C+ MyBankTracker Rating

TD Bank Customer Reviews

(454 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 38
4 Star 11
3 Star 13
2 Star 32
1 Star 360

The Most Helpful TD Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By jcrosita Nov 3, 2012

Horrible

I have been a member for over 20 years including when it was commerce bank. Since it has been td bank i have had many bad experiences but this is the worst. On november 1, 2012 at 6:30 pm i walked in and i waited to see a customer representative to see about closing my account due to a maintenance fee. Stephanie greeted me and asked if she could help me. While talking i had asked her some questions about a student account to see if i could get free checking. When she asked me my age she informed me that i did not qualify, as you had to be younger. Therefore, i asked her to close my account and distribute to me the 250. 28 that i had left in my account. She did all the proper procedures rather coldly without smiling or responding very friendly to me when i tried to spark up a small conversation, however, she did her job and exited to retrieve my cash. When she returned i briefly looked inside the envelope, however, i did not count the amount correctly. When i left the building i went to wells fargo, which is right next-door and began to count my money that she gave to me and i noticed that i was $80. 00 short. I immediately returned to td bank and asked stephanie if i had dropped any money because i was missing some cash. She became very rude and told me no and that she cannot tell me what i did with my money after i leave the bank and that she is not responsible for it. She also angrily said to me that she watched me count it in front of her. I was rather nervous due to the economy today and hoping that some how she could help me so i nicely explained to her that i know and i realize that but i must have not counted it properly because i'm missing money and i only have 170. 00. She then stormed off to the teller counter and disappeared from my sight. I had to ask the teller where she went and he told me she was counting the drawer. She then came back and gave me the 80 dollars and said sorry but never apologized how rude and angry she acted. I closed my account and will never return.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By dissatisfied1 Dec 5, 2013

How hard is it to cash a $2,200 check?

This is the worst customer service I have ever received going to this bank. I sold my upright piano so I could buy a C. Bechstein grand piano. The guy who bought it gave me a check for a deposit for $500 and later another for $2,200. When I went to cash the check I went to their branch in Amherst, NH bto cash it so their was no wait clearing. To cash the checks they charge me $7 each ($14 total). This wasn't even the worst part.

When I went to cash the $2,200 dollar check, I had to wait just under 25 minutes (I was watching my watch, unbelievably this is no exaggeration)! There was no one else in line and only one other person being served (who was just making a small withdrawal). There was at least 3 or 4 employees (including the manager) behind the counter. When I asked to cash it they ask for my license then study it for a long time. I tell them I want it in $100's and it take them 5 minutes to figure out they don't have any left. So they just stand around for maybe 10-15 minutes doing absolutely nothing except stare at me and twiddle their thumbs before they get off their lazy behinds and go to the safe out back and get the money. They then spend another 5-10 minutes getting the money out. When then finally give it to me, then forget to give me back my license so I have to remind them to give it to me.

Please, people don't get checking accounts here so you don't have to make the people who receive the checks suffer to get their money. Not only will they be ripped off trying to cash their check but they will have to waste large amounts of time to get their money because the banks are run by lazy and incompetent people.

I am glad I had this experience because I was almost thinking of getting an account. What a mistake that would have been!

Is this review helpful?

Latest TD Bank Reviews

  • E
    Reviewed By exotica2016 Apr 19, 2016

    TD IS THE WORST BANK IN EXISTENCE

    I have had problem after problem after problem with TD on every level: personal, business, direct investing, VISA. ZERO resources are put into training and systems. Nothing is customer friendly. Every time a TD clone cannot answer a question or solve a problem, they tell you to "go into the branch with 2 pieces of ID." TD is effectively a scam. When there is no effort or interest invested in customer service, and an organization is taking your money and using it to make money, and you get NOTHING but incompetence, ignorance, and rudeness in return, then folks you are getting ripped-off! My theory is that TD is all about satisfying the trillions of dollars represented on the Board of Directors, BIG OIL, BIG PHARMA, BIG AGRI, BIG BUSINE$$!!! Follow the money and you will find that TD supports legalized white-collar crime. I can say from personal experience that if John Bragg is on the TD board, then the bank is run by crooks and, rest assured, there will be NO $$$ spent on improving the customer experience. Bragg has become a trillionaire because he eeks out every cent of profit from his customers. Every blueberry farmer knows this. It is truly sinful. How can there be even 1 trillionaire in a province with 1,000,000 population, which is on the whole, very economically depressed, and there not be white-collar crime on a large level. Wake up folks and NEVER, NEVER have anything to do with TD, not to mention Eastlink, not to mention Oxford Foods, and the list goes on.

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Shoppingohio Apr 15, 2016

    No customer service

    - Debit card stops working
    - Call customer no service
    - On hold for 15 minutes before a live person answers
    - Answered several questions about me and my account, but not a recent transaction
    - Was told without recent transaction, they could not tell me the status of my card
    - Asked for supervisor
    - 10 minutes later Alex answers, same story
    - Now that I'm not driving, I looked online and provided an answer
    - Turns out my card was compromised, but they had failed to notify me or send a replacement card
    - Total phone time, 45 minutes
    - Can't wait to move my money

    Is this review helpful?
  • I
    Reviewed By Itsdanielley Apr 13, 2016

    Need a mortgage? TD bank can't help you

    Me and my husband were approved for $170,000 with TD bank with their right step mortgage option. We found a house and signed on the contract on March 24th. That same day the contract got sent to Rebecca at TD bank who was handling our mortgage. She then discussed with our realtor and the sellers realtor a closing date and decided on April 25th. We got the rate lock agreement on April 1st and signed and returned them the same day. Rebecca explained she was going on vacation but that that wouldn't hinder our closing date. On monday, April 11th rebecca emailed me and told me that our closing date wouldn't be for another 30-45 because it is based after the rate lock is received. She then told me I didn't  give her a list of paperwork (that I had received on April 11th) when the contact was signed, my realtor shouldn't have chosen that closing date when they decided that date together and that it was a good thing that the rate lock was processed when it was because when she processed our rate lock the interect rate dropped. We spoke with the branch manager, Taylor, today and he told us we were not allowed to use the right step mortgage option because of our income and the location of the house. So the mortgage we were going to have to go with had a 1% higher interest rate and our rate per month would be $358 more a month. We were told this 2 weeks before our closing date! We had given rebecca our 2015 tax returns when we're preapproved and she saw the location of the house on March 24th when she got the contract. So she knew our income and the location of the house and never shared this information with us. The manager also reiterated everything rebecca said. However I called customer service and when sonja looked into our loan she said that the rate lock can be put in 2 weeks before closing and not mess up the closing date. She explained that the underlying issue was that the application was never sent in on March 24th to be approved. So we were lied to and taken advantage of by td bank. This is our first time buying a home and we were taken advantage of because of that. Due to this issue me and my husband will have lost $1,375 due to inspections and escrow, I will have lost 2 vacation days, and we will have no place to stay after may 1st!

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By Mybankcus01 Apr 8, 2016

    No help to small community business for a 25 yr customer

    We've had TD Bank as our business and personal bank accounts for over 25 yrs. We recently moved the office of our small business to a building we bought in our town. With all the upgrades in furnishing the new office, when a representative called and asked if we were interested in a loan, we took them up on their offer of a small $15K term loan to help with the cash outlay we made in furnishing our office. After 3 1/2 weeks of them reviewing our application, tax returns, accounts, etc. they still couldn't decide whether to approve our $15K request. We have never had a returned check on any account, have balances in our account to fully pay back the loan...TD Bank is a joke when it comes to working with a small business. In fact, we were told when looking for a commercial mortgage for the new building we bought, don't even bother going to TD as they pre-approve then never approve loans. We went to another local bank and were approved for our mortgage within 10 days. Sorry, TD, when you were Commerce Bank, your services were exceptional but all downhill since becoming TD.

    Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By bigred08046 Apr 6, 2016

    Endless lines and crazy policy. 11th & Chestnut Phila PA 19107

    When TD bank took over for Commerce they renovated the branch and staffed for the volume and longer hours. This is a 7 day per week branch with evening hours till 7PM. Convenient right?? USED to be! They put on a front long enough to open loads of new accounts then cut way back.

    This branch is INSIDE the hospital that employees 9000 employees and many business within a few blocks. On pay day they might have 2 tellers and a line that goes out the door! No commercial window.

    I wen to deposit my paycheck entirely to my checking account, wearing my ID with picture and the teller asked me can I see your drivers license!! I said give me the check back! Her name is Rita.

    There is such a huge turnover of employees I had to ask if this was now a "training" branch.

    Now looking for a new bank!

    Is this review helpful?
  • NB
    Reviewed By Naomi B. Apr 4, 2016

    TD Bank is the BEST Bank EVER!

    I have been a long time customer of TD Bank (almost 25 years) back when it was Commerce Bank. From time to time it is inevitable that a customer will find something wrong and lodge a complaint about a bad banking service; that's only human. Not until we relocated to California did I realize how superior TD Bank is compared to any California bank! I only wish banks here (in Calif) would adopt some of TD Bank's exceptional services: unbelievable hours including Saturday and Sunday, drive-through banking with an actual banker (not just an ATM), free notary services to customers, dog biscuits for your pooch, and at least ONE TD bank in every town, to name a few. I am not a company representative nor am I a shareholder, etc. For these reasons I am glad I kept my TD account in New Jersey despite moving a few years ago. To those who can't resist but to complain about the minor inconveniences, if only you could experience the limitations of a California Bank - you might be more appreciative of what you have. Just my humble opinion...

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By josephdirt61 Mar 19, 2016

    SAD

    TDBank needs to take a long look at its management team here in the Northeast..many branches are understaffed, leaving one person behind "teller line" which I believe is against Federal rules,many that are playing vital roles in serving the actual walk in customer are over stressed with lack of on sight help in performing their jobs,yet TD continues to cut actual hours of personnel.Cant understand how a banking institution totes itself as "MOST CONVENIENT BANK"doesnt observe customer behavior at its branches.I have observed numerous customers leaving,swearing,"peeling out" of drivethroughs due to lack of service..at my nearest local branch,things are falling apart as usual,have never seen a turn around in help in any company as much as this one,I really believe TD bank is falling apart and sadly the little staff they have here are paying the price....very sad company and would not advise trying to get a job here.Believe I will follow through on checking whether one person behind teller line is allowed by federal rules...a constant issue in my branch,will file a complaint if against banking rules,must be whats one person to do if a holdup?..very scarry!!!

    Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By Blanked Mar 16, 2016

    Worst bank EVER

    They do not do a full disclosure of information when processing a loan. Yes, they "disclose" but you better know what you're doing, otherwise they will gloss over the parts that will come back to bite you after you've signed. They take a long time to respond to requests for information. When they do respond they are vague and dismissive. Do not use this bank.

    Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By banker260 Mar 12, 2016

    Their mistake, My huge expense and trouble

    After multiple episodes of banking errors where money was taken out of my account by someone with a similar number, I was FORCED to open a new account by the branch, Pompton Plains, NJ. I was not given free replacement checks for the remaining checks I have already purchased, I am now being held to a $1500 minimum balance, whereas I had none, and I now have to pay $2 per monthly paper statement, whereas I was not charged. This bank is a customer UNFRIENDLY bank and I will be leaving them ASAP!

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By Julioangel12 Mar 7, 2016

    No good

    Worst bank ever. Been on hold for long time can't get any help and when someone picks up the call they won't say a word. I can't believe after four years with them I get treated like this. Horrible service.... ughh I had to pick a star just to (rateit) not good

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.