A+ MyBankTracker Rating

Barclays Bank Customer Reviews

(29 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 2
4 Star 4
3 Star 3
2 Star 3
1 Star 17

The Most Helpful Barclays Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Carl H. Jan 16, 2014

I currently have checking, savings, and CD's at Ally Bank, but need better interest rates, so came to Barclays Bank.

Setting up an online account will take you awhile. It will also test your patience, but once you get it down, you will be amazed at how good this bank has become. Since they currently do not offer checking accounts, I would strongly recommend opening your checking at Ally Bank on line, then establish a direct transfer of funds from Ally to Barclay (FREE) to deposit your savings as Barclays. They are #1 for interest rates at the present time in the US. Trust me, if there were better banks than Ally and Barclay, I wouldn't be with them. You can find all banking information online. I have an account with Bank of America and they are the worst of the worst, they will be closing their doors any day now and leaving the customers holding only the FDIC funds, they suck big time!

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Jackson C. Oct 27, 2015

BARCLAYCARD: UNFAIR MISLEADING, STAY AWAY!!!

I accumulated over 111,000 miles on my Barclaycard arrival card account. worth at least $1110 if redeemed for travel related purchases. the Bank decided that giving 2.2% on all purchases is to custy to them, so they closed my account for no reason and are refusing to give me my rewards.

Is this review helpful?

Latest Barclays Bank Reviews

  • D
    Reviewed By Daniellehernandez Feb 9, 2016

    Waiting forever

    If you are about to open an account in Barclays don't do it!!!! Every time I have to talk to an advisor it takes up to 2 hours.

    Is this review helpful?
  • G
    Reviewed By geoffbainbridge Feb 5, 2016

    Barclay customer for 45 years then insulted by customer service

    My wife and I have been Barclays customers for over 45 years , never in debt , always in credit . In fact we never had an overdraft . I went into the Kendal Barclays Branch to try and sort a problem out with my daughters account , now I understand they cant talk about the account detail as is not my account . I tried to explain I just want to talk about the way she was being treated , my daughter suffers from bipolar and struggles under stress . I was completely insulted by the muppet who was in the bank hall , he kept going into the back office to consult his master . I was told they would not talk to me at all, whne i said I was going to close our accounts he was still not interested in even finding out what was my problem . When i said my only option was to go to the banking ombudsman he said i should go there . Absolutely unbelievable treatment . Closing my account is to easy form them , I am going to make it my mission in life to make this the most expensive free account they have .

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By joanntim Jan 15, 2016

    Is anyone Home?

    I'm not a puppy, I've been around for MANY years and I have never dealt with a more disorganized, non transparent bank EVER.
    They have held Almost $4400 in an account that they took over from US Airways and since December 8, we have been attempting to speak to management to get this money back and can't get anyone in upper management to expedite or even deal with a person with some degree of intellect. Am not sure the people have any education past high school. We have dealt with approximately 10 people, and have never gotten past a supervisor, who was a glorified phone person. Beyond frustrating. They tell us the account is closed, but still have not released the money. DO NOT use this bank. It's just a ridiculous, pathetic example of banking with Barclay.

    Is this review helpful?
  • JC
    Reviewed By Jackson C. Oct 27, 2015

    BARCLAYCARD: UNFAIR MISLEADING, STAY AWAY!!!

    I accumulated over 111,000 miles on my Barclaycard arrival card account. worth at least $1110 if redeemed for travel related purchases. the Bank decided that giving 2.2% on all purchases is to custy to them, so they closed my account for no reason and are refusing to give me my rewards.

    Is this review helpful?
  • W
    Reviewed By walshy5050 Oct 23, 2015

    barclays bank

    Barclays bank is very poor avoid at all cost. my wife got a letter from Barclays bank saying there has been a missed payment on our loan she rang the bank and they went through every payment and was told no payments have ever been missed and they carnt understand why
    6 weeks into this and Barclays don't care and keep swoping us from department to department and keep getting told different things one lady told us out right that ( you will not seek legal advise ) very poor customer and speak to you like crap.
    Very unprofessional

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By julmar Oct 16, 2015

    highest fee paid in my life

    Ridiculous fee in Cash advance. Never seen that fee in other cards i have. I call and wrote to the bank to see if we can deal the fee. But no happy medium. I know other banks you explain a situation and if is the first time they deal with you. But this bank doesnt.

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By johno Sep 14, 2015

    Savings Account Set Up

    I have been in the process of setting up a new on-line savings account and like most on-line banks they do a test with two deposits of a few cents and then verify such. With Barclays they withdrew my initial deposit prior to any test deposits. That maybe ok but now I can't even log on to their web page because I have to verify the two test deposits which have not occurred. Calling their 800 number it tells me that it does not recognize my phone and I need to reset my pin number.......I don't have a number only pin number. When speaking with two people they say I should have read the fine print. REALLY????? Now I have to wait for the test deposits and then 5 days to close the account......What a mess this company is. Beware

    Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By lexyluvsny Mar 5, 2015

    Impossible to Put Money Into Bank

    I have their dream account that says you can't deposit more than $1,000 a month. Fine...however if there's even a penny more - such as you set-up the account for ACH transfers from another bank - they reject the deposit! My payroll department took this bank off of my direct deposit because their deposits kept getting rejected. I added this account to 2 of my other banks - again they made "trial deposits" so when I tried to deposit $1K into the account - REJECTION!! Even when the bank removes their trial deposits - you can't make your $1k deposit because 38 cents WAS in your account!! It's insane!! And customer service can't help - I ask if an exception can be made - we are talking PENNIES here - no there's nothing they can do!! I've never seen a bank that doesn't want your money or business because I'm done with these stupid "rejections"

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By dianelee99 Feb 27, 2015

    Barclays is sexist!


    I want to warn all women about how sexist they are. Although I was the primary earner and that was obvious, they only took direction from my partner. He used this advantage to screw me out of all my money and possessions while I was working abroad. Barclay's attitude was that he was in the right, that I wasn't worth listening to and if I couldn't come to the bank they would take his direction. I was working in Denmark and he managed to restrict the accounts so that I couldn't even purchase an airline ticket, in addition to the fact that I needed to work during the week and Barclays is only open during the week, they wouldn't even consider making an appointment early Monday or late Friday to accommodate my flight schedule. I had to have a friend purchase an airline ticket to get me home. Of course he was the bastard, but Barclays certainly helped him even when it was obvious that I was the one earning. I figure that the bastard owes me close to half a million pounds and that Barclays assisted him with at least a hundred grand of that.

    Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By turningintoacockroach Jan 25, 2015

    Dealing with this bank is like Kafka's Metamorphasis

    I hold financial Power of Attorney (POA) over my father's accounts. I called Barclays customer service to make sure there was not going to be an issue with setting up a CD account for my father. They assured me that all I needed to do was set up the account online in my father's name and then fax the POA document once the account was established. I entered the information necessary to set up the account and then pressed enter. Half an hour later, the screen still showed that the application was processing. I realized that I had forgotten to enter a beneficiary, so I closed the window and attempted to re-enter the application. The application would not let me back in and urged me to call customer service, so I did so. Customer service then told me that they would not be able to give me any information about the application unless they could speak to my father. I explained that my father could not speak to them, which is why I have POA. They said that they could not speak to me without a POA, but that I could not send them a POA document until the application had been approved, putting me in the absurd situation of being unable to do anything to move forward on setting up this account. At this point, I no longer had any interest in an account with a bank that would force me into such an absurd situation. Even the customer service agent acknowledged the absurdity of the situation. I asked that they delete the application as they were obviously not interested in my father's business.

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.