Overall Rating

MyBankTracker Grade

B
Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Number of Locations
Mobile Deposits
Mobile Banking

Featured Rates

690
Branch Locations

BMO Harris Bank Location Map
We found branches close to you.

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank Rates
CIT Bank
Add
Bank Rates
Charter One Bank
Add
Bank News
KeyBank
Add
Compare Banks

BMO Harris Bank Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction

BMO Harris Bank Latest Customer Reviews

pattigirl999's Profile Image

Reviewed by pattigirl999

Sep 12th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible bank

Had a problem with account, was disrespected and talk down to by staff member. Made a complaint with manager. Bank is not helpful in resolution of your financial needs.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Telfa7's Profile Image

Reviewed by Telfa7

Aug 11th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Bank by Morons where service sucks

I've had an account with these corporate profiteers for over 15 years, and have seen the service slide and the charges and scams increase, since first M&I and now Bank of Montreal has taken over. Most banks give accurate listings and messages about transactions on their online account, and keep regular business hours. Whoever heard of posting a check at midnight, after business hours, and then ignoring reserve accounts or deposits, so they can level an overdraft fee? By their own supervisor's admission it is inaccurate, and one asks the question then why do they promote its use? My parents' can't write checks out to businesses like Walmart or Petsmart, since BMO took over. No one can explain why, except to say it must be the automatic checking system that Bank by Morons uses. There seems to be constant turnover of employees, and the ones that are there always seem to be distracted or rude, while having a grand old time socializing among themselves. I think I've had enough of the poor service, no benefits, and excessive charges, and will be switching banks, because although it's a Bank run by morons I don't want to be a moron who continues to put up with this insult to banking.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Rpokorn's Profile Image

Reviewed by Rpokorn

Aug 8th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Unable to preform a wire transfer

Supposed to close on property and could not preform a simple transfer. The closing had to be moved and looked like idiots to seller even after having BMO prove we had the funds in the account. Have had my business and personal accounts their since Harris bought out Villa Park Bank nine years ago.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Ckm58attnet's Profile Image

Reviewed by Ckm58attnet

Aug 1st 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Tthis

This branch of BMO Harris is just fine. They have always been professional and helpful. I have no complaints.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

CJPILOT's Profile Image

Reviewed by CJPILOT

Jul 31st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

If you want headaches this is the bank for you.

I was charged a $100.00 fee for no discernable reason. After many phone calls (and promised return calls that never occurred), I finally got them to agree that I do not owe this amount and that it would be credited.

Over the past several months, no credit occurred--even though I contacted them several times and they again told me it would be credited.

The maturity date of the loan was reached yesterday and behold, the only balance on the account is the aforementioned debit.

I am on the phone with them again (on hold waiting for the fifth transfer to someone that can help me) and am getting the run-around.

As stated in the subject above--IF YOU WANT HEADACHES THIS IS THE BANK FOR YOU!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jameyhickey's Profile Image

Reviewed by jameyhickey

Jul 31st 2014

4 out of 5 marks

wonderful

I have been with them for years. Never had a problem, the staff is great and knows my family by name. This is the inly bank ive ever had that I truely felt comfortable with.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Mspook's Profile Image

Reviewed by Mspook

May 20th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Bank Ever!

I currently have an auto loan with BMO Harris Bank, and this will be the last! First off, they charge you ten dollars for online bill pay if you don't have an account with them already. Really? I'm already paying you with interest, that is just a way to charge us. Then, they sent back an electronic payment I made with my bank, causing me to assess a late fee! When I called customer service about the issue, they gave me nothing but attitude! Just plain rude, and acted like they were not at fault. Never again will I ever bank with this company. I can't wait for my five years to be up so I will never have to deal with their rudeness again.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

wilhelmick's Profile Image

Reviewed by wilhelmick

May 14th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Harris bank

Paid for a car over 3 years now. Harris bank says they don't owe me a title. After 4 months of phone calls, I get a letter saying they no longer have "rights or interest " to the car. I get to pay $95 dollars for a new title. They lost or destroyed the title and will not make good on it.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Nugget's Profile Image

Reviewed by Nugget

May 9th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Bad partners

We had a HELOC with BMO. We paid on time, every month about double the minimum payment. We are not upside down on our equity either. BMO decided this year to cancel our agreement and require the balance due in full withing 60 days.

My guess is that they did this because we had a low prime rate and they weren't making enough money off of us. After all, those bank executive bonuses don't pay themselves. They obviously don't care about their customers at the end of the day. It is my opinion that they do operate in good faith, and if there is a way to pinch you for an extra cent - they will.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

nhk3127's Profile Image

Reviewed by nhk3127

May 9th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

No customer Service

I recently submitted a service request to BMO Harris and 3 weeks later, it has not been completed. When I called to obtain a status update on my request, I was told by staff that I did not make the request (although documentation proved I had). I was then told that I would have to start the process over again and wait another two weeks for resolution. Despite frequent requests to speak to management, I was always transferred to a call center, where staff were powerless to resolve the issue. A post that I made to the bank's facebook's page detailing my experience was deleted within 30 seconds of the posting, with no response or offer to help with my situation. I continue to search for some way to get assistance with my request.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

elvisbanker's Profile Image

Reviewed by elvisbanker

Apr 23rd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst bank in America

BMO is a money making bank for them. They will not help the little people in America just themselves. I found this out the hard way, I was with M&I for 12 years after BMO took over. I thought i'll see what happens well don't stick around -- fees fees fees.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

GaryR's Profile Image

Reviewed by GaryR

Apr 18th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Nothing good to say about BMO harris

I had a 10 year equity loan that matured and having a hell of a time trying to get a modification, I truly believe they are trying to foreclose on my home, still making my monthly payments on time and they gave me a past 30 days on my credit report even though we are still working on a modification, I believe they are trying to screw up my credit so no other Bank will give me a loan.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

DomPerignon's Profile Image

Reviewed by DomPerignon

Apr 15th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Retards Top to Bottom

They are totally helpless and have antiquated back office and debit cards systems. I have a business and when I want a cahier's check the cashier has not figure out yet a way to itemize the fee separate from the check proper so the accountant can catch it. Once I gave her $5.00 cash to cover the fee and I could not get a receipt for it.They don't have a system to log into your account with a debit card entering your pin number, like every bank has now, so they ask for an ID and lecture you like the State police while you are there holding your check book and your debit card. [Redacted] never return your phone messages nor your emails. Stay out of there.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Andremtl's Profile Image

Reviewed by Andremtl

Apr 9th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

30 year 2012 at BMO -- 7 mortgages all foreclosed in 2012 when BMO stopped lending (2 of buildings had rents)

Other income was my small legal firm (very small) which fell behind. Bank foreclosed on 7 mortgages; 2 had rents exceeding the mortgage payment which BMO seized. Rent was paid but BMO still foreclosed. 2 million in personal equity was destroyed. Basically ruined. Obsolete banking cartel completely immoral. Must be replaced. BMO used to be an OK bank. Something happened, and they've become gutless and inhumane.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Gustlick's Profile Image

Reviewed by Gustlick

Apr 8th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Illegally boosting their ratings!

My wife and I were shopping for house mortgages and we decided to go with BMO Harris Bank. However, after we got approved for a loan and realized the poor conditions that we were given we decided to withdraw our application and go with other competitors that offered us much better loans. A few months later, my wife and I received two separate letters from BMO Harris Bank stating that during a recent audit. It was discovered that our loan application was withdrawn in error and that instead the status of our old application was changed to "declined". We have voluntarily withdrawn our application from BMO Harris Bank and the decision of BMO Harris Bank to change our file from withdrawn to declined is absolutely incorrect and most likely illegal. This is exactly an example how banks can easily alter any information that will allowed them to get better rating. I wish there would be more government monitoring of such actions.

Also, once we decided to go with a different bank our loan agent at BMO quickly turned from friendly into rude and repelling person, which is a perfect example of just how fake they are.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Steve1947's Profile Image

Reviewed by Steve1947

Apr 3rd 2014

2 out of 5 marks

BMO is one el-cheapo bank

Our local BMO Bank in Wisconsin made it a point to get a Keurig Coffee maker for customers, so a customer doing a transaction could get a free cup of coffee. Well management decided that the BMO Bank would be losing money by giving free coffee to the average member so they hid the coffee maker in the back room and only give coffee to suckers getting a loan and only if that person asks for a coffee.

They make millions of dollars a day and can't afford a 10 cent cup of coffee. The Canadian Bank of Montreal says, "We focus on building relationships with a vision to be the bank that defines great customer experience." Yea! And a cup of coffee apparently is beyond that limit. You don't even get a free pen.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Nsxbill's Profile Image

Reviewed by Nsxbill

Apr 1st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Loan Sharks

In Arizona BMO obtained M/I bank. Previously I had an equity loan at interest only payments. BMO decided they will no longer offer this type of loan and I must change to a different type loan offered by BMO. However I was never informed of this change untill I was two months delinquent as my auto payment was discontinued. BMO then notified me of this with a $19,500.00 late fee without any detail or explanation.

