C+ MyBankTracker Rating

HSBC Bank Customer Reviews

(69 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 1
4 Star 0
3 Star 3
2 Star 8
1 Star 57

The Most Helpful HSBC Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Jan123 Oct 9, 2015

Real Empathy and Help to a Widow.

HSBC helped my frail 79 year old mother to change her joint account to her own on her husbands death with real care and sensitivity, nothing was too much trouble and it was all completed without any prior appointment within 20 minutes of walking into the branch. In contrast Santander next door could not summon the nous to understand it took her 20 minutes to walk into the bank from the car and insisted that we make an appointment the next day despite the fact we had to travel 35 miles to get there again. On return the next day insult was added to injury, the appointment made the day before was denied to be 'on the system' and miraculously after kicking up a fuss an appointment 'was found'.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By rallin Jan 21, 2015

Worst Bank Ever

EVERY Single time i have dealt with them there is a problem. Issues getting money out while traveling and service don often on line and at ATMs leaving you stranded. Abysmal customer service I could really write a book

Is this review helpful?

Latest HSBC Bank Reviews

  • Z
    Reviewed By Zenith012 Dec 31, 2015

    Awful

    I am a premiere banking customer, and have everything with HSBC - but 99 pct of my retirement accounts.

    Generally I have little interaction, aside from online basic transactions.

    Here is a summary of my experiences aside from deposit/withdrawals.

    Mortgage refinance : 1 out of 10. This was the most ludicrous, painful, expensive process of my life. HSBC is deceitful, incompetent, and unremorrseful. It gets a 1 because in the end it happened. I could write a book on the circus.
    Setting up online wire : 0 out of 10. Still not done. Security tokens, visiting branches. Forget it.
    Having 1,700 dispersed from and education IRA. : so far 0 out of 10. 4 branch visits, 3 phone calls. In a branch now - clueless.

    Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By Paul1231 Dec 23, 2015

    Worst bank in Canads

    Very difficult to deal with when there issues and very poor communicators. They are difficult to contact. They do not take responsibility for mistakes and try
    to make amends. Their security is overly complex....it took an hour to get a new bank card...5 minutes at another bank. Lawyers and notaries do not like to deal with them as they are so difficult.

    They have no North America. Style customer service attitude...which is probably based on their roots.

    Is this review helpful?
  • G
    Reviewed By gemski Dec 15, 2015

    Atrocious online experience

    After being a happy customer for many years in the UK, I decided to open a US account when I relocated to the US. Bad decision.

    Something is seriously wrong with their back end systems - it took over 6 weeks for the cards to be delivered and they were initially delivered to the wrong addresses. Thank goodness for the halifax clarity card - if it weren't for that we'd have been facing huge fees for using our UK cards in the US.

    Its a totally different online experience - nothing is automated, you have to wait 10 days for an address to be changed, days for payments to be made, etc. The interface is really confusing and looks really old and clunky.

    Their bank charges are high - $11 for bank to bank transfers, presumably on top of whatever they cream off the conversion (that's easy to solve - just use TransferWise - but still annoying).

    The link to the UK accounts is disappointing - still charge you lots to move money, you can see the US and UK balances side by side but that's about it. Not worth it for the hassle.

    We went with them so we could transfer our UK HSBC credit history over but they said they didn't need to do that, so we're left feeling as though we got a lower limit on our credit card as a result.

    On the plus side, the person we have been dealing with in the US branch is absolutely lovely, very helpful and gets things done (shame it goes wrong when it leaves her hands!). Its the only saving grace. Opening the account in the branch was also very easy. Shame its been downhill since then!

    Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By Nico12345 Dec 14, 2015

    Not a bank!

    I've banked with HSBC for over 10 years now and when there are no issues it's fine. As soon as something needs clarification or assistance, this is where it all oes wrong. And I mean WRONG.

    Latest incident is to do with online banking and getting this resolved. It still isn't at this time. Their hours are not very convenient if you are on the west coast. This will mean 72 hours without online banking so good luck if you have bills to be paid that you do online as most people do in the modern age.

    Biggest gripe is that I wanted help with wiring funds on the internet. I forgot the password to the second layer of security. I don't mind the layers of security. Thus I needed to reset password and security questions (not sure how they have it set up). I proceed to do this and the next thing I know is that I can't even access online banking....and the customer service rep. is like too bad. Can't do anything till a speciailist calls you back in 24-48 hours!!! That's an eternity in today's world. Fair enough.

    No call received and after I follow up, sorry can't help you. That team is closed and done for the day. Fair to say I wasn't that impressed with HSBC. They truly have gone downhill lately. Plus wait times have slowly been creeping up. Very poor experience overall.

    Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By raba123 Dec 3, 2015

    HSBC A leading Failing Bank

    HSBC Has to be one of the most opportunistic and unprofessional Global bank ever dealt with. Funds transiting their platforms constantly get held hostage and get milked for interest while their second or 3rd party clients frantically follow-up and complain to get it released. They, like cowards, wait until the last possible second of pressure mounting from their clients to release these payments. They will eventually lose loads of corporate and retail clients for their greedy mischief.

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By Jan123 Oct 9, 2015

    Real Empathy and Help to a Widow.

    HSBC helped my frail 79 year old mother to change her joint account to her own on her husbands death with real care and sensitivity, nothing was too much trouble and it was all completed without any prior appointment within 20 minutes of walking into the branch. In contrast Santander next door could not summon the nous to understand it took her 20 minutes to walk into the bank from the car and insisted that we make an appointment the next day despite the fact we had to travel 35 miles to get there again. On return the next day insult was added to injury, the appointment made the day before was denied to be 'on the system' and miraculously after kicking up a fuss an appointment 'was found'.

    Is this review helpful?
  • V
    Reviewed By violetmoonwater Sep 3, 2015

    Worst bank ever

    HSBC used to be a good bank years ago, and that's why they won my loyalty over a period of time. Then they started closing all the branches near me, charging me fees for everything, and recently both branch and phone customer service people have been so rude that I just closed my account. They've cost me hundreds of dollars in fees by adding all sorts of little tricks and loopholes. I am never banking with HSBC again, and do not recommend it to others. STAY AWAY!

    Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By lordcn Jun 18, 2015

    Disconnected and Dysfunctional Organization

    The on line system works well once you obtain an account. The problem with HSBC is customer service. They are generally disconnected from the rest of the operation, stove piped and many times loose you when they attempt to hand off. They expect you to know their organization but, unfortunately, they don't even know it so most of the time the discussion is confusing and it takes a great deal of time to resolve the simplest issue.For example they had me wait for a connection to another department. After 30 minutes the agent realized they'd changed their hours so the issue was not resolved. They recently shut down the account but when they notified us they didn't provide the way to resolve the issue until two hours of calls over two days. I am comparing them to two other banks we use which don't seem to have that problem. Not sure how a bank can stay in business these days with such a dysfunctional operation. Avoid this bank at all costs!.

    Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By ricardomq31 Apr 24, 2015

    FALSE ADVERTISING ABOUT CREDIT CARD REWARD POINTS

    HSBC advertises 25,000 reward points for spending a given amount in the first three months after having your card issued. As an international customer I never received the card they issued due to mailing problems, card was never ACTIVATED. I had to cancel this card and was issued a new one. This second card was ACTIVATED, and I spend a lot more than required to have the reward points within the three months period starting in the issuing of the second card. Nonetheless, HSBC refuses to credit the points that they advertise because they consider three months from the first car issued, the one that was voided and never got into my address. I have been trying to resolve this for more than a year with the Premier Customer Service with no success.

    Is this review helpful?
  • U
    Reviewed By Unsatisfy_customer109 Feb 10, 2015

    Terrible Service

    Didnt open on time and also only one teller was working causing a traffic for people to get their money. Horrible customer service, and inadequate staffing

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.