Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

jose145's Profile Image

jose145 reviewed Regions Bank

Apr 19th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Regions Bank In Castleton - Jose Ray

I absolutely love coming here. 75% of my visit is because of a welcoming smile from the women at the front desk. Bank tellers are always willing to assist. My account had been frozen for a couple weeks due to fraud and I had to have my account shut down. I still kept my prepaid Regions Now Card. I stopped in one day to load funds on the card and questioned about my account. Unexpectedly, an agent dealt with contacting the non emergency line to get some information. She then informed me that she was able to reinstate my account. This was a blessing. I never felt so good about a bank. I would recommend this branch to any one.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mccand2014's Profile Image

mccand2014 reviewed Citizens Bank

Apr 19th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Bank ever!!!!!! Liars!!!

One of my customers gave me a bad check. I had know idea it was going to bounce they blamed me treated me like a pile of dirt, this company was in business 30 years with a great reputation. They told me I should have known it was no good and froze all my assets. I paid the fee and they told me it would resolve all issues, instead they closed both my business and personal accounts and said we dont want your business. They lied to my face.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

IBGreene's Profile Image

IBGreene reviewed Wells Fargo

Apr 19th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Customer Hostile Bank

Wells Fargo is a customer-hostile operation and this branch fits their mold. It took the rep over an hour to open a new checking account and it originally charged over $30/month in fees. When I deposited a big check, they refused to release the funds for 10 days even though it was drawn on the Northern Trust Bank and came from a major investment firm. It seemed very unethical -- why do they get to use my money for 10 days before they release it to me? It clears overnight as an ACH deposit. It's called "kiting a check" and it's supposed to be illegal. Virtually every employee I have dealt with at this branch for different simple services, such as safe deposit box access or depositing a large amount of change, has had a "can't do" attitude and has been sort of rude and dismissive. Go to another bank where they don't withhold your money for a week and a half and treat you with more professionalism than you will ever find at Wells Fargo.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

FloridaLawyer's Profile Image

FloridaLawyer reviewed Bank of America

Apr 19th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

20 minutes wait to talk to customer service who gave me false info and transferred me to very rude fraud department

In spite of rising fees and some rude personnel, I have kept my accounts at Bank of America for 30 years. The rude, condescending treatment I got today is causing me to reconsider.

In February someone fraudulently charged pornographic materials on my debit card. I saw it within a few days looking at my online account. It took three different phone calls and talking with half a dozen people make a complaint and cancel my debit card, with a new card sent to me. Today I looked at my account online and I saw that Bank of America had canceled the credits they had given me for the fraudulent charges. I called the customer service number an waited on hold for 20 minutes to talk to a representative. When I finally reached that representative, he told me that the credits had been canceled because I had failed to return paperwork to Bank of America. Since no one had told me I would receive documents which would need to be completed and returned, and I received no such documents, I was surprised. The customer service representative told me he would transfer me to the fraud department. There was another 18-minute wait. The fraud representative treated me as though I were a slow-witted three-year-old. He interrupted me when I tried to describe the problem and told me that if I checked my statements I would have seen that the merchant had given me a credit so Bank of America canceled theirs. Since I had received no communication and no funds from the merchant, I was surprised. I am a well-educated professional woman and I resent the arrogant, imperious attitude this man exhibited toward me. One would think that Bank of America could find employees who could treat customers with respect, but apparently they cannot. USAA here I come!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

GaryR's Profile Image

GaryR reviewed BMO Harris Bank

Apr 18th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Nothing good to say about BMO harris

I had a 10 year equity loan that matured and having a hell of a time trying to get a modification, I truly believe they are trying to foreclose on my home, still making my monthly payments on time and they gave me a past 30 days on my credit report even though we are still working on a modification, I believe they are trying to screw up my credit so no other Bank will give me a loan.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Steve_in_Portland_'s Profile Image

Steve_in_Portland_ reviewed Bank of America

Apr 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Bank of America only sees my small business as their opportunity to pile on more fees

After putting up with more and more new fees showing up, typically without explanation or advance warning in understandable English, I have come to the conclusion that Bank of America only sees my company as their opportunity to pile on more fees so as to increase their profits. When I called yesterday to complain about the latest surprise on my small business statement, I got shoveled from one person who said he did not know to another person in another department who said that she did not know to another person who finally said he had specific knowledge that this new fee was being charged in error and he could help me with it as soon as he consulted with his manager while putting me on hold. The moment he put me on hold, the lousy Bank of America call system dropped the call AND HE DID NOT CALL ME BACK. After waiting 25 minutes I started the whole process over again but achieved no resolution for my issue. I DID LEARN THE FOLLOWING IMPORTANT OPERATING POLICY FOR THE BANK OF AMERICA CUSTOMER SERVICE CALL CENTERS: IF THE CALL GETS DROPPED, THE BofA PERSON IS PROHIBITED FROM CALLING ME BACK. HE/SHE HAS ZERO ABILITY TO ORIGINATE AN OUTBOUND CALL AND FURTHERMORE THE MOMENT MY CALL GOT DROPPED, HE WAS SWITCHED OVER TO A NEW IN-BOUND CALL FROM ANOTHER ABOUT-TO-BE-FRUSTRATED-AGAIN BofA CUSTOMER.

US Bank does not operate their call centers this way. That is where I am now taking my company business and I recommend that readers of this posting do likewise.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

astondoc's Profile Image

astondoc reviewed Bank of the West

Apr 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

They used to be a great bank, now they just suck

I have been with Bank of the West for over 15 years, the Walnut Creek branch people are great, the Los Gatos branch is nice. The company it's self has become horrific on charges fees, ones that you have never heard of before, and arbitrary. The Santa Cruz branch even tried to charge my wife $5 to cash one of my checks.....I have been with them back when they were Central Bank, and were a nice small local bank. Now they have grown way to big, and just try to suck money out of you. Buy and spend local...I have moved all my accounts to a Local Credit Union.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

sgspearman's Profile Image

sgspearman reviewed Charter One Bank

Apr 18th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

poor customer service on payoff

So I had been generally happy with our line of credit of credit at charter one. But when we used their phone menu to order a payoff letter it was lost. When I called customer service after 8 days they said they could fax it. I said great. Then they said it will be $25 (for a fax!)

I asked to speak to a manager and explained why the late payoff letter was their error and that I expected it to be free. He said he had no way to waive the fee but said the office of the chairman would be in touch in a couple days. Someone called after 4 days but missed me. When I called them back I got no return call again for another two days. This is not what I expect in customer service - very poor.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Adevim's Profile Image

Adevim reviewed Bank of America

Apr 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Extraordinary incompetence

I wanted to set up a Payable on Death (POD) beneficiary for my checking and savings accounts. The employee helping me didn't know how to set this up, so she called her manager over to help. I filled out the forms, got their OK that it was set up correctly, and left.

One week later, I'm out of state with my family when I get a call from the bank: "Guess what, we screwed up your paperwork. You remember this section that we told you to leave blank? You should have filled that out." Ok, I say, I'll come in next weekend to fix it. I'm told, "If you don't fix it immediately with us over the phone, the BoA can run an audit and lock you out of your accounts." So now I'm relaying social security numbers to the bank manager over an unsecure phone line while pulled over at the side of a highway.

"Ok," he tells me, "It's all set."

Yeah, right. I'm taking my business elsewhere.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

HusamBrohi's Profile Image

HusamBrohi reviewed Chase

Apr 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Do not bank with Chase

I have been a Chase customer for over 5 years but recently went through one of the worst experiences with a bank. Essentially, a large deposit from another reputable financial institution triggered a fraud alert and Chase, without contacting me, decided to freeze my funds to investigate. The fraud and control department was so inept they did not have the right number to contact that institution -- I think they googled the number and got the investment office who could not validate the funds so Chase decided to close my account, once again without contacting me.

Once I found out (through a letter in the mail), contacted the local branch manager who then contacted the institution to verify and resolved the matter in 5 minutes -- but the wheels were already in motion. For over 2 weeks no access to funds and could not pay bills including mortgage. Luckily I had back-up but think of those folks whose funds are all tied to one account.

The bank manager told me this happens all the time to and is very frustrated with this process - it seems they use a shotgun approach to fraud, surprising in this day and age that they can not accurately detect and assume everyone is a fraudster. Nevertheless I am banking with a credit union now.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0