A MyBankTracker Rating

First Citizens Bank Customer Reviews

(26 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 5
4 Star 1
3 Star 1
2 Star 0
1 Star 19

The Most Helpful First Citizens Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By ADBOffice Sep 19, 2014

Care Provided Like A Small Town Bank With Big Bank Benefits!

We interviewed multiple banks when deciding to move our business accounts from a big 'bail out' bank with so many service charges and unexpected fees. At the time, ironstone bank stood out from all the rest with the services provided and the business care exhibited at every turn! Having banked with greg schroeder and his team for over 7 years now, we are still grateful they have our business.

Transitioning to first citizens bank has not impacted the responsive attention afforded us. And the product offerings have made our life so much easier. Efficiencies like remote image deposits, master billing for company credit cards at amazing rates, even loan offers have reaffirmed we made the right choice to make our 'home bank' first citizens. Greg and his team continue to make every effort to care for our business needs and we are truly grateful. There is no other bank like our bank!

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By mk1126 Dec 1, 2015

Pass it by ?

Having just moved down here to the, grand and glorious, 'The Villages', we quickly went about to find a local bank. Since all of the ones in town really did not have any 'good' reviews online, we took a gambit and tried Citizens First Bank. We went to the Brownwood Branch and opened up a checking account - not too bad. But then, when we had a little $ come in from a sale, we to the Lake Sumter branch to open another checking account and a savings account as well as to make an additional deposit into the first checking account. Things proceeded fairly smoothly but while taking a little time. Well, we even got past the part of having made three different deposits off of one check. Alright. Well, I was just getting ready to leave, when some "management wanna-be" comes over to the desk where we were sitting with one of the bank personnel. She exclaims, "did you see them actually sign these?" (One of the co-signers was not present at the time). The bank person replied no, but did not deny the presentation of the deposit. Then this 'wanna be' goes, "I'm going to have to take these deposit slips back!" - Wrong; actually believe she could not as the transactions had already been completed and processed, but she did anyways. I just sat there in total disbelief! So, this bank is going to call a bank customer on good faith?!? Unheard of - except by that other one - Chase Manhattan! Furthermore, the employee who had been helping me also sat there in disbelief and disarray!. Where is the bank/employee relations training here? Well, you know what I did - Yep. Walked right out of there and across the street to the closest bank and open the accounts and with a bank person who did not even blink at the back of the check! Citizens First - keep on walking!

Is this review helpful?

Latest First Citizens Bank Reviews

  • H
    Reviewed By Hoolio Apr 15, 2016

    Keep looking there is a better option out there

    We use this bank for a new business that we formed in December '15. From the very beginning we have had issues where we had to go back to the branch for corrections. These range from mistakes setting up online banking, incorrect account types, challenges getting checks printed etc. Our account is free with a low minimum balance but I have spent more time on hold and being transferred in circles with this bank . The latest example and the one prompting this review it spending 45 minutes on the phone and still not being able to order checks.

    If you have other options for your banking needs I would take them.

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By justsomeolddude Jan 6, 2016

    Charged fees on a 20 year old closed account.

    Recently i went to open a checking account at First Citizens Back. I was told that i could not open an account because there was an unpaid fee for an account that was closed almost 20 years ago.
    I asked them how they were able use a closed account to charge a fee? and why i did not receive any correspondence, letter's phone call, emails etc, about the fee? They could not give me an answer.
    This, in my opinion represents First Citizen as Very Unprofessional and Unorganized and possibly Corrupt.

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By mk1126 Dec 1, 2015

    Pass it by ?

    Having just moved down here to the, grand and glorious, 'The Villages', we quickly went about to find a local bank. Since all of the ones in town really did not have any 'good' reviews online, we took a gambit and tried Citizens First Bank. We went to the Brownwood Branch and opened up a checking account - not too bad. But then, when we had a little $ come in from a sale, we to the Lake Sumter branch to open another checking account and a savings account as well as to make an additional deposit into the first checking account. Things proceeded fairly smoothly but while taking a little time. Well, we even got past the part of having made three different deposits off of one check. Alright. Well, I was just getting ready to leave, when some "management wanna-be" comes over to the desk where we were sitting with one of the bank personnel. She exclaims, "did you see them actually sign these?" (One of the co-signers was not present at the time). The bank person replied no, but did not deny the presentation of the deposit. Then this 'wanna be' goes, "I'm going to have to take these deposit slips back!" - Wrong; actually believe she could not as the transactions had already been completed and processed, but she did anyways. I just sat there in total disbelief! So, this bank is going to call a bank customer on good faith?!? Unheard of - except by that other one - Chase Manhattan! Furthermore, the employee who had been helping me also sat there in disbelief and disarray!. Where is the bank/employee relations training here? Well, you know what I did - Yep. Walked right out of there and across the street to the closest bank and open the accounts and with a bank person who did not even blink at the back of the check! Citizens First - keep on walking!

    Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By R_Disappointed Oct 11, 2015

    Very poor customer service - McDonalds is better to their customers

    I have banked here for over 20 years, and this used to be a good bank. After the recent merger in 2015, this bank's personnel and the new policies present an image of a bank that does not care about their customers. Additionally they have begun to change fees every chance they get.
    I am shopping for a new bank.

    Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By RonAcord23 Oct 9, 2015

    Terrible

    This is a terrible bank. They will figure out a way to charge you a fee even if they have to bend the rules. It is better to pay a check cashing fee than deposit a check of any substantial amount because they will place a hold on it and not give you access to any of it. If you deposit a check and a debit comes through the same day, expect them to reverse the transactions so they can charge the 36.00 overdraft fee. Avoid this bank

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By johndoe2 Jun 11, 2015

    Keep Driving to Another Bank

    Terrible customer service, terrible communication, they requested documents for a loan and after I gave them everything they requested I never heard back so I called then they requested more which I gave them then never called to fill me in on the status so I called, now they're requesting more. Worst loan experience I've ever encountered. Do yourself a favor a find a real bank.

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By DeborahKnight Apr 8, 2015

    Customer Service Lacking

    Today was my first unpleasant experience with this bank which seems to have an employee who is rigid, inflexible, and lacking in customer service. I have been banking with First Citizens for more than 15 years. Transactions that I have accomplished with ease at this bank and other First Citizens branches in the past, now all the sudden is against the banks (or her) rules. It is sad that after all of this time, I now have to find a bank that values a long time customer - a bank that has professionalism and common sense judgement. Any recommendations of a bank that understands customer service in the Waynesville area would be greatly appreciated.

    Is this review helpful?
  • E
    Reviewed By Ebarneycastle Mar 14, 2015

    Be prepared to pay for glitches

    I've banked with First Citizens for 4 years and faithfully writing checks to my uncle once or twice every month through this account. It has worked flawlessly every time as they show up on my mobile app as soon as I deposit the check. This last week however, my check misteriouly didn't debit off my account until 5 days later. After having a very busy weekend, I failed to confirm the transaction had gone through (did I mention they worked flawlessly every time?) and mistakenly spent part of the money. In return, my uncle who had already been deposited the money had it snatched from his account 5 days later and slapped a fine, and I got slapped a fine. After calling customer service their response is "for some reason this check processed different than the rest" and therefore took longer than any other check I've written. Now therefore I'm responsible for the incurring fees on both accounts not to mention the embarassment my uncle just went through. Really? You won't even acknowledge this could possibly be your fault and at least try to remove the fines since they took so long to take the money? Unbelievable the response I received from their customer service. Apparently 4 years of faithful banking will not buy you a single drop of care in this giant corporation. Taking my business somewhere else.

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By mommom Feb 24, 2015

    Don't Ever Go To First Citizens!

    After 13 years with fcb, and always being able to access my payroll deposits immediately after they are made, my debit card was denied today at the grocery store. After being on hold for 30 minutes with the bank, they said they don't know why i can't get my money today, but it will be available tomorrow. That leaves me with no groceries. My next visit to this bank will be to close my account. That is not customer service or loyalty!

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jimlocklear@yahoo.com Oct 23, 2014

    Bad Customer Service in Bennettsville SC

    I went to the Bennettsville SC branch yesterday, Oct. 22nd to cash a check and one of your tellers there was very rude to me, and acted like a smart butt. Her name tag said Dawn [Redacted], she had blonde hair. I was thinking of opening up a business account there, but i'm not to sure abt that now. I still may do so, i wish someone would speak to this teller abt here bad attitude. Thank you

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.