C+ MyBankTracker Rating

TD Bank Customer Reviews

(439 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 37
4 Star 11
3 Star 13
2 Star 32
1 Star 346

The Most Helpful TD Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By jcrosita Nov 3, 2012

Horrible

I have been a member for over 20 years including when it was commerce bank. Since it has been td bank i have had many bad experiences but this is the worst. On november 1, 2012 at 6:30 pm i walked in and i waited to see a customer representative to see about closing my account due to a maintenance fee. Stephanie greeted me and asked if she could help me. While talking i had asked her some questions about a student account to see if i could get free checking. When she asked me my age she informed me that i did not qualify, as you had to be younger. Therefore, i asked her to close my account and distribute to me the 250. 28 that i had left in my account. She did all the proper procedures rather coldly without smiling or responding very friendly to me when i tried to spark up a small conversation, however, she did her job and exited to retrieve my cash. When she returned i briefly looked inside the envelope, however, i did not count the amount correctly. When i left the building i went to wells fargo, which is right next-door and began to count my money that she gave to me and i noticed that i was $80. 00 short. I immediately returned to td bank and asked stephanie if i had dropped any money because i was missing some cash. She became very rude and told me no and that she cannot tell me what i did with my money after i leave the bank and that she is not responsible for it. She also angrily said to me that she watched me count it in front of her. I was rather nervous due to the economy today and hoping that some how she could help me so i nicely explained to her that i know and i realize that but i must have not counted it properly because i'm missing money and i only have 170. 00. She then stormed off to the teller counter and disappeared from my sight. I had to ask the teller where she went and he told me she was counting the drawer. She then came back and gave me the 80 dollars and said sorry but never apologized how rude and angry she acted. I closed my account and will never return.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By dissatisfied1 Dec 5, 2013

How hard is it to cash a $2,200 check?

This is the worst customer service I have ever received going to this bank. I sold my upright piano so I could buy a C. Bechstein grand piano. The guy who bought it gave me a check for a deposit for $500 and later another for $2,200. When I went to cash the check I went to their branch in Amherst, NH bto cash it so their was no wait clearing. To cash the checks they charge me $7 each ($14 total). This wasn't even the worst part.

When I went to cash the $2,200 dollar check, I had to wait just under 25 minutes (I was watching my watch, unbelievably this is no exaggeration)! There was no one else in line and only one other person being served (who was just making a small withdrawal). There was at least 3 or 4 employees (including the manager) behind the counter. When I asked to cash it they ask for my license then study it for a long time. I tell them I want it in $100's and it take them 5 minutes to figure out they don't have any left. So they just stand around for maybe 10-15 minutes doing absolutely nothing except stare at me and twiddle their thumbs before they get off their lazy behinds and go to the safe out back and get the money. They then spend another 5-10 minutes getting the money out. When then finally give it to me, then forget to give me back my license so I have to remind them to give it to me.

Please, people don't get checking accounts here so you don't have to make the people who receive the checks suffer to get their money. Not only will they be ripped off trying to cash their check but they will have to waste large amounts of time to get their money because the banks are run by lazy and incompetent people.

I am glad I had this experience because I was almost thinking of getting an account. What a mistake that would have been!

Is this review helpful?

Latest TD Bank Reviews

  • D
    Reviewed By dsonline Feb 12, 2016

    Left them in less than 1 month

    I closed my account within 30 days. They charge for EVERYTHING.

    When I transferred money to another account (external account) they charged me $3.00 and it took longer than any other bank I've made EFTs to/from.

    I deposited a check once in the drive through. Guess what? $3.00 fee. lol. I mean damn I'm a new customer maybe I should have read all the fees carefully but at least remind me that the fee could be avoided if I deposit through the ATM for example.

    I was already skeptical to pay $6.95 a month for a checking account in the first place.

    My first experience was my chip enabled Visa debit card would work 5% of the time. Unrelated to the chip. It just never seemed to work when swiping it. I was told to go to a branch to get a replacement card. I did. And their machine was broken. Great. Glad I didn't transfer all my money to TD Bank yet. Since they'd likely charge me to withdraw it by teller too.

