Overall Rating

MyBankTracker Grade

C+
Customer Rating
Financial Health
Number of Locations

245
Branch Locations

New York Community Bank Location Map
We found branches close to you.

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank Reviews
CIT Bank
Add
Bank News
Hudson City Bank
Add
Bank Rates
First Niagara Bank
Add
Compare Banks

New York Community Bank Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction

New York Community Bank Latest Customer Reviews

ypwalter's Profile Image

Reviewed by ypwalter

Mar 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Mortage Company

They don't have any flexibility and rude. Worst bank to deal with. They don't know how to do good to customers. I didn't intend to do mortgage with them, but they bought off my mortgage. However, they are surely one of the worst bank in the world. Oh, btw, their online system sucks in foreign access and the website is like from technology of 80s.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

nomynycb's Profile Image

Reviewed by nomynycb

Mar 19th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Short this company, very poor.

Below standards and very poor, short sell youll be fine.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Bretterson's Profile Image

Reviewed by Bretterson

Feb 5th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Nothing but Poor Experiences for Years Now

I started with this bank many many years ago when it was originally Ohio Savings Bank in the Cleveland area. Eventually it became AmTrust and then New York Community Bank changed it back to Ohio Savings when it acquired AmTrust.

NYCB has been very poor. The phone service is ok, but not good. They have been incredibly slow to modernize their Web site, add Web services, and barely offer mobile access. At some point they even changed the URL, but the old one was still active. I couldn't figure out why I couldn't login to my account for awhile because they never posted a note or redirected to the new location. I had to call to find out about this and the rep said something along the lines of, "Well, we can only do so much." Way to set the bar at the bottom rung.

When I wanted to setup an investment account at a branch, the account administrator was late both times. The second time I waited about an hour and no one bothered to let me know what was going on.

I've stayed because I'm a sucker and I feel bad giving up on accounts I've had for so long, but I'm finally cutting ties. I'd advise you to stay away.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

aaronnycb's Profile Image

Reviewed by aaronnycb

Jan 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst bank to have your mortage at

They never pay my taxes out of my escrow on time or for the right amount. This is the THIRD year in a row they did this to me. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS BANK. You will spend hours with their incompetent "customer service" and get nothing accomplished except for high blood pressure. They NEVER answer their phones and NEVER get back to you. I can't wait to refinance and move my loan to a different bank. The next time I buy or refinance, I will specify the loan cannot be sold to NYCB!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Kathrine's Profile Image

Reviewed by Kathrine

Jan 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

The worst bank customer service ever!

Sure they put a few stale cookies out and some coffee but that doesn't make up for the horrible customer service. The manager is rude and patronizing. I choose this because it was close to my office but I would drive across the Island before I would put up with rude and unprofessional behavior. There are many more banks on Staten Island that offer superior customer service and greet you with a smile.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

whill15's Profile Image

Reviewed by whill15

Jan 8th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

NYCB Most Rude Agents I Ever Experienced

My mortgage was bought out by NYCB shortly after I refinanced in August, 2012. Between that time and December, 2013 I've had to talk with their agents by phone about 8 times. Every single time I have been treated rudely.

There is no excuse for this. I have dealt with banks and mortgage companies for over 30 years and most of them treat their customers pretty well, especially Chase. But not NYCB. They are condescending and rude every time. Which is the primary reason I decided to pay off my mortgage in total, which I did last week, so I wouldn't have to deal with them any longer.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

JenniferT's Profile Image

Reviewed by JenniferT

Dec 10th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Worst. Bank. Ever.

We were unfortunate to end up with a mortgage with NYCB after we refinanced with a mortgage broker. Their website is from the year 1993, which makes it very difficult to manage our account or pay our bill online. Their customer service "professionals" sound like people who weren't good enough for the post office or the DMV. They are apathetic at best and incompetent at worst. I'm amazed the company is still in business, and I dread having a long-term relationship with them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

JenniferT's Profile Image

Reviewed by JenniferT

Dec 10th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Worst. Bank. Ever.

We were unfortunate to end up with an NYCB mortgage when we refinanced through a mortgage broker. The company's website is from the year 1993, which makes it very difficult to manage our account or pay our mortgage online. When you call their customer service "professionals," it's like calling the post office or the DMV. Their representatives are apathetic at best and incompetent at worst. I'm amazed they company is still in business, and I dread having a long-term relationship with them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

seanmorrison212's Profile Image

Reviewed by seanmorrison212

Oct 31st 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible. poor customer service

I went to set direct deposit back up with the bank again...

When I called the call center in Ohio they informed me that I had a small negative balance outstanding from 9/30/13 and that the account would close on 10/30/13 unless I paid the money.

I informed them that I was on a tight budget and that my direct deposit would hit on 10/31/13 and he said they would not close the account just go into one of the branches and they will assure no problems.

The assistant manager Carmen at the branch on Rt 9 in the Pathmark Old Bridge, NJ said she would speak directly to risk to make an exception to keep the account open and to close it Nov 1st if the money didn't hit or was covered.

On October 30th I went into the branch for another issue and she informed that the account would be closed and reopened on 10/31/13 by the risk department.

Risk apparently had no notes in regards to this.

Their branch in Monroe, NJ where I set up the account said they could not help me since I didn't deal with them directly on this matter.

I was a customer of NY Community Bank for nearly 33 years and I cannot how I was screwed over and treated.

I am considering suing the bank for emotional distress and aggravation caused by this since my paycheck was not received because they closed the account and now I have to wait from my employer to cut me a check.

i also have to open up a new checking account as well which is an inconvenience.

If there are any lawyers reading this that can help me please respond.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Ratnagetcluedin's Profile Image

Reviewed by Ratnagetcluedin

Oct 29th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Mortgages with them stink!

The customer service is piss poor- they tell you nothing when you are trying to pay, set up an electronic fund transfer, and no one is there to help you. Or they are, but no one gives you consistent and appropriate advice. Awful bank to have your mortgage with and don't even try to pay off your mortgage like a responsible person. Wow!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Elena's Profile Image

Reviewed by Elena

Jul 15th 2013

2 out of 5 marks

Poor

Rude tellers

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

psh's Profile Image

Reviewed by psh

Jul 5th 2013

2 out of 5 marks

being rude with customer; very slow in service

I am a customer of bank of America for about 7 years that I just arrived in US and opened my account in San Francisco. I always was happy with them until last year that I moved in stony brook and chose the centereach branch for my business with the bank of America.

One day, I had a shared check to me and my husband and I had to deposit to my account. because my husband was not available and our shared bank is the one just in CA. One of the manager had said to me if my husband just sign off the back of the check with a copy of his ID, I should be fine to deposit that check, since my husband was not in NY at the time. When another day I was going to deposit the check, there was another manager who acted very rude and said that they are not allowed to do that service.

While I could do the same service by opening a new account in other bank (TFCU), from that day I decided ever never go to this brach of bank of america and even decided for future to close my account with bank of america. They should be more careful to select the better managers and have better customer service in everywhere!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jamesrudoy's Profile Image

Reviewed by jamesrudoy

May 14th 2013

3 out of 5 marks

Many errors in online banking

Many unacceptable errors by AmtrustDirect of New York Community Bank.

1. Bank accepted my order for an ACH deposit transfer, then executed it before the date we scheduled, subjecting me to a NSF fee taken by the sending bank.

2. Bank accepted my order for an ACH deposit transfer, then it disappeared from the pending transaction queue without its execution or any explanation.

3. Bank accepted my nomination of a bill pay payee and my direction to make a payment. Then the scheduled payment disappeared from the pending transaction queue before execution without any explanation, subjecting me to a large late payment fee. All the details about my payee also disappeared from my online account without any explanation.

4. Bank enrolled me in a transfer service I did not want or order and started taking fees for it from my account.

5. Bank changed the WWW domain for online account access without any notice to me.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

TJDavid's Profile Image

Reviewed by TJDavid

Apr 28th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible Mortgage lender, doesn't pay escrowed bills

NYCB is the mortgage carrier for our mortgage. I was unaware that they hadn't paid our property taxes for our home that they escrow for until the sheriff showed up to serve us papers in March of 2013. I called, faxed and mailed the info to them in hopes of getting this resolved. Only to find out in April that it still wasn't resolved. I called them again, faxed and mailed the info again. I even went to the tax assessors office and put the tax assessor on the phone with the mortgage company to resolve this only to be told this is scheduled to be resolved May 16, 2013 after the tax sale is scheduled. They said they would expedite the matter. On April 26, 2013, I called back only to find this matter has still not been resolved, My taxes are now almost 5 month late and my house is about to go to a tax sale. My mortgage is current. If a lender says NYCB Run don't walk. They don't have the first clue how to handle a mortgage. The customer service staff could care less, they were clearly listening to the NFL draft during my phone call. If I could give them zeros or negatives I would.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

amoyyang's Profile Image

Reviewed by amoyyang

Feb 25th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible Service

Apparently, they did careless job by including fireplace in appraisal report although we have clearly mentioned that is a fake fireplace for decoration only. They also don't make a fair comparison by using different location with different value in appraisal report. Plus they are not willing to take inquires or concerns on the phone. I won't recommend their low quality service.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

HappyCat's Profile Image

Reviewed by HappyCat

Dec 9th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Worse Bank Ever?

This bank might just be the worse bank anywhere.

I had an old AmTrust on-line bank account with a very minimal balance ($1.43 of residual interest after I had withdrawn all funds from the account years ago with the intent of it being closed). AmTrust was a decent operation and never charged any kind of account maintenance fees. Apparently, NYCB acquired AmTrust's accounts and then without notice they charged a $10 fee of some kind to the account. The first I knew about it was when they sent a letter telling me I was overdrawn on the account and that they were going to notify credit rating agencies, etc., etc. Had they simply notified my about what they were planning to do, I would have asked them to close the account - no problem. Instead, they claim I'm overdrawn, owe them money ($8.53) and threaten me.

Several calls to their customer service were useless in resolving the issue. Their customer service reps basically acknowledged that the situation was screwed up but they couldn't do anything and suggested that I had to write a letter to the "Retail Operations Department" to beg forgiveness for the fees and ask them to close the account.

I sent a couple of letters certified mail complaining about their handling of the situation and I finally got a letter saying they closed my account and saying they credited the account to bring it back to zero (in other words, they kept the $1.43 balance). There is no acknowledgement that they ever received my letters or that their letter is in response to my letters - so who knows what if anything they did with the credit agencies. Their letter goes on to say what wonderful products they have and invite me to call their Customer Contact Center "so we can provide you with the exceptional service you deserve". Seriously, that's what it said! What a bunch of fools. It's amazing to think that organizations this dysfunctional and out of touch with their customers actually manage to stay in business.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

CynthiaPowers's Profile Image

Reviewed by CynthiaPowers

Sep 15th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Run don't walk - they are aquiring every broken bank in this nation!

NYCB has our mortgage, they bought Amtrust Bank, a bankrupt AZ bank. Their website, customer service rivals the worst 'Patty

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

sjommiller's Profile Image

Reviewed by sjommiller

Sep 11th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

This Bank Is The Worst I've Seen! They Charge Fees For Everything! They Took Aurora Which Was Great And Trashed It!

Nycb took over aurora bank out of illinois. They charged me $15. 00 a month for a money market account i'd had with aurora (and never never been charged a fee). They charged fees for every single debit! There were no atms in my state (nm) that i could get funds without fees and they made no apologies about it. I couldn't get out of here fast enough!! They are in it for the $ and no customer service.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

kir's Profile Image

Reviewed by kir

Jun 20th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

highred this crappy lender for my mortgage needs

this is by far the worst mortgage lender i have ever seen in my entire life. we hired this company to take over our loan. we kept sending documents back and forth, they went through an extensive list of requirements etc. Then the loan was approved with conditions, we kept sending more documentation to meet their conditions and they finally approved the conditions specified. Prior to that, the appraisal came and found that there was a couple things to be repaired, that is for the water heater and termites. After the loan requirements were met, they asked me to go replace the water heater as well as doing the terminte work totalling $1200 worth of labor and i had no choice but to do it.

After their inspection conditions were met, instead of sending over the loan docs to the escrow company, they kept sending for more documents back and forth. Then they come back to tell us that they were unable to approve the loan because of one of credit cards i have where the balance was a little bit higher than the first credit report as a result of this, the government agency was unable to secure and guarantee the loan. We did all we could to make the loan go through but they were unable to work with us.

After wasting 2 months, loosing the house because of them and spending $1200 of worth in labor work to fix whatever they asked to fix, they denied our loan! Remarkable to say that they have the slowest underwriters i have ever seen in my life. Where another busy underwriter will respond in a week or so, their underwriter will need at least 3 weeks to respond to.

Run away! Do never think about hiring this crappy lender for your mortgage needs. You will end up losing the property, running into a $1200 debt just because they asked for and as a result you will turn around to find another reliable and professional lender for your mortgage needs

IF i had to rate this mortgage company out of the scale of 10, -10 would be the fairest by far of all

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Marras's Profile Image

Reviewed by Marras

Jun 11th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Do Not Ever Deal With This Bank!

I've been a customer with this bank for 4 years. Within that time I have never had a late payment and I have been a tremendous customer. We recently had out mortgage paid off and they still withdrew my Mortgage Payment out of my account. It's been 10 days of trying to call them to get it back and everyone is rude and not understanding. We all know if this situation was reversed they would be charging late fee, adding interest, and even trying to foreclose.

Even when we had our mortgage with them their customer service was the absolute worst. I would STAY AWAY from this bank they don't deserve anyone's money.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Arizonabusinesses's Profile Image

Reviewed by Arizonabusinesses

Feb 26th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Bank makes slow steps to address customer concerns in loan portfolio managed by George Vossberg

We have a $104,000 commercial loan currently at Amtrust Bank, Scottsdale, AZ as part of a portfolio acquired from the defunct Desert Hills Bank, Phoenix, AZ . After finally grasping our situation, George Vossberg, their Scottsdale representative, asked me to sign an engagement letter that gave away the majority of our borrower rights. We did not sign and the bank would not enter into discussions without it. So the loan sat dormant. After three years of relative inactivity the bank is starting to microscopically move in the direction of a resolution. The portfolio manager has yet to personally meet with us but it appears that appropriate pressure from NYCB upper managment is starting to have an effect.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Derrico's Profile Image

Reviewed by Derrico

Feb 12th 2012

2 out of 5 marks

It takes a month for check deposits to clear for new accounts

It took about an hour and a half to fill out paperwork for first account because service was so slow. As it is, it was my second visit because service was so slow the first time, I waited half an hour to open a new account. After the new account was opened, I deposit $1300 check. It did not clear in three days. I went to the bank to ask if there was a problem. They said that for new accounts it can take up to a month for a first check to clear. WTF? Something about the routing number. This is totally unacceptable BS. I am intending to move to another bank ASAP as soon as this money clears and I can withdraw it.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

NJ_resident's Profile Image

Reviewed by NJ_resident

Dec 21st 2011

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible

I joined when they were my local credit union. As a CU, they were tops. As NY Community Bank, they were the worst.

The worst of the worst-- they failed to pay my mortgage to Wells Fargo. They claimed I wasn't authorized to pay my mortgage electronically, though I had done so for a decade. Had a 3-way conference call with NY Comm Bank, Wells, and me so Wells would hear the BS for themselves. After the phone call, Wells said they'd waive all late fees, charges and so on (due to NY Comm Bank's failure to transfer money), mail Wells a check and change banks.

There's more, but I won't bore you.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Healthcareguru M's Profile Image

Reviewed by Healthcareguru M

Nov 3rd 2010

1 out of 5 marks

Am Trust AKA New York Community Bank provides Misleading Loan Approvals!

No one should believe anything this bank states even if you have it in writing. I was advised to move forward on a new home build with a well deserved Pre-Approval. I had a written promise from an underwriter that this loan is assured even with being 2 months short of a 2 year job history (my only obstacle). I went forward with the new home build and now 10 months later the home is complete and upon receiving the letter of occupancy from the builder, I have likewise received news that the loan has now mysteriously been declined. They had no problem charging the 475$ to do the appraisal at my expense, but yet declined my loan. I have great credit, no debt, a great income, assets and 20% down. Nothing has changed and even the appraisal came well above the purchase price. No explanation no apology just a a simple "sucks to be you". Now days away from closing and no loan I am forced to find a solution and fast. The bottom line is that this bank and it's underwriter set me up to fail. The irony of this is that my uncle is a well known politician that's defends banks and their effort to regain control over risk. I was able to get his unbiased view and to put it as he stated it "they screwed you over"

DO NOT USE THIS BANK FOR ANY PURPOSE!! They are misleading and do not keep their word!

Mrs. G

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Post a review