Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

mgehring's Profile Image

mgehring reviewed Old National Bank

Jul 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Just Another Greedy Bank

Their policies on clearing checks is ridiculous and archaic. When they bounce an item they still take the money out of your account and don't give it back until the next day so that they can bounce more items. When they do clear items, they clear them largest amount to smallest "because they think the larger items are the most important items", even if the large items bounce and all the smaller items could clear.

In my opinion, the very least that they could do better is, if you're not going to pay an item, don't take the money. If you're going to take the money, pay the item. It's that simple.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mhyatt7's Profile Image

mhyatt7 reviewed Wells Fargo

Jul 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst major bank in the US

I have had the misfortune to have to deal with Wells Fargo in New York City. Upon the passing of my parents, who held considerable assets in a local branch of the bank in New England, I became executor of their estates, and I needed to conduct business locally in Manhattan. Unlike their local banker in New England, who exhibited intelligence, competence, and compassion, Manhattan Wells Fargo bankers have been uniformly rude, uncaring, disrespectful of my time, and ill-informed about a wide range of financial matters. It is little wonder that I reduced those Wells Fargo accounts to next to nothing. There are many commercial banks in New York City. Choosing Wells Fargo means you adopt their icon, a stagecoach and horses. That symbol worked well in the late 19th century. Unfortunately, the bank's service is still mired in the past. Go elsewhere.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

filmguy9944's Profile Image

filmguy9944 reviewed Chase

Jul 22nd 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Will not lower my interest rate

I have been a loyal chase customer for 10 years and have requested a lowering of my interest rate -- which is currently at 29%. I make my payments on time and am RARELY late.. if I am late, then I pay a late FEE, which is never reversed. Point is, I have good credit and have been a paying customer for years. And this is the thanks I get? Chase, you get 1 big fat star for your loyalty ;0)

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mochamom's Profile Image

mochamom reviewed Guaranty Bank, WI

Jul 22nd 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Check Hold Hell

I've had issues with Guaranty Bank's check hold policies for several years now. I frequently find that different branches seem to follow different rules, and I've learned that the branch inside WalMart is much mire customer friendly than the other branch in West Bend, on Main Street.

Several years ago, my husband and I withdrew a cashier's check from a credit union we have an account with. We brought it to the Main Street branch to deposit it. We were told that there would be a hold on the deposit, even though it was a cashier's check. What? As a former credit union manager, the idea that there would be a hold on a cashier's check was completely foreign to me. We went to the WalMart branch and explained the situation, and the teller explained that we could simply cash the check. Why this was not an option provided to us at the other branch, I'll never know.

I have frequently, over the 10+ years I've banked with them, experienced inconsistent check hold policies. Sometimes I deposit a check and they put a hold on it, and sometimes they don't (and I'm talking about payroll type checks.) Often, one branch (Main Street) will place a hold on the deposit and WalMart will not. Very recently I deposited one of these checks (payroll) and the Main Street branch put a hold on it. Because I took some cash back from the check, a hold was placed on my account that exceeded the balance. A debit transaction came through when the hold was in place, and while it cleared, it generated a $37 overdraft fee. I went to the WalMart branch to find out why the hold was placed this time, when it wasn't when I deposited a check from the same company two weeks ago. The branch manager told me that as such a long time customer, I should be subject to these check holds at all, and that not all branches follow the same policies. I've learned my lesson and will exclusively use the WalMart branch from now on.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

rtgallagher11hotma's Profile Image

rtgallagher11hotma reviewed Bank of America

Jul 22nd 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Pretty iffy

-Weird fees

-Customer service will tell you one thibg but other agent will tell something totally different

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

arethy's Profile Image

arethy reviewed Commerce Bank

Jul 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible Service

I went there with my 89 YO mother to get her finances in order. There were 4 people in line and only 2 CS reps. We waited 45 mins to get waited on. The CS service reps were rude and didn't care if they ever waited on you. Once we finally got "waited on" the woman ignored us and I thought she fell asleep while looking at her computer without once saying anything. Just really bad service. Avoid this at all cost!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

djeffries's Profile Image

djeffries reviewed Banner Bank

Jul 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Very poor customer service

I have been banking with Banner Bank for a couple of years with not overdrafts of problems. I used Banner Banks smartphone app (official Banner Bank App promoted by bank) to make a deposit as I was leaving for vacation. I had used this process a couple of times before with no problem. This was used to move money from one of my bank account to another (available funds was never stated as a problem). The app involves submitting a photo of both the front and back of the check. When submitting the deposit the app show "submitted" as status. After reviewing, the app status gets changed to "accepted". I verified that the status was "Accepted" before leaving data coverage. When I returned on 7/19/2014, the status still showed "accepted" but the transaction was never processed. This resulted in overdraft fees of $120 plus the fees applied by the other banks that were declined. On 7/21/2014 I went to the branch to see what had happened. They said that they had questions about the check and had declined to process it. The teller told me that she didn't care what the app said, it didn't process and they weren't going to back off any charges. When I asked to speak to the manager I was asked to be seated. then a couple of minutes later the teller came back out and said that the manager "reviewed the case" and that they wouldn't make any changes. When asked if I could talk to her, I was told NO. When I returned home, I contacted the corporate office and was told it was up to the local branch manager. I did get a phone number for a regional supervisor (Marcello 425.739.1055), but he seams to not want to answer his phone.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

susanawm's Profile Image

susanawm reviewed Bankunited

Jul 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Bankunited sold my auto loan to a shady company

I took out an auto loan with bankunited at the end of last year. I have regularly serviced my loan through auto payments and was therefore shocked to learn through a third party that Bankunited had sold my loan to CIC logic. On checking CIC logic's reputation online, all I have read are horrible experiences from customers who have been lied to and scammed by the company. Some customers have had their autos repo'd because of the illegal operations run by the company. I am terrified that Bankunited decided to throw me to the sharks without any fair warning or without even giving me an opportunity to choose to pay off the loan through a bank of my own choice. Needless to say, disappointment cannot even begin to describe my view of Bankunited. I have no good words for them. Bankunited have put me in a very stressful position and so far they rank as the worst banking institution I have ever dealt with.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

un_happy_customer's Profile Image

un_happy_customer reviewed Huntington

Jul 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

My money mysteriously disappearing....

I get direct deposit every other Friday. I also get a paper check which I deposited the following Saturday. Monday, I checked my account balance online and was wondering why my balance was so low when I should have more available. I subtracted each transaction from the deposit 3 days prior, and should have over $129 more to my balance(not including the check I deposited on Saturday). I then called customer service and the rep told me that the computer sometimes "plays" with the numbers. I was thrown!!I How can the computer play with the transaction amounts and balance? I asked the rep. He said he did not know, and kept repeating the same thing over and over about the computer playing with your account balance. He then told me I should get my true account balance by the end of the business day. If I cannot trust a bank to hold the correct amount of money I have, then what the h**** is the purpose of banking here???

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

myplatinumbodygmai's Profile Image

myplatinumbodygmai reviewed Bancorpsouth Bank

Jul 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

I WANT MY MONEY!!!!!!

I used this ATM machine at this location on Saturday, July 19, 2014. The dollar amount in which I requested did not dispense. I immediately contacted their (800#) and asked to speak with a manager on duty. Once speaking with the manager I was told to contact the branch on Monday morning and make the manager aware of what took place. She also indicated that weekend transactions are reconciled; therefore the branch will also recognize that there is an overage and the amounts should match perfectly. Contacted the bank this morning as advise, spoke to Liz Frisch explained the situation and she hung up on me. Called back and was told to contact my local branch to file the dispute being that I am not a BancorpSouth customer. Contacted my bank and was advised that it could take up to 45 days to retrieve lost funds. PERPLEXED. DO NOT BANK THERE!!!!!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0