Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

DoctorDonna's Profile Image

DoctorDonna reviewed Huntington

Sep 22nd 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Honestly

I have banked at local credit unions, Chase, KeyBank, and 5/3rd. Huntington is by far the best bank and the one I've stayed the longest with (4years now). I feel like at only 24, I understand how banking and finances work much better than most of the population. First of all, banks are there to make money. I can't fault them for them, they are a business after all, but banks can still do the right thing and help out customers as much as they can. From my personal experience with the banks I've been with, Huntington makes it the easiest to not get fees. With Chase if my account went negative (transaction was pending), even for a minute during the day, I would get hit with overdrafts, even if I made my account positive that same day. That's one thing I love with Huntington, there is their 24hr grace. I basically get text alerts when my account is eligible (once my transaction that caused me to go negative posts) and I have until the end of that business day to make it positive. From the reviews I read, I feel like a genius that I get that principle. As a broke grad student that works full-time, I'm glad to have that extra time. Thank you Huntington for being such a great bank to me!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

AvoidKeyBank's Profile Image

AvoidKeyBank reviewed KeyBank

Sep 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible Bank

I have 3 local accounts and have decided to close my Key Bank account and just have 2 accounts now; as both of those banks are excellent and I've been with each for many years. Without getting into details and wasting any more time with key bank; I'll just advice people against key bank and leave it at that.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

lillylove's Profile Image

lillylove reviewed Huntington

Sep 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Beware of 24 hour grace

After being with Huntington for 18 months I was assessed a fee for something when it should have been put into 24 hour grace. I will not get into the overly complicated BS excuse I was given as to why it was not covered (he lied through his teeth I have the records to prove it), but long story short, it is up to their discretion as to whether or not something is covered. Meaning you DO NOT automatically get 24 hour grace if something bounces, even if that is what they told you when you enrolled. Once I found this out I pulled out all of my receipts and records and found I have been assessed more than $500 in fees over the last 18 months*. I've filed complaints with everyone who will listen and am in the process of filing suit. Run far, far away from this bank. Also, every time I have had to go into the bank, it doesn't matter the branch or the reason, they are slow and rude. Need to make a withdraw? Plan on waiting 20 minutes.

*So much for asterisk free checking.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

hjb101's Profile Image

hjb101 reviewed Independent Bank

Sep 22nd 2014

5 out of 5 marks

No problems...

I have been using Independent Bank since 1999, when we got our mortgage. We have checking and savings there with no problems in all this time.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

astrobl510's Profile Image

astrobl510 reviewed Bank of America

Sep 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Actually No Stars -- They are inheritance thieves

I have been trying for over 1 year to sort out my father's estate. I keep getting the run around from the IRA, CD and Estates depts at B or A. I provide them with every document they ask for to close my parent's accounts and I am still waiting for the money. In fact, I requested that my father's trust account be closed and the funds split evenly between my brother and I as set forth in the text of his trust and the family trust. All documents were sent to the bank multiple times. David Marion, a so-called supervisor with B of A and a complete moron, had the check issued in the name of my father's trust. Now I have a worthless cashier's check drawn on B of A that no bank including B of A will cash. Effectively they have converted an account I couldn't access to into a worthless piece of toilet paper that I can not cash. I have had numerous branches and even a BMO Harris banker call them for a solution and they can't come up with a simple solution for me. I am supposed to try and re-open my father's trust (he is dead and I am not him) then I am supposed to have my brother come to Illinois from Pennsylvania to open a Family trust account at B of A so I can cash their check and distribute the funds then close the account. Apparently my brother is supposed to travel 1000 miles at his expense because they have to see him sign the documents in person. How dysfunctional is that? According to my father's trust and the family trust the money should go directly to us but no one at the bank can read. I am fed up. No one should consider putting their money in this bank or doing any other sort of business with them. The bank sucks and is full of rude, obnoxious, incompetent thieves. My parents must be rolling in their graves knowing that the little bit of money they saved hasn't been given to their children. No wonder they are paying exorbitant fines to the gov't. Apparently they need mine family's money to come up to scratch.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Stolenfrom's Profile Image

Stolenfrom reviewed Oceanfirst Bank

Sep 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Ocean First Bank-False advertising and thievery-ALL BRANCHES

Ocean First Bank CLAIMS to offer"up to the minute details of all transactions" This is EXACTLY what it says in their deceptive online banking page:

-Check your "current" account balances at any time.

