Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

noreencavanaghyaho's Profile Image

noreencavanaghyaho reviewed TD Bank

Jul 28th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Never Buy a TD Bank Visa Gift Card

I received a $50 TD Bank Visa gift card as a present and it has turned out to be the worst gift ever. I tried to use it at a restaurant where the waiter told me he was unable to get the funds off the card and I needed to call the bank. I subsequently paid the bill in cash. Over the last six months I have called many times about this dispute. Originally I was told that I would get my money if the merchant did not respond in 30 days. Subsequently I was told the merchant did not respond but the dispute was constantly being reviewed and someone would get back to me.

In late June / early July, I was told that in order to get my money, I needed to produce proof of payment. It is ridiculous to ask a customer to provide a receipt six months later. I spoke to a representative who told me the initial representative had given me bad information, would work to get it resolved and call me back in a few days with an update. Obviously I never heard from him and received a letter in the mail closing the dispute. Calling back I was told there is nothing that can be done without a receipt.

The lack of customer service on this issue is appalling. Amazing that you can call yourself the friendly bank and criticize other banks for their lack of customer service.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

pipen123's Profile Image

pipen123 reviewed Chase

Jul 28th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

BEWARE HOW YOU CLOSE YOUR ACCOUNT!

I banked with Chase for a number of years and had several accounts with them during this time. However, decided to close my account with them because there is a bank closer to my house. I am a busy person, and gas is expensive these days, so I did what any reasonable busy person would do--CALL and close it over the phone. Here is where my troubles began...it is almost 1 month to the day and I STILL do NOT have my money--despite the fact I told them I needed it for rent and bills.

After waiting 5 - 7 business days and realizing the check was NOT in the mail, I immediately went into a branch and was told that I should probably wait another few days because they were going to have to stop the check and it might make it go slower. I waited another 2 days and then called the phone center and explained my check hadn't arrived yet (I was on the phone being routed to the right person and left on hold for 30+ minutes). I finally spoke with someone but was told I'd have to fill out an affadavit to report the lost check and that would be best to do in the bank. So, off to the nearest branch I go...only to find out I need to go to the branch the call center rep had spoken with. Finally, it's Tuesday and I'm in the branch and I coordinate a call between the gal I was speaking with and the banking specialist at the branch. I sign the affadavit and am told that I will have my check by Friday. Saturday, still no check and I take another trip to the branch and meet with the manager who calls the call center (and she is on hold forever, she tells met to go and she'll "call me"). The branch manager never called back with an explanation or apology!

It's Monday, I'm LIVID...still no check, still no answer. I call and escalate this to the top of the call center and am told that I will receive a call with an answer "in an hour"....well, that hour is long past.

CLOSE your account in the branch QUICK, or be prepared to CHASE your money! -10 customer service

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

tkchou's Profile Image

tkchou reviewed Northern Trust

Jul 28th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Offensive security guard

The security guard at your Chicago - Oak Street location at 4 pm on 7/28/14 needs to mind his business and do what he was hired to do. His offensive attitude towards dog owners will serve your customers well as I'm sure half your customers and/or their families are dog owners. I will be sure to share my experience with my high net worth dog owning neighbors. Have a good day.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jasonlewis's Profile Image

jasonlewis reviewed Chase

Jul 28th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great Bank, Great Credit Cards, High Cash Back, Great Checki

I have several Chase cards and services. They are a great bank! My two favorites are the Amazon card and the Freedom! If you would like $100 Bonus for freedom use this link!

[Link Removed]

I just used my freedom card on my vacation and with the 5% cash back on gas, the 5% bonus cashback for booking from hotels.com. I earned pretty much enough cash back to pay for one night of my vacation! Can't beat that!

Their customer service is top notch. I wanted to combine the credit of two cards so I would have a higher limit on one of my cards! They allow it and put up no fight over it. I was very pleased!

I also have a checking account through them and it is top notch!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

VeryFrustrated's Profile Image

VeryFrustrated reviewed Chase

Jul 28th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible Customer Service

I have had a Chase credit card for over 10 years. In June, I accidentally scheduled 2 payments, caught it in time to stop payment on the 2nd through my bank.

