B MyBankTracker Rating

Umpqua Bank Customer Reviews

(37 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 1
4 Star 0
3 Star 1
2 Star 1
1 Star 34

The Most Helpful Umpqua Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By JII Aug 7, 2015

A Dolphin swimming in a pack of sharks

Opened an account in West Seattle after receiving poor service from another local bank in the area. The West Seattle Umpqua bank employees go out of their way and attempt to treat you more like a person than a number. I actually had one employee tell me that my account was overdrawn and they contacted me personally to let me know and said they didn't want to see me get an overdraft over a starbucks coffee or something. What other banks do that?

The West Seattle branch is excellent to work with. Kelsey is excellent and cares a lot, Lai is very responsive to issues and the manager Kirk has been very helpful and responsive. The one area where I had some trouble in the past was with the institutional policy on wiring service a couple of years ago which they had made very difficult to process if you are out of the area due to wire fraud and I had to jump through a lot of hoops to get it done. But Kirk, Lai and Kelsey were extremely helpful in finding ways to get it taken care of. Best Bank I have dealt with so far.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Banked Mar 4, 2016

Worlds Greatest Bank ? Worlds Greediest Bank

These dirty crooks charge for every darn thing you do. I was out of town and had to use an ATM that was not a Umpqua ATM and was charge $3.00 to use the other banks ATM, o.k. I can understand using a different banks atm and having a fee.. Here is where I have a problem. MY bank, Umpqua Bank, also charged me a fee of $2.50 as a Non-Umpqua ATM Fee, What the heck is wrong with these dirty crooks? This is the Worst bank I have ever banked at...

Is this review helpful?

Latest Umpqua Bank Reviews

  • T
    Reviewed By thespad Mar 16, 2016

    Simply terrible

    Was with Sterling with a Home equity line of credit and a checking account that I was suppose to simply be able to write checks against the line of credit. Umpqua bought sterling. Shut down my ability to withdraw money from the line of credit, converted my checking into a high maintenance fee checking account and immediately over drafted when I went to use my line of credit to pay for house repairs. Now I get an $18 service charge maintenance fee every month that my combined checking positive balance plus what I owe on the LOC is less than $15,000. If I had $15,000, I would not keep it in a checking account at next-to zero interest. This fee is a penalty for doing the right thing and paying off my loan. I cannot wait to save up enough money to pay off the loan and close all accounts with Umpqua.

    One other point, sterling refunded all ATM fees I paid for using other banks atms because they knew that they did not have enough atms or locations to be convenient to people and refunding atm fee's were cheaper than installing more atms.
    Bottom line Umpqua only wants to take your money and trap you in a fee cycle.

    Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By Banked Mar 4, 2016

    Worlds Greatest Bank ? Worlds Greediest Bank

    These dirty crooks charge for every darn thing you do. I was out of town and had to use an ATM that was not a Umpqua ATM and was charge $3.00 to use the other banks ATM, o.k. I can understand using a different banks atm and having a fee.. Here is where I have a problem. MY bank, Umpqua Bank, also charged me a fee of $2.50 as a Non-Umpqua ATM Fee, What the heck is wrong with these dirty crooks? This is the Worst bank I have ever banked at...

    Is this review helpful?
  • U
    Reviewed By unsatisfied21 Dec 29, 2015

    Line of credit watch out

    We had our first and second mortgage with Umpqua. The second was set up as a line of credit. Although the line of credit was partially used it constantly was having bank charges on it that could not be explained to me. Additionally there is a yearly charge for the account whether you have a balance on it or not, really the interest isn't enough you are adding additional charges? We have finally refinanced with another bank to remove ourself from this nonsense. Although we paid closing costs through our new bank when we went in to make sure every thing was closed properly at Umpqua they are charging us over $100 to close the line of credit account which has had a zero balance on it for over a year. Wow look out for additional unexpected costs on the line of credit. Original loan was supposed to be set up with auto payment for reduced interest rate, that never got fixed correctly and oh so many other issues....If there was something lower than 1 star I would pick that.

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By Johnyamas Dec 7, 2015

    Do not use this bank if you plan on traveling

    I am traveling out of the country.
    I called to let them know. When I try to log in on line they want a code from a phone where I am not at.
    If I call when they are open I am calling long distance. I wait forever. They say if I want a callback to press star key. That does not give enough space for the phone number where I am. So I lose my place in line after 11 minutes and have to start over

    Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By thejunesun Oct 9, 2015

    World's Worst Bank for Small Business

    World's Greatest Bank? Anytime a corrupt criminal corporation states something like this you can be sure the truth is the opposite. This was actually a decent bank until around 2011 when they decided to become like every other bank and started eating up smaller banks. Charging small businesses tons of fees for formerly free accounts, an online banking system that doesn't work and constantly changes, not remotely 24/7 (good luck finding phone help even around 5), weekends where the entire system is down (yeah, a small business gets to take weekends off), accounts literally disappearing (I have screen shots), inability to locate accounts for tax purposes because they had a "system changeover", etc. Literally the worst bank in the world for small business. The amount of personnel turnover says it all.

    Is this review helpful?
  • H
    Reviewed By Heidie Sep 10, 2015

    Umpqua Bank Endorses Private Lending Practices

    WARNING: This is a serious alert to anyone that wants to borrow money but does not have credit;
    Do not borrow money from a private lender
    even if your banker advises you do so…………this is why:

    My banker at Umpqua banker in 2010 advised me to borrow money from a private lender to establish a credit rating so she could grant me a conventional loan in one year.

    After paying on this loan for a year I was told by Umpqua Bank the payments did not count because the private lender did not report my payments to Equifax, I was trapped and have been trapped ever since. I have paid over 30K in interest alone.
    If I had been informed of the Equifax part and how it worked I would never have borrowed from a private lender. If this comes up in your life find out first if they report your payments to a credit bureau.

    CEO of Umpqua Bank seen here on YouTube Nov. 3, 2010 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yKx_WyhP2lk in an interview with Jeanne Bliss gives his express permission for his employees to do dumb stuff like this. I have tried to contact the CEO about this but he will not reply to me personally.

    I have been to a lawyer and have been informed that since the big recession “banks can now do pretty much like they want to and no longer have a legal, moral, ethical or fiduciary duty to their customers” beware of them.

    I am going to share this very personal and disturbing chain of events with you. The afore mentioned lawyer advised me not to share this account because Umpqua Bank may sue me for slander but I told the attorney “ the people need to know this, it could save someone else the pain I am experiencing and the truth is the truth it’s just that simple.”

    You have my word this account is the truth and ongoing as of Sept. 2015.

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By JII Aug 7, 2015

    A Dolphin swimming in a pack of sharks

    Opened an account in West Seattle after receiving poor service from another local bank in the area. The West Seattle Umpqua bank employees go out of their way and attempt to treat you more like a person than a number. I actually had one employee tell me that my account was overdrawn and they contacted me personally to let me know and said they didn't want to see me get an overdraft over a starbucks coffee or something. What other banks do that?

    The West Seattle branch is excellent to work with. Kelsey is excellent and cares a lot, Lai is very responsive to issues and the manager Kirk has been very helpful and responsive. The one area where I had some trouble in the past was with the institutional policy on wiring service a couple of years ago which they had made very difficult to process if you are out of the area due to wire fraud and I had to jump through a lot of hoops to get it done. But Kirk, Lai and Kelsey were extremely helpful in finding ways to get it taken care of. Best Bank I have dealt with so far.

    Is this review helpful?
  • H
    Reviewed By hey Jul 27, 2015

    Online Access Atrocious

    Seriously Umpqua? "Your password has expired, contact us to reset your password." This is dumb, your contact hours are not always ideal. You are the first bank that I have repeatedly had to take time off of work just to find a flipping branch and do all my banking b/c of stupid crap like this. FIGURE OUT HOW TO DO ONLINE BANKING. ITS NOT THAT HARD. PAY SOMEBODY!

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By dbbaird May 22, 2015

    mortgage department

    Umpqua is a horrid conglomerate. Do not honor Power of Attorneys, lost $2000 because of that. Can't talk with legal department or escrow department directly - must be high security clearance. Would put my money in a mattress and live in a cardboard box before would do business with them

    Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By alsenborn46 May 7, 2015

    Complaint

    Have to wait 30 minutes to get person on their main phone number since their "change over".
    Access to funds unavailable for an entire weekend because of "change over" being done.
    Incurred fees on cash advances because of non-access to funds during "change over". Complained an phone to branch and did receive verbal apology. However, was not offered reimbursement of fees incurred because of their inability to give me my money when I needed it. Unacceptable.
    Horrible telephone service on their main number since the turnover.

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.