C+ MyBankTracker Rating

HSBC Bank Customer Reviews

(75 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 1
4 Star 0
3 Star 4
2 Star 8
1 Star 62

The Most Helpful HSBC Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Jan123 Oct 9, 2015

Real Empathy and Help to a Widow.

HSBC helped my frail 79 year old mother to change her joint account to her own on her husbands death with real care and sensitivity, nothing was too much trouble and it was all completed without any prior appointment within 20 minutes of walking into the branch. In contrast Santander next door could not summon the nous to understand it took her 20 minutes to walk into the bank from the car and insisted that we make an appointment the next day despite the fact we had to travel 35 miles to get there again. On return the next day insult was added to injury, the appointment made the day before was denied to be 'on the system' and miraculously after kicking up a fuss an appointment 'was found'.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Zenith012 Dec 31, 2015

Awful

I am a premiere banking customer, and have everything with HSBC - but 99 pct of my retirement accounts.

Generally I have little interaction, aside from online basic transactions.

Here is a summary of my experiences aside from deposit/withdrawals.

Mortgage refinance : 1 out of 10. This was the most ludicrous, painful, expensive process of my life. HSBC is deceitful, incompetent, and unremorrseful. It gets a 1 because in the end it happened. I could write a book on the circus.
Setting up online wire : 0 out of 10. Still not done. Security tokens, visiting branches. Forget it.
Having 1,700 dispersed from and education IRA. : so far 0 out of 10. 4 branch visits, 3 phone calls. In a branch now - clueless.

Is this review helpful?

Latest HSBC Bank Reviews

  • R
    Reviewed By RippedCustomer Apr 23, 2016

    STAY AWAY from HSBC. Worst bank ever.

    I totally agree with Zenith. I am a premier account customer in US. HSBC hard sell their mortgage service and once we started the refinance process, our nightmare starts. We sent the information again and again. Six months still not closing the loan. They charged extremely high on all services( e.g. 900 for an appraisal report). We request to cancel the loan process since I don’t see the light of the tunnel. Then, they will charge us the processing fee with $1300+. We made complaint but never heard a word. HSBC is a leading failing bank. Underwriters have no sense and pissed off customers. Those who called premier relationship managers just like typical no heart salesperson, trying to sell the low quality services and then walk away from you. Poor servicing standards and no customer satisfactions control.

    Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By Bellasmom Apr 17, 2016

    Things Seem To Be Changing For The Better

    I'm not a customer, but my late husband and surviving mother-in-law are. I didn't know about the legal issues HSBC was having, and only learned about them in the past few days.

    My husband had an account that was left in trust for his mother and myself. I couldn't understand why over a 7 month period after his death, our branch was giving us the run-around. My mother-in-law is elderly, and homebound, so I had her full Power of Attorney to handle her transactions for her. Unlike a lot of people her age, she still 'has all her marbles' and is a very savvy lady. I attempt to do whatever she wants me to do. As the saying goes, "When Mama isn't happy, ain't nobody happy", lol.

    I will say that every time I went in that local branch to try to settle my husband's business, I was only able to see a front desk service rep. The manager was always 'not there' or 'too busy' to help me. Same deal with anyone else that had the authority to attempt to help me - not there or too busy. I couldn't even make an appointment, to speak with someone that could help me, at the branch, and was told to call.

    So, I finally (again, after 7 months of getting no where) did as was suggested, but I called HSBC's 800 number instead of the local branch. The telephone rep was sympathetic, apologetic, and performed what appeared to be miracles for me, given my experience with the local branch. What had been impossible, was suddenly readily available to me, and I went to my local branch that same day.

    Most of the business was handled that day, I did hit a couple stumbling blocks despite my paper work being in order; but I called my attorney while I was there, he spoke with the branch manager, and in about 20 minutes, one of the blocks was removed.

    I didn't leave with everything I had needed (I needed an account for myself), but everything was settled to both the bank's and my satisfaction. It took about 3 hours total. While I was there, I had noticed that the bank had changed - for the better. I told the rep in the branch so. On my previous visits, there were very little noticeable personnel. The cubicle I was now sitting in and all adjacent cubicles had been empty previously. There were only ever 1 or 2 tellers, and on this day, all the teller slots had employees working them.

    Despite being treated like I was almost a criminal with my initial attempts at resolution, my calling the 800 number changed all that in minutes. Thank you, N, for accomplishing what people at the branch could not. Thanks to you, I am now a step closer to getting on with the process of grieving my loss.

    I'm not even going to throw out the baby with the bath water - as I don't like having all my funds in just one bank, I am considering opening an account there for myself. Thanks to the telephone rep, N, and the convenience of the location, as well as the noticeable changes that have occurred I am now able to give HSBC bank 3 stars - where as just days ago my rating would have been much poorer. I cant thank you enough, telephone rep N! I hope HSBC appreciates your fine work. I know I do.

    Is this review helpful?
  • V
    Reviewed By veennz Apr 10, 2016

    Global disaster bank, avoid at all cost!

    I am very much appalled by HSBC's recent derisking measures that caused much chaos to ordinary long-time account holders such as myself. The fact that a monstrous size global bank like HSBC with countless executives on fat payrolls couldn't prevent the eventuality of your sad state of business today ($1.9b fine etc.) tells us very much what kind of bank you are.

    I was utterly furious at first with the closure of my accounts in US, Malaysia, Australia and now Singapore. Thinking what the hell is going on but I was never given any access to allow at least a decent conversation how we can absolve a possible anomaly flagged by your multi-million non-personal software and database. You simply took an easier way out rather than reaching out as opposed to what 'Relationship' would have defined. At least a defendant gets to be tried before the judge with an opportunity to present supporting evidence; whatever happened to innocent until proven guilty?

    I was hoping to be audited by the bank, or at least a chance of inquiry on any supposed questionable transaction but after reading about the greed of HSBC Swiss Private Bank, money laundering for Sinaloa Cartel and business conducted with links to terrorism, I am now uncertain if I want to be related with a great evil such as this organization? Perhaps, I could use the tactic of one renowned blogger of the banking industry (http://www.huffingtonpost.com/brett-king/when-hsbc-closes-your-ban_b_4362504.html) who after rounds of speaking to a hopeless call centre based in Calcutta, got his accounts reinstated.

    But this is the state of the world we're living in right now, isn't it? Innocent consumers get the consequences when evil, greedy empires screw up. The rich and money launderers will ultimately find another 'HSBC', business will be as usual, however our lives will be in a total mess because you choose not to reach out or have been paid too much to do so. At least, the irony is I still get to keep my HSBC housing loan despite the fact that the bank 'regrettably' and desperately trying to end this relationship.

    I challenge you to reestablish communication, that I may transparently present my supporting documents for EACH and EVERY transaction. The honor of a man's name is at stake, and it will be extremely disgraceful for HSBC if such simple request cannot be granted.

    That's still one star too many, unfortunately.

    Is this review helpful?
  • F
    Reviewed By Fuck_you Apr 6, 2016

    HSBC SUCKS

    If I could give a rating of negative 10, I would. They are a horrible bank to deal with! From the start it was a bad experience and as the years roll by out just doesn't get any better. My rage is this; THEY DON'T GIVE A FUCK ABOUT YOU OR ANYBODY. I CAN'T WAIT FOR THE DAY TO PAY THESE FUCKING CROOKS OFF.

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By doesitmatter Mar 29, 2016

    Horrible Bank to do business with

    Had a savings account with this bank and even though I never touched my account they decided to "write off" my account. No notice and no attempt to contact. I only found out when I decided to call and get a replacement ATM card. Horrible way to do business and I will never recommend them to anyone!

    Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By chhabra_ravi Feb 19, 2016

    HSBC worst bank ever- Mortgage , International banking

    worst customer service - worst English accent hard to understand and always that is the case , and above in last call customer service representative sitting with cold and coughs .
    Long waits for answering. Customer service are unable to resolve.
    HSBC India branch (Chandigarh) is worst , Bank representative and not trained and have no clue of basic banking.
    Stuck with mortgage service in US will change as soon as I can.

    Is this review helpful?
  • Z
    Reviewed By Zenith012 Dec 31, 2015

    Awful

    I am a premiere banking customer, and have everything with HSBC - but 99 pct of my retirement accounts.

    Generally I have little interaction, aside from online basic transactions.

    Here is a summary of my experiences aside from deposit/withdrawals.

    Mortgage refinance : 1 out of 10. This was the most ludicrous, painful, expensive process of my life. HSBC is deceitful, incompetent, and unremorrseful. It gets a 1 because in the end it happened. I could write a book on the circus.
    Setting up online wire : 0 out of 10. Still not done. Security tokens, visiting branches. Forget it.
    Having 1,700 dispersed from and education IRA. : so far 0 out of 10. 4 branch visits, 3 phone calls. In a branch now - clueless.

    Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By Paul1231 Dec 23, 2015

    Worst bank in Canads

    Very difficult to deal with when there issues and very poor communicators. They are difficult to contact. They do not take responsibility for mistakes and try
    to make amends. Their security is overly complex....it took an hour to get a new bank card...5 minutes at another bank. Lawyers and notaries do not like to deal with them as they are so difficult.

    They have no North America. Style customer service attitude...which is probably based on their roots.

    Is this review helpful?
  • G
    Reviewed By gemski Dec 15, 2015

    Atrocious online experience

    After being a happy customer for many years in the UK, I decided to open a US account when I relocated to the US. Bad decision.

    Something is seriously wrong with their back end systems - it took over 6 weeks for the cards to be delivered and they were initially delivered to the wrong addresses. Thank goodness for the halifax clarity card - if it weren't for that we'd have been facing huge fees for using our UK cards in the US.

    Its a totally different online experience - nothing is automated, you have to wait 10 days for an address to be changed, days for payments to be made, etc. The interface is really confusing and looks really old and clunky.

    Their bank charges are high - $11 for bank to bank transfers, presumably on top of whatever they cream off the conversion (that's easy to solve - just use TransferWise - but still annoying).

    The link to the UK accounts is disappointing - still charge you lots to move money, you can see the US and UK balances side by side but that's about it. Not worth it for the hassle.

    We went with them so we could transfer our UK HSBC credit history over but they said they didn't need to do that, so we're left feeling as though we got a lower limit on our credit card as a result.

    On the plus side, the person we have been dealing with in the US branch is absolutely lovely, very helpful and gets things done (shame it goes wrong when it leaves her hands!). Its the only saving grace. Opening the account in the branch was also very easy. Shame its been downhill since then!

    Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By Nico12345 Dec 14, 2015

    Not a bank!

    I've banked with HSBC for over 10 years now and when there are no issues it's fine. As soon as something needs clarification or assistance, this is where it all oes wrong. And I mean WRONG.

    Latest incident is to do with online banking and getting this resolved. It still isn't at this time. Their hours are not very convenient if you are on the west coast. This will mean 72 hours without online banking so good luck if you have bills to be paid that you do online as most people do in the modern age.

    Biggest gripe is that I wanted help with wiring funds on the internet. I forgot the password to the second layer of security. I don't mind the layers of security. Thus I needed to reset password and security questions (not sure how they have it set up). I proceed to do this and the next thing I know is that I can't even access online banking....and the customer service rep. is like too bad. Can't do anything till a speciailist calls you back in 24-48 hours!!! That's an eternity in today's world. Fair enough.

    No call received and after I follow up, sorry can't help you. That team is closed and done for the day. Fair to say I wasn't that impressed with HSBC. They truly have gone downhill lately. Plus wait times have slowly been creeping up. Very poor experience overall.

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.