citizens Bank Premier account getting 1% interest.

They reduced the interest amount down to 0.1% over a period of 6 months with no notice.

They hoped I would not check my paperless statement. I did not check often enough, I trusted my account rep to inform me of interest rate changes. I was nice enough to speak to my new account rep to see if he could help. Nothing, no response after our initial conversation. I have moved this large amount of money to ING getting 0.75 or more.

To treat your Premier Banking customer with 0.1% interest and no notice for over $200,000 show there is no Premier Banking at Citizens. What a joke Premier Banking is.

This paperless statements are no more than ways to keep information from the customer in our busy lives. Go elsewhere.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

May 29th 2014

Hello RRS, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

jennap's Profile Image

Reviewed by jennap

Apr 25th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Citizens Bank Sucks

After being a loyal customer of Citizens Bank for almost 15 years -- carrying a balance of about $50,000 between my checking and savings accounts, taking out student loans with them, having one of their largest safe deposit boxes, never having an overdraft, etc. -- my account was closed with no notice of any kind. I was told Citizens Bank decided they no longer want to do business with me. Oh, but this was after numerous lies from 2 different branch managers and their "customer" service rep after I called them to find out why my debit card wasn't working.

I am a professional, hard working person (not a drug lord/drug dealer/money launderer) who has done absolutely nothing wrong. Yet, with no notice, courtesy, etc,. they close my accounts and mail me a check for the balance in my accounts (so they say though it's yet to be determined if I actually get the money without having to argue about it), Yet, they are too chicken to say what the actual problem is.

Citizens Bank is absolutely the worst bank in the U.S. in my opinion and I will encourage everyone I know to pull their business and never bank with them again. If I could rate them all zeros below, I would.

Thanks for nothing, Citizens!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

May 29th 2014

Hello jennap, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

jameslavelle's Profile Image

Reviewed by jameslavelle

Apr 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Cold, Greedy, Bloodsucking Thieves!

I was a citizens customer for over 10 years. I have a checking, mortgage and equity line of credit. I have never overdrawn my checking, made my line of credit payment early every month and had my mortgage payment automatically deducted from my checking. I also had direct deposit of my pay.

On Feb 1st of this year, I had a severe financial emergency. It was a tough decision, but I had to withdraw most of my pay from my checking account. I did however, leave enough funds in the account to cover 6 smaller debit charges I had made. I fully intended to replace the money in 2 weeks to cover the mortgage, and I was more then willing to pay an overdraft fee to cover the missed automatic mortgage payment.

Before I could even begin to recover, the thieves stepped in and completely crushed me with ridiculous fees. My all time favorite is their $6.99 a day for 10 day sustained overdraft fee. The only thing they forgot to do was come over and slash my tires.

My checking is now closed (good riddance) and I am now receiving threatening letters from the bank. They say I owe almost $1000.00 and if I don't pay they will report me to chexsystems and the major credit bureaus. Thanks Citizens Bank!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

May 29th 2014

Hello James, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks, James -- we look forward to hearing from you!

mccand2014's Profile Image

Reviewed by mccand2014

Apr 19th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Bank ever! Liars!

One of my customers gave me a bad check. I had know idea it was going to bounce they blamed me treated me like a pile of dirt, this company was in business 30 years with a great reputation. They told me I should have known it was no good and froze all my assets. I paid the fee and they told me it would resolve all issues, instead they closed both my business and personal accounts and said we don't want your business. They lied to my face.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 4 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

May 29th 2014

Hello mccand2014, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

msudi's Profile Image

Reviewed by msudi

Apr 7th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Citizens Bank seems to have misplaced $40,000

I've wired that money five days ago from my business account to another Local bank that Citizen Bank always deals with. Next day I've got a call from the Assistant Manager that handled my transaction�she told me she received an email and the wire was return for insufficient information. I contacted the other bank and corrected the info I needed before I go back to the bank.

I went back to the Citizens bank that same day to re-do the process. I had to wait for 15 minutes since the Vice President of the bank was on a long, and chatty phone call, and my assistant from last time was busy.

Finally, I handed her the same exact info that I had the first day. And of course I was charged another fee, since she was re-wiring the fund again. She assured me that things will fine and it may take 24 hours to clear. So I checked if the wire reached its destination next day, which didn't happen. I've spent 4 days going to this branch to solve that problem.

