Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

ROBYKEITH's Profile Image

ROBYKEITH reviewed BBVA Compass Bank

Dec 12th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

BEST LOOKING TELLER IN TEXAS

My name is Tim R. I am a self-contractor/home builder. I go their a lot to cash my checks every week because I am in that area. They have a teller named Aubin who is drop dead gorgeous and super friendly. The other tellers are very friendly as well. I am convinced that this is the bank for me because of their Super friendy treatment I have received plus their FREE CHECKING that they offer. They also have GREAT locations and are easy to find!!! Thanks Team Compass!!! I'M IN!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

tomkaren1018's Profile Image

tomkaren1018 reviewed Wells Fargo

Dec 12th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Lack of tellers

If this bank cannot find enough help to wait on customers, might as well close and people could just use the branch in the Safeway store across the street. I would not wait in line clear out the door this am so went to branch in Safeway and was helped right away! More courteous and helpful tellers at the branch office!

TS

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

pattyh's Profile Image

pattyh reviewed Peoples United Bank

Dec 12th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Awful Customer Service reps at Peoples

They are rude and condescending to the customers. Just terrible. They have no concept of customer service.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

samtheman's Profile Image

samtheman reviewed Congressional Bank

Dec 11th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

High Internet CD Rates----Poor Customer (telephone) Service

Congressional Bank recently offered a very high CD rate and posted it on Bankrate.com. I attempted to complete their internet application process and received an error message , necessitating me to contact the bank. I telephoned the internet banking department several times and was always transferred to voicemail. Finally, 27 hours after my first voicemail message, a bank representative called me back. The representative apologized for the call delay and stated that they were overwhelmed with work as a result of the response to the bankrate.com account offering.

I believe that their response to my telephone call was not timely and not acceptable. I have had numerous contacts with banks, both large and small, across the country and their service has generally been excellent. I believe that Congressional Bank should have known that a high bank account rate posting on bankrate.com would result in greatly increased business, and they should have adequately prepared and staffed their internet banking department.

In conclusion, this was my sole experience with Congressional Bank. It is possible that they may have learned from their bankrate.com experience and may potentially devote adequate future staffing to the internet banking department------only time will tell !

Note: this is the first time I have ever written a poor customer review on a company.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

kewitte's Profile Image

kewitte reviewed Woodforest National Bank

Dec 11th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Dispute process a joke. WOODFORESTand WALMART STOLE MY MONEY

I went to Walmart and spent $106.53. The self service computer stuck on "processing transaction" so the CSM took me to the podium style computer and re-rang my purchases. Again the computer stuck on "processing transaction." I walked across the aisle to my Woodforest branch and took out cash(120.00) to pay for my goods. The Woodforest teller had already been observing the issue and we talked a moment about the incident (this is a small town and the teller knows me). She watched me walk back across the aisle and pay for my purchases in cash. She also heard me verify with the CSM that the transaction did not go through and my debit card would not be charged. The next morning the charge showed up on my statement! The CSM was wrong. I went back to the branch with my receipt and I filled out a dispute form. The same teller was working and made a copy of my receipt. She attached the copy to the form and submitted the dispute. She also credited my account for the amount in dispute because she had seen and heard what happened. This occurred a day before or after 10/28/14. On 12/09/14, Woodforest reversed the credit and took the money out. I called customer service and after nearly a half hour, was told that because my pin was entered, the dispute department had determined that the transaction was valid and Walmart was going to get the $106.53. The same $106.53 that I had paid in cash. WOODFOREST OBVIOUSLY DOES NOT PROTECT THEIR CUSTOMERS. Nor can they read a receipt showing a CASH payment. According to customer service Walmart produced a receipt showing the transaction completed. Rather than prove to Walmart that the charge was in error, Woodforest chose to take my money. Better to stick a knife in the back of a customer than annoy Walmart, right?

I was told by customer service that I could re-dispute the transaction if I wasn't satisfied. REALLY? YOU STOLE MY MONEY! How about I file a formal complaint with the Attorney General's office in Austin, Texas instead?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Woodforest National Bank

Responded by

Dec 15th 2014

Woodforest National Bank is dedicated to providing quality customer service and we would appreciate the opportunity to speak directly with you. Please contact your local branch or our Customer Care department toll free at 1-877-968-7962 or email CustomerAdvocacy@woodforest.com.

User Profile Image

Responded by

Dec 15th 2014

UPDATE.....I went to the branch and was informed by the teller that she had spoken with the dispute department herself and she was instructed to tell me that I had to take the issue up with Walmart. As is turns out, when Walmart accounting department reviewed my bank statements and the same receipt that I had presented to Woodforest showing the CASH payment, Walmart immediately recognized the error and refunded my money, in cash.

As I previously stated, Woodforest's dispute process is a joke and Woodforest does not protect or support its customers. They leave you hanging out there to take care of issues by yourself.

Having said all this, I have to thank the teller that went to the mat for me. I have had issues with Woodforest in the past but I continued to be a customer because of the branch personnel. They do everything within their power to assist the customer. For the time being I will remain a Woodforest customer, but only because of the branch staff.

TIMTOM345's Profile Image

TIMTOM345 reviewed Bank of the Ozarks

Dec 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

NOT VERY Confidential !!!!!

I have 2 Company accounts and 1 personal account with Bank of The Ozarks for the past couple of years since they took over First National Bank of Shelby NC. I thought everything was going good until some people started to tell me that they had been given information about my accounts by a mutual friend(?) at the Lincolnton, NC Branch. I have since been told that other peoples information has been leaked from the same person at this branch, even went as far as laughing about how much people had in there accounts. When I called the Corporate Headquarters about this problem they just pasted it off to a local person so they could talk to this employee about this. And now after numerous calls to see if this is being taken care of NO ONE WILL return my calls and this person is still working at that Branch. I AM MOVING MY ACCOUNTS !!!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

LOAN112330363's Profile Image

1 out of 5 marks

LOAN MODIFICATION

THIS BANK WILL NOT HELP IN KEEPING YOUR HOME INSTEAD THEY WILL BLOCK YOUR NUMBER SO YOU DO NOT CALL THEM. AL MARCO AND DIANE M RAY ARE NOW WHERE TO BE FOUND AT THE BRANCH DURING NORMAL BUSINESS HOURS, THE OPERATORS LACKS IN INFORMATION REGARDING LOSS MITIGATION OPTIONS/COLLECTIONS AND THEY JUST DO NOT HAVE THE ANSWERS OR CAN ASSIST YOU IN THIS AREA, THEY WILL JUST TELL YOU THAT THEY ARE A SMALL BANK AND THEY DO NOT KNOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING. COLLECTIONS DEPT/REO DEPT/MORTGAGE SERVICING AREAS OF THIS FINANCIAL INSTITUTION ARE RUN BY ONE PERSON? THIS BANK NEEDS TO HIRE MORE EMPLOYEES OR ADD TRAINED THEIR EMPLOYEES IN GUIDING CONSUMERS IN THE AREA OF SEEKING ASSISTANCE TO KEEP THEIR HOME INSTEAD OF ADVISING THE CLIENT TO REFINANCE THEIR LOAN AND FORCING THE CONSUMER TO ONLY USED THEIR OWN APPRAISAL COMPANY THAT THEY CHOOSE, THE CONSUMER CANNOT USED ANOTHER APPRAISER BUT THEIR OWN APPRAISER. THE CHARGE A FEE, THE BANK AMKES A PROFIT ON THE REPORT AND THEN DENIED THE REFINANCE REQUEST DUE TO LTV BELOW 80%. WHY ARE YOU PLAYING YOUR OWN CLIENTS? I WILL UPDATE THIS REVIEW ONCE I HEARD FROM CEO OF THIS BANK IN THE MEANTIME THEY GET ONE START

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Chamiltonsr's Profile Image

Chamiltonsr reviewed Bank of America

Dec 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Bank of America sold our Mortgage to a debt collector!

After being with BOA for years they decided to transfer or sell our Mortgage to a Debt Collector Selene Finance. We had never paid late or missed a payment in years. Bank of America and Selene Finance are not worth doing any business with. Watch out!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Lauri's Profile Image

Lauri reviewed Chase

Dec 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Very Disappointed

I am very disappointed in chase bank. My husband and I had money stolen from our account last month at the Poland village chase. A Sepena had to be issued to release the video footage to see who is doing it. They sent a letter stating that they won't be able to comply until the end of THIS month. My husband and I will be pulling all of our accounts and our son's as soon as we actually see the footage strictly for the fact that we feel CHASE BANK should be doing everything they can to get to the bottom of this and protect us. Why they would not want to see the footage themselves to protect other customers incase it is from the inside is beyond us! It's very disappointing and scary!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mdafaiz's Profile Image

mdafaiz reviewed Arvest Bank

Dec 10th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Transfer Money One Arvest Bank To Another Arvest Bank

I like everything about arvest bank. Customer service , all the branch and more except - there is no options to transfer money one arvest bank to another arvest bank account.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »