Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

icruiser's Profile Image

icruiser reviewed Union Bank

Jul 30th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Mobile banking is less than desirable

I've been a customer of Union Bank for well over ten years and have never had a problem until now that I've decided to use their mobile app. Over a month ago I tried to use the mobile check deposit. I would get to the point where they ask for a picture of the front of the check and then I would get a message saying the connection suddenly stopped working. I tried and tried and could not get past that point. I called customer service and after much cajoling they said that the problem arose after the last update and they were working on it. I could deal with that, everybody has problems. Now, over a month later I decided to try again. Same thing. Get to the taking a picture part and it stops working. I called again and got a ridiculous runaround and when the conversation started to get very heated then I got the same excuse as last time. Yes, we're having problems but we're working on it. How long does it take for them to work on it? Methinks they need a new IT team. The only reason I would even use the app is to deposit a check and save a trip to the bank so now there's no reason to use the app at all. If you depend on mobile banking I suggest using a different bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

JodiM14's Profile Image

JodiM14 reviewed Comerica Bank

Jul 30th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Excellent

They have great customer service and are always friendly. This branch truly cares about the customer and does everything possible to ensure you are getting the best possible service.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Mudhog's Profile Image

Mudhog reviewed Santander Bank

Jul 30th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Absolutely the worst Bank... EVER!

I had closed an account with Santander Bank back in June of 2013. Apparently $34.99 was taken out of the account in August of 2013.... Again, the account was "Supposedly" Closed.... This put my account in a negative status with them. Mind you, I still have a checking account with them... (same name, address, phone #, ect..)

Now after a year... There telling me that I owe them $104.00 to satisfy the account,.... BUT !!!!!! that's not even the best part.... They have never contacted me (Mail or Phone) and have put a Black mark on my account for 5 years. Now I can not get a new account with any other bank because of this "Black Mark" with ChexSystems.

They are holding me hostage to keep me as a customer with Santander Bank....

Not to mention there outrageous fees for money that is in the account and they say it's not......

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

JACKTATER1658's Profile Image

JACKTATER1658 reviewed KeyBank

Jul 30th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

THEIVES

RUN AWAY. DO NOT use Key Bank. They will steal from you using overdraft and other made up fees. They will lie to you and preform their jobs like they don't know it. The customer service people are rude, inconsiderate and WILL threaten you with legal action once they play all their cards. Please, take my advice and use another bank, any other bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

charliegurak's Profile Image

charliegurak reviewed Wells Fargo

Jul 30th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Customer Service is HORRIBLE!

Not only was I charged $80 due to bank errors and communication errors, I was treated extremely disrespectful when I called the customer service line in order to fix these fees. My account was continually in the positive way over any charge that occurred on my account when they stated that I overdrafted. When I called they claimed that all these transactions occurred on the same day when some of them did not post until the next day. Also I have signed a waiver saying that if my account were to be negative at any point my transactions would be declined. This also has never happened. Apparently my account was positive when I used my card, but also negative to where they could charge me a fee. Obviously I closed my account and I will never bank with them again! They charge monthly fees of $10 which should be waived if you use your credit card more than 10 times in a month, but they never actually waive them. Unless you call them and complain. And that's a courtesy not a bank error. For every one out there looking to open a banking account I would stay far away from Wells Fargo!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

YokiBright's Profile Image

YokiBright reviewed New York Community Bank

Jul 30th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Lousy bank system

Signed up for automatic payment for mortgage. Called to check status but they said in process. 2 months later, not activated still. Called and they said that did not receive my mail! I faxed again and 15 days checked back but nothing happened yet. Really poor banking system!!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Cherub's Profile Image

Cherub reviewed Union Bank

Jul 30th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Would not recommend for small business

I had been banking with them for a couple of years but their services are no good. I had so many bad experiences wherein I got many charges from rip off companies. I tried to cancel and changed my ATM card but it still kept charging me. The bank said they have no control of those scams so I decided to close my account with them. They sent me a cashier's check of the remaining balance of my account that has been closed. Two months later, they sent me a letter that I owe them a big amount of money with so many charges of insufficient funds. LOL! That's exactly the point why I closed the account to avoid those rip off companies and being charged with insufficient funds! I tried accessing my account online but it also says CLOSED! This bank is just ridiculous!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

PFontanelli's Profile Image

PFontanelli reviewed M&T Bank

Jul 29th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

The worst in Customer Service

I have opened an account with Wilmington Trust but unfortunately M & T Bank took it over.

I have also opened a safe deposit Box at the Greenville Center Branch.

M & T Bank kept on charging me year to year even though I have sent them several notifications that I no longer have the use for the Box as I have moved away from DE (20 plus years ago).

I have than returned the keys (2) by certified letter which they have received on July 18, but looking at my account I was charged again on July 21. Tried several E-mail to no avail. Finally called the main line where my complaint was received less than cordially and eventually my call was transferred to the Greenville Branch. Spoke to a young lady named Gina she seemed to understand my scenario and took my telephone number and E-mail promising that Jennifer will be in touch with me later on the day, that was on the 21st and today is the 29th. And the charge is still exist.

While the charge is minimal only $30 but it is the principal and furthermore have been paying it for 20 plus years, since I have moved away from DE to MD, RI, NY and eventually FL. So it was finally time to cease these charges.

But it seems that the only way I won't be charged anymore if I close my account down and transfer all the funds to another Institution. ALAS!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

leavitt90th's Profile Image

leavitt90th reviewed U.S. Bank

Jul 29th 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Mortgage Refinancing - Slow . . .

I submitted my refinancing application in early June. Today is my 55th day in captivity. The package was submitted to the Underwriting department 14 days ago. I have not heard from them. It is sitting in somebody's inbox, and they will not tell me how long the backlog is.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Bfield's Profile Image

Bfield reviewed M&T Bank

Jul 29th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Incompetent/Runaround/Comedy of Errors

I requested a Mortgage payoff letter via fax, as directed by M&T customer service 07/17. I included all information requested of me. Name, Acct number, Pay thru day for payoff, and Address. Contacted M&T 07/18 to confirm receipt of fax request and request was confirmed. I was looking at 5 business days from that date to receive payoff letter per M&T. Contacted M&T, 07/21 to make sure we we were on track. I was told that the letter would be mailed out 07/23. I asked that the letter be faxed to me instead of mailed, and provided a fax number. Contacted M&T 7/24 as I had not received the fax. Customer Service Agent explained that I needed to fax to them my fax number. Really? Per their request, I faxed my fax number 3X's to ensure they had it. Contacted M&T 7/25 and asked where my faxed letter was. Customer Service Agent told me that I did not request a pay thru date for the pay off in my original request. Funny. It's on the original request, yet they continued to deny it. I gave the pay off date again. Contacted M&T 7/28. Customer Service Supervisor said that it had not been 5 business days. He was looking at the wrong fax request, the one from 7/24 with my fax number and not 7/17. He said he would email the department to expedite request. It's 7/29 and still no fax. Supervisor told me to email them if still no fax. I asked for an email address and they explained they cannot accept inbound emails. Hilarious. They would not transfer me to anyone in the "payoff department". Why is this so hard? $750,000 M&T. Don't you want it? Filed BBB complaint and just getting started.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0