Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

rmiller's Profile Image

5 out of 5 marks

Customer Service is amazing

Banking with Community Bank & Trust is incredible. You walk in they know your name. They often know your whole family. True hometown banking. They support the community in many ways and I have always enjoyed my experience with the bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Poncholv's Profile Image

Poncholv reviewed Regions Bank

Apr 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible, horrible bank

Overdrew my account by 50$, got a 72$ late fee, I understand, it's my fault and thats standard. Sadly since I'm a server and have a 14 month old baby boy, I called my mom to bail me out. She wirelessly sent 150$ to get my account out of negative. It was the first time we did this, so our banks needed to verify the security of the transfer, so they first deposited 15 cents, and then 50 cents, I had to correctly confirm what was deposited in order for the transfer to happen. After being approved, i still had negative account. Regions charged me two more additional overdraft charges because of when my moms bank took back the 15 and 50 cents deposited to insure security by both banks! So I was charged another 72$ Making it a total of -192$ In my account.. 148$ of that being fees. my mom had only sent 150$. I tried calling many times, talked to two supervisors, even went personally into two Regions branches. Every single Regions said it wasn't a bank error on their part, so they won't refund it. I just can't believe how terrible this bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

tnnntjhn's Profile Image

tnnntjhn reviewed BB&T

Apr 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Deceptive Loan Practices

Do not do business with this bank. They tried to reduce 100% verified income by 50%, which is illegal per the FTC under the mortgage discrimination laws (complaint was filed). Then they kept trying to add back in student loans that were consolidated, even after I communicated several times that these loans had been conolidated. There is little to no communications or call backs, the underwriting process is weak and deceptive and seems to rely on illegal practices. They then tried to push me into a high fee point loan which would have required high out of pocket costs after selling me on another product that I would have easily qualified for if they would have underwrote the loan correctly.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

JeanneBortolini's Profile Image

JeanneBortolini reviewed Bank of America

Apr 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst credit card ever-Spirit Airlines Bank of America card!

Received a statement February, 2014. Called, canceled credit card. More statements, same annual fee, but now with interest charges. Contacted customer service at phone number on statement-on hold 75 minutes, gave up. Chatted on line with Peter. He was unable to help. His supervisor- unable to help. Called again, talked to Ray. He was rude and condescending. He informed me that had I canceled the card on 2/6 instead of 2/16 I would not have been charged. It didn't matter that I closed the account, I still had to pay the fee, and the account is now "past due". He said that I was wrong to think that I could just contact customer service and they would resolve my problem. He also said that it didn't matter who I spoke to within the entire Bank of America Corporation, no one would help me out. This is exactly what transpired, all of it is true and per my experience I would have no further dealings with them in the future and plan to dispute these charges.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Suntanner's Profile Image

Suntanner reviewed KeyBank

Apr 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Keystone bankers

I opened a checking account online with $50 initial deposit from another bank. A week later, they closed my account without any notification. I called and Carol, who is in charge of my online account told me there was a problem with the initial deposit. She can't tell me if I had entered the wrong account information, so I have no idea if it was my fault, my bank's fault, or Key. She told me to just go ahead and open another account. I did and funded it with my credit card instead. A week later, they closed my account again without any notification. I called and was told that I had a negative relationship due to the earlier initial deposit problem so they closed my account. Why didn't they give me a chance to remedy the first problem before they close my account, or let me know about the negative relationship issue so I can remedy it before applying the second time? Very frustrating.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jmcdonald's Profile Image

jmcdonald reviewed Investors Bank

Apr 17th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Never ever do a mortgage with this company

I have to say this was the worst company for doing a mortgage through. They are sloppy, disorganized and the process has taken forever. It took months to notify us of any changes and despite submitting your paperwork in a timely manner they do not respond unless you ask for a status update. When they do they are constantly asking for additional information that they should have asked for in the beginning and after submitting multiple other documents. I will never recommend this company after my experience there

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Ursula's Profile Image

Ursula reviewed BB&T

Apr 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Lost a 15 year client over $10.00.

If I was you I would never bank at BBT. EVER!!!! I am a 15 year account holder that will be closing my account over a $10.00 fee that they charged and stated that while it was not charged correctly they will not refund it.... Spread the word!!! (Share if you would like!)

#â??BBTâ?¬ â?ª#â??BADCUSTOMERSERVICEâ?¬ â?ª#â??BADBANKâ?¬ â?ª#â??BBTSUCKSâ?¬

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Drivenj26's Profile Image

Drivenj26 reviewed BBVA Compass Bank

Apr 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

NEVER AGAIN

I will never again do business with BBVA Compass bank. Since I took this car loan out in December of 2012 I have had nothing but issues with paying off this loan. I plan on refinancing with another bank as soon as possible. Every month I call is there is something wrong with my account. They either charge me late fees when my payment isn't late, say I am months behind when I have paid on time every month, say I have already been paid months ahead when I haven't, the list goes on and on. There are multiple different departments handling multiple different responsibilities. You can't just call one customer service number to have you name change, make a payment, or ask for pay off. You have to be transferred each time and each time you are transferred you are transferred to an employee that seems to know less and less about what they are doing.I thought I finally had someone straighten out this loan last month come to find out this month it was not. Every month I am given different information as to what is owed and what needs to be paid when. Heaven forbid you transfer insurance companies in the middle of the loan or you will be charged for their insurance and getting someone who knows what they are doing to add the correct insurance is impossible as well. Getting to speak to a manager is also impossible and I have been told many times "they will call you back" and never receive a phone call. Their customer service department is unprofessional and not knowledgeable at all and dealing with them month after month is nothing but a headache. I would just go to the bank every month, but the closest one is 300 miles away. BUYER BEWARE. Even if they have a low interest rate, this bank is not worth the headache and hour + time on the phone every month dealing with. By far the most horrible loan/banking experience I have ever dealt with.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

CoreyRamsey's Profile Image

CoreyRamsey reviewed Wells Fargo

Apr 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Fee for this, charge for that!

I find charging my bank account every month a joke!!! And on top of that ,you charge when I transfer my money to other accounts , not associated with "Wells Fargo". Then when it comes to my account number; I have to either call or luckily have an old statement with an account number on it, to get my account number. For some reason after all the security I go through signing on, I can't see my full account number ... I needed it to set up a payment, because if I tried to send it out that day using your bill pay, you charge a fee!!!! It's insane!!!! Navy federal is my other bank, and I've been out of the military for over two years now. I still have it because having Wells Fargo ( only because I have a school loan still) is a pain in my butt. And for some reason my tax lady sent my taxes to that account. Navy federal doesn't charge me for having an account, I can see my full account number!!!...they don't charge me for fruitless bill pay payments being sent out that day, either. Anyway, thanks for making life more trouble some than it should be!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Sandhu's Profile Image

Sandhu reviewed Bank of America

Apr 16th 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Very rude employee Mr. Alex

I walked to merchant window without knowing that it closes at 4pm . Me Alex told me get into regular line very rudely as I have made a very big mistake. I hope he will learn to talk to customers better. My teller was very nice.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0