B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Huntington Customer Reviews

(148 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 11
4 Star 0
3 Star 4
2 Star 12
1 Star 121

The Most Helpful Huntington Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Tom R. Aug 15, 2015

Positive Experience

On Friday, August 14, 2015, I accompanied my granddaughter to apply for a loan. It was near closing but Denise Helman took the time process the loan application. To make things even better, Jenny came over and introduced herself. She is the branch manager and this only added to an already very pleasant experience. If this customer appreciation is an example of what to expect when a potential customer makes a visit, then I may be tempted to start a banking relationship with Huntington at this branch location.

Tom R.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By BryceSchaffer Feb 22, 2014

Now I'm suing them

its a tough one but I've definitely got some dirt on them now! lorain county court of common pleas. case no. 13cv181571. I'm about to start a class action and could use all the people they've hurt pertaining to overdraft fees, inaccurate account balances and defective checks. my info is on the docket. please send me a letter and i'll respond by mail or phone if you provide.

sincerely,
Bryce Schaffer

Is this review helpful?

Latest Huntington Reviews

  • H
    Reviewed By hazelmichigan Feb 13, 2016

    Huntington Bank is a Sexist Company

    Huntington Bank is a sexist company...
    I wanted to do some quick online banking yesterday with Huntington Bank.
    I wasn't able to get in so I called the 800 number and I spoke to representative Seth, who informed me in order for me to do banking online I would need my husband's permission.

    I explained to him, that my name is on the account as well, which he proceeded to explain to me without my husband's permission I would not be able to move forward...

    When I asked to speak to a supervisor or manager, and the spelling of his name, he proceeded to tell me to get my husband or he was going to hang up on me... and then he hung up on me.

    Not good Huntington Bank woman have just as much rights as men...
    If not for the wonderful manager at the branch office I would not be a Huntington customer today.

    What if this had been an emergency I would have been left out in the cold.

    Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By tina00005 Feb 11, 2016

    Huntington is the WORSE bank to finance a home with

    The last year and a half have probably been the worse years of my life! In June of 2014 I became ill and was SENT TO THE ER per the medical staff at my job, and was hospitalized for the third time in a six month period. It took so much time with all the paperwork (red tape) for my temporary disability to go through, that it wasn't long before I fell behind on my mortgage just 3 months later September 16, 2014. Then, by October (I believe), I was medically separated from my job, forcing me to apply for Permanent total disability. In November, my Mother was diagnosed with stage 2 breast cancer, and needed my help. I went EVERYDAY to change her dressing and cook for her and my step father to the best of my ability, until she just came to my house, because my step father worked so many hours, and she wouldn't be alone, making it easier for all of us. Then on January 10th 2015, we didn't hear from my step Dad for 3 days and went to check on him and found him dead in bed at the age of 63, surrounded by what looked like a crime scene because he was having a heart attack and must have been struggling to get to another room. THEN, in February, I took my mother to file taxes and had mine done as well. Low and Behold...another shortcoming! My identity had been stolen! During ALL this stuff going on, I reached out to so many organizations to help me save my home and every attempt lead me NOWHERE. Nobody would help because it was an FHA loan and Huntington Mortgage started the foreclosure process immediately. They would NOT offer any kind of programs or anything while I was waiting to know what my TRUE income was going to be. Kinda like trying to bully me into taking on a lower payment FOR 30 MORE YEARS, after I've already been rooted here for 10+ years, with a balloon loan at the end of a ridiculous offer. They REFUSED to put any offers in writing, and had me fill out homesaver papers twice during that time (while I still did not know what my true income is going to be, and I was hospitalized in May 2015). I finally reached out to an attorney in September 2015 (EXACTLY ONE YEAR AFTER FIRST LATE PAYMENT) and they said that the bank was in violation of Reg X, R.E.S.P.A act (Pretending to work with me, while pursuing a foreclosure behind my back, or double tracking) and agreed to take the case on a contiguous basis. With some hope of finally finding a way to save my house, I told the person with the loss litigation dept. at the bank that I retained an attorney (per his instructions), and they immediately, submitted my home to a sheriff sale electronically. The sale was held on November 16, 2015 (YES, 13 MONTHS) start to finish and the bank bought it for 32,000, while they insisted that I pay 116,000 + interest and attorney fees. Instead of working with me, during some of the most hurtful, emotional, and hardest times of my life..They just eagerly tossed me to the curb and shamelessly displaced not only an established member of an already failing community, but a disabled person to boot! I am planning on filing a complaint with The Controller of Federal Currency for their misleading, hopeless, bullying offers and I hope that the general public will heath warning when dealing with this company/bank. I came across this site, that shows their uncaring pattern. I hate to put all this out there, but it's ALL I can think about while I pack one box at a time as the sheriff dept has served me with a 30 day notice, making it "in and out in 16 months) As I pack diligently to the best of my ability to save whatever I can from the last 38 years of my life. In 13 months I lost everything I worked my whole entire adult life to achieve. Please note: I am not seeking sympathy, I would prefer justice so that NOBODY ever has to go through what I am right now! I don't understand why I couldn't be afforded a deferment until I could find out what my TRUE monthly income was going to be. This pattern CLEARLY expressed the uncaring attitude of this bank...They DO NOT value their customers, only their money.

    Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By Aggravated Feb 9, 2016

    Horrendous customer service

    My rating would be negative 5 if it was on the scale. I called Huntington today because I needed 5 yrs worth of bank statements for Job & Family Services to determine my mother's medicaid eligibility. We had to check her into a nursing home and we are not rich people. Therefore we had to file for medicaid. I got two years worth of statements online and when I called (and visited a branch - Hillsdale in Canton, OH) I was told it would be $5 per page for the copies. I spoke to everyone I could and there is no budging. In case you're wondering, that is roughly $700. I am absolutely furious and cannot believe this is what they call customer service! How can that be right? They said they'd file a complaint for me - I hung up on them. What good is a complaint when I need statements? Absolutely unbelievable. I will be closing the account I share with my Mom and my account with First Merit, which Huntington just bought.

    Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By asprague9988 Feb 9, 2016

    Horrible loan servicing!

    Horrible customer service, you get a different story every time you call. I have an auto loan with them but cannot sell the car until it's paid off in full. They will not even talk of lien release until they have every penny even if you will tell them you are getting payoff for the car. Even if you have paid every month on time. They refuse to work with you one bit. I'm stuck with a car with high mileage and absolutely no way to get out from underneath of it even though a have several buyers interested with money in hand.

    Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By kyleje21 Feb 6, 2016

    upsetting

    I wanted to share my feeling I recently had with Huntington. The Whipple road/Hills and Dales location in Canton Ohio specifically.

    I have been a member of Huntington for 8 years now, and have had pretty good service since the beginning. However, Once it came time to get the new chip-infused cards, my relationship with the bank began to go downhill quickly. I needed my new debit card... Small issue to resolve right? I thought so. But it turned into an absolutely nightmare. I was supposedly issued a new debit card 4 different times. Each of these cards were sent to my home address. I never received one. I found it almost entertaining that there was no issue sending me the credit card I used frequently, or the credit card statements, or the account updates. But they just COULD NOT get me my debit card. After three months of waiting and verbally ordering new cards over the phone, I decided to physically go in and order a card to be mailed to the Hills and Dales location specifically. From there, it took two attempts. The first card they ordered (1/6) Was never seen and lost in transition. I'm convinced that if I didn't call on this card, they wouldn't have even realized I requested it. (keep in mind this is attempt number three). I decided to give Huntington one final shot, and ordered one more card to be mailed to the bank specifically.... On business day number nine, I decided to call and see if they have received my card yet, thinking well its been nine business days for this card, maybe they forgot AGAIN, or added me to the top of the list to make sure it got handled.... that second part was the exact opposite of what happened. I was put on hold while a gentleman asked the head banker at that location about my situation. The embarrassing part for this bank and the staff working is I heard the conversation, and every word about me. The head banker there said "is he really calling on his card again?! Can someone handle his card?! I am sick of hearing about his card" My thought is- why yes I am. I have been waiting for 3 months for 4 different cards. Then the gentleman I was working with actually came back on the phone and simply reiterated what his boss said back to me. "Yeah we're not sure where your card is but she's as sick of dealing with it as you are." So at this point, I'm considering my options. I would say it's fair to say that after 8 years, checking and savings, and a credit card, my feelings were hurt. The following day I went to Chase, opened a checking, saving, and credit card. I walked out that day with my new debit card from Chase.

