B MyBankTracker Rating

Webster Bank Customer Reviews

(58 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 3
4 Star 0
3 Star 0
2 Star 2
1 Star 53

The Most Helpful Webster Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By tink9697 Jun 25, 2015

very helpful!!!!!

I needed help with a situation, lakeysha was very helpful and efficient.Best service is at this branch on highland avenue waterbury.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Marzena Farfan Jul 21, 2015

Horrible!!!!!!

Don't let them touch your money! Very shady and unethical practices. Holding transactions, rearanging transactions to cause overdrafts, and allowing transactions to go throgh while the acct is already negative. I am completly discusted and frustrated!!!! ON the verge of a nervous break down my acct is negative 600 because my acct was charged 15 $37 fees for a one check that was presented agains insuficient balance that should have been returned. What happened to doing the right thing for the customer, what about integrity!!!!! This bank has no values. I have now worked for a week for free and have not ability to pay bills and buy groceries. The bank manager can't even show me in their policy why the check got paid when it should have been returned. (they have returned checks before) They cleared the check before all other small charges,( like 2.95 coffees0 arranging them larges to smallest to maximize the amount of charges. They even charged me nsf fees for PIN card purchases. I have reached out to the branch manager who is now avoiding me and not returning my call. I will seek legal advice, someone needs to stop them from ruining other peoples lives.

Is this review helpful?

Latest Webster Bank Reviews

  • P
    Reviewed By paulaf Mar 23, 2016

    Horrible Customer Service

    HSA bank acquired my health savings account from Chase. Trying to set up online banking with HSA has been nothing short of a nightmare. Their website doesn't function properly and it is impossible to reach a HSA representative by telephone or email. I will be transferring my account to another bank.

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By Janicempa Mar 14, 2016

    Worst Lender Ever!

    The only account I have with this so-called bank is a 2nd mortgage that I had to take out in order to purchase my townhouse. The 1st mortgage is with CitiBank, which I recommend.

    A few years into this dysfunctional relationship Webster decided that my townhouse association management company did not carry sufficient hazard insurance and took out a policy on my behalf. According to Citibank, it's fine. According to the association management company and many, many neighbors who have various lenders, no on else in the area has this problem. Initially I talked to a customer service rep who told me she would take care of it and to only pay the mortgage amount. A few weeks after following her instructions, I received a robocall from Webster telling me that my loan payment was late. I called and was told the payment was held because it was not the correct amount. I explained the situation and was told not to worry, it would be taken care of. The robocalls continued and they tagged me as delinquent and reported it to the credit agencies. I called again and talked to someone who told me she was embarrassed by her employer and that this was not the first time this has happened. I paid the balance (she waived the late fee) but the credit reports still have me as a late payer for that time period. I've been paying this stupid hazard insurance for years.

    I refinanced my first loan with Citibank three years ago and almost lost the rate because Webster would not respond to Citibank and would not provide information needed. The Citibank rep asked me if I could get through to someone there and I just laughed. Eventually Citbank got what they needed (cost me a few hundred dollars to get it from Webster). Webster then had the nerve to send me a Webster credit card! Citibank jumped all over me for having a new credit card and I promised the rep that I shredded it into little pieces. The refinance only happened because of Citibank.

    I have been trying for years to get someone with authority from Webster to respond to my emails and phone calls regarding the hazard insurance, late payment report and refinancing the ridiculously high interest rate. (The house is upside down right now so CitiBank can't take it on.) I have not received the courtesy of an email or return call.

    This is a horrible bank and I will be reporting it to all the appropriate parties. Please, for your own sake, do not get involved with Webster. It's horrible. No bank/lender is perfect, but this one has NO redeeming qualities.

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By davelounder Feb 9, 2016

    Welcome To FEEble!

    Fees, fees, and more fees. I'm closing my accounts and NEVER going back. Go to Webster, get feed to death, and then try to feed your family to prevent them STARVING to death. Small bank with big bank-mentality. What goes around, baby ........

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By sabina Jan 13, 2016

    horrible

    I completely not recommended .If you have account already chek the every stetmet. In September 2015 lot of webster bank account was hacked . I still don't get my money back and my friends also.

