Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

ravshan2001's Profile Image

ravshan2001 reviewed Wells Fargo

Apr 22nd 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Wells Fargo is a trouble maker bank for customers.

I am a customer of Wells Fargo bank till end of 2012. I have checking account and was my mortgage company till March 31, 2015.

Trouble i had from Wells Fargo bank located in Rutherford, NJ 07070

1. When i try to make my 1st Mortgage Payment Banker Apply for credit card for me without asking.

2. They close my checking account without asking on June 2014. Then they create new account for me.

3. I went to Wells Fargo bank located in Rutherford, NJ 07070 and personally get information for Wire Transfer from overseas, and same day midnight they close my checking account without any reason or warning. I went to Wells Fargo bank located in Rutherford, NJ 07070 again and i ask the reason for closing they didn't find any reason, after my 3rd attempt they recover my same account. My Wire refund after 10 days back to sender but i loose some amount of money and time, and i pay twice for wire transfer fee for the bank transfer from overseas and origination bank and one for Wells Fargo bank.

4. I refinanced my mortgage with another bank end of March 31, 2015. and Wells Fargo start charging Monthly fee for my checking account beginning April 7 statement again without any warning (email, mail, text message or call)

5. I contact Wells Fargo via phone call and ask them to refund my $13 back. They reject to refund. I am going to close my checking account and i advice to every one DO NOT WORK with Wells Fargo Bank. I have my statement to proof all above that.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ccccc's Profile Image

ccccc reviewed U.S. Bank

Apr 22nd 2015

3 out of 5 marks

NO public restroom for customers...

My husband and I moved to this area from northern Illinois.. We used the US banks there and loved the courtesy and convenience they provided for the general public as well as customers.. This bank, to our surprise, has no public restrooms! We travel a distance to get there and what an inconvenience to have to search for a restroom to use because the bank does not provide one.. NOT a good feeling. The building is very nice, clean, and the staff we dealt with was very helpful and courteous.. Some transactions were limited because it is a branch office. Our complaint is NO public restroom... I think a restroom for customers is a must in a place of business..Such a nice building and it isn't welcoming at all because of this lack of service.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Kingdee843's Profile Image

Kingdee843 reviewed Bank of America

Apr 22nd 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Over It!!!!

I got charged $45 for moving my money from my savings to my checkings. They said because I went over my limit of withdrawals in my savings account and that account is to save, ok makes since SO WHY IN THE HECK WOULD YOU CHARGE ME EVEN MORE OUT OF MY SAVINGS??? I am absolutely disappointed with Bank of America and I will no longer bank with them anymore and I'll try my hardest to not encourage anybody to bank with them. I've been with them for several years and I've never heard of anything this dysfunctional!!!! DO NOT BANK WITH BANK OF AMERICA THEY WILL TAKE THE MONEY THAT THEY TELLING YOU TO SAVE BECAUSE YOURE SPENDING IT!!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Minime's Profile Image

Minime reviewed Fifth Third Bank

Apr 21st 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Do not do business with unless in their local area!

The local branches may be helpful and nice, but if you are not in the local area and have access to a branch, do not use. Their so called online banking is pathetic! If you do not have a bank account with them, you cannot pay online for your other accounts. I have had to call every month to make sure my account is good and I have been told something different every time: -you can pay over the phone, you can pay over the phone via your bank account, you cannot pay over the phone, your payment covered current month and next month, you excess payment does not cover future payments, etc...

Then they report your account overdue when you think you have paid in advance per the rep you spoke with. It is all too much to have to deal with.

What bank or company does not take payment online????

Again, the branch level may be great and helpful, but this is not a bank you want to deal with outside their local area!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

KroetschA's Profile Image

KroetschA reviewed Citizens Bank

Apr 21st 2015

1 out of 5 marks

What a slap in the face!

I went to Citizens Bank in the Buffalo, NY area after having a bad experience with a bank before. Right from the beginning something wasn't right. They promised a sign on bonus of $100 if you had direct deposit, which I did. I never got the money, so I called, and customer service said "you still have a few days, it'll go through, you'll be fine." Two weeks later I went to my branch; they told me I wasnt getting it because my direct deposit didn't go through (which it did 2 weeks after I opened it, like normal, so that was a lie). I got nowhere with that. They dropped my interest off my savings because I withdrew money to pay my tuition and books for nursing school 3 times. Then after a year, I repaid the dues to keep my overdraft protection ($35/yr), only a few months later for them to take it from me completely and run off with my $35. The last straw was the hidden fees that began to pop up after a year and a half- paying to get a statement bimonthly (I was told that was free and standard), paying a service charge to pay my bills online, paying for every little thing. The $2 service charge for paying my car payment pushed me in the red and I got slapped with another overdraft fee, which should've been covered to begin with! I do not recommend this bank whatsoever.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

craigslistrrO's Profile Image

craigslistrrO reviewed KeyBank

Apr 21st 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Worst bank in the area

Thinking of banking at FEEbank?.. think again.

Here is a list of fees, tricks and otherwise underhanded tactics to keep in mind.

true, Interest rates are cheap, But don't let that fool you, what they forgo in interest, they MORE than make up for in fees. YOU WILL BE SOAKED AND SMOTHERED IN FEES AND SLOW DEPOSIT POSTINGS, To escape the cycle, you Must pay off what you owe and close, close, close that account!

CHARGE-, to mobile bank.

CHARGE- for your paper bank statement.

CHARGE - if you make less than 5 transactions in a month.

OVERDRAFT PROTECTION ON YOUR CHECKING ACCOUNT?

forget it, you must apply for a line of credit, then attach it to your checking account, you now have a loan on your credit report. But make sure it actually gets attached to your checking account.

Do you STILL want a Line of credit?.. here's the rules.

CHARGE- to send you your monthly bill

CHARGE- per transaction to actually use it

YOU CAN'T MAKE PAYMENTS THRU THE ATM.

So, you are still ok with all these and still want to bank with them..

ONLINE- bank statement:

Very difficult to read,

Loan due dates are very small and in italics. The very thing that most consumers want to be able to find easily.

Over the phone Customer service:

UNINTELLIGIBLE ENGLISH

probably out of India judging by the accent, I never had my problems resolved over the phone as I can't understand the CSR, In frustration, I just hang up.

Banking in person at local branches:

WAY to FEW tellers.

Local CSR seriously lack experience, they don't know how to resolve simple problems such as tellers depositing money in the wrong account. Tellers are preoccupied with other tasks, even when I am the only one standing in line, I wait in line.

Today I pay off my credit line, and close my account. I am soo done with keybank.. Too many fees, lousy customer service, and uninformed,inept tellers, who don't bother posting deposits in a timely manner.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

RickHar's Profile Image

RickHar reviewed National Penn

Apr 21st 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Great Bank with best people always ready to help

Been with the bank for years best group of workers-- competent and friendly makes you want to bank with them!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jmbell90's Profile Image

jmbell90 reviewed NVE Bank

Apr 20th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

This bank shouldn't even be around!!!

I feel victim to a criminal online merchant and, pleaded with the associates to help me nobody ever did. Instead they were hostile with me and, patronizing and made a idiotic suggestion. The bankers here are lazy and, they get away with behaving this way because they work at a small whole in the box branch .

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

flush_it_down_the_'s Profile Image

flush_it_down_the_ reviewed National Penn

Apr 20th 2015

2 out of 5 marks

Wire Transfer not done after nearly 2 hours

I have had very limited experience with them and beyond a normal deposit or withdrawal of money, I have not been impressed.

I went in to do a wire transfer that took nearly 2 hours when I walked out. Initial talks said that it would take a couple minutes after the info ran through. Later, after an initial hiccup in the info, they said they didn't know their processes nor how long it would take.

The internet gives people other options and the infinite human stupidity continues to push people to the internet as the sole option. Why go into a bank to waste time and deal with drama when you can do the same online for a lot less hassle?

Albert Einstein said that there were two infinite's in life. The universe and human stupidity and he wasn't so sure about the universe. Human beings are continuing to make that infinitely true.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Jrthethird's Profile Image

Jrthethird reviewed FirstMerit Bank

Apr 20th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

The worst banking I ever encountered

Today I cancelled my bank account with First Merit, I waited for over 35 minutes and it was 1 lady in front of me. Due to Slow service, hidden fees, and miscommunications. For example they took my debit card from me because I made deposits with change. I had to wait a whole week to get a brand new debit card and then When I got it back, the ATM refused to give me envelopes. My online banking kept getting locked without me messing up my security questions or password. I would get emails saying "You are now locked out of your online banking". When you call to ask questions, they act like your the one who's causing the problems. By far my worst banking. I'll never go back. I suggest if your in the Oberlin area to sign up with "Lorain National Bank"

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »