Overall Rating

MyBankTracker Grade

C
Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Number of Locations
Mobile Banking

Featured Rates

168
Branch Locations

Webster Bank Location Map
We found branches close to you.

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank Reviews
CIT Bank
Add
Bank Reviews
Signature Bank
Add
Bank News
TCF Bank
Add
Compare Banks

Webster Bank Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction

Webster Bank Latest Customer Reviews

Guy's Profile Image

Reviewed by Guy

Oct 8th 2013

5 out of 5 marks

Very good

I have the best experience with Webster bank Yonkers Branch, Manager Anna and Ast. Manager Dayna are the best

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Oct 9th 2013

Thank you for the great review. We sent your comments to Anna & Dayna and they said to say thank you and next time you're in to say hello.

Guy's Profile Image

Responded by Guy

Oct 9th 2013

I went to open a new account at Webster, as it was a requirement for my mortgage loan, that is how I met Anna & Dayna, due to the excellent level of customer service they provided me, I am switching all my business and personal accounts from Bank of America & HSBC to Webster Bank, I have been with Bank of America 11 years and HSBC 13 years, but Webster Bank Yonkers branch is the best banking center I have ever come across, I have bank accounts in 3 continents, so trust me on this if you have a banking need call Anna Bruno or Dayna Bouvier at Yokers branch, they will get the job done!.

Cari B's Profile Image

Reviewed by Cari B

Jul 30th 2010

4 out of 5 marks

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Dec 4th 2012

Thanks for the nice review Cari!

patriotsredsox1's Profile Image

Reviewed by patriotsredsox1

Feb 6th 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Bank advised me to withdraw all of my remaining balance, then proceeded to charge me an overdraft fee.

EDIT: Since posting the following review, Webster has reached out to me to resolve this issue, and I am very pleased with the outcome.

I had a personal loan with Webster and opened a checking account with them to save a quarter of a percentage point of interest on the loan. At 17%, I paid over $1000 in interest in only 7 months on my $9900 loan, so I shopped for a better deal. When I found one, I immediately paid off my remaining balance. Because I only opened my checking account to save on the interest in the first place, I decided to close that account as well. When I went into the branch I was told that because I had pending transactions they couldn't close it, but if I wanted I could withdraw the remaining the balance and they would close the account for me the following day. Not my idea, but sounded like a good plan. The following day, a charge from 2 weeks prior for $6 posted, causing previous pending transactions to overdraft. Here I am with $80 in fees. Not bank error I'm told. Can't do anything for you I'm told. Mind you I have never overdrawn my account with them previously. Mind you, I wouldn't have withdrawn this money in the first place if I wasn't advised of this in the first place. Bank error is kind of a general term, is it not? I was told I could take my balance, minus the pending the transactions, and my account would be closed for me the next day. We did not go over a list of my transactions or discuss what cleared or didn't clear. I wasn't in front of a computer looking at my account. I took their word for it. Shame on me. They can't do anything for me? More like they won't. I feel like if I wasn't closing my account, they might treat this differently. They made $1000 on me in the previous 7 months, now any good will they might have built with me is being thrown away over $80. Any chance of me ever applying for another loan with them just went right out the window. Potential $1000's in interest lost over $80. Seems like bad banking to me.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Feb 11th 2014

Hi Adam,

We're happy to be able to have helped. If you ever want to reach out to us again in the future, we're here for you on Facebook & Twitter as well. http://bit.ly/WBSocial

Thanks,

Dawn M.

Cheryl C's Profile Image

Reviewed by Cheryl C

Jan 6th 2012

2 out of 5 marks

Poor Online Costumer Service

Rude online costumer service!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Dec 4th 2012

Hi Cheryl - I'm sorry to hear about this and would love to have someone speak with you to learn more. Please send me an email at dmelesko@websterbank.com and I'll have someone give you a call to discuss.

Thank you,

Dawn

MediationTraining's Profile Image

Reviewed by MediationTraining

Jul 9th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Business customers beware!

We opened a business account with Webster a couple of years ago. We have had bumps and issues along the way on way too many occasions, but changing banks is time consuming when you are a business - especially for a merchant who uses an account for deposits and withdrawals of credit card transactions.

The final straw that has prompted us to leave this bank is the unexpectedly outrageous fees we just realized were being charged to our business by this bank - completely unexpected fees. Beware if you are a business! This bank goes out of its way to solicit business customers, but we did not find it business friendly at all - quite the contrary.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Jul 23rd 2014

Hello Mediation Training-

We’re sorry to hear about your experience, and would love to get some more info on what happened so we can provide feedback to the senior managers, and see if there's anything we can do to help.

If you would like to send us more information or a contact phone number, please email us at socialmedia@websterbank.com.

Also, we will add your comments to our Voice of the Customer on your behalf. This program is viewed by upper management and helps make positive changes for our customers.

Thank you for leaving feedback, and we hope to hear from you!

Sincerely,

Dawn M.

Social Media, Webster Bank

Thank you,

Dawn M.

Tim A's Profile Image

Reviewed by Tim A

Aug 10th 2011

2 out of 5 marks

My Checking Account Is Fine But Terrible Customer Service On Home Equity Loan Application

Their 7-day guarantee and all their promises are not kept. Waiting to get a heloc on a 10-year old $135,000 value condo with no mortgage for $30,000. They told me it would be quick. Maybe just a few days. It's 2 weeks today. I called the asst. Mgr. Tamika at the cottage grove rd. Bloomfield office friday early and asked when they would have an answer-7 working days were up and she said she would expedite it from the beginning. Was told it "was in underwriting" but got no time frame. Talked to the branch manager mr. Harper and he promised to call me monday. After not hearing from him, i called at 5:55 pm. He promised to call me tuesday before 4 pm so he could do more than to check system notes. At 5:00, i called the branch and he had gone home. 1-800 customer service line didn't know anything and was useless. I made it very clear all i was asking for was a call at a reasonable time with an update. He agreed that was fair and would call me but they just don't keep their promises. I can only imagine how bad they would be on a mortgage.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Dec 4th 2012

Hi Tim,

Sorry to hear about your experience. I've added your comments into our Voice of the Customer program. If there's anything I can do for you, don't hesitate to send me an email at dmelesko@websterbank.com in the future.

Thanks,

Dawn

bankgirl's Profile Image

Reviewed by bankgirl

Jan 31st 2014

2 out of 5 marks

unprofessional and rude

This is in regards to the Westport Avenue Norwalk Branch:

I would like to say that I am not good with "numbers" person, so when I have my money in a bank and I have a question about one of my accounts, I would expect some assistance. Well one person (name starting with "F") in customer service, was getting annoyed with me because I couldn't understand the math and asking a lot of questions on this account and he told me "I have enough on my plate" and hung up on me.

The second incident was when I went into bank to make a deposit and the teller offered me a credit card from Webster. The woman standing next to her (name starting with "K"), gave her a look. She then told teller that she has known me for a while (which she does) and that it would not benefit me to have a credit card because I have had issues in the past with debt problems.

This was totally unprofessional and not her place at all to say that to her or anyone else. It is no one's business.

She could have taken me in her office and told me that. It sickened me.

As soon as I get my paperwork in order, I am switching banks.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Feb 6th 2014

Hello,

We have sent your review to the banking center manager and market manager and asked that they reach out to you to discuss your experience. The banking center manager wants to apologize if she personally offended you in any way.

