Overall Rating

MyBankTracker Grade

B
Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Number of Locations
Mobile Deposits
Mobile Banking

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »

699
Branch Locations

BMO Harris Bank Location Map
We found branches close to you.

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank News
CIT Bank
Add
Bank News
Charter One Bank
Add
Bank News
KeyBank
Add
Compare Banks

BMO Harris Bank Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction

BMO Harris Bank Latest Customer Reviews

Bears's Profile Image

Reviewed by Bears

Jan 6th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Dealt with manager(Nancy Ventrella) and have never been treated more professionally or with more empathy than she showed

I needed some advice about consolidating accounts and about managing my banking matters more efficiently .

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 1

Jeanith's Profile Image

Reviewed by Jeanith

Nov 22nd 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Stay Away-Horrible Bank with rude customer service

I became a customer through acquisition. Immediately BMO Harris held my deposit for twleve (yes, 12) days! The check I deposited came from another family member. I was able to product the cleared and cancelled check to BMO Harris, but they still would not release the funds. In adidition to holding that deposit, they gave me a "0" available funds balance...even though I had a little over $400.00 in account before the transition. I am checking with the Attorney General about the legality of this move. They charged me a 35.00 fee, as during the "hold" time I did have one check presented for payment and it did not clear due to the fact they were holding my deposit. I was given the name and number of someone in Chicago who personally puts "holds" on deposits. Needless to say, I was not able to reach this person.

Save yourself the headache of dealing with these people. Go to a bank that wants your business.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ettucat's Profile Image

Reviewed by ettucat

Apr 10th 2011

5 out of 5 marks

Excellent personal service. I feel confident in the experience of those I am dealing with.

I appreciate a bank that tends to be more on the conservative side. It is those banks that did not mind the store, that have put the finances of their customers in jeopardy.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

SteveP's Profile Image

Reviewed by SteveP

Dec 31st 2013

5 out of 5 marks

Great for business banking.

The bankers have always been good at what they do -- never a long wait, thorough, helpful, and adept. We have never paid a fee as a business customer for anything other than bounced customer checks.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

jameyhickey's Profile Image

Reviewed by jameyhickey

Jul 31st 2014

4 out of 5 marks

wonderful

I have been with them for years. Never had a problem, the staff is great and knows my family by name. This is the inly bank ive ever had that I truely felt comfortable with.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

MABurt's Profile Image

Reviewed by MABurt

Mar 18th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Professional at all levels

We have been with this branch since 1994 when it was Chesterton State Bank, then, INB, Mercantile and Harris. We are still being treated with the same professionalism and genuine customer care with the newest transition to BMO. BMO still holds our original mortgage, personal and money market accounts, and our IRA's.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

SisterMadge's Profile Image

Reviewed by SisterMadge

Sep 11th 2013

4 out of 5 marks

Friendly, Helpful and Efficient

I find the staff at the Roosevelt Rd. Branch very kind and helpful. They always are ready to help. They are efficient yet friendly and I appreciate their kind manner; this is a good combination.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

RFFire's Profile Image

Reviewed by RFFire

Feb 15th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

This has continued to be an excellent bank through three changes of ownership

I've been banking with this organization for 37 years. When I started it was The Winnetka Bank, then Harris took it over and it became Harris Bank Winnetka, now it's BMO (Bank of Montreal) Harris. But although personnel and owners changed, the banks culture of fiscal integrity and courteous, explemplary service to customers did not. For example, when I once had an overdraft, the bank manager called me up to tell me so I could make arrangements to cover it. There was no overdraft charge. That was personal banking at its best.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

JAC1975's Profile Image

Reviewed by JAC1975

Feb 15th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

The staff is great and personable. They answer you questions and understand what genuine customer service is.

Incredible service! I have always had a great experience with BMO! Even when I had had concerns or frustration , they walk me through with online banking and business accounting. The online banking is fantastic, because I can customize my bill pay and it also calculates my balances for the future. They also actually have LIVE bankers you can call in those late hours when you have a question. I have had to use Chase before for a Girl Scout account and it was awful. I was rerouted to messages in circles. You do not get rerouted when you call BMO. You get what you need. I also was with BMO when they were M&I bank. They are the same great people and Joy, Laura, Jennifer, and the Branch Manager are incredible. There is no other bank like this!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

ConnieT's Profile Image

Reviewed by ConnieT

Apr 9th 2013

4 out of 5 marks

Fraudulent purchase on my debit card

I discovered my checking account balance was a negative amount when I tried to take money from the ATM -- this was quite a shock since I always have money to cover withdrawals. I found out my card # had been stolen and used in Miami, Fl. the prior day; they tried to use it twice but were denied due to insufficient funds. I was very distraught and Angela Fisher/Fischler (?) was so reassuring and helped me through the process to report the issue and complete the paperwork. My bad experience with the stolen funds was offset by the great customer service Angela provided -- her reassurance and confident steps to resolve my issue was very appreciated. Thank you Angela for helping me out!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Flickinger's Profile Image

Reviewed by Flickinger

Oct 16th 2013

4 out of 5 marks

Excellent

I needed some help from the irving park branch. I was placed on hold. When the very pleasant operator came back on the line, she offered to take a message for me. Mary, the head teller, promptly called me back, listened to my problem, and found a solution. She was helpful, businesslike, and is a true credit to bmo. It is nice to know, when an issue comes up, there are bankers like mary, who know their business and help. I hope you realize what an asset she is to your bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 2

mkmcclure's Profile Image

Reviewed by mkmcclure

Jun 18th 2012

4 out of 5 marks

Thoroughly professional and friendly.

I would agree that many of their banking products are not the most competitive: MMAs, home mortgages, savings accounts. However, I have always had consistently solid and knowledgeable customer service. Yes, the wait for a banker is often too long--especially on Saturdays.

Harris was especially great in the 1990s when longtime customers received free family photo every year and it was more connected to the individuals. I do miss this and I really dislike the BMO added to Harris. It looks stupid and sounds awful.

Despite this loss of connectivity, I always find competent bankers who go the extra mile for us.

I would agree that the online banking does seem down too often and the upgrade in the fall of 2011 was truly annoying in both having to re-enter information and also in the initial look and feel. It has improved though.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Ckm58attnet's Profile Image

Reviewed by Ckm58attnet

Aug 1st 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Tthis

This branch of BMO Harris is just fine. They have always been professional and helpful. I have no complaints.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

Ryan T's Profile Image

Reviewed by Ryan T

Dec 11th 2011

3 out of 5 marks

A Canadian-Run Bank I Just Feel More Confident In.

My biggest gripe is that online banking is down for maintenance every time i really need it. Ive never had a bank that had online banking downtime. Its kind of ridiculous. As far as customer service, coming from TCF, it is a night/day experience. Friendly and accommodating, and most importantly, knowledgeable. Deposits are processed quickly, as are electronic transactions (paypal fund transfers, etc), which is very important to me. Could still be better, but much quicker than my previous bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

dmzjournalism's Profile Image

Reviewed by dmzjournalism

Aug 9th 2012

3 out of 5 marks

Doing A Story On BMO Harris Bank

BMO Harris customers! I am a journalist for the medill news service in chicago and i am doing an outlook story on bmo harris bank. I need to talk to people who like/dislike, are happy/not-so-happy, love/hate the bank. If you are a current customer or former customer, i need to talk to you.

please contact me as soon as possible. And if there are other outlets customers use, please let me know so i can reach out there. Thank you!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Dauntless's Profile Image

Reviewed by Dauntless

Aug 3rd 2012

3 out of 5 marks

Some Good News and Bad News about the Harris Trust Department

I am overseeing my uncle's trust at Harris, worth 1,600,000 and I have some good information and a growing bad opinion about the Harris Trust Dept. The million dollar trust was established by my uncle about 5 years ago and passed to my aunt, who died in Feb 2012.

The administration of the trust for the last 3 years has been done by a team led by Jo Ellyn Treadman, in the Rockford branch. I cannot say enough superb things about the level of professional and personal customer service that Rockford branch has given me and the two families who are the heirs. Jo Ellyn has been personally "as good as it gets" and her team is likewise first class.

Unfortunately, when my aunt died there was an effort to move control of the funds to the Chicago office, and I got a call from a vice president saying it would be 9 months before there was a partial distribution of the trust, which Jo Ellyn's team had grown to $1.6m. The remainder of the trust would be distributed in about a year. I objected, since I spent a career in corporate finance and I knew a year was totally outrageous and downright irresponsible. Not to mention that the money would likely be parked in an account bearing interest to Harris.

Since I objected so intelligently, they transferred the trust back to the Rockford team. The funds were then promptly closed and ready to be distributed in less than 4 months, instead of 9.

Unfortunately, the distribution of the trust is now back in hands outside of the management by Jo Ellyn and the Rockford team. As of today, 8/3, it has been a month and I have had no contact, no status, no courtesy call, no plan, and apparently no interest in customer satisfaction from the Closing Unit of the trust department.