    The Issue above may seem minor to others, but as a loyal customer, I was extremely let down. From a business point of view, it seems small and stupid to some, but before these instances I would have considered myself and my family to be lifelong customers. Having said that, I closed each of my accounts and I will be looking into mortgage loans for the house I am buying elsewhere as well.

    I am not sure who even sees this... but there is definitely room for opportunity at the Hills and Dales, Canton Ohio location.

    Is this review helpful?
  • E
    Reviewed By eshawn Feb 5, 2016

    mobile app is terrible

    Huntington is the worst bank, and their mobile app is terrible. I did a mobile deposit of $2,000 for my 84 yr old MIL and they bounced the ck even though there was over $15,000 in the acct it was drawn on. I use Fifth Third mobile app for my personal and business accts and have never had any problems with mobile deposits. I had to leave work early to straighten out the mess huntington made.

    Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By Awarner88 Feb 5, 2016

    Worst customer service!!

    This is the worst bank I have ever dealt with!! I opened an account and wrote a check for $400.00 and it went through the day before direct deposit...thinking 24 hour grace right? NOT AT ALL! They reversed it then closed down my account sending it to the fraud department...wtf! They can't give me my money they will write me a check. No I need my money the ONLY nice person I dealt with was the branch manager in the office I went to! He really went to bat for me to get my money back and we will see tomorrow if I can get it back. If I were you I would NOT EVER open another account with Huntington bank!! EVER! No wonder they had lawsuits before! Oh and to top it off I purchased checks from them that I will not get my $ back for! Lovely!!!

    Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By carseller0822 Feb 4, 2016

    Huntington refuses to listen to it's customers

    I refuse to give a good review to these guys because of their refusal to participate in the Android Pay system. They were an early participant in Apple Pay's program but they refuse to even acknowledge if they ever plan on signing up with Android Pay. Luckily there is a PNC that is also in my neighborhood and as soon as they offer another special on new accounts I'll make the switch. I'm not stupid enough to think that Huntington cares if I take my business elsewhere but I believe in giving my business to companies that listen to and care about their customers.

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By Dps Jan 28, 2016

    24 hour grace! Hah!

    24 hour grace, my ***. The very first time I tried using it, I got hit with a fee! My money was in the account within 12 hours! I went in to complain & their response was that it is determined on a case by case basis and that I should read the rules & regs. They don't say that in their ads. I was a customer for 8 years. I plan on closing my accounts. Oh, yeah. They wouldn't take care of the fee. I think it is false advertising & they found another revenue stream with all the fees incurred by this!

    Is this review helpful?
  • G
    Reviewed By greenvivy Jan 26, 2016

    Avoid this bank at all costs!

    I just made the decision to withdraw my loan application from this bank. After 3 months and countless delays with extremely little communication from my loan officer, I decided it just wasn't worth the aggravation. I originally applied for a home equity line Oct. 19th and immediately received a conditional approval. From that point, it took them nearly a month to schedule the appraisal. The appraisal then took 3 weeks to complete. I do not blame the bank for the time it took to receive the appraisal results but I will say that the loan officer didn't even realize they had received it. Only after I asked him to look into why it was taking so long did he notice it was finished. Then, the bank had a minor question about the appraisal and sent it back for review. That took another 2 weeks. Next, they did a title search and said everything looked fine. This was the second week of November. The last week of December they told me that they realized my name wasn't actually on the deed. I have lived in the home for nearly 20 years and I am on the property tax ticket and existing mortgage (which they hold) with my husband. I do not blame them for this as I should have known. My problem was that it took them that long to figure it out. I should add that the LO emailed me at 10 PM on a Sunday night to tell me that I needed to work quickly to get my name on the deed. Really?! I emailed him back first thing next morning to let him know I was completing the quitclaim that day. I did not hear anything from him for another week. I had a horrible time getting anyone to call me back throughout the whole process. I even called the LO's supervisor at one point. He never called me back, either. Also, I was asked to submit the same letter of explanation 3 times. When I tried to ask the LO what specifically I should say in the letter, he ignored both my emails and phone calls. I finally decided enough was enough and notified them on Jan. 20th that I was choosing to withdraw my application. This was a nightmare for me. The LO was very condescending and said the delays were my fault. My credit score was 697 with debt to income ratio of 23% and my home appraised for well over what was needed. This should've been easy, especially since I'm an existing Huntington Bank mortgage customer. Please save yourself from their horrific customer service. Go to another bank!

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.