B MyBankTracker Rating

ETRADE Customer Reviews

(21 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 1
4 Star 0
3 Star 1
2 Star 0
1 Star 19

The Most Helpful ETRADE Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Adele D. Mar 8, 2013

Awesome

If your cant open a checking account because of a bad report on the chexsystems, opening a etrade brokerage account is a great second chance checking account because it comes with checks and a check card along with direct deposit. See http://www.badcreditmd.com/second-chance-checking-account/etrade/

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By martha_doulittle Dec 21, 2015

non-professional service

From an old time Etrade client from day#1, service (not even speaking of quality) keep sliding into abyss year after year, 800# is a marathon long wait for un-trained support at best if human answer. Ducking under motto "not on my plate" is best they deal with issues. Emails never answer. Nobody take responsibilities, nobody even honor what they say. Complaints just prolong the agony. Sorry, had enough. Speaking from a top tier client. Farewell ETrade.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest ETRADE Reviews

  • S
    Reviewed By scott76ca Jun 29, 2016

    Customer Service is Awful!

    It has been three weeks and three separate application attempts to fund one of the accounts I opened. This was a roll-over with a substantial amount of money. The form is complicated and each time I filled it out, a representative was on the phone providing specific instructions. After each one was completed it took 3 to 5 days to have them contact me and state that corrections had to be made. The third time I was ticked off but made the changes and faxed it. The fax number the customer service representative gave me was his direct phone number. So when I saw it didn't go through I looked at his contact information and faxed it once again to the correct number. 5 days later when I inquired about the form and roll-over I was told by this same rep that they were waiting for my third application form. I told him it had been faxed as he had asked 5 days earlier. He said he would check and call me back. I suspect he did not want to speak to me again since he found it wherever it was and put it in for processing. Since the money was not in the account I could not make the additional trades I wanted to and it cost me just under $15,000 in one week. Complaints by email don't get answered. I phoned the customer service office yesterday and asked to speak to the compliance officer. They didn't know who that was and said they would call back. Never did. So I plan to file a complaint with the FINRA. Awful and time to change again.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By martha_doulittle Dec 21, 2015

    non-professional service

    From an old time Etrade client from day#1, service (not even speaking of quality) keep sliding into abyss year after year, 800# is a marathon long wait for un-trained support at best if human answer. Ducking under motto "not on my plate" is best they deal with issues. Emails never answer. Nobody take responsibilities, nobody even honor what they say. Complaints just prolong the agony. Sorry, had enough. Speaking from a top tier client. Farewell ETrade.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By RAYHERNAN Dec 19, 2015

    ETRADE HOLDING MY MONEY HOSTAGE

    E*trade has my money and won't let me get it back, i sent a external deposit and a wire totaling $20,000. etrade won't let me access my money, i have never used the account yet. did not make one trade. i talk to tiffany evans, she promised me today at 3:30 pm central time that i could contact customer service and range my transfer of funds. i called they told me no, there are no notes and there is nothing they can do.. I’LL HAVE TO WAIT AND SOME WILL GET BACK TO ME

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By newaccount Aug 8, 2014

    Business Banking Nightmare

    Business Banking does not offer ATM/Debit card. So, want to buy office supplies at Office Depot, write a check. WTF??!! Is this 1979??

    Nowhere on their website is this stated. Even the idiot customer service reps didn't know as they told me to write a letter requesting a debit card.

    Incompetent and amateurish group. BEWARE

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By Aces324 Jun 2, 2014

    Great until it's bad

    Honestly it's been pretty ok. I switched to eTrade for the convenience of online brokerage and online checking. I figured it would be nice to have both accounts in the same place and brokerage accounts don't have the same federal transfer restrictions of a savings account. All in all it started great.

    Then the bad started. Month after month they were locking my account on because of suspicious activity. It was the same transaction every month -- my rent. I never moved, it was literally the same amount to the same merchant every single month. Finally they decided that rather than lock my account they were going to hold double my rent. Needless to say, I got a little pissed as this overdrafted me by over a grand. Their explanation was garbage and it took all day to return my funds. So a whole day of no account use.

    Use them for brokerage, never for checking, far too incompetent.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • TS
    Reviewed By thomas s. May 6, 2014

    Zero customer service

    I have been keeping money in a money market account and maintaining a stock account on etrade for a few years. My etrade money market visa and my personal American Express card was expiring the end of February and I was in Florida for the winter. My address of record is in Maryland for both cards. I contacted American Express and explained my situation and they overnighted me a new card with a new expiration date. Same conversation with etrade and was told they only send cards to the address of record and the card should be in the mail to me by the end of the month. I explained that I just went through this with American Express and what stellar customer service they provided. Etrade could care less. I have priority mail forwarding with USPS so I thought no big deal.

