A+ MyBankTracker Rating

American Express Customer Reviews

(13 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 2
4 Star 1
3 Star 1
2 Star 2
1 Star 7

The Most Helpful American Express Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By trav2437 Aug 14, 2014

Very surprised to read the negative reviews

Wow. I think I applied for our first American Express credit card in the 1970's. I thought AmEx was very reputable then and my opinion has never changed. I feel "safe" with American Express. Now in our 60's it is one of only 2 credit cards that my husband and I use.
We recently opened an on-line savings with AmEx to get some interest on our money. I am very pleased to have recently discovered that I can now view the date on which my interest is posted. I have only made two withdrawals and both were done within a couple of days- less time than I was told was needed.
I have had to contact customer service on many occasions over these 40 years and I have always been treated courteously and professionally. Every matter was handled to my complete satisfaction.
We continue to be very satisfied American Express customers and I'm sorry and puzzled to read that some people feel differently.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By harrington.edward1@gmail.com Oct 10, 2014

Very Disappointing Customer Service

I tried to make an online transfer to my brokerage account. The transaction was blocked for no good reason. Then customer service said they could not help me or remove the block until tuesday when the corporate office is open again from 9am to 5pm. That's not customer service.

Is this review helpful?

Latest American Express Reviews

  • H
    Reviewed By harrington.edward1@gmail.com Oct 10, 2014

    Very Disappointing Customer Service

    I tried to make an online transfer to my brokerage account. The transaction was blocked for no good reason. Then customer service said they could not help me or remove the block until tuesday when the corporate office is open again from 9am to 5pm. That's not customer service.

    Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By trav2437 Aug 14, 2014

    Very surprised to read the negative reviews

    Wow. I think I applied for our first American Express credit card in the 1970's. I thought AmEx was very reputable then and my opinion has never changed. I feel "safe" with American Express. Now in our 60's it is one of only 2 credit cards that my husband and I use.
    We recently opened an on-line savings with AmEx to get some interest on our money. I am very pleased to have recently discovered that I can now view the date on which my interest is posted. I have only made two withdrawals and both were done within a couple of days- less time than I was told was needed.
    I have had to contact customer service on many occasions over these 40 years and I have always been treated courteously and professionally. Every matter was handled to my complete satisfaction.
    We continue to be very satisfied American Express customers and I'm sorry and puzzled to read that some people feel differently.

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By deutsch May 21, 2014

    Needs to link to Amex credit card

    I have both an american express credit card and the FSB personal high yield savings account. Problem is, the two are not linked! That's correct, you cannot go on the FSB webpage to your savings account and pay directly to your Amex credit card balance. I provided that feedback to the bank and they said they would pass that suggestion to their leadership team, as it makes very good sense! That is insane, and this transfer function needs to be added immediately or I will close my FSB savings account.

    Is this review helpful?
  • I
    Reviewed By itmanager Feb 24, 2014

    Horrible

    1. Opened a hysc (high yield savings account) jointly with my wife. 2. I transposed two digits of my wifes ssn. 3. They froze my account. 4. Did not contact me. I had to contact them. Over 4 times. 5. I fully admitted, verified the correct ssn, said i could provide any evidence they wanted of such, had my wife present....... No good. 6. They said we had to get an original letter from ss office stating my wife is who she is, with her ssn. Or i could close out account. 7. Called social security office. You know what that entails...... Basically taking a day off from work, bringing birth cert. , first born, finger prints, deceased parents records......... (little exaggeration here)
    8. We chose to close account. 9. Called in and asked to close account. Said it would be 2-3 business days. 10. One week....... No contact
    11 two weeks........... No contact. 12. I called.............. Oh... You account is restricted......... 13. Please let me talk to supervisor....... Sorry nothing i can do.............. So they've had my money for over a month now and i cannot access it. Period..... Mind you it is not a huge sum of $. 104,000. But large enough..

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By JHayes Dec 23, 2013

    So frustrating and maddening I had to take up zen meditation.

    The confirmation papers say one thing, but then the card is denied. My credit is excellent, I rarely use credit, and now I remember why. I chose this card carefully and opened the account for the sole purpose of making a single large purchase, and then on the morning of the purchase, the card was denied. I tried to contact customer service but the wait times are so absurdly long that I had to make a decision and just paid using other funds. I tried later to contact AmEx again and after being passed around from chat to phone to phone to phone and waiting on hold for 30 minutes the call was somehow disconnected. I regret opening the account and I'm left with frustration and ill will towards this colossal credit institution that cannot do what they say or find time to help me when I seek help. Finally, online AmEx does not offer a platform for complaints or expressing dissatisfaction, and I can't even send them an email. I guess they thing they're perfect or untouchable or something or just don't care.

    Is this review helpful?
  • GM
    Reviewed By Grant M. Nov 28, 2013

    So very, very bad

    First be aware of the extended times you must wait until you can withdraw funds. We had the experience that several weeks after our deposit, they would not honor a withdrawal until a lot of investigation into the validity of the deposit. After closing the account, there was interest left. They sent us a check for this amount. However they refused to honor the check because the account was closed. Never have been able to resolve this in spite of hours on the phone. We of course had bounced check charges from our bank also.
    If they ask you to fax them a document when you call back they never can find it.
    I asked once on this issue, "How long until you get back to me?" Answer, "10 business days." Of course that was a long time ago.

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By Dick May 24, 2013

    Customer Service At This Bank In The Worst I Have Run Into In Fifty Years Of Banking.

    I open a money market account with bank earlier this week. After the account was opened i found their customer service is by far the worst i have run into in fifty years of doing business at least twenty bank i have had account with. As soon as i can find another bank, i will be moving my account.

    Is this review helpful?
  • G
    Reviewed By Greg May 9, 2013

    Great Rates and Customer Service! Highly Recommended!

    I have banked with American Express Bank now for several years. They have among the best (not always the best, but close) rates & very good customer service. If I would have one gripe with them it would be their website. Several things you can't do there that you should be able to but I have received messages that they are upgraded their website so hopefully they address these shortcomings & then I can't imagine a better place for your savings.

    Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By anastasia Mar 5, 2013

    The Worst Credit Card

    I had american express credit card for less than year. I had to cancel my account because of unprofessionalism of american express customer service. They provided me with misleading information in the regards of my dispute with hotwire. Com. I contacted customer service multiple times to make sure the problem will be taken care of and they were convincing me that american express will do the best and will take care of my problem anyway.

    After all, american express didn't resolve dispute in my favor and had to apologize for the customer representative's mistake in being unprofessional in a sense of promising things they are not able to provide. I will never recommend american express because their reputation of being the best customer service provider among other other financial institution is really questionable.

    Is this review helpful?
  • JA
    Reviewed By Jonathan A. Jan 26, 2013

    Wonderful Banking Experience

    I have a bluebird account. No fees, charges or anything. I must say they are the best financial institution I have ever used. I would recommend them to anyone...

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.