Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

astondoc's Profile Image

astondoc reviewed Bank of the West

Apr 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

They used to be a great bank, now they just suck

I have been with Bank of the West for over 15 years, the Walnut Creek branch people are great, the Los Gatos branch is nice. The company it's self has become horrific on charges fees, ones that you have never heard of before, and arbitrary. The Santa Cruz branch even tried to charge my wife $5 to cash one of my checks.....I have been with them back when they were Central Bank, and were a nice small local bank. Now they have grown way to big, and just try to suck money out of you. Buy and spend local...I have moved all my accounts to a Local Credit Union.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

sgspearman's Profile Image

sgspearman reviewed Charter One Bank

Apr 18th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

poor customer service on payoff

So I had been generally happy with our line of credit of credit at charter one. But when we used their phone menu to order a payoff letter it was lost. When I called customer service after 8 days they said they could fax it. I said great. Then they said it will be $25 (for a fax!)

I asked to speak to a manager and explained why the late payoff letter was their error and that I expected it to be free. He said he had no way to waive the fee but said the office of the chairman would be in touch in a couple days. Someone called after 4 days but missed me. When I called them back I got no return call again for another two days. This is not what I expect in customer service - very poor.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Adevim's Profile Image

Adevim reviewed Bank of America

Apr 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Extraordinary incompetence

I wanted to set up a Payable on Death (POD) beneficiary for my checking and savings accounts. The employee helping me didn't know how to set this up, so she called her manager over to help. I filled out the forms, got their OK that it was set up correctly, and left.

One week later, I'm out of state with my family when I get a call from the bank: "Guess what, we screwed up your paperwork. You remember this section that we told you to leave blank? You should have filled that out." Ok, I say, I'll come in next weekend to fix it. I'm told, "If you don't fix it immediately with us over the phone, the BoA can run an audit and lock you out of your accounts." So now I'm relaying social security numbers to the bank manager over an unsecure phone line while pulled over at the side of a highway.

"Ok," he tells me, "It's all set."

Yeah, right. I'm taking my business elsewhere.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

quinterorock's Profile Image

quinterorock reviewed TD Bank

Apr 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Not recommended for auto loan!

I had my auto loan transferred from a local bank to TD bank after TD bank acquired the local bank. Following this, being able to track my loan was down right impossible! TD bank stated I could not access the loan online since it was a loan transfer. I had to pay in person each time! Now that I am one payment away from paying off my vehicle, they tell me over the phone (after 30 min holds between three transfers to three separate people) that I owe over 150% of my balance due to "late" fees, etc. I am requesting an itemized payoff report to include principal, interest, and other fee balances. By the way, I was told that this request has to be done via fax only! Can't request via phone or online! Why doesn't TD bank do their employees a favor and close on weekends (especially on Sundays) since they really don' t offer any other benefits!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

donttrustthehelp's Profile Image

donttrustthehelp reviewed TD Bank

Apr 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Employees At TD Bank are dishonest, incompetent and falsify records in an attempt to cover up their error(s).

Workers at this branch including Gilbert Vega, Officer, Assistant Store Manager, NMLS ID# 596679, TD Bank, 2400 Bway, NY, NY 10024, 212-579-2010, make errors and in an egregious act of disrespectful (to the client) temerity and possibly criminal behavior, attempt to cover up their lack of competence by falsifying documents, discarding documents signed by client (handwritten ancillary/concomitant/down stream documents the bank has on file could not have been generated without the above referenced computer generated document's composition) and altering of an evidence stream by replacing a signed document with one intended to cover up Bank Error . While attempting to get copies of the above mentioned signed documents (via walk in v. phone w/TD Bank officials) an alternate TD Bank employee attempted to seek out business for TD Bank, asking if the [high profile] company the client worked for 'has a board', implying that they [the high profile company's board] would meet with the [clearly naive at best, revealing a suspect intellect] low level TD Bank Employee [to work out a business deal with the bank]. A complaint relative to the above will be filed with TD Bank Security and / or appropriate government oversight agencies. Curiously, at the building adjacent to the bank (possibly the Merrion at 215 w. 88th street??) one morning client witnessed building staff (doorman/ super and / or maintenance person) being politely greeted by a woman and her daughter as they left the building and as soon as the woman and her daughter were apparently out of earshot, they (building staff) laughed at each other, asked if [paraphrased] 'that's the nurse in apartment [redacted]' and then began talking about what they'd do to her [sexual innuendo].

