Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

Suzy456's Profile Image

Suzy456 reviewed PNC Bank

Jan 31st 2015

3 out of 5 marks

pnc bank

I have a great experience every time I come there the tellers are so friendly

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

lktth's Profile Image

lktth reviewed BB&T

Jan 30th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

New construction Loan

Long story short- DON'T EVEN WASTE YOUR TIME if you are trying to do this. If you do, the process will be long with lost paperwork and slow process of approval. After 6-7 weeks in the process with BB&T I decided to change banks. The new bank gave me a list of what they needed. I worked to get as much as possible to them that night. BEFORE NOON THE NEXT DAY I HAD APPROVAL FOR US AND THE BUILDER!!! We are now only 2 days in and I already have an appointment for the appraiser to see the lot tomorrow. This is further than BB&T was able to get in a 6-7 week period. I wish someone had warned me.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

lindamcmullin's Profile Image

lindamcmullin reviewed Wells Fargo

Jan 30th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

NOT HAPPY

I had plenty of money in my account and today tried to buy online some new appliances for our kitchen thru Sears.com. The charge was declined. I was so upset. I called WF customer service and they said "well you were trying to make a big purchase, so the computer declined the authorization". I was really mad and told the guy on the phone I had plenty of money in our account and why????? He said my card was now on hold, but he released it and if I had not have called and I had gone to the grocery store or gas station all charges would have been declined.

I told him in no uncertain terms that was crap and what do I need to do to not let this happen again as we are in the middle of a remodel on our house. He said "sorry even if you call ahead of time the computer will decline any large charges".

This is not the first time they have embarrassed me and husband for trying to purchase large items. One other time I tried to pay for $200 worth of gas for our boat and it was declined and there was 25K in the bank. If my SS and husbands retirement were not direct deposited along with utility bills automatically take out each month I would tell this bank to kiss my big fat behind.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

AAlvarez's Profile Image

AAlvarez reviewed Suntrust Bank

Jan 29th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

My Advice, Go Anywhere But Here !

This place is the absolute worst! They are rude and unprofessional and worste of all theifs. My advice, go anywhere but here. If you want a bank that debits your account for money they never recieved, than this is the place. The teller was $300+ short and instead of investing the teller they debited with the logic that the insident happened around the time of my transaction. They have zero proof of handing me the cash and have refused to provide the video but yet i have been robbed of my money. So much for keeping my money safe in this bank

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

IrateMother83's Profile Image

IrateMother83 reviewed FirstMerit Bank

Jan 29th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Closes Your Accounts Without Notifying You

I will never bank with First Merit again. They closed my checking account, that had money in it, without even notifying me that it would be closed for inactivity. They never gave me my money back and claimed they took it for inactivity fees. This policy was never told to me when i opened an account or this situation would never have happened. My direct deposit tax return now has no where to go because of their horrible customer service. Their agent had the nerve to tell me i could open another account but they would not reopen my original account or return the money that was in it. I will never bank with firstmerit again and will let my family, who has been on the fence about a lot of their new policies, to withdraw all their business as well.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Lifeschoices's Profile Image

Lifeschoices reviewed Woodforest National Bank

Jan 29th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Review

I been dealing with this bank now for quit a while,the bank branch manager,I find is top notch,the staff is ALWAYS considerate and profession a,recently while waiting for my place in line ,a customer got rude and haughty with one of the tellers,,,her response was top notch,she handled the customer with poise and patience. that's the type people I can trust and enjoy doing business with

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Woodforest National Bank

Responded by

Jan 29th 2015

We are excited that you are pleased with our service! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. Thank you for banking with Woodforest!

vicky39's Profile Image

vicky39 reviewed Bank of America

Jan 29th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Provide Privacy Information And Let Any People Take Money

Bank of america provide all the information to any person that they said is legal, my husband s. S. Was scan from someone else with t-mobile and he got a debt on collection, when he never has phone from t-mobile, now that collection when to "legal process" and they couldn't go to his bank to take that money because his bank protect his information, bank of america provide all the information and let other people take my money because my husband is in my bank account, is that fear? They said they cant do anything because was "legal".

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

GraceRagni's Profile Image

GraceRagni reviewed Wells Fargo

Jan 29th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Customer Service Varies From One Branch To Another

I went to WF at washington st in santa clara (corner la fayette and benton) on jan 28, 2015 at approximately 4:30. A bank staff approached me by the name of maninag akkapeddi asking for the purpose of my visit. I told her i need to wire funds and asked how i could waive the associated fees. She indicated that if we have $250,000 or more in our accounts, waiving the fees is possible. I told her that my husband and i had more than a total of $250k, then she referred me to another employee by the name of pritpal kaur. Pritpal immediately indicated that wiring fees are never waived.

I told her that maninag earlier indicated that the fees could be waived if the $250k condition is met. It turned out that maninag misinformed me and according to pritpal, the only fees that could be waived are incoming wires, not outgoing. They may be right but customer service skills of both these employees are pathetic, they acted not to be helpful at all. I understand that they are in no position to waive fees but they both did not even bother to try.

I asked for the branch manager thinking that the manager may have the authority but both indicated that they did not have their manager on site. I left the branch frustrated thinking how could a business operate without an individual of authority able to decide? While the manager may not be present 100 percent of the time, shouldn't there be an assistant or another individual to whom the branch manager may have delegated his/her authority?

After i left this branch annoyed and frustrated, i went to wf branch in el camino and scott in santa clara. On a positive note, this branch was exactly the opposite of washington st. Branch. A staff, vangie pascual immediately assisted. I told her that i need to wire funds but would like to check if the related fees could be waived. She indicated that she will check with the mgr. The mgr approached me personally and took time to listen to my needs. Champs nguyen is a true 'champ' and worth of recognition

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Dollarbanksucker's Profile Image

Dollarbanksucker reviewed Dollar Bank

Jan 28th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Don't Get Mortgage At Dollar Bank

Delays, extra fees not previously stated, misinformation, shady practices, and a generally lousy experience. If you enjoy any of the above apply for a mortgage with these idiots.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Pissedoff2015's Profile Image

Pissedoff2015 reviewed Investors Bank

Jan 28th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Investors Bank Is Horrible!!

I've been a home owner for 15 years, had loans with multiple lenders, and have gone through refinance/home equity loan processes a few times. None of my past experiences can compare with the trouble i have now with investors bank. Not only are they stuck in the 80's with the lack of online bill pay, they continue to charge me a late fee and show my account as having a double payment due, every billing statement. I pay my mortgage, through bank of america's online bill payment system, two days before it is actually due.

Granted, it may not post by the actual due date, but there is a grace period, which after speaking to a rep, is 17 days, before they assess a late fee. At first, i was caught off guard by this, but accepted responsibility and drove to the local branch to pay the late fee the first time. I was told that this was an error and should not happen again. Well, low and behold, i open up my statement, and bam, another late fee and double payment required. I looked up my banking statement, and it shows the payment clearing on the 3rd, when it's due on the 1st.

Why the late fee? I checked my credit report after the first time and it appears as a late payment. The rep i originally spoke to informed me that it would be removed. Guess what, it's still there. I am currently researching fraudulent charges and practices with the federal reserve before i speak to my attorney. I may be wrong with this, but to me, something is not kosher. The plot thickens. Moral of the story, i would avoid investors bank at all costs!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »