B MyBankTracker Rating

Bank of America Customer Reviews

(725 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 31
4 Star 17
3 Star 18
2 Star 37
1 Star 622

The Most Helpful Bank of America Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By word_caesar Jul 5, 2016

No institution is without its flaws...

...and, obviously, BofA is no exception. However, the fact that human beings are still under the employ of this institution should give one a hint that fallibility and human error will still exist. I'm certain that NONE of those leaving nasty reviews have ever messed up on their job, nor have they ever encountered a situation wherein they weren't quite sure what to do or to whom they should turn - circumstances that are exacerbated immensely when dealing with someone else's finances. Perhaps a modicum of diplomacy, understanding and patience are in order in our very selfish and entitled society.
That said, my latest encounter with BofA landed me at the desk of one Ify Nwosu (who I hope will not be upset at the fact that I am using her name) at the Rockville Pike branch in Rockville, MD. A series of issues, some my own fault and some not, led me to incurring a series of overdraft fees. I strolled into the branch (and as it was my first time at that location, I entered the wrong door), and immediately she spotted me down the hall and asked if I needed assistance. She showed me to her office, where I explained the situation. Within 10 minutes, all of the incorrectly incurred overdraft items were refunded to me. No questions, no problems. I find this attitude is likely indicative of the majority of those agents, and I encourage everyone posting a review to take the time and analyze whether they treated the agents with dignity and respect, allowing them a generous opportunity to handle their concerns; or if they were completely unreasonable and angry during those encounters. If you want a job done right, you must be patient and give that associate the opportunity to research the absolute best course of action, lest they be subjected to your harsh words and overall ignorance. Thank you to the associates who deal with the hostile masses in a kind and caring way. And thank you, Ify.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Lisa b. Dec 28, 2012

Very bad

Tried to cash a check made out to me from Bank of America--the bank itself. They wanted to charge me a $5 fee to cash a $130 check even though i have three mortgages at B of A (never paid late). I was in a B of A branch with a B of A check. This mega corporation will nickel and dime regular people any way it can.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Bank of America Reviews

  •  
    R
    Reviewed By rolling Jun 20, 2017

    For checking account open?Go somewhere else!

    Once you deposit your money, and issue your check for a large amount, BOA will not allow/have you a very hard time to withdraw YOUR MONEY from YOUR OWN ACCOUNT. NOT RECOMMENDED AT ALL!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    F
    Reviewed By Frances May 13, 2017

    Not trustworthy

    1) On March 29, 2017, I personally went to a branch on in Redondo Beach, and asked to see my beneficiary data. I am working on a draft of my will, and I wanted to verify the information. They refused to show me my beneficiary information, and told me I could just submit another form instead. How could I verify that the information is correct?

    2) On the same day, I had deposited a check from a foreign bank
    That amount showed up on my statement as Counter Credit.
    (It's about the same sum as the amount I transfer to Savings in 3 below)

    3) On the same day, I opened a Savings account. I also have a checking account . When I received my statement my total balance has gone down by the amount I transferred. I called the bank immediately, and was told it would be on my next statement. I dont know why a transfer from checking to savings results in a decrease in my Total Balance.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    D
    Reviewed By dansbooks May 5, 2017

    Bank of America Steals from Deceased Clients

    It's true--Bank of America steals money from the accounts of deceased clients. It is happening to my father's account right now. He passed away some months ago, with about $7,500 in his Bank of America checking account. In January 2017, I filed all required paperwork (I am his son and the executor of the estate) to have the funds disbursed. Bank of American has never responded. On three occasions, I met with bankers at B of A offices in person. All agreed I had done everything required and the funds should have been disbursed to me long ago. They have always been polite...and they have always made it clear that they will do nothing to help me. It seems they are afraid of repercussions to their jobs and careers if they try to have the funds released. I have heard that this is a Bank of America policy. They know it is not worth the cost to me to sue them for $7,500; besides, they can tie it up in court for years (they have a staff of attorneys, so there is no cost to them). Be warned: If a loved one dies, Bank of America will probably attempt to steal the money in their account, as they are doing to me, and there is nothing you can do about it.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    P
    Reviewed By papabearhk Mar 24, 2017

    Very poor customer service

    Why does this staff seem unhappy to help their guests? We bank there on a daily basis and cannot seem to ever get what we ask for. Alyaa (hope I spelled her name right) is awesome. If she is not there, I will leave from now on. We may look for a new bank entirely. And the fact that my staff is afraid to go in there tells me that it isn't a singular issue, more of a lack of direction and/or caring. If there is anyone who reads these messages, and would like to hear the details of our frustration with this location, please please please please contact me and I will be specific as to why we are looking at new banking options.

    My email address is papabearhk@gmail.com

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    G
    Reviewed By Goodbyeboa Mar 23, 2017

    Hate this bank

    Overall experiences for past 10yrs with them are terrible. Most of their representatives are either ignorant or rude, just horrifying experiences all the time. I'm calling to resolve problems that are caused by your banking systems but it always has to be my part struggling. Today I even had someone being sarcastic with my concerns and that totally blew me off. Not to mention all this time I have to spend to be transferred to other departments or whatever, being on hold waiting just forever. No one wants to feel unheard, ignored. Never had pleasure banking with bank of america. I'm going to close our accounts to avoid hassles. Also be careful with their hidden fees.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    P
    Reviewed By Post31 Feb 28, 2017

    Horrible Mortgage Experience

    We are under contract to sell our home for 4.5 months. Bank of America REFUSES to re send a pay off document which they NEVER did and the buyers will not close on the home. This is going on for 3 months. We are paying the mortgage on TWO HOMES for that time frame for no reason but BANK OF AMERICA's REFUSAL to assist in THEIR ERROR. Our attorney for the home closing is ready to sue them but we have no money left. He might let us pay it after the case is settled but we are losing the sale of the home, a cash buyer. Someone help me PLEASE or Bank of America is going to court this is no joke! Furious and under so much stress we're both physically and emotionally ill from this. Don't ever use them for a mortgage, you'll be sorry like us if you do. Our home was re mortgaged 2x since for lower rates but for a sale the pay off must show and they won't do anything to show what they never did!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    R
    Reviewed By rgondajr Feb 16, 2017

    The greatest form of Customer Service

    I had to go into Bank of America in Woodbury Town Center of Irvine to print 7 years of bank statements. I didn't have the best first impression from the original teller who helped me. He had a lazy demeanor, and denied my request, even after I called the day before to verify this service could be done. I asked for his manager, and my experience turned 180 degrees.

    The manager's name was Jeff Naita, and he was INCREDIBLY helpful. He took an hour to help me print my documents and called different people to retrieve my bank statements as well. He even ensured that they were in a presentable form by paper clipping them and putting them in envelopes. My experience with Bank of America has changed in a very positive way after my experience with him.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    G
    Reviewed By Gwenwiegel300 Feb 10, 2017

    Beware of promotion deals

    Went bank shopping. In meeting cust serv rep and manager verbally told us they would give us a certain amt of bonus to open acts there. Once accounts were opened, only gave us partial amt of what they told us they would give. I call this bait and switch. When trying to email cust serv rep,never responded to my emails.tried manager who stated he could not give us deal after stating he could before accounts were opened. Terrible customer service and management at this branch. Just say whatever it takes to lure you in. Moved and went to another branch before shopping for another bank and they honored what this branch had promised and not fulfilled. Will probably stay with boa only because of good customer service at another branch in a different state.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    B
    Reviewed By BillTran666 Feb 10, 2017

    Bank of America does NOT care about loyalty

    I called and needed to setup a new account to process credit cards for my corporation - I had over $40,000 in 13 accounts and had been a bank of America customer since 2001. They replied that the corporation was not in good standing - the SCC in Virginia had not deposited the SCC annual check but I had deposited almost daily to my accounts - always paid the corporate cards in full monthly and had balances in all accounts and never had over drawn them - but they said until VA cashes the check updates my record they could do nothing. They are a cheap little bank and should be avoided if you want any service.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By mike Feb 7, 2017

    Bank Of America Mortgage Department

    Went to refinance existing loan with local BOA. They drug there feet and and hit me with late payment after telling me to take off market to refinance a ballon note.Could have refinanced anywhere till they ran my credit score down .My original banker left them years ago I should have followed him . I had to once BOA would not redo my loan in 2009 under harp ,didn't want to take interest rate cut ,said i didn't qualify 5 other banks said otherwise and redone my first mortgage. Wish harp would have done second loans too I wouldn't have been scammed after 15 years and 8 loans .What a way to treat a preferred client

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.