    Is this review helpful?
  • V
    Reviewed By VictimofWB Dec 18, 2015

    Fees and more Fees - yet no customer service

    We were forced into this bank as my company set up an HSA through their HSABank devision. I have been banking since I was 7 years old and never paid a fee for a bank to have my money. HSA/Webster wants a fee to send you statements and a fee for every month that you have less than a certain amount of funds in your HSA (keep in mind the contributions to HSA are government limited, with Webster increasing the minimum every few years it is difficult to keep out of the fee area if you ever use your HSA). In addition to a predatory fee schedule, they keep reducing the avenues to keep track of them. No more paper statement (without fee), no more direct access using Quicken, then recently stopped offering even the ability to download account activity in a Quicken format.

    In addition to all that, I recently called them to work out some "oddities" and after suffering through their phone system was connect to a person who was either trying to screw with me or is in fact one of the stupidest people walking the plant.

    All I can really say is that if must use this bank (like our company HSA) you have my sympathy. If you actually want to use this bank, then you would probably be better off paying someone a fee to hit you in the head with a baseball bat.

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By joee47 Nov 17, 2015

    Webster Bank Used to have good customer service

    Now, Customer Service is less than poor.
    First, to get through the phone prompt system you need a math degree.
    Secondly, when you finally do, the person can't help and tries to blow you off.
    Asking to speak with a manager in another adventure. took over 30 minutes before someone actually came on the line
    This bank is now a joke, at least the corporate side is.

    Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By Teenie28 Nov 16, 2015

    Worst bank ever!!!

    I need help with a large debit transaction that was taken from my checking acct twice. They gave me the run around, telling me that I would have to take it up with the merchant. I'm the customer who is out a large chunk of change and they are refusing to refund my noney and they expect me to deal with getting it back from the retailer. They were no help at all!! I am going to close all of my accounts there.

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jconlaw Sep 30, 2015

    transaction from Hell

    My application started an a good note. The woman was helpful and informative. Then they gave me to a "branch Liaison" in Cheshire CT. I'll call her EH (not her name). With an 845 credit rating and property worth $350,000 and a mortgage from their bank with a $9,000 balance I tought a $60 K loan would be a breeze. They put me through more hoops than I could have imagined, did not return calls, and sent curt mesages by email. I would not recommend this bank to anyone. Go to your local credit union and talk to a real loan officer.
    JJC

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By sdeveney Aug 10, 2015

    Rude, unprofessional, bad business judgment

    If you are looking for a bank that will not allow even business customers to speak with any of its employees until you enter a ton of "Identifying information" into your "touch tone phone"...and once you are connected, be treated with disrespect by a rude, unprofessional employee, Webster Bank will provide you with all the rudeness and disrespect you'll ever need. If you are looking to completely waste time in your business day correcting bad judgment on a loooong telephone call...repeating your issue, which involves the bank's incompetence, over and over to several people you are transferred to, Webster Bank will happily waste your entire business day. For a truly exceptional customer DISservice experience, ask to speak with Damian at Webster Bank - he personifies rudeness and customer disrespect. He'll let you know that if you don't "cooperate" with him, he will hang up on you.

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By Marzena Farfan Jul 21, 2015

    Horrible!!!!!!

    Don't let them touch your money! Very shady and unethical practices. Holding transactions, rearanging transactions to cause overdrafts, and allowing transactions to go throgh while the acct is already negative. I am completly discusted and frustrated!!!! ON the verge of a nervous break down my acct is negative 600 because my acct was charged 15 $37 fees for a one check that was presented agains insuficient balance that should have been returned. What happened to doing the right thing for the customer, what about integrity!!!!! This bank has no values. I have now worked for a week for free and have not ability to pay bills and buy groceries. The bank manager can't even show me in their policy why the check got paid when it should have been returned. (they have returned checks before) They cleared the check before all other small charges,( like 2.95 coffees0 arranging them larges to smallest to maximize the amount of charges. They even charged me nsf fees for PIN card purchases. I have reached out to the branch manager who is now avoiding me and not returning my call. I will seek legal advice, someone needs to stop them from ruining other peoples lives.

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.