Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

Pikabou's Profile Image

Pikabou reviewed IBC Bank

Jul 25th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Awful branch manager

Without warning me they put my check on hold for 2 weeks!!

The branch manager was extremely rude. He told me he couldn't release the funds or part of it because I had an address in France and that he didn't know if he could trust me, even though the sender of the check was willing to confirm its validity. Unbelievable.

I am going to withdraw all my money and close the account.

This bank is a joke and the branch manager is xenophobic.

Cherry on the cake their website can't be accessed from abroad. From a bank who offers accounts to non residents. That says it all.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

gumbogaga's Profile Image

gumbogaga reviewed Wells Fargo

Jul 25th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

CAREFUL - DO NOT TRUST THIS BRANCH

Twice I have given cash to tellers, they take the money to the back and return to tell me my cash balance was less than what I had given them. First time $100 (about 5 months ago). Second time, $50.

I count my cash three times before I makes drops for my business or change from smaller to larger bills. I've used several Wells Fargo branches in the area and have never had an issue except for this particular one and it's happened twice ... Something is not right.

I voiced my concern with the manager and the tellers drawer was counted but she did not use her drawer. She went to the back to count the cash. The manager said that the teller could not have taken it because there are cameras. OK??? Let me see the video! They did not let me see video.

DO NOT USE THIS BRANCH! Something is not right. DO NOT ALLOW A TELLER TO COUNT YOUR MONEY UNLESS THEY ARE IN FRONT OF YOU!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

timb's Profile Image

timb reviewed First Midwest Bank

Jul 24th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

A Cashiers Check = CASH

I am in search of a new bank as I bank at TCF. I like the fact that TCF is open 7 days a week among other things, however, the negatives outweigh the positives, so I'm looking for a new bank. About a month ago my Girl Friend cashed a cashier's check in the lobby at this bank, which went smoothly. Several days ago she tried to cash one at the drive-through because the lobby was closed. It was a CASHIER'S check in the amount of $4000.00. The teller said she could only dispense $3000.00, deposit the remainder and pick it up the next day, fair enough, rules are rules. {which seems ridiculous, especially if you have an account at said bank} So she waited and went to the bank in question when the lobby was open after work today. Much to my astonishment she was told she could only receive $800.00 of the above aforementioned check? If the teller could dispense $800.00 of the check, why not the entire balance? Not to mention this particular document "Contains a True Watermark-Hold to the Light to View". It is also equipped with an Octagon that says " Rub here " in 3 different locations for further authentication. Personally I can' figure out what kind of scam this particular Bankster was trying to pull or if she was just plain rude, or stupid, or all the above. Remember when ATMs where supposed to make things cheaper? That was just the tip of the iceberg. Banks charge insane amounts of money for overdrafts, their pathetic excuse way back when was more or less to discipline us consumers. The removal of the Glass-Steagall Act was the last nail in the consumers coffin, thanks Bill. I guess I'm staying with TCF, just a little less evil Bankster. I could go on and on, but i'm sure a lot of folks already know this, you need $700,000,000,000 of tax payer money henry, no problem! If I could I would rate this bank a -- zero!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

meanco's Profile Image

meanco reviewed Customers Bank

Jul 24th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

The management staff is arrogant and mean.

Do not do any sort of business with this bank. They are arrogant and mean people. The customer service, their willingness to work with you to resolve issues is non existent. It is all about how much they can rip you off, take what you own and on to the next person who was stupid enough to do business when they were New Century Bank.

If you have an account with them close it. If you're not now, you will someday be sorry you ever did business with them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

nonono's Profile Image

nonono reviewed First Niagara Bank

Jul 24th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Some investment and mortgage personnel seem unprofessional

Curious about mortgage rates because I was considering buying a condo, I stopped to talk to an officer at my small branch office. I didn't know her because the staff changes constantly there but she checked my records (after speaking with her vet about her pet ) and quickly put on the phone with a "mortgage consultant" (read: salesman).

He expected me, I believe, to want his approval so much that a courteous introduction or expectation of privacy (I was in a rather public, half glassed-in cubicle) was unnecessary. He fired out his questions about IRAs, savings, salary, debt, etc., with condescending casualness.

The whole motus operendi was so rude and unprofessional that I would never consider First Niagara as a lender.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

fredfriedrick's Profile Image

fredfriedrick reviewed Wells Fargo

Jul 24th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Wells Fargo incompetent with over the top fees

I have checking, savings and brokerage accounts at wells fargo. I noticed that my online access to my checking account was not available. So any reconciliation I intended to do was impossible. The next day I tried to issues trades on the brokerage account (around 9:30am Mondday). However the brokerage link never returned a response.

I went to another institution to transfer the brokerage account to a more reliable service. Now I see a $95.00 charge for a "termination fee".