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

rmiller's Profile Image

5 out of 5 marks

Customer Service is amazing

Banking with Community Bank & Trust is incredible. You walk in they know your name. They often know your whole family. True hometown banking. They support the community in many ways and I have always enjoyed my experience with the bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Poncholv's Profile Image

Poncholv reviewed Regions Bank

Apr 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible, horrible bank

Overdrew my account by 50$, got a 72$ late fee, I understand, it's my fault and thats standard. Sadly since I'm a server and have a 14 month old baby boy, I called my mom to bail me out. She wirelessly sent 150$ to get my account out of negative. It was the first time we did this, so our banks needed to verify the security of the transfer, so they first deposited 15 cents, and then 50 cents, I had to correctly confirm what was deposited in order for the transfer to happen. After being approved, i still had negative account. Regions charged me two more additional overdraft charges because of when my moms bank took back the 15 and 50 cents deposited to insure security by both banks! So I was charged another 72$ Making it a total of -192$ In my account.. 148$ of that being fees. my mom had only sent 150$. I tried calling many times, talked to two supervisors, even went personally into two Regions branches. Every single Regions said it wasn't a bank error on their part, so they won't refund it. I just can't believe how terrible this bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

tnnntjhn's Profile Image

tnnntjhn reviewed BB&T

Apr 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Deceptive Loan Practices

Do not do business with this bank. They tried to reduce 100% verified income by 50%, which is illegal per the FTC under the mortgage discrimination laws (complaint was filed). Then they kept trying to add back in student loans that were consolidated, even after I communicated several times that these loans had been conolidated. There is little to no communications or call backs, the underwriting process is weak and deceptive and seems to rely on illegal practices. They then tried to push me into a high fee point loan which would have required high out of pocket costs after selling me on another product that I would have easily qualified for if they would have underwrote the loan correctly.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

JeanneBortolini's Profile Image

JeanneBortolini reviewed Bank of America

Apr 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst credit card ever-Spirit Airlines Bank of America card!

Received a statement February, 2014. Called, canceled credit card. More statements, same annual fee, but now with interest charges. Contacted customer service at phone number on statement-on hold 75 minutes, gave up. Chatted on line with Peter. He was unable to help. His supervisor- unable to help. Called again, talked to Ray. He was rude and condescending. He informed me that had I canceled the card on 2/6 instead of 2/16 I would not have been charged. It didn't matter that I closed the account, I still had to pay the fee, and the account is now "past due". He said that I was wrong to think that I could just contact customer service and they would resolve my problem. He also said that it didn't matter who I spoke to within the entire Bank of America Corporation, no one would help me out. This is exactly what transpired, all of it is true and per my experience I would have no further dealings with them in the future and plan to dispute these charges.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Suntanner's Profile Image

Suntanner reviewed KeyBank

Apr 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Keystone bankers

I opened a checking account online with $50 initial deposit from another bank. A week later, they closed my account without any notification. I called and Carol, who is in charge of my online account told me there was a problem with the initial deposit. She can't tell me if I had entered the wrong account information, so I have no idea if it was my fault, my bank's fault, or Key. She told me to just go ahead and open another account. I did and funded it with my credit card instead. A week later, they closed my account again without any notification. I called and was told that I had a negative relationship due to the earlier initial deposit problem so they closed my account. Why didn't they give me a chance to remedy the first problem before they close my account, or let me know about the negative relationship issue so I can remedy it before applying the second time? Very frustrating.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0