A MyBankTracker Rating

Woodforest National Bank Customer Reviews

(68 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 20
4 Star 1
3 Star 0
2 Star 4
1 Star 43

The Most Helpful Woodforest National Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By tcdavis May 26, 2016

Woodforest is amazing (Indian Trail, NC)

We joined WF as second chance customers. Never treated like it either. We changed over to regular, free banking later on. We get our dd from paycheck a day early. We can call or go in a branch and get cash out for our overdraft, when we're in a pinch. Same day mobile banking deposit, my main branch is amazinglying helpful and friendly. We've had our card hacked twice from a gas pump (lesson learned), even though we only used credit not debit. WF released our money back to us the same day and handled the paperwork quickly for the scam artists who screwed us. We ended up moving to a state without a WF but I wouldn't change banks for the world.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By briann Dec 19, 2015

closed my account without telling me , said my money went to the state, 6 mths later the money is still missing.

Ive had this account for 7 years as a convenient second bank, leaving the minimum 200 in the account to keep it open and avoid any fees.Then in June of 2015, I got my monthly statement in the mail, but this time that the account had been closed. I called customer no service to find that my 200 dollars had been sent to the state (due to inactivity over a period of 2 years) and advised I contact missing funds.org which should have reference of the funds within 60-90 days of closing. Its now Dec 2015, and the money is still not posted to the state website, the state dept has not responded to any mailings, and wood forest says they have no other info that would provide me a way to get my money back (after acknowledging they never sent me advance notice providing opportunity to get it before closing. Wood forest you stole my money and the state has no reference of it. Im reporting you guys this is illegal to not inform me , I didn't die for god sakes you should have notified me.

Is this review helpful?

Latest Woodforest National Bank Reviews

  • T
    Reviewed By tcdavis May 26, 2016

    Woodforest is amazing (Indian Trail, NC)

    We joined WF as second chance customers. Never treated like it either. We changed over to regular, free banking later on. We get our dd from paycheck a day early. We can call or go in a branch and get cash out for our overdraft, when we're in a pinch. Same day mobile banking deposit, my main branch is amazinglying helpful and friendly. We've had our card hacked twice from a gas pump (lesson learned), even though we only used credit not debit. WF released our money back to us the same day and handled the paperwork quickly for the scam artists who screwed us. We ended up moving to a state without a WF but I wouldn't change banks for the world.

    Is this review helpful?

    Woodforest National Bank

    Replied on May 26, 2016

    We are excited that you are pleased with our service! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. Thank you for banking with Woodforest!

  • S
    Reviewed By stan0504 May 23, 2016

    Basic training for wannabee bank tellers and branch managers.

    Poor bank, poor customer service. Nobody there knows what they are doing. If you call to speak to a customer service rep, guess what? you get the answering machine. I opened an account there in January. Checking and savings, direct deposit the whole deal. the debit card would not work. they sent me another one, for the 15 dollar fee of course, and it failed to work as well. the last card they sent only works at certian ATM's so I wind up paying the 4.00 surcharge every time I need cash. I finally started withdrawing my whole paycheck each week just so I would only have to pay one fee. Stay away from this bank unless you want their hand on your wallet. They have a high employee/management turnover, so don't expect to see the same employee twice.

    I have since moved to Suntrust Bank in Charlotte.I opened the account online, the card came in three days the pin the following day. Chipped card that works everywhere. and you get answers on the phone from experienced bankers, and top notch customer service. They also have brick and mortar branches. You don't have to mingle in wal-mart to bank.

    Is this review helpful?

    Woodforest National Bank

    Replied on May 26, 2016

    We apologize for such a difficult experience. We would like to look further into your situation. If you’ll send an email with your contact information to SocialMedia@woodforest.com, we will get in touch with you.

  • D
    Reviewed By donaldjmeyer May 1, 2016

    ATM Issues

    When I went to the Woodforest bank at the Tidewater Drive Walmart in Norfolk on 1 May 2016 to make an ATM withdrawal I discovered that the ATM was off line. This has happened a number of times over the past several years. Every time the staff was helpful in making a counter withdrawal, but it could be time consuming as a lot of customers use this branch. Either the company needs to provide better training to their ATM crews or add another ATM.

    Is this review helpful?

    Woodforest National Bank

    Replied on May 02, 2016

    We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. We would like the opportunity to look further into your situation. Please send us an email to SocialMedia@woodforest.com with your contact information and we will get in touch with you shortly to address the matter.

  • H
    Reviewed By hayley3 Apr 29, 2016

    Loan department doesn't answer their phone

    I wanted to apply for a car loan. The branch said it had to be done online so I did the application online. I waited 7 days and didn't hear anything and finally called the Loan Dept phone number but they won't answer their phone. The recording repeats over and over to call the same number I had just called. So I called Customer Service to complain and they said to call the same number that I was calling to complain about. Talk about awful customer service!!!

    Is this review helpful?

    Woodforest National Bank

    Replied on May 02, 2016

    We apologize for such a difficult experience. We would like to look further into your situation. If you’ll send an email with your contact information to SocialMedia@woodforest.com, we will get in touch with you.

  • S
    Reviewed By Saaron Apr 12, 2016

    Western Union

    My daughter and her fiance have been planning to be married for over a year. The funds were being sent Western Union FROM Saudi Arabia as he is an international student. She received an email stating that funds were available to be picked up at her nearest Western Union. When she went to the Woodforest National Bank in Cullman, Alabama the teller told her that she would not look up the transaction as it was fraud. After we tried to explain that this transaction was not a fraud, she stated that she didn't care and she was not going to do it. Your customer service is AWFUL!! If this was a scam, funds would not be available to pick up. fyi.. Scams usually involve having to pay money internationally, not receive money. She could have at least looked up the MTCN number to verify, but REFUSED. I told her that I was going to formally complain and would like to talk with her boss and she said Go ahead.. fyi.

    Is this review helpful?

    Woodforest National Bank

    Replied on Apr 14, 2016

    We apologize for such a difficult experience. We would like to look further into your situation. If you’ll send an email with your contact information to SocialMedia@woodforest.com, we will get in touch with you.

  • C
    Reviewed By cmatheny79 Apr 8, 2016

    By far the worst bank I've ever dealt with.

    I've had 2 accounts closed on me since I started using wood forest. I've only been with them for 2 years. I've always kept the minimum in my account, they never sat inactive for over three months. I came back to college and had to reopen my account, the 400$ in it was sent out and I haven't seen it since. The second account was closed shortly after I bought my car and pulled 10,000$ out and left 200$ in. A month later that account was closed and my $200 was gone. The third account which I'm going to go close after I finish typing this has been charged multiple times for $20 "service fees". I was unaware that you needed $100 worth of service to cash checks for me every month. To anyone thinking wood forest I strongly urge you to NOT USE THEIR BANKING SERVICES. Go to Huntington or Chase Bank.

    Is this review helpful?

    Woodforest National Bank

    Replied on Apr 08, 2016

    We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. We would like the opportunity to look further into your situation. Please send us an email to SocialMedia@woodforest.com with your contact information and we will get in touch with you shortly to address the matter.

  • G
    Reviewed By gvickery Apr 5, 2016

    The most frustrating bank ever.

    I've been with them for 5 LONG years now and I've finally reached my end. They have canceled my debit/credit card numerous times due to "suspicious" activity without notifying me before or after. So then all of my online bills that are paid with the card become late. They have the nerve to email me saying my contact info is not up to date, but I log in and find that it is all current. Their customer service reps speak horrible broken english and their smaller branches, usually in Walmart, are manned by a bunch of idiots who can never seem to find a way to help you do anything more than a simple deposit. Utterly disappointed, avoid at all cost.

    Is this review helpful?

    Woodforest National Bank

    Replied on Apr 08, 2016

    We apologize for such a difficult experience. We would like to look further into your situation. If you’ll send an email with your contact information to SocialMedia@woodforest.com, we will get in touch with you.

  • B
    Reviewed By bigrobs73 Mar 16, 2016

    Closed my accounts after 10 years`

    I have had a checking and savings account over ten years with this bank. As of today I DO NOT! They've closed my accounts and TIED UP ALL MY MONEY! I've been a faithful customer all this time! My children have accounts (OR AT LEAST THEY DID!) for quite sometime. This is all very suspicious! I called them for an explanation and was told they didn't have one for me. Well, they're loss is CAPTIOL ONEs gain! Thanks Woodforest for opening my eyes! Now please give me back my money!

    Is this review helpful?

    Woodforest National Bank

    Replied on Mar 16, 2016

    Woodforest National Bank is dedicated to providing quality customer service and we would appreciate the opportunity to speak directly with you. Please send your contact information to CustomerAdvocacy@woodforest.com

  • G
    Reviewed By Greyedon Mar 2, 2016

    Bank Card issues, no working replacement available in real time

    Due to a recent fraudulent merchant being used at some point, they removed the ability to use my Mastercard Debit card signature and it could only be used as pin transactions. No big deal as just went to the local branch to get a replacement with a chip to replace this one as an automated system advised me that contacted me directly. The agent set up a new one in no time but said that I would need to surrender the old card that was still active as it has to be shredded. No other option.
    Catch was that the new card is not active for approximately 24 hours, so they asked if I needed any cash until the new card is active. I laughed and said that cash doesn't work online which is a majority of what my business entails.
    Numerous calls in and no changes possible as I have no active access to my account via a card. Only received the standard "I'm sorry for the inconvenience." They just lost a customer of 10 years +.

    Is this review helpful?

    Woodforest National Bank

    Replied on Mar 08, 2016

    We apologize for such a difficult experience. We would like to look further into your situation. If you’ll send an email with your contact information to SocialMedia@woodforest.com, we will get in touch with you.

  • J
    Reviewed By Jwkrass Feb 6, 2016

    Mobile deposit

    Made a mobile deposit took all steps to make a deposit signed check for wood forest deposit only now my deposit is stuck in review no local branches and left with no money over the weekend as my deposit sits in limbo. I called and they said there's issues with there app no time frame of repairs... Why is it every time I call wood forest they sound like getto temp service tellers ?

    Is this review helpful?

    Woodforest National Bank

    Replied on Feb 09, 2016

    We apologize for such a difficult experience. We would like to look further into your situation. If you’ll send an email with your contact information to SocialMedia@woodforest.com, we will get in touch with you.

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.