B+ MyBankTracker Rating

USAA Customer Reviews

(172 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 25
4 Star 1
3 Star 7
2 Star 30
1 Star 109

The Most Helpful USAA Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By dillond Mar 18, 2016

Bank is Great, Other services NOT SO!

So, we've been banking with USAA for seven years, absolutely no problem, one issue which was taken care of promptly. We see all the one stars and assume that most folk don't take the time to post positive reviews, but when feeling scorned, post. Now, as for USAA's insurance, VERY BAD, uses credit scores to justify high fees rather than driving and claim records. Credit cards, VERY BAD, declined us a card when Bank of America and HSBC granted us credit.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By angrycustomer523 Aug 28, 2014

Steals Money From Victims Of Fraud

They won't accept police reports and even if you send one in they refuse to read it. False advertising of protecting veterans and soldiers.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest USAA Reviews

  • C
    Reviewed By ConsumerReviewer Jul 23, 2016

    Money First Customer Last

    They never have managers or supervisors on staff to assist customers and when you leave a message they do not respond. It's obvious that employees are treated badly. It used to be they were treated well and in turn they would treat us well even if we were under extreme duress. They had the common sense and decency to take control over the situation. Now a minor problem becomes a massive problem.

    They are also cut off your credit/debit card without warning and are not available nights or weekends so you are left with no access to your money. They are vengeful. If you have a problem they won't help you. They don't have to, they've gotten so large they can spin situations to best fit their narrative. The government backs banks terrible policies, resulting in huge financial gains for the banks and petty theft from your account.

    They charge huge fees when a transaction declines. It used to be that if you didn't have money, you didn't have money. There was no fee to be broke. Not anymore, whether or not they pay out a transaction you are charged a fee. They will take money to cover a debit from an unrelated account but they won't tap it to help you avoid a fee.

    They can also allow other companies to use predatory policies against you. Paypal can try to debit your account 3 times resulting in 3 insufficient funds fees in addition to the 3 that USAA charges. That is $150 for one $5 transaction. USAA colludes in predatory practices.

    Because they are so large now they are able to hang up on you, not help you, not be experts in their field resulting in a total loss of confidence. Since they know I am not a high rolling customer they can continue their bad service as I have no other options. Back when I first joined they treated the most vulnerable customers with the most care, now they have followed in the path of other unethical banks.

    To be fair, they are 'nice' they just don't follow it up with action so I'm inclined to think, errr they ain't nice.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By Riggeo Jun 18, 2016

    Not who they used to be

    I've always had wonderful service from usaa banking and insurance but that all changed last week when I noticed two bounced checks on my account. I had forgotten about a check and didn't have sufficient funds BUT I signed up for overdraft protection when I opened the account 15 or so years ago and had plenty in savings to cover it. After 40 min on hold and 30 minutes on a chat they finally figured out that even though my account has always said it was overdraft protected it wasn't actually "turned on."

    They recredited their fees but when I asked about the other bank's fees and how to ensure the check was resubmitted they said they couldn't help. They admitted fault but I have to deal with the consequences. I've been a member for almost 30 years and I can't believe it. I guess I'll report them to the appropriate bank regulator and the BBB. This is not my USAA!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • 1
    Reviewed By 11lacy951 Apr 20, 2016

    Horrible Service that I make a point to tell anyone I can about

    I have been a member of USSA for 8 years now. They are HORRIBLE people. I had insurance thru them ( I canceled as soon as I could). I never had to file a claim so I didn't have issue with them but canceled because of the Horrid service in Banking and credit card services!!
    With banking they have an ungodly "hold" period. I bank with two other banks and have Never had that issue. Not to mention they talk down to you like your 12 when you ask about it and NOONE cares or even tries to listen to you. My breaking point was when I changed bank account information thru my work. My paycheck went to another bank but was put in by payroll incorrectly so my paycheck was delayed by 2 days. I called USSA to inform them and ask for a two day extension. She informed me that she MIGHT be able to transfer it from another account I had but she had to place me on Hold so she could see how and if she could do that, I was on hold for several minutes and the phone disconnected . At this point I had been on the phone for a while and had to go and pick up my children and thought I will just call her back. The following day for whatever reason, my paycheck was deposited before the two days so I just transferred the money and paid my insurance that way. The NEXT day I received a letter stating they withdrew the money from the other account...WITH OUT MY PERMISSION and would NOT return it. Just because we discussed my issues did not give her the ok to do that! Especially since the phone hung up. I called and tried to explain and they said they would "investigate" but pretty much it was FUCK you mam we got our money so Bug off.
    The credit card is joke and if you ever have to talk to them make sure you take the day off from work because you will end up talking to 5 different departments and end up with nothing being accomplished. I have a credit card thru them and soon I will have it paid off. I CANNOT wait to be done with this company!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • V
    Reviewed By victim1 Apr 15, 2016

    Financial predators; NOT the same company it was even 10 years ago

    I've been a member of USAA for over 40 years and received outstanding service until about 10 years ago, interestingly about the time it began advertising on TV. They used to be amazing, polite, trusting and competent, going out of their way to serve the unique needs of the military members they were designed to serve. But things have changed drastically. A few years ago when I was very ill my wallet was stolen and identity used. I had to change all my banking to USAA and spent hours on the phone with them about their incredibly poor bill paying service. Reps spent hours viewing screens with me showing confusing and contradictory information making it impossible for me to see how much I really owed. I was so worried about getting behind, but spent so much time on it that I didn't review my credit card bills to see they were being maxed out!!! I didn't receive even ONE call from USAA questioning why my spending at increased 10 fold and I was maxing cards out in a way never done. They didn't question $4000.00 airfares, thousand on gas and groceries or out of state charges. All they did was say that I didn't report it in time and I owed the over $50,000.00 in credit card debt, INSISTING that they had and used fraud software. This of course couldn' t have been true. I'd had my finances with Pentagon Federal Credit union for 40 years as well and frequently had cards declined for out of state charges, and received calls immediately if something didn't seem right. I'd never maxed out a card nor had large balances BUT USAA has seen all of this as a huge source of income. It was a one time happening; my 40 years of excellent credit meant nothing and they showed no loyalty to members. It in my opinion and experience is the worst, most unethical, dishonest, and unreliable financial institution around and should have its privileges revoked as a financial institution

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Solbakken Apr 8, 2016

    Identity Theft

    Came home yesterday to a notice from USAA bank. First off, I have never had an acct with this bank and never attempted to even open an acct. I am quite satisfied with my bank and have no desire to leave them. Anyway, this notice had my name as well as the name of a Michael Sergio and it was a notice of overdraft ($2993). Obviously I am a victim of Identity Theft as this person used my social security number to open a joint account online. USAA bank opened this account without ever obtaining any identification from me - no photo id - no signature card. The rep could not give me any answers as to why this acct was opened without proper ID!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By dillond Mar 18, 2016

    Bank is Great, Other services NOT SO!

    So, we've been banking with USAA for seven years, absolutely no problem, one issue which was taken care of promptly. We see all the one stars and assume that most folk don't take the time to post positive reviews, but when feeling scorned, post. Now, as for USAA's insurance, VERY BAD, uses credit scores to justify high fees rather than driving and claim records. Credit cards, VERY BAD, declined us a card when Bank of America and HSBC granted us credit.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • V
    Reviewed By Vicky77 Feb 19, 2016

    Avoid this bank

    Worst bank ever. Had to deposit payroll check through ups store as there are no local usaa bank branches. They put an 8 day hold on payroll check.. They refused to release the funds and subsequently bounced checks that came into the account after we deposited our payroll check. The solution they told us to take out a loan. Horrible customer service. Will be moving our money out and telling our friends and family about their poor service and terrible solution.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By Dens333 Feb 6, 2016

    $500 to open a new checking account!

    USAA offered me $500 to open a checking account and make 2 deposits totalling $500 by end of Dec.I usually avoid wasting my time with these 'bait' offers as I've received so many of them from all over the Internet; they're just so scammy!

    I figured - hey, I've been a USAA member for 20 years and I've even got my three adult children to bring their business in, so this might be worth looking into. So we opened our checking account. And why stop there, we also opened a savings account and an investment brokerage account. My wife changed her work stuff and had her pay go directly into the new savings account.

    We even transferred money in and bought some stock! So they wanted 2 deposits of $250 by December which we exceeded. And in total we moved several thousand dollars through our new USAA accounts since Nov. But when I called to inquire about the $500 (spending more than 2 hours on the phone and rerouted to 4 different departments) Lori from the Executive dept told me that we didn't setup the deposits correctly and since it was our fault, too bad, so sad, there's nothing that we or they would or could do about it!

    I knew it was scammy but I really didn't expect this from them!So we plan on closing the USAA accounts and go back to our old local bank; should never have changed to begin with...

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By DD75 Jan 20, 2016

    Disappointed

    I have been with USAA for more than 25 years while in the military and now as a federal employee. One will think with that customer loyalty USAA would be there to assist members when they need them? Wrong. I recently applied for a loan to assist me with paying a couple bills after my divorce, they denied me. So I figured what's the use in being loyal to a bank if when you need them, they are not there for you. I had heard other horror stories but refused to believe them until my experience, now I am going to cancel my direct deposit and go with Chase. Thanks for nothing USAA.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By ksmith8 Jan 16, 2016

    horrible experinces

    USAA treated me and my children horribly after my ex military husband lawyer sent a false document in the process of our then pending divorce concerning our shared account. I was shocked considering I am a qualified veteran as well and with no supporting evidence or court orders. I was taken off no questions asked with over 10+ years of banking and auto services with USAA since my military career. When I tried to reopen I was told no reason was given but I was unable to open an account with them again. I am thankful for my experience because I have been happy with the credit union I am currently with every since. I would no recommend anyone to this bank or auto services you may wake up and have your account closed with no reasons and no answers.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.