B MyBankTracker Rating

BMO Harris Bank Customer Reviews

(144 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 6
4 Star 3
3 Star 9
2 Star 10
1 Star 116

The Most Helpful BMO Harris Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Jeanith Nov 22, 2012

Stay Away-Horrible Bank with rude customer service

I became a customer through acquisition. Immediately BMO Harris held my deposit for twleve (yes, 12) days! The check I deposited came from another family member. I was able to product the cleared and cancelled check to BMO Harris, but they still would not release the funds. In adidition to holding that deposit, they gave me a "0" available funds balance...even though I had a little over $400.00 in account before the transition. I am checking with the Attorney General about the legality of this move. They charged me a 35.00 fee, as during the "hold" time I did have one check presented for payment and it did not clear due to the fact they were holding my deposit. I was given the name and number of someone in Chicago who personally puts "holds" on deposits. Needless to say, I was not able to reach this person.
Save yourself the headache of dealing with these people. Go to a bank that wants your business.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By jgaworldwide Mar 11, 2014

BMO Harris are criminals!

After doing business with BMO/Harris I have experienced some of the most corrupt practices in banking and have pulled all my accounts and businesses to other banks. The lending department has called a reassessment of my home equity line of credit after only using for 2 years for home improvements and are calling for the loan to be paid in full in 2 months or face foreclosure proceedings. I have always made my payments on time and have excellent credit. They are claiming they are no longer offering lines of credit anymore and will not negotiate my mortgage forcing me to make a full payment after just learning of this 1 week ago. I immediately got in touch with the Fed reserve complaints division of consumer complaints and have filed a complaint against them. How the bank knowingly gave me a guaranteed credit line only to be able to withdraw and call it due is down rite criminal behavior and should be illegal! Not only are they not willing to work with me on any solution, they have given me 2 months to pay or face action. I hope this helps other consumers from ever thinking of doing business with this scam of an institution based out of Canada! I can only imagine how many other peoples lives and credit will be destroyed from this dirty practice of forcing payment, knowing the average person can't come up with the full amount and forcing a family into foreclosure with good credit , just to be destroyed. BUYER BEWARE!!!

Is this review helpful?

Latest BMO Harris Bank Reviews

  • D
    Reviewed By djc May 3, 2016

    Worse experiance of my life

    A local bank was bought out by BMO Harris. We have a family trust and are trying to cash it out. The BMO rates to hold the trust are absolutely ridiculous. Now it is taking weeks for what should take a couple of days. We are not informed on the status, statements are always late, would never ever use BMO again in my life. What they do may be legal in Canada but I am sure at minimum they border illegal in the US. The US government should follow the lead of Ireland and go after this bank.

    Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By rosnerge Apr 29, 2016

    The Absolute worst

    We applied for a refinance loan in January 2016.. It is now the end of April and it is still "being worked on". We are done with them,, This has been the worst financial experience I have ever been involved in. I could write a book on how not to treat your customers. We have been loyal to Harris for 30 years. It means nothing. I can only say if you are looking for a mortgage or a refinance, do NOT go to Harris Bank..

    Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By Terryteal Apr 26, 2016

    Worst bank

    This bank sits in your payment sent by u.s.mail for at least 14 days so they can charge late fee. They will charge you fee to pay online , they are crooks pain and simple

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jdeocampo Apr 22, 2016

    Bank Manager AMIT BODIWALA is a jerk!

    Do not trust this bank manager with anything especially your money. He is unethical, money hungry unprincipled businessman. Don't be fooled by his sweet talk, He will try to get away with anything. I was planning to transfer my account to this bank when I learned he worked here. Too bad. They just lost my business.

    Is this review helpful?
  • W
    Reviewed By WIBookLover Apr 11, 2016

    Beware!

    After using our homeowner's line of credit to pay for college costs we got the surprise of our life last November when the ENTIRE loan was called in during our son's senior year. Then BMO Harris said we didn't have enough income to qualify to refinance and roll the line of credit into our first mortgage.

    We took everything to our local credit union who not only wrote the loan for the amount of the first and second mortgage but dropped our interest rate over one percent with minimal closing costs.

    I had to give them one star but in my opinion, they don't even deserve that!

    Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By ccc Apr 4, 2016

    Corrupt deceitful and illegal practices

    BMO sucks!!! They are the most corrupt bank I've ever dealt with! Can't wait for them to get nailed by the law abiding citizens of America! With all the illegal practices they commit I'm sure it's just a matter of time before an enormous class action lawsuit against them comes forth! Don't be afraid people,stand up for your rights!! Stay far away from this bank people, they are up to no good but they will be caught!!

    Is this review helpful?
  • F
    Reviewed By FrankLa Mar 19, 2016

    Excellent Bank

    The BMO Harris Bank in Fitchburg has some of the most friendly employees out of all of the BMO Harris Banks in the area. Anytime that I have had questions or needed help with something they are always quick to help me. They have popcorn on Fridays! If you are looking for a bank in Madison, check this one out!

    Is this review helpful?
  • Z
    Reviewed By Zabook Mar 17, 2016

    The Best Bank Ever

    This is a bank with the best people:
    Mandanlal
    Shweta (new employee)
    Shiraz Khan
    Curtis
    I don't remember names of rest but each and every person is the best

    Manish Patel, P.E
    CEO/Chief Engineer
    Ability Rockroad Paving
    United Road Service
    1021 N. Wood Dale Road
    Wood Dale, IL 60007

    Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By LisaTruth Feb 19, 2016

    Poor Management/Overturn of Management excessive

    Branch management turns over, it seems, twice a year. This branch has some excellent, long term employee tellers, sadly the most recent management lacks social skill, consistency, and are overall rude. If BMO is unable to keep "management" longer than even a year at any location, how exactly is BMO creating any long term buiseness relationships?

    With No established relationship, at different BMO facility, I was able to Easily Accomplish three tasks denied by this location. Really, that is inexcusable.

    Put people back in the bank--less policy.

    Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By NoToBMO Feb 7, 2016

    The worst bank I have ever dealt with

    I have been banking with BMO for 8 years. I had a nice community bank that Harris bought, then they merged with BMO. Over the last 8 years I have had my account number stolen (never the physical card, mind you) no less than 10 times. Getting my money back has been a challenge each time and I have lost over $1000 when they were not able to "prove" I didn't spend it. Right, I booked two hotel rooms in Australia, where I have never been! I have had my account used in France multiple times, again, never been there, and now someone is donating my money to GofundMe accounts! On top of that the security is ridiculous, I am constantly getting locked out of my account and getting it unlocked is a pain in the ass. They have never had my business tax id number right and my business partner is never authorized on the account, no matter how many times I give authorization. Just overall a nightmare. Why do I stay? I DON'T KNOW! It used to be just too much hassle to get all my business and personal auto withdrawals updated. Well not anymore! I am pulling my money out TOMORROW! I can no longer justify staying at a bank where the security measures seem to only keep me from my money while criminals seem to have no problem stealing it.

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.