A MyBankTracker Rating

Fifth Third Bank Customer Reviews

(168 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 9
4 Star 2
3 Star 1
2 Star 7
1 Star 149

The Most Helpful Fifth Third Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Tracy326 Sep 24, 2014

My Team At The Ocoee Branch

I have been banking here for as long as i remember. Ocoee has the best team ever. My team makes me feel comfortable and like family. They go above and beyond to help in any way. They have always known my name since day 1. I love going into this branch. They can always make me smile and laugh even on my worst day. I have to admit that i try to find a reason to go there at least once a day. I want to send a personal thank you to the best team ever.

Felicia
renee
caitlin
janet
tony
david (even though he no longer at this branch he is always will be part of the team)
keep up the great work

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By lesinnash Dec 1, 2015

They aren't Honoring Deposits

I made a deposit yesterday which posted yesterday and they did not honor the full deposit first before the debits were made, and charged me an overdraft fee today. I called to tell them that they have always honored the deposits first before the debits, especially when I have deposited before 12 pm and they tried to tell me that they didn't, only $100 of the deposit. Obviously I have never had this problem before- I've always had all of my debits covered the same day when I have deposited before 8 pm - way before the banks were closed. They are obviously stealing people's money for no reason and I am switching banks for this reason. They will not be around much longer with this treatment of their customers trying to 'gaslight' them into thinking they are wrong.

Is this review helpful?

Latest Fifth Third Bank Reviews

  • L
    Reviewed By lucyp Jan 14, 2016

    Do NOT bank with Fifth Third Bank! They are DISHONEST!

    I paid off my car loan in March of 2015 and just now received a letter on January 2016 saying that I owe $4810. This did not make any sense at all! I already received my title for my car! They are trying to say that there was a mistake with my gap insurance that caused me to owe more money than what I have already paid. The gap insurance should have been added to my monthly payments. I have been paying my monthly payments and requested the payoff amount February 2015 and did everything on my part to pay off this loan. They are being dishonest and asking for more money and the customer service department and supervisors Renee and India Stringer are unable to explain why I owe this much. They have been investigating for over one week since I received this letter. If they are to re-open my loan account and charge me $4810 more, shouldn't they be able to properly explain to me why?!! While they are investigating, they have the $4810 debt under my name and already in my credit report. This bank is the worst and is trying to scam people for their money!! Please do NOT bank with them!!

    Is this review helpful?
  • F
    Reviewed By Formula602 Dec 12, 2015

    Beware! 5th 3rd will rob you of your money!....

    I went in a couple of myths ago,and told them in NO UNCERTAIN TERMS....that I did not want any overdraft on my acct anymore...the guy at the desk clicked on the computer,said "all set".....well,guess what?....it,s still on there,and they are trying to get me to pay $12.00 for a overdraft!....They have called every day for last 4-5 days too......

    This is out and out harassment !.....my blood pressure goes up 10 points too..when I talk to them.....

    They just won't write off the $50 they so nicely gave me...even thought they have taken THOUSANDS out of me over the last 10-15 years...

    AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!

    Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By lesinnash Dec 1, 2015

    They aren't Honoring Deposits

    I made a deposit yesterday which posted yesterday and they did not honor the full deposit first before the debits were made, and charged me an overdraft fee today. I called to tell them that they have always honored the deposits first before the debits, especially when I have deposited before 12 pm and they tried to tell me that they didn't, only $100 of the deposit. Obviously I have never had this problem before- I've always had all of my debits covered the same day when I have deposited before 8 pm - way before the banks were closed. They are obviously stealing people's money for no reason and I am switching banks for this reason. They will not be around much longer with this treatment of their customers trying to 'gaslight' them into thinking they are wrong.

    Is this review helpful?
  • E
    Reviewed By ecl105 Nov 30, 2015

    Be Aware of Undisclosed Fees for Loyal Customers

    My husband and I were Fifth Third customers for years with personal and business accounts. We ended up moving out of state where there was not a Fifth Third branch so we had to close our accounts. It was never disclosed that we would be charged $50 until we decided to close our business account. I have told many people about this, and they were shocked that a bank would charge to close a business account "just because" that is their policy. I even e-mailed corporate Fifth Third to verify this, and they responded that I needed to call their corporate office, which I did and confirmed that this $50 closing fee was correct. Let me add that throughout our time doing business with Fifth Third, we were charged fees that were added on because Fifth Third's checking account "plans" changed, and we were never informed of the new guidelines. Fifth Third is not upfront with their fees, and I had to constantly watch our bank account for fees that many times Fifth Third removed because of not disclosing them to us. I would not recommend this bank at all, especially to someone that has been a loyal customer and given them much business over the past 8 years.

    Is this review helpful?
  • U
    Reviewed By umpqua5 Sep 8, 2015

    No accountability

    Had my mortgage through them (not our choice). Paid the mortgage off, called to confirm new address to mail me by escrow check back. Called when no check in 2mos, they had the address wrong but refused to expedite issuing a new check. Stating another 20-30 days. Hijacking the money to earn interest. Who needs 30 days to issue a check?

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Shade' Ojibe Aug 4, 2015

    Mortgage Loan Statement

    My mortage loan statement did not show any money going toward principal so I called the loan officer that initially did my modification loan. He stated that the information he had, showed that payment was going toward principal and he told me to call the department that sent out the statement. When I talked to the department, the representative stated," he should have taken care of this matter himself and for me to hold on because she was going to contact a supervisor in the modification department" When a representative from that department got on the phone she appeared to be so angry that I asked if she could change her tone because I just wanted an explanation. She went on to informed me that I did not have a mortgage loan and that I was charged interest each day after the 1st of each month.(alluding to thats were all my money was going to) I told her that my statement stated "Mortgage Loan Statement" at the top of the page and if I had a different type of loan nobody had explained this to me when my modification loan was completed. I explained that I was under the understanding that my loan would not include any penalties until after the 15th. Instead of dealing with the issue I was concerned about, she corrected me concerning the late date of a mortgage loans. I have never talked to any bank representative that was this rude in my life. I stated that I would go to a branch and abruptly ended our conversation. Although this person was very rude, I did not have this experience with the individual who completed my modification. He was a very helpful and pleasant person. Unfortunately all employees at Fifth Third Bank are not.

    Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By lynn1209 Aug 3, 2015

    The worst bank I ever had to deal with in Florida

    Had a closing with this bank last week and it was the worst experience of my life, Two hours before closing bank advised needs and additional $10,000 in order to close. Contract on the house had to be extended twice due to the bank no getting there part done. People never returned phone calls.
    Will never deal with then again.

    Beware dealing them .

    Is this review helpful?
  • O
    Reviewed By Osamaabutahoun Jun 17, 2015

    Customers Service

    Very Bad Customer Services
    Collection Department
    Unprofessional agency
    Josh and Louis non train person really bad for this bank

    Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By Ripgregpy Jun 13, 2015

    The worst banking and mortgage experience.

    We unfortunately used 5/3 for our mortgage. This is our 7th mortgage and by far the worst. Rates were misquoted, communication horrible, and customer service appalling. We're still waiting for s credit for points that we had in writing would not be applied.

    Our experience setting up a checking account was even worse.

    I would only recommend 5/3 to my worst of enemies.

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By Mk900 Jun 5, 2015

    Horrible

    Allegedly this is my branch though I opened an account at least 15 miles away and don't live near here. Over the last couple of years they have changed my account several times causing me hundreds of dollars and countless amount of stress. I have called the branch manager several times and received no response. I feel like the commercials talking about the banks sneaking in fees and screwing their customers is exactly what this bank has become.

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.