B MyBankTracker Rating

New York Community Bank Customer Reviews

(32 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 0
4 Star 0
3 Star 0
2 Star 2
1 Star 30

The Most Helpful New York Community Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By James R. May 14, 2013

Many errors in online banking

Many unacceptable errors by AmtrustDirect of New York Community Bank.

1. Bank accepted my order for an ACH deposit transfer, then executed it before the date we scheduled, subjecting me to a NSF fee taken by the sending bank.

2. Bank accepted my order for an ACH deposit transfer, then it disappeared from the pending transaction queue without its execution or any explanation.

3. Bank accepted my nomination of a bill pay payee and my direction to make a payment. Then the scheduled payment disappeared from the pending transaction queue before execution without any explanation, subjecting me to a large late payment fee. All the details about my payee also disappeared from my online account without any explanation.

4. Bank enrolled me in a transfer service I did not want or order and started taking fees for it from my account.

5. Bank changed the WWW domain for online account access without any notice to me.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By tedliggett Apr 12, 2016

Completely disgusted!!

Two months ago I deposited almost One Million Dollars in a 12 month CD at this branch and also opened a checking account. In addition, I had my Mother in law open an account and she deposited over $360,000 in a CD. We were both new customers to the bank. I stopped in the branch today and wanted to cash a $4.40 cent check that was made out to my daughter and was signed by her on the back. The bank REFUSED to cash the check. I will never do business with Ohio Savings or NYCB in the future!! They are completely out of their minds!!

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest New York Community Bank Reviews

  • B
    Reviewed By Bogs May 13, 2016

    Worst Bank ever

    If you have complaints against this bank or other financial instituions, file a complaint at the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau which regulates these type of instituions. The Federal regulator is the FDIC. Be educated and fight againt these bank practices that take advantag of consumers.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By tedliggett Apr 12, 2016

    Completely disgusted!!

    Two months ago I deposited almost One Million Dollars in a 12 month CD at this branch and also opened a checking account. In addition, I had my Mother in law open an account and she deposited over $360,000 in a CD. We were both new customers to the bank. I stopped in the branch today and wanted to cash a $4.40 cent check that was made out to my daughter and was signed by her on the back. The bank REFUSED to cash the check. I will never do business with Ohio Savings or NYCB in the future!! They are completely out of their minds!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By Roberto Jan 29, 2016

    Privacy practices are lacking

    During a mortgage refinance process, I was sent multiple documents with private information via email in an unprotected PDF. When I reported the issue to NYCB, their reply was basically "don't worry we have software to protect your data". I responded that I doubted how that was possible on a technical (smtp) basis and I would like an explanation. The agent and manager I talked to had just repeatedly insisted the emails were protected. But they were unable to answer the most basic of technical questions. When I asked for a privacy officer or technical support, I was ignored.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By Choirgirl Jan 8, 2016

    I'm fed up, stressed and I want to SCREAM!!!

    All I want to do is check my balance before I pay a bill. Their system locked me out. Attempts to reset password are awful even though I answer all security questions accurately -all 20 freaking questions!!! Then, the system made me press 1-2-1-3.... Yada yada then wait then listen to repetitious information for an hour and press 1-2-1-2 Yada yada yada. I'm outdone. Their system is a joke! I want cry because I'm so stressed out. I'm just thankful that I'm not stranded on the side of the road and need a password reset from Nycb to access my funds or whatever.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By customer_77 Jan 7, 2016

    Ridiculous treatment of captive customers

    The website roll-out, customer service, and company employee attitude that I have dealt with are absurd. My mortgage was sold to this institution so I am stuck -- can't believe how painful it is to work with this company. I have in the past and currently pay mortgages to 7 different companies. Few hiccups do occur in accessing tax records, getting billpay right, escrow maintenance, forgotten passwords, etc,etc... all easily resolved at other places.

    With MYNYCB, it is a struggle to simple log in and pay. I have considered incurring refinance fees just to move my loan somewhere else.

    The good news is that waiting 90 minutes in line at the Department of Motor Vehicles next to screaming toddlers just to transfer a title seems more reasonable now that I have banking with NYCB to compare it to.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jkjk447 Dec 5, 2015

    Bunch of Crooks

    They've been charging me fee for a year. I buy burger king for 5$ and get charged 1.50$ fee. They fee me everytime almost everytime I use my pin. I have a debit card, and I was JUST TOLD that I have to use it as a credit card or they will fee me. This is after a year they tell me, and two representatives have told me the reverse, that I have a debit card and I can't use it as a credit card or I'll get charged! They're customer service is a nightmare, I lost my card I have to go to the branch, calling their Customer support and after navigating through Push 1 push 2 push 3 for blah blah answering machine service, I get to the lost card center and the lady tells me that they don't handle my branch! They don't handle NYCB, but I called the NYCB lost card services! Are you kidding me? I lose my card they will charge me a 10$ fee! I blink and I'm getting fee'd out of no where! Banks are stingy, and greedy, but this bank is ran by a bunch of crooks!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By SethVT Nov 21, 2015

    Horrible customer service and poor online service

    We have a mortgage with this company for many years now. Because their online platform is horrible, NYCB is the only bill we pay via paper check or over the phone. During our last phone payment, there was miscommunication on the account number and they didn't notify me until over one week later that there was an issue. Then they charge me a late fee on top of that saying it was my fault. I asked for a transcript of the voice call or if I could listen to it and they said no, I have to take their word for it. Okay, so then I asked for a one time courtesy waiver of the fee even though I didn't think I was at fault but I can't prove it (and neither would they), and they said no they wouldn't do that either. I asked for a supervisor and they just transferred me to another customer service agent and same process. I've been an awesome customer for years, pay on time and have a credit score in the top 1% of the population, and they can't waive a $55 late fee once in a blue moon? Their customer service and policies are poor, and they apparently have no strategy or vision to retain great customers. They can't even get their website straight to make it easy to pay online. This smells of horrible senior management. We are planning to buy a larger house next year, and we will NOT be using them again. There are so many better alternatives, why even bother with inferior service. Hope this helps you as you shop for a mortgage, and that you consider shopping elsewhere.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By Nero Jul 29, 2015

    Worst. Bank. Ever.

    These people are the absolute worst. Somehow our mortgage was off by $4.00 and it skewed everything. It took many hours on the phone with the worst of the worst. Finally, we talked to someone that actually knew something that was actually pleasant and apologetic. After another error on their end, we decided to refi just to move it to another bank. Avoid this bank at ALL costs.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By Petersen9977 Mar 20, 2015

    Change of Password due to change of Log-On procedure

    Had to change my password because MynyCB changed their Log-On System.
    Went to my branch on Northern Blvd. in Jackson Heights, NY, 5 times. Called their tel# 877-786-6560 at least 3 times, and wrote one Contact-Us letter. Was still not able to get into my account. Found out myself, that it only worked on SAFARI, and NOT on FIREFOX. However, I still can not get in with my I-Pad, which only has SAFARI. Called again today and they suggested I sign up for Internet Explorer.
    Now, I new that there was something very wrong with the log-in to Mynycb.
    Internet Explorer is supposed to be phased out, so why should I now make it my primary browser? Why is their system not set up that I can get in on Firefox with my Apple computer? Why can't I get in on the I-Pad via SAFARI. Why does it take 5 to 10 minutes to reach a person on 877-786-6560? Why is your new system built on failing or obsolete or runner-up browsers? I have been with your bank at least 20 years and was very satisfied with the service. Lately, however, with all the renovations and "improvements" going on, with an ever-changing team of new employees, I am losing trust in this bank. I would be very grateful if MYNYCB could answer my questions, and/or advise me.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • H
    Reviewed By hffleury Mar 11, 2015

    NYCB Very poor online banking and customer follow up

    I just have one loan and only one loan with them . In one month they have not been able to setup my online banking correctly , have billed me twice on my mortgage within 3 days and at my last attempt to get help waited 29mns and 32 seconds resulting in not resolving my problem . My experience has really been horrible. I had to hang up but asked that they sent me a password reset, or call me with a new login but nothing has been done .

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.