B MyBankTracker Rating

Webster Bank Customer Reviews

(55 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 3
4 Star 0
3 Star 0
2 Star 2
1 Star 50

The Most Helpful Webster Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By tink9697 Jun 25, 2015

very helpful!!!!!

I needed help with a situation, lakeysha was very helpful and efficient.Best service is at this branch on highland avenue waterbury.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Marzena Farfan Jul 21, 2015

Horrible!!!!!!

Don't let them touch your money! Very shady and unethical practices. Holding transactions, rearanging transactions to cause overdrafts, and allowing transactions to go throgh while the acct is already negative. I am completly discusted and frustrated!!!! ON the verge of a nervous break down my acct is negative 600 because my acct was charged 15 $37 fees for a one check that was presented agains insuficient balance that should have been returned. What happened to doing the right thing for the customer, what about integrity!!!!! This bank has no values. I have now worked for a week for free and have not ability to pay bills and buy groceries. The bank manager can't even show me in their policy why the check got paid when it should have been returned. (they have returned checks before) They cleared the check before all other small charges,( like 2.95 coffees0 arranging them larges to smallest to maximize the amount of charges. They even charged me nsf fees for PIN card purchases. I have reached out to the branch manager who is now avoiding me and not returning my call. I will seek legal advice, someone needs to stop them from ruining other peoples lives.

Is this review helpful?

Latest Webster Bank Reviews

  • S
    Reviewed By sabina Jan 13, 2016

    horrible

    I completely not recommended .If you have account already chek the every stetmet. In September 2015 lot of webster bank account was hacked . I still don't get my money back and my friends also.

    Is this review helpful?
  • V
    Reviewed By VictimofWB Dec 18, 2015

    Fees and more Fees - yet no customer service

    We were forced into this bank as my company set up an HSA through their HSABank devision. I have been banking since I was 7 years old and never paid a fee for a bank to have my money. HSA/Webster wants a fee to send you statements and a fee for every month that you have less than a certain amount of funds in your HSA (keep in mind the contributions to HSA are government limited, with Webster increasing the minimum every few years it is difficult to keep out of the fee area if you ever use your HSA). In addition to a predatory fee schedule, they keep reducing the avenues to keep track of them. No more paper statement (without fee), no more direct access using Quicken, then recently stopped offering even the ability to download account activity in a Quicken format.

    In addition to all that, I recently called them to work out some "oddities" and after suffering through their phone system was connect to a person who was either trying to screw with me or is in fact one of the stupidest people walking the plant.

    All I can really say is that if must use this bank (like our company HSA) you have my sympathy. If you actually want to use this bank, then you would probably be better off paying someone a fee to hit you in the head with a baseball bat.

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By joee47 Nov 17, 2015

    Webster Bank Used to have good customer service

    Now, Customer Service is less than poor.
    First, to get through the phone prompt system you need a math degree.
    Secondly, when you finally do, the person can't help and tries to blow you off.
    Asking to speak with a manager in another adventure. took over 30 minutes before someone actually came on the line
    This bank is now a joke, at least the corporate side is.

    Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By Teenie28 Nov 16, 2015

    Worst bank ever!!!

    I need help with a large debit transaction that was taken from my checking acct twice. They gave me the run around, telling me that I would have to take it up with the merchant. I'm the customer who is out a large chunk of change and they are refusing to refund my noney and they expect me to deal with getting it back from the retailer. They were no help at all!! I am going to close all of my accounts there.

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jconlaw Sep 30, 2015

    transaction from Hell

    My application started an a good note. The woman was helpful and informative. Then they gave me to a "branch Liaison" in Cheshire CT. I'll call her EH (not her name). With an 845 credit rating and property worth $350,000 and a mortgage from their bank with a $9,000 balance I tought a $60 K loan would be a breeze. They put me through more hoops than I could have imagined, did not return calls, and sent curt mesages by email. I would not recommend this bank to anyone. Go to your local credit union and talk to a real loan officer.
    JJC

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By sdeveney Aug 10, 2015

    Rude, unprofessional, bad business judgment

    If you are looking for a bank that will not allow even business customers to speak with any of its employees until you enter a ton of "Identifying information" into your "touch tone phone"...and once you are connected, be treated with disrespect by a rude, unprofessional employee, Webster Bank will provide you with all the rudeness and disrespect you'll ever need. If you are looking to completely waste time in your business day correcting bad judgment on a loooong telephone call...repeating your issue, which involves the bank's incompetence, over and over to several people you are transferred to, Webster Bank will happily waste your entire business day. For a truly exceptional customer DISservice experience, ask to speak with Damian at Webster Bank - he personifies rudeness and customer disrespect. He'll let you know that if you don't "cooperate" with him, he will hang up on you.

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By Marzena Farfan Jul 21, 2015

    Horrible!!!!!!

    Don't let them touch your money! Very shady and unethical practices. Holding transactions, rearanging transactions to cause overdrafts, and allowing transactions to go throgh while the acct is already negative. I am completly discusted and frustrated!!!! ON the verge of a nervous break down my acct is negative 600 because my acct was charged 15 $37 fees for a one check that was presented agains insuficient balance that should have been returned. What happened to doing the right thing for the customer, what about integrity!!!!! This bank has no values. I have now worked for a week for free and have not ability to pay bills and buy groceries. The bank manager can't even show me in their policy why the check got paid when it should have been returned. (they have returned checks before) They cleared the check before all other small charges,( like 2.95 coffees0 arranging them larges to smallest to maximize the amount of charges. They even charged me nsf fees for PIN card purchases. I have reached out to the branch manager who is now avoiding me and not returning my call. I will seek legal advice, someone needs to stop them from ruining other peoples lives.

    Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By tink9697 Jun 25, 2015

    very helpful!!!!!

    I needed help with a situation, lakeysha was very helpful and efficient.Best service is at this branch on highland avenue waterbury.

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By joshtdun Jun 24, 2015

    Chase Bank Here I Come

    Stay away!!! At all costs!!! Do not open a webster account or do any business with them!! I would rather return to bank of america than to deal with webster. - limited atm access if not at all in other states. In these cases they still charge an out of network fee even if the closest branch / atm is a 100+ miles away. They will not issue a refund for the fee either. -they have extremely limited customer service hours and often make up their own. Nothing's better than getting locked out of an atm on the night before a big snowstorm only to find out that customer service closed early. Called in the next day and they were still not open as they would be opening later in the day. No access to cash during an emergency weather situation is unacceptable. Much less not able to reach a customer service agent. -used their bill pay for the longest time only to find out the unless this was an eft a check would take close to 2 weeks after the due date due date to arrive in the mail. How is this an acceptable business practice? I can provide around a 4 month period of when i had a scheduled payment only to have to prove to the recipients that yes a check was sent and they should have received it. Stopped using this service after all the headaches it was causing

    -deposited a check from fidelity (an institution much much larger than them) checked my balance the next business day (as i have never had to wait more than 1 business day for much larger checks to clear at webster issued from other banks). Called into customer service "this was because it was out of region" and would take 2 days. Nothing beats being unemployed and having to pay rent or buy food only to find out you can't. The first rep i spoke with was wonderful when transferred to the level above a customer service specialist. I had to deal with an exceptionally rude rep with an attitude that i would never expect from a company that prides itself on exceptional customer service.

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Scottish1 Jun 23, 2015

    Deceptive

    Webster bank has a horrible online banking system that is conveniently a day behind to trick you into over drafting. It may say that you have money in the account at that particular time even though a check has been presented against your account and on their system it has taken the money out, it still shows the money in YOUR account. They told me that it takes a while for it to show on your online banking account. Really? Didn't know computers took that long to talk to each other. Takes a day for your online banking to show your true account balance. My TD and BOA accounts all show real time balances and take pending payments out of your available balance. I am sure this will be my 3rd class action lawsuit I'm involved in with Webster bank and their deceptive practices.

    Oh and customer service is just like every bank. Anyone that thinks they do anything better than any other corporate bank must have a relative that works there. The fake hello from clear across the bank when you walk in by someone who is not even looking at you. There are good and bad tellers just like there are happy and miserable people. Their fees are some of the highest I have ever seen. Oh and want to write your kid a check for an Xmas gift? Well if it is a Webster check and they go to Webster to cash it and they do not have a Webster check they will charge them to do so. Not sure if it is $5 or $7. So really Webster is charging you and the person you write a check to a LARGE FEE. They changed my checking account titles "totally free checking" to something else and started charging both my accounts. They charge for everything I have seen a bank charge for. This bank is at the top of the lists of why not to bank at a bank. Go to a credit union. Better rates and less fees.

    Anyone who gives this bank a good review has no clue what a good bank is.

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.