-See all your ATMs and Check Card transactions

-View up to the minute details of all transactions.

REALLY? Up to the minute?Current?That's odd because my account was NOT overdrawn when I electronically transferred money from my savings account to checking account!They stole $105 from me in NF funds just ONE afternoon. I check my "so called" "up to the minute" bank accounts every day! EVERY DAY! $105 in one afternoon! My account WAS NOT in the red and there were NO VISIBLE pending checks in my "up to the minute" acct. I transferred $300 to make sure a $50 birthday check for my son was covered and so I could food shop.NOTHING WAS NOT PENDING or VISIBLE to ME! Maybe this is MAGICALLY visible to the nasty,unprofessional bank managers!My account WAS NOT overdrawn! They are THIEVES! Be careful! I was FORCED to give a rating of ONE star because it WILL NOT let me post unless I hit a Star for my review. My review is ZERO stars.This has happened before MANY times, not just to me, but also to colleagues of mine.Same story! Deposit times will be posted but pending transactions NEVER are visible to the customer! They are a secret, I guess, so they can steal money. My experience as a whole(from YOUR GUIDELINES)is your employees are: #1-nasty and unprofessional #2-Your tellers are poorly trained and give incorrect answers OFTEN #3 Your managers are ignorant, arrogant and unprofessional and do not always return phone calls #4 I was reprimanded for "accidentally" going into your stupid ATM lane and told to turn around and go to a different lane, yet I have seen other customers allowed to make transactions there! YOUR rules,guidelines,and all the legal garbage and disclaimers are NOT put into use, nor are your staff familiar with them!Yes PLEASE enter my review into y

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Amcase's Profile Image

Amcase reviewed Nevada State Bank

Sep 20th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great service at NSB Prater Way!

I highly recommend this branch! Allen and Dorothy were so very helpful with our home mortgage and home equity line of credit. Charissa took the time to talk with me right at closing time and also came out of the drive up window the next day to assist me. Wonderful people and bank!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

enicely's Profile Image

enicely reviewed Bank of America

Sep 20th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Dangerous credit card practice

With every credit card statement, BOA sends checks whic can be filled out for instant credit just as if you had written a check. These sit in the mailbox and could easily be taken and used by a thief. I asked them on multiple occasions to stop sending these to me but they keep coming. I am on my way to the bank to close out my checking and credit card accounts.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

hbndsoon's Profile Image

hbndsoon reviewed Wells Fargo

Sep 20th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Wells Fargo poor business service

Local personal banking has not been a problem. If you are a business you should maybe think twice before engaging in a business account. Unnecessary hits on your credit make banking at other institutions difficult as they question why the checks were made on your credit. Wells Fargo is non responsive at this time in providing documentation as to why the inquiry has occurred. This is stopping me from continuing with other transactions at other banking institutions. One would wonder if this is done on purpose to keep you from doing banking at other institutions.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

BankofOklahomastil's Profile Image

BankofOklahomastil reviewed Bank of Oklahoma

Sep 20th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Bank of Oklahoma documents lost stolen distroyed

Bank of Oklahoma personnel are dishonest. The bank itself should not be trusted. They are stealing "signature" cards. I had to sign an account signature card "three" times. I asked what happened and they refuse to respond. They are horrible over the phone as well and when you email them they lie as well.

I complained to the FDIC and the Comptroller of the Currency. That made them super mad. They then closed my checking account because I made formal complaints about them "stealing" my signature card. I was informed the person who was doing it was fired yet when I made a formal complaint that the bank be investigated they illegally closed my checking account. I am a disabled vet. They closed it the day after the deadline for direct deposit so I will have no money on the first. Be ware of this bank. Don't do business with them. Read reviews by others.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates