Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

getsetgosell's Profile Image

getsetgosell reviewed U.S. Bank

Aug 28th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Unwilling to offer decent customer service

Have never had an overdraft before but us bank is completely unwilling to offer decent customer service and refund the $25 fee over being $1.56 overdrawn. Of course they only allow $50+ transfers into the account which I couldn't so. Therefore a single mom with two jobs would need to travel across town to deposit $2 and got smacked with a huge fee for not doing so. They seem to set things up to make it difficult to manage your account which gives them excuses to charge, and refuse to waive, fees. Avoid US Bank!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

hbmarie1005's Profile Image

hbmarie1005 reviewed Wells Fargo

Aug 28th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

started out great

At first this was my secondary bank, I didn't even mind that they transferred a dollar to my savings every time I used my debt card (which is in my opinion another way banks try to get you to go into the negative) but this month they without warning changed the rules on my checking account and charged me 10$ for the privilege of banking with them. They would only refund 25% of it and none to my boyfriend's account (also all of the money in his savings magically disappeared and customer service can't tell him why) not to mention a fifty dollar purchase that did a magical disappearing reappearing act on my checking, so, so long wells fargo, switched to a no monthly fee account unti I find a decent bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Patricia's Profile Image

Patricia reviewed Dollar Bank

Aug 28th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Customer service

I have been banking with Dollar Bank in Brentwood for a long time; I have always had a good experience there with their customer service people, especially Fiore. The office personnel are friendly and knowledgeable. A few

years ago I had an emergency need to purchase a new (new used) car, and

their services were excellent.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

UnhappywithHunting's Profile Image

UnhappywithHunting reviewed Huntington

Aug 28th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

NON ATM FEES, ATM, & DEBITS-NOT HAPPY AT ALL

We were switched to Huntington after our Local Smaller Bank closed, all of our accounts went to Huntington (we were not given any other options/bank choices).

- Huntington DOES NOT list/show "ACTUAL DATE" of ATM or Debit transactions when posted online or on statements as written in your register to match up easily. -They DO NOT post any non atm fees untill the end of each month & They do not include any way to match up non atm fee(s) with non ATM transaction(s); (FEES: they add them all together and post at the end of the month in one lump sum-no # to match with transaction it pertains to). They need to post all fees with non atm transactions when they are done(not at the end of the month) & with a number that matches the transaction it goes with, showing/list the "actual date" of when all ATM or DEBIT transaction(s) were done on WITH their posting date (which can be sometimes days apart depending on when transaction was done on-like on a weekend..). If a little bank like we once had could do all of this, Why can't/doesn't a bigger bank like Huntington? WHAT ARE THEY HIDING? THEY TAKING $ WE DON'T KNOW ABOUT? HOW CAN YOU TELL IF YOU CAN'T MATCH UP ACTUAL (TRANSACTION) DATE written in your register with theirs, &/or FEE # WITH TRANSACTION IT GOES WITH? ARE THEY DELIBERATELY TRYING TO MAKE FOLKS SCREW UP SO THEY (Huntington) GET OVERDRAFT $ CHARGES?

OVER ALL-WE HATE HUNTINGTON BANK-WISHED WE'D HAVE HAD A CHOICE IN THIS SWITCH-NEVER WOULD HAVE GONE HERE.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

DeLinda's Profile Image

DeLinda reviewed International Bank (Raton, NM)

Aug 28th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Consumers Beware!

I question this banks actions and think they may be committing fraud. I found out that the Manager in Angel Fire, (Kevin) holds checks for customers he has personal relationships with instead of running the checks thru on the day the bank receives them he has worked out a deal for certain customers that he will hold them for a few days until the customers accounts will clear the checks. I don't know about you, but, when I am given a check from someone and deposit it my bank for use of the funds....I expect that check to be deposited immediately, not five days later due to an internal agreement between manager and customer.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

billie05's Profile Image

5 out of 5 marks

great bank and branch

I use the branch in Corinth,ny the women are awesome in there. always smiling and very helpful. They are always make your day better. I have no fees no my accounts and have no problem with online banking.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

billie05's Profile Image

billie05 reviewed Wells Fargo

Aug 28th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

repo

we have had unusual circumstances lately. I have third stage cancer and been in and out of hospital. we owed 3000.00 on our car and they would not work with us to get it paid off. we mailed them two checks for it being three payments behind. they refused to cash the checks. they said all three had to be paid. they came and got the car. what kind of place does business like this

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

gogo828's Profile Image

gogo828 reviewed Citizens Bank

Aug 27th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Malden Center branch

I went in with my son who is just 6 years old for cashing two checks. My son suddenly wanted to pee. He always holds his pee to the point he can not control any more. I asked for permission let him to use bathroom. I was told that they do not have public bathroom. First, I think we are customers and in fact I did pay seven dollars for cashing each check. Second, for little kids or older folks, Bath room accident happen often. I do think they should make this as an exception.

In the end we had to rush across the street used bath room in a tea shop.

I only hope they could be little more friendly to their customer.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jrc's Profile Image

jrc reviewed Santander Bank

Aug 27th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Steer clear of Santander

My wife and I engaged several banks and found Santander's rates and process suitable for our dream home project. We felt comfortable with the terms and began the application process. Shortly after, we submitted an AIA doc to outline the costs of the build and a preliminary set of drawings for the appraisal process. We were told by the loan officer that the docs would be suitable for the appraisal, since we were still making selections. Several days later, I began getting calls from the appraiser asking for the same docs. Apparently, he never got the correct pages from our LO. This was the first of many issues we would have with Jeff Smith, our loan officer. The appraiser had also asked for more granular information on materials to be used. We did not have all of our selections made, so he was given instructions to contact the GC for further clarification. This, he would never do. In the end, it would also not matter because the appraiser stated that any further details would not sway his appraised value. The appraisal came back $150,000 less than the construction cost; the entire basis for the appraised value was "data" used to identify comps in the area. This becomes a peculiar and interesting word, one I would hear later from our less than capable loan officer. It is also important to note that in construction loans, the appraisers are not assigned through the lottery process. Herein lies the rub - Santander and this appraiser are well acquainted with each other. In fact, the banks supply this "data" to appraisers, which often includes only the lower 20-30% of the comparable sales. This term is called FRAFing. It is a tool utilized by banks to purposefully devalue homes in order to generate mortgage buy backs. While we cannot definitively say this was Santander's goal with our loan, we certainly we're not willing to stick around to find out. Our gut feeling was that something was very wrong and decided to take our business elsewhere.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

anonymous101's Profile Image

anonymous101 reviewed BB&T

Aug 27th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

They are thieves. Plain and simple.

I enrolled in the overdraft protection and a utility bill came out 4 days before its typical date which would overdrafted my account. BB&T not only ignored my overdraft protection, they said they would not reverse and proceeded to charge 3 more overdraft fees of 36 dollars a piece for items ranging from 2 dollars-5 dollars. I really don't understand how a bank is being allowed to make HUNDREDS OF THOUSANDS by out right stealing from their clients. (former, if they ever allow me to close the account)

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates