Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

nyerod1212's Profile Image

nyerod1212 reviewed Citizens Bank

Jul 23rd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

THEY HIRE PEOPLE OFF THE STREETS ,NO EDUCATION!!!!

Do not go to the citizens bank on panorama trail in Rochester 14625. They have workers there that have absolutely no education what so ever. No ged, no high school diploma and defintely no college. I have proof. I went in there to open an account and this girl gave me her card. Her name is Sara Mason.She told me that she just started not to long ago cause i was talking about my daughter needing a job. Sara told me that she has no ged or high school diploma. She went to a school called Bryant and Stranton for like 4 months and it was a school that you can work on your ged and trade. But she told me that she only went there for a few months and had them write her a resume which probably lied. I dont know but she said she got hired. Now i dont know about you guys but when it comes to my money i want it in good hands, and someone who has no education what so ever is in the bank that you probably have your account in. i was so pissed when i found that out i left. I will never open an account there now.. I have family in this bank and i am telling them about this situation and who ever else cause thats not right.I think other peoples identity and money is in jeopardy.PLEASE PEOPLE BE CAREFUL. YOUR WHOLE LIFE IS BASICALLY HANDLED BY JUST ANYONE OFF THE STREETS....

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

buckslady's Profile Image

buckslady reviewed National Penn

Jul 23rd 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Good, Consistent Service

I opened a free checking account with this branch in February 2012. Just this year, the free checking was done away with and I had to make a decision about what to do with my account. Because my account is small, the requirement to maintain a minimum balance would not work for me. They were able to use the balance in a joint account with my husband as a balance basis for the new account I was switched into. This was a huge help, although I would still rather have the simple, free checking account.

This branch, as well as all the others I have visited, have always maintained a consistently excellent service mentality in all my (our) transactions. We appreciate the efforts they take to do this.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

krzysg7's Profile Image

krzysg7 reviewed mBank

Jul 23rd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

No a bank to deal with

I have sent only small amount of funds from UK's bank with PLN currency account to another bank in Poland that has also PLN currency account and mBank happen to be the intermediate bank. They deducted 10 x the amount what other banks do for similar transaction although there was no currency exchange.

Stay away from this bank. Always ask if mBank will be involved in the funds transfer and if so just walk away. I spoke to the bank. You cannot lodge a complaint with them via email. You have to write a paper letter and post it to given buy them address as it was done in 20th century. I did that and there was no reply. They just hide and keep your money. Once again - stay away from this bank!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

wasabia13's Profile Image

wasabia13 reviewed Suntrust Bank

Jul 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

idiots

I deposited a check and the bank let it go they issued the funds I did not realize I had been part. Of a scam so they put money in account then took it back and at same time froze my account thinking I purposely done this they are closing my account even though my wife has her social security and I have my payroll check its going to mess us up financially

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mgehring's Profile Image

mgehring reviewed Old National Bank

Jul 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Just Another Greedy Bank

Their policies on clearing checks is ridiculous and archaic. When they bounce an item they still take the money out of your account and don't give it back until the next day so that they can bounce more items. When they do clear items, they clear them largest amount to smallest "because they think the larger items are the most important items", even if the large items bounce and all the smaller items could clear.

In my opinion, the very least that they could do better is, if you're not going to pay an item, don't take the money. If you're going to take the money, pay the item. It's that simple.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mhyatt7's Profile Image

mhyatt7 reviewed Wells Fargo

Jul 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst major bank in the US

I have had the misfortune to have to deal with Wells Fargo in New York City. Upon the passing of my parents, who held considerable assets in a local branch of the bank in New England, I became executor of their estates, and I needed to conduct business locally in Manhattan. Unlike their local banker in New England, who exhibited intelligence, competence, and compassion, Manhattan Wells Fargo bankers have been uniformly rude, uncaring, disrespectful of my time, and ill-informed about a wide range of financial matters. It is little wonder that I reduced those Wells Fargo accounts to next to nothing. There are many commercial banks in New York City. Choosing Wells Fargo means you adopt their icon, a stagecoach and horses. That symbol worked well in the late 19th century. Unfortunately, the bank's service is still mired in the past. Go elsewhere.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

filmguy9944's Profile Image

filmguy9944 reviewed Chase

Jul 22nd 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Will not lower my interest rate

I have been a loyal chase customer for 10 years and have requested a lowering of my interest rate -- which is currently at 29%. I make my payments on time and am RARELY late.. if I am late, then I pay a late FEE, which is never reversed. Point is, I have good credit and have been a paying customer for years. And this is the thanks I get? Chase, you get 1 big fat star for your loyalty ;0)

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mochamom's Profile Image

mochamom reviewed Guaranty Bank, WI

Jul 22nd 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Check Hold Hell

I've had issues with Guaranty Bank's check hold policies for several years now. I frequently find that different branches seem to follow different rules, and I've learned that the branch inside WalMart is much mire customer friendly than the other branch in West Bend, on Main Street.

Several years ago, my husband and I withdrew a cashier's check from a credit union we have an account with. We brought it to the Main Street branch to deposit it. We were told that there would be a hold on the deposit, even though it was a cashier's check. What? As a former credit union manager, the idea that there would be a hold on a cashier's check was completely foreign to me. We went to the WalMart branch and explained the situation, and the teller explained that we could simply cash the check. Why this was not an option provided to us at the other branch, I'll never know.

I have frequently, over the 10+ years I've banked with them, experienced inconsistent check hold policies. Sometimes I deposit a check and they put a hold on it, and sometimes they don't (and I'm talking about payroll type checks.) Often, one branch (Main Street) will place a hold on the deposit and WalMart will not. Very recently I deposited one of these checks (payroll) and the Main Street branch put a hold on it. Because I took some cash back from the check, a hold was placed on my account that exceeded the balance. A debit transaction came through when the hold was in place, and while it cleared, it generated a $37 overdraft fee. I went to the WalMart branch to find out why the hold was placed this time, when it wasn't when I deposited a check from the same company two weeks ago. The branch manager told me that as such a long time customer, I should be subject to these check holds at all, and that not all branches follow the same policies. I've learned my lesson and will exclusively use the WalMart branch from now on.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

rtgallagher11hotma's Profile Image

rtgallagher11hotma reviewed Bank of America

Jul 22nd 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Pretty iffy

-Weird fees

-Customer service will tell you one thibg but other agent will tell something totally different

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

arethy's Profile Image

arethy reviewed Commerce Bank

Jul 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible Service

I went there with my 89 YO mother to get her finances in order. There were 4 people in line and only 2 CS reps. We waited 45 mins to get waited on. The CS service reps were rude and didn't care if they ever waited on you. Once we finally got "waited on" the woman ignored us and I thought she fell asleep while looking at her computer without once saying anything. Just really bad service. Avoid this at all cost!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0