Overall Rating

MyBankTracker Grade

B
Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Number of Locations
Mobile Deposits
Mobile Banking

Featured Rates

812
Branch Locations

Huntington Location Map
We found branches close to you.

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank News
CIT Bank
Add
Bank Rates
Comerica Bank
Add
Bank Rates
KeyBank
Add
Compare Banks

Huntington Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction

Huntington Latest Customer Reviews

DoctorDonna's Profile Image

Reviewed by DoctorDonna

Sep 22nd 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Honestly

I have banked at local credit unions, Chase, KeyBank, and 5/3rd. Huntington is by far the best bank and the one I've stayed the longest with (4years now). I feel like at only 24, I understand how banking and finances work much better than most of the population. First of all, banks are there to make money. I can't fault them for them, they are a business after all, but banks can still do the right thing and help out customers as much as they can.

From my personal experience with the banks I've been with, Huntington makes it the easiest to not get fees. With Chase if my account went negative (transaction was pending), even for a minute during the day, I would get hit with overdrafts, even if I made my account positive that same day. That's one thing I love with Huntington, there is their 24hr grace. I basically get text alerts when my account is eligible (once my transaction that caused me to go negative posts) and I have until the end of that business day to make it positive.

From the reviews I read, I feel like a genius that I get that principle. As a broke grad student that works full-time, I'm glad to have that extra time. Thank you Huntington for being such a great bank to me!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

lillylove's Profile Image

Reviewed by lillylove

Sep 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Beware Of 24 Hour Grace

After being with Huntington for 18 months i was assessed a fee for something when it should have been put into 24 hour grace. I will not get into the overly complicated bs excuse i was given as to why it was not covered (he lied through his teeth i have the records to prove it), but long story short, it is up to their discretion as to whether or not something is covered.

Meaning you do not automatically get 24 hour grace if something bounces, even if that is what they told you when you enrolled. Once i found this out i pulled out all of my receipts and records and found i have been assessed more than $500 in fees over the last 18 months*. I've filed complaints with everyone who will listen and am in the process of filing suit. Run far, far away from this bank.

Also, every time i have had to go into the bank, it doesn't matter the branch or the reason, they are slow and rude. Need to make a withdraw? Plan on waiting 20 minutes. *so much for asterisk free checking.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

UnhappywithHunting's Profile Image

Reviewed by UnhappywithHunting

Aug 28th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Non ATM Fees, ATM, & Debits: Not Happy At All

We were switched to Huntington after our local, smaller bank closed. All of our accounts went to Huntington (we were not given any other options/bank choices). Huntington does not list/show "actual date" of ATM or debit transactions when posted online or on statements as written in your register to match up easily. They do not post any non ATM fees untill the end of each month & they do not include any way to match up non ATM fee(s) with non ATM transaction(s); (fees: they add them all together and post at the end of the month in one lump sum. no # to match with transaction it pertains to). They need to post all fees with non ATM transactions when they are done (not at the end of the month) & with a number that matches the transaction it goes with, showing/list the "actual date" of when all ATM or debit transaction(s) were done on with their posting date (which can be sometimes days apart depending on when transaction was done on-like on a weekend.. ). If a little bank like we once had could do all of this, why can't/doesn't a bigger bank like Huntington? What are they hiding? They taking $ we don't know about? How can you tell if you can't match up actual (transaction) date written in your register with theirs? Are they deliberately trying to make folks screw up so they (Huntington) get overdraft $ charges? Over all, we hate Huntington Bank. Wished we'd have had a choice in this switch. Never would have gone here.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 1

rameriwether's Profile Image

Reviewed by rameriwether

Aug 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

I Found An Asterisk

Wow, i just got off the phone with a supposed manager. She kept talking over me the whole time. I was trying to figure out why some pending payments posted after 6:30 pm, causing my account to go negative. She actually told me that they post charges after midnight for the previous day. How would i know that the pending charges would actually go through that late? I even deposited money to make sure my account would be current, but did not deposit enough. Everything about this situation is terrible. I've never heard of a bank posting after the fed closes. I've worked in 2 banks and we always told customers that nothing posts after the fed closes. That is why your deposits after 4 pm eastern time have that disclaimer that they may not count for that day.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 1

DojunimChurch's Profile Image

Reviewed by DojunimChurch

Aug 18th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Superior Bank!

I have been a business man for 44 years and have never been treated with the respect and honesty that is afforded to me by this bank. My branch is the Meijer on 28th st and Kalamazoo in Grand Rapids. Tellers are friendly and accurate. The manager Dan is the best I have encountered. They have helped me out on many occasions where other banks would have ignored the situation.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

un_happy_customer's Profile Image

Reviewed by un_happy_customer

Jul 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

My money mysteriously disappearing....

I get direct deposit every other Friday. I also get a paper check which I deposited the following Saturday. Monday, I checked my account balance online and was wondering why my balance was so low when I should have more available. I subtracted each transaction from the deposit 3 days prior, and should have over $129 more to my balance(not including the check I deposited on Saturday). I then called customer service and the rep told me that the computer sometimes "plays" with the numbers. I was thrown!!I How can the computer play with the transaction amounts and balance? I asked the rep. He said he did not know, and kept repeating the same thing over and over about the computer playing with your account balance. He then told me I should get my true account balance by the end of the business day. If I cannot trust a bank to hold the correct amount of money I have, then what the h**** is the purpose of banking here???

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 1

melkjarrell5's Profile Image

Reviewed by melkjarrell5

Jul 15th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

24 Hour Grace:

I've been banking with Huntington 2+ years. When they rolled out with the 24 hour grace program it was completely awesome! In the last few months however it's been a nightmare. I no longer get my 24 hour grace notifications nor have I received a 24 hour grace on checks nor do they allow for 24 hour grace on debit card purchases like they did in the past. I get paid by direct deposit every other Monday night in the past 24 hour grace combined with my direct deposits made Huntington bank the best bank ever....now I can't stand them. I've been in the branch to complain and have also contacted customer service in regards to the 24 hour grace. Now I'm being told that 24 hour grace is not guaranteed and that the system decides whether to allow the 24 hour grace or not. My reply was that the system was no longer granting me 24 hour grace at all 0 and that the system does not even send a message via text or email letting me know that I went negative which would give me the opportunity to make a deposit before the end of the banking day so overdraft is avoided. Now that Huntington has lost millions with the 24 hour grace they have now made it where they allow the system to decide whether to allow it or not. The system is choosing not to allow 24 hour grace in turn recouping the millions lost when Huntington chose to allow 24 hour grace. Obviously Huntington changed its terms and conditions on 24 hour grace and did not notify the consumer which put Huntington back into being just like any other bank instead of being for the consumer like they were when 24 hour grace first rolled out. I see a class action law suit happening and when it does I'm definitely including myself. Their ripping consumers off again. 24 hour grace was a short time ploy to gain more customers and then turn around and literally stab their customers in the back. Good marketing ploy Huntington... Now you'll sit back and recoup your millions and blame "the system".....

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 1

bigoosecrazy56's Profile Image

Reviewed by bigoosecrazy56

Jul 9th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Nightmere!

Beware everyone. This establishment is absolutely horrible. The incompetence and lack of professionalism is unbelievable. I have never experienced this type of behavior since we have been dealing with banks. We were approved for a personal line of credit. We were told a 30 day wait period. It is now 50 days. The individual we are dealing with is horrible. I do not understand how you can place someone in this position that does not know how to handle this position. He initially told us he was the bank manager only to find out that he is just an "universal banker". Far cry from a bank manager. We indicated to him the reason for the personal line. What a mistake. We should not have indicated how we intended to use the funds. Out intent was to pay off some balances. Needless to say the underwriters made this a condition for the loan. To me a personal line was just that a personal line. Even though we qualified for this loan it has been at the very least a nightmere. The banker was told we did not want to cancel the accounts however the paperwork told the companies to close all accounts. As a banker you think they would have enough education to realize this would ruin your credit score. Well not him. He saw nothing wrong. Needless to say we still have not closed and we are at the point of opting out which is probably what this bank wants. What type of uneducated individuals does this establishment hire? The board of directors should be ashamed. This bank by far is the worst i have every encountered.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 1

Granny02's Profile Image

Reviewed by Granny02

Jun 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Huntington Bank 24 Hour Grace is a Lie!

I've had trouble with the 24 hour grace. Turns out they can pick who they want to receive the 24 hour grace service by there own criteria -- although they have never said what that is or produced a detailed list of the process. My cards are being declined when money is in the account, and there debit company MasterCard put a hold on my card because I purchased movie tickets online so they put a hold on my card without telling me. I have the alerts setup on my cell but I didn't get any notice of a problem, and on and on. They also are giving people a hard time that have had to file bankruptcy -- and that's a lot of Americans. Oh and their Huntington Mortgage their not wanting to help anyone.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 1

bigbear309's Profile Image

Reviewed by bigbear309

Jun 11th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Bank for Business Accounts

I have a business checking account at Huntington. I had an unauthorized charge put against my debit card. This charge caused my account to get messed up. Somehow the charges that I made the day before were processed after the charge that came in the next day. This caused 4 items to bounce (how the hell a credit card bounces is beyond me). Therefore I got charge $143 in bounced fees.

I called the company that made the fraudulent charge. They admitted to their mistake. Good. I called Huntington about it. They told me basically "tough luck". Even though it was a separate companies mess up, I have to pay the $143 in overdraft fees. Needless to say I will never be doing business with them again. I will never recommend them to any of my customers, family or friends. As far as banks go for business, this is the worst one I have ever dealt with.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 1

MrForbes's Profile Image

Reviewed by MrForbes

May 13th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Poor Customer Service

Today I entered a branch in Waterford, Mi. I asked the teller if I could open a savings account. As the teller began trying to sell me on a checking account which was not needed. I assume the bank manager yelled from one of the cubicles while he is helping another customer. " There is no time to open an account, we close in 8 minutes".

Now being a manager in customer service for 27 years, I was flabbergasted. I chose at that time not to make a scene and take my money and business elsewhere. I clearly understand that at the end of a day you don't want to extend it at all but the fact of the matter it your job to serve the public till close. If not you should close at 4:45 pm. I have never wrote a negative comments about anyone's business. I own 3 businesses myself and I was thinking that if I had a employee on my team like this, I would like to know.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 1

theydontlikeyou's Profile Image

Reviewed by theydontlikeyou

May 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

This bank sucks

I was startled at how terrible huntington is with its customers. never sent me my debit card after I had it changed, never gave me my promotional offer, there's literally no online customer service, the webste goes down for maintenance at least once every two weeks, I've been locked out of my account online, and the only way to unlock it was to be on the phone for an hour. The tellers are great girls. I like them all but the bank itself in terms of quality, and customer service, that is what they are severely lacking in. I have yet to recieve a reply to the multiple complaints I've made in the past months, im withdrawing all my money and cloing my account tomorrow. I'm fed up.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 1

mike12y23k's Profile Image

Reviewed by mike12y23k

Apr 6th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Car Loan -- terrible experience

Paid off my car loan and it's 3 weeks -- no title received. Every time I call they ask me to wait for 5 days. Please advise what should I do next. I want to sell the car ASAP.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 1

Alliebutz's Profile Image

Reviewed by Alliebutz

Mar 28th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

My banking experience has been fabulous.

My debit card was stolen during a night out with friends. Upon noticing my card was missing from my purse, I immediately checked my online banking. Seeing an unfamiliar charge, I called huntington to cancel card. The representative I spoke to was friendly and helpful. I was happy to hear my options and ecstatic to learn I would be credited the amount spent. Furthermore, as soon as I checked my bank statement, I had already been credited.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 0

suemoore2007hotmai's Profile Image

Reviewed by suemoore2007hotmai

Mar 25th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Huntington Bank customer since 1980 horrible customer service

I have been a customer of Huntington Bank since 1980, I also have worked for Huntington bank for 30 years and receive a pension from them. On March 22 2014, Saturday, I wrote a check to church knowing our direct deposit was going to be in Monday night to cover with 24 hour grace period check came in for payment same time as direct deposit they returned check to sender instead of 24 hour grace period! As a long standing customer of Huntington Bank they should of payed my check !! I am not a new customer 6 months or less this caused an embarasament to me and the church I wrote the check too! After all these years Huntington bank serves false advertisement for customers.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 2

jhenderson216's Profile Image

Reviewed by jhenderson216

Mar 20th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Deceitful And Horrid

The bank has placed holds on my acct for no reason, forced closed my acct for no reason and then denied giving me my remaining funds, insisting that i had to wait for them to release my funds and then they would send me a check by mail. Upon asking how i could get in touch with someone in a legal department, they said no.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

Moheyosman's Profile Image

Reviewed by Moheyosman

Mar 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

I got robbed

I got robbed by so called a bank ,my business account got charged $7120 in NSF over 3 months period ! They hold my credit card transactions Friday ,Saturday ,Sunday and Monday

Then they release it Tuesday !

Way to go huntington bank

Class action on your way ! See you in court

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 1

Handymanmi's Profile Image

Reviewed by Handymanmi

Mar 3rd 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Great had a mishap with credit card and was taken care of by manager.

Had an overdraft fee due to misunderstanding. Was charged over $125 in bank overdraft fees. I explained my story to Sam the bank manager and she immediately called the bank and helped me clear the ridiculous fees. Sam and everyone at the Meier Hunington bank are awesome. If it wasn't for Sam taking the time to help me I would have had to pay over $125 in bogus fees. Thanks to Sam and her team at her bank I will continue to bank wi them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

BryceSchaffer's Profile Image

Reviewed by BryceSchaffer

Feb 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Now I'm suing them

its a tough one but I've definitely got some dirt on them now! lorain county court of common pleas. case no. 13cv181571. I'm about to start a class action and could use all the people they've hurt pertaining to overdraft fees, inaccurate account balances and defective checks. my info is on the docket. please send me a letter and i'll respond by mail or phone if you provide.

sincerely,

Bryce Schaffer

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 7 ▼ No 1

THEEND's Profile Image

Reviewed by THEEND

Feb 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Scammers! No such thing as 24 hour grace! LIES LIES LIES

Called auto system and found that I was overdrawn! I call every day to make sure that there are no overdrafts. On 2 20 I had $162 and today when I called auto system something came through on 2-19-14. it is Saturday 2-22 and they have me as OVERDRAWN and are charging me $37.50 overdraft! No one informed me and the check went through on their end on 2-19-14. I had NO time to get the 1-NEXT DAY GRACE PERIOD.Nothing I can do about it.since it is Saturday at about 4pm. I left a good bank and NEVER had an overdraft. Huntington offered me $100 to direct deposit with them. They have already got the $100 back in overdrafts based on their lies and so called 24 hour grace. SCAM I intend to give them what I owe ACCORDING TO THEM and get the FREAK out.! They cheat good customers and this has happened to my son even though I told him not to bank with them. He has had the same problem! Huntington Bank does not have a 24 hour grace period.> IT IS A JOKE They don't tell you that you have overdrawn until it is too late to for the GRACE PERIOD! I hate this bank and I have had nothing but trouble since I got involved with them. (ZERO)O RATING is what I think but you have to give them a 1 which they do not deserve WORST BANK I HAVE EVER SEEN.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 1

Sno30's Profile Image

Reviewed by Sno30

Feb 7th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Scam

They scam you. The say you have 24 hrs but don't notify you till around 10 am then you only have few hrs before bank closes or before midnight to deposit cash. I had them try to OD my account for 3 charges that cleared positive. Because I had one pending that I was short for that I made Sunday morning for gas and planned to make deposit for. The forces me to put money in that day to keep the 3 from OD just for the one charge not to clear for 3 days. There a scam and committing fraud. The government needs to put a stop to them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 1

VinceBobbe's Profile Image

Reviewed by VinceBobbe

Feb 6th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Warm, welcoming and friendly

My wife has been making payment on our car at this branch since October of 2014. Despite her infrequent visits she is always recognized and greeted by the staff. In particular, Ashleigh Gutiérrez, who has taken care of her most often, greeted both of us when we entered the branch. We had just been handed the "last straw" in terms of poor service by our (now former) bank manager at 5/3. This is not meant co cast aspersions on "poor service" in general, which in and of itself would be three notches above the abysmal treatment and inflexibility of this competitor. No, actually, placing 5/3 in the same category as Huntington is tantamount to comparing a beat-up Volkswagen Clown Car with the Rolls Royce quality demonstrated by your staff.

Having grown increasingly frustrated with 5/3, we came to Huntington to explore your services and programs. Ashleigh's helpfulness, precision and attention to detail, her knowledge of your services and her explanation of our various options made the choice to switch all of our banking to Huntington. Home run! Slam dunk! Touchdown and the entire litany of sports metaphors hardly do justice to our high quality customer service experience.

Having grown accustomed to arguing with 5/3 and being treated like we were interrupting their staff's Candy Crush marathon, it was indeed most pleasant to work with someone who was concerned about OUR needs rather than making a sales quota or overselling us.

SERVICE is hard to come by in today's market place, but when you experience it, as we did with Ashleigh, it made it easy to transfer our checking, savings, credit card, mortgage, secured line and all of our auto deposits to you.

It's a pleasant change not to have to "deal with" our banker. We have a friend at Huntington, who we are convinced is there to help us manage our banking and other financial needs.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

dnm's Profile Image

Reviewed by dnm

Feb 5th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

overdarft fees with a positive balance

So it's the second time it's happened. I got an overdraft fee with a positive balace. The worst of it is that they won't refund them. I keep money set aside in a account and then move it over for certain purchases/bills. They said that the money wasn't there when I swiped the card. My experience with any other bank is that as long as the money is there when the transaction posts you're fine. Basically, they place a hold on my money as soon as the pending transaction hits my account even if the company does not actually post the transition until several days later. So....they are placing a hold on my account which falls under Reg. D. It's been awhile since I worked in banking but I know it is law that the customer must be notified of the hold which they do not do. Any way, any bank that will charge overdraft fees on an account that is not inthe negative is not going to have my business.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 1

RileySpry's Profile Image

Reviewed by RileySpry

Feb 4th 2014

3 out of 5 marks

They go WAY overboard trying to sell you stuff

I have been a Huntington customer for YEARS.

I cannot go into this branch and make a deposit or ANYTHING without someone giving me a sales pitch...to change my mortgage, for credit cards, for refinancing my auto loan...it is RIDICULOUS.

I am about to stop going to this branch ENTIRELY because of the sales pitch EVERY VISIT.

Take a clue: I want FAST FRIENDLY SERVICE every time I come in....if I want a credit card or to refinance my house: I'LL LET YOU KNOW. PLEASE DO NOT ASK ME.

SHEEESH!

Other than that, I really like the bank and the service, BUT THIS RUINS IT.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

BuckeyeRelationsGr's Profile Image

Reviewed by BuckeyeRelationsGr

Jan 27th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horribal Stone age experiance

I opened a Hunting Business checking account in 2004 and soon had all kinds of problems logging into the online checking account using the key fob they provided. Many calls later and months and months of service and they still couldn't get the system running consistently. Half the time I would waist a 1/2 hour trying to log into my account. I then move my money to another bank. They charged an execive amount of over $37.00 for a book of 50 checks. Recently I had a need to open additional accounts for my business. I tried Huntington Bank one more time in 2014. It took me 30 minutes at the Huntington branch office for all the bad memories to come back. It took an hour to open an additional Business checking account which is twice as long as other banks I use. To deposit a check at a nearby branch took over 7 Minutes. Which is 3 times as long as other banks I use. I am currently on hold with their 800 number for Business banking pertaining to an online account log in problem. I am currently at 20:00 on hold as I type this review. This is the second and last time I will be on hold with Huntington bank. While on hold you listen to a recording from the bank telling you "As a business owner your most precious resource is Money and time". Huntington does not practice what they preach. I just got off the phone with Huntington Bank after spending 25 minutes on hold waiting to talk to a person. I explained who I was and explained my horrible past and present experiences I have had with their bank. I explained that I was calling because I needed help logging into an account and told them I no-longer need their help because a 25 minute hold time was the last straw. I informed her I would be in the bank this week to close my accounts and get my money. If you read this entire review then I think you already know rather or not I would recommend anyone banking with Huntington Bank?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 1

TraceyCarlisle's Profile Image

Reviewed by TraceyCarlisle

Jan 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible. Customer service is awful and when I contacted his supervisor she was rude and not helpful at the least.

I reached out to HB for a home loan. The "loan profession" did not have a clue about the type of loan I was applying for. It wasn't until two (2) days before my closing date that he told me they would be unable to finance my loan.

