Overall Rating

MyBankTracker Grade

B+
Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Mobile Deposits
Mobile Banking

Featured Rates

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank News
CIT Bank
Add
Bank News
OneUnited Bank
Add
Bank Rates
Bank5 Connect
Add
Compare Banks

PerkStreet Financial Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction

PerkStreet Financial Latest Customer Reviews

Alpinedist's Profile Image

Reviewed by Alpinedist

Jul 20th 2013

5 out of 5 marks

I love these guys, mostly.

PerkStreet was advertising on the radio just as my old bank, Washington Mutual, was being assimilated in to Chase. I hate Chase. The shift to PerkStreet was quite smooth. When I call them, a human is are always there and is always helpful. I was not happy when they dropped the debit card rebate from 2% to 1% but even at 1% it is better than any local bank. Online access and bill pay are excellent.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

DivaODoom's Profile Image

Reviewed by DivaODoom

Jul 12th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Absolutely Fantastic! I Get Actual People On The Phone (When I Need To)! And The Cash Back Perks Are Awesome!

Ever since i joined perkstreet, i've made over $100 dollars in cash back. I lost my debit card and was able to get a new one within 3 days! I love perkstreet. I've walked away from the brick and mortar banks and don't regret it one bit!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

Ohmit's Profile Image

Reviewed by Ohmit

Jul 11th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Personalized attention and fantastic customer service

I cannot say enough good things about Perkstreet. It was an adjustment moving from a traditional brick and mortar bank, but I have had such a great first year with Perkstreet, it has definitely been worth it. I'm loving the rewards and and following those Dave Ramsey baby steps and paying off my student loans! I get rewards on everything from my rent (I live in DC, so there's lots of perks back from that!), to laundry (still DC, so I have to use the laundry room!), to groceries!

I'm planning on using my Perks this coming year to send my boyfriend care packages while he's in Afghanistan!

The fantastic customer service is really what sets this bank apart from any other - when I have a problem or a question, they really go above and beyond to make sure that you have all of your questions answered, and even have answers to questions you didn't know you had! Keep it up Perkstreet!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

tommyd's Profile Image

Reviewed by tommyd

Apr 9th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Absolutely the best banking experience we've ever had!

Switching from a traditional brick-and-mortar bank to PerkStreet was different at first, but now that it's been about a year and a half... I wish I had known sooner!

We earned more than $400 in Perks last year, compared to the 0.01 return with the "big bank" made us so much happier.

I wondered what the customer service experience would be like - and we've called them a few times for various reasons. Each time I felt like the employee TRULY cared about helping us and appreciated our business. That's the first time I felt that with our personal banking. PerkStreet is OUTSTANDING!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 1

Response by PerkStreet Financial

Responded by Brendan_PerkStreet

Jun 1st 2012

Tommy,

Thanks for being part of PerkStreet! We do truly care about all our customers. If you ever have any questions or feedback, please don't hesitate to contact me personally.

-Brendan Carroll

PerkStreet Financial

bcarroll@perkstreet.com

Carrie S's Profile Image

Reviewed by Carrie S

Mar 6th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

A Bank That's Focused On My Financial Success

Even after the recent change in perks and dropping the 2% cash back option, perkstreet is still the best bank by far! They made the change to help 90% of their customers, and still have the best deal when it comes to earning cash back with a debit card. I love their customer services, friendliness, response time to questions and all the other perks that come with this bank. They don't nickel and dime me, and are truly interested in my personal financial success.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 5

Response by PerkStreet Financial

Responded by Brendan_PerkStreet

Mar 29th 2012

Hi Carrie,

Thanks for the kind words and for being part of PerkStreet.

Best,

Brendan

tamara's Profile Image

Reviewed by tamara

Jan 15th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Awesome Banking System And Amazing Customer Service

I love this bank and perks! User friendly, excellent customer service.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by PerkStreet Financial

Responded by Brendan_PerkStreet

Jun 1st 2012

Tamara,

Thanks for the positive review! I'm going to pass your kind words onto our customer service team.

Best,

Brendan Carroll

PerkStreet Financial

bcarroll@perkstreet.com

financiallychallen's Profile Image

Reviewed by financiallychallen

Jan 13th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Great banking experience! Has helped me gain control of my money

Once you get your acount opened, which can take a while, everything has gone very smoothly. Love the Perks! The specials each month are also terrific. Can't wait until you can deposit checks or cash without it being direct deposit and would also love a savings account. All in all, has been a positive experience and seems to be improving all the time.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Response by PerkStreet Financial

Responded by Brendan_PerkStreet

Jun 1st 2012

Thanks for the positive review. Great to hear that we're helping you gain control of your money.

Best,

Brendan Carroll

PerkStreet Financial

bcarroll@perkstreet.com

bmck's Profile Image

Reviewed by bmck

Jan 13th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Mostly great! Perkstreet is honest, fee free, and gives rewards for spending your own money, not for going into debt.

We switched from BoA where I'd describe my experience, to put it politely, as unfriendly and dishonest. I was sick of going in to branches to discuss unexpected fees and being told to change my account type to avoid these fees in the future, only to be charged a new fee a few months later. Perkstreet although not perfect is completely transparent. They offer rewards on purchases you make using your own money not credit and in doing so do not incentivize debt like so many other reward programs.

Of course this is at the expense of the businesses you frequent because you have to run your debit card as "credit" - which of course cost the merchant a greater transaction fee - in order to receive the rewards. Perkstreet can not meet all of one's banking needs, but in terms of a checking account provider, I couldn't be happier. Perkstreet represents the bank of future. Gone are the days of brick and mortar financial institutions, online banking - when it comes to day to day finances - is hassle free and Perkstreet offers great costumer service over the phone further eliminating the need for branches.

Additionally, you get free use of all those gas station, barroom ATMs that used to cost me $4 when I banked with BoA. That they do all this with a small overhead, sending the rewards back to those banking with them only makes it a wiser decision to switch.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Response by PerkStreet Financial

Responded by Brendan_PerkStreet

Jun 1st 2012

Thanks for being part of PerkStreet! Transparency is one of our core values. We're challenging the status quo and want to change banking forever. We'll be releasing new products as we continue to innovate.

If you ever have any questions or feedback, please feel free to email me at bcarroll@perkstreet.com.

Best,

Brendan Carroll

PerkStreet Financial

MommioV's Profile Image

Reviewed by MommioV

Jan 10th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Best Bank Ever! Get Paid To Spend Your Money Vs. Paying Fees!

We switched from bank of america. We joined our local credit union for savings, then discovered perkstreet online banking. We have our spending money there and earn 2-5% back on everything we buy, which we would buy anyway. At boa, we were paying them for access to our money. Perkstreet pays us! The switch was a total no-brainer and we have better customer service to boot! Perkstreet also seeks out customer's input/opinions on many different aspects. A bank that serves the customer; what a novel idea!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Luke's Profile Image

Reviewed by Luke

Jan 10th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

New school perks and features, old school customer service

I started getting serious about my personal finances this last year and obviously the biggest challenge is just paying attention to what's happening with your money. A friend referred me to Perkstreet after I went on a rant about all the money I had lost in ATM fees, service charges and other just truly lazy banking moves over the last year. It really is a world of difference.

Second only to clearing out my post-college credit debt, Perkstreet was the best financial move I've made in my adult life. It's almost like they consider it a PRIVILEGE to manage my money and the "Perk" rewards cash they pay out has not only helped me keep my spending to what I actually have in the bank, but it's a uniquely freeing feeling to realize that your making money on your OWN money rather than collecting some arbitrary points while racking up credit card debt.

I think the technology behind this is first class and definitely a new approach to banking, but it also strikes me as the type of customer service that existed back in the day when banks really cared that you were entrusting your money with them. I always get a person on the phone when I call and I love reading tips and tricks from their actual staff on the PerkStreet blog. Very cool company and my favorite financial move this year.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

CustomerForLife's Profile Image

Reviewed by CustomerForLife

Jan 10th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Awesome Customer Service + Unbelievable Rewards

PerkStreet is awesome. I recently found what I thought was a fraudulent charge on my account and when I called customer service I was able to speak to someone (Brandy) right away. She spent time helping me find out where the charge originated and was totally polite and helpful the whole time -- even after we found out my "fraudulent" charge was actually my cell phone bill. Woops! I had completely forgotten paying it. You could tell she enjoyed her job. Also, PerkStreet's rewards are out of this world. I have been banking with them for over a year and already earned almost $800 in rewards just for spending money I already have on things I would have purchased anyway. Absolutely the best bank I've ever dealt with!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Will's Profile Image

Reviewed by Will

Jan 9th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Easy online banking, & I get paid to use my own money! I highly recommend this bank to anyone. Great online community!

You know when all the big banks were trying to charge everyone to use their debit cards? PerkStreet was out there at the same showing all of us how we can get paid to use our own money with their debit card! 1% no matter what your balance is, with the potential to earn 2%. When you open the account, they let everyone earn 2% for the first few months (2 or 3, can't remember) regardless. They even have PowerPerks each month where you can earn 5% at certain locations. You earn the cash when you use your debit card through the MasterCard network as a credit card. The customer service is top-notch, there are no fees as long as you use the account once a month, you can do it all online, and the Facebook page is full of us fans who will help you out when we can. If you're looking for a new bank, PerkStreet is the way to go!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

blanchx5's Profile Image

Reviewed by blanchx5

Jan 9th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Very good banking experience!

PerkStreet encourages debit card use (run as a credit card) to earn perks! It is fantastic and I earn more here than I did with dividends from my credit union. The hold in the beginning does seem to take a long time and it takes a couple of days for deposit transfers to be posted but with planning it is so worth it! I believe they are working on a cell phone app and also online deposits, which will make this bank even better. I had to call once for help with an issue and they were able to resolve the problem quickly. I highly recommend PerkStreet!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

glenwroberts's Profile Image

Reviewed by glenwroberts

Jan 9th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Great perks, great customer service. Some rules to learn.

Have had a few support calls and received very personalized responses from a real human who wasn't just throwing and FAQ or script at me (Thanks Lily!). Perks work as expected. Had to figure out and get used to some rules about the max amount allowed to be transferred in from other institutions, limits on how much can be charged at any one time, and how the Mastercard gift cards worked. All in all, a great experience once you understand the rules.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

daviqh's Profile Image

Reviewed by daviqh

Jan 9th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Amazing.

Fantastic services and products, customer support is great any time I need to use it! Good people and great perks!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

RISkyDiveGal's Profile Image

Reviewed by RISkyDiveGal

Jan 9th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

It's PERK-tastic!

I was uncertain about the whole online bank experience. However, a friend convinced me to give PerkStreet a try. Everything thus far has been top notch - from customer service to the Perks to the social interactions through Facebook, Twitter, etc. They all seem to genuinely care about their customers through the financial education blogs and their prompt responses on Facebook. They even handle the complaints on Facebook with care, compassion and friendliness!

I look forward to a BRIGHT financial future with PerkStreet!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Stephanie T's Profile Image

Reviewed by Stephanie T

Jan 9th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Requires patience at the beginning, but worth it!

I joined up with Perkstreet in October. I came from Wells Fargo, and while I don't have any specific complaints about them, my money was sitting in a no-interest checking account. Opening a savings account would've given me a negligible interest rate.

Until Perkstreet, I'd done my banking the old fashioned way- depositing my own checks from work in person and using cash for most of my transactions. For anyone who isn't used to online banking, adjusting to Perkstreet as an online back will take a little time and an open mind. No, you won't deposit a check and have it available the same day or the next day. No, you can't visit a branch. Perkstreet has such great online and phone customer support that I hardly miss not visiting a branch, and I hardly mind mailing checks and waiting a few days for the money to be available.

Don't expect to open an account and start using it as your primary checking account right off the bat. Because of the extra security features required of an online bank, some transactions during your first month (such as depositing checks through the mail) take a little longer than usual. Online transfers from another bank account and direct deposit (once it's set up) doesn't take as long, though.

I tell everyone to try Perkstreet for a full month before they make a final call on it. Once everything's fully set up (for me, it was getting my card, funding the account from my Wells Fargo account, and waiting for my direct deposit to get set up) it's well worth the patience. Since October I've received $31 in perks, which is 2% back from every non-pin purchase I made! Non-pin purchases can be made at most stores and online, but don't automatically think you can use non-pin to pay your bills and loans online- sometimes you can, sometimes you can't.

Bottom line: No fees! Great customer service! Great online community (check out their Facebook page)! FANTASTIC cash-back perks (no catch! Really!) Overall, I'm very happy!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

peggy400's Profile Image

Reviewed by peggy400

Jan 9th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Have always received quick and helpful solutions to any problem that has arisen.

My husband and I decided to try Perkstreet over a year ago and we really enjoy the 'perks' award system, getting over $700 last year! We have had a couple problems with other banks and not being able to get personal help. I also can transfer money from overseas free! At Perkstreet there is always a friendly person answering our call and really fast, no long waits and then the service is exceptional, they get down to the problem and get it solved, fast. We love PS!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

devonw's Profile Image

Reviewed by devonw

Jan 9th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Very Pleased. Easy To Navigate Website. Responsive Customer Service. All Promotional Promises Kept.

We have never regretted switching to perkstreet. Our paycheck is direct deposited. We do keep a small amount available in a local bank for convenience but rarely need to access it. The few times i've need to talk to customer service, the rep was polite, friendly and easily solved my problem or answered my question. When i needed something mailed to me they must have gotten it in the mail the same day. The website is intuitive. I download transactions to a desktop budgeting program (ynab-youneedabudget) easily. My mom uses quicken and it also handles the downloaded data without problem. The promise of cash back perks (1-2% on purchases made when debit card is processed as credit) is what attracted us to perkstreet and we definitely love those, but they are a great bank even without the perks. We have been with ps since march i think and have accumulated over $200 dollars (at 1%) that will be so helpful during my husband's annual winter layoff.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

vrains's Profile Image

Reviewed by vrains

Jan 9th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Very satisfied.

All transactions are user friendly. Making deposits and withdrawing funds is simple and convenient. Accuracy of funds has been perfect, and transferring of funds and bill pay are an added convience.

The benefit that stands out the most is the points (dollars) earned with transactions from my bank card used as credit transactions. The amounts I have earned in less than a year far outweigh any interest earned in multiple years at any other institutions (savings or checking).

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

makmagic2000's Profile Image

Reviewed by makmagic2000

Jan 9th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Best bank around - smooth & lucrative experience

PerkStreet Financial is the best thing since sliced bread. Banking online is so easy and convenient. I'm able to use Target ATM's for my withdrawals and I mail in my deposits, which post to my account within 2 - 3 days. Customer service is superb, very knowledgable and always eager to help. I LOVE earning perks just for using my debit card. The website is easy to operate and I keep tabs on my banking activity on a regular basis. Everything has been going smoothly since July 2011. I'm so glad I found PerkStreet, I'm never going back to a bank that charges fees to use my money.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Sameet S's Profile Image

Reviewed by Sameet S

Jan 9th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Perks for bein money savvy

The customer service is great. I was able to pay my hospital bills for my son's birth and use the perks for little treats for both of us!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Cynthia L's Profile Image

Reviewed by Cynthia L

Jan 9th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

I LOVE Perkstreet!

I've never had a single problem with perkstreet. I've always received excellent customer service when I've had questions or concerns. The website is very user friendly & the best part is the perks! The perks program is very easy to understand and the reward money adds up quickly.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Brian's Profile Image

Reviewed by Brian

Jan 9th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Excellant Customer Service And Excellant Perks Of 2% Cashback On All Purchases

I love being able to use a debit card and receive 2% cash back on all purchases. Since our family no longer uses credit, this bank is the only choice to receive cash rewards. We now pay all our bills and purchases with this account and have accumulated almost $600 in under one year. The customer service is exceptional and online transfers are quick and easy. Anything needed to be done by mail is also very fast. Truely an excellant new concept to banking. Many thanks to the staff for making this a very enjoyable experience!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ghoti00000's Profile Image

Reviewed by ghoti00000

Jan 9th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

A Great, Positive Experience.

Although the setup process was a little sluggish, everything following account creation has be great. Customer service always answers promptly and is able to resolve any issue i have quickly and with a positive attitude. Account management on their website is a snap, and the perks definitely help to sweeten the pot!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Thomas S's Profile Image

Reviewed by Thomas S

Jan 9th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Revolutionary

I have alway preferred local credit unions to big-box banking, but discovered even my local institution was fee-ing me to death. I heard about Perkstreet and was suspicious at first. I signed up in July, and within a month closed my credit union account and moved everything to Perkstreet. I earned nearly $600 in perks from July-Deccember 2011. I used that extra money to pay for my Christmas purchases by shifting the funds to Amazon gift cards. It's a great feeling to have a bank pay me vs. using me.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

LEMMOND's Profile Image

Reviewed by LEMMOND

Jan 9th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Execellent

I have been personal banking for almost 30 years and PerkStreet Financial is the best experience ever. They are so easy to use and their perks are awesome.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Grumbles's Profile Image

Reviewed by Grumbles

Jan 9th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

Love the perks and easy to use

I have never had a problem with my account and enjoy the benefits that they offer.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Jamie B's Profile Image

Reviewed by Jamie B

Jan 9th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I love Perk street and all of the perks my husband and I have acquired every month! We banked at some of the other big banks for years! But closed our accounts and joined Perk Street. Best move ever! Other banks have all of these extra fees they charge their customers, only to fill their pockets with extra cash! Perk Street actually fills it's customers pockets! Plus, they have superior customer service!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Post a review