Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

anonymous101's Profile Image

anonymous101 reviewed BB&T

Aug 27th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

They are thieves. Plain and simple.

I enrolled in the overdraft protection and a utility bill came out 4 days before its typical date which would overdrafted my account. BB&T not only ignored my overdraft protection, they said they would not reverse and proceeded to charge 3 more overdraft fees of 36 dollars a piece for items ranging from 2 dollars-5 dollars. I really don't understand how a bank is being allowed to make HUNDREDS OF THOUSANDS by out right stealing from their clients. (former, if they ever allow me to close the account)

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

AnnArborInvestor's Profile Image

AnnArborInvestor reviewed Old National Bank

Aug 27th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible

This bank took over our local bank and made a complete mess of our finances while repeatedly sending false information. They did not send our replacement checks, messed up our ATM card PINs, did not transfer our online payee details as they said they would, and even did not allow access to our cash by ATM because the only ATM that would not charge a fee was "out of service" for days!! Seriously, they are absolutely TERRIBLE. On top of this they want to charge monthly fees for my son's student savings account! We are switching to a local bank as soon as possible.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

fnbsucks's Profile Image

fnbsucks reviewed First National Bank

Aug 27th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

FNB First National Bank just a rude unprofessional bank

Been a member since it was Parkvale but they got bought out by First Nation Bank. So I wrote a check for $40 co-pay , same day went and deposited a money order for $30 thru the ATM thinking no big deal. Next day the check hit and they charged me $37 NSF fee because even though I made the deposit and it was on the ledger , it was thru the ATM and said it wouldn't be available until midnight the next day. Really? This little rediculous transaction is now costing them 4 customers. My father already dropped them awhile ago and I know they don't care but SAVE YOURSELF THE HASSLE and get with a good credit union or a more personal and friendly bank like Slovenian Savings and Loan. Yes the same day......

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Madashell002's Profile Image

Madashell002 reviewed Bank of America

Aug 27th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Lousy banking system

This bank needs to care a little more about his customers who are paying their salaries.When they make a mistake, admitted and corrected in a reasonable time and manner.I made a payment to this bank, they did not credited to my account, went back to the bank with the receipt, they said that it got corrected,that I would receive a new statement. The only result was that they cancel my credit line and did not credit me anything for the payment I had made. This is definitely the shittiest excuse for a bank I have ever seen.Should have been left out to die for the way they treat customers.UNSAFE AT ANY SPEED.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

NotHappywPNC's Profile Image

NotHappywPNC reviewed PNC Bank

Aug 27th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Incompetent, & Worst Customer(??) Service EVER!! Don't do it

This is the most incompetent bank I have ever had the displeasure of HAVING to work with, ever! Everyone (that is when you can finally reach an individual) either claims some BS reason that a 2 year old could see though or claims they CAN'T. Can't tell you what has been done, can't release a copy of a Release of Lien to the Homeowner, can't place a tracking number on a letter: why, can't tell you.

Really, a copy of a document to be recorded, afraid that it might be recorded twice? Harm if done - none!!!! Tracking number on a USPS envelope a $1.00. Can't tell you what the status is on your request; notes are NOT complete....?????

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

gm_awas's Profile Image

gm_awas reviewed PNC Bank

Aug 27th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

PNC bank - Plz Train /Educate your reps and improve service.

I called PNC bank customer service number today with reference to a letter I got in my mail. After a long wait, finally I got hold of banking consultant to talk.

Consultant wasn't able to explain why he can't provide me the A/c information I was asking about an bank service charges, after-all he had done the account verification already.

After few min of argument, he told me to talk to the supervisor. And guess what, he put me back to original customer service queue. I waited for few min, realized its not worth and disconnected.

Thought, rather go to the branch and have fix.

Anyway I don't use PNC bank account and best to have it closed.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

handsomecowboy's Profile Image

handsomecowboy reviewed Bank of Colorado

Aug 26th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

if only I could give 0 stars...

in a nut shell: alarmingly unreliable! There are several miserable experiences with this bank that have led to me closing my account. Each incidence individually is maybe forgivable, but after only having the account for 3 months, I am tired of making phone calls to fix their mistakes. Many of my complaints are in regards to the entire company, but their faults extend through the branches as well.

While everyone at this branch is very friendly, the 3 people that I interacted with were incompetent. After opening a new account, it took almost a month to receive my debit card. Every time I called the bank about it (which they recommended doing when I opened it), they gave me a different excuse about the reason it had not delivered. One person finally admitted that the request for a debit car had not been submitted until a week and a half after my account was opened.

On a corporate level: the e-statements take extensive loading time and may not load at all. Their online banking is not user-friendly. Changing my address with the bank requires the branch personnel to again submit my information to their national company. It takes at least 3 days. Once the bank determined I could be the subject of a card fraud, they decided to send me a new card. I received a message that my old card would become inactive by a certain date but my new card would have been sent a week before then. That date has come and gone, and while my old card is now inactive, I have yet to receive my new card. Yet again, they have left me with no way to withdraw money outside of their limited banking hours. I called the contact 877 number and tried every route to talk to someone. Each time I was transferred to an extension that was not answered and had a recorded message saying that the mailbox for that extension was full.

There are so many problems with this bank that after only three months with them, I closed my account.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

tfield's Profile Image

tfield reviewed Wells Fargo

Aug 26th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

What happened to customer service?

I went into the branch which I never do but I needed to put money in my son's account. I waited while the teller told the person she was waiting on that she would find him $110.00 is $5 bills. When he had waited long enough he said it's ok I have to go open my store and her response was " I told you I would get you the 5s and I will". After she finish with him it was my turn with the best customer care rep. I explained what I needed and she said "well we don't look up account numbers for you. Ok well I know the rules have changed so whatever. I said ok well I will call him. While on the phone she asked me to start the withdrawal process so I asked if she would right down the account number when my son gave it to me and she said "um no". I told my son to start over because they were too helpful and she rolls her eyes and says "I am very helpful actually". I told her I could tell and just do her job so that I could move on with my day. I have been in this branch before and they were great but it looks like everyone is newer. I thought that kind of service only came from Bank of America. I worked as a teller and would have NEVER done this.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

slb27va's Profile Image

slb27va reviewed PNC Bank

Aug 26th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Totally Incompetent with too many fees

We have a loan to pay off balance on a car that came off of a lease 2/13. Has been a disaster from day 1. They completely botched the paperwork for the loan. We had to go in to a branch multiple times to resign documents. They were incapable of obtaining the title from the leasing company. We set up a checking account with them to have the monthly payment deducted automatically to obtain a lower interest rate. They could not get the automatic payment to work for about three months. The fees they charge are ridiculous. They are charging $9 a month for a checking account where they do absolutely nothing. There is one deposit and one automatic transfer per month. The final straw is that I deposited funds to cover a payment, they didn't post it in time before the automatic payment for the loan and they have charged me a $36 overdraft fee. They basically screw up simple banking transactions and charge ridiculous fees. If you have any other banking choice then I would stay as far away from PNC as possible.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

wabPDX54's Profile Image

wabPDX54 reviewed First Citizens Bank

Aug 26th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Best Relationship I've Ever Had with a Bank!

I started banking with First Citizens about 4 years ago, as they offered free checking accounts to employees of my previous job. From the moment I opened my account at their Lake Oswego branch, I have had the best customer service I could ever ask for. They go above and beyond to make sure that you and your money is taken care of. Each employee who has helped me has listened and gone out of their way to ensure the correct solutions are found and implemented. It's funny to say, but this bank is like a family to me. I know that my money and accounts will be taken care of with every bit of decency and care that is possible.

The Lake Oswego branch is fantastic, and the downtown Portland one is great too. And I would like to mention Glenda Magistrale, who works tirelessly to make sure that my accounts are taken care of and that I receive the best service possible.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates