B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Huntington Customer Reviews

(159 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 13
4 Star 0
3 Star 4
2 Star 12
1 Star 130

The Most Helpful Huntington Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Tom R. Aug 15, 2015

Positive Experience

On Friday, August 14, 2015, I accompanied my granddaughter to apply for a loan. It was near closing but Denise Helman took the time process the loan application. To make things even better, Jenny came over and introduced herself. She is the branch manager and this only added to an already very pleasant experience. If this customer appreciation is an example of what to expect when a potential customer makes a visit, then I may be tempted to start a banking relationship with Huntington at this branch location.

Tom R.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By BryceSchaffer Feb 22, 2014

Now I'm suing them

its a tough one but I've definitely got some dirt on them now! lorain county court of common pleas. case no. 13cv181571. I'm about to start a class action and could use all the people they've hurt pertaining to overdraft fees, inaccurate account balances and defective checks. my info is on the docket. please send me a letter and i'll respond by mail or phone if you provide.

sincerely,
Bryce Schaffer

Is this review helpful?

Latest Huntington Reviews

  • S
    Reviewed By SmartMoney May 2, 2016

    If I could give them zero stars I would

    The customer service over the phone with this bank is beyond rude. People who are supposed to help you have attitudes. Worse than that I didn't even chose this bank, Bank of America sold my account to them. They've been taking $5 dollars out of my account every month, because I don't use it often. Isn't that stealing? I didn't even sign up for this bank. Ugh, then you have an attitude when I call to close my account! I never write reviews, but this bank is bad.

    Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By Anonymous92 Apr 26, 2016

    Worst bank ever.

    My account was locked 4/25/2016 I tried the online chat with a CSR, but I didn't have my DL in front of me and they told me to call the 1800 number. So I call the 1800 number and I was told my account was locked and I would have to go into a branch to get the lock reversed. I had to leave work early to go to a local branch was there just as they were about to lock up. Come to find out my account was locked because there are so many "red flags" on my account because I switched my mailing address to a PO Box and something accidentally came out of my bank account overdrafting it. I told the branch manager and he said "your check won't be deposited to your account it will just be out in the open until it goes back to the sender." Then he told me he would call me back this evening I left the branch by 4:30pm and ended up calling back the 1800 number asking about my account I will have to wait until 4/27/2016 to be told if my account will be closed or not. You guys have an awful way of doing business. And I am telling everybody I know not to use Huntington Bank cause you guys have the worst customer service on the phone and at the local branch I went to and you guys lie! That's all the customer service reps can do is lie.

    Is this review helpful?
  • O
    Reviewed By oarsman72 Apr 26, 2016

    Always good expierence

    Efficient , friendly, smart service. Been going there for many many years. This branch is busy at times but the staff has been great.

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Sipeproperties2014 Apr 21, 2016

    WORST BANKING EXPERIENCE EVER!!!

    If I could rate zero stars, I would! I know it is a long review, but please read before trying to get any type of mortgage from Huntington Bank!

    I am a small business owner and was contacted by Huntington Bank asking for my business to give them the opportunity to allow them to service our loan for purchasing rental properties. The offer that they gave was a CRA loan for low to middle income areas and they would give us a mortgage to purchase a rental with no closing fees. This sounded great and we met with the banker several times to discuss. Around Christmas time in 2015, we were preapproved for two home purchases to be used as rentals. These were low priced homes, the total amount financed would have only been around 25,000.00. We chose the bank because of the free closing costs, otherwise getting such a small mortgage would not have made much sense. We were given a closing date by the banker, and were told that another employee may also contact us to gather information. That was fine with us and we talked over the next month with both employees and sent them all the requested information. In mid January, our appraisals were done and we received mortgage commitment. When it got near the closing date, the bank became hard to get ahold of. I had to go down to the branch and find someone to see what was going on. They said that it was in final underwriting and we should be fine. They said they didn't need any more information from me. During the past month of gathering information, they asked for the same documents over and over, even after they were provided. I assumed they had more than enough information to close such a small loan. Closing day came and no word from the bank. We had to get extensions for both deals through our realtor. This happened four more times over the course of four months. Finally, they said that they could not do the deal because I had a vehicle leased through another bank which has been paid in full. The lease was prepaid and no balance was owed. Huntington said they could not complete our loan because they had to factor in a future lease payment to the debt to income ratio. Instead of telling us this weeks or months ago so we could pursue other options, they waited until three days before our fifth closing date to tell us this. We then had to redo the entire closing paperwork, and come up with cash to buy the houses. It was a huge disappointment and we received horrible customer service. This was the worst banking experience I have ever been through and I will never again use Huntington Bank.

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By Mikol354 Apr 4, 2016

    Poor

    Huntington Bank is a low bank behind the rest of the banking industry. It takes them forever, 1-3 days to post results to your account. I called in to check on a deposit someone made for me. They couldn't tell me because it takes Huntington 2 days. At Chase, PNC, and Capital One 360 you know all actively all including deposit made that same day. HUNTINGTON Bank is the only bank I know that's 20-years behind every one else. I keeping telling myself I need to move my account to a premier bank.

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Shanefreeman6 Mar 13, 2016

    Terrible organization and customer service

    I made a return of an item to Gamestop and they decided to keep my item and reverse the credit to my account keeping both the merchandise and the money. I contacted Huntington right away to dispute the reversal. A dispute case was opened and they sent me a letter requesting receipts and any info I had. I promptly went to my local Huntington branch and sent my receipt and all info I had to corporate. Two weeks later I noticed that the money was again taken out and that my dispute was closed. I called to ask why and they informed me that they lost the fax of the receipt and that they didn't have any information. That meant I had to fill out another dispute to open a new case. I was never informed that they were closing my case or taking back the temporary credit.

    Huntington decided this time not to give me a temporary credit and I am now out the money and I don't know how to pay my bills. No matter who I talk to at Huntington customer service nobody takes responsibility for losing my paperwork or failing to notify me that my case was closing. As soon as I get my account out of negative I am closing my account with them.

    Is this review helpful?
  • F
    Reviewed By freemycash Mar 12, 2016

    Government direct deposit funds not made available

    After banking for years with Huntington where my government direct deposits were always available on Saturday the bank suddenly stop making those funds available until Monday without any notice or explanation. Customer service outright lied to say first Congress changed the rules and then claimed the government rules for direct deposits changed. Next customer service Twice said the funds were available and only after doing my grocery shopping did I find out at the checkout that those funds were not available. Then customer service said there was no record of my earlier calls and there was nothing on my statements indicating I ever had government direct deposits.

    I never had an overdraft and rarely went into a branch until about Feb 1, 2016 the problems with my government direct deposits began. I discovered other people in my neighborhood had the same problem with their deposits for payroll and government social security into their Huntington accounts were not be credited timely.

    As a final insult I was asked by a customer service if social security was like welfare or food stamps.

    After 6 weeks of being lied to and spending over 15 hours in the branch and on the phone with customer service I have given up on Huntington. The service is terrible. It took me another 4 hours to switch my banking to another bank and my government deposit was available on Saturday.

    Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By tschofen3 Feb 29, 2016

    DO NO USE HUNTINGTON BANK

    I had my car loan with Huntington Bank and just paid my car off in January. When I called to make my last payment I asked them to send the title to my updated address. They failed to do this correctly. Its been over a month since I paid my car off and I still don't have a title. Since the title was sent incorrectly by Huntington it's now lost, and they are offering ZERO solutions for me. Basically I'm screwed because they messed up. I am very unhappy with how they have treated me and the lack of customer service they have provided.

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By duckisland19 Feb 29, 2016

    Horrible bank

    I would have given them a 0 if I could.
    1) I went to them for the 24 he grace period, customer well I got an overdraft fee plus they had sent my life insurance back to the Co. When I called customer service she told me that the 24hr grace period didn't apply to checks (that didn't make any sense) then I went to the Branch and after a little research he said I had opted out of it. Why would anyone opt out.
    2) I'm on social security and I don't get my check until the 3rd Wednesday of each month. My payment was due on the 16th and my check didn't come in until the 19th, I called and asked if I could pay it on the 19th, he said no. I borrowed the money and went to the branch on the16th to pay the card card. I asked the teller if I should put the cash in my acct. or pay it directly to voice credit card and he said I can just put in voice credit card well I didn't know that they didn't physically get it until days later and the teller didn't know that either even though they saw I made my payment by the due date they still charged me a late fee and they do the interest on the 19th so that made my account go over the limit and I got charged for that too. It took me 2 months of screaming at Customer service for them to work with me on this before my acct went back to normal. Their customer service and system need a lot of improvement and because I no longer trust them I decided to take my money out of my IRA well it to 6 days before the check came to me. I'm over 59 1/2 why did they take out $145.00? I would never recommend Huntington Bank.

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By DWAustin Feb 19, 2016

    DW Austin

    I have had multiple accounts with Huntington Bank since 2003. I use them both personally and for my business. I have had nothing short of exceptional service from the staff at Fairmount Circle, which is the branch I have always used. While there has been some turnover in staff over the years, I have found all of the employees to be polite and patient with me. Sam, the branch manager, has always gone out of his way to be friendly and to make sure I am satisfied with my bank affairs. Likewise with Geneva, the teller who I have known the longest. I would highly recommend the bank and the branch.

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.