jg1117's Profile Image

Reviewed by jg1117

Nov 14th 2013

2 out of 5 marks

Stonewalled In Customer Service

I process credit cards for merchants and received declines on swiped cards with a response from webster that there was a problem with the cvv2. Keyed-in transactions worked fine. All other institutions worked with swiped so I figured webster must have some additional requirement or formatting for their magnetic track data. I called webster to find out who to talk to in order to get further clarification. After 2 transfers i talked to their merchant service department where i ran into a brick wall named belinda. She couldn't give me another department, she couldn't help me, and said i had to get a webster cardholder to call in about the decline. They were fine because the keyed-in transactions work so why would they care to call? I have a formatting or validation issue that i need to talk to a tech guy about, but i'm shut out of reaching anyone until i have a cardholder agree to be the guinea pig to investigate a problem that they don't care about. I don't understand this thinking. Doesn't webster realize that if there's an issue that their customers will be denied services from merchants and if it happens enough webster will lose customers as they go to other banks that don't have this problem? Just disappointed that webster wouldn't even point me to the right department. If your card is declined when swiped make sure you ask to have it keyed in to ensure you're able to get it to go through (if you can talk a merchant into doing it since they will be incurring twice the authorization fees for one swipe attempt and another keyed attempt).

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Nov 25th 2013

Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention and for the additional information that you provided to us regarding this situation when we spoke. We are researching this issue and we hope to get this resolved soon. Feel free to reach out to Maria to touch base. Thanks, Dawn

Saffo's Profile Image

Reviewed by Saffo

Jul 24th 2013

2 out of 5 marks

Deceptive withdrawal and fees practice - Stay away!

We used to love Webster Bank and used to tell other people that they are a good bank. Well not anymore! Our bank account has always been in good standing until a few months ago. We now have $629 in overdraft fees and we are leaving Webster. It's disgusting. The website pending charges and balance are inaccurate, the dates are wrong, and sometimes don't show the charges, so while you think your account has money, you make purchases and then they charge you fees. I had one charge show pending with a date of 6/27 (the day I was looking at the account) and somehow overdrafted the previous Monday 6/24. I also have screen shots that show my account is in good standing on Wednesday at 1am, but then Wednesday at 12pm shows a check being withdrawn on the previous Tuesday and overdrafting the account. In addition to that, there are overdraft fees where my statement clearly shows I have a positive balance. I have called customer service and was treated extremely rudely, again when my statement clearly showed a positive balance on the transaction that supposedly overdrafted my account. The woman told me I must keep track of what money I have, but I cannot trust the pending transactions and balance I see online. This is a very deceptive and shady policy. We used to tout Webster being a wonderful caring bank. But this is ridiculous. We will be taking our business elsewhere.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Jul 25th 2013

Hi Saffo,

We value your business and know bank policies can be confusing. We would love to speak with you and help you navigate the system to your advantage. If you can send us an email at socialmedia@websterbank.com with the best phone number to reach you at, we will give you a call to help.

We recently upgraded our website which may also help you. You do need to switch to this version to take advantage of the new features, which you can read about on our blog here: http://bit.ly/YIJkcv

We also wrote a blog post about the different options you have to avoid overdraft fees here: http://bit.ly/ODchoice

Thanks,

Dawn

ninewestblue's Profile Image

Reviewed by ninewestblue

Aug 17th 2011

2 out of 5 marks

Good at first then terrible

I had an account with Webster Bank. Had to keep a balance of $4000.00 combined between savings and checking with extras as they say - freebies. Well later they introduced their pemier checking account. And all I had to do was keep $10,000 between my accounts and I would get all this free stuff. Well I also had a home equity loan. Now the loan was arranged in a different title, and so was not told that everything had to be titled the same and the $4,000 did not count towards the $10,000 balance. Well I started getting fees galore. I also had two small checking accounts with small balances, $50 each. They also go hit with fees. Webster does not combine the accounts together. All accounts are treated separated. I have since closed all my accounts and have moved all my money to another bank that I am very happy with. Also their online activity ends at 7:00. So you must make sure that if you want to get your transfer done for that day to do that before 7:00 or you are out of luck.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Dec 4th 2012

I'm sorry to hear of your experience. I've added your comments into our Voice of the Customer program so your voice is heard.

Thanks,

Dawn

nothappy1214's Profile Image

Reviewed by nothappy1214

Oct 18th 2013

2 out of 5 marks

Awful

I've been with Webster bank for about 8 years now. Three months ago I started treatment for breast cancer, between surgeries and treatment it been hard to keep everything in order. I have over $1000.00 I have paid in NSF fees. I've tried calling customer service and got no where. They are not there to help the people that need it the most. Once I can I will be changing banks!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Nov 14th 2013

We are very sorry to hear about your situation. We certainly appreciate your loyalty to us. We have tried to get in contact with you and you with us, but with no success. We hope that with what we were able to do for you assisted you where it was satisfactory to you. Please feel free to contact us via phone or through socialmedia@WebsterBank.com with a phone number and a time that is good for you for us to speak with you.

justdege's Profile Image

Reviewed by justdege

Jul 23rd 2013

2 out of 5 marks

Run and take your business elsewhere. run

My husband and I began working with Webster bank for a while now, first we had the account which by the way they are behind in mobile services. we began working with a guy out of Greenwich office with our loan application and that was when our credit was not up to part, for 1 yr we cleaned our credit and after practically begging him he looked at our credit and allowed us to apply for the mortgage. this bank may be a small bank but staff are not knowledgeable about every types of loan for mortgage, they don't return calls asap. to make this to a short story. communication is horrible and my husband and I been in contract with our dream home since May and as of today all we hear is "it's under review"out of the Cheshire,CT office thus far we lost close to $3000 so the seller can extend the contract for the 3rd time and no one at Webster seem to care..we had to move from our apartment to my landlord attic studio apartment in the heat with 2 small children and again no one at Webster care..we are living out of boxes and our belongings are in garage and again no one care I wish we never had faith in Webster bank. we submitted every paper work at a very fast pace and again we still waiting. the seller told us if we don't have the loan commitment by 8/2 they walking away and again. No one cares, run away, I don't recommend anyone applying for mortgage with this bank. they make me feel I committed a crime trying to own. Run! No one care.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MauriceVolaski's Profile Image

Reviewed by MauriceVolaski

Jan 14th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

ignored a rogue employee

The particular branch in question once had a rogue employee on his own create an account in my name. Weirdly, he put a $1,000 (from an unknown source) into the account. I spent it without even knowing it was not mine. However, the account came with overdraft protection and a line of credit and ultimately the bank began charging me and even reporting me to the credit bureaus. They refused to acknowledge what happened or correct what they did.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

JessicaGiordanoFed's Profile Image

Reviewed by JessicaGiordanoFed

Aug 8th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Taking Advantage Of A Valued, Long-Term Customer With Their Fees

I have had my personal checking/savings accounts with webster bank for over 15 years now. I have always praised webster bank even when other people put them down. Not anymore! I recently opened up a second checking account that they charge $10. 95/month for if you don't use your card 10x a month (which i was not aware of - i'm sure they told me but it must've slipped my mind). Anyway, because they were charging me this $10. 95 fee every month, it made my account go nsf and they decided to charge me $5/day in overdraft fees. It ended up costing me $80 in these ridiculous overdraft fees. I was recently laid off after working in the insurance industry for 8 years. I have a college degree and i had a great job. I have been struggling to find a job - applying to about 5 different places every day. On top of that, my husband and i are expecting our first child in a few months. Do you think webster bank cares that they are causing me this stress while i am pregnant and unemployed? Nope! They waived 4 of the fees totaling $20. So here i am still stuck with $60 in fees on top of the $10. 95 i was charged every month. You'd think they would make an exception for a long time customer going through a difficult time. But they obviously don't care. They apparently are so broke that they would rather lose me as a customer than refund my money. I will be closing my accounts tomorrow.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

dann's Profile Image

Reviewed by dann

May 14th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Would not give $500 military credit at closing

I worked on a refi for my in-laws in December 2012-February 2013. It not only took forever to close, but we kept getting more paperwork to sign after the closing. The worst part is that the rep, Kimberly Lynch, just happened to "forget" to tell us that military (active or retired) get $500 back at loan closing. I found out a week or so after the closing while looking at Webster's website for an answer to a question I had. When I asked her about that, she said she simply forgot to ask during the assessment since she was talking with me and not them and that they won't make good on the money back! Oh, OK-no problem. The bank withheld $500 from a couple of seniors, one of which is going through cancer treatment-no problem that you didn't do your job! BIG thanks for serving our country! Now the loan was sold to Fannie Mae a week before the first payment was to begin. Webster Bank is not to be trusted.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

meehow01gmailcom's Profile Image

Reviewed by meehow01gmailcom

Jan 9th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Worst bank ever.

