A+ MyBankTracker Rating

TIAA Direct Customer Reviews

(27 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 1
4 Star 1
3 Star 2
2 Star 2
1 Star 21

The Most Helpful TIAA Direct Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Sandush Jul 23, 2016

Excellent customer service

Their customer service is excellent. My call was taken right away. The agent understood what I needed and handled it very professionally. All in all I am very happy with my choice in banks. I had to move around a lot of banks before I was able to find the right fit.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Roar2j May 28, 2016

Mad as hell!

I have been waiting for a new card for over 2 weeks and still have not received it. The first card i ordered was supposed to come normal mail the second was expedited to next day deliver an its day 3.....well time to move my direct deposit some where else due to them not even having a tracking number then im told today that they were having issues with the cards getting out!!!!!!! You dont wait 2 n half weeks to tell a customer who btw has his retirement funds attach to his account that! I am in disbelief as i sit up here on a holiday weekend with no access to my money. Thanks Tiaa your message was very direct u dont care. God bless.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest TIAA Direct Reviews

  • S
    Reviewed By Sandush Jul 23, 2016

    Excellent customer service

    Their customer service is excellent. My call was taken right away. The agent understood what I needed and handled it very professionally. All in all I am very happy with my choice in banks. I had to move around a lot of banks before I was able to find the right fit.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    TIAA Direct

    Replied on Jul 23, 2016

    Thanks for your message. We're so happy we could help you. Let us know if you need anything else.

  • J
    Reviewed By jryoungHOU Jul 14, 2016

    Horribly Insane Customer Service

    When you call for customer service, no matter the day or the time of day, you will sit on hold for five minutes and be directed to voicemail!!

    I refused to deal with a bank that has such disregard for customers! Tiaa Direct holds your funds but doesn't have the courtesy to take a call?

    NO THANKS!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    TIAA Direct

    Replied on Jul 14, 2016

    We’re sorry to hear this. Nothing is more important than serving our customers. Please email us at social@tiaadirect.com with your contact information and we can have a consultant follow up with you directly to help.

  • H
    Reviewed By hjablo May 28, 2016

    Thinking!

    I was thinking of getting involved with TIAA on a promo basis. Before I did, I decided to read the reviews and they don't look all that good. So, TIAA, if you are tracking this post, you had better clean up your mess, before people like myself get involved with you. Way to many negative posts!.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    TIAA Direct

    Replied on May 29, 2016

    We are here to help our customers succeed and would love to discuss how we can help you too. Please email us at social@tiaadirect.com with your contact information and we can have someone reach out.

  • R
    Reviewed By Roar2j May 28, 2016

    Mad as hell!

    I have been waiting for a new card for over 2 weeks and still have not received it. The first card i ordered was supposed to come normal mail the second was expedited to next day deliver an its day 3.....well time to move my direct deposit some where else due to them not even having a tracking number then im told today that they were having issues with the cards getting out!!!!!!! You dont wait 2 n half weeks to tell a customer who btw has his retirement funds attach to his account that! I am in disbelief as i sit up here on a holiday weekend with no access to my money. Thanks Tiaa your message was very direct u dont care. God bless.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    TIAA Direct

    Replied on May 28, 2016

    We’re sorry you’re having a problem and want to help. Please email us at social@tiaadirect.com with your contact information and we can have someone reach out.

  • D
    Reviewed By dbfaulkner May 11, 2016

    In the middle of trying to get a mortgage

    I am weeks into trying to get a mortgage with TIAA Direct. The customer service contacts I have are rude and email me almost daily with problems with my loan and reasons they might not be able to meet contingencies, etc. My husband and I have perfect credit and good incomes. We have bought and sold four other homes and never had anything like this experience with TIAA Direct. It has been a very stressful experience and I have absolutely no confidence that this loan will eventually be closed.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    TIAA Direct

    Replied on May 11, 2016

    We understand the frustration and want to help. Please email us at social@tiaadirect.com with your contact information and we can have someone reach out.

    dbfaulkner

    Replied on May 31, 2016

    After posting this review, I was able to get in touch with management and the experience has been pleasant since then. We haven't closed yet, but TIAA Direct has been very helpful and efficient to move the process along.

  • K
    Reviewed By ksmichael Dec 22, 2015

    I guess they just aren't that good at basic checking

    I have been a loyal customer and proponent of TIAA-CREF for over two decades.
    When my bank of about two decades decided to "fee" me to death, I was only too happy to switch my account to "TIAA Direct."

    It was really all pretty easy until my debit card, which I use multiple times every day, developed a crack. In an effort to be pro-active (never a good choice) I called TIAA Direct to request another card. Somehow they interpreted this as a "stolen card" and reported it as such. I had no idea until I went to use the "old" card, which still should have been active, and the lady at the gas pump register actually asked me for my card. Then I waited two weeks for a new card. Driving across three states for work, this was a nightmare.

    Well, I figure, a glitch is a glitch and I survived. However, now my phone app won't work, which isn't the biggest deal, except that is how I deposit money. Three calls and one email later, I have been referred to "web tech support," which is closed.

    I am not sure if this Internet bank thing is just not my thing or if TIAA Direct is just problematic. I think I will give them one more chance, just because it is such a pain to switch banks (again) and then if they can't permanently rectify the problem, I will have to go back to "brick-and-mortar."

    I would suggest you wait for TIAA-CREF to work out the kinks before you rely on them for everyday banking services.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    TIAA Direct

    Replied on Dec 23, 2015

    We’re so sorry you had a bad experience and want to help. Email us at social@tiaadirect.com with the best way to reach you and we will be in touch shortly.

  • B
    Reviewed By Bill Hefley Aug 12, 2015

    We fired them!

    I laughed when I read the claim about excellent service. We thought that too, until we encountered many of these problems also. We even filled out a survey for the Executive Office of the President, and spoke to them, but they sent us back to the same Processor instead - there were no Executives or Presidents minding customers. After fighting for days about their needing information they had for weeks, and didn't like our contract because it didn't have certain clauses pulled out as Addendums titled they way they expected to see them, we fired them, even though we have just over a week left before our close. We have no confidence that they will ever rise to a level of competence to complete our loan in time. They are already five times over their committed duration for approval after they said they had all they needed and are still asking for things they had almost a month ago. My speciality is service management and these people are so bad I would not even take them on as a consulting client, and I've put them on notice that we will review the entire portfolio of investments we have at TIAA as a result of this experience.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By Melody Mellodia Jul 31, 2015

    Complete lack of customer service and no transparency

    TIAA Direct is an e-bank purporting to offer attractive savings account interest rates, available
    only to members holding retirement accounts in TIAA-CREF. I became interested after attending a free investment counseling session with a representative Mark Largent from their Tempe, Arizona office. He made a big pitch about the attractive interest rates and how easy it is working with TIAA Direct, even for someone like myself, an older person limited in skills with computers and unfamiliar with doing online transactions, I decided to try it. What a blunder. I have invested hours and hours of valuable time struggling with TIAA Direct and have concluded I must spend my limited number of years on Earth doing something more meaningful than fighting with TIAA Direct's unhelpful fatheads. From the getgo, it was like pulling teeth just to open the account. At first, one of their mouthy representatives told me that if I can't make their computer system work to set up the account, then I am "too old" to open an account. I complained to several state and federal agencies about this. To finally open an account took several lengthy phone calls with a representative of theirs, VP Timothy Shinn of their Charlotte, NC office, because their computer system doesn't WORK. Then TIAA Direct failed to give good support during the period the account was open (April-July 2015) and I lost money to unfair 'withholding taxes' because they failed to tell me how to avoid them. It occurred to me that had I opened the account in person at a real bank, the officer would have made sure I signed all required forms. I decided to empty out my money from TIAA Direct 3 days ago. I have had to phone them 5 times because of their failure to timely act on transaction requests. As soon as you have a problem, bigwigs like their Mark Largent and Timothy Shinn become snotty and unresponsive and won't reply to calls and emails. I've had to call their main number over and over to get assistance. Investors be warned.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By DE_ABC Jun 25, 2015

    Worst Mortgage Service Ever

    They tried draw customers into their trap by offering the impossible low rate, and then make a number of stupid requests and comments about documents you sent, just to make sure your case cannot be closed within 60 days. A number of fault statements made by mortgage processor. In my case, for example, the request for extensions of closing date one day before the closing day. Asking for additional documentation, again made after four weeks of their receipt of all my documents. One day before closing date, they requested me to quit my employment. After I talkied with my realtor lawyer, we realized that they played game of extending the mortgage decision and closing date, until the rocked low rate was expired. We then fired them and canceled their mortgage service. One week later after my mortgage cancellation and 2 weeks after they missed the closing date, they issue the letter of mortgage declination. What the awful mortgage services they provide!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Sogden1966 Jan 27, 2015

    HELOC Nightmare

    I recently also had a horrible experience with TIAA with respect to a simple home equity loan. My issues stem from what appears to be a hugely bureaucratic organization that is ponderous at best. I jumped through every hoop asked, complied with all documentation requests only to be denied at last second because of an improperly performed appraisal. Understood that it isn't the banks fault necessarily, however no one seems to care that the error was not my fault either. The appraisal was for homes in completely different areas than mine that were nothing like my house, yet there are comparable homes 50 feet away that sold in 2014!

    My complaints were not handled or addressed either by TIAA nor the horrible company THEY hired to erroneously appraise my house. I called the appraiser, who agreed with me but then asked me what" I expected him to do about it" I said perhaps your job? I had no support or recourse from TIAA nor the stepford wife loan processor who blithely apologized without really hearing me. Stay away from this company for financing, CLEARLY amateur and not ready for prime time. I have bought and sold 11 properties with several refinancing settlements as well and have never experienced this level of disconnect or incompetence. Utterly wasted 5 weeks of my time. Never again . [Redacted]

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

    TIAA Direct

    Replied on Jan 27, 2015

    Thank you for your feedback. Providing excellent customer service is important to us and we apologize for your recent experience. We want to resolve the situation to your satisfaction. Email your full name and best way to contact you to bankingservices@tiaadirect.com and we will be in touch.

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.