Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

WaleedSeesee's Profile Image

WaleedSeesee reviewed Bank of America

Apr 23rd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

the worst bank ever

this bank is full of excuses, every time you call customer services they give you different info for the same issue. bottom line is i wouldn't go for it even if it is the last bank in the whole universe.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Rochey6957's Profile Image

Rochey6957 reviewed M&T Bank

Apr 23rd 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Bank Broke...Obnoxious Overdraft Charges

Let me begin by saying, I am a broke college student. My first year I signed up for an M&T student account thinking that it would be the best thing for me and allow me to access what little funds i have at times with minimal issue. Boy, was I WRONG.

The biggest issue with this bank is their absurd overdraft charges on a "student" account. Possible due to late postings of purchases to the account, I over drafted my account for two transactions. One purchase of $37 and the other $6. I was waiting for a transfer from another bank which, on the morning of the purchases, said was available.These purchases were on a sunday. On tuesday, the transfer of $100 was "officially" posted to the account, followed by two overdraft charges of $38.50. The two charges put my account into the negative, which means I could have been charged an additional overdraft charge if I i didn't deposit $2 to put my account back in the positive.

I spoke with the bank manager who informed me that upon opening my account, I had opted in to the overdraft charges by allowing overdraft purchases. A $40 charge seems absurd and the manager agreed that it was a little high. however since I "allowed" the bank to charge me an overdraft fee, they did, twice. I questioned him more about if there was anything that could be done and all his response were "You authorized us to charge you, I cant do anything." He would not remove either charge and told me I should make a deposit so I wouldn't be charged a THIRD overdraft fee.

Overall I am very dissatisfied with the whole experience at this bank. The banks online system seems to be consistently a day behind on updating purchases, their fees are obnoxious, and the manager i spoke to was not helpful.

I will be canceling my account with them at the end of this pay period and am moving to a different bank with a more friendly "student" account.

The online banking and ATM deposits were nice and I never had much issue with those aspects.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

elvisbanker's Profile Image

elvisbanker reviewed BMO Harris Bank

Apr 23rd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

worst bank in America

BMO is a money making bank for them ... they will not help the little people in America just themselves. I found this out the hard way, I was with M&I for 12 years after bmo took over i thought ill see what happens well dont stick around,,, fees fees fees

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

memyself's Profile Image

memyself reviewed Wells Fargo

Apr 22nd 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Excessive and unfair charges

Their overdraft fees are excessive. They have just charged me three times, for a total of $105.00 on one overdraft, which, I might add was covered immediately. All that remains of a $488 deposit is $288, which means they milked $200 from my account. I e-mailed and called, but they, oh so sorrowfully and apologetically, refused to refund one single cent.

On another note, I had a personal loan with Wells Fargo. By arrangement, the monthly payment was deducted automatically from my checking account, which was fine. I noticed, however, that the final payment was not deducted on the due date. I thought perhaps this was because the due date fell on a weekend. But No, a couple of days later, I get a "This is an attempt to collect a debt" call. I explained that it was normal for payment to be automatically deducted, and after an "oh dear, let me check" I got "Oh, we dont deduct the last payment because it's a different amount."Well it would have been nice if someone had told me. I arranged for payment and, gues what, the next day I get a second call - I held my tempter and told of the previous call and arrangement, and after a brief check by the caller, there were PROFUSE apologies. Oh yes, there it was, so sorry, so sorry. Why the hell didnt they check BEFORE bothering me.

Wells Fargo tries to convey the impression of sincerity and caring - That is BS, they are cold, heartless bankers, nothing more or less.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mitchteller's Profile Image

mitchteller reviewed Santander Bank

Apr 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Dishonest

I was offered "free" overdraft protection by the Washington St, Brooklyn branch manager when I opened my account. Six months after closing my account (because of multiple minor clerical mistakes on their part), I received a statement claiming that I owed interest on my Credit line which was apparently tied to my allegedly "free" overdraft protection. Multiple calls to customer service got me nowhere. After receiving notification from a collection agency, I paid. Good riddance to a grossly disreputable Bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

balzlisbcglobalnet's Profile Image

balzlisbcglobalnet reviewed Citibank

Apr 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

CITIBANK REFUSES TO STOP SENDING PREAPPROVED APPLICATIONS FOR CC!

CITIBANK REFUSES TO STOP SENDING PREAPPOROVED APPLICATIONS FOR CC TO MY MAILBOX. I HAVE WRITTEN TO THEM TO STOP NOW THEY SEND 2 PREAPPROVED APPLICATIONS PER WEEK WAS 1! PEOPLE SHOULD KNOW CITIBANK IS 1 OF THE MAIN REASONS WE HAVE IDENTITY THEFT MAYBE A LAWSUIT WILL GET THEM TO STOP THEIR CARELESS PRACTICES!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ScrewedByPNC's Profile Image

ScrewedByPNC reviewed PNC Bank

Apr 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

While you might have integrity, PNC Bank does not

While you might have integrity and be a person of your word, who backs up those words with actions, PNC Bank most certainly is the complete opposite. They have no integrity and they blatantly lie. We have a loan with PNC Bank and have made every single payment to them, on time, for the past 2 years just as we agreed to do. Our attorney is/was in the process of negotiating the terms of the balance of the loan and was told by their attorney what documents they were going to require and was also told that our bank rep was going on vacation and nothing would be happening for at least the next week. Well, they lied. On Friday, at the end of the day, PNC sucked $58,000 from our account with no notice whatsoever. To make matters worse, there is $50,000 worth of checks written to vendors and employees, including our paycheck. They took the money out anyway, even though there were outstanding checks which were written on clear money. We sent an email to our rep and received an auto-response saying she was on vacation and giving the names of 2 people to contact in case of an emergency. Well this is an emergency and surely this must be a mistake, right? Despite repeated phone calls to both people, we were only able to get one man on the phone who basically said, "too bad, fuck you, talk to your attorney." When our attorney spoke with the PNC attorney, they said they knew it was happening, despite telling us, in writing that it wasn't going to. I can't even fathom how someone would do that and then leave for vacation, without any regard and leaving people to try and pull their business and lives together. We are filing a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission. I'm tempted to write all of their names here, but I have more integrity than that.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

foreverbroke's Profile Image

foreverbroke reviewed Wells Fargo

Apr 22nd 2014

3 out of 5 marks

my account is ALWAYS negative.

wells fargo was VERY enticing. after being approached every week for about, oh 6months, i finally decided to open up a bank account. a checking account, bank statements, a check book to keep up with. sounds magnificent. i mean hello, EVERYONE HAS A BANK ACCOUNT! Right?! WRONG!! biggest mistake of MY LIFE.

i was working as a waitress, my husband and i never really used our account for the first 6weeks. one day, i decided to deposit my tips into my account before my dinner shift (i did not want to misplace any loose cash that evening) anyways, i could not figure out why i wasn't able to do a cash deposit. i went inside. only to be informed that I CANNOT MAKE CASH DEPOSITS! what the HECK is that?! only after 1 year of banking with wells fargo would i have THAT luxury.

about a month later (august), my husband and i were visiting a friend when he received an email for a $200 bounced check (we didnt have it in our account because, remember, we can't do cash deposits so we just used our cash not our checks or cards) after calling the bank and being informed someone had stolen our info we reported it and got all new information.

our account was not corrected and able to use until DECEMBER. when my husband was in school, they closed his card because it "seemed it could have possibly been a fraudulent charge" because his school was an HOUR away. now, i'd have to run back and forth constantly to give him cash.

april- with a $1300 deposit, my husband withdrew $1150. he was going out of town and since we dont have an exceptional track record we agreed that was our best bet. after multiple failed attempts to purchase a $75 bus ticket we have an overdrafted account due to FIVE GREYHOUND TRANSACTIONS (greyhound has NO proof of purchase) leaving our account -$225. today, my account is ANOTHER $68 NEGATIVE. please remember, we havent used out cards because we have CASH.

***THEY WILL STEAL YOUR MONEY AND NOT REFUND IT. PLEASE BEWARE!!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Suckmepnc's Profile Image

Suckmepnc reviewed PNC Bank

Apr 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Could not be WORSE SERVICE

I'll save the long list of how poor this customer service is. After 10 months (TEN - please count them, TEN) of trying to get something SIMPLE like my loan payment to be deducted automatically, I finally lost it today.

The bank was refusing to waive $130 of fees, their error, and they admit that. Spoke with somebody who puts the "Douche" in "Douchebag", Thomas Dillard, at 877-631-8998, x2695443896 (LOVE those TEN DIGIT extensions).

Will NEVER do business with this bank again. POOR, POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Marni's Profile Image

Marni reviewed Wells Fargo

Apr 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible Customer Service

A bank representative said my account would be open until a certain date, I only had 8.00 dollars to pay. I went in before said date and they closed my account prior unbeknown to me. It was unfortunate since a massive tax return was being sent to the account. They opened a new account and said they would move the return to the new account, but sat on it two days and it was refunded. Then they gave me a checking account, again, state return is headed to the new checking account that is now closed but that I was told I would not have to use for 90 days as a courtesy to me for their mistake. No warning letter of disclosure, nothing through my online banking account to warn me that I wouldn't be able to log in. So of course I go to log in and cannot do so. Wells Fargo is the lousiest bank in the world!!!!! The representative at the Wells Fargo Albertsons Branch in Henderson Nevada (named Claudia) could not get it right. When my husband and I explained the mistake they made with regard to my account, she did not know how to help. My husband had to explain it to her step by step. Then when we went to main branch in Henderson, another bank manager failed to inform me that I had a time limit to use it before my account would close. Again, I was told I had 90 days to sit on it as a courtesy of their mistake. They have horrible help, flippant men and women working customer service. People who do not understand their own system. They also charge high rates just to bank with them. I'm extremely happy to not be using them as a bank and will be moving my service to US Bank, which I hear is far superior.

Screw you Wells Fargo! And you too Claudia!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0