Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

bunster's Profile Image

bunster reviewed Wells Fargo

Jul 28th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Had money taken from my account by bank stating "Bank Error"

I received a letter from Wells Fargo stating they were removing over $300 from my account stating Bank Error as the reason. I have been calling and asking for explanation for over 3 months with no success. If it is valid, so be it, however I would like proof and an option to understand and if necessary dispute. UNACCEPTABLE. I also asked for information on a home equity line of credit. Before I knew what was happening, they had pulled my and my fiancee's credit report, without permission or even a signature. All I wanted was information on the product to compare to other options. That ,of course, dinged both our credit scores for no reason;as it happens , their rates were much higher than what we already had.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Bstanifer's Profile Image

Bstanifer reviewed TCF Bank

Jul 27th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great bank to be with

This bank is fast and has great customer service

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

apenn16's Profile Image

apenn16 reviewed Sunbank, National Association

Jul 27th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Still improving...

Not a bad bank, though the last year with them has seemed trying. We have been with Sunbank for over 2 years now. We transferred our business to them because of well documented issues with Bank of America, Chase and Wells Fargo. We were very happy with them for about the first 1 1/2 years. Since then, we have had several issues. The first included debits being taken, credited back and then taken again over a week later. We have had to deal with less than stellar customer service being provided by the toll free number operators almost everytime we have called. After checking our balance one afternoon, we proceeded to try to run a debit. It was declined. We received a convoluted explanation from the customer service operator about how even though it showed, it hadn't posted because it wasn't late enough in the day and that it was only declined because we tried to use the money via debit. But if we wanted to write a check or go to the branch to pull the money, then we could use the money. I found out yesterday that Sunbank does not process debits in the order which received, but does the opposite of what Chase used to do and will run them from "smallest to largest" (which at times is just as frustrating especially when waiting for a specific charge to clear).

On the upside, they are a very straight forward bank and their customer service at the counter is some of the best I have ever seen. The tellers are personable, exceedingly helpful and always remember us. They offer many different programs, competitive rates and have great hours.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ObiWanKanobi's Profile Image

ObiWanKanobi reviewed Santander Bank

Jul 27th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Theft of ISA by Financial Adviser/Santander

Having mislaid my Bonds I requested the Financial Adviser to reinvest the £14,000. This Financial Adviser only invested £6,000, when I challenged her at a later date, she stated that one of the bonds had not matured and that she would now reinvest it for me.

Two years later on maturity of the ISA I requested my money and was informed that I had only invested £6,000. I once again spoke to her she stated that she had no recollection and had no idea where the money had gone. She pretended to diligently go through the process of finding what had happened. Presented the mature ISA to me and stated that she would put that one in a high interest savings whilst searching for the other ISA.

I made another appointment to see her but she conveniently had a training day on that day. I was asked whether I wanted to speak to someone else but declined. Another appointment was made which she then told me that I had only seen her for 5 minutes on that day and no transaction had taken place. I asked for the £6,000 which she had stated she had invested earlier. Upon leaving she stated that my money she had returned were compliments and in fact if I had spoken to another Financial Adviser on the day she had not attended the appointment with me, I would have been informed that there was no money and that the account had been closed.

Basically the Financial Adviser had stolen my money and changed the computer data to display information to her advantage.

I would like this solved as it is white collar theft by a Fortune 500 company whose reputation depends on the loyalty of its customers.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jjones's Profile Image

jjones reviewed Bank of America

Jul 26th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Please take my payment for my Credit Card !!!

From October 2012 to March 2013, Bank of America would have many excuses not to process my payment for my credit card bill. I would call customer service to pay part of that bill. I gave them my personal checking account number , (located on the front of my checks.). the next following month, I checked my bank statement and no payment was made to Bank of America. I called Bank of America to find out why the amount was not applied on my account. The customer service rep. told me that i gave them the wrong number on the check. I asked them that they should have call, e-mail, or text me of this problem. (COME ON), I think that I can read numbers on the bottom of a check, (Routing numbers). so I gave them the complete routing numbers again. And again the same thing happened again. This went on for at least 5 months. Finally I was able to pay, (IN FULL), the whole amount. now I have a bad credit mark on my credit score and they will not take them off because they show their records as accurate. Maybe this is a way to make extra money from late fees.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

manOseven's Profile Image

manOseven reviewed Zions Bank

Jul 26th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

After 15+ years just can't handle the amount of fees

Too much to say and not worth my time. Over the past fifteen years banking with Zions bank has cost me thousands of dollars. Really my own fault that I didn't leave years ago. I understand that banks have policies and we agree to them to use them as a bank. Whenever I had troubles with my accounts the people were almost always kind but the policies that never show mercy or understanding makes me feel that I not their concern, just my money. I am done.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

rmac04401's Profile Image

5 out of 5 marks

Good so far

Doing a refinance and just signed the papers. The individuals were very patient and knowledgeable. We even closed at our residence. So far a great experience.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

paulandgina07's Profile Image

paulandgina07 reviewed U.S. Bank

Jul 26th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

These people are great!!!

I have used this branch many times, and the customer service was exemplary. Stellar customer service trumps the reviews that bank policy dictates the outcome ie. The person with the loan, the bank can't help the fact you may have credit blemishes. Did you suggest usung part of your savings as collateral.

Please post this in response to the people who may be a little jaded due to the current economy.

Thank you,

Paul Kucia

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jpats_87's Profile Image

jpats_87 reviewed TD Bank

Jul 26th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

TD Experience

I've had TD bank for almost 10 months now and can only compare it to my local bank I had previously. My experience has been smooth with TD and have had no surprises or fees yet. The online banking is easy to use and accurately reports any transfers quickly. The mobile banking feature is useful, especially if you don't live near a local TD and deposits are usually made that day or the next. Customer service was also helpful when I called and I was talking to a human representative immediately to answer my inquiries. Overall it's been a pleasant and simple experience with TD.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

susanzhang's Profile Image

susanzhang reviewed U.S. Bank

Jul 25th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible experience at USBank branch with manager Josh

I have accounts on Chase, Ally, Citibank and Schwab, all of them have very good service.

Today I get an promotion ($150 bonus with a new checking account) from USBank Power UP, so I decide to open an account there and experience their service first, if they are pretty good, move some money to USBank later. But I had terrible experience at US Factoria Branch, Bellevue at WA with branch manager Josh.

First Josh is not familiar his business, he even does not know Credit Card can be used for opening deposit (this is allowed on USBank online opening account at least). Second, when he saw I bring promotion code, he asked me the purpose of opening checking account, moving business to USbank or for bonus? His question made me very uncomfortable, then I told him "Bonus". He suddenly became very angry and said USBank can't opening a checking account with me because I am not interested in moving business to USBank, USBank did not welcome me bla bla bla...

I can't believe these words coming from USBank Branch Manager !!! I ask for his business card and tell him I will complain him definitely.

How does USBank training his employees ???

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0