Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

ecb's Profile Image

ecb reviewed BB&T

Aug 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

HORRIBLE BANK EVER

BB&T is such a horrible bank. And after 2 years of banking with them, i finally realized it. I had a credit card payment come out of my account w/o my permission which caused me to overdraft. i called that credit card company, said that they needed to put that money back to my account asap because they were not authorized to take it in the first place. They said we apologize, the money will go back. i called BB&T to let them know that hey, I had something come out of my account and it wasn't suppose too and now i overdraft and i was also charged 36$ for an overdraft fee, but that payment is going to be refunded to me, so will everything go back to normal? the rep said ABSOLUTELY YES. in the meantime i had other bills that come straight out of my account which made me overdraft some more. I called again, gave them the story, they said all we need to see is that credit card refund and everything will do a REVERSE. I said great. Refund came a week later. i had two charges that came out after the credit card payment, along with 4 36$ OVERDRAFT FEES ! IN ONE WEEK!?? They not only took my refund, but my credit card company is SO NICE AND GENEROUS they gave me an additional 50$ for the trouble and BB&T TOOK THAT MONEY while I'm still left with A NEGATIVE BALANCE including 3 36$ OVERDRAFT FEES!! I called them up and said wait a min, my refund came back why didn't a "reverse" happen?? Not to mention it took me 37 minutes to get a rep on the phone. the rep tried to tell me, even if that payment never happened your account would still have been a negative bc you didn't have enough funds for the other transactions coming out of your account... HOW DARE YOU MAKE SUCH AN ASSUMPTION???? so now, the paycheck that i worked so hard for at my job...is gone. they took it all. and after 2 LONG and STRESSFUL weeks, my account is being looked at for fraud. BB&T IS THE ABSOLUTE WORST. NOT PROFESSIONAL. HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE. AND THEY'LL TAKE EVERY PENNY YOU HAVE.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

DaveMcArthur's Profile Image

DaveMcArthur reviewed PNC Bank

Aug 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Banking Experience In My Life

I have had a checking account with PNC for less than a week and all I want to do is to close the account. This being the 21st Century, one would think that opening an account online would be a simple process. The only simple part was PNC taking my deposit. I never received a signature card, I have never been able to create my online account, it has been locked out since I open the account and despite calling the Customer Service number multiple times to get the account unlocked, that should never have been locked in the first place, it remains locked out. At this point I am so frustrated with the abject stupidity and run around I have received from this so called bank, I am ready to surrender my $100 deposit just to never have to deal with the run around and frustration ever again. If you are considering using PNC , do your self a favor and DO NOT do it! You would be better off keeping your money under your mattress.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

GreenThumbPhi's Profile Image

GreenThumbPhi reviewed Chase

Aug 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Very bad for small businesses & nonprofits.

We opened Corporate nonprofit account. The banker put the Secretary as the owner although a non-profit in California cannot be owned by a person .

The account was flagged for closure days later, before the debit card arrived. No debits. Fraud department ask for supporting documents then admitted they had them as if the Santa Clara County registration paper was over looked the entire time; they apologized for the mistake.

They couldn't reverse the decision, account closed and balance check of about $3000 was said to be in-transit; to the company's mailing address. That was 3-weeks ago, no sign of the company's money apparently Chase is keeping it.

Branch name: Bernal Rd, branch number 744522 San Jose, CA

Banker who opened the account calls himself "Bob" for short.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

thorny432's Profile Image

thorny432 reviewed Homestreet Bank

Aug 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Took >4 months to close on a house!

We had an absolutely horrible time at the Salem Branch. The person we worked with never returned our calls promptly, ignored emails, and failed to follow through on deadlines and promises. We ended up taking more than 4 months to close! And that was with us pushing and prodding every other day. Even going to the manager did not help. The other branches may be fine, but ours was a nightmare to work with. Stay away from at all costs!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

TrevorBriggs's Profile Image

TrevorBriggs reviewed U.S. Bank

Aug 20th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

WORST EXPERIENCE EVER!

16480 Boones Ferry Rd

Lake Oswego, OR 97035-4208

United States

I do not have an account with US Bank,and after today I NEVER will. I had a STATE of Oregon issued check in the amount of $7400,that was stamped with payable through US BANK. I went into this branch because it is the closest to my residence to get it cashed. I walked in and was told since I didn't have an account they would need a thumbprint,no problem.After that the lady told me I would have to pay $5.00 to cash it,no problem. Then she came back and informed me that the bank did not have enough large bills to cash it,no problem.I told her twenty's would be fine because I was going right across the street to Wells Fargo to deposit it in my wife's account. She came back with my $7,400 in twenty's. She then told me that she would need to get an override with her manager because my STATE of OREGON issued driver's license was too new.I just had a birthday and my license expired in June so I had my license renewed in July.Then the manager came out to inform me that the bank did not have enough money to cover cashing my $7400 STATE issued check. Instead of informing me of any other options they told me basically to leave. So, I did, and went across the street to WELLS FARGO and opened my own account and deposited the money and had a POSITIVE experience with WELLS FARGO. I will NEVER RECOMMEND US BANK to ANYONE in the future. It was by far the MOST NEGATIVE EXPERIENCE I HAVE EVER HAD!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ndaleylaw's Profile Image

ndaleylaw reviewed TD Bank

Aug 20th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Won't release wire transfers

They are sitting on a wire claiming that the sending bank never sent them the information they requested when the sending bank has now sent them the information 2x. Each time I call I hear a different story from "what wire..we don't see any record of a wire" to claiming they made requests for information from the sending bank on different dates from what I heard in the last phone call. They don't let you speak to their wire department directly so you have to relay your communication through (an often incompetent) customer service representative. I have a simple business checking account and couldn't imagine expanding my services with them when they are this incompetent on such a basic transaction.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

pinkypinky's Profile Image

pinkypinky reviewed BBVA Compass Bank

Aug 20th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Fees fees, awful service, terrible expertise!

Service was always terrible, people not nice in person or on the phone, long hold when calling, horrible service giving me the run-around when a problem emerged, then all the fees came rolling in. It has been 4 months since I closed my account and I'm still getting bills of random fees $25 here $39 there and they still tell me that even aftet closing my account their bank will continue trying to charge every month and they can't do anything.... ARE YOU KIDDING ME??!!

The guy wouldn't let me talk to a supervisor, for some reason, but finally I talked to a superior aftet being on hold for a very long time and they had me fax bunch of letters, statements, and info to get Compass Bank to STOP CHARGING MY CLOSED COMPASS ACCOUNT.

I JUST WANT TO BE DONE WITH THIS HORRIBLE BANK!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

shee146's Profile Image

shee146 reviewed TD Bank

Aug 20th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

worst bank ever!

If no stars were possible I'd give them that.

I had a car loan with them. Since my first payment I've paid my loan 4+ months at a time because I'm a seasonal employee and I like to have as little to no bills when I'm not working. This was fine for three years of my loan.Then one of the tellers processed the payment incorrectly. With out ANY kind of notification from the bank they put my account into collections! I went in a few months later knowing I should have been on track with payments and wanted to know how much was left on the account when the teller told me I'd have to call their 1-800 number to get my information which I thought was odd but paid my usual few months and left. Called the number and was told my car was in recovery! It took a coarse of three days to get everything (to what I thought) squared away. Mad at the whole situation and not wanting to deal with this bank anymore I paid my loan off in full. I was waiting the one to two months for my title to come in the mail and once I hit the third month I called the 1-800 number again to findout where my ttitle was. I got the run around again! Saying that my account is in collections abd then in recovery! I Paid it off in full at a bank branch location. This had been the biggest nightmare of my life! My credit is perfect except for all this mess which isn't even something that is my fault!

Go to this bank only if you want them to destroy your credit.!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

JJ2015's Profile Image

JJ2015 reviewed BBVA Compass Bank

Aug 20th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

You have got to be kidding me!!!

I banked with BBVA Compass back in 2012 for less than a year. My experience with them in just a few months was AWFUL! From miscellaneous charges here & there to unprofessional service (or lack thereof) to random holds on payroll and direct deposit items. They reduce your balance when you pay a bill, then it disappears for days, then reappears when it's convenient to charge you for an NSF fee. I had also been scammed by an internet company and despite my proof that the charges were not mine...they did not refund me the scammed amount nor the NSF fees that I incurred because of it. I'd had enough. So, in Feb 2013, I marched into the branch and asked to close my account. That process took damn near an hour, but they handed me the remaining balance of my checking account and I was on my merry way. Problem solved??? WRONG!!!

Fast forward to today (8/2014) I get a phone call from a random guy in NY named Steve Gavin who did not identify his company. He stated that he has paperwork filed in my county in TX for fraud charges against me regarding that Compass Bank account. He gave me a docket number, claims I owe over $1500 and if I do not respond back to him immediately, I will lose my right to represent myself at a hearing which, by the way, is in three business days. WHAT?!?! I've never been served any court summons??? I immediately called my county courthouse and gave them this "docket" number which turns out wasn't a valid docket number at all. How could I owe $1500 on a closed account from a year and a half ago? I don't write checks and there was no outstanding bill pay or ach items. I'm infuriated...so you better believe I'm contacting my attorney and getting to the bottom of this.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

usethisinformation's Profile Image

usethisinformation reviewed BB&T

Aug 20th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst bank in the history of banks

I'm not one to write reviews but in the event that this can help someone or some entity going after this bank, I hope this helps. BB&T is a HORRIBLE bank to work with, they claim that they don't place delays on transactions to ensure that they're able to charge people their $36 fees but they do. I had a case of running debit transactions and one credit transaction which takes longer to post on an account but BB&T let the credit transaction go through as this resulted in my account incurring about 5 $36 fees on debit transactions of $1+ and $5 each. The most recent incident was that my place had sent me a paper check instead of depositing it to my account, I went over there to see if they could either not place it on hold or at least release enough to take care of my already set up automated transactions to go through....given that I'd been with them for a while at that point and they could clearly see that the deposit and check were from the same company....but of course they wouldn't work with me. In my trying to make sure that my account would be ok, I borrowed $300 in cash and deposited that in my account and guess what? An item was still returned despite my placing a cash deposit and my having a balance big enough to take care of this. This is bank is the worst when it comes to customer service and only care about their set policies and procedures which they've instilled in their workforce. This is very unfortunate as even though I might be someone who unfortunately lives paycheck to paycheck right now....this will not always be the case and there is NO WAY IN HELL that I'll ever bank with this institution again.

@BB&T Work with you has been a disgusting and unnecessarily tiring and frustrating experience. Whoever owns this institution will not live a happy life as there's no way you can affect peoples lives the way you've affected mine and have a happy normal life despite however much you're making. I hope that I'm still alive when this bank finally fails.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates