Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

elvisbanker's Profile Image

elvisbanker reviewed BMO Harris Bank

Apr 23rd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

worst bank in America

BMO is a money making bank for them ... they will not help the little people in America just themselves. I found this out the hard way, I was with M&I for 12 years after bmo took over i thought ill see what happens well dont stick around,,, fees fees fees

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

memyself's Profile Image

memyself reviewed Wells Fargo

Apr 22nd 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Excessive and unfair charges

Their overdraft fees are excessive. They have just charged me three times, for a total of $105.00 on one overdraft, which, I might add was covered immediately. All that remains of a $488 deposit is $288, which means they milked $200 from my account. I e-mailed and called, but they, oh so sorrowfully and apologetically, refused to refund one single cent.

On another note, I had a personal loan with Wells Fargo. By arrangement, the monthly payment was deducted automatically from my checking account, which was fine. I noticed, however, that the final payment was not deducted on the due date. I thought perhaps this was because the due date fell on a weekend. But No, a couple of days later, I get a "This is an attempt to collect a debt" call. I explained that it was normal for payment to be automatically deducted, and after an "oh dear, let me check" I got "Oh, we dont deduct the last payment because it's a different amount."Well it would have been nice if someone had told me. I arranged for payment and, gues what, the next day I get a second call - I held my tempter and told of the previous call and arrangement, and after a brief check by the caller, there were PROFUSE apologies. Oh yes, there it was, so sorry, so sorry. Why the hell didnt they check BEFORE bothering me.

Wells Fargo tries to convey the impression of sincerity and caring - That is BS, they are cold, heartless bankers, nothing more or less.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mitchteller's Profile Image

mitchteller reviewed Santander Bank

Apr 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Dishonest

I was offered "free" overdraft protection by the Washington St, Brooklyn branch manager when I opened my account. Six months after closing my account (because of multiple minor clerical mistakes on their part), I received a statement claiming that I owed interest on my Credit line which was apparently tied to my allegedly "free" overdraft protection. Multiple calls to customer service got me nowhere. After receiving notification from a collection agency, I paid. Good riddance to a grossly disreputable Bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

balzlisbcglobalnet's Profile Image

balzlisbcglobalnet reviewed Citibank

Apr 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

CITIBANK REFUSES TO STOP SENDING PREAPPROVED APPLICATIONS FOR CC!

CITIBANK REFUSES TO STOP SENDING PREAPPOROVED APPLICATIONS FOR CC TO MY MAILBOX. I HAVE WRITTEN TO THEM TO STOP NOW THEY SEND 2 PREAPPROVED APPLICATIONS PER WEEK WAS 1! PEOPLE SHOULD KNOW CITIBANK IS 1 OF THE MAIN REASONS WE HAVE IDENTITY THEFT MAYBE A LAWSUIT WILL GET THEM TO STOP THEIR CARELESS PRACTICES!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ScrewedByPNC's Profile Image

ScrewedByPNC reviewed PNC Bank

Apr 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

While you might have integrity, PNC Bank does not

While you might have integrity and be a person of your word, who backs up those words with actions, PNC Bank most certainly is the complete opposite. They have no integrity and they blatantly lie. We have a loan with PNC Bank and have made every single payment to them, on time, for the past 2 years just as we agreed to do. Our attorney is/was in the process of negotiating the terms of the balance of the loan and was told by their attorney what documents they were going to require and was also told that our bank rep was going on vacation and nothing would be happening for at least the next week. Well, they lied. On Friday, at the end of the day, PNC sucked $58,000 from our account with no notice whatsoever. To make matters worse, there is $50,000 worth of checks written to vendors and employees, including our paycheck. They took the money out anyway, even though there were outstanding checks which were written on clear money. We sent an email to our rep and received an auto-response saying she was on vacation and giving the names of 2 people to contact in case of an emergency. Well this is an emergency and surely this must be a mistake, right? Despite repeated phone calls to both people, we were only able to get one man on the phone who basically said, "too bad, fuck you, talk to your attorney." When our attorney spoke with the PNC attorney, they said they knew it was happening, despite telling us, in writing that it wasn't going to. I can't even fathom how someone would do that and then leave for vacation, without any regard and leaving people to try and pull their business and lives together. We are filing a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission. I'm tempted to write all of their names here, but I have more integrity than that.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

foreverbroke's Profile Image

foreverbroke reviewed Wells Fargo

Apr 22nd 2014

3 out of 5 marks

my account is ALWAYS negative.

wells fargo was VERY enticing. after being approached every week for about, oh 6months, i finally decided to open up a bank account. a checking account, bank statements, a check book to keep up with. sounds magnificent. i mean hello, EVERYONE HAS A BANK ACCOUNT! Right?! WRONG!! biggest mistake of MY LIFE.

i was working as a waitress, my husband and i never really used our account for the first 6weeks. one day, i decided to deposit my tips into my account before my dinner shift (i did not want to misplace any loose cash that evening) anyways, i could not figure out why i wasn't able to do a cash deposit. i went inside. only to be informed that I CANNOT MAKE CASH DEPOSITS! what the HECK is that?! only after 1 year of banking with wells fargo would i have THAT luxury.

about a month later (august), my husband and i were visiting a friend when he received an email for a $200 bounced check (we didnt have it in our account because, remember, we can't do cash deposits so we just used our cash not our checks or cards) after calling the bank and being informed someone had stolen our info we reported it and got all new information.

our account was not corrected and able to use until DECEMBER. when my husband was in school, they closed his card because it "seemed it could have possibly been a fraudulent charge" because his school was an HOUR away. now, i'd have to run back and forth constantly to give him cash.

april- with a $1300 deposit, my husband withdrew $1150. he was going out of town and since we dont have an exceptional track record we agreed that was our best bet. after multiple failed attempts to purchase a $75 bus ticket we have an overdrafted account due to FIVE GREYHOUND TRANSACTIONS (greyhound has NO proof of purchase) leaving our account -$225. today, my account is ANOTHER $68 NEGATIVE. please remember, we havent used out cards because we have CASH.

***THEY WILL STEAL YOUR MONEY AND NOT REFUND IT. PLEASE BEWARE!!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Suckmepnc's Profile Image

Suckmepnc reviewed PNC Bank

Apr 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Could not be WORSE SERVICE

I'll save the long list of how poor this customer service is. After 10 months (TEN - please count them, TEN) of trying to get something SIMPLE like my loan payment to be deducted automatically, I finally lost it today.

The bank was refusing to waive $130 of fees, their error, and they admit that. Spoke with somebody who puts the "Douche" in "Douchebag", Thomas Dillard, at 877-631-8998, x2695443896 (LOVE those TEN DIGIT extensions).

Will NEVER do business with this bank again. POOR, POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Marni's Profile Image

Marni reviewed Wells Fargo

Apr 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible Customer Service

A bank representative said my account would be open until a certain date, I only had 8.00 dollars to pay. I went in before said date and they closed my account prior unbeknown to me. It was unfortunate since a massive tax return was being sent to the account. They opened a new account and said they would move the return to the new account, but sat on it two days and it was refunded. Then they gave me a checking account, again, state return is headed to the new checking account that is now closed but that I was told I would not have to use for 90 days as a courtesy to me for their mistake. No warning letter of disclosure, nothing through my online banking account to warn me that I wouldn't be able to log in. So of course I go to log in and cannot do so. Wells Fargo is the lousiest bank in the world!!!!! The representative at the Wells Fargo Albertsons Branch in Henderson Nevada (named Claudia) could not get it right. When my husband and I explained the mistake they made with regard to my account, she did not know how to help. My husband had to explain it to her step by step. Then when we went to main branch in Henderson, another bank manager failed to inform me that I had a time limit to use it before my account would close. Again, I was told I had 90 days to sit on it as a courtesy of their mistake. They have horrible help, flippant men and women working customer service. People who do not understand their own system. They also charge high rates just to bank with them. I'm extremely happy to not be using them as a bank and will be moving my service to US Bank, which I hear is far superior.

Screw you Wells Fargo! And you too Claudia!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MonicaMcKoy's Profile Image

MonicaMcKoy reviewed Suntrust Bank

Apr 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Fees Have to be illegal somehow....

I agree with other customers. We are struggling financially and are suddenly being charged $36.00 for a NSF fee and then another $36.00 fee hits 6 days later if we haven't been able to correct the account.

My mother is currently trying to pay off the negative balance of her account as quickly as possible in order to close it and the sad part about it is that she has had this one and only account since 1969. That's right.....she opened this account 44 years ago in 1969 and has used it flawlessly until the last 6 months when, due to a relapse of her Multiple Sclerosis (which she has had for 28 years) cause her to struggle somewhat financially.

Ironically, that's the exact time that Suntrust started double charging the $36.00 fees from people who are obviously already hurting.

I never saw the addendum where this was added on but I would have thought a 44 year old account would have been exempt or at the least Grandfathered in somehow.

I certainly wish we, the customers could randomly go along and add whatever we wanted to to our own accounts that would be beneficial to us the way Suntrust has abused and taken advantage of it's loyal customers by randomly adding fees and new rules out of the blue.

And did I mention that we have made 5.....FIVE.....5........ attempts to speak to the branch manager Deaundra Wood regarding trouble with my mom's account starting back last November of 2013? Well we are still waiting for her to return our calls, messages and for her to respond to the 3...THREE visits we made to the branch even though it's 45 minutes away.

My mother has always had wonderful things to say about Suntrust and has helped several family members acquire accounts there throughout the years but believe me.....she is certainly speaking differently about them now. She is also taking too many relatives to count on with her to her new bank. I'm sure Suntrust won't feel a thing in losing 25 accounts but my mom is suddenly smiling.....all the way to her new bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MonChoix1008's Profile Image

MonChoix1008 reviewed M&T Bank

Apr 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Sneaky. Underhanded...

Not qualities you want in a bank.

Case in point: pulled up to the local branch where my husband and I opened an account. Before withdrawing money, wanted to check the recent transaction history (as I have done with other banks with no issues). The option given was "mini statement". After proceeding with the mini statement, was given a receipt sized sheet with a handful of transactions. Since I wanted to see more, chose the next page (another receipt sized slip) and one more page. When I checked the bank account online, I saw I was charged $3 total for these 3 tiny sheets. What?! At my own branch? Without warning? At least with other banks when you go to withdraw money, there is a courtesy warning that you will be charged some fee. So I inquired about this to a service rep. This is what came in reply:

"Although, a balance inquiry is free at an M&T ATM, a $1.00 fee is assessed for a printed mini statement."

"I wish to note this fee is noted in the Electronic Banking Card and Telephone Transaction Disclosure and Agreement you received with your M&T VISA Check card."

Yes folks, you should have known because it was given to you in the enclosure when you received your card in the mail. Therefore, M&T has full license to charge you for trying to find out about your recent transactions at one of their branches. Ridiculous. Who knows what other sneaky tactics they use to take your money.

Yes, $3 is certainly a small amount of money, but this underhanded practice gives me no reason to trust this bank. Suffice it to say, my husband and I will be taking our business elsewhere.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0