Overall Rating

MyBankTracker Grade

A
Customer Rating
Financial Health
Bank Fees
Bank Rates
Mobile Deposits
Mobile Banking

Featured Rates

Add a Bank to Compare

Bank Reviews
CIT Bank
Add
Bank News
Capital One 360
Add
Bank Reviews
PerkStreet Financial
Add
Compare Banks

TIAA Direct Customer Reviews

Customer Service
Bank Rates
Online Experience
Fees & Charges
Overall Satisfaction

TIAA Direct Latest Customer Reviews

turbo's Profile Image

Reviewed by turbo

Mar 8th 2012

5 out of 5 marks

While I Just Opened My Account My Experience Has Been Smooth Thus Far.

I was researching high yield accounts and decided to give them a try. I realize the apy may be a promotional rate, but if they remain relatively competitive i'll stay w/ them (not into rate chasing unless they fall dramatically below the average). The application went smoothly (online) and i had no trouble getting approved. I heard from other sites they may do a hard credit pull, but i didn't find that to be the case for me. The test deposits showed up in my checking account a few days later.

After confirming them i am up and running (it was a little confusing where to go on the interface to do this, but i failed to read the directions first). I also like that one can have sub accounts under the main one. This will help subdivide my savings into different target areas. Knowing that customer service can make/break a bank, i decided to give it a try. I found them helpful and pleasant. Overall, i'm pleased so far. I hope it works out because i'm not looking to switch banks, so i can focus on other areas of my life like investing!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Philip H's Profile Image

Reviewed by Philip H

May 11th 2012

4 out of 5 marks

Streamlined Signup. No Major Issues Except That They Don't Allow Mint Connections Yet.

I signed up for the 1. 25% rate, but i know this too shall pass eventually. My only problem with them is that they do not allow mint. Com connections. Bummer! For the amount i've deposited so far the yield is only going to be a matter of single-digit dollars so i opened an american express personal savings account until they decide to cooperate with mint. Sorry, but the convenience of seeing all my accounts in one place overrides my intention to save a few cents/dollars. Since rates vary i'm not going to make a huge effort to rate chace a savings account. Once tiaa decides to cooperate i'll probalby move my funds back.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ralex's Profile Image

Reviewed by ralex

May 3rd 2012

4 out of 5 marks

Best Rates Around. Great Customer Service. Some Technical Issues.

The bank promises the best savings rates around. This is the primary reason why i chose this bank. Other reasons include the mobile app for checking, balance, and transfers.

Application process:

The application process was quick and painless. I was approved for a checking and savings accounts instantly. I did hit a snag when activating my user account. The system does not accept two-word answers to required security questions, and doesn't explain this clearly when it errors out. The csr helped me sort this out.

Site:

Simple to use, but is not completely polished. I was able to find all my desired features. However, it's obvious that they are still working out some faults and improving user workflows (i hope). Besides several annoyances with using the site my biggest complaint so far is that bill pay does not work in safari on mac (had to use chrome instead). The site provides clear information about the status of your funds (available vs on hold) and allows to rename accounts.

Mobile app:

Simple and does what it's supposed to, even if a bit ugly-looking. Relatively easy to set up.

Incompatibility with Mint:

One big let down for me is that this site does not currently support mint. Com. Tiaa told me that they are working on it but have no definitive date. This is important to me and i hope they work it out sooner than later. You can, however, export to quicken.

Customer service:

Surprisingly good. The woman who helped me activate my account was knowledgeable, pleasant, and helpful. I also sent three queries via the messaging system and got responses the same day. In conclusion, tiaa direct is a promising and attractive new bank. They will be the best out there if they are able to take care of all the faults with their site - pretty much the one and only conduit of interaction between the customer and the bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jason's Profile Image

Reviewed by jason

Feb 22nd 2012

4 out of 5 marks

Best rate out there

I ended up making three calls to their customer service to get everything I wanted.

1. I completed the application over the phone due to a bug on their application form

2. I was locked out of my account (most likely my password was reset)

3. I wanted remote deposit on my iPhone

They have the best rates available as of today (2/22/2012). I'm in the process of transferring my other savings accounts (0.80% APY and 0.70% APY).

So far the online experience is clean and simple. I'll update this review when I've finished my transfers.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Morandchi's Profile Image

Reviewed by Morandchi

Feb 27th 2012

4 out of 5 marks

Pretty Good So far

I Just opened up this last week. You can have multiple savings accounts which is good and can rename them.

At first when I saw there rate I did a double take. I am in the process of setting up my bank accounts so I can start moving my money. They have a app for Apple to do remote deposits. (I have an Android, but I asked the rep on the phone when it will be out, and he stated that it would be out soon).

Other then that, I hope they don't drop there rates.

also Trying to find there Routing number was kinda hard on there website. I called up and they gave it to me over the phone which was no big deal

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

davis420's Profile Image

Reviewed by davis420

Nov 3rd 2012

4 out of 5 marks

Pretty Good

Just some basic facts; My direct deposits are posted and available early on the date expected. I have found, on the few times necessary to call, customer service as good as others. My only negative is that there is not eStatement available.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Deevanj's Profile Image

Reviewed by Deevanj

Oct 3rd 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Terrible Experience With a Mortgage- And the Followup

We are in the middle of a horrendous mortgage experience that brought us up to the wire of one day before closing, only to be rejected at the 11th hour. We have been jumping through hoops for weeks to provide all document ion. the mortgage consultant even called our real estate agent for a rental property we own in New Jersey to verify why we have to both tenant and landlord names on the security deposit bank account and that our tenant is not really a family member. They would not believe that its actually the law in NJ. We have great credit scores (791 and 747) and have 20% down etc. Got preliminary approval and moved ahead with the process only to be told one day before closing that the rental income from our house in NJ won't count as income because we haven't rented it out for at least two years. Huh??? They couldn't tell us that at the beginning of the process? They even made us get an appraisal on the rental home-cost over $600 ! Really? I own that home already! So now we have paid for an appraisal on the house we want to buy and the house we already own that's rented. Total cost $1300. We stand to lose close to $10,000 now on the house we are trying to buy in NC. One day before closing it all falls apart because TIAA Direct is irresponsible and unprofessional. I only went with them because I have a retirement account with TIAA Cref. I am planning on initiating a lawsuit to recover damages but this has been an awful experience. The worst ever. Stay away from TIAA Direct. They are simply awful.

TIAA Direct Responded to My Post

Last week we were denied a mortgage one day before our scheduled closing. In frustration, I posted a negative review on mybanktracker.com. I am happy to report that I got calls from top management and the decision about the mortgage was reversed. We closed on our house within the week. I respect the fact that this company cared enough to do the right thing, however their business practice put us through a roller coaster of emotion.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

EbbTide's Profile Image

Reviewed by EbbTide

Jan 23rd 2013

2 out of 5 marks

It Was Great With 1.24% Interest For Mma

They just dropped the mma to 0. 99%, sorry to inform that rates dropped again mma is now 0. 75% and checking is at 0. 05% 05/10/2013.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

msiroli's Profile Image

Reviewed by msiroli

Jun 6th 2012

2 out of 5 marks

Very Poor Tech Support And Customer Service

Opened an account online then tried to log in. Password did not work. Called tech support to reset password. That got me on the website where i could reset my password. Followed their directions to reset password but it would not reset. Logged out and tried logging back in using the temp password tech spt gave me and the password i tried, neither worked.

Called tech support to report situation and tech rep started arguing with me and giving me grief instead of fixing the issue. If the website doesn't work and tech support would rather argue than fix the issue, this is not a company i want to do business with.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

dehayes's Profile Image

Reviewed by dehayes

Jun 27th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Not a good experience!

I have been banking with TIAA DIRECT (checking and savings) for barely a year and have already had three extremely unsatisfactory experiences.

Most recently, I went to use my debit card at a market one morning, and it was declined. I was busy at work and waiting until the following evening to call. I was told that my debit card that I had been using nearly daily for months "looks like it's never been activated". Um? The phone representative was useless and gave me some bs about a banking analyst addressing my issue in 24-48 hours.

But it wasn't just the card. I had no access to my checking. Not even my payroll deposit went through. But the phone rep had assured me that the account had not been frozen. I had an auto mortgage payment due in a few days and was getting really angry.

This is not the first time I have been left without access to my own money. Disgusting. These are the big issues that I've had with TIAA DIRECT but I've had smaller issues too, that probably aren't worth going into detail about. It's such a pain, but it's to the point that I will have to switch banks.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by TIAA Direct

Responded by TC_Talks

Jun 27th 2014

Providing excellent customer service matters to us. Email your full name and best way to contact you so we can resolve the issue to bankingservices@tiaadirect.com.

Keenan's Profile Image

Reviewed by Keenan

Mar 19th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Terrible

This bank advertises great interest rates for money markets but it's not worth the trouble. I can't even make deposits to my own bank because every time I try to log in to mobile banking it says my password is reset. I've spent an hour on the phone with customer service and I received FOUR emails saying that my password has been reset. They were unable to resolve the issue. I actually ended the conversation letting them know that I'd be withdrawing my money and literally taking my money to the bank...elsewhere.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Response by TIAA Direct

Responded by TC_Talks

Mar 22nd 2014

Providing excellent customer service matters to us. Email your full name and best way to contact you so we can resolve the issue to bankingservices@tiaadirect.com.

theraylander's Profile Image

Reviewed by theraylander

May 2nd 2013

2 out of 5 marks

Fair

They charged me 25 bucks for nsf. and I had the funds. I ask how did that happen. She said it just happens some time. So I am out of the interest that would have been in my other bank. That paying 1% I am still waiting for my 25 bucks back. I wonder it this has happen to anybody else. Since they are lowing there mm rate every week, I am sure others are taking there money out. It might be a ploy of the bank to keep the money in tiaa as long as they can.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by TIAA Direct

Responded by TC_Talks

May 3rd 2013

Providing excellent customer service matters to us. Email your full name and best way to contact you so we can resolve the issue to bankingservices@tiaadirect.com.

CodyRice's Profile Image

Reviewed by CodyRice

Dec 9th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Threatening Letter

Received a Threatening Letter From TIAA DIRECT telling me I need to call them with information they need to comply with the patriot act. or they may restrict access to my account or close it.

The letter states the call will "take no longer than 5 minutes"

I have now been on hold listening to a recorded apology for the hold time for more than an hour.

Worst customer service I have ever encountered from a financial institution.

I will try to call again tomorrow.

STAY AWAY.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

bankuser114's Profile Image

Reviewed by bankuser114

Jun 15th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Very poor customer service

Tried to transfer money twice this week and got confirmation numbers for both. No transfer ever took place. Called customer service and found out since I hadn't deposited any money in the last 6 months my account will not do any tansfers. Will take 24 -48 business hour to correct. I ask why didn't that show up when I tried to transfer, it said everything OK and gave confirmation number. She said I don't know why it doesn't tell you online. It will be a week and a half before I can get to MY money!

I caledl them this week about a wire transfer and they never said anything about a problem with the account. I have several online accounts and I never had a problem transferring money. This bank is a joke and now you can get better interest rates. I will transfer all my money out to American Express. Nevre had a problem with them. TIAA doesn't care about their customers

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by TIAA Direct

Responded by TC_Talks

Jun 15th 2013

Providing excellent customer service matters to us. Email your full name and best way to contact you so we can resolve the issue to bankingservices@tiaadirect.com.

bankuser114's Profile Image

Responded by bankuser114

Jun 16th 2013

I already talked with your customer service. They can not resolve for 24 - 48 hours after they receive the request on Monday since I called on Saturday. Now I won't have the monay I was expecting from this transfer on 6/10!

Just had to transfer from Dollar Savings, no problems and I haven't done anything with that account in over a year.

andycobbins's Profile Image

Reviewed by andycobbins

Dec 11th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

The Medicaid of Banks

I have never in my life experiences such disrespectful service from any financial institution. I hold over $20k in deposits and have been treated like a convict.

The icing on the cake is when a representative called my home regarding a delay on a mobile deposited item; my father (elderly and staying with my family) had the same name as me. The representative did not verify any other information before divulging details to him. This confused him, as he is 82, causing him to call me at work in a panic.

I would never trust this over-night bank venture with my funds or private information.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by TIAA Direct

Responded by TC_Talks

Dec 12th 2012

Thank you for your feedback. Providing excellent customer service is important to us and we apologize for this issue. While we can’t continue to discuss the matter via this forum, we will be in touch ASAP to see if we can help you further.

TIAA-Direct

(855-842-2372)

goodriddance's Profile Image

Reviewed by goodriddance

Dec 31st 2013

1 out of 5 marks

precipitous rate decrease each month

Pros: Very little, I thought the rich history of TIAA-Cref would spill down on their newly created online banking- sadly it did not.

Cons: Mint.com downloads were always problematic

Rates continued to fall throughout 2013, most money markets online banks held steady .75-.90%, My last straw was .54% in Oct 2013, it has continued to go down to .45%

Rates are tiered, Sallie Mae Money Market does not have tier rates.

I too, got the stern Patriot Act Letter after closing my account, so I was not affected but when I called in October when the rates further declined and was attempted to be cross sold into a one year cd which still was not competitive at the time and still is not.

Lastly, when I called in October 2013, I remember the customer service rep asked me if my deposit was inherited, or earned income I was irked by her question, but did not ask further why that was important, she said it was to update on the original online application. I never remember a question like that being asked.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

dontimmons's Profile Image

Reviewed by dontimmons

Nov 27th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Very Sour Experiences

An online-only bank should be able to provide some level of customer service online. What a joke! You send a secured message through the online banking portal; wait a few hours, then receive a generic message (cut and copy) to please call customer service. This is not requests for complex issues; but for even the simplest request. Save yourself from the headache of dealing with this bank; the rates don't make up for service.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

droberts69's Profile Image

Reviewed by droberts69

Oct 29th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible And Rude Bank

I currently hold over $3500 in balances on a checking and money market accounts and definitely not a bad banking customer. The representatives when you call in act like you are disturbing their slumber and are insanely rude. It took four calls to set up remote deposit due to representatives not correctly setting the password. (their banking app and edeposit app are separate)

when i had a fraudulent transaction; it was a thirty minute phone call as the representative did not know how to fill out the dispute form she was required to. I don't bank if i can't trust the employees. Looks like this high interest rate comes with a loss : the service. Going back to chase!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

JustinY's Profile Image

Reviewed by JustinY

Aug 12th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Representatives Are Not Trained Properly

Since this is an internet bank; everything must be conducted by phone. Every single thing required multiple calls as the customer representatives are not properly trained. In order to set up remote deposit, you must call. (its a secondary app they make you use in addition to mobile banking). It took a smashing six calls to get an account enrolled for mobile deposits. I can't image how long it would take to have a mistake corrected with this bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

kgrondell's Profile Image

Reviewed by kgrondell

Aug 8th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Incredibly Unprofessional

Well I had a pre-approval from another bank but I had a real estate agent say something to me about the company which made we think I should get a second option. I have a retirement acount with TIAA CREF so called.

I called up and told them every detail of my financial situation and was pre-approved within a few days. Great! I decided to go with them because the woman on the phone seemed nice and helpful. Also since I had a retirement account with them I figured they would be a good partner in this.

Every communication from them was positive. I asked if she needed anything else and she told me all she needed was a signed P&S so I went forward and got a home inspection costing $600 and a Lawyer to look over the P&S costing $900 and made deposits of 11,000 with the offer and P&S. I was excited. I told my daughters. They are excited. I send my P&S to the rep at TIAA Direct and ask if she needs anything else. She says not yet.

The next morning I receive an email asking how much I had available to put down. Bear in mind this is information I already submitted. I tell her then make a correction letting her know that sum minus the inspector fee. I get this reply:

"Hahahaha. I am going to be honest. They are giving me pushback. I don’t know if we should wait to hear from them or if I should tell you to go somewhere else. That is NOT what I want to do, but they aren’t making it sound 100% a go. I am still waiting to hear but they took forever to get to us yesterday and by the time they did it was 7pm and I was long gone. Pain in the rear. Im really sorry.

I just wanted to put it out there. "

Now she keeps saying she can't get in touch with the loan people and does not want me to lose time. I feel this was poorly handled by the company and would like and explanation. I know the company monitors this. I am working hard now to get another loan but feel left high and dry by TIAA Direct. Unprofessional

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by TIAA Direct

Responded by TC_Talks

Aug 8th 2014

Providing excellent customer service matters to us. Email your full name and best way to contact you so we can resolve the issue to bankingservices@tiaadirect.com. Thanks

bankuser12's Profile Image

Reviewed by bankuser12

Aug 14th 2013

1 out of 5 marks

Don't be fooled by the rates, they'll get you back with fees and bad service

My account was assessed a fee. The customer service agent did not even know where any documentation of the fee was buried, but still refused to waive the fee as a one-time courtesy. They clearly do not value their customers and are more interested in assessing fees. They also bait and switch with their interest rates.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Response by TIAA Direct

Responded by TC_Talks

Aug 14th 2013

Providing excellent customer service matters to us. Email your full name and best way to contact you so we can resolve the issue to bankingservices@tiaadirect.com.

wacoboi's Profile Image

Reviewed by wacoboi

Oct 31st 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Not Trustworthy

When you use an online bank; you expect a higher level of service.... not true with TIAA Direct. Phone operators are worse than Bank of American and not even the supervisors know what is going on.

The interest may be appealing; but not worth losing sleep over your finances.

I'm going back to a brick and mortar bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by TIAA Direct

Responded by TC_Talks

Nov 1st 2012

Providing excellent customer service matters to us at TIAA Direct. Please email us at social@tiaa-cref.org with your full name and phone number, and someone will be in touch with you ASAP.

sinbody's Profile Image

Reviewed by sinbody

Oct 30th 2012

1 out of 5 marks

Unreliable

This bank is very unreliable. The remote deposits are delayed; even my direct deposit from Methodist Hospital Systems is delayed for two days!?

Going back to my retail bank as I do not have time to worry about the security of my monies.

Good luck to anyone who chooses to bank here.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Post a review