Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

Bka's Profile Image

Bka reviewed Citibank

Oct 2nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Citi Business online banking sucks

I have a Citi Business account as well as a personal account. I am okay with the personal account, but the business account's online banking experience is horrible.

For example, I wanted to set up email alerts for low balances and incoming wires, etc. I had to submit each type of alert individually: select an alert, click 'submit', being sent to a new web page, select the account, select the kind of alert (email or text message), click "add alert", and then do it all over again for the next alert! There are 20 different alerts to set up. I have better things to do than deal with this horrible, clumsy web design and bad functionality. This is soooo user-unfriendly. And that is just one example.

The best part is, that once the email alerts were set up and I started receiving them, the alert email messages were completely blank!! It's unsettling to receive an alert message from your bank that doesn't contain anything. So I called their online support, and eventually spoke to a level 2 technician. He said that the email message will always be blank if you view it through Outlook or another mail program. In order to see the content, you would have to view it through a web browser (logging in to gmail, yahoo, etc.).

That means if I am on a mobile phone, I can't use the email application to view the alert, but I would have to open the web browser, then go to, let's say, gmail, log into gmail with my password (that I don't want to memorize because that's why I use the email application that comes with the phone or computer) and then I would be able to view the alert email there. I mean, come on! Talking about making it easy for the customer… This is so frustrating. And the rep said they will look into it but couldn't guarantee that anything will change. I asked for a reference number so I could follow up. Nope. They don't have reference numbers. While the rep was friendly, I could tell that my call would not result in any action at Citi Business.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

lgal61889's Profile Image

lgal61889 reviewed National Penn

Oct 2nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Inconvenient

National Penn has the worst, most inconvenient banking hours imaginable. Opens at 9:00am and closes at 4:00pm? That must be a nice, relaxing workday for the incompetent buffoons that work there, but for the rest of the world it's just ridiculous.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

OlgaSays's Profile Image

OlgaSays reviewed Comerica Bank

Oct 1st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

My Debit Card closed for no reason

I have a US Direct Express Debit Card with the Coamerica Bank which is where my Social Security checks were direct-deposited. All of a sudden I found out that it was canceled, and done so without my knowledge or authorization. I was unable to use it while doing grocery shopping. I bet that everyone in line was thinking that I don't pay my bills when the cashier announced, "Denied". Very embarrassing. Now I am unable to buy groceries, medications, pay my rent or bills including one upcoming medical bill or make ATM withdrawals with this card. I am at a risk of being evicted for non-payment of rent, and my credit report will suffer. I have NOT requested or otherwise authorized the card cancellation.

Customer service at this bank is practically non-existent, as all they do is read a script at 40 mph without listening to the other side. No monthly statements are available. No questions answered. My card was NOT compromised and was in a good standing, still good until the next year.

All the complaints fall on deaf ears. Texas Department of Banking re-routed me back to Comerica Bank lol. BBB asked what resolution I want. I want the bank to be unable to close my card ever again, but alas, it's not happening. So I am back to square one. Comerica Bank is holding my funds hostage, as far as I am concerned.

To add insult to injury, Comerica Bank grants only one card replacement that is free. As of now, it appears that this one is being used up as I will hopefully receive a new card in some future. If the above scenario happens again, I will be charged for the card replacement. The $$ fee multiplied by a vast number of users = a nice boost to the bank's revenue. Done at the expense of the aging baby boomers now on Social Security.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

1chiro's Profile Image

1chiro reviewed Zions Bank

Oct 1st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

After 35 Years..

I have had both my personal and business accounts with Zions Bank for the past 35 years. I have run millions of dollars through this bank only to be 'run over' with a ton of fees and poor service. Once we return from our mission, it is good-by forever. Check out Community Credit Union or Mountain America. Before we left on our mission, we set up accounts at both institutions. They were wonderful. Both of them have fine-tuned their customer service.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mugridge's Profile Image

mugridge reviewed Wells Fargo

Sep 30th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Bank Not Doing Their Job

Since i know this will not be posted i will just say what happened for me. I went to the bank with a check that i was not sure of. I asked the teller to check on the check to make sure that the check was in fact a good check. I know that the bank has a number that they can call to see if any other fraud movement has been received on an account. The teller i found out later did not do a check so i asked but rather waited a few moments and and tell me that the check was fine and would clear.

The next day again before i would take any money i asked again if they had in fact contacted the bank fraud department. That teller said let me check on that for you. After more than 2 1/2 hours shr found out that the check was in fact not been checked on and was a bad check that had been written before for 400. 00 to pay someone rent.

Even though i asked for this to be checked on before being deposited i was charged 12. 00 unpaid check fee, 12. 50 overdraft fee, and 11. 00 taken for my savings. I i had 14. 99 in my account 10. 00 to cover the monthly fees. The 11. 00 they used to cover part of the 12. 50 and 12. 00 and then took the rest from a 19. 75 direct deposit that was made from an employer. The account is being closed and i am being called a scammer for something i brought to the banks attention. All this because the bank does not want to admit that they made a mistake.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

debra's Profile Image

debra reviewed Bank of America

Sep 30th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Do Not Bank Here!

I have had an account with this bank for several years. I recently deposited a va check from my husband's death. They not only messed up the deposit but claimed they were sending the check back to me in the form of a bank draft in 7-10 days because the atm couldn't read it. They couldn't read i guess. It overdrew my account and all they could do was hand me their business cards and say i'm sorry.

I will never do business with them again and i want everyone to know dont bank with them especially n. Monroe branch in tallahassee florida. No i will have my power turned off tomorrow and no insurance thanks to them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Pastcustomer's Profile Image

Pastcustomer reviewed Bank of America

Sep 29th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Run Away!

I am a cpa and my wife is a lawyer. We both are very aware of bank products and services. We were recently treated to a series of customers service experiences that were so bad, they should have been comical. We had a minor problem (closing a deposit box) that required several branch visits, calls to operations areas, finally complaints to the cfpb. Throughout the experience, we never received a return phone call from any boa employees.

When we finally took an afternoon off to park ourselves in the branch to attempt to resolve the issue, the branch manager spent 45 minutes reciting conflicting procedures and finally sent us away without help. It still continued, with his manager to call us, which also never happened. All the while, fees were continuing to assess for a service we were not using. Still waiting for anybody to return dozens of phones calls and help us understand why this was such an ordeal and why we had to pay fees for a service we were trying to terminate.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

louisat's Profile Image

louisat reviewed TD Bank

Sep 29th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Excellent Customer Service

The level of service at this bank exceeds my expectations. David, in particular is courteous, friendly, professional and always goes the extra step in assuring that my banking needs are addressed.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mpowers's Profile Image

mpowers reviewed Wells Fargo

Sep 29th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Stay Away From Wells Fargo

I've had an extremely frustrating experience w WF. My brother passed away in june & i've been handling his estate. Even though i informed wf of this, they "winterized" the home the 2nd week of september! They claim it was because 2-3 months of payments had not been received (after years of no late payments). While they fall back on federal law giving them this "right," why could they not have reached out to at least the attorney of record for the estate prior to taking this action?

Sounds too logical to me. When i asked them what "winterization" consisted of, because we obviously needed to reverse the process since the sale of the house was imminent, they promised the appropriate department would be in contact. Still no contact with the closing scheduled for tomorrow. Based upon my experience, i would strongly recommend staying far away from wells fargo. I can't recall when i've been this frustrated.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MDO8578's Profile Image

MDO8578 reviewed PNC Bank

Sep 29th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Extremely Friendly And Helpful

Awesome people to help you with your personal and business banking! Hands down best branch to go to helpful knowledgeable people.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates