Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

carmend's Profile Image

carmend reviewed Zions Bank

Jul 19th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Zions Bank does not honor withdrawal orders.

I have several IRA CDs at Zions Bank. The list of wrongs is long and ugly. Last year, Zions failed to pay out the federal "required minimum distribution" on my IRA (I am over 70 1/2 years old). It took until February to get that straightened out, although they did at last issue a revised federal form that would otherwise have meant a tax penalty. In May, I requested a rollover of all of my IRA funds to another institution. As of today (July 19, 2014), they still have not released the final $80,000+. Even though I have made many phone calls and my new institution has sent many formal letters (7 at last count), the money is still at Zions. In my most recent phone call with them, I requested a statement of transactions. The reply was "the statement will be issued in January, 2015." After some argument, the "customer service" person explained that I could get a non-official printout by visiting my local Zions Branch. Two problems there: my "local branch" (Cache Valley) no longer exists and I live out of state. No amount of pleading for a statement was honored. I suppose the recent federal rating explains some of this, but why is customer service so non-service oriented? I will be so glad when the last of my money is out of there! And I wish there was a negative number rating.

Federal rating story, Deseret News: http://www.deseretnews.com/article/865599234/Zions-Bank-falls-short-on-Federal-Reserve-6stress-test7.html?pg=all. "One of Utah's largest banking institutions is the only large bank in the nation that did not meet the minimum standards for financial capital levels set by the Federal Reserve in the event of a major economic meltdown. Zions Bancorp was the only bank of 30 tier-1 large institutions reviewed that did not meet the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act stress test lowest guidelines."

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

NaturalCJ's Profile Image

NaturalCJ reviewed TCF Bank

Jul 19th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Hidden Fees / Obvious Incompetence

TCF has lost TWO payroll checks that were suppose to be deposited into my account. That problem was bad enough, but what made it worse was their unwillingness or inability to address it. I am a college student trying to save money, working two jobs and TCF (totally careless frauds) gave me a laundry list worth of things to do rather than being apologetic and fixing the problem. DO NOT BANK WITH TCF!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

dijj4hotmailcom's Profile Image

dijj4hotmailcom reviewed Woodforest National Bank

Jul 19th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

best bank ever

I absolutely am pleased with this bank. The branch in Laurens, Sc is so helpful. I am one that have been careless with checking accounts in the past. They help me turn around. Now I understand. You spend what you have and keep track of your spending. Its all about paying attention. The tellers there know you when you come in and are always nice. I cant blame woodforest for overdrafts at all. This bank is not trying to get rich off of working people, they are there to help careless account holders become responsible.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

WillieBell's Profile Image

WillieBell reviewed Bank of America

Jul 19th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

*Be Afraid of Refinancing Your Mortgage with Bank of America

Recently I started the process of refinancing my mortgage through BoA to take advantage of the HARP program. The Bank of America mortgage representative mailed a packet to me using normal USPS services. The mail was delivered to the wrong address and sat on my neighbors kitchen counter for a few days. When I finally got the packet and opened it, the top form contained my name, social security number, date of birth, home address... every piece of personal information imaginable to conduct identity theft. I brought this to the attention of the mortgage representative and the Mortgage Sales Manager and all they were concerned with was making the closing date of the refinance and they blamed the Postal Service for the problem. Normal Postal Service is best effort deliver; everyone knows this and BoA should know it as well. At the very least they should have sent my information via certified USPS mail or Fedx that requires my signature and ID for delivery when handing social security informatio and even that is not the safest method. There are many ways to secure customer's personal information these day but for some reason Bank of America is more concerned with profits and commissions and not protecting their customer's personal information.

So if anyone is going to use Bank of America for home refinancing, you should be absolutely ***afraid*** of how they will go about handling your personal information during the process....

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

bc2291's Profile Image

bc2291 reviewed Trustco Bank

Jul 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst bank ever

I typed in the wrong password by mistake and they locked me out of my account for 3 days! I finally got back in when I called them at my job(only time I can because they are closed at 6) and they told me that my password was the last 4 of my social. When it never was before! So I changed it back to my original password. Finally I was able to see my funds but they did not even post my direct deposit right away like they did for the past year. Not to mention when I use an ATM I can't take out money. The receipt even said "to many failed login attempts" are you kidding me??? Not to mention I know I have money but no purchases have been able to go through. They must have something completly locked up some how I have no clue. Thank you Trustco bank from keep my money safe and secure and in a place where I have no access to it to pay for Rent,Food, Gas that I desperately need right now F U

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

glassfish's Profile Image

glassfish reviewed AmericanWest Bank

Jul 18th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Getting a Mortgage payoff amount is next to impossible

I sold my home and the Title Company needed a payoff figure to close escrow. They requested the information two times in 2 weeks and got no reply. I started calling and spoke to a different person every time and each person gave me a different answer. I was transferred, on an average, at least 5 times each time I called. I was told it takes 24 to 48 hours to process a payoff request but we are two weeks into this with several phone calls each day and still no payoff information. Today, my first phone call of the day, I was told it was processed yesterday and the fax should come thru today. During my second phone call I was told it was processed today and the fax should be coming thru any minute. Several more phone calls with no result. I was informed I could not speak to a supervisor. On my final call today I was informed the payoff info was in process and would be done in 1/2 hour. 3 different answers in the same day from 3 different people. So apparently these people do not know how to speak the truth. Even if it is not the answer I want to hear, I still expect to hear the TRUTH from bank personnel. I would never use this bank for anything ever again. Closing my escrow account was delayed for over 2 weeks by this banks staff and for no apparent reason.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

nothappy9's Profile Image

nothappy9 reviewed Citizens Bank

Jul 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

For years I have been a customer. Not anymore.

I have been a customer here for years, always raving about how great of a bank they are, even had my parents switch banks and open an account. Boy was I wrong. After having an issue today with them charging me $70.00 worth of fees that they can't even prove took place I will never bank here again. Good hour lunch going to be spent closing my account. Thanks but no thanks.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

TDVisacardslavery's Profile Image

TDVisacardslavery reviewed TD Bank

Jul 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

TD Canada Trust VISA Card (Aeroplan) acquisition -

an arrogant and customer degrading experience. - Customer Blackmail

I wrote TD timely to I opt out of this modern day slave trade deal with Aimia and CIBC. TD did not react

at all to my written request; they simply went ahead.

TD did send a new credit card which I returned promptly with an accompanying letter. No action

I now learn that TD, without my consent, did indeed open a new Credit Card account in my name and they

did accept/book time-delayed VISA transactions (in fact a retroactive car rental credit) which was

processed under my (old) CBIC Visa card arrangement with a different account number. - TD

simply highjacked the process

Meantime, the money is sitting at TD Aeropan Visa likely incurring annual credit card fees for services

which I formally declined in writing nor requested. - I cannot use up these funds since I do not

have a credit card…..

Since TD VISA/Aeroplan could not or did not want to react to my previous written requests, there is probably no alternative now than trying to resort to legal action in small claims court for their unauthorized

degrading and coercive actions.

Meantime, senior management at TD Group is pre-occupied with Bilderberg visions to improve the

world. - Think twice before dealing with TD Group and their built-in conflict of interest.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

cgator77's Profile Image

cgator77 reviewed Bank of America

Jul 18th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Worst Bank I've ever used

$31 it cost to order new checks. Are you serious??? Customer service is hit or miss and I have had multiple times where the 1-800 customer service has told me something to be told by the branch manager something different. Not worth the time or fees they love to charge at any opportunity! And the interest rates for savings accounts are a complete joke, don't even bother!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

pnutscbrown's Profile Image

pnutscbrown reviewed FirstMerit Bank

Jul 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Bank EVER!

This bank is just horrid!!! I loved citizens bank but now that it has become first merit I have been hit by fee after fee after fee. Its to the point of being ridiculous. Never ever ever get an account at this bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0