A MyBankTracker Rating

Fifth Third Bank Customer Reviews

(173 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 10
4 Star 2
3 Star 1
2 Star 7
1 Star 153

The Most Helpful Fifth Third Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By rwinder54 Apr 11, 2016

Very friendly and helpful

The people at this location are very helpful and friendly. They were kind enough to do a notary signature for several documents I needed. It is not my bank and I informed them as much. The branch manager welcomed me into her office and gave me the help I needed, on 2 separate occasions.

Everyone in the branch greeted me upon entering and were very warm.

When I change banks here locally I will be glad to do business with this location.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By lesinnash Dec 1, 2015

They aren't Honoring Deposits

I made a deposit yesterday which posted yesterday and they did not honor the full deposit first before the debits were made, and charged me an overdraft fee today. I called to tell them that they have always honored the deposits first before the debits, especially when I have deposited before 12 pm and they tried to tell me that they didn't, only $100 of the deposit. Obviously I have never had this problem before- I've always had all of my debits covered the same day when I have deposited before 8 pm - way before the banks were closed. They are obviously stealing people's money for no reason and I am switching banks for this reason. They will not be around much longer with this treatment of their customers trying to 'gaslight' them into thinking they are wrong.

Is this review helpful?

Latest Fifth Third Bank Reviews

  • A
    Reviewed By Ayotte21 Apr 28, 2016

    Worst customer service

    Worst customer service I have ever experienced!! Wouldn't recommend them to my dog! Don't ever use them!!!

    Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By rwinder54 Apr 11, 2016

    Very friendly and helpful

    The people at this location are very helpful and friendly. They were kind enough to do a notary signature for several documents I needed. It is not my bank and I informed them as much. The branch manager welcomed me into her office and gave me the help I needed, on 2 separate occasions.

    Everyone in the branch greeted me upon entering and were very warm.

    When I change banks here locally I will be glad to do business with this location.

    Is this review helpful?
  • V
    Reviewed By VeryMad Mar 9, 2016

    Matthews Branch

    We have been a corporate customer for years and thought highly of the bank. Now since they have new people they have decided to change how they handle our account and are going to put holds on our deposits even though we have been making the same deposits for over 10 years. If this is not resolved, we will move our account. Very unprofessional!!!!!!!!! I wouldn't even give one star but it makes you.

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Shannon Feb 27, 2016

    They lost my money!

    Last night I made my very first deposit into my new 5/3 account via ATM. Go figure, the ATM breaks down, and gives me an error slip saying the money was not deposited! I called the branch the next day, waited on hold for 15 minutes, only to be told that I needed to call customer service number on the back of my card, then was hung up on!! So i then called customer service, only to wait another 43 minutes on hold, and was finally told by a rude customer service lady that it could take 4 business days to receive my funds!!! 4 business days???? I couldnt believe it! I asked to speak to a supervisor, and he was no help, said at best 3 days from know if my urgency request was approved! So I have to wait to pag my bills because of this banks error?
    This isnt the first time 5/3 bank has screwed me over, but it will be the last after I shut down this account I just opened.

    Is this review helpful?
  • E
    Reviewed By eli Feb 26, 2016

    attempting to steal 10's of thousands in cashier's checks from me

    i was just informed i cannot cash my multiple cashier checks from the fifth third i bought them from.

    if this matter is not settled immediately to my satisfaction.

    the cost will go up by 10's of thousands plus the cost of a lawyer

    if the matter takes more time, than i will be a millionaire and a jury of my pairs will sneer at another banks attempt to steal money from people who bank at an establishment that is literally on Main St. my city, state. plus im sure the lawyer will want whatever.

    no, the lawyer is not getting part my my money, anguish, destruction of social trust, grand theft, that's mine. the lawyer can get his own.

    whatever, i'm completely distraught, unable to contact anyone to provide relief from this extreme anxiety, panic attempts.

    might as well copy and paste this for my notes.

    dont trust 5th 3rd.

    o yeah, i have a credit card i got at the main st locale and yet im not allowed to trespass there. more anxiety, depression, inability to talk to someone to provide answers. let's guess find out what the jury says when they see my uncashed checks and no warnings of date or loss of account. nothing, the jury will see no 4 year loss of value context, because there is none. saying you sent a letter and then stealing money is not how things work.

    like i said, handle it quickly to my satisfaction, and it ends.

    fail to stop the attempt to steal my money and pay more, simple. i will never know how much the lawyer charges you. i will tell you numbers that will not change and these numbers will continue to rise. it's nice, because banks have so much money. i hope they dont steal from anyone to me, i would help that person sue them after my settlement, or class action, hmm, lawyer stuff i guess

    well, nice chat

    dont steal

    Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By lucyp Jan 14, 2016

    Do NOT bank with Fifth Third Bank! They are DISHONEST!

    I paid off my car loan in March of 2015 and just now received a letter on January 2016 saying that I owe $4810. This did not make any sense at all! I already received my title for my car! They are trying to say that there was a mistake with my gap insurance that caused me to owe more money than what I have already paid. The gap insurance should have been added to my monthly payments. I have been paying my monthly payments and requested the payoff amount February 2015 and did everything on my part to pay off this loan. They are being dishonest and asking for more money and the customer service department and supervisors Renee and India Stringer are unable to explain why I owe this much. They have been investigating for over one week since I received this letter. If they are to re-open my loan account and charge me $4810 more, shouldn't they be able to properly explain to me why?!! While they are investigating, they have the $4810 debt under my name and already in my credit report. This bank is the worst and is trying to scam people for their money!! Please do NOT bank with them!!

    Is this review helpful?
  • F
    Reviewed By Formula602 Dec 12, 2015

    Beware! 5th 3rd will rob you of your money!....

    I went in a couple of myths ago,and told them in NO UNCERTAIN TERMS....that I did not want any overdraft on my acct anymore...the guy at the desk clicked on the computer,said "all set".....well,guess what?....it,s still on there,and they are trying to get me to pay $12.00 for a overdraft!....They have called every day for last 4-5 days too......

    This is out and out harassment !.....my blood pressure goes up 10 points too..when I talk to them.....

    They just won't write off the $50 they so nicely gave me...even thought they have taken THOUSANDS out of me over the last 10-15 years...

    AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!

    Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By lesinnash Dec 1, 2015

    They aren't Honoring Deposits

    I made a deposit yesterday which posted yesterday and they did not honor the full deposit first before the debits were made, and charged me an overdraft fee today. I called to tell them that they have always honored the deposits first before the debits, especially when I have deposited before 12 pm and they tried to tell me that they didn't, only $100 of the deposit. Obviously I have never had this problem before- I've always had all of my debits covered the same day when I have deposited before 8 pm - way before the banks were closed. They are obviously stealing people's money for no reason and I am switching banks for this reason. They will not be around much longer with this treatment of their customers trying to 'gaslight' them into thinking they are wrong.

    Is this review helpful?
  • E
    Reviewed By ecl105 Nov 30, 2015

    Be Aware of Undisclosed Fees for Loyal Customers

    My husband and I were Fifth Third customers for years with personal and business accounts. We ended up moving out of state where there was not a Fifth Third branch so we had to close our accounts. It was never disclosed that we would be charged $50 until we decided to close our business account. I have told many people about this, and they were shocked that a bank would charge to close a business account "just because" that is their policy. I even e-mailed corporate Fifth Third to verify this, and they responded that I needed to call their corporate office, which I did and confirmed that this $50 closing fee was correct. Let me add that throughout our time doing business with Fifth Third, we were charged fees that were added on because Fifth Third's checking account "plans" changed, and we were never informed of the new guidelines. Fifth Third is not upfront with their fees, and I had to constantly watch our bank account for fees that many times Fifth Third removed because of not disclosing them to us. I would not recommend this bank at all, especially to someone that has been a loyal customer and given them much business over the past 8 years.

    Is this review helpful?
  • U
    Reviewed By umpqua5 Sep 8, 2015

    No accountability

    Had my mortgage through them (not our choice). Paid the mortgage off, called to confirm new address to mail me by escrow check back. Called when no check in 2mos, they had the address wrong but refused to expedite issuing a new check. Stating another 20-30 days. Hijacking the money to earn interest. Who needs 30 days to issue a check?

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.