    They send me a replacement card, guess what. This one works 85% of the time. WTF is wrong with their cards? I've never had a problem with USAA, American Express or any other credit card I've owned when it comes to swiping.

    I think the final straw for me was $3.00 to do an EFT to another bank. Ridiculous.

    I suggest a Charles Schwabb or Fidelity account (if you don't need a real branch). Everything is FREE. Even free checks (always)! No monthly fee! No ATM fees, they reimburse you for ALL ATM fees same day. MUCH better mobile banking app. You can deposit your checks via the app. Unless you need a brick and mortar bank, I suggest you go with one of the aforementioned banks. If you're ex-military, parents or spouse are military or ex-military then USAA is the way to go.

    To hell with TD and their ridiculous fees.

    Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By Benji819 Feb 8, 2016

    Terrible Bank for Small Businesses

    Horrible bank for small businesses. Huge staff turnover (major red flag). You can work with someone one week and the next week that person can be gone. This is a common problem - staff changes constantly - bad sign if you are small business and need that bank staffer connection who understands the need's of your small business.

    Also, the wait time on the phone is horrendous - think an average of 10-15 minutes before you even get someone on the phone.

    Had a fraudulent check go thru my account. Thankfully, I was closing this acct. so no money was withdrawn but when I repeatedly asked for a report for what happened they just said they don't rush on fraud cases where no money was deducted. I'm now going on 4 months and have yet to get any kind of report and I highly doubt I"ll ever get one. I actually had one of the managers of my bank ask me "why I needed the report".

    I'm in the process of moving my accts. I cannot wait till I don't have to deal with this horrendous bank any longer.

    Is this review helpful?
  • G
    Reviewed By graciep118 Feb 6, 2016

    my td bank

    I think td is really Americas most convenient Bank. I have them since October when I went into my local branch. I had a large check to deposit, but I wanted to put the magarity in a savings and some in checking. The associate who assisted me was fast and she really set it up the best way for the money to work for me. I love td bank.

    Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Sharonz Feb 6, 2016

    Customer Service is suck!

    TD bank's customer service representative do not have patient with their customers and the way they talk with their customer is been so rude! I feel they discriminate with non-native speaker! Don't suggest you to have account with them!

    Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By Tenzin Feb 6, 2016

    Dissatisfied with bank staffs

    They took my 15$ as maintenance cost every month and they didn't try to refund me. I went to bank and deal with supervisor but she were not available on time and i kept message for her to call, and they didn't called me. The customer care sucks because they don't know how to deal with people. Right i'm with chase bank a way much easier than TD bank

    Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By cjmhall Feb 2, 2016

    Astonishingly incompetent

    Thankfully, my disastrous three-week experience as a customer of TD Bank has today come to an end. I am astounded that a bank so dysfunctional and incompetent can continue to do business. In summary, the last few weeks has consisted of:

    - Being turned away by two separate TD Bank branches when trying to open an account as they thought I was in the US illegally (they could not understand the permanent resident visa in my passport).
    - Customer rep at branch #3 opened the accounts, however:
    - My first name was spelled incorrectly
    - My middle name was recorded as my last name
    - My last name was recorded nowhere in the system
    - My address was recorded incorrectly

    These errors were discovered when contacting TD Cross-Border Banking to have the new accounts linked to my existing ones at TD Canada Trust. The phone rep repeatedly asked me to confirm my name "as it appears on the account". He became more and more frustrated as I kept informing him my legal name as per my passport, and eventually told me he would not help me and I would need to go back to a branch with my ID.

    I went to branch #4 which was closer to my house to find out what the issue was. The customer service rep seemed quite knowledgeable and uncovered the full range of problems outlined above. He sent away a form to have my name corrected in the system. I was told to wait 2 business days to have the name updated in the system.

    A week later I went into the bank to make a deposit and to confirm that my name had been corrected. I was told it had not and to come back in 1-2 business days. After this happened a second time the customer rep submitted another form to have my name corrected as the original one may have been "lost". I was anxious for this to be corrected as I had intended to apply for a credit card (under my correct name). I was told to submit a paper credit card application while the issue was being resolved, which I agreed to do.

    Today after calling to find out the status of my card application I was advised that they would not help me and that I would need to attend a branch again with my ID to have my name updated in the system. I went straight to the branch and advised them to close my accounts, but was told I could not as the bank had frozen all of my accounts due to a mismatch having been identified with my name!!

    After two hours in the branch and refusing to leave I finally walked out with my cash and deposited it straight into another bank. It feels as though a huge weight had been lifted off my shoulders now that my ordeal with America's Most Incompetent Bank has finally come to an end.

    I would absolutely not recommend this utterly useless bank to anyone.

    Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By nmjg12 Jan 9, 2016

    SCAMMERS

    THIS WAS A VERY COMMON PRACTICE AMONG THE BIG BANKS BUT HAS DIMINISHED EXCEPT FOR TD BANK.THIS HAS TO DO WITH PHONEY PROMOTIONS AND WHEN AS AN EXAMPLE THE ONLINE SIGN UP DOES NOT WORK THEY DIRECT YOU TO GO TO A BRANCH AND THEN AFTER THE TWO MONTHS WAITING PERIOD THEY TELL YOU THAT YOU DO NOT QUALIFY, AS IT WAS NOT OPENED ONLINE.ANOTHER FAMOUS EXCUSE, IS A POSSIBLY A PURPOSEFUL BUG IN THE ONLINE FORM THAT TELLS ONE TO RETURN SHORTLY AS THERE IS TECHNICAL PROBLEMS.WHEN ONE RETURNS SEVERAL TIMES, AS YOU HAVE TO REDO THE ENTIRE APPLICATION TO GET TO WHAT I CALL A INTENTIONAL BUG,IN TWO MONTHS AFTER THE BONUS IS DUE, THEY NEVER GIVE IT TO YOU.WHEN YOU CONTACT THEM THEY CLAIM YOU ARE DISQUALIFIED BECAUSE YOU TRIED TO START THREE ACCOUNTS.OF COURSE. THEY TOLD YOU TO TRY AGAIN, SINCE THEY HAD ALLEGED TECHNICAL PROBLEMS.LEGALLY THEIR OWN TERMS STATE IT IS IRRELEVANT HOW MANY ACCOUNTS YOU START, SINCE YOU WILL ONLY BE GIVEN THE BONUS ONE TIME.BUT HAS ABSOLUTELY NO RESTRICIONS ON HOW MANY ACCOUNTS YOU HAVE IN THE LEGALIZE EXPLANATION SECTION PERIOD..THERE ARE MANY MORE EXCUSES GIVEN, BUT THIS AT THIS TIME IS A STRONG WARNING THAT THEY ARE STILL UP TO THEIR OLD TRICKS AND HAVE PAID SUBSTANTIAL FINES ALREADY, BUT HAVE FAILED TO LEARN HOW TO BE AN ETHICAL BUSINESS..

    Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By alabrada1 Jan 9, 2016

    Worst bank ever

    Online banking takes forever to update transactions and it creates confusion on customers. I guess that's how they get their money charging customers $35 on overdrafts.

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By Jmiller64 Jan 8, 2016

    By far the best !!!

    I love my bank ! They keep it simple, Take care of my tiny little bit of banking needs & at the same time make me feel as if I'm just as important as their highest account holder...They greet me by name when I walk in, & I know you said we can't mention names...I wish I could because TD Bank has some employees at my branch that really go the extra mile in more ways than I can say...So for me....As a married woman with a disabled husband, working two partime jobs to try to make ends meet...My bank takes one less worry off my mind...
    Thank you & Happy New Year !

    Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By NYCprofessional Jan 8, 2016

    Worst Customer Experience of My Life

    So we spent 5 months working on a HELOC after my neighbor mentioned she was going through this bank (BTW, she later told me how dissatisfied she was). Why 5 months? Because first, the assigned processor was new and told me "I don't know what I'm doing," she also never returned phone calls/emails until I enlisted local branch people, then I had to submit almost all the documents more than once because she lost them, and then ultimately, they declined the loan without telling us why??? Never mind we have stable professional jobs, perfect credit, LTV of 40, and money in the bank. It's almost inexplicable how badly they operate. The only good thing is that it is over and I will never have to deal with them again.

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.