Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

deveau's Profile Image

deveau reviewed FirstMerit Bank

Sep 23rd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Poor customer service.

No one calls back. They don't follow through and do what they say they are going to do. I'm out. Switching my direct deposit to a bank that has time for the little guy.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ajitesh1982's Profile Image

ajitesh1982 reviewed Bank of America

Sep 23rd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Opening a New Account

I am a very very frustrated. I have been to this branch twice in two consecutive days, and still no one was able to help me out in opening an account. Joseph, who is the Personal Banker, at this branch was really rude. He was at the teller station today and even though I told him I have been here twice already, he didn't go 'beyond' to help me out. I had to walk out frustrated. Just to let you know, Bank of America lot a very goo customer just because of Joseph, and I hope some action can be taken. Not even worth a single star, but I am forced to select that as I willnot be able to post this comment.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

lmarsh's Profile Image

lmarsh reviewed Wells Fargo

Sep 23rd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Awful Customer Service

One minute no charge for something next minute it is, like right now i am sitting on the phone waiting on someone to answer the phone at the 240 p'tree st branch. No one is picking up at a branch!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

sammig's Profile Image

sammig reviewed Chase

Sep 23rd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Transfer From One Account To Another Account Not Credited

What a horrible "bait and switch" scam this bank conducts. I transferred money from one account to another to cover checks, and it showed online as having been moved. It was not actually moved until 3 days later, i had no way of knowing this as it showed online. Consequently, they charged 2 charges of $34 for insufficient funds! I am a private client customer as well as a business customer. I would discourage anyone from moving accounts here. Bank of america is starting to look good in comparison.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

anakata's Profile Image

anakata reviewed UMB Bank

Sep 23rd 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Excellent

Excellent bank and customer service

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

DoctorDonna's Profile Image

DoctorDonna reviewed Huntington

Sep 22nd 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Honestly

I have banked at local credit unions, Chase, KeyBank, and 5/3rd. Huntington is by far the best bank and the one I've stayed the longest with (4years now). I feel like at only 24, I understand how banking and finances work much better than most of the population. First of all, banks are there to make money. I can't fault them for them, they are a business after all, but banks can still do the right thing and help out customers as much as they can.

From my personal experience with the banks I've been with, Huntington makes it the easiest to not get fees. With Chase if my account went negative (transaction was pending), even for a minute during the day, I would get hit with overdrafts, even if I made my account positive that same day. That's one thing I love with Huntington, there is their 24hr grace. I basically get text alerts when my account is eligible (once my transaction that caused me to go negative posts) and I have until the end of that business day to make it positive.

From the reviews I read, I feel like a genius that I get that principle. As a broke grad student that works full-time, I'm glad to have that extra time. Thank you Huntington for being such a great bank to me!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

AvoidKeyBank's Profile Image

AvoidKeyBank reviewed KeyBank

Sep 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible Bank

I have 3 local accounts and have decided to close my Key Bank account and just have 2 accounts now; as both of those banks are excellent and I've been with each for many years. Without getting into details and wasting any more time with key bank; I'll just advice people against Key Bank and leave it at that.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

lillylove's Profile Image

lillylove reviewed Huntington

Sep 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Beware Of 24 Hour Grace

After being with Huntington for 18 months i was assessed a fee for something when it should have been put into 24 hour grace. I will not get into the overly complicated bs excuse i was given as to why it was not covered (he lied through his teeth i have the records to prove it), but long story short, it is up to their discretion as to whether or not something is covered.

Meaning you do not automatically get 24 hour grace if something bounces, even if that is what they told you when you enrolled. Once i found this out i pulled out all of my receipts and records and found i have been assessed more than $500 in fees over the last 18 months*. I've filed complaints with everyone who will listen and am in the process of filing suit. Run far, far away from this bank.

Also, every time i have had to go into the bank, it doesn't matter the branch or the reason, they are slow and rude. Need to make a withdraw? Plan on waiting 20 minutes. *so much for asterisk free checking.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

hjb101's Profile Image

hjb101 reviewed Independent Bank

Sep 22nd 2014

5 out of 5 marks

No problems.

I have been using Independent Bank since 1999, when we got our mortgage. We have checking and savings there with no problems in all this time.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

astrobl510's Profile Image

astrobl510 reviewed Bank of America

Sep 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Actually No Stars -- They Are Inheritance Thieves

I have been trying for over 1 year to sort out my father's estate. I keep getting the run around from the ira, cd and estates depts at b or a. I provide them with every document they ask for to close my parent's accounts and i am still waiting for the money. In fact, i requested that my father's trust account be closed and the funds split evenly between my brother and i as set forth in the text of his trust and the family trust.

All documents were sent to the bank multiple times. David [REDACDTED], a so-called supervisor with B of A and a complete moron, had the check issued in the name of my father's trust. Now i have a worthless cashier's check drawn on b of a that no bank including b of a will cash. Effectively they have converted an account i couldn't access to into a worthless piece of toilet paper that i can not cash. I have had numerous branches and even a bmo harris banker call them for a solution and they can't come up with a simple solution for me. I am supposed to try and re-open my father's trust (he is dead and i am not him) then i am supposed to have my brother come to illinois from pennsylvania to open a family trust account at b of a so i can cash their check and distribute the funds then close the account.

Apparently my brother is supposed to travel 1000 miles at his expense because they have to see him sign the documents in person. How dysfunctional is that? According to my father's trust and the family trust the money should go directly to us but no one at the bank can read. I am fed up. No one should consider putting their money in this bank or doing any other sort of business with them. The bank sucks and is full of rude, obnoxious, incompetent thieves. My parents must be rolling in their graves knowing that the little bit of money they saved hasn't been given to their children. No wonder they are paying exorbitant fines to the gov't. Apparently they need mine family's money to come up to scratch.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates