Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

susanzhang's Profile Image

susanzhang reviewed U.S. Bank

Jul 25th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible experience at USBank branch with manager Josh

I have accounts on Chase, Ally, Citibank and Schwab, all of them have very good service.

Today I get an promotion ($150 bonus with a new checking account) from USBank Power UP, so I decide to open an account there and experience their service first, if they are pretty good, move some money to USBank later. But I had terrible experience at US Factoria Branch, Bellevue at WA with branch manager Josh.

First Josh is not familiar his business, he even does not know Credit Card can be used for opening deposit (this is allowed on USBank online opening account at least). Second, when he saw I bring promotion code, he asked me the purpose of opening checking account, moving business to USbank or for bonus? His question made me very uncomfortable, then I told him "Bonus". He suddenly became very angry and said USBank can't opening a checking account with me because I am not interested in moving business to USBank, USBank did not welcome me bla bla bla...

I can't believe these words coming from USBank Branch Manager !!! I ask for his business card and tell him I will complain him definitely.

How does USBank training his employees ???

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jungle27's Profile Image

jungle27 reviewed BBVA Compass Bank

Jul 25th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst bank ever!

So we signed up with this new bank Compass a few weeks ago and told them to decline the card if there wasn't funds, because we only put a couple hundo in this account for now. Apparently they opened up a line of credit if you go over...and its called an "Auto loan" and it charges fees on top of this "Loan" i had no idea bout this and thought i had a balance in the account but it was just this" loan"ughh and its so hard to take it off WORST BANK EVER! i did not sign up for a credit card plus they put it on my credit report w/o me knowing. They really do prey on people who live pay check to pay check. IV had nothing but issues since day one, I'm also trying to cancel this $5 a month membership fee, and they cant seem to find it on my account, so when they charge it their gonna take another "auto loan" out for it...RIDICULOUS oh yah plus another $12 fee to use the auto loan

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

CatWoman's Profile Image

CatWoman reviewed U.S. Bank

Jul 25th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

How is US Bank surviving? They are not trustworthy!!!

I have had multiple incidents with the tellers at US bank. First off, I always repeat what I'm trying to do over and over again. I usually have to break everything down into steps for them and write multiple checks to pay my checking, then my credit card, and then my reserve account. If I don't, the wrong accounts are paid and I'm charged a fee. Usually they yawn in my face multiple times when they're helping me. Such bad customer service. This bank is not centralized as far as the tellers seeing what's going on in your accounts. In other words only the main branch has access to your accounts. So watch out if your out of town. Really it seems like no ones home. I complained to the branch manager in Marina del Rey on Lincoln reguarding fees that shouldn't be on my account and it took her one week to call back. Then she insulted me saying I couldn't handle two accounts. What? So today, I happily close all of my accounts!!!!! Can't handle any accounts with us bank!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

anonymous12345's Profile Image

anonymous12345 reviewed UMB Bank

Jul 25th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Absolutely terrible!!!

I've been with umb since I was a junior in highschool...that's 6 years of me staying with them and the ONLY reason I haven't switched sooner was because I don't want to deal with switching but today is the day i'm not doing it ANYMORE. They rob you lets just go with that. I thought I was on overdraft protection but apparently I never signed up??? I still have the paperwork that I signed so I brought it into the bank and they still wouldn't return my money. How do these people live with themselves!???? absolutely horrible. I get it was my mistake not having money in there but whats the point of being signed up for the overdraft protection if i'm not protected. I am cancelling my account this bank on my lunch break.

DO NOT COME HERE. TERRIBLE SERVICE. RUDE AND UNHELPEFUL STAFF. TERRIBLE COMPANY.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Pikabou's Profile Image

Pikabou reviewed IBC Bank

Jul 25th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Awful branch manager

Without warning me they put my check on hold for 2 weeks!!

The branch manager was extremely rude. He told me he couldn't release the funds or part of it because I had an address in France and that he didn't know if he could trust me, even though the sender of the check was willing to confirm its validity. Unbelievable.

I am going to withdraw all my money and close the account.

This bank is a joke and the branch manager is xenophobic.

Cherry on the cake their website can't be accessed from abroad. From a bank who offers accounts to non residents. That says it all.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

gumbogaga's Profile Image

gumbogaga reviewed Wells Fargo

Jul 25th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

CAREFUL - DO NOT TRUST THIS BRANCH

Twice I have given cash to tellers, they take the money to the back and return to tell me my cash balance was less than what I had given them. First time $100 (about 5 months ago). Second time, $50.