I've been with Webster Bank since for probably 18 years(about the time they took over Derby Savings bank). They started out as a very consumer focused bank looking to provide the best service and reaching out to the needs of their customers. Over the years it has become nothing but a money hungry corporate machine. The tellers in their branches are friendly(for the most part), but it is the overall institution that has become disconnected with their clientele. They are not flexible, they do not care about your needs, they WILL not go above and beyond for you in any situation. It is all about them and their bottom line. They can care less about you and your money. Believe me. If you open an account here, you'll be sorry you ever did. I've deposited millions of dollars in the past few years and they could care less. They treat me like bum on the street. No exaggeration. I will be moving all my funds to another bank and closing all accounts.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Jan 25th 2013

Hello Meehow,

We sent you an email to connect offline on January 11th, and would like to learn more about your experiences and how we can improve. We've recently made some changes to ensure an excellent customer experience across all touch points, and would value your feedback.

Thank you,

Dawn

OLA's Profile Image

Reviewed by OLA

Sep 8th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible, Insensitive

I posted four bills to be paid on friday because i get paid on friday, this bank charged me $37 in four places because they took the money out on thursday. I called the customer service who was very insensitive and was telling me that there policy states that money must be in the account a day to the delivery day. Is $37 not too much i have other account they will not take more than 10 dollar, even pawn shops do not charged $37 dollar a day. The bank is horrible, in fact traumatizing and give me ptsd. I am encouraging people to look for a people friendly customer service bank

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Dec 4th 2012

Hi OLA - I apologize for your experience and would like to help. If you'd like to send me an email at dmelesko@websterbank.com I'll get you in touch with someone that can look into this for you and give you a call.

Thank you,

Dawn

alajcb's Profile Image

Reviewed by alajcb

Jun 5th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

"you're pre-qualified for a personal loan"

I received an "invitation to save", the notice says I was "pre-qualified".

Dear Albert. Need money to pay off credit cards? offer: up to 25k with interest as low as 7.99% APR.

Well yes, I would like to pay off and close 3 cards with high interest, so I went to the local branch. They were very nice but a little shocked to see the notice. Manager said "I wish they would let us know when they send out these letters". I should have known then something was up.

In days I got a notice with my credit score 712, 10 days later I got a notice that I am declined because of excessive obligations in relation to income. My obligations are the same as when I received the notice. I wish they never contacted me. What a waste of time.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Kapn18's Profile Image

Reviewed by Kapn18

Feb 26th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Customer service is horrible

Received 2 overdraft fees when my account statement still showed my account positive wouldn't wave the fees and was told pending debit card transactions caused it which ridiculous don't bank here they post things so they can charge you overdrafts. There gonna lose my family as customers which have a huge amount of money in them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Feb 27th 2014

Hi Kapn18,

We'd be happy to give you a call to help discuss your overdraft options. Or this blog post helps explain what you can do as well: http://bit.ly/ODchoice

Please email us at socialmedia@websterbank.com with your phone number if you'd like us to give you a call to explain anything, we're happy to help.

Thanks,

Dawn M.

Webster Bank

Consumer711's Profile Image

Reviewed by Consumer711

Dec 18th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Awful

I was referred to Webster by a friend who highly regarded Webster bank. When I set up my 3 accounts I found them to be very nice and welcoming. A few months later I made the mistake of depositing money into the wrong account. As soon as realized my mistake I went in and attempted to resolve the issue of them charging me $5.00 per day fees up until that point. If I had known I would've been charged $5.00 for a simple mistake I would have never banked there. Not only did they decide to close that particular account, they then closed the other 2 active accounts, both of which where in good standing. When I tried to explain what had happened they were unwilling to help. Looks like lots of hidden fees at this bank. Save yourself the headaches and shop around for an honest and upfront bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Dec 20th 2013

Amy, we are sorry to hear you had a bad experience and we do value you as a customer. Per policy, we do have timeframes we need to abide by and we apologize if you did not receive the notifications we send out in regards to your account falling negative. We would be happy to help you in the future, or talk about any concerns you may still have. Feel free to email us at socialmedia@websterbank.com. Thanks, Dawn

Josephine's Profile Image

Reviewed by Josephine

Jan 30th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Fee Happy

I have been a customer of webster bank for many years and their customer service is horrible. They are fee happy and will not adjust any fees! They are charging me overdraft charges of $37. 00 per transaction when my account on line never shows in the negative and when i call customer service they will not reverse the charges.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Jan 31st 2013

Hi Josephine,

I understand your frustration and that you recently called into our Customer Care Center regarding a fee rebate. Our main goal is to ensure all of our customers our satisfied, however with reviewing your account in much detail we have rebated multiple fees over the last 6 months for you as a courtesy. I encourage you to reach out to our Care Center for helpful tips on how to better manage your account to avoid fees.

We also have a blog that has lots of helpful info. Here's a post that explains your overdraft options: http://blog.websteronline.com/adults/your-overdraft-options-the-choice-is-yours/

And we just launched our new mobile app, and have a service where you can sign up to get text or email balance alerts. Here's the info: https://www.websteronline.com/personal/products-services/online-services/account-alerts.html

Please give us a call anytime, we'd be happy to help and explain your options.

Thank you,

Dawn

Hollard's Profile Image

Reviewed by Hollard

Mar 26th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Poorly treated and overly charged

Monthly charges, even on a 'free' account. When they finally took all the money in the account, they then charged me an overdraft fee! I would avoid this bank unless you like giving your money to the bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Dec 4th 2012

Hi Hollard - I'm sorry to hear about your experience and would like to help. If you can send me an email with your contact information, I can have someone give you a call and see if they can help.

Thanks,

Dawn

ReallyUnhappy's Profile Image

Reviewed by ReallyUnhappy

Sep 24th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Dreams Shattered, Thousands Lost

Being a long time customer of Webster, and a holder of a previous Mortgage, I was told I should have no problem getting a building loan. I have never bounced a check, never been late with a payment to anyone, and havd a credit rating in excess of 800. No problem, right?

Wrong. I went ahead with the applications, got all my permits, and spent over $25,000 on plans, drainage and septic supplies, electrical panels and pex manifold, and many other things that I was able to purchase from day to day. My builder is ready to go, the new house on my existing lot is all staked out and cleared, and I am ready to go.

After 6 MONTHS of going back and forth with them, sending the same information multiple times, and getting absolutely no answers as to why they were not accepting it and the impression that most of my personal financial information was being misplaced, I finally called the president of the bank. The president's representative got in touch with me prompltly and promised to look into it. So what did I get, ANOTHER REQUEST FOR THE SAME INFORMATION !!! I was working with idiots and at one time even had to tell one of their representatives how to properly praocess some of the information. She had no clue as to what she was doing.

I have found another bank and will be transsferring all my accounts to it.

Stay away from Webster Bank!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Dcorn51's Profile Image

Reviewed by Dcorn51

Sep 11th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Beware of Merchant Services

Have been using Webster bank's merchant services for processing of office charge card payments.

Horrible to deal with! Poor customer service. Unexplained charges on statements. Accounting irregularities galore. Can't wait to change office's accounts. Federal investigation as to banking irregularities not out of question

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MA12345's Profile Image

Reviewed by MA12345

Sep 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Embezzaling Scumbags

Webster Bank is a pathetic excuse for banking! The automated system that they offer can't be trusted, period end of story! Made an ATM withdrawal which showed the remaining balance to match what the automated system said. Direct Deposit paycheck going in 4 hours later as in end of business day! Well this scumbag excuse of a bank thinks its ok to embezzle $185 saying there was not enough money to cover transactions! BS, i have it on printed ATM receipt along with work direct deposit check going in 4 hours later! Thieves should be prosecuted. Bottom line is, stay far away from this bank because they will steal your hard earned money and not admit their system is flawed!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

KatS1981's Profile Image

Reviewed by KatS1981

Aug 31st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible!! Multiple inaccuracies and fraudulent NSF fees.

I checked my account today to find TWELVE fees for insufficient funds. I have gone over the numbers repeatedly (I work in finance and deal with account balances and reconciliations daily), and while I admit a couple of the fees (4, to be exact) are accurate, the majority of the fees were assessed on charges that came out of the account with PLENTY of money available. I've already printed everything, and will be submitting to the Attorney General's office in CT as well as my lawyer. I only gave 1 star because it wouldn't allow me to submit a review with 0.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Cpowell1973's Profile Image

Reviewed by Cpowell1973

May 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Very Dissatisfied Customer

Webster bank have been what I call stealing my money by over drafting my account. They took over $400+ more in overdraft fees on purchases that were made. Even though I have sufficient funds they hold on to my transactions then process them after the date of transactions so that my account will go negative. They won't fix the problems and they never have an answer to the problems this so called institution is causes. Therefore I will be consulting my lawyer about getting back the money that was taken from and I am taking my business elsewhere. There is no such rating as 1 being the lowest. I would have to rate them as a -10.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

May 13th 2014

Hello Cpowell1973,

We would be more than happy to contact you to help discuss overdraft options. We do have a blog post on overdraft protection options here: http://bit.ly/ODchoice

which you might find helpful as well.

Please email us at: socialmedia@websterbank.com with the best number to reach you if you would like to speak with us. We’re here to help you!

Thank you,

Dawn M.

michael333's Profile Image

Reviewed by michael333

Apr 15th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Webster - Big bank taking advantage of small consumers

A Webster Bank check that I was supposed to receive was stolen and deposited at another bank by an unknown criminal that forged my signature on the check.

On March 28, 2014 I visited Webster Bank in Plainville CT to assist in this matter. The branch manager wanted me to sign an affidavit stating I would be responsible for any expenses or losses Webster incurs while investigating the stolen check. This is not acceptable as I cannot indemnify Webster Bank. Webster's expenses could far exceed the value of the check and I would end up paying Webster bank more than the check is worth.

Four people from Webster have called me stating that the bank probably will not charge me anything but nobody at Webster is willing to put these words in writing. Webster will not put a cap on these potential expenses either.

I would like to resolve this issue by taking exception to the indemnification language on the loss affidavit. I will then sign the form which can be forwarded to the other bank that unlawfully deposited my check. It's that simple. Other local banks I have researched do not have this language on their loss affidavit forms. Just another way Webster bank is taking advantage of the small consumer.

The criminal that stole my check will get to keep all of my money because Webster is more interested in charging people fees.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

low's Profile Image

Reviewed by low

Apr 11th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible

My home was compromised and they said they put a freeze on the account. This was not the case and they kept manualing putting in my deposits. They had me on hold for at least 30 minutes and had no explanation. I am closing all accounts as is my employer.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Webster Bank

Responded by WebsterBank

Apr 15th 2014

Hello - could you email us your phone number so we can give you a call? You can email us at socialmedia@websterbank.com

Thanks,

Dawn M.

Webster Bank, Social Media

Doesntmatter's Profile Image

Reviewed by Doesntmatter

Feb 6th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

I feel robbed

I was charged 10 overdraft fees in less than a week. This is a weeks pay for me just completely gone. I had money in my account each time they charged me a $37 overdraft fee also. The only reason my account is negative right now is because of the $370 in fees I was charged. Ive tried speaking to numerous employees in customer service and at my local rocky hill ct branch and they were all useless and rude. Half of them didn't know why I had been charged so many times then the specialist starts talking in circles. I've never been more dissapointed in a banking experience. These people are criminals. Thank you webster, now I can't payt rent since you don't know how to control the system. Customers are obviously not your top priority.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Post a review