Admittedly they overlooked my notification but insisted on me paying the erroneous fees anyway. I was forced to pay off this $390,000.00 loan in order to avoid the fees. I cashed in my 401K to accomplish this and am now searching for a new loan at any bank other than these loan sharks.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 0

MABurt's Profile Image

Reviewed by MABurt

Mar 18th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Professional at all levels

We have been with this branch since 1994 when it was Chesterton State Bank, then, INB, Mercantile and Harris. We are still being treated with the same professionalism and genuine customer care with the newest transition to BMO. BMO still holds our original mortgage, personal and money market accounts, and our IRA's.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

SoonToBeHomeless's Profile Image

Reviewed by SoonToBeHomeless

Mar 16th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Criminals!!!!

After never missing a payment, I got a call from BMO Harris say they are calling my HELOC. I need to pay the full amount or accept a 15-year-fixed loan at close to 10% interest rate. I can not afford either option. I can only afford my previous deal that I had been paying religiously for 4 years. They told me I needed to sign the loan docs anyway and just default on the loan. WTF? Is this legal? We will be homeless soon. My kids thank you BMO Harris!!! Canadian Cock Suckers!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

jgaworldwide's Profile Image

Reviewed by jgaworldwide

Mar 11th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

BMO Harris are criminals!

After doing business with BMO/Harris I have experienced some of the most corrupt practices in banking and have pulled all my accounts and businesses to other banks. The lending department has called a reassessment of my home equity line of credit after only using for 2 years for home improvements and are calling for the loan to be paid in full in 2 months or face foreclosure proceedings. I have always made my payments on time and have excellent credit. They are claiming they are no longer offering lines of credit anymore and will not negotiate my mortgage forcing me to make a full payment after just learning of this 1 week ago. I immediately got in touch with the Fed reserve complaints division of consumer complaints and have filed a complaint against them. How the bank knowingly gave me a guaranteed credit line only to be able to withdraw and call it due is down rite criminal behavior and should be illegal! Not only are they not willing to work with me on any solution, they have given me 2 months to pay or face action. I hope this helps other consumers from ever thinking of doing business with this scam of an institution based out of Canada! I can only imagine how many other peoples lives and credit will be destroyed from this dirty practice of forcing payment, knowing the average person can't come up with the full amount and forcing a family into foreclosure with good credit , just to be destroyed. BUYER BEWARE!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 0

CSnell's Profile Image

Reviewed by CSnell

Mar 8th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

online tools are behind and limited

For months I have been complaining to numerous people at the bank about bill pay limitations. Everybody is polite, agrees but nobody fixes it. I want to use online bill pay to pay a person who also has a BMO Harris account. Guess what .... the bank can only print and mail a check. I've even had the check sent to a Harris branch office for deposit and again they mail it to themselves! What century is this.

Furthermore, regardless if the check is mailed to the branch or to another address it NEVER has arrived on the due date (the date that I was given to me by bill pay). The funds should be shifted between accounts within 24 hours, not 6 days.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

victoriakirkland's Profile Image

Reviewed by victoriakirkland

Mar 5th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

I appy for a modification on my house loan which is equity line of credit. They did not give me help after 2 yrs.

how do I begin, I was deny a modification on my equity line of credit. It has been close to 2 years in the working. They finally deny me on Jan 2014. I was first deny in 2012.I went thru the affordable act hud housing counselors. BMO bank deny me because my interest was loan at that time. So I tried again in 2013 .I sent again all my paper work. Given another person to do my modification because the first person said to me that I would never get a modification. I reported her to the chairman of the board in Toronto Canada. He assign a new person to help me. Well guest after all this,after having people investigate my pass. They came up with that my credit report looks good. Now they have reported me to Transunion as being a charge-off with the intent of ruining my credit. I apply because I lost a 50,000 job, now only making 22,000. Please I need help! or I will loose my home of 13 yrs.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 4 ▼ No 0

cbtbkiwis's Profile Image

Reviewed by cbtbkiwis

Feb 19th 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Everytime I walk in all staff is very happy to see me and they know me personally by name for years.

The office manager Kim is just wonderful, she is so helpful all the time and will help you solve any problem you have in great detail.

My experience with her and most of her staff is superp. On the other hand when I call the customer service phone number unfortunately I do not get the same results, answers, or solving of problems. Therefore, I will always go or call this branch for my questions or concerns. Kim is definitely an asset to your Bank. She is a Keeper!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

RFFire's Profile Image

Reviewed by RFFire

Feb 15th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

This has continued to be an excellent bank through three changes of ownership

I've been banking with this organization for 37 years. When I started it was The Winnetka Bank, then Harris took it over and it became Harris Bank Winnetka, now it's BMO (Bank of Montreal) Harris. But although personnel and owners changed, the banks culture of fiscal integrity and courteous, explemplary service to customers did not. For example, when I once had an overdraft, the bank manager called me up to tell me so I could make arrangements to cover it. There was no overdraft charge. That was personal banking at its best.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

JAC1975's Profile Image

Reviewed by JAC1975

Feb 15th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

The staff is great and personable. They answer you questions and understand what genuine customer service is.

