Overall Rating

MyBankTracker Grade

B
Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Mobile Banking

Featured Rates

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank Reviews
CIT Bank
Add
Bank News
Signature Bank
Add
Bank Rates
TCF Bank
Add
Compare Banks

Webster Bank Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction

Webster Bank Latest Customer Reviews

Dcorn51's Profile Image

Reviewed by Dcorn51

Sep 11th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Beware of Merchant Services

Have been using Webster bank's merchant services for processing of office charge card payments.

Horrible to deal with! Poor customer service. Unexplained charges on statements. Accounting irregularities galore. Can't wait to change office's accounts. Federal investigation as to banking irregularities not out of question

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MA12345's Profile Image

Reviewed by MA12345

Sep 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Embezzaling Scumbags

Webster Bank is a pathetic excuse for banking! The automated system that they offer can't be trusted, period end of story! Made an ATM withdrawal which showed the remaining balance to match what the automated system said. Direct Deposit paycheck going in 4 hours later as in end of business day! Well this scumbag excuse of a bank thinks its ok to embezzle $185 saying there was not enough money to cover transactions! BS, i have it on printed ATM receipt along with work direct deposit check going in 4 hours later! Thieves should be prosecuted. Bottom line is, stay far away from this bank because they will steal your hard earned money and not admit their system is flawed!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

KatS1981's Profile Image

Reviewed by KatS1981

Aug 31st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible!! Multiple inaccuracies and fraudulent NSF fees.

I checked my account today to find TWELVE fees for insufficient funds. I have gone over the numbers repeatedly (I work in finance and deal with account balances and reconciliations daily), and while I admit a couple of the fees (4, to be exact) are accurate, the majority of the fees were assessed on charges that came out of the account with PLENTY of money available. I've already printed everything, and will be submitting to the Attorney General's office in CT as well as my lawyer. I only gave 1 star because it wouldn't allow me to submit a review with 0.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MediationTraining's Profile Image

Reviewed by MediationTraining

Jul 9th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Business customers beware!

We opened a business account with Webster a couple of years ago. We have had bumps and issues along the way on way too many occasions, but changing banks is time consuming when you are a business - especially for a merchant who uses an account for deposits and withdrawals of credit card transactions.

The final straw that has prompted us to leave this bank is the unexpectedly outrageous fees we just realized were being charged to our business by this bank - completely unexpected fees. Beware if you are a business! This bank goes out of its way to solicit business customers, but we did not find it business friendly at all - quite the contrary.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Jul 23rd 2014

Hello Mediation Training-

We’re sorry to hear about your experience, and would love to get some more info on what happened so we can provide feedback to the senior managers, and see if there's anything we can do to help.

If you would like to send us more information or a contact phone number, please email us at socialmedia@websterbank.com.

Also, we will add your comments to our Voice of the Customer on your behalf. This program is viewed by upper management and helps make positive changes for our customers.

Thank you for leaving feedback, and we hope to hear from you!

Sincerely,

Dawn M.

Social Media, Webster Bank

Thank you,

Dawn M.

alajcb's Profile Image

Reviewed by alajcb

Jun 5th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

"you're pre-qualified for a personal loan"

I received an "invitation to save", the notice says I was "pre-qualified".

Dear Albert. Need money to pay off credit cards? offer: up to 25k with interest as low as 7.99% APR.

Well yes, I would like to pay off and close 3 cards with high interest, so I went to the local branch. They were very nice but a little shocked to see the notice. Manager said "I wish they would let us know when they send out these letters". I should have known then something was up.

In days I got a notice with my credit score 712, 10 days later I got a notice that I am declined because of excessive obligations in relation to income. My obligations are the same as when I received the notice. I wish they never contacted me. What a waste of time.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Cpowell1973's Profile Image

Reviewed by Cpowell1973

May 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Very Dissatisfied Customer

Webster bank have been what I call stealing my money by over drafting my account. They took over $400+ more in overdraft fees on purchases that were made. Even though I have sufficient funds they hold on to my transactions then process them after the date of transactions so that my account will go negative. They won't fix the problems and they never have an answer to the problems this so called institution is causes. Therefore I will be consulting my lawyer about getting back the money that was taken from and I am taking my business elsewhere. There is no such rating as 1 being the lowest. I would have to rate them as a -10.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

May 13th 2014

Hello Cpowell1973,

We would be more than happy to contact you to help discuss overdraft options. We do have a blog post on overdraft protection options here: http://bit.ly/ODchoice

which you might find helpful as well.

Please email us at: socialmedia@websterbank.com with the best number to reach you if you would like to speak with us. We’re here to help you!

Thank you,

Dawn M.

michael333's Profile Image

Reviewed by michael333

Apr 15th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Webster - Big bank taking advantage of small consumers

A Webster Bank check that I was supposed to receive was stolen and deposited at another bank by an unknown criminal that forged my signature on the check.

On March 28, 2014 I visited Webster Bank in Plainville CT to assist in this matter. The branch manager wanted me to sign an affidavit stating I would be responsible for any expenses or losses Webster incurs while investigating the stolen check. This is not acceptable as I cannot indemnify Webster Bank. Webster's expenses could far exceed the value of the check and I would end up paying Webster bank more than the check is worth.

Four people from Webster have called me stating that the bank probably will not charge me anything but nobody at Webster is willing to put these words in writing. Webster will not put a cap on these potential expenses either.

I would like to resolve this issue by taking exception to the indemnification language on the loss affidavit. I will then sign the form which can be forwarded to the other bank that unlawfully deposited my check. It's that simple. Other local banks I have researched do not have this language on their loss affidavit forms. Just another way Webster bank is taking advantage of the small consumer.

The criminal that stole my check will get to keep all of my money because Webster is more interested in charging people fees.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

low's Profile Image

Reviewed by low

Apr 11th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible

My home was compromised and they said they put a freeze on the account. This was not the case and they kept manualing putting in my deposits. They had me on hold for at least 30 minutes and had no explanation. I am closing all accounts as is my employer.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Apr 15th 2014

Hello - could you email us your phone number so we can give you a call? You can email us at socialmedia@websterbank.com

Thanks,

Dawn M.

Webster Bank, Social Media

Kapn18's Profile Image

Reviewed by Kapn18

Feb 26th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Customer service is horrible

Received 2 overdraft fees when my account statement still showed my account positive wouldn't wave the fees and was told pending debit card transactions caused it which ridiculous don't bank here they post things so they can charge you overdrafts. There gonna lose my family as customers which have a huge amount of money in them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Feb 27th 2014

Hi Kapn18,

We'd be happy to give you a call to help discuss your overdraft options. Or this blog post helps explain what you can do as well: http://bit.ly/ODchoice

Please email us at socialmedia@websterbank.com with your phone number if you'd like us to give you a call to explain anything, we're happy to help.

Thanks,

Dawn M.

Webster Bank

patriotsredsox1's Profile Image

Reviewed by patriotsredsox1

Feb 6th 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Bank advised me to withdraw all of my remaining balance, then proceeded to charge me an overdraft fee.

EDIT: Since posting the following review, Webster has reached out to me to resolve this issue, and I am very pleased with the outcome.

I had a personal loan with Webster and opened a checking account with them to save a quarter of a percentage point of interest on the loan. At 17%, I paid over $1000 in interest in only 7 months on my $9900 loan, so I shopped for a better deal. When I found one, I immediately paid off my remaining balance. Because I only opened my checking account to save on the interest in the first place, I decided to close that account as well. When I went into the branch I was told that because I had pending transactions they couldn't close it, but if I wanted I could withdraw the remaining the balance and they would close the account for me the following day. Not my idea, but sounded like a good plan. The following day, a charge from 2 weeks prior for $6 posted, causing previous pending transactions to overdraft. Here I am with $80 in fees. Not bank error I'm told. Can't do anything for you I'm told. Mind you I have never overdrawn my account with them previously. Mind you, I wouldn't have withdrawn this money in the first place if I wasn't advised of this in the first place. Bank error is kind of a general term, is it not? I was told I could take my balance, minus the pending the transactions, and my account would be closed for me the next day. We did not go over a list of my transactions or discuss what cleared or didn't clear. I wasn't in front of a computer looking at my account. I took their word for it. Shame on me. They can't do anything for me? More like they won't. I feel like if I wasn't closing my account, they might treat this differently. They made $1000 on me in the previous 7 months, now any good will they might have built with me is being thrown away over $80. Any chance of me ever applying for another loan with them just went right out the window. Potential $1000's in interest lost over $80. Seems like bad banking to me.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Feb 11th 2014

Hi Adam,

We're happy to be able to have helped. If you ever want to reach out to us again in the future, we're here for you on Facebook & Twitter as well. http://bit.ly/WBSocial

Thanks,

Dawn M.

Doesntmatter's Profile Image

Reviewed by Doesntmatter

Feb 6th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

I feel robbed

I was charged 10 overdraft fees in less than a week. This is a weeks pay for me just completely gone. I had money in my account each time they charged me a $37 overdraft fee also. The only reason my account is negative right now is because of the $370 in fees I was charged. Ive tried speaking to numerous employees in customer service and at my local rocky hill ct branch and they were all useless and rude. Half of them didn't know why I had been charged so many times then the specialist starts talking in circles. I've never been more dissapointed in a banking experience. These people are criminals. Thank you webster, now I can't payt rent since you don't know how to control the system. Customers are obviously not your top priority.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

bankgirl's Profile Image

Reviewed by bankgirl

Jan 31st 2014

2 out of 5 marks

unprofessional and rude

This is in regards to the Westport Avenue Norwalk Branch:

I would like to say that I am not good with "numbers" person, so when I have my money in a bank and I have a question about one of my accounts, I would expect some assistance. Well one person (name starting with "F") in customer service, was getting annoyed with me because I couldn't understand the math and asking a lot of questions on this account and he told me "I have enough on my plate" and hung up on me.

The second incident was when I went into bank to make a deposit and the teller offered me a credit card from Webster. The woman standing next to her (name starting with "K"), gave her a look. She then told teller that she has known me for a while (which she does) and that it would not benefit me to have a credit card because I have had issues in the past with debt problems.

This was totally unprofessional and not her place at all to say that to her or anyone else. It is no one's business.

She could have taken me in her office and told me that. It sickened me.

As soon as I get my paperwork in order, I am switching banks.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Feb 6th 2014

Hello,

We have sent your review to the banking center manager and market manager and asked that they reach out to you to discuss your experience. The banking center manager wants to apologize if she personally offended you in any way.

dianeowens's Profile Image

Reviewed by dianeowens

Jan 25th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

over draft charges- charged for checks when there was enough money in acct.

don't want to post details on website but I am closing all my accts.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Jan 27th 2014

Hi Diane,

We saw your review and wanted to hear what happened and offer some help. If you'd like for us to give you a call, please email us the best phone number to reach you to socialmedia@websterbank.com. Thanks so much, Dawn M.

dianeowens's Profile Image

Responded by dianeowens

Jan 28th 2014

I encourage you to call me at 860-836-6471 M - F between 11-12 or M-T between 1-2 Friday between 1 and 1:30

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Jan 28th 2014

Thanks Diane. I am arranging to have someone give you a call to discuss. Thanks for replying back. ^Dawn M.

dianeowens's Profile Image

Responded by dianeowens

Jan 28th 2014

Please let me know who will be calling me and where they are from prior to them calling me.

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Jan 29th 2014

Hi Diane,

I set up a call with Tricia Bolduc, who is from Office of the President, based in CT. Thanks, Dawn M.

