Overall Rating

MyBankTracker rated Woodforest National Bank based on the following criteria that includes real customer reviews and bank fees, among others. Our bank report card is a proprietary rating system that highlights the financial health and stability of the bank.

A

MyBankTracker Rating

Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Number of Locations
Mobile Deposits
Mobile Banking

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »

803
Branch Locations

Woodforest National Bank Location Map
We found branches close to you.

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank Rates
CIT Bank
Add
Bank Rates
Sandy Spring Bank
Add
Bank Reviews
Imperial Capital Bank
Add
Compare Banks

Woodforest National Bank Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction

Woodforest National Bank Latest Customer Reviews

peytonhaliwell1's Profile Image

Reviewed by peytonhaliwell1

Feb 25th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Love Them!

I absolutely love my bank. They are always nice to me and so helpful unlike my last bank. I'm happy with my decision to switch to woodforest.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

vsmith's Profile Image

Reviewed by vsmith

Feb 18th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Excellence In Customer Service And Completely Knowledgeable.

Each visit is fast prompt and courteous and friendly smiles always informative of new services for customer. Extreame confidence in each customers accounts and concerns.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

Response by Woodforest National Bank

Responded by WNBCustomerService

Feb 18th 2015

We are excited that you are pleased with our service! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. Thank you for banking with Woodforest!

Tammy930's Profile Image

Reviewed by Tammy930

Feb 13th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Love this Bank!!

We've had our Woodforest account for several years now and we have never had any problems. I don't know what other posts mean by "hidden fees" because there are none. Their customer service people are excellent; very helpful, friendly and always willing to help. I have found this in their other branches as well. We had to move just outside of Ohio but we kept our account with them because of their services. So if we do have to go into a branch we don't mind the short drive. We love this bank!! Keep up the great work!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Woodforest National Bank

Responded by WNBCustomerService

Feb 16th 2015

Woodforest is dedicated to providing quality customer service and appreciate your feedback. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with others. On behalf of everyone at Woodforest, we appreciate your kind comments regarding the service received from our team members. We look forward to serving your future banking needs.

Lifeschoices's Profile Image

Reviewed by Lifeschoices

Jan 29th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Review

I been dealing with this bank now for quit a while,the bank branch manager,I find is top notch,the staff is ALWAYS considerate and profession a,recently while waiting for my place in line ,a customer got rude and haughty with one of the tellers,,,her response was top notch,she handled the customer with poise and patience. that's the type people I can trust and enjoy doing business with

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Woodforest National Bank

Responded by WNBCustomerService

Jan 29th 2015

We are excited that you are pleased with our service! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. Thank you for banking with Woodforest!

TracyB43's Profile Image

Reviewed by TracyB43

Jan 26th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

New Philadelphia Branch, Ohio

I have been with Woodforest for 5 yrs now. They gave me second chance banking with a 5 dollar deposit. The manager Cindy is a wonderful person and will help with any problem with a smile! Their OD fees are only 29 dollars. Guarantee you will pay 2 fees for an overdraft at any other bank and they will charge at least 35 per OD! If you mess up you can take a checking tutorial and have one OD taken off. This bank is excellent and i wish they were at every Walmart but I got lucky because there are 2 near me.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Woodforest National Bank

Responded by WNBCustomerService

Jan 29th 2015

Woodforest is dedicated to providing quality customer service and appreciate your feedback. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with others. On behalf of everyone at Woodforest, we appreciate your kind comments regarding the service received from our team members. We look forward to serving your future banking needs.

SRT58's Profile Image

Reviewed by SRT58

Jan 18th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

The Best Bank

I have been banking here for over 10 years. I have never had an issue with this bank. The service is the best, they are so helpful. What I love the most is that they are open late and most holidays. Only wished they had more ATMs in other locations.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Woodforest National Bank

Responded by WNBCustomerService

Jan 20th 2015

Woodforest is dedicated to providing quality customer service and appreciate your feedback. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with others. On behalf of everyone at Woodforest, we appreciate your kind comments. We look forward to serving your future banking needs.

Pjv76063's Profile Image

Reviewed by Pjv76063

Jan 16th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Excellent service!

I had identity theft and by the time I closed my account with the other bank all other banks were closed except WoodForest. They took great care of me. I got a great account with them. Their customer service is outstanding. Try this bank. Your gonna love it.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Woodforest National Bank

Responded by WNBCustomerService

Jan 20th 2015

Woodforest is dedicated to providing quality customer service and appreciate your feedback. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with others. On behalf of everyone at Woodforest, we appreciate your kind comments. We look forward to serving your future banking needs.

peachesncrm2011hot's Profile Image

Reviewed by peachesncrm2011hot

Oct 15th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

5 Years And I Still Love Them!

I love my bank! Yes they have fees if you od or have NSF but what bank doesn't? I travel a lot and have never found a branch with "grumpy" associates. I get my direct deposit a day early just as promised and if i ever did find a "problem" (and all the ones i ever found were me not looking at something correctly) my "home branch" and any other branch i happen to be at are always happy to help and do so quite quickly.

I love the overdraft protection that always helps when the end of the month bills are due and i never feel judged or looked down at when i come in an my account is in the red after using this feature. I have been here for 5 years and was thinking of changing when i moved but i love them to much to go someplace else so i will just have to drive a little extra until i am lucky enough to get a branch in shelbyville.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Response by Woodforest National Bank

Responded by WNBCustomerService

Jan 20th 2015

Woodforest is dedicated to providing quality customer service and appreciate your feedback. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with others. On behalf of everyone at Woodforest, we appreciate your kind comments. We look forward to serving your future banking needs.

Garza8771's Profile Image

Reviewed by Garza8771

Oct 4th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Good Local Bank

I've been a Woodforest Bank customer since 2003 and have never had a problem. I fail to understand the negative comments on here and can only wonder if their short comings weren't more their fault than the bank. I rarely post on any web page but after seeing these I felt compelled to say the only objections I have are there are only two tellers on busy (common) pay days and you have to wait about 20 minutes to get in and out but other than that the staff of all the branches have always been courteous, professional and when needed--very helpful. I recommend this bank to anyone what does not need national or international connections.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

robinsonjm21's Profile Image

Reviewed by robinsonjm21

Sep 16th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Love This Bank

I have been with woodforest for a total of 5 years and i love this bank. I have never had a problem with them and the staff are always friendly and helpful. I can't understand why all the negative comments.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Response by Woodforest National Bank

Responded by WNBCustomerService

Sep 18th 2014

Woodforest is dedicated to providing quality customer service and appreciate your feedback. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with others. On behalf of everyone at Woodforest, we appreciate your kind comments. We look forward to serving your future banking needs.

dijj4hotmailcom's Profile Image

Reviewed by dijj4hotmailcom

Jul 19th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

best bank ever

I absolutely am pleased with this bank. The branch in Laurens, Sc is so helpful. I am one that have been careless with checking accounts in the past. They help me turn around. Now I understand. You spend what you have and keep track of your spending. Its all about paying attention. The tellers there know you when you come in and are always nice. I cant blame woodforest for overdrafts at all. This bank is not trying to get rich off of working people, they are there to help careless account holders become responsible.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Response by Woodforest National Bank

Responded by WNBCustomerService

Sep 9th 2014

Woodforest is dedicated to providing quality customer service and appreciate your feedback. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with others. On behalf of everyone at Woodforest, we appreciate your kind comments regarding the service received from our team members. We look forward to serving your future banking needs.

rainybug's Profile Image

Reviewed by rainybug

Jun 9th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Very very happy with Woodforest

They gave me a second chance. Their hours and days, I really appreciate. The people working there have always been very nice. When I leave a message in my account of a protest (at least 3 times). They always answer right away and take care of it. They have gotten my money back for me every time. I would recommend this back and the one in Liberty Texas.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

Response by Woodforest National Bank

Responded by WNBCustomerService

Jun 10th 2014

Woodforest is dedicated to providing quality customer service and appreciate your feedback. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with others. On behalf of everyone at Woodforest, we appreciate your kind comments regarding the service received from our team members. We look forward to serving your future banking needs.

tiffanyrenee's Profile Image

Reviewed by tiffanyrenee

Feb 14th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great Customer Service; Great Experience for Every Visit.

I banked with wells Fargo before it was wells Fargo, it was Wachovia back then. From 2008-2013 NONE of the tellers took the time to remember regulars. The moment I made the switch to Woodforest I felt like family. The tellers may not know me by name but they know my face. They ask about my day and I know at least one on a personal level. ( I know about her family, she knows about mine; we swapped funny stories during my account setup).

At any other bank, most tellers hate to see you coming. At woodforest they welcome you. I feel comfortable with woodforest. When I have questions about my account I dont have to go to a branch and ask those questions, I dont even have to call customer service and wait for hours for a quick quick answer, I call the branch directly and talk to a person who pulls up my account, looks at my name, and remembers who I am. I'm not a business transaction, I have a friend on the other side of the counter, is how I feel everytime I set foot on that little kiosk. :)

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Response by Woodforest National Bank

Responded by WNBCustomerService

Apr 23rd 2014

Woodforest is dedicated to providing quality customer service and appreciate your feedback. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with others. On behalf of everyone at Woodforest, we appreciate your kind comments regarding the service received from our team members. We look forward to serving your future banking needs.

Supaabadd's Profile Image

Reviewed by Supaabadd

Jan 27th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great.

The Assistant Manager helped me refinance my home. It was a great experience.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

longlast's Profile Image

Reviewed by longlast

Jan 9th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Opened a new senior account at Porter TX branch

Simone at Porter TX location opened my new senior citizens account -- it was free. My debit card and checks were free with no annual fee. She was thorough and knew the details of the account from the bank's perspective. My cards and checks came within 5 days to my house. I was able to go online and make everything paperless. I am able to direct deposit into the account. She followed up with a phone call. It was very positive.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

alev3983's Profile Image

Reviewed by alev3983

Dec 19th 2013

5 out of 5 marks

Fantastic

I love Woodforest Bank because of privilege pay advantages.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

vfevans's Profile Image

Reviewed by vfevans

Dec 29th 2011

5 out of 5 marks

Absolute the Best Bank Staff

I did not open my acct as a 2nd chance - I opened my accts because of the convenience of bank'ng hrs. I opened my accts w/a $50 dep + a sign up bonus, which I did receive. During my tenure w/Woodforest, the staff "knows" me - I mean they KNOW me! Of the original staff, 2 are left, but I can call my branch, talk to 1 of the 2 and get things handled. I ordered cks one time and there was a major mistake -- I called, staff took care of it and w/in a wk I had new cks that were correct. Like others, I keep track of what I spend via online, the hrs are wonderful (wish they would go bk to the org hrs, but I'm okay w/the new hrs), the staff is always courteous. I have and would recommend Woodforest to others. Re: bank rates/fees - in line w/other banks.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Daniels's Profile Image

Reviewed by Daniels

Mar 26th 2011

5 out of 5 marks

Best Bank Ever!

It cracks me up when I hear people say that Woodforest "took their money". Well if you keep track of what you spend, don't write checks when you don't have the money in your account, don't give your account information online or to anyone else, you shouldn't have a problem. If you over spend...YES! you are going to get an OD fee! If you write a bad check...YES! you are going to get an NSF fee! Woodforest places items in pending until they are completed so customers can see what is being processed into their accounts and give them extra time to deposit money if needed before any fees may be accessed! That sounds like a good thing to me! And Woodforest doesn't even check credit! If you have the second chance checking account that is probably because you have had issues with other banks as well! So before you go blame Woodforest...maybe you should keep track of your money!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 8 ▼ No 1

joseph i's Profile Image

Reviewed by joseph i

Jun 8th 2010

5 out of 5 marks

Great hours, processing weekends and holidays, convenient locations, easy to bank with them.

They're open every day except Christmas. So are some other banks. But Woodforest is the only bank that PROCESSES on weekends and holidays. They also have an 8pm deposit deadline, while most banks have a 2pm or 4pm cutoff time. I was with 1st Convenience for a while, and they are open every day but Christmas as well, but every time I deposited my paycheck at 3pm on Friday, I wouldn't have access to the funds until the following Tuesday morning if there were no holidays. This is true of other banks as well. Whereas with Woodforest, since they have such a late cutoff time, I can come in at 6pm on Saturday and my check will post THAT DAY! There was one Sunday when I went out to eat and ended up overdrawing my account, but I was able to get there before they closed and make a deposit to bring my account positive again. They said Woodforest ALWAYS processes deposits before withdrawals, so I can be negative in my account all day long, as long as I make a deposit to cover it all before they close I won't get any overdraft fees. They're fees are usually lower than everyone else's too. Now I have it set up so that if I overdraw my checking account, it sweeps money from my savings account so I don't get an overdraft fee. The nice guy at the branch suggested it to me since I was afraid of accidentally overdrawing.

It's a great bank with great people, normally younger people, but they are still a great bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ken i's Profile Image

Reviewed by ken i

Mar 25th 2010

5 out of 5 marks

i love this bank

this bank has been so helpful to me,they went out of their way to help recover money that was removed from my account that was unauth.they have been the best bank i have ever been involved with.....thanks woodforest bank, in the little road walmart, and their mgr. steve thanks a million..

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

hqnp43's Profile Image

Reviewed by hqnp43

Sep 20th 2011

5 out of 5 marks

Excellent; Good Personal Attention.

Called on my business and then really took good care of me after i switched my banking to them. Have been with them since 1990.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 1

las40's Profile Image

Reviewed by las40

May 28th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

After Finally Getting All The "kinks" Out, (Thanks Only To A Couple Of Branch Managers), Everything Seems Good.

I did not approach these people with your typical average situation, so did not "jump-in" all at once. I opened minimal accounts last fall, gradually increasing my business with them. There were definitely some "bumps", their centralized "customer service" is about 99% useless, and totally aggravating. Thanks to the excellent branch manager in martinsville va, and goshen in personnel, i hung-on with them and got things worked out.

