B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Great Western Bank Customer Reviews

(15 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 2
4 Star 0
3 Star 0
2 Star 1
1 Star 12

The Most Helpful Great Western Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By JaqStone Sep 19, 2014

Best Bank Services and Customer Service

Over the last 35 years I have banked with every major bank and a few small ones. The best by far is Great Western Bank in Coolidge, Arizona. Customer service is top notch and the products they offer are the best in the industry.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By GoBig R. Mar 5, 2013

The most incompetent bank and staff in the state of Nebraska

Worst customer service, incompetent people. Charged me a fee but can't tell me what it was for. They closed my account because I made them feel uncomfortable. As stupid as it can get!!!!!

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Great Western Bank Reviews

  • J
    Reviewed By jstanton22 Dec 4, 2015

    DO NOT USE THIS BANK!!!

    This bank has the worst customer service on the planet. First, they have deposited money of ours in other peoples' accounts as well like some other posters of this same issue.
    The worst, though, is when we discovered that someone had hacked an account of some kind with both my wife and my debit cards and drained our account. We only noticed this because we checked our account before going to shop for our Thanksgiving day groceries. Needless to say, we didn't get to go shopping; this was on a Sunday.
    On Monday we called and was told I would have to fill out a dispute form and wait five days for provisional money to be put back in. In the meantime, I would have to go to my local bank to SEE if they would forego the overdraft charges that would occur as we had NO money. They were SO gracious to do this for us and I had to call everyday to have them reverse the charges even though the manager there had supposedly put in the request to not charge us during this time.
    When we finally got our money back in on Saturday, it was short $200 but one of the charges was done on my wife's card and we would have to start the process all over again, another 5 days even though the initial investigation put money back in our account from the other charges on my card. So we have to wait a full 10 days to get the full amount of money back in our account because the idiot who helped us initially did not see two cards were used.
    We had to go to this bank because our last credit union had no local offices near us and had we been with them, they would have not let any of the charges even go through because they were done in California to buy massive amounts of gift cards and we have never been to California as long as we have had our bank account. DO NOT BANK HERE UNLESS YOU WANT CONSTANT HEADACHES, CRAPPY SERVICE, AND LOVE BEING A NUMBER.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By AliceGould Oct 22, 2015

    Poor customer service.

    Great Western bank used to be local and interested in helping customers but not any more. Now they are as bad as Wells Fargo about not letting customer know when there are problems with their account so they can rack up outrageous over-draft fees. After submitting a written request as I told to do, they did not change my address or let me know that they now require a written request to be notarized. As a result, it took 16 days to receive an insufficient funds notice. 16 days after my account became overdrawn, I received a pile of notices along with my bank statement. I called the local bank and was simply told it wasn't their problem--it was my problem and I better pay up!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By sluchsinger Aug 24, 2015

    A Long Time Customer, Opting Out of Great Western

    I've been with Great Western for over 10 years, I currently have four accounts. I have overlooked the occasional issue over the years: a hold on my retirement check for inexplicable reasons, incorrect change, a teller saying "what deposit?" I have stuck it out with them because they are my neighborhood bank, they know me, and have friendly, if not always competent, service. When I was invited to join a class action lawsuit for manipulated overdraft charges, I opted out. I did not feel it was ethical to try to collect money from them when they had not wronged me. Yesterday, I was a victim of such charges, and they don't care. Tomorrow, I opt out of Great Western.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By sammir Jul 30, 2015

    Worst Bank On Earth

    I have been with this bank for two years ,and all they have done is take my money with no good reason,if you make a mistake and go overdraft they will reverse all your previous transactions and make you pay a huge sum of money plus a 10 dollar fee for each day you stay overdraft. Ii also remember there is a day someone stole 1200 from my account. This bank is trouble.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By TCBnothappy Mar 15, 2015

    Bad News Bank

    The "Front Office" of this bank has caused me more problems than any other bank I've ever delt with. Who are these front office idiots, why can't I talk to them? Great western lies about protecting the customer but come on Great Western, you will protect yourselves only, not me or my business. If you order a product from a website that they don't like, they will shut down your card without notice and leave your butt out in the wind. What??? you shut down my card countless times without notice? I have had it!!!! Small time banks like this will cover their own ass's at all cost and hang you out to dry. The people at the lakewood branch are awesome but the front office will screw you in a heartbeat. WAKE UP great western, my accounts will be moved by the end of the week.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By JaqStone Sep 19, 2014

    Best Bank Services and Customer Service

    Over the last 35 years I have banked with every major bank and a few small ones. The best by far is Great Western Bank in Coolidge, Arizona. Customer service is top notch and the products they offer are the best in the industry.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • E
    Reviewed By edmonds Sep 13, 2014

    Online Banking Difficulties

    Every time i attempt to login to my account it has been impossible to login. There seems to be no one available to assist. I am fearful there are internal issues with security. I am considering moving my account to another bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By Pam9630 Jul 16, 2014

    Double Charges for Checks

    This is the third time I have called about being charged twice for checks. Also the checks did not come with the changes that I ordered. I was on hold for 15 minutes and told that customer service could not help m and I needed to talk to my personal banker. I left a message and no call back. I then called again and I was told my personal banker has been up for another job and this might be the problem. I then called again and was left hanging for another 15 minutes. With no resolution, as far as I'm concerned this is a grave misuse of my funds. What ever happened to customer service?

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By nebcitygirl Jun 4, 2014

    Terrible Banking Experience

    I opened a checking account in Nov. 13', and since that time I have had several garnishments hit my account. Which was fine until I found out that the majority of these 'garnishments' were actually legal fees form my bank. That all that money I had been paying out was actually going to the bank and a very tiny portion was actually paying my garnishments. Then they processed a garnishment with no funds in my account and charged me $79 with overdraft fees for over a week.

    They will not redo this and they claimed they had permission from the court system. So I contacted them and they told me they did not say that they could remove funds that were not there. Getting an answer was like pulling teeth. They straight up lied to me about verifying paper work, and when I asked to see the paper work they claimed they verified they could not produce it. Very horrible bank. Wouldn't recommend anyone to use it.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By scojhoff Apr 15, 2014

    Lost a deposit of mine and had checks drawn out of my account from other customers. Where's my service fees to collect?

    Been banking with these people since 2002 when tier one was the bank, but the bank folded and then Great Western took over. And in three and a half years of banking they lost a deposit of mine that I had to tell them to go find after 3 weeks when I decided to reconcile by check book. Now that would of been lost forever had I not said anything. Furthermore a friend of mine had his work check deposited there and they lost that too and He had to go to his works office to prove a cancelled check. Oh and one other thing they had not one but two checks from other customers drawn from my account one over drew my account now they reimbursed the account but a week later they charged me for a NSF for someone else check. they reimbursed that too, but hey shouldn't I be able to charge the bank $30 for screwing up my account! Be ware and like the previous statement I raised a little hell and they cancelled my checking accounts too, I'll be going to small claims for check printing expenses and those fees. Watch your accounts closely if you do business with this bank!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.