When I contacted the "loan professional" to ask if my application fee would be refunded he stated yes and asked for my check number. Six days later HB cashed my 350 check. When I contacted the "loan professional's" supervisor she informed me that this is their common practice and my money would be returned in 7-10 business days. It has been 20 business days and I still have not received my money. I WILL NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH HB--EVER!!!! The individuals I had contact with were unknowledgeable, unprofessional and straight out RUDE. I will certainly share my experience with everyone I know.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 1

RodC's Profile Image

Reviewed by RodC

Jan 16th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Poor electronic bill pay feature/service. Even poorer customer service!

Although when you set up an online bill pay that is designated as an electronic transfer of payment, it takes over 3 week days for that payment to arrive in the receiver's bank account. I called the 2nd day to ask why the payment had not been received and was told it would take 2 days and would be there the next day. The next day it was not received, I called again and was told then that if it was posted after 4 p.m., it would take a whole other day. When I asked to speak to a supervisor, the person did not want to give me to his supervisor and I said I want to file a complaint about his service. He kept me on hold for another 5 minutes before sending me to her voice mail. I could have sent the check via US mail (snail mail) and it would have reached it's destination sooner!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

Urrka09's Profile Image

Reviewed by Urrka09

Jan 12th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Unfair fees, bad customer service, and slow moving.

Purchased a new car about a month ago and still have not received a bill in the mail from Huntington. They misspelled my address and still have yet to mail anything out after I corrected it with them. If I want to pay my car payment over the phone, there is a $12 fee. I cannot pay online without a paper bill. You can't get anywhere on the phone with their poor automated service. Avoid this bank!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 1

RachelSmith's Profile Image

Reviewed by RachelSmith

Dec 10th 2013

2 out of 5 marks

Refused to deposit check from closing of house because check had c/o realty co. after our names so it wasn't our check

Day before Thanksgiving I deposited 100 cash and a check for 560 at ATM. The check was made out to my husband c/o realty company and had their address. The title agency mailed it to the realtor's office who then mailed it to us, as it was our refund from earnest money. Bank allowed 400 of 660 deposit to be available immediately. Without warning a few hours later my card was declined and I found they had reversed the ENTIRE deposit cash and all citing the realty company did not endorse it and it was a two party check. In the meantime, my account was overdrawn because the other 260 of the deposit wasn't "allowed" to be put in until the next business day freezing the 100 cash deposit and other monies I had available before the deposit.

The bank MAILED MY ENDORSED CHECK back to me. I had to send it to the realty company for endorsement which they did. However, I was told that c/o is part of the mailing address and has NOTHING to due with endorsing or ownership of check. I deposited the check again and the same thing happened. W/o notice they reversed the deposit before it cleared freezing funds in account until next business day. Reason for reversal was the company endorsed in writing and did not use stamp.When I called branch manager in Carey OH she said pay to you c/o them means it is their check not yours if check was to them c/o me it would be ours. This is opposite of what other banks and customer service said. Mgr then said if the real estate company really wanted me to have the money, they would deposit the check in their bank and reissue me a check in my name only. Problem is their bank says IT'S NOT THEIR CHECK! 800# told us to contact local branch because they can choose to do whatever they want. I explained that Chase said it was not the realty company's check and customer service rep said I should go deposit it at Chase. I have asked around and was informed by all that c/o is part of mailing address on the check and has nothing to do with ownership.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 1

fedupsenior's Profile Image

Reviewed by fedupsenior

Dec 4th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Bank fees deceptive to say the least, bank manager at canal Winchester, rude and uncaring. bank processing wrong.

Run don't walk as fast as you can away from huntington bank or any bank for that matter. Opt out! what a joke, they do what they want. One person tells you one thing, another explains it totally different, no one really knows for sure what the hell's going on. They target seniors and take advantage of them. Fees on top of fees 37.50 times 4 times day that's highway robbery. Who regulated that, Before you know it your moneys all gone and you can't pay your bills. And they refuse to correct it, playing the 24 hour grace period game, was how she put it. She a snotty! What about the games the banks have been playing for years. disgraceful. Here's another game miss snooty, I've cancelled my direct deposit so you can't steal any more of my money. maybe you'll try to correct things now. Maybe not. I'm also looking for a credit union to deposit my newly won lottery check for millions of dollars. To bad you treated me with such disrespect. Have a very bad day! Remember what goes around comes around! Unsatisfactory!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 4 ▼ No 1

Post a review