I am now in the process of trying to track down a name, or just a phone number, in the Closing Unit in order to get a status of this $1.6m cash they are holding. You can try yourself, but I assure you it is as if they want to hide this department under a rock somewhere so as not to have to pay out

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

cbtbkiwis's Profile Image

Reviewed by cbtbkiwis

Feb 19th 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Everytime I walk in all staff is very happy to see me and they know me personally by name for years.

The office manager Kim is just wonderful, she is so helpful all the time and will help you solve any problem you have in great detail.

My experience with her and most of her staff is superp. On the other hand when I call the customer service phone number unfortunately I do not get the same results, answers, or solving of problems. Therefore, I will always go or call this branch for my questions or concerns. Kim is definitely an asset to your Bank. She is a Keeper!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Steve1947's Profile Image

Reviewed by Steve1947

Apr 3rd 2014

2 out of 5 marks

BMO is one el-cheapo bank

Our local BMO Bank in Wisconsin made it a point to get a Keurig Coffee maker for customers, so a customer doing a transaction could get a free cup of coffee. Well management decided that the BMO Bank would be losing money by giving free coffee to the average member so they hid the coffee maker in the back room and only give coffee to suckers getting a loan and only if that person asks for a coffee.

They make millions of dollars a day and can't afford a 10 cent cup of coffee. The Canadian Bank of Montreal says, "We focus on building relationships with a vision to be the bank that defines great customer experience." Yea! And a cup of coffee apparently is beyond that limit. You don't even get a free pen.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

LindaKenny's Profile Image

Reviewed by LindaKenny

Sep 18th 2013

2 out of 5 marks

disappointed

After banking with BMO for 30+ years, they would not release even a partial hold they put on when I cashed in part of my RRSP from another financial company. It really is sad, there is no advantage in staying at your bank long term.

One cannot really rate this experience. It has nothing to do with bank rates or fees. Customer service? Is it just policy now?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

bhattara's Profile Image

Reviewed by bhattara

Aug 23rd 2013

2 out of 5 marks

Definitely lost a step

I am very disappointed with this bank. In the past when it was MI bank it was great customer service.

No it is really changed after the merger with BMO.

I was very happy with MI not with them

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jhman's Profile Image

Reviewed by jhman

Aug 13th 2012

2 out of 5 marks

Treated with disrespect and humiliation

All of our finances (and they are considerable) flow through BMO Harris. First mortgage, HELOC, 2 personal checking accts and our business operating acct. Need a simple 1 page Quit Claim Deed document notarized and witnessed. After BMO Harris notarized the document, I was told by the personal banker, and I quote, "we cannot provide witness because we cannot determine if your are of sound mind". To make this worse, it was in front of other customers. My mind has been "sound enough" to give 10 years of loyal banking to this company. Does that not entitle me to at least some basic respect and consideration? My (now) ex personal banker, Manoj Enas, not only made me feel like a jerk, but has no concept of the customer experience. As a successful small business owner, I am not looking for a handout. Just a little help, service and consideration when I need it. What is the problem with providing witness to a notarized simple document. This was not a complicated contract. Just a transfer of ownership of one of our single family investment properties from our LLC back to our personal names. The branch manager, a young women who has no concept of real customer service described this to me as a "perception issue" Who's perception? I placed my life savings at risk to build a small business and after 6 years of hard work and some luck I have been able to enjoy some success. What is wrong with you BMO Harris? How can you not provide simple help like this to the lifeblood of this country. Maybe things are done differently in Canada. ????

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

maryforshay's Profile Image

Reviewed by maryforshay

Nov 4th 2011

2 out of 5 marks

Service Is Terrible - Have To Wait In Drive Up Sometimes 5 To 10 Minutes For Teller To Arrive.

Opened acct over year ago. Went in last year to rent safety deposit box. Only 1 banker in bank and she kept me waiting 20 minutes while she did desk work. I left w/o box. Went back this year to try again. Two bankers present, male on left was busy w/ customers, female on right looked right at me, stood up, grabbed purse and left bank. Male on right came out and said he'd be with me shortly.