    February turned into March, no card. I contacted them and they said they only will send a new card to the address of record. Talking to numerous low level people got me no resolve. I spoke to a supervisor and they said the same story. I moved up the food chain and spoke with someone with a brain and they told me to send them a letter over my signature requesting a card sent to my Florida address and that should do it. He said it would take a week. Two weeks later, now it is April, I contact them again, all of this is by email showing all of my previous correspondence, and I get a reply that they will only send to the address of record. I was done. I sold my remaining stock and transferred all of the proceeds and the total balance less $0.14 cents to my PNC personal checking account. I am done with them. I cannot believe that they have so many apathetic employees and supervisors. Worse customer service I ever had to deal with.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By ARCHFORMA Apr 27, 2014

    Do Not Use Etrade -- Extremely Unprofessional

    I made 2 trasfers from my bofa account

    1. January 28th for $200
    2. January 29th for $100

    Etrade claimed that my bank rejected the transfers, so I called both banks and after a 3 way conversation with Bank of America and Etrade both parties came to the conclusion that it was Etrades error and etrade said they would fix it. Etrade after that conversation said it would take a day or so. 2 months later and 15 phone calls later I've had zero luck and still have not received my money. So last week i went to Bank of America and they told me to file a authorized transaction form to get back my money, so i did that. 3 days later etrade sends bofa the $300 but takes it from my IRA. They ripped me off twice. They didn't give me the money they lost the took more of my own money and sent it to bofa. What a freaking joke. Im so pissed off! So I looked up etrade on google and found that this has happened to 100's of people. I want out! I want my money back. Please help!

    Update: it's month 4 and still haven't received a credit.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By mpuppet Apr 15, 2014

    Locked out of account

    eTrade locked me out of my account because I attempted to wire money to a bank account in my name in the UK. I had followed their directions and attached a copy of my passport.

    I called them the minute I noticed their call but they acted very suspicious and said I needed to talk to the "Unit" that handles these issues. Four days later when this special unit got around to calling me, I find out that this unit is the security unit. Paranoid does not describe the mall cop I spoke too. I did not have the correct phone number for my account he finally told me. This was an account that was bought out twice so the original phone number was 20 years old and 6 residences previous. But I had answers for all of their other questions. Not good enough. Dude was such a jerk. You know, the IT security dude. Sorry for those of you who are good ones. This guy was a cop wanna be. You know how they talk to you. Guilty until proven innocent.

    I told them to forget about the wire, I would transfer the money to another U.S. account that has resided on my quick transfer screen for a couple of years. Nope. Still locked out until I go to the U.S Consulate and get a notarized affidavit for identity. Because the alternative in the UK seems to take over 2 weeks.

    If eTrade wants to have strict security then introduce a number validation card like Bank of America or others. Or have more security questions like other banking and brokerage accounts.

    All activity on an account seems suspicious to them. Well my suspicion is that this is the cheap way to maintain security and they use your cash while the account is in lock down. Just a little extra interest to keep them afloat.

    When my account is unlocked, everything will be moved.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By Max723 Jan 19, 2014

    Awful

    I tried to open an account at etrade around January 1 2014. My credit bureau has a fraud alert system for security reasons. So I was told I had to mail a copy of my ID and SSN cards.
    I sent it in in a full clear color printer copy.
    I waited a week and called and was told that my SSN card copy was not clear enough in their scanned copy. The guy said I must have faxed it in. No it was not faxed in, it is their scanner problem. Then I was told to fax another copy.
    Since then I have opened an account at Scottrade and TDAmeritrade. TDAmeritrade even just verified over the phone and did not ask for any ID copies.
    So I will agree with the other complaints that these etrade people are incredibly incompetent.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By liu98065 Jan 9, 2014

    worst

    I never post any negative review on anything for over 10 year. but his etrade really makes me mad. just show you one example in the past. I was holding an option position and can't access their web site at the expiration day. instead of sell the position, they exercised the option even i didn't have enough funds in the account to exercise. so l lost a lots of money plus own them some money.(my whole money in the account wipe out plus have to send in more money to cover).
    the latest one is i fed up with them and try to withdraw most of my own money to do something in urgent. they freezed my account, didn't allow me to withdraw the money and have to call them to discuss. you must be crazy to think about open an account with them. use tdameritrade, they are much better.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.