B MyBankTracker Rating

TCF Bank Customer Reviews

(120 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 7
4 Star 3
3 Star 3
2 Star 2
1 Star 105

The Most Helpful TCF Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Wynder Aug 31, 2014

Excellent Service

Have had several accounts for over 10 years. I appreciate the hours on weekends, Sundays, and late days and they are always professional. The online banking works very well. They were the only bank in Chicago to give me an account when I moved here. I am extremely satisfied with my branch on Milwaukee and if necessary, the actual Bank is not too far away on Fullerton.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Sspeters Jul 16, 2015

Horrible horrible horrible Avoid at all cost!!!

This bank suuuucks!!! They will financially ruin you, promise to fix it, then pretend they don't take notes so they don't know what the rep before them promised! The fees are astronomical! I paid for stop payments... not only did they allow the payments to go through but they charged me to stop them and didn't return the fee they charged for not stopping them! When I called they were of very little help! Basically told me oh well but have a nice day! I hate hate hate them!

Is this review helpful?

Latest TCF Bank Reviews

  • M
    Reviewed By manasbahi Feb 8, 2016

    refused to close my business account

    refused to close my business account they want all the names on the account to be present. and when I went to another branch , they said that is not true. they just gave me hard time. bad staff, does know their duties and rules

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Steve3PO Dec 31, 2015

    TCF Employee Mrs. Samantha Sanchez is a lying bank fraud accountant

    TCF has an employee named Samantha Sanchez, who has lied to me about account fees and then proceeded to steal $2000 from my TCF Savings Account. I reported Mrs. Samantha Sanchez to the Maplewood TCF branch supervisors and the Region Manager for TCF. They did a two month investigation and believed the lies Mrs. Sanchez told them. I have had $2000 stolen from my Savings Account by Mrs. Samantha Sanchez, I have reported her to the TCF management and they say that they have no record of money being stolen from my Savings Account. I have documented TCF Account paperwork that says money was removed from my Savings Account by Mrs. Samantha Sanchez without my permission. The TCF management has dismissed my report and stopped the investigation because they believe that Mrs. Samantha Sanchez has not done anything wrong. I have closed both of my TCF Accounts and withdrew the last of my money. Don’t waste your time trying to bank any of your finances at any of the TCF Bank's branches. TCF Bank should be shut down and they should return all of the money that customers have in the TCF Bank accounts.

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By JAufdie Dec 26, 2015

    Online hours INCORRECT!

    Saturday hours online are listed as open until 2:00. When I arrived at the bank I was very disappointed to find out that they close at 1:00 per the decals posted to the windows.

    Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By Notatcffan Nov 25, 2015

    What a joke

    Horrible bank. Account was .72 cents overdrawn. They charged. 37 dollar fee. Refused to waive it. Long time customer who will no longer be. Customer!

    Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By rawill Nov 12, 2015

    IF YOU WANT TO KEEP YOUR MONEY DON'T USE THIS BANK

    IF YOU WANT TO KEEP YOUR MONEY DO NOT USE THIS BANK!!!!! THEY WILL STEAL YOUR MONEY. I OPENED A CHECKING ACCT. AND FUNDED THE ACCT. WITH $100 2 WEEKS AGO AND IT STILL HAS NOT POSTED TO MY ACCT. NOW THE A_ _ HOLES ARE TELLING ME THAT THEY HAVE NO RECORD OF ME DEPOSITING $100, EVEN THOUGH I HAVE THE PROOF. PLEASE, OPEN YOUR ACCT. SOMEWHER ELSE. THIS PLACE WILL STEAL YOUR MONEY.

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By mjmcesq Oct 31, 2015

    Frustrating commercial obstacles to speak to a live person

    As with many companies today TCF throws obstacle after obstacle into your way before you can reach a live person on the telephone to discuss anything related to your account, and makes it just as hard to obtain a telephone number which might ultimately lead you to a live person if you have immense patience and a lot of time to spend. C'mon, people! How about hiring back 1% of the employees you have laid off over the last 10 years and place them in LIVE customer service.

    Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By lisadietz Oct 28, 2015

    Friendly Local Bank

    The tellers are friendly and courteous. There is rarely a long line and they will open additional teller windows when they are busy. They are not officious like some banks can be. They offer a very limited range of services. It's not the place to go for financial advice. Just the basics.

    Is this review helpful?
  • F
    Reviewed By FearlessKing Oct 24, 2015

    Worst bank EVER. DO NOT GO HERE!

    This bank is beyond awful. I had 80 dollars in my account, I spent 50. I was charged twice by accident. Next thing I know I have 3-4 unwarranted overdraft fees. They acknowledged the fact that the overdraft fees were unwarranted and promised to refund me within 4-6 weeks. 8 weeks later and I get a letter in the mail that my account has been closed and my total of $230 dollars has been sent to collections. Absolutely terrible service. They are either thieves or completely incompetent. Maybe a bit of both.

    I read reviews of this bank and branch warning me. I didn't listen. Now I'm paying the price (literally). DO NOT USE THIS BANK.

    DO NOT USE THIS BANK.

    GO ANYWHERE ELSE.

    Take a 2 hour bus if you have to. Bury your money in your backyard. Just stay away from this awful bank.

    Please, please, please listen to me and learn from my mistake. This bank is a sinking ship full of garbage. If that is what you are looking for in a bank then fine, I'm not your dad. But don't say you weren't warned.

    Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By NotFriendly Oct 22, 2015

    NOT A GOOD PLACE TO DO BUSINESS WITH !!!

    I was at the Roseville branch MN
    In my option TCF has found new ways to extract money out of people. A friend of mind wrote me out a check from TCF , went to the branch were they did business with and try to cash it, I had ID and they call to verified that it was OK to cash the check. ( Good Idea ) Then I find out they were going to charge me $7.00 for cashing the check from there account At there Bank,
    Because I'm not a customer,
    WHAT !! What a scam , in my eyes. So I open up an account for ONE day deposit the check and close it the next day...Not very nice place to do Business with, I feel there much better places to do business with that aren't going to nickle dime you !!!
    Not a friendly place to business with.

    Is this review helpful?
  • H
    Reviewed By hdjaroz70 Oct 21, 2015

    Drive through hours - Poor customer service.

    My understanding is the drive through hours go until 7pm. That was not the case on Monday, October 19th at the location on Old Hudson Rd. I then had to go to the TCF at Cub Foods in Sunray and waited in line in excess of 20 minutes while only ONE lane was doing deposits. Two other employees were there but one of doing what seemed like a loan application with a customer and another was posting money? Really you have a line with 5 people waiting and you don't pause what you are doing to HELP CUSTOMERS? Very poor customer service TCF!

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.