MauriceVolaski's Profile Image

Reviewed by MauriceVolaski

Jan 14th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

ignored a rogue employee

The particular branch in question once had a rogue employee on his own create an account in my name. Weirdly, he put a $1,000 (from an unknown source) into the account. I spent it without even knowing it was not mine. However, the account came with overdraft protection and a line of credit and ultimately the bank began charging me and even reporting me to the credit bureaus. They refused to acknowledge what happened or correct what they did.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Consumer711's Profile Image

Reviewed by Consumer711

Dec 18th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Awful

I was referred to Webster by a friend who highly regarded Webster bank. When I set up my 3 accounts I found them to be very nice and welcoming. A few months later I made the mistake of depositing money into the wrong account. As soon as realized my mistake I went in and attempted to resolve the issue of them charging me $5.00 per day fees up until that point. If I had known I would've been charged $5.00 for a simple mistake I would have never banked there. Not only did they decide to close that particular account, they then closed the other 2 active accounts, both of which where in good standing. When I tried to explain what had happened they were unwilling to help. Looks like lots of hidden fees at this bank. Save yourself the headaches and shop around for an honest and upfront bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Dec 20th 2013

Amy, we are sorry to hear you had a bad experience and we do value you as a customer. Per policy, we do have timeframes we need to abide by and we apologize if you did not receive the notifications we send out in regards to your account falling negative. We would be happy to help you in the future, or talk about any concerns you may still have. Feel free to email us at socialmedia@websterbank.com. Thanks, Dawn

Carrie's Profile Image

Reviewed by Carrie

Dec 8th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

I have many bad experience with Webster

Since I applied a mortgage with Webster, I have been using this bank. I think the only one thing they helped me was giving me a mortgage. Their service level is Very low. I cannot stand this. Before I applied the mortgage, we discussed the fee. However, the paperwork the banker provided was not he promised. We figured it out on the closing day. The seller did not want to set up closing another day again. The banker did not attend the meeting, so I called him many times. He did not pick up the phone. The worst thing is he did not explain well even after the closing day. I feel people working in this bank do not care about client.

When I go to the branch close to my home to deposit, they ask me to use ATM in most of cases, even though nobody waiting for.

Today, I figured out that they made me a loan which I did not ask for. I do not know why I always have problems with this bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jg1117's Profile Image

Reviewed by jg1117

Nov 14th 2013

2 out of 5 marks

Stonewalled In Customer Service

I process credit cards for merchants and received declines on swiped cards with a response from webster that there was a problem with the cvv2. Keyed-in transactions worked fine. All other institutions worked with swiped so I figured webster must have some additional requirement or formatting for their magnetic track data. I called webster to find out who to talk to in order to get further clarification. After 2 transfers i talked to their merchant service department where i ran into a brick wall named belinda. She couldn't give me another department, she couldn't help me, and said i had to get a webster cardholder to call in about the decline. They were fine because the keyed-in transactions work so why would they care to call? I have a formatting or validation issue that i need to talk to a tech guy about, but i'm shut out of reaching anyone until i have a cardholder agree to be the guinea pig to investigate a problem that they don't care about. I don't understand this thinking. Doesn't webster realize that if there's an issue that their customers will be denied services from merchants and if it happens enough webster will lose customers as they go to other banks that don't have this problem? Just disappointed that webster wouldn't even point me to the right department. If your card is declined when swiped make sure you ask to have it keyed in to ensure you're able to get it to go through (if you can talk a merchant into doing it since they will be incurring twice the authorization fees for one swipe attempt and another keyed attempt).

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Nov 25th 2013

Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention and for the additional information that you provided to us regarding this situation when we spoke. We are researching this issue and we hope to get this resolved soon. Feel free to reach out to Maria to touch base. Thanks, Dawn

nothappy1214's Profile Image

Reviewed by nothappy1214

Oct 18th 2013

2 out of 5 marks

Awful

I've been with Webster bank for about 8 years now. Three months ago I started treatment for breast cancer, between surgeries and treatment it been hard to keep everything in order. I have over $1000.00 I have paid in NSF fees. I've tried calling customer service and got no where. They are not there to help the people that need it the most. Once I can I will be changing banks!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Nov 14th 2013

We are very sorry to hear about your situation. We certainly appreciate your loyalty to us. We have tried to get in contact with you and you with us, but with no success. We hope that with what we were able to do for you assisted you where it was satisfactory to you. Please feel free to contact us via phone or through socialmedia@WebsterBank.com with a phone number and a time that is good for you for us to speak with you.

BobK's Profile Image

Reviewed by BobK

Oct 10th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

The worst banking and computer banking service I have seen in years!

The worst computer banking service I have seen in years you cannot do a simple thing like set up weekly payments on a certain day of the week everything must be setup by date so if you want to pay your bills every Friday it is not possible you have to go into your online account and change every bill every month, I spoke to three different people in the online billing department and received three totally different answers to my problem and was spoke down to every time, I also went to my local branch and a very nice young man working there told me that nobody in a branch could help because people in branch's have no idea of how the system works all they could do is to call the same number I did and ask the same questions of the same people I called and spoke to. Basically Webster Bank and its employees have no idea of how their system works.

Webster's charges and balance are inaccurate they seem to be posted at random and you never know your balance, the dates are wrong and sometimes don't show the charges until weeks later also sometimes shows money available in your balance which should be shown as not available because your online payments have been sent out but the money in your account is not tagged as not available. This is so they can get more money from you for their late and over draft charges.

I would not recommend this bank to anybody, there are far too many other banks that want your business have up to date computer systems that will do what you want to be done as a customer and with treat you the way a customer should be treated.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Nov 14th 2013

We are sorry that you are having issues with banking and our online banking. There are a few things we would like to discuss with you. Please email us your name and phone number to: socialmedia@WebsterBank.com and the best time to reach you. We look forward to speaking with you.

Guy's Profile Image

Reviewed by Guy

Oct 8th 2013

5 out of 5 marks

Very good

I have the best experience with Webster bank Yonkers Branch, Manager Anna and Ast. Manager Dayna are the best

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Oct 9th 2013

Thank you for the great review. We sent your comments to Anna & Dayna and they said to say thank you and next time you're in to say hello.

Guy's Profile Image

Responded by Guy

Oct 9th 2013

I went to open a new account at Webster, as it was a requirement for my mortgage loan, that is how I met Anna & Dayna, due to the excellent level of customer service they provided me, I am switching all my business and personal accounts from Bank of America & HSBC to Webster Bank, I have been with Bank of America 11 years and HSBC 13 years, but Webster Bank Yonkers branch is the best banking center I have ever come across, I have bank accounts in 3 continents, so trust me on this if you have a banking need call Anna Bruno or Dayna Bouvier at Yokers branch, they will get the job done!.

JessicaGiordanoFed's Profile Image

Reviewed by JessicaGiordanoFed

Aug 8th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Taking Advantage Of A Valued, Long-Term Customer With Their Fees

I have had my personal checking/savings accounts with webster bank for over 15 years now. I have always praised webster bank even when other people put them down. Not anymore! I recently opened up a second checking account that they charge $10. 95/month for if you don't use your card 10x a month (which i was not aware of - i'm sure they told me but it must've slipped my mind). Anyway, because they were charging me this $10. 95 fee every month, it made my account go nsf and they decided to charge me $5/day in overdraft fees. It ended up costing me $80 in these ridiculous overdraft fees. I was recently laid off after working in the insurance industry for 8 years. I have a college degree and i had a great job. I have been struggling to find a job - applying to about 5 different places every day. On top of that, my husband and i are expecting our first child in a few months. Do you think webster bank cares that they are causing me this stress while i am pregnant and unemployed? Nope! They waived 4 of the fees totaling $20. So here i am still stuck with $60 in fees on top of the $10. 95 i was charged every month. You'd think they would make an exception for a long time customer going through a difficult time. But they obviously don't care. They apparently are so broke that they would rather lose me as a customer than refund my money. I will be closing my accounts tomorrow.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

alan_0101_2003yaho's Profile Image

Reviewed by alan_0101_2003yaho

Jul 29th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Bank in the entire world

My girlfriend has both personal and business accounts at this bank and after having a motorcycle accident tries to deposit the insurance check in her account that was made out to her and the repair shop that was doing some of the repairs..she as well as the owner of the shop endorsed the check and proof was provided as to the shop owners name via BBB and the bank would not let the check be deposited..needless to say she is closing all of her accounts with this bank and has decided to go elsewhere for her refi. Do not bank here! Use Wachovia I deposited my insurance check in my account there without 1 little problem.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Saffo's Profile Image

Reviewed by Saffo

Jul 24th 2013

2 out of 5 marks

Deceptive withdrawal and fees practice - Stay away!

We used to love Webster Bank and used to tell other people that they are a good bank. Well not anymore! Our bank account has always been in good standing until a few months ago. We now have $629 in overdraft fees and we are leaving Webster. It's disgusting. The website pending charges and balance are inaccurate, the dates are wrong, and sometimes don't show the charges, so while you think your account has money, you make purchases and then they charge you fees. I had one charge show pending with a date of 6/27 (the day I was looking at the account) and somehow overdrafted the previous Monday 6/24. I also have screen shots that show my account is in good standing on Wednesday at 1am, but then Wednesday at 12pm shows a check being withdrawn on the previous Tuesday and overdrafting the account. In addition to that, there are overdraft fees where my statement clearly shows I have a positive balance. I have called customer service and was treated extremely rudely, again when my statement clearly showed a positive balance on the transaction that supposedly overdrafted my account. The woman told me I must keep track of what money I have, but I cannot trust the pending transactions and balance I see online. This is a very deceptive and shady policy. We used to tout Webster being a wonderful caring bank. But this is ridiculous. We will be taking our business elsewhere.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Jul 25th 2013

Hi Saffo,

We value your business and know bank policies can be confusing. We would love to speak with you and help you navigate the system to your advantage. If you can send us an email at socialmedia@websterbank.com with the best phone number to reach you at, we will give you a call to help.

We recently upgraded our website which may also help you. You do need to switch to this version to take advantage of the new features, which you can read about on our blog here: http://bit.ly/YIJkcv

We also wrote a blog post about the different options you have to avoid overdraft fees here: http://bit.ly/ODchoice

Thanks,

Dawn

justdege's Profile Image

Reviewed by justdege

Jul 23rd 2013

2 out of 5 marks

Run and take your business elsewhere. run

My husband and I began working with Webster bank for a while now, first we had the account which by the way they are behind in mobile services. we began working with a guy out of Greenwich office with our loan application and that was when our credit was not up to part, for 1 yr we cleaned our credit and after practically begging him he looked at our credit and allowed us to apply for the mortgage. this bank may be a small bank but staff are not knowledgeable about every types of loan for mortgage, they don't return calls asap. to make this to a short story. communication is horrible and my husband and I been in contract with our dream home since May and as of today all we hear is "it's under review"out of the Cheshire,CT office thus far we lost close to $3000 so the seller can extend the contract for the 3rd time and no one at Webster seem to care..we had to move from our apartment to my landlord attic studio apartment in the heat with 2 small children and again no one at Webster care..we are living out of boxes and our belongings are in garage and again no one care I wish we never had faith in Webster bank. we submitted every paper work at a very fast pace and again we still waiting. the seller told us if we don't have the loan commitment by 8/2 they walking away and again. No one cares, run away, I don't recommend anyone applying for mortgage with this bank. they make me feel I committed a crime trying to own. Run! No one care.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

TinaNunya's Profile Image

Reviewed by TinaNunya

May 30th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Vampires!

We have been banking with webster for many years. Each year more frustrating than the last. They are monstrous when it comes to fees. They send all these emails sounding trumpets and throwing parades when they make policy changes that benefit their customer then roll them back with only a whisper. They scramble up debits and credits so that you never really know what's in your acct and incur nsf fees. They used to say that they wouldn't charge more than 5 nsf fees in a day (at $37/pop) but they changed that to 7. Recently we made 5 purchases not realizing that we were low on funds. That resulted in $410 in fees. When we showed webster their own bank records and showed them that only 5 actually had nsf, they, unsurprisingly, and after a 4 day wait, told us that they weren't reversing any of the charges. We're done. We are leaving this lecherous bank. They are vampires. I went back and calculated how many nsf fees we've paid just this year so far (and it's only may!) and it's totaled $1,904! I could have gone on vacation with the money they've taken from us due to their 1990's banking procedures that never shows us what we actually have in our acct until it's too late. We are in the process of moving the little money we do have to another bank (who, by the way, only charges one $9 overdraft fee per day) and we will be going in to close our account next week. Enough is enough. Let them bleed some other poor person dry.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

dann's Profile Image

Reviewed by dann

May 14th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Would not give $500 military credit at closing

I worked on a refi for my in-laws in December 2012-February 2013. It not only took forever to close, but we kept getting more paperwork to sign after the closing. The worst part is that the rep, Kimberly Lynch, just happened to "forget" to tell us that military (active or retired) get $500 back at loan closing. I found out a week or so after the closing while looking at Webster's website for an answer to a question I had. When I asked her about that, she said she simply forgot to ask during the assessment since she was talking with me and not them and that they won't make good on the money back! Oh, OK-no problem. The bank withheld $500 from a couple of seniors, one of which is going through cancer treatment-no problem that you didn't do your job! BIG thanks for serving our country! Now the loan was sold to Fannie Mae a week before the first payment was to begin. Webster Bank is not to be trusted.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

CapeCodders's Profile Image

Reviewed by CapeCodders

Apr 28th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible. Stressful. Abusive. Debilitating. Consider carefully before taking out a mortgage.

There are two sides to every story - and often these reviews are just a one-sided angry account of a customer who was mistreated. Well, this is one of those reviews, but the damage done is more than on instance of bad customer service or erroneous ATM/check fees. We live with horrible stress- 26 years into a 30 yr mortgage- as this bank continuously threatens to take our home. They have taken an account where we were one month behind 6 years ago added 130% of the allowed late fee for one month - forced forbearance during the worst recession in generations -subjected us to collections despite us honoring their own legal document with on-time payments. While they took TARP money. They filed public notices of foreclosure when we complained out loud ..And for 5 years have been continuing the threat with incremental steps involving more embarrassing legal postings- statements of court action - all while receiving monthly payments and applying them who-knows-where.

We have no statements or records of payments , received no response to multiple modification applications as required by statute.

Even if it all seems illegal (we hear about foreclosure protection) if you live in MA, beware, despite the fact that Fed laws are changing, consumer protection is not found in our AG's office with this bank. Webster is a NA/charted bank, regulated by a Fed agency that does not protect the consumer but is an advocate for the bank.

This bank likes to bill itself as a community bank whose roots are in some sort of commitment to service established by the current CEO's father, the bank's founder Harold Smith. They boast of roots in helping people during "the depression" their motto is, "We find a Way" - sounds good, but remember, they're responsible to their investors first. Even 26 years into a 30 year mortgage, profit is profit and when there is more to be made by foreclosure. You have to consider the investors. "We'll find a way to help you move out of your home."

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

stephendew93's Profile Image

Reviewed by stephendew93

Apr 14th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Worst bank imaginable.

They treat you with utter contempt. I bought gas on a Thursday and it wasn't a pending transaction or posted until Tuesday. I had made 6 other small purchases during this time which were pending and posted by this day. But then after they posted my gas station expense, they racked up overdraft charges on the small 6 transactions and I will now owe over $200 to the bank. Because of this, I can't go to university to finish off my semester which means I have to withdraw from all my classes and work to pay off the fees. I've tried calling Webster and writing emails. I'm belittled by them and sometimes I don't get replies. Once I pay it off I will be switching banks. This bank has caused too much emotional stress on me and I don't need it. They can honestly go screw themselves. They don't treat customers fairly and they don't care what problems you have. They only care about their bottom line. They always sell you credit cards when you don't need them. Worst bank ever. They don't want to help you.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Apr 17th 2013

Hi Stephen,

We saw your review and sent it to our managers, who just left a voice mail on your phone to discuss. We're sorry to hear about your experience.

You may want to look into getting a student checking account, which is a fairly new account. Here's some info about it online: https://www.websteronline.com/personal/products-services/checking-services/webster-student-checking.html

We also added your comments into our voice of the customer program.

Nodine's Profile Image

Reviewed by Nodine

Apr 12th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Tired of having my money stolen

I am finally going to close out my account. This bank, even after the class action lawsuit continues to stack incoming debits. The most recent occurrence for our account started out with a debit actually clearing (according to the online statement) showing a balance left in our account. The very next transaction came in and was "pending" showing us that when it cleared it would put our account negative by $1.32. We get notified via text about our balance) & immediately went to the bank to put cash in through the ATM (the one that actually counts the cash as it goes in). That amount remained "pending" for the next two days. We then put in a deposit of cash to cover our bills, which remained "pending". When I looked at my online banking a day later I now see the debit that had shown cleared with no negative balance was now presented as having NSF with a $37 chg; the next check for which we scurried to the bank to "cover" another $37. When I called the bank about I was told this is my fault that I should keep an eye on my check register! I did get an admittance that what we see online DOES NOT reflect what other transactions are in the background as "pending". It didn't stop there, I kept watching my account-each transaction as it was "cleared", I knew what was coming in against my account and would have had a decent amount left after all was paid - even with the $74 they took from my account and refused to return to me. Then three things (of lower amounts) that were cleared suddenly had 3 more chgs of $37 each against them. Why? Webster Bank put in a larger charge in front of them 3 days after they cleared. $185 in overdraft fees starting from one charge that should not have happened created a complete domino effect in our account. If it's my fault I don't dispute the fees - this was not my fault. The average person would be arrested for committing such a crime. Don't do business with this this bank!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Apr 17th 2013

Hi Nodine,

We've sent your review to our customer service team and asked that someone reach out and give you a call to discuss. We can't post any of your sensitive financial information online, but do have options that can help you avoid these types of situations that we will talk with you about over the phone. We will also record your comments with our Voice of the Customer program so your comments are heard.

TinaNunya's Profile Image

Reviewed by TinaNunya

Feb 5th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Vampires!

We have been banking with Webster for many years. Each year more frustrating than the last. They are MONSTROUS when it comes to fees. They send all these emails sounding trumpets and throwing parades when they make policy changes that benefit their customer then roll them back with only a whisper.

They scramble up debits and credits so that you never really know what's in your acct and incur NSF fees. They used to say that they wouldn't charge more than 5 NSF fees in a day (at $37/pop) but they changed that to 7.

Recently we made 5 small purchases (totaling $116) not realizing that we were low on funds. That resulted in $410 in fees. When we showed Webster their OWN bank records and showed them that only 5 actually had NSF, they, unsurprisingly, and after a 4 day wait, told us that they weren't reversing any of the charges.

We're done. We are leaving this lecherous bank. They are vampires. I went back and calculated how many NSF fees we've paid JUST THIS YEAR SO FAR (and it's only May!) and it's totalled $1,904!!!

I could've gone on vacation with the money they've taken from us due to their 1990s banking procedures that never shows us what we ACTUALLY have in our acct until it's too late.

We are in the process of moving the little money we do have to another bank (who, by the way, only charges ONE $9 overdraft fee per day) and we will be going in to close our account next week.

Enough is enough. Let them bleed some other poor person dry.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Feb 7th 2013

Hi Tina,

We sent your message to our service team, and they were unable to locate your account from the name/email on this site. We would love to speak with you to rectify this situation. If you could please give us a call at 800.995.9995, we'll be happy to help.

Post a review