A MyBankTracker Rating

Fifth Third Bank Customer Reviews

(179 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 11
4 Star 2
3 Star 1
2 Star 7
1 Star 158

The Most Helpful Fifth Third Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By rwinder54 Apr 11, 2016

Very friendly and helpful

The people at this location are very helpful and friendly. They were kind enough to do a notary signature for several documents I needed. It is not my bank and I informed them as much. The branch manager welcomed me into her office and gave me the help I needed, on 2 separate occasions.

Everyone in the branch greeted me upon entering and were very warm.

When I change banks here locally I will be glad to do business with this location.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By lesinnash Dec 1, 2015

They aren't Honoring Deposits

I made a deposit yesterday which posted yesterday and they did not honor the full deposit first before the debits were made, and charged me an overdraft fee today. I called to tell them that they have always honored the deposits first before the debits, especially when I have deposited before 12 pm and they tried to tell me that they didn't, only $100 of the deposit. Obviously I have never had this problem before- I've always had all of my debits covered the same day when I have deposited before 8 pm - way before the banks were closed. They are obviously stealing people's money for no reason and I am switching banks for this reason. They will not be around much longer with this treatment of their customers trying to 'gaslight' them into thinking they are wrong.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Fifth Third Bank Reviews

  • R
    Reviewed By rmiller85 Jun 18, 2016

    HORRIBLE

    I opened a basic checking about with the understanding that of the money wasn't in the account then the bank would not let anything post. I had the account for not even 6 months and I've lost well over $700 due to fraudulent transactions, denied stop payment requests, and overdraft fees. I spoke with someone just about every two days within the past two weeks with no resolution. It was suggested that I close the current and open a new account....same issue. I regret the day I walked into 5/3.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By Piyushswami May 31, 2016

    Great place to do all the banking

    This is the best bank I have taken my business to overthrow past forty plus years. Great staff who are always ready to help. They go out of the way to provide service

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By Roberta123 May 28, 2016

    Can't get cash as computer is down

    This morning we went to the Bank to get $1000.00 in cash, before the Memorial Day Week-end.
    They said the computers were down so were unable to give any cash, said they would call when they were up. We said we would call and check. Called, could not get through, put in a loop. We went back to the bank about an hour later to request that they call someone to get the cash released. Everyone was very rude including a customer who got into the fray. We walked out of there with the needed cash. Can't believe a bank can't function without a computer. They can take your money but not give it. We are a Private Banking customer and have been for at least 15 years. I think we need to find a new bank. Their customer service stinks.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By Pack1987 May 21, 2016

    Useless

    This entire bank branch is one of least helpful collections of people I have ever had to work with in a "professional" organization. They say one thing and then 5 minutes later will say something totally different. Their "banker" barely speaks English and has a difficult time performing simple tasks. Their "head teller" wasn't any better and I have seen no other signs of leadership whatsoever. I have had a fifth third (previously Old Kent) account for over 28 years and have only remained loyal due to a grandparent who previously was on the board but as years have passed I have been repeatedly disappointed by this organization and their lack of knowledge, ease, and satisfaction as a business. Will definitely be taking mine and my family's business elsewhere.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By smiky0403 May 10, 2016

    Bank is incompetent/ Irresponsible agent

    I started in last year to open my account which just had a balance of about ~$170. I treated it as a convenient place to withdraw/deposit small amount money since it's near home.
    When I open my account, I've confirmed with the agent at least 3 times: if it's free of monthly fee and her answer is no monthly fee.
    But actually there is a $11 monthly fee!!! The agent has no idea about their bank and their bank account product!!! . When open my account, I've explain clearly to her why I want to open this account and my purpose of use; if there's a monthly, she should have definitely warn me the monthly fee and stop me to open that account.
    That is common sense for her! She was totally responsible for it!
    There's not even a courtesy alarm during the past entire year. When I shut down my account the time my money was drained out below zero, there's no refund and no apology . When I leave, the same agent was even try to sell me some their new product.
    Finally I would suggest to stay far away from Fifth Third Bank, especially this branch.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By LOLeary May 9, 2016

    HORRIBLE BANK -- BEWARE

    My paycheck goes through on Thursday at approx. 1am. I looked on my account today, Monday, and I'm negative over $300. I called the bank to see what had happened, and I was informed my check doesn't clear until Friday morning, so any purchase I make on Thursday would be considered as a "bounce" and I would be charged a $37 fee for every charge on the account. They also informed me that they would only pay two of these fees a year, at the bank's discretion, and that they had stopped my overdraft protection due to the amount I make every week. So please, do not use 5/3 Bank unless you want to be screwed over hundreds upon hundreds of dollars like myself and have to argue with someone for hours to try to get your money back.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By Ayotte21 Apr 28, 2016

    Worst customer service

    Worst customer service I have ever experienced!! Wouldn't recommend them to my dog! Don't ever use them!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By rwinder54 Apr 11, 2016

    Very friendly and helpful

    The people at this location are very helpful and friendly. They were kind enough to do a notary signature for several documents I needed. It is not my bank and I informed them as much. The branch manager welcomed me into her office and gave me the help I needed, on 2 separate occasions.

    Everyone in the branch greeted me upon entering and were very warm.

    When I change banks here locally I will be glad to do business with this location.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • V
    Reviewed By VeryMad Mar 9, 2016

    Matthews Branch

    We have been a corporate customer for years and thought highly of the bank. Now since they have new people they have decided to change how they handle our account and are going to put holds on our deposits even though we have been making the same deposits for over 10 years. If this is not resolved, we will move our account. Very unprofessional!!!!!!!!! I wouldn't even give one star but it makes you.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By ShannonH Feb 27, 2016

    They lost my money!

    Last night I made my very first deposit into my new 5/3 account via ATM. Go figure, the ATM breaks down, and gives me an error slip saying the money was not deposited! I called the branch the next day, waited on hold for 15 minutes, only to be told that I needed to call customer service number on the back of my card, then was hung up on!! So i then called customer service, only to wait another 43 minutes on hold, and was finally told by a rude customer service lady that it could take 4 business days to receive my funds!!! 4 business days???? I couldnt believe it! I asked to speak to a supervisor, and he was no help, said at best 3 days from know if my urgency request was approved! So I have to wait to pag my bills because of this banks error?
    This isnt the first time 5/3 bank has screwed me over, but it will be the last after I shut down this account I just opened.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.