I count my cash three times before I makes drops for my business or change from smaller to larger bills. I've used several Wells Fargo branches in the area and have never had an issue except for this particular one and it's happened twice ... Something is not right.

I voiced my concern with the manager and the tellers drawer was counted but she did not use her drawer. She went to the back to count the cash. The manager said that the teller could not have taken it because there are cameras. OK??? Let me see the video! They did not let me see video.

DO NOT USE THIS BRANCH! Something is not right. DO NOT ALLOW A TELLER TO COUNT YOUR MONEY UNLESS THEY ARE IN FRONT OF YOU!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

timb's Profile Image

timb reviewed First Midwest Bank

Jul 24th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

A Cashiers Check = CASH

I am in search of a new bank as I bank at TCF. I like the fact that TCF is open 7 days a week among other things, however, the negatives outweigh the positives, so I'm looking for a new bank. About a month ago my Girl Friend cashed a cashier's check in the lobby at this bank, which went smoothly. Several days ago she tried to cash one at the drive-through because the lobby was closed. It was a CASHIER'S check in the amount of $4000.00. The teller said she could only dispense $3000.00, deposit the remainder and pick it up the next day, fair enough, rules are rules. {which seems ridiculous, especially if you have an account at said bank} So she waited and went to the bank in question when the lobby was open after work today. Much to my astonishment she was told she could only receive $800.00 of the above aforementioned check? If the teller could dispense $800.00 of the check, why not the entire balance? Not to mention this particular document "Contains a True Watermark-Hold to the Light to View". It is also equipped with an Octagon that says " Rub here " in 3 different locations for further authentication. Personally I can' figure out what kind of scam this particular Bankster was trying to pull or if she was just plain rude, or stupid, or all the above. Remember when ATMs where supposed to make things cheaper? That was just the tip of the iceberg. Banks charge insane amounts of money for overdrafts, their pathetic excuse way back when was more or less to discipline us consumers. The removal of the Glass-Steagall Act was the last nail in the consumers coffin, thanks Bill. I guess I'm staying with TCF, just a little less evil Bankster. I could go on and on, but i'm sure a lot of folks already know this, you need $700,000,000,000 of tax payer money henry, no problem! If I could I would rate this bank a -- zero!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

meanco's Profile Image

meanco reviewed Customers Bank

Jul 24th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

The management staff is arrogant and mean.

Do not do any sort of business with this bank. They are arrogant and mean people. The customer service, their willingness to work with you to resolve issues is non existent. It is all about how much they can rip you off, take what you own and on to the next person who was stupid enough to do business when they were New Century Bank.

If you have an account with them close it. If you're not now, you will someday be sorry you ever did business with them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

nonono's Profile Image

nonono reviewed First Niagara Bank

Jul 24th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Some investment and mortgage personnel seem unprofessional

Curious about mortgage rates because I was considering buying a condo, I stopped to talk to an officer at my small branch office. I didn't know her because the staff changes constantly there but she checked my records (after speaking with her vet about her pet ) and quickly put on the phone with a "mortgage consultant" (read: salesman).

He expected me, I believe, to want his approval so much that a courteous introduction or expectation of privacy (I was in a rather public, half glassed-in cubicle) was unnecessary. He fired out his questions about IRAs, savings, salary, debt, etc., with condescending casualness.

The whole motus operendi was so rude and unprofessional that I would never consider First Niagara as a lender.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

fredfriedrick's Profile Image

fredfriedrick reviewed Wells Fargo

Jul 24th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Wells Fargo incompetent with over the top fees

I have checking, savings and brokerage accounts at wells fargo. I noticed that my online access to my checking account was not available. So any reconciliation I intended to do was impossible. The next day I tried to issues trades on the brokerage account (around 9:30am Mondday). However the brokerage link never returned a response.

I went to another institution to transfer the brokerage account to a more reliable service. Now I see a $95.00 charge for a "termination fee".

I am closing all my accounts after this.

I suggest that you reconsider doing any kind of business with Wells Fargo. If you have an account, get your money and get it to another more reliable service provider. Be careful though. Wells will gouge you if they are able. I suggest going to the bank and requesting CASH.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0