Incredible service! I have always had a great experience with BMO! Even when I had had concerns or frustration , they walk me through with online banking and business accounting. The online banking is fantastic, because I can customize my bill pay and it also calculates my balances for the future. They also actually have LIVE bankers you can call in those late hours when you have a question. I have had to use Chase before for a Girl Scout account and it was awful. I was rerouted to messages in circles. You do not get rerouted when you call BMO. You get what you need. I also was with BMO when they were M&I bank. They are the same great people and Joy, Laura, Jennifer, and the Branch Manager are incredible. There is no other bank like this!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

murrayp's Profile Image

Reviewed by murrayp

Feb 5th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible bureaucracy.....customers languish in underwriting hell.

Bank at your peril with BMO Harris!

I am a 35-year customer of Bank of Montreal in Canada and M&I Bank in Milwaukee. Once BMO acquired M&I Bank, customer service and responsiveness went into a bureaucratic black hole.

I originated a construction loan with BMO and was pre-approved for my mortgage amount. I supplied all requested financial and project documents and, despite being told that my application would be "no problem", I waited over 75 days to schedule a closing meeting.

I finally kicked off construction once I had missed my ability to start construction and enclose the house in cold weather. My builder's schedule was completely thrown off track.

I never got any clear explanation for the delays (delays in "underwriting") from BMO. Now, 5.5 months after originating the loan, I am trying to get the first bank disbursement to my builder and running into further delays requiring review by "underwriting". I cannot get a straight answer about what is required for the clean release of funds. This is after I purchased the land and paid the first 20% project cost with my own cash.

BEWARE! Expect an experience straight out of the Department of Motor Vehicles.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 1

Caucasus41's Profile Image

Reviewed by Caucasus41

Jan 29th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Unexpected Charges I was NOT Told About

Since November, they have been taking ten dollars from my checking account every month. When I opened my account four years ago, I was assured there would be neither fees nor service charges. But after a policy change last year, of which I was NOT informed, a restructuring of rates took place. Thus I had to maintain a *minimum* of $1,000 in the account or I would be charged every month. As a college student, I have *never* had more that $20 in my pocket, let alone $1,000 at any given time. Now I'm being charged money because I don't have enough? What kind of backwards, Catch-22 rational can possibly justify such a policy? "Theft" is the only word that comes to mind in this situation of blatant capitalist greed.

Based on some of the other reviews here by people with more compounding issues (such as loans and mortgage rates, etc.) this complaint may not seem noteworthy. But as a college student, every cent counts. When I found out that every month Harris Bank had been stealing my money, I immediately closed my account. Never again will I use a bank to store my hard earned currency. I do not recommend Harris Bank to anyone with integrity or principles.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 1

law's Profile Image

Reviewed by law

Jan 28th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Borderline Horrible.

Never used to have issues with BMO Harris when they were M&I. Once they became BMO, have had nothing but problems. They are constantly changing their policies etc., so often that it is impossible to keep up with the changes. One day they have overdraft protection, the next, my account is being charged just shy of 100 dollars for an 'over-draft' fee, although I ALWAYS use my debit card and NEVER write checks. Sure they like to make it look like they care by sending you all sorts of information via mail. The amount of reading material would keep me 'busy' for days, sorting through the information to find anything useful, or just making sense out of it. Bottom line, they like to string you along, and no one there really seems to know the rhyme or reason behind the things they do. Outrageous fees and random charges will surely be coming your way if you choose to bank with BMO Harris. Consider this a fair warning for someone who has been with this business for about 7 years, and has grown tired of the instability, and lack of control over my OWN money. Will be switching my 'banking' to a credit union as soon as I am able.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

bitemyorifice's Profile Image

Reviewed by bitemyorifice

Jan 23rd 2014

2 out of 5 marks

BMO must stand for Blow Me Off

My circumstances are similar to review posted by boogieboyzgirl

Have my mortgage with Harris for 15 years and a HELOC for 10. Balloon payment was due in November, began the process of combining both loans in October, but was denied for various reasons. Never a late payment, 780 credit score and 50%+ equity in home. Now I can't get financing because the 11 weeks they jerked me around made the HELOC delinquent. Can't wait to pull all my accounts from them....not that they would notice.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 6 ▼ No 0

frida's Profile Image

Reviewed by frida

Jan 17th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Worst ever.

We just opened 4 business accounts in Marco Island branch. And yesterday came to the drive thru. The teller was so rude and it took close to 45 minutes to process my three deposits. Also she told me I have to fix my bills in perfect order cause next time she will return my deposits. Since when can a teller make a decision to reject a customer's deposit? Too bad.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 4 ▼ No 0

Post a review