Today I went back to the branch to cancel the transaction, and to inform them that I want to close both my business account, and personal when my wire returns; they didn't care and didn't seemed apologetic as well. When entered the branch my assistant was occupied and I had to wait for ten minutes, while the Vice President was free, and didn't ask me if I need any assistant since she could recognize my face from the past three days. Not one day she tried to even find out why this customer that is staring at her is keep coming back. At last I cancelled the wire. They refunded the fees. I told them how inconvenience this experience was since the transaction was business. Again, no one cared.

I will make sure my business account that is not priority, and important for them will be close when all my business checks clear this month.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Apr 10th 2014

Hello msudi, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

LarryAdams's Profile Image

Reviewed by LarryAdams

Apr 3rd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Humiliating, belittling, frustrating!

My experience with citizens bank in Lexington center, reaffirms my comparison that banks and the police are one in the same, banks are always in the positions to stand between you and your money, cops stand between you and your freedom both use these positions to make you jump through hoops whenever you get the chance. Both the banks and the police are an inconvenience to society and nothing more than power hungry bigots.

I went to citizens bank on April 1, 2014 to do something as simple as retrieve an ATM card I, by mistake, left in the atm machine at their Lexington center location. I called before hand to see if the card was indeed at the bank. I was told it was and I needed to bring an ID in order to have it returned, they specifically said I needed a driver's license. I can only imagine the examination I would have gotten and the hoops I would've had to jump through, If I hadn't had a drivers license. Before I could get all the way in the bank, I was approached by a young bank manager and asked what he could do for me, gave me a look and the feeling that I had no business in there. I told him why I was there and he immediately asked for my driver's license, not and ID. I made the big mistake of physically putting my license in his hands.

That's when the power display began, he took the license and strutted away like a peacock or a cop going back to his squad car to run a make. He went behind the counter with my license had a discussion with the teller who had already heard me tell him why I was there, they both went to the atm machine that was in the lobby as if they needed my license in there hands in order to open the atm machine. I stood there wondering why he couldn't have just looked at the license confirmed it was me gave back the license, get the ATM card. Give it to me and I would've been on my way. No that would've been to simple and to accommodating to me, he needed to flex some muscles and I needed to jump through at least one hoop. After they retrieved the atm card from the machine in th

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Apr 10th 2014

Hello Larry, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks, Larry -- we look forward to hearing from you!

Eldago's Profile Image

Reviewed by Eldago

Apr 3rd 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Disappointed

I've had this bank for many years and no problems ever. All of a sudden I check my account and see a 200 dollar withdrawal I did not make. This issue was solved by reimbursing me the money withdrawn, I appreciate the gentleman for listening to my concerns at Niagara Falls blvd branch now today I go to this branch to cash my husbands check of which I'm his payee.

The lady tells me I cannot cash the check only make a deposit. So I told them last month it was cashed no problem so why is it a problem now? The other lady comes and tells me the same thing and said let me make a phone call. I'm waiting 5 minutes and no one called back, she then comes back to tell me there's nothing they can do, I left furious and cashed my check at the tops customer service for $1.00, please explain to me why the hell Tops can cash my check and my own bank cannot?

I called to file a complaint, got a call back and they tell me they spoke to the lady but she said that it was not that they did not want to cash my check, it was a system error. So tell me again, why did she not explain that information to me? I would not be upset and would understand a system error. Instead I was treated as if I was a fraud trying to cash a check I was not entitled to. Not to mention they don't have name badges. I don't need to be worried about my account for missing money or unable to cash my checks.

I am closing my account and banking with a bank that knows how to handle these situations and make me feel comfortable to bank with them because Citizens Bank has lost my trust!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Apr 10th 2014

Hello Eldago, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks, Eldago -- we look forward to hearing from you!

Carslisle's Profile Image

Reviewed by Carslisle

Mar 27th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Miserable!

I had my mortgage and home equity loan with Citizens.The original "glitter" was irresistible! It was a fiasco from the beginning. During the past eight years I had to fight fees and errors on the bank's behalf. A simple example of the bank's mistake was that the tellers couldn't figure out how to put a payment to principal in correctly. When I went to the bank with the mistake in hand the response was (and I quote) "Oh well, just take the money out of your checking and redeposit it as a principal payment".

Really? I felt I had to check my bank account daily due to the fact that they would either "double" charge" my home equity loan on a short month, say February with only 28 days, or put a yearly $50.00 maintenance fee into the home equity loan for the privilege of paying the bank on top of the interest that they were already charging! This maintenance fee was not in the original form that I signed, it was added as an addendum three years later. There has never been a bank that I have trusted less and I am thrilled that I no longer have to deal with them. Be well aware that all that glitters isn't gold!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Apr 10th 2014

Hello Carslisle, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks, Carslisle -- we look forward to hearing from you!

UknowWho's Profile Image

Reviewed by UknowWho

Mar 26th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible

I had 3 checks clear on a Friday yet not post until Saturday, went there to deposit $11.00 to cover a 10 dollars and change balance, was told they cleared "after midnight". That's why they didn't show until Saturday. Of course even though I went there Saturday and they were open for business, the $11.00 didn't "officially" show (even though I saw it) on my account until Monday.

Monday, I had $65 in my account. I went to do a few things, go to a store, and I've got $6. They sucked a $35 overdraft out of the blue later on that day. "Banking doesn't work on weekends" boy they sure had no trouble processing checks after midnight Saturday though. So now I've got $6 for gas to get my kid to school the rest of the week because of this nonsense with these people. No conscience, absolute lowest of the lows. I called, tried to explain, more than once, the first woman was actually argumentative.

Taking money from a single mom with a 6 year old like that, when I was there the minute the door opened to cover a charge that was for a field trip ($10) which my son didn't go on but they cashed the check anyway, unbeknownst to me until that Saturday -- complete scumbags. I'm so done with this bank. Worst bank I've ever seen and I will make sure everyone I know knows it before they do business there. Thieves.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Apr 10th 2014

Hello UknkowWho, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

comadverti's Profile Image

Reviewed by comadverti

Mar 26th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible Customer Service

I have been banking with Citizens Bank for over 20 years now and have never experienced the lack of customer care as I have recently. My business bank card was recently compromised and they had to send me a new one which they said they would by FedEx never telling me they were going to charge me a $25 fee for doing so! Which they did!

Another experience I have had with them recently is they changed my default banking account that I pay bills from online to my personal account (which they never notified me of) and when I did five bill pays that were supposed to come out of my Business account, they took out of my personal account causing 5 transactions to bounce! They then charged me $175 in overdraft fees which they have now refused to reimburse me for. This type of unethical behavior on their part is outrageous! I am currently looking into taking my business elsewhere.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Mar 26th 2014

Hello comadverti, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

Doyle54's Profile Image

Reviewed by Doyle54

Mar 25th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Fees I never agreed to

I signed up for a checking account back in November. I was told that I had to carry a minimum balance of $2500 or simply make five debit transactions a month, otherwise I would be assessed the $11.99 service fee. I knew I wouldn't be carrying the balance, but the transactions would be no issue. So I opened the account.

Without any notification, after having the account for only a month, the five transaction condition was removed, and I the I was charged the fees over the course of three months. When I finally noticed this was happening, and called Citizens Bank, they changed my the style of my account, and agreed to refund only one charge. The said "it was up to me to see on my statement how to avoid the charges."

Apparently, the terms of a contract are free to change as Citizens sees fit, and not as the law provides. I make $1900 a month, do you really need my money that badly?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Mar 26th 2014

Hello Doyle54, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

StevenL's Profile Image

Reviewed by StevenL

Mar 24th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Punishment is inevitable with Citizens Bank

In late 2010 my teenage daughter (with no credit) asked for assistance for a new car purchase. With that I signed a loan with Citizens bank for my daughter. My daughter had the responsibility to pay the loan. It turned out to be very unfortunate for me. My daughter was missing payments and was also late with the ones she was making. After some time I was getting notices regarding these payments. She had said she lost her job and was unable to make any further payments.

With that, I notified RBS and explained what had happened. I myself was not able to make such payments. I immediately notified the repossession department. Arrangements were made to pick up her vehicle. The vehicle was picked up and resold at an auction and I was billed the balance owed. I paid the balance of the loan in full after borrowing from my pension account. The loan was satisfied. I have been with Citizens bank for many years. I have a checking account with direct deposit.

I realize regardless, the loan was my responsibility and did make good for it. It has been going on four years now and still RBS is refusing to withdraw my delinquency rating from my credit scores. This Delinquency rating is preventing me from moving forward. By now it should be time served. How much longer do I need to wait before Citizens Bank clears my name?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Mar 25th 2014

Hello Steven, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks, Steven -- we look forward to hearing from you!

StevenL's Profile Image

Responded by StevenL

Mar 25th 2014

Thank you for your response. I will follow though as you requested to try and resolve my issue. Thank You

mmcderm1dmaildixie's Profile Image

Reviewed by mmcderm1dmaildixie

Mar 24th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Bank Ever. The Bank With The Most Hidden Fees And No Forgiveness. Worst Customer Service I've Ever Experienced.

They've closed 10 minutes early. Once i was about 10 minutes till close, the sign still said open and the drive-thru did too. I parked, went to the locked door. Ok, I'll go through the drive-thru. I get back in my car, they see me drive around to the drive-thru, and as soon as i get over there they quickly shut off the open sign, still 5 minutes before the hour. They knew i was there but I guess getting home early was so important to them that they couldn't help a customer out.

They have the highest overdraft fees and daily fees from any bank that i've ever used. And on top of them being the most outrageously expensive fees, most other banks will work with you if it was an accident, or first time mistake, or if it was only a $5 dollar amount. Nope! Not with citizens bank. I wrote a $5 dollar check once for a medical bill. On accident it went into the negative $2. They charged me $35 for that little mistake and since i didn't see it for 4 or 5 days, when i got news of my balance the next week it had passed $6.99 every single day for that stupid amount. That $2 bull $hi! "favor" they did for me cost me over $70 in fees. No forgiveness, just "that's good banking! "

i will never recommend citizens bank to anyone that i care about!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Mar 24th 2014

Hello mmcderm1dmaildixie, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

quynho's Profile Image

Reviewed by quynho

Mar 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Bad bank ever!!! They decided to close all my 3 accounts without any explanation. Stay away from this bank.

Yesterday, I received 3 letters from Citizens Bank indicate that they will close all my 3 accounts (business checking, personal checking, and a saving) by 3/26/2014 (one week away) without any proper explanation. I stopped by the branch on my way to work and they informed me the same thing after they had a quick call with the "headquarter" office. The person on the other end said that they DON'T need to provide me an explanation. Are you serious? I have been their loyal customer for about 10 years now. My accounts are in good standing (direct deposits, online bill pay, and good balance). So, I don't understand why the heck they close out my account. How they expect me to find a new bank and transfer everything over there in a week? If this can happen to me, I'm sure that it could happen to you. Stay away from them and don't do business with them. Help spread the words to your friends and family as well.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Mar 24th 2014

Hello quynho, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

quynho's Profile Image

Responded by quynho

Mar 24th 2014

Lisa from the Office of Chairman already reached out to me to see if she can help out. After 24 hours later, she called me and said "We can't tell you the reason". So, I don't think you can help me out. It just amazed me that you guys can't give me a reason.

WaterfordLake's Profile Image

Reviewed by WaterfordLake

Mar 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Poor Management and Customer Service!

I dread the one day when I have to go to Citizens Bank to make the weekly deposit for the company I work for. Every time without fail, there's an issue. Either their system is down and I'm told to come back or I need to break-up the deposit because one or more checks are from Canada. Two tellers know how to complete the deposit as is while others just pretend to know. Lines can be long, slow moving and each teller has their own rules for completing transactions. Some tellers charge fees for other transactions and some do not. No one is on the same page. This bank is very poorly run. I met the branch manager, Stephanie Luz, and I see why this branch is so dreadful and worth skipping altogether. We will be moving this business account to another bank very soon.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Mar 17th 2014

Hello WaterfordLake, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks -- we look forward to hearing from you!

WaterfordLake's Profile Image

Responded by WaterfordLake

Mar 17th 2014

I will forward your offer onto the owner of the company. I know he spoke with several individuals this morning from your corporate office regarding his disappointment with Citizens Bank. I will have him contact you directly should he be interested in pursuing these matters further.

GettingEric's Profile Image

Reviewed by GettingEric

Mar 15th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

I wish you could bank here and see for your self

I have lived in Philadelphia for almost 12 years . I am a customer of Citizens bank at Godfrey and 5th street Philadelphia 19120 since I relocated to Philly from New York. Since opening account to this day it has been a very good experience for me.Marcia the manager is very welcoming and polite, doing every thing with a smile. There has not been one day that I have seen her in an unpleasant mood. Knowledgeable and experienced she always assisted me with whatever my concerns were. "Overdraft" fees ,ordering checks ,paying bills with my account,she helped me every time .I recently got a referral to their mortgage affiliate RBS,from which I was successful in getting a mortgage for my new home. Everyone at that branch is nice, the security guard all the staff , Marcia . Debbie and Mr Hughes,not forgetting the tellers. I just wish that everyone could come to my branch ,to meet these wonderful friendly people. I know you will want to bank there like I did for years to come.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Mar 17th 2014

Thanks so much for your kind words, GettingEric! I'll be sure to pass your thoughts on to Marcia and the team at Godfrey and 5th Street.

BethH's Profile Image

Reviewed by BethH

Mar 9th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst bank on the planet!!

I have had so many problems with Citizens there isn't enough space to write it down! When I got divorced they gave my IRA to my ex. They double paid my mortgage once, bouncing everything else in my account. When I complained they canceled both payments so I had to pay a late fee. My credit card was with them as well. I bought something, I don't remember what but it was a 20 or 30 dollar purchase at a craft show. They thought it was a "suspicious purchase" so they froze my account. Never called or anything, just froze it. imagine my embarrassment when I hosted a Christmas dinner for 15 and my credit card was declined! I had to leave, go find an ATM machine and withdraw the cash to pay the bill. To add insult to injury it wasn't a Citizens ATM and they charged me a fee!. The last straw was when I went to the bank drive through, I wanted to deposit a check for 270. and get 100. back. The girl told me somehow the scanning machine added the 270 and the 170 together and added 444. to my account. (do the math, those 2 numbers do not add up to 444.) So she did a 444. withdraw saying it would put it back to the right amount. Needless to say I went from a 900+ balance to a 300.+ balance. An HOUR AND A HALF later I was still arguing with the bank manager who seems as mathematically challenged as his staff is. PLEASE do yourself a favor, don't trust your finances with these people...don't even trust them to make change! PNC here I come! I will take more fees for a properly managed account! Their slogan should be We are striving for incompetence! Someday we will get there! Not good banking is good citizenship. There is no good banking there, its completely false advertising. I only chose 1 for overall satisfaction because negative numbers were not offered.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Mar 17th 2014

Hello Beth, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks, Beth -- we look forward to hearing from you!

Ribi's Profile Image

Reviewed by Ribi

Mar 3rd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Leaving as soon as I can.

Citizens Bank removed all my business statements from my online banking account. I had a business and a personal account connected together. I went to download the statements for the year for tax purposes, and they were gone. I called them, and was told that I had to pay a $25.00 research fee, and then $10 per statement to get them again in the MAIL. They have them on a computer back up, where they could have found them, then PDF them to me, but they would lose their outrageous fees, if they did THAT. The first customer service rep told me they would be $6.00 each, then another told me she had made a mistake, and that they were really $10.00 each. After 20 years with this bank, I have finally had it. I can't wait for the statements to arrive so I can close ALL my accounts.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by citizensbank

Mar 3rd 2014

Hello Ribi, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experience, and I would like to learn more to see how we can best help. In order to talk with you regarding your concerns, we need to speak with you one-on-one. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks, Ribi -- we look forward to hearing from you!

Chrisbernhard's Profile Image

Reviewed by Chrisbernhard

Feb 27th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Excellent

Everyone is extremely polite and professional at the Perinton / Fairport branch.

Citizens Bank as a company is average but the great customer service that the employees give at this branch is the only reason why I stay.

Thank you

Sincerely,

Chris Bernhard

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Post a review