I am closing all my accounts after this.

I suggest that you reconsider doing any kind of business with Wells Fargo. If you have an account, get your money and get it to another more reliable service provider. Be careful though. Wells will gouge you if they are able. I suggest going to the bank and requesting CASH.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

FedUp304's Profile Image

FedUp304 reviewed BB&T

Jul 24th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Good riddance

We have been banking with BB&T for years in several states. Our current local branch very convenient as it's right around the corner, and that's where the positives end. Highlights of the negatives: I've had to remind tellers at least half a dozen times that I was getting cash back (presumably an honest mistake but still), I once noticed that the wrong amount was entered electronically on a deposit slip (sloppy), and one of the floor managers takes the cake. She is lazy, rude and incompetent. She refused to notarize a common document for a house closing, claiming she "wasn't authorized." We took it down the street to another bank where we have no accounts and got it notarized with no problem. She slogs around the office as if she's doing the bank a favor by being there, and if she doesn't feel like helping you, she won't. A simple request for an account confirmation letter was refused because she claimed she couldn't verify we have accounts there (Um, hello? Try looking on your computer, which is how I log into my own account!). We offered to do that and provide our ID and were dismissed with the "I'm not authorized" excuse and told our request would have to be sent to some department which would take three days and $20. So we went to another branch and received the requested letter in minutes, no questions asked, no fee charged, no b.s. Kudos to that employee, who was unfortunately an aberration from my typical BB&T experiences.

I filled in the form online to report a complaint and two weeks later have received no response. Big surprise (not).

Went into the bank today to let them know we will be using our debit card overseas, and I received a patronizing lecture from the sour-faced manager about how despite letting them know, the card could still be blocked. Whatever. It's a back up since I'm already in the process of transferring our accounts elsewhere. Oh, and they also charge outrageous fees on foreign ATM withdrawals.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

troixb's Profile Image

troixb reviewed TD Bank

Jul 23rd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Clueless and Robbed!

I'm not a TD Bank customer and after today I can definitively say I never will be. I stop at this ATM on my way to work for cash (my bank reimburses other bank's fees). Towards the end of the transaction as the machine is about to dispense my money, the screen freezes then goes black. I go inside to ask to speak with someone. I'm told to wait. I wait. There's a woman sitting at a desk not helping anyone stairing at her computer monitor. Not wanting to be late for work, I go over to speak with her. She tells me to have a seat doesn't even want to know what I need to explain to someone. Then another customer comes him from the ATM something similar happened to her. She and I start talking and I start telling customers in line what happened real loud like. Finally that gets the attention of the assistant branch manager who comes over. I finally get to tell her what happened. She doesn't know what to do and makes a few phone calls. By the end of these conversations she just asks me for my contact information. I have no idea what to do in this situation. Should they!?! I go across the street and print out MY bank ledger showing the transaction ID and that TD Bank's ATM withdrew money from my account. I walk back over to give it to them and say, "balance the machine and the cash should be off. Also, there are cameras you will clearly see no cash was dispensed" and left. About an hour or more later the branch manager calls me to say there's nothing they can do and I need to file a dispute with my bank in order for them to investigate. Lydia was her name and she was not nice, sympathetic or informed that customers are not knowledgeable to corporate bank policies but her employees should have been instaed of wasting my time today. Horrible horrible place!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

SeaShell's Profile Image

SeaShell reviewed Bank of America

Jul 23rd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

No brainers! worst Customer service/respect

I was out of city and used my Credit card once. the day after I received a call with no introduction that said Your Debit card closed Then I couldn't see my credit account online when I came back I called the bank and I was told that was for security Well who's security? mine or the potential thieve? Imagine another person used my card in another city. You Blocked me online, not to be able to see what's happening to my account while the card is still OK to be used by who ever You kidding me?? They could at least call me and check if it was me?? At the end I see a "maintenance fee" charged in my account too ,which I don't know why is that?

More over, when look at my activities on line, any time in this couple of days I used my credit card , it shows the Type as "Cash Advance" not the regular. Cash Advance from a credit card has charges!!!!!! No wonder why they never blocked the card.

I emailed the bank from the contact page within the bank account-online. They responded back to me almost in 1 week that I have to log in my account and send email from the secure page within my account / online.

Didn't I just do that?!?! so pissed off.

Contacted CEO office. no difference ...

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

LauraWiggins's Profile Image

LauraWiggins reviewed BB&T

Jul 23rd 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Rude tellers

Just wanted the branch to know that I dislike going to their location because the tellers in the drive through window always seem extremely rude. They never look happy and act like it's a pain to help you because they don't go out of their way expect what they're suppose to do. I get it, it's not part of their job, but just because it's not written in your job description doesn't mean you should turn your nose up. I'll be using other locations from now on.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0