Overall Rating

B+
Grade

TIAA Direct Report Card

Overall rating score 68%
Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Mobile Deposits
Mobile Banking

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank Rates
CIT Bank
Add
Bank Reviews
GE Capital Retail Bank
Add
Bank Rates
AIG Bank
Add
Compare Banks

TIAA Direct Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction
Post a review

TIAA Direct Latest Customer Reviews

Keenan's Profile Image

Reviewed by Keenan

Mar 19th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Terrible

This bank advertises great interest rates for money markets but it's not worth the trouble. I can't even make deposits to my own bank because every time I try to log in to mobile banking it says my password is reset. I've spent an hour on the phone with customer service and I received FOUR emails saying that my password has been reset. They were unable to resolve the issue. I actually ended the conversation letting them know that I'd be withdrawing my money and literally taking my money to the bank...elsewhere.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by TIAA Direct

Responded by TC_Talks

Mar 22nd 2014

Providing excellent customer service matters to us. Email your full name and best way to contact you so we can resolve the issue to bankingservices@tiaadirect.com.

goodriddance's Profile Image

Reviewed by goodriddance

Dec 31st 2013

1 out of 5 marks

precipitous rate decrease each month

Pros: Very little, I thought the rich history of TIAA-Cref would spill down on their newly created online banking- sadly it did not.

Cons: Mint.com downloads were always problematic

Rates continued to fall throughout 2013, most money markets online banks held steady .75-.90%, My last straw was .54% in Oct 2013, it has continued to go down to .45%

Rates are tiered, Sallie Mae Money Market does not have tier rates.

I too, got the stern Patriot Act Letter after closing my account, so I was not affected but when I called in October when the rates further declined and was attempted to be cross sold into a one year cd which still was not competitive at the time and still is not.

Lastly, when I called in October 2013, I remember the customer service rep asked me if my deposit was inherited, or earned income I was irked by her question, but did not ask further why that was important, she said it was to update on the original online application. I never remember a question like that being asked.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

CodyRice's Profile Image

Reviewed by CodyRice

Dec 9th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Threatening Letter

Received a Threatening Letter From TIAA DIRECT telling me I need to call them with information they need to comply with the patriot act. or they may restrict access to my account or close it.

The letter states the call will "take no longer than 5 minutes"

I have now been on hold listening to a recorded apology for the hold time for more than an hour.

Worst customer service I have ever encountered from a financial institution.

I will try to call again tomorrow.

STAY AWAY.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

bankuser12's Profile Image

Reviewed by bankuser12

Aug 14th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Don't be fooled by the rates, they'll get you back with fees and bad service

My account was assessed a fee. The customer service agent did not even know where any documentation of the fee was buried, but still refused to waive the fee as a one-time courtesy. They clearly do not value their customers and are more interested in assessing fees. They also bait and switch with their interest rates.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by TIAA Direct

Responded by TC_Talks

Aug 14th 2013

Providing excellent customer service matters to us. Email your full name and best way to contact you so we can resolve the issue to bankingservices@tiaadirect.com.

bankuser114's Profile Image

Reviewed by bankuser114

Jun 15th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Very poor customer service

Tried to transfer money twice this week and got confirmation numbers for both. No transfer ever took place. Called customer service and found out since I hadn't deposited any money in the last 6 months my account will not do any tansfers. Will take 24 -48 business hour to correct. I ask why didn't that show up when I tried to transfer, it said everything OK and gave confirmation number. She said I don't know why it doesn't tell you online. It will be a week and a half before I can get to MY money!

I caledl them this week about a wire transfer and they never said anything about a problem with the account. I have several online accounts and I never had a problem transferring money. This bank is a joke and now you can get better interest rates. I will transfer all my money out to American Express. Nevre had a problem with them. TIAA doesn't care about their customers

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by TIAA Direct

Responded by TC_Talks

Jun 15th 2013

Providing excellent customer service matters to us. Email your full name and best way to contact you so we can resolve the issue to bankingservices@tiaadirect.com.

bankuser114's Profile Image

Responded by bankuser114

Jun 16th 2013

I already talked with your customer service. They can not resolve for 24 - 48 hours after they receive the request on Monday since I called on Saturday. Now I won't have the monay I was expecting from this transfer on 6/10!

Just had to transfer from Dollar Savings, no problems and I haven't done anything with that account in over a year.

Post a review

Sumit your question by creating a free account

Already a member?