B MyBankTracker Rating

TCF Bank Customer Reviews

(125 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 7
4 Star 3
3 Star 3
2 Star 2
1 Star 110

The Most Helpful TCF Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Wynder Aug 31, 2014

Excellent Service

Have had several accounts for over 10 years. I appreciate the hours on weekends, Sundays, and late days and they are always professional. The online banking works very well. They were the only bank in Chicago to give me an account when I moved here. I am extremely satisfied with my branch on Milwaukee and if necessary, the actual Bank is not too far away on Fullerton.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Sspeters Jul 16, 2015

Horrible horrible horrible Avoid at all cost!!!

This bank suuuucks!!! They will financially ruin you, promise to fix it, then pretend they don't take notes so they don't know what the rep before them promised! The fees are astronomical! I paid for stop payments... not only did they allow the payments to go through but they charged me to stop them and didn't return the fee they charged for not stopping them! When I called they were of very little help! Basically told me oh well but have a nice day! I hate hate hate them!

Is this review helpful?

Latest TCF Bank Reviews

  • N
    Reviewed By nmellin Apr 11, 2016

    TCF customer service is horrible

    Unfortunately, I had my mortgage with TCF and never had a decent customer service experience. Over the course of 8 years interactions with TCF representatives ranged from
    merely apathetic to downright rude. Also , staff training must be almost non-existent because it is astounding how ill-informed the bankers are. Eventually I was able to leave TCF and was never so glad to "dump" a company. Several acquaintances have the same view. I have never come across a decent opinion of this banking system As a public service to others who may be reading this DO NOT do business with TCF.

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By memoreey Apr 5, 2016

    Over charges unfairly

    I called TCF because of some unauthorized charges to my account. Due to them charges TCf charged me $37 three times in overdraft fees. I called them to dispute it and they said they will only refund me one of the 3. Which is ridiculous because they are charging me unnecessary fees when it was an unauthorized charge. I have had a similar situation with Chase Bank and they only charged me 1 over draft charge. And I will be going back to Chase Bank because they now also print out cards in store. Which is really the only perk of TCF bank. Their whole system is unfair and I would not recommend anyone to bank with them. If i had a choice for no stars then i would've put it.

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Spiderlady76 Mar 7, 2016

    Suck!

    Do not bank with them!! They lie and take their customers children money!! Child support!

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By janesmith Feb 26, 2016

    will be moving all of our accounts from TCF to another bank

    we have 2 mortgage accounts a credit card with a $21,000.00 available balance, 2 personal accounts and a business account with TCF. we have never been late, (auto payments on everything) We were interested in getting a mortgage for our business and were told the $300,000.00 amount was to small, they only want to deal in millions. I requested more information from the manager at the Highland Bank (where we bank) and never got a response. I have other banks requesting our business. I will be moving everything to another bank, I already have the refinance on our mortgages in the works. Shame on you Mary.

    Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By asc Feb 18, 2016

    The worst banking experience ever

    DO NOT BANK HERE! They don't even deserve 1 star. As a former employee of TCF, I know how little they care to educate the bank personnel and how much they love to hit you with bogus overdraft fees. I just received a fee I was told I would NOT receive and later that day I got hit with said fee. When I called the 800 number the rep said they couldn't reverse it because it wasn't their fault. She even listened to the recorded call between me and the first call rep and still said "I'm sorry she said that but it was incorrect information and there is nothing I can do." So now I have to pay $37 because YOUR employee gave me wrong info??? Wow...Taking my business elsewhere

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By manasbahi Feb 8, 2016

    refused to close my business account

    refused to close my business account they want all the names on the account to be present. and when I went to another branch , they said that is not true. they just gave me hard time. bad staff, does know their duties and rules

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Steve3PO Dec 31, 2015

    TCF Employee Mrs. Samantha Sanchez is a lying bank fraud accountant

    TCF has an employee named Samantha Sanchez, who has lied to me about account fees and then proceeded to steal $2000 from my TCF Savings Account. I reported Mrs. Samantha Sanchez to the Maplewood TCF branch supervisors and the Region Manager for TCF. They did a two month investigation and believed the lies Mrs. Sanchez told them. I have had $2000 stolen from my Savings Account by Mrs. Samantha Sanchez, I have reported her to the TCF management and they say that they have no record of money being stolen from my Savings Account. I have documented TCF Account paperwork that says money was removed from my Savings Account by Mrs. Samantha Sanchez without my permission. The TCF management has dismissed my report and stopped the investigation because they believe that Mrs. Samantha Sanchez has not done anything wrong. I have closed both of my TCF Accounts and withdrew the last of my money. Don’t waste your time trying to bank any of your finances at any of the TCF Bank's branches. TCF Bank should be shut down and they should return all of the money that customers have in the TCF Bank accounts.

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By JAufdie Dec 26, 2015

    Online hours INCORRECT!

    Saturday hours online are listed as open until 2:00. When I arrived at the bank I was very disappointed to find out that they close at 1:00 per the decals posted to the windows.

    Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By Notatcffan Nov 25, 2015

    What a joke

    Horrible bank. Account was .72 cents overdrawn. They charged. 37 dollar fee. Refused to waive it. Long time customer who will no longer be. Customer!

    Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By rawill Nov 12, 2015

    IF YOU WANT TO KEEP YOUR MONEY DON'T USE THIS BANK

    IF YOU WANT TO KEEP YOUR MONEY DO NOT USE THIS BANK!!!!! THEY WILL STEAL YOUR MONEY. I OPENED A CHECKING ACCT. AND FUNDED THE ACCT. WITH $100 2 WEEKS AGO AND IT STILL HAS NOT POSTED TO MY ACCT. NOW THE A_ _ HOLES ARE TELLING ME THAT THEY HAVE NO RECORD OF ME DEPOSITING $100, EVEN THOUGH I HAVE THE PROOF. PLEASE, OPEN YOUR ACCT. SOMEWHER ELSE. THIS PLACE WILL STEAL YOUR MONEY.

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.