I continued to pay Chase, but didn't realize the stop payment caused my July payment to be rejected. Chase acted as if they had no history on me, stopped my credit card from being used. I went to my bank to cancel the Chase stop payment request, called Chase multiple times to let them know what happened, but they acted as if I was a brand new customer, and marked my card as "void" until my payment processed.

They don't know anything about building customer relationships, their customer service sucks....

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

lovely's Profile Image

lovely reviewed PNC Bank

Jul 28th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

PNC\ Carthage.....How I was amazed

I was amazed first and foremost for the wonderful treatment I got and get from the staff at this branch. The employees are wonderful, helpful and have great attitudes. What I like about my account is that I can have checking and savings all together and when I overdraw on the checking account I can transfer from my savings. I am sure a lot of banks can do that but I like the way this bank does things. Its very secure, no one is going to be able to take out of your account without the proper credentials. I am very satisfied with this institution.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

bunster's Profile Image

bunster reviewed Wells Fargo

Jul 28th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Had money taken from my account by bank stating "Bank Error"

I received a letter from Wells Fargo stating they were removing over $300 from my account stating Bank Error as the reason. I have been calling and asking for explanation for over 3 months with no success. If it is valid, so be it, however I would like proof and an option to understand and if necessary dispute. UNACCEPTABLE. I also asked for information on a home equity line of credit. Before I knew what was happening, they had pulled my and my fiancee's credit report, without permission or even a signature. All I wanted was information on the product to compare to other options. That ,of course, dinged both our credit scores for no reason;as it happens , their rates were much higher than what we already had.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Bstanifer's Profile Image

Bstanifer reviewed TCF Bank

Jul 27th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great bank to be with

This bank is fast and has great customer service

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

apenn16's Profile Image

apenn16 reviewed Sunbank, National Association

Jul 27th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Still improving...

Not a bad bank, though the last year with them has seemed trying. We have been with Sunbank for over 2 years now. We transferred our business to them because of well documented issues with Bank of America, Chase and Wells Fargo. We were very happy with them for about the first 1 1/2 years. Since then, we have had several issues. The first included debits being taken, credited back and then taken again over a week later. We have had to deal with less than stellar customer service being provided by the toll free number operators almost everytime we have called. After checking our balance one afternoon, we proceeded to try to run a debit. It was declined. We received a convoluted explanation from the customer service operator about how even though it showed, it hadn't posted because it wasn't late enough in the day and that it was only declined because we tried to use the money via debit. But if we wanted to write a check or go to the branch to pull the money, then we could use the money. I found out yesterday that Sunbank does not process debits in the order which received, but does the opposite of what Chase used to do and will run them from "smallest to largest" (which at times is just as frustrating especially when waiting for a specific charge to clear).

On the upside, they are a very straight forward bank and their customer service at the counter is some of the best I have ever seen. The tellers are personable, exceedingly helpful and always remember us. They offer many different programs, competitive rates and have great hours.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ObiWanKanobi's Profile Image

ObiWanKanobi reviewed Santander Bank

Jul 27th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Theft of ISA by Financial Adviser/Santander

Having mislaid my Bonds I requested the Financial Adviser to reinvest the £14,000. This Financial Adviser only invested £6,000, when I challenged her at a later date, she stated that one of the bonds had not matured and that she would now reinvest it for me.

Two years later on maturity of the ISA I requested my money and was informed that I had only invested £6,000. I once again spoke to her she stated that she had no recollection and had no idea where the money had gone. She pretended to diligently go through the process of finding what had happened. Presented the mature ISA to me and stated that she would put that one in a high interest savings whilst searching for the other ISA.

I made another appointment to see her but she conveniently had a training day on that day. I was asked whether I wanted to speak to someone else but declined. Another appointment was made which she then told me that I had only seen her for 5 minutes on that day and no transaction had taken place. I asked for the £6,000 which she had stated she had invested earlier. Upon leaving she stated that my money she had returned were compliments and in fact if I had spoken to another Financial Adviser on the day she had not attended the appointment with me, I would have been informed that there was no money and that the account had been closed.

Basically the Financial Adviser had stolen my money and changed the computer data to display information to her advantage.

I would like this solved as it is white collar theft by a Fortune 500 company whose reputation depends on the loyalty of its customers.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0