A+ MyBankTracker Rating

American Express Customer Reviews

(15 Reviews)
3 out of 5 stars
5 Star 3
4 Star 2
3 Star 1
2 Star 2
1 Star 7

The Most Helpful American Express Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By comrjava Feb 13, 2016

Never once a problem in years!

I have made various deposits and withdrawal of many months and always satisfied with the service. Interest rate, while seems low from years back, stays far above banks and many CD's without tying up funds for any amount of time. Some folks might not understand that this is not a debit card and it might take a day or two to complete a transfer.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By harrington.edward1@gmail.com Oct 10, 2014

Very Disappointing Customer Service

I tried to make an online transfer to my brokerage account. The transaction was blocked for no good reason. Then customer service said they could not help me or remove the block until tuesday when the corporate office is open again from 9am to 5pm. That's not customer service.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest American Express Reviews

  • A
    Reviewed By AmexCustomer Apr 13, 2016

    Great Savings Bank

    I see a lot of posts about the Amex credit cards, complaining about this or that, but I'm puzzled because this bank is all about savings, not the credit cards. As a bank, I've had savings here since I first found out about it several years ago. I have no complaints except they aren't offering a top tier rate. I started looking elsewhere recently for that marginal edge because my wealth advisor pays no interest on cash. These days, with low interest rates the norm, getting 1% is still over 10% better than getting .9%, which is what Amex pays at this time. After looking for a higher yield and seeing lots of negative comments about Dime, Synchrony and EverBank, all who pay more than AmEx Bank, I decided to check AmEx Bank to see the reviews of the company I'm using as a baseline. My own experience is 5-stars, except for the lower rate, and I was surprised to see all the negative reviews. Some are much worse than the banks I'm considering, which really surprised me. I eliminated the credit card complaints because they don't apply, but was astounded to see all the customer service complaints. I put AmEx customer service at the top of the heap, and AmEx Bank is no exception. Transfers, both in and out, have always been quick, usually one day but never more than 3 business days, but prudence has me always allowing a day longer that it really takes if I'm transferring into my checking account. My calls to Customer Service have always been handled quickly and completely, as I expect from AmEx. I use AmEx Bank as a leveling factor on my checking account at a local bank. I sweep money into AmEx when I don't need it right away, and move money from AmEx into checking when I see the account heading negative. I keep $500 in the local bank's savings account, at almost zero interest, and have it tied to the checking as first overdraft protection, but back that up with a $5000 no-charge-until-used credit line should I screw-up and do a big overdraft. So I have a back-up plan in case the Internet goes down. I run a cash flow spreadsheet that looks several months out, so I don't usually have surprises at all, which is great for peace of mind. So should I forego the even higher interest rates in exchange for the AmEx service and peace of mind of being tied to such a strong company. I wish everyone could have had my positive experience with this great, albeit relatively expensive, company. I'm truly sorry that some people have had a bad experience.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By comrjava Feb 13, 2016

    Never once a problem in years!

    I have made various deposits and withdrawal of many months and always satisfied with the service. Interest rate, while seems low from years back, stays far above banks and many CD's without tying up funds for any amount of time. Some folks might not understand that this is not a debit card and it might take a day or two to complete a transfer.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • H
    Reviewed By harrington.edward1@gmail.com Oct 10, 2014

    Very Disappointing Customer Service

    I tried to make an online transfer to my brokerage account. The transaction was blocked for no good reason. Then customer service said they could not help me or remove the block until tuesday when the corporate office is open again from 9am to 5pm. That's not customer service.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By trav2437 Aug 14, 2014

    Very surprised to read the negative reviews

    Wow. I think I applied for our first American Express credit card in the 1970's. I thought AmEx was very reputable then and my opinion has never changed. I feel "safe" with American Express. Now in our 60's it is one of only 2 credit cards that my husband and I use.
    We recently opened an on-line savings with AmEx to get some interest on our money. I am very pleased to have recently discovered that I can now view the date on which my interest is posted. I have only made two withdrawals and both were done within a couple of days- less time than I was told was needed.
    I have had to contact customer service on many occasions over these 40 years and I have always been treated courteously and professionally. Every matter was handled to my complete satisfaction.
    We continue to be very satisfied American Express customers and I'm sorry and puzzled to read that some people feel differently.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By deutsch May 21, 2014

    Needs to link to Amex credit card

    I have both an american express credit card and the FSB personal high yield savings account. Problem is, the two are not linked! That's correct, you cannot go on the FSB webpage to your savings account and pay directly to your Amex credit card balance. I provided that feedback to the bank and they said they would pass that suggestion to their leadership team, as it makes very good sense! That is insane, and this transfer function needs to be added immediately or I will close my FSB savings account.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • I
    Reviewed By itmanager Feb 24, 2014

    Horrible

    1. Opened a hysc (high yield savings account) jointly with my wife. 2. I transposed two digits of my wifes ssn. 3. They froze my account. 4. Did not contact me. I had to contact them. Over 4 times. 5. I fully admitted, verified the correct ssn, said i could provide any evidence they wanted of such, had my wife present....... No good. 6. They said we had to get an original letter from ss office stating my wife is who she is, with her ssn. Or i could close out account. 7. Called social security office. You know what that entails...... Basically taking a day off from work, bringing birth cert. , first born, finger prints, deceased parents records......... (little exaggeration here)
    8. We chose to close account. 9. Called in and asked to close account. Said it would be 2-3 business days. 10. One week....... No contact
    11 two weeks........... No contact. 12. I called.............. Oh... You account is restricted......... 13. Please let me talk to supervisor....... Sorry nothing i can do.............. So they've had my money for over a month now and i cannot access it. Period..... Mind you it is not a huge sum of $. 104,000. But large enough..

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By JHayes Dec 23, 2013

    So frustrating and maddening I had to take up zen meditation.

    The confirmation papers say one thing, but then the card is denied. My credit is excellent, I rarely use credit, and now I remember why. I chose this card carefully and opened the account for the sole purpose of making a single large purchase, and then on the morning of the purchase, the card was denied. I tried to contact customer service but the wait times are so absurdly long that I had to make a decision and just paid using other funds. I tried later to contact AmEx again and after being passed around from chat to phone to phone to phone and waiting on hold for 30 minutes the call was somehow disconnected. I regret opening the account and I'm left with frustration and ill will towards this colossal credit institution that cannot do what they say or find time to help me when I seek help. Finally, online AmEx does not offer a platform for complaints or expressing dissatisfaction, and I can't even send them an email. I guess they thing they're perfect or untouchable or something or just don't care.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • GM
    Reviewed By Grant M. Nov 28, 2013

    So very, very bad

    First be aware of the extended times you must wait until you can withdraw funds. We had the experience that several weeks after our deposit, they would not honor a withdrawal until a lot of investigation into the validity of the deposit. After closing the account, there was interest left. They sent us a check for this amount. However they refused to honor the check because the account was closed. Never have been able to resolve this in spite of hours on the phone. We of course had bounced check charges from our bank also.
    If they ask you to fax them a document when you call back they never can find it.
    I asked once on this issue, "How long until you get back to me?" Answer, "10 business days." Of course that was a long time ago.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By Dick May 24, 2013

    Customer Service At This Bank In The Worst I Have Run Into In Fifty Years Of Banking.

    I open a money market account with bank earlier this week. After the account was opened i found their customer service is by far the worst i have run into in fifty years of doing business at least twenty bank i have had account with. As soon as i can find another bank, i will be moving my account.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • G
    Reviewed By Greg May 9, 2013

    Great Rates and Customer Service! Highly Recommended!

    I have banked with American Express Bank now for several years. They have among the best (not always the best, but close) rates & very good customer service. If I would have one gripe with them it would be their website. Several things you can't do there that you should be able to but I have received messages that they are upgraded their website so hopefully they address these shortcomings & then I can't imagine a better place for your savings.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.