I asked if he was only one available and he stated he was. I again removed myself and went to another bank and was immediately helped - in and out in 15 minutes. I called branch manager to register my unhappiness and was enlightened to all her problems of staff shortages and no business blah, blah. No wonder no business - service is lousy.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

bitemyorifice's Profile Image

Reviewed by bitemyorifice

Jan 23rd 2014

2 out of 5 marks

BMO must stand for Blow Me Off

My circumstances are similar to review posted by boogieboyzgirl

Have my mortgage with Harris for 15 years and a HELOC for 10. Balloon payment was due in November, began the process of combining both loans in October, but was denied for various reasons. Never a late payment, 780 credit score and 50%+ equity in home. Now I can't get financing because the 11 weeks they jerked me around made the HELOC delinquent. Can't wait to pull all my accounts from them....not that they would notice.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 6 ▼ No 0

frida's Profile Image

Reviewed by frida

Jan 17th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Worst ever.

We just opened 4 business accounts in Marco Island branch. And yesterday came to the drive thru. The teller was so rude and it took close to 45 minutes to process my three deposits. Also she told me I have to fix my bills in perfect order cause next time she will return my deposits. Since when can a teller make a decision to reject a customer's deposit? Too bad.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 4 ▼ No 0

Sulsers's Profile Image

Reviewed by Sulsers

Jul 9th 2013

2 out of 5 marks

It has been going downhill since Harris took over Amcore then BMO took over Harris.

This bank is not for the little people. My husband used to be able to get cash from his payroll deposit as his paycheck was drawn on Harris bank. Now he must wait until the next day, even though the check is drawn on their bank.

We have enjoyed being able to use our debit card at many different local gas stations without cost. BMO has started charging for those withdrawals. In fact, the afore mentioned gas stations now are using another bank for their ATMs.

If a process happens and it could go either way, the bank always wins whether they are correct or not. If an account is low on funds, this bank will take the largest credit first so they can charge for any overage.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

dct73's Profile Image

Reviewed by dct73

Dec 19th 2012

2 out of 5 marks

Three Calls To Find Out If I Wrote A Particular Check Last Year And Still Don't Know.

Horrible, horrible, horrible. Since BMO took over m&i bank i can't find out a thing. Online history is all of two months. What good is that? The first time i called they told me to drive to a local branch. Wth? That was after i was on hold for over twenty minutes. Then when i asked about complaining about the long hold time she hung up on me. That was my second call. The first went little better. The third call was to my local branch where i was told she wasn't sure they could back as far a a year and nobody could help me anyways because they were all busy. Take my advice and steer way clear of this bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

higgins16comcastne's Profile Image

Reviewed by higgins16comcastne

Apr 12th 2011

2 out of 5 marks

up to recent changes in online banking, no problems except if you go into the bank, not enough bankers.

The new online banking system is more difficult to use and really not secure.

I spent an hour on the phone with their help system enrolling myself and then my husband got on the phone to enroll. You would think we are both enrolled. Wrong, now my husband can go on the computer using my password and it states "welcome

and then his name, not mine. The bill pay screen is another sign on. They tell me in June it will all merge--I'm scared! I don't see any advantage to the changes. I'm looking for a new bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 0

GaryR's Profile Image

Reviewed by GaryR

Apr 18th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Nothing good to say about BMO harris

I had a 10 year equity loan that matured and having a hell of a time trying to get a modification, I truly believe they are trying to foreclose on my home, still making my monthly payments on time and they gave me a past 30 days on my credit report even though we are still working on a modification, I believe they are trying to screw up my credit so no other Bank will give me a loan.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

CARLDHUGHES's Profile Image

Reviewed by CARLDHUGHES

Nov 15th 2013

2 out of 5 marks

The most inept experience I have ever had with any bank trying to secure a line of credit!

I applied for a line of credit a month ago. For all intents and purposes the loan was approved two weeks ago, because the bank filed and received a loss payee on my homeowners insurance policy. I have contacted my banker and she cannot explain why the approval to close the loan has not been given. This in spite of several calls to the people in charge of giving the O. K. No one seems to know what the problem can be at the lending facility. I have dealt with banks for over 50 years, borrowed several hundred thousand dollars and have never encountered such disregard for customers.

CARL D. HUGHES

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

kathy123's Profile Image

Reviewed by kathy123

Sep 4th 2013

2 out of 5 marks

bank tellers are horrible.

-2975 cedar glade drive -

bank tellers are really really horrible in this branch. Specially there is a lady who doesn't know how to talk to customers. i don't think she is working in the drive through section. i always met her inside the bank teller counter. Someone should teach her how to treat customers. she doesn't know she is surviving because of the customers.

There is an another BMO harris bank in eola junction. please try to learn from them. Because that branch is awesome. They highly respect to the customers and service is simply awesome.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Post a review