The less-than-stellar customer service rating i gave was due to the call center, and a couple of tellers who were not suited for their jobs. I analyzed many other banks (and still do business with a couple of them on a local basis), woodforest is the one that meets the majority of my needs.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

amyost's Profile Image

Reviewed by amyost

Aug 20th 2011

5 out of 5 marks

Never had any issues. Love this Bank!

I first opened my account with woodforest when I was only 18 and I made a few mistakes when it came to spending more money than I had and of course I was charged od fees. This is just something to expect from any bank... it your responsibility to manage your money. They did change start charging a monthly fee a while back but since i get Direct deposit the movie it. My husband and I love this bank. Not only the convenience of it being in WM but the tellers are always very nice.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

akhrdkor's Profile Image

Reviewed by akhrdkor

Jul 5th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

greatest bank ever

I have been a Woodforest customer since '10 when I lived in Houston. I was paranoid when I moved back to Ohio when I thought I might have to change banks. Fortunately this wasn't the case, and I was able to continue banking there where my ONLY complaints are #1 wish there were more branches and #2 wish they would bring back 24 hour schedule while in a 24 hour Wal-Mart....those 2 suggestions would= perfect banking experience!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 0

Response by Woodforest National Bank

Responded by WNBCustomerService

Sep 9th 2014

Woodforest is dedicated to providing quality customer service and appreciate your feedback. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with others. On behalf of everyone at Woodforest, we appreciate your kind comments. We look forward to serving your future banking needs.

Qwakers's Profile Image

Reviewed by Qwakers

Mar 26th 2012

4 out of 5 marks

Wonderful

Always helpful. Very caring. All my problems were professionaly taken care of. They gave me a bank account when no other bank would. When I screwed up they help me straighten it out. What ever my problems were. Unless they change they will have my total loyalty and I can't say thay about the Multinational Megalomaniacal Bloodsucking banks I have delt with over the years. Nothing personal.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

JWDowd's Profile Image

Reviewed by JWDowd

Sep 4th 2011

4 out of 5 marks

Haven't had any problems.

I like their hours of operation, and they're open every day except Christmas. To the service member who complained about Woodforest not being located everywhere, ignorance is no excuse. Do your research before you get involved with any organization. I haven't had any problems with this bank. The reasons why I don't have problems with this bank is 1. I don't overdraft my account. 2. I don't write bounce checks. 3. I don't give out any personal or banking info to anyone who doesn't need it.

They've never stolen any of my money unlike some other banks I'm not going to mention. I keep track of my money. They don't check credit either. I was able to get the Free Checking account because I don't owe any banks money and that is what they check for. Overall I think it's a good bank. You just have to be smart with your money and know how to manage it. Don't spend it like it's gonna rot.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 1

Trent3389's Profile Image

Reviewed by Trent3389

Feb 9th 2012

2 out of 5 marks

Was great until recent changes

I was with Woodforest for almost exactly 3 years. The workers were always great i every branch i went to. In those 3 years I overdrafted maybe 4 times because I did not keep track of my funds properly mostly for just the 1st year. For the past year I've kept an average of $300 in my accounts. $100 in checking and $200 in savings.

Yet I have been charged around $40 in fees because I have went below these minimum amounts a few times. They may think that they are saving me money by insuring that I don't overdraft but I haven't overdrafted in almost 2 years and I have to pay $40 for it. I have switched to PNC and am pleased with their service much better. Unless I hear any change on these minimum amounts.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

wmdwfprez's Profile Image

Reviewed by wmdwfprez

Oct 27th 2011

2 out of 5 marks

Not The Best But The Only Bank That Would Take Us In Town

They cashed a check once that had been stopped two weeks prior because they lost it in the system and then tried to refuse to credit the money back into our account when they overdrew our account. Would drop them but no other bank near us would let us have an account without a monthly fee so woodforest is it for us right now.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

tow's Profile Image

Reviewed by tow

Jul 25th 2011

2 out of 5 marks

The People Are Good, But They Have The Worst Computer Department Of Any Bank I Have Seen,

Now that Belinda has quit, i am likely to find another bank, if you have a good personal banker, woodforest can be excellent. However their interface with intuit is poor, i have frequently seen outages both in consumer website, and in the busines treasury management. I have had to call and telll them that their site wasn't working (treasury mgmt didn't know they were down) on a number of occasions.

When my assigned officer, Belinda, was working there, i had all issues handled fast with a single phone call or email. The occasional forged signature on the business account, a debit to the wrong account, incorrect ach, etc was handled fast and effortlessly. This was only because i had a good personal banker and she was allowed enough authority to fix things. On the occasion that i tried to call the normal help desk, instead of calling belinda, i was totally frustrated.

I am still looking for another good person there, but i suspect that i am going to find another bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Post a review