Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

oldcityphl's Profile Image

oldcityphl reviewed TD Bank

Apr 24th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

America's Most Convenient Bank - NOT

They froze my atm card - 14 days ago - and never bothered to call or email me and let me know. And the branch personnel could have cared less.

Opened an account here a few months ago in Philadelphia at the 4th and Market branch - used by atm card in NY on April 14th - and they froze my atm card, but never bothered to tell me. Today I tried my atm card at three different machines - and it wouldn't work, so I went into the branch. They said that the card needed to have transactions verified, and asked my if I used my card on April 14th at 610 8th street - which wasn't even the correct address. He said they froze the card because the usage "wasn't within my normal patterns". I asked I was supposed to know that and why they never notified me - and he didn't have an answer.

Went home - transferred all money out of the account except for the minimum required balance - and will close the account next week.

Stay away from this bank - ING - Ally - ETrade are all much easier to deal with than these fools.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

doctorgary's Profile Image

doctorgary reviewed KeyBank

Apr 24th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

10+ Year Commercial and Residential Customer - Very Bad Bank, Avoid At All Costs

I have experience over 10+ years with virtually every aspect of Key Bank, including personal accounts, loans, business accounts, small business line of credit, and home loan line of credit, and they are consistently substandard in every department. Avoid this bank at all costs! We only used them because the larger business I was originally part of as one of 20 partners used them, so we virtually were forced to use them as well. When I formed my own business, I banked with another bank who was then bought out by them. Fortunately we were able to use yet another bank for half of our business activity, and the difference with Key was 100%. Key has the worst funds availability policy of any bank I have ever seen, is amazingly beaurocratic and slow, is unwilling to help with any issue, consistently makes horrible mistakes which it never acknowledges, and never gives any good advise. They have caused my businesses at least half a dozen major problems. It is amazing this bank has any customers based on my long term experience, but I think much of their business is because they acquired other banks. I am not surprised that every review on this site is very negative. Theses reviews jive with my extensive and repeated experience with Key Bank. Do yourself and your business a favor and do not bank with Key Bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

neverthisbranch's Profile Image

neverthisbranch reviewed PNC Bank

Apr 24th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Likes to talk behind your back

Other customers may not experience what I just experienced, so please keep an open mind. I just recently opened an account at this branch. Great people, and willing to work with you. Everything seemed to go smoothly and they said they would call me back with more answers to my questions. The next day (Tuesday), they gave me a call to answer those questions, but I was busy at work and their office closed before I could call. Same thing happens Wednesday. They leave another wonderful voicemail until the consultant hangs up the phone or so she thought. She starts saying to her co-worker she thinks I'm a fraud and that there is no way I could have save so much of my hard-earned money at a young age. Now I think she was just joking, but when dealing with a customer, you should make sure they don't hear you talk behind their back. PNC is a great bank, but this branch specifically, I will never return to. Like I said, everyone will have a different experience at any branch they visit, but I've experienced rudeness. I will for sure never return to this branch and if I do, I will never return to that specific rep. I know it is hard times right now and I at least have respect to not put her name online. I leave it up to you to decide if you want to visit this branch.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ClaireTak's Profile Image

ClaireTak reviewed Chase

Apr 24th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Chase is solid

While I didn't intentionally become a Chase member, I am happy with their service and checking account. I signed up years ago for Great Western, which was bought out by WaMu, which was acquired by JP Morgan Chase.

I have a regular checking account. The fee is waived each month because I use direct deposit. While I also have an Ally Bank checking and savings, I like to keep my free Chase account because I am able to utilize ATM machines pretty conveniently.

I have been a Chase customer now for about 5 years. Their online banking is easy to use, Chase QuickPay is convenient and I like finding ATMs on every corner, in LA and NY.

Until Ally makes brick and mortar locations, I will keep my Chase.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

AlCheri's Profile Image

AlCheri reviewed Wells Fargo

Apr 24th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Bank In The Nation!

Wells Fargo took over our accounts from Wachovia. My wife and I had personal checking, business checking, home equity line of credit and business line of credit accounts. After years of satisfactory service from the previous owners, Wells Fargo started adding fees and raising interest rates on all the accounts with no regard for our perfect payment history or our excellent credit ratings. Communication efforts were ignored and final responses were inconsistent. Representatives were rude. We finally had enough.

After much effort to give them every opportunity to improve, we decided to move all our accounts.

I recommend Chase Bank, Bank of America, Citizens National Bank, and City Employees Credit Union FAR AND ABOVE wells fargo.

It appears we are not alone in our disgust with the worst bank in the nation: Wells Fargo.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

zionoliver's Profile Image

zionoliver reviewed Bank of America

Apr 24th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Probably the worst experience every time

Wait time is the longest of any other banks

Customer Service reps have left me waiting various times for up to 10 minutes (which is ridiculous in this tech age)

I get nowhere half the time and just give up on my rep and call back so I can get another rep to help

Reps have outdated web help

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jossj's Profile Image

jossj reviewed First Interstate Bank

Apr 24th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Awful, old-school bank

I switched to FIB from Well Fargo about 8 years ago, looking for a more local, western bank. I am now pretty committed and have my business accounts, home mortgage, personal account and family savings.

Banking with First Interstate has been a horrible experience. Their online banking system is archaic and they take every opportunity to gouge their customers. Most banks provide free deposits using their smartphone apps. Not FIB, they charge for this service.

It is impossible to pay FIB mortgage online. Every month I have to make a phone call to a disgruntled worker in Billings who grudgingly takes my payments over the phone. I always get attitude during this experience and the employee always suggests it would be better for me to mail a check. Mail a check? Seriously? This is 2014 and I should be able to transfer funds from my other FIB account whenever I want.

Finally, when we received our mortgage, we had mortgage insurance in place. This was about $200/monthly and is only required until the principal vs lent ratio is over 78%. After over a year of having our ratio less than 78% I had to call FIB and remind them to remove the insurance. They darn well knew they could remove it, just chose to charge me for their profit month after month.

My 2c is find another place to bank. First interstate tries to act like they are this great local, western bank and they're really know different than the big banks (just less technologically inclined). They are based in Wyoming for pete's sake.

I think its time for me to go back across the street to Wells Fargo

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

anna_desu's Profile Image

anna_desu reviewed Meredith Village Savings Bank

Apr 24th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Nice, local bank

If you're looking for an alternative to the "big name" banks, Meredith is the way to go. They are a local bank, with employees who actually care about Plymouth. They really do want to help you make the most out of your money. We recently purchased a short sale home that was owned by two different banks. We got our mortgage loan with Meredith. The other two banks took almost half a year to complete simple tasks and paperwork. We were lucky to talk to a human being when we called them on the phone. Meredith not only helped us make sense of the short sale process, but they did their end of the paperwork with great speed. They responded to calls and e-mails very quickly. We got a great interest rate, and a great loan, and we are very glad we did not go with another bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

CustomerinNewJerse's Profile Image

CustomerinNewJerse reviewed Chase

Apr 23rd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Chase Ads are scams

I recently went to the new Chase branch in Franklin Lakes, NJ. I wanted to open a new basic savings account with their current promotion. It said open an account with $15000 and after six months get $200 bonus. They tried convincing me to open a different account. I said I didn't need it. Then, while they were completing the savings account paperwork, they insisted I give them my account balance information from where I normally bank, my mortgage amounts, any retirement savings account information, any investments and and any other funds I may have. If I didn't I couldn't open an account. They said they needed that information to service my needs. I said I was just opening a savings account and shouldn't have to furnish all of my personal information. Needless to say I walked out. I should have been more wary. I have never been asked to ever do that in a bank before.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

thecoachlady's Profile Image

thecoachlady reviewed FirstMerit Bank

Apr 23rd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible Bank

I have a mortgage that started with Citizens snd now is held by First Merit. I love in Canada and make my monthly payment from my US dollar account drwn on a canadian Bank, as I have done for the past 10 years. I am now being charged $5 each time I make my payment, without any notification that I would be charged this fee. Not only that, I have a very small checking account that the fees have been taken out of and the balance taken for and "inactivity fee"!

The name on the account has also changed to be only my ex husband instead of for us jointly. The person at First Merit said it was because the loan is in his name. Not so! It is a joint loan, but I odn't show up anywhere.

THIS BANK HAS NO INTEREST IN TAKING CARE OF ITS CUSTOMERS. IT IS ONLY ABOUT GETTING FEES.

DONT BANK WITH THEM

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0