B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Old National Bank Customer Reviews

(17 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 0
4 Star 0
3 Star 0
2 Star 1
1 Star 16

The Most Helpful Old National Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Monacarmody1 Feb 13, 2015

The Good And The Bad About Old National

I have been skeptical since old national took over united bank and trust but have changed my perspective when i was contacted by old national personnel in the loan and collections departments regarding payment changes regarding escrow amounts. They were sincere about helping to fix the problem, reverse fees and treated me with respect. They called me before i knew there was a problem. Great customer service! My biggest complaint about old national is the dinosaur of a web site and fees on my checking account.

The on-line banking is the worst i've ever seen. No loan transactions available on line. No loan history. No loan statements. When i called old national, i was told it is what it is and there are no plans to upgrade. You can see transactions on your checking account but 15 is the max. On-line banking weights pretty high on my list of what is important to me with my bank so i am only giving 2 stars. Get rid of the checking account fees and upgrade your website and you will have a 5 star review!

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Janice_yen Dec 30, 2013

This bank is a joke.

I needed a private account to keep my money without having anyone knowing about it, and my dad told me to go with Old National Bank. I went in and sat there for 20 minutes while the workers there walked around and told eachother stories about their weekend, I decided to stand up and leave and the lady called me in saying she would take care of me, so i gave it another go and went in. Got all my papers done and she asked me if i wanted a debit card. i said yes and i had to fill in another agreement sheet (note this).

A month later I haven't received my card yet and my boyfriend told me to call them to make sure no one had activated it and stole it. I called and was put on hold for 45 minutes until the lady comes on and told me that my card was never ordered and that she would take care of it today. So 5 weeks went by and i still don't have my debit card yet. The bank required a balance of $750 to not be charged monthly. So there goes my $750 i couldnt touch for over 2 months now. My boyfriend told me if they take this long and still haven't fixed this small debit card problem, how long would it take them if something big happened to my bank account. So i waited another week to see if they will resolve this problem for me and i called them multiple times to check on my card. I got tired of it and went in to close my account before i picked my daughter up from school. I waited 2 hours and every time i ask if someone is going to resolve my problem its always "just a few more minutes. Someone will be with you shortly". Now I don't mind waiting but i was the only customer in there for the whole 2 hours and it was time to pick up my daughter. I still haven't been able to close my account yet. So much for the "best bank in Indiana". This bank is seriously a joke. i haven't had this bad of customer service throughout my life.

Is this review helpful?

Latest Old National Bank Reviews

  • A
    Reviewed By Ahahn Nov 13, 2015

    Stay Away From This Bank!!!

    Stay away from this joke of a bank. The are snakes and deserve to be shut down. They will find any way to rip money from you with the it outlandish fees.

    Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By Roo1017 May 17, 2015

    No longer a hometown bank.

    I've been with ONB for 15 years. I've watched them grow over the years, increase their fees, and decrease their customer service. I've stuck by them. Over the last year I've become more frustrated. They held my work bonus for two weeks because "it was more than my usual deposit", even though I routinely deposit over $5k in this particular account every month, and they were too lazy to call and verify the check. They deposited a cash deposit into the wrong account and then acted like I was the liar when I called them, then I had to drive all the way across town back to the bank and show them my receipt. Their tellers routinely make customers wait while they finish their conversations and texts before they help customers. Their mobile app can no longer deposit checks. The monthly fee is now $8.95 because I was somehow "upgraded" to a different type of account.

    I noticed an overdraft charge this week. I called the Evansville customer service number. I was promptly told that they don't deal with overdraft fees and I needed to call the branch where the account was opened. I don't live anywhere near the branch where this account was opened. I haven't used that branch for probably seven or eight years. I asked if I could transfer my account to a branch that is actually near my home. The customer service lady said that if making a phone call was that big of a deal, she'd take my number and have my "home" branch call me.

    So I had to call the original branch, where I was told that somewhere between posting transactions for Thursday night and a direct deposit going in Friday, an automatic bill pay came through and was pending on the account and the available balance fell into a negative. Despite the fact that my posted balance is not and will not be negative, I got slapped with a $38 fee because my available balance was less than zero for two hours. There is NO bank that charges overdraft fees based of a transaction that hasn't even posted. Goodbye, ONB.

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By sbeuerle Apr 28, 2015

    Leave Now

    We were United Bank and Trust customers for over 17 years. Have all our accounts with them 2 business accounts, Ck account and a savings account. Old National takes over back in September of 2014. During this time a loan we had with UBT came up for renewal. A loan that was 10,000 and we only used 9,346 of it. But it was not a revolving line of credit in Old National terms. I always made my payments online on time went to make the October payment and it says late fee of 654.00 (which was what is left of the 10000) So I go to the bank and they explain to me we the loan came up during the transition period and we just need to fill out new paperwork and get it switched over? So in October we filled out all the paperwork to re-up the loan. Mind you I am in this bank 3 to 4 times a week making deposits for other accounts. I am asking can I make a payment on this, how is the loan paperwork going have you heard anything etc. Old National says, No haven't heard anything I will keep you posted. This goes on for a couple of months they year tax returns. Take those up to them blah blah blah. February we get a call from some woman in the Special Assessment Department tells my husband "we will not be redoing your loan and I suggest that you find another bank to do this loan along with the other mortgage" MIND YOU we have never been late on any payment and we have excellent credit. She also tells him that she doesn't know how we live because we are poor. Seriously you tell people they are poor. After several months of trying to settle this we finally get a letter with various dates. First page is dated on April 1st while the second page is dated April 24th. She is the VP of Special Assessments and this is how her letter is presented to us. On the email that she sent me with this paperwork attached she said "don't worry about the dates they are stale" and it says that first payment due 4/24/15 final pymt due 5/30/15. So now it's a battle to keep this off our credit report.

    Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By rewinaa Apr 26, 2015

    Nothing but deterioration in service

    Our bank was taken over by Old National. Since then, there has been nothing but detrioration in service. Their online banking is just terrible, transactions are hidden, some pending on one account and not on others, very limited access to information, and slowww posting. Just about 10 cuts below what we used to have with our old bank. They charge fees for everything. You get caught for overdrafts if a check clears an hour or two before your deposit clears -- on the same afternoon. Trying to get informatioin from them on the phone is like pulling teeth. Unfortunately we have numerous accounts with them because we did with our former bank, which gave us great service for years. Nonetheless, I have started actively looking for alternatives, which, fortunately for us, are numerous in our town.

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By Monacarmody1 Feb 13, 2015

    The Good And The Bad About Old National

    I have been skeptical since old national took over united bank and trust but have changed my perspective when i was contacted by old national personnel in the loan and collections departments regarding payment changes regarding escrow amounts. They were sincere about helping to fix the problem, reverse fees and treated me with respect. They called me before i knew there was a problem. Great customer service! My biggest complaint about old national is the dinosaur of a web site and fees on my checking account.

    The on-line banking is the worst i've ever seen. No loan transactions available on line. No loan history. No loan statements. When i called old national, i was told it is what it is and there are no plans to upgrade. You can see transactions on your checking account but 15 is the max. On-line banking weights pretty high on my list of what is important to me with my bank so i am only giving 2 stars. Get rid of the checking account fees and upgrade your website and you will have a 5 star review!

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By MISSYG27 Oct 2, 2014

    Why Worry About Actual Criminals When Your Own Bank Robs You

    It doesn't do honest people any good to try and make ends meet when your own bank rips you off. I looked at my account yesterday online and it was not negative. I had an automatic deposit going in today and one item left unaccounted for that had not been posted to my account. I checked my balance first thing this morning and the auto deposit had gone in and the last item that needed to clear had come through and i had a positive balance, so i debited gas for my car and went on to work. I got online a few hours later to find my account in the negative by almost $250.

    It seems that overnight the one item that had not been put through came through, they put it through first and then bounced eight small debit items, we are talking $13 and under for each of the eight. Then after they "overdrafted" the eight items they put my auto deposit in and conveniently took it all and left the account negative, so that when my paycheck, which it is too late to stop from going in, goes in tomorrow, i will have absolutely no money to put gas in my car for work, pay my bills or feed my kids.

    Awesome onb, single moms that are struggling everywhere should put their money in your bank so that you can take them for every single dime that they have. That is exactly what is wrong with this country, thieves everywhere have found loopholes in the laws to disguise themselves as legitimate businesses and hardworking people that struggle to provide for their families every day get ripped off and its perfectly legal.

    I really appreciate how they have their online banking set up to show you that you have money in there but their behind the scenes process sends the transactions through completely different so that you have no clue that you are getting ready to be ripped off. I wish that i did not have money issues and could just give money away, but that is not the case.

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By mjparker Sep 17, 2014

    Pure Thievery!

    I am a disabled person who only has two revolving deposits each month, one from SSDI, and one from my multimillionaire parents to help cover my medications. I was told by both a branch manager and a supervisor at the call center that it would be arranged to have no hold on my recurring deposit each month. Yet this past month, they had it in their possession for five days over Labor Day weekend. My online banking showed that it had cleared (no longer in pending), so I paid some small bills and got my medications. I had enough in my account to pay those bills before the deposit.

    My car insurance went through the same day, and instead of rejecting that one (because they still had hidden hold on my deposit check), they put it through and charged me NSF fees on all of the small ones that would have been covered even without the deposited check! So now, because of that, another direct payment bounced, numerous automatic payments that I have set up bounced, and they have taken over $450 from me in NSF and daily overdraft fees in the last two weeks!

    There is nothing I can do about it until my disability check arrives in October, so they will go on and on placing more fees on my account! I opened a new account with Huntington, which has none of these practices (I quizzed them when opening my account), and I arranged my direct deposit to go to them. I need to know how to complain to whatever regulatory commission oversees this bank! Blatant malpractice!

    Is this review helpful?
  • AC
    Reviewed By AA c. Sep 3, 2014

    Take your money and run - elsewhere

    They took over our good bank and then started adding fees on everything. ATM fees, fees for simple checking, even fees for a simple savings account! They haven't followed through on their commitments to send checks. The online banking doesn't allow me to see prior transfers in an account. They will make it hard for you to close your account, so do yourself a favor and never open one!!

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By slobby Aug 30, 2014

    Bank robbery is alive and well

    What a joke this bank is. We had a perfectly wonderful bank here in town, and fat-cat Old National swooped in and took over, and instead of people robbing IT, IT is robbing people with its ridiculous fees if you go under a certain amount in your checking account. People, PLEASE protect your money and go to a reputable bank, not this joke of one.

    Is this review helpful?
  • AA
    Reviewed By Ann A. Aug 27, 2014

    Terrible

    This bank took over our local bank and made a complete mess of our finances while repeatedly sending false information. They did not send our replacement checks, messed up our ATM card PINs, did not transfer our online payee details as they said they would, and even did not allow access to our cash by ATM because the only ATM that would not charge a fee was "out of service" for days!! Seriously, they are absolutely TERRIBLE. On top of this they want to charge monthly fees for my son's student savings account! We are switching to a local bank as soon as possible.

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.