Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

rtgallagher11hotma's Profile Image

rtgallagher11hotma reviewed Bank of America

Jul 22nd 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Pretty iffy

-Weird fees

-Customer service will tell you one thibg but other agent will tell something totally different

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

arethy's Profile Image

arethy reviewed Commerce Bank

Jul 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible Service

I went there with my 89 YO mother to get her finances in order. There were 4 people in line and only 2 CS reps. We waited 45 mins to get waited on. The CS service reps were rude and didn't care if they ever waited on you. Once we finally got "waited on" the woman ignored us and I thought she fell asleep while looking at her computer without once saying anything. Just really bad service. Avoid this at all cost!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

djeffries's Profile Image

djeffries reviewed Banner Bank

Jul 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Very poor customer service

I have been banking with Banner Bank for a couple of years with not overdrafts of problems. I used Banner Banks smartphone app (official Banner Bank App promoted by bank) to make a deposit as I was leaving for vacation. I had used this process a couple of times before with no problem. This was used to move money from one of my bank account to another (available funds was never stated as a problem). The app involves submitting a photo of both the front and back of the check. When submitting the deposit the app show "submitted" as status. After reviewing, the app status gets changed to "accepted". I verified that the status was "Accepted" before leaving data coverage. When I returned on 7/19/2014, the status still showed "accepted" but the transaction was never processed. This resulted in overdraft fees of $120 plus the fees applied by the other banks that were declined. On 7/21/2014 I went to the branch to see what had happened. They said that they had questions about the check and had declined to process it. The teller told me that she didn't care what the app said, it didn't process and they weren't going to back off any charges. When I asked to speak to the manager I was asked to be seated. then a couple of minutes later the teller came back out and said that the manager "reviewed the case" and that they wouldn't make any changes. When asked if I could talk to her, I was told NO. When I returned home, I contacted the corporate office and was told it was up to the local branch manager. I did get a phone number for a regional supervisor (Marcello 425.739.1055), but he seams to not want to answer his phone.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

susanawm's Profile Image

susanawm reviewed Bankunited

Jul 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Bankunited sold my auto loan to a shady company

I took out an auto loan with bankunited at the end of last year. I have regularly serviced my loan through auto payments and was therefore shocked to learn through a third party that Bankunited had sold my loan to CIC logic. On checking CIC logic's reputation online, all I have read are horrible experiences from customers who have been lied to and scammed by the company. Some customers have had their autos repo'd because of the illegal operations run by the company. I am terrified that Bankunited decided to throw me to the sharks without any fair warning or without even giving me an opportunity to choose to pay off the loan through a bank of my own choice. Needless to say, disappointment cannot even begin to describe my view of Bankunited. I have no good words for them. Bankunited have put me in a very stressful position and so far they rank as the worst banking institution I have ever dealt with.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

un_happy_customer's Profile Image

un_happy_customer reviewed Huntington

Jul 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

My money mysteriously disappearing....

I get direct deposit every other Friday. I also get a paper check which I deposited the following Saturday. Monday, I checked my account balance online and was wondering why my balance was so low when I should have more available. I subtracted each transaction from the deposit 3 days prior, and should have over $129 more to my balance(not including the check I deposited on Saturday). I then called customer service and the rep told me that the computer sometimes "plays" with the numbers. I was thrown!!I How can the computer play with the transaction amounts and balance? I asked the rep. He said he did not know, and kept repeating the same thing over and over about the computer playing with your account balance. He then told me I should get my true account balance by the end of the business day. If I cannot trust a bank to hold the correct amount of money I have, then what the h**** is the purpose of banking here???

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

myplatinumbodygmai's Profile Image

myplatinumbodygmai reviewed Bancorpsouth Bank

Jul 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

I WANT MY MONEY!!!!!!

I used this ATM machine at this location on Saturday, July 19, 2014. The dollar amount in which I requested did not dispense. I immediately contacted their (800#) and asked to speak with a manager on duty. Once speaking with the manager I was told to contact the branch on Monday morning and make the manager aware of what took place. She also indicated that weekend transactions are reconciled; therefore the branch will also recognize that there is an overage and the amounts should match perfectly. Contacted the bank this morning as advise, spoke to Liz Frisch explained the situation and she hung up on me. Called back and was told to contact my local branch to file the dispute being that I am not a BancorpSouth customer. Contacted my bank and was advised that it could take up to 45 days to retrieve lost funds. PERPLEXED. DO NOT BANK THERE!!!!!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

formercustomer2234's Profile Image

formercustomer2234 reviewed Citizens Bank

Jul 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

lied to about exchange rate

My husband just returned from picking up a few euros for an upcoming trip. They literally lied to him about the exchange rate, telling him it changed from $1.35 to $1.45 over the weekend. He looked it up when he finished and found it to be untrue, it's still $1.35. In addition, he waited 20 minutes even though there was no line AND paid a fee for the "convenience" of being ripped off. First thing on the to-do list when we get back from vacation? CHANGE BANKS!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

FormerCustomer_cou's Profile Image

FormerCustomer_cou reviewed FirstMerit Bank

Jul 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Fees fees and more fees..

Worst bank EVER!! I've had my account there for four years now. I originally went with them because of their free checking. Let me tell you..NOT WORTH IT!! Charges after charges after charges. My insurance company took a double payment on both my car and home by accident. I deposited the money to cover their mistake on THE SAME DAY they did it. Got hit with two overdraft fees that they will not reverse! My insurance company has since corrected their mistake but First Merit will not take back their two fees! I have been dealing with similar situations and their crappy customer service and inane rules for too long. I've graduated college now. I have a better job and I'm taking my money somewhere else. I wish I had done more research when choosing a bank because now that I'm looking around it seems majority of their customers hate them. I would NEVER recommend First Merit to anyone!...EVER!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MofOnonfan's Profile Image

MofOnonfan reviewed Mutual of Omaha Bank

Jul 20th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Deception by Mutual of Omaha Bank - Mortgage Services

We had severe home damage during a baseball-sized hailstorm and rain. I am so completely dissatisfied with the service (or should I say, lack thereof) from Mutual of Omaha Bank, that I feel others should be aware. Our particular situation will require several different contractors for repair. The only job that has been done (by [Redacted]) cannot be paid, due to the inept supervisors that I've spoken with at Mutual of Omaha Bank - Mortgage Services, in Lake Zurich, IL.

Their policy simply does not work in this type of situation. We still have windows, drywall, insulation, flooring, and painting to be done before our home is put back together. Because of Mutual of Omaha Bank's inability to understand that this is not one job, and will require several different contractors to be paid, we are trying to come up with the money, on our own, that our insurance company has already given to them. I received a letter yesterday, stating that the remainder of the money will be available when "the job" is completed, even though I was told the second disbursement would be completed 2 days ago. I'd call that a blatant lie. We are expected to hold the roofing contractor hostage (as we have been) until Mutual of Omaha Bank can understand that the American Family Insurance money (that they are holding hostage) needs to be released in order to pay contractors?

I'm well aware of issues with contractors. However, in this case, it's not the contractors who are causing issues. It's our mortgage company. It's truly been like trying to explain why sticking your fingers in a fan with metal blades is not a good idea, to a two-year-old. They just don't get it, even though it's been explained over a dozen times. Then add insult to injury by telling me over the phone that a second disbursement has been made, but it hasn't. It really shouldn't be this difficult, should it? Wish there were "negative" stars to rate with. Unacceptable behavior by a financial institution.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

m2annika's Profile Image

m2annika reviewed Citizens Bank

Jul 20th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

More fees one can count of

Two pages are not enough to list fees, next just using my own phone will be an extra fee.

Time to research and transfer .

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0