Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

cynthiasmith723gma's Profile Image

cynthiasmith723gma reviewed BBVA Compass Bank

Apr 14th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

not good

My daugther got scammed by a so Company names Underwild..They contacted by Email & Yahoo messenger...She lost her job the end of March...This company claimed to be some kind of Soft ware/Design Co...They ordered her some software but sent her a hefty check amount..She deposited the funds in her checking acct...The company instructed her to under $2100.00 of it what they sent and deposit into another Bank acct they had set up in the area she lives in...she was allowed to do this 2 days after the deposit at COmpass..She was allowed to withdraw cash...On the next day she pulled up her acct and there was no more funds at all in her acct...What personal money she had Compass also froze...What the hell are they doing letting her withdraw funds after only 2 days....Now they holding her Liable for the check being fraudulent and are expecting her to pay it all back...BS..She doesn' t have it and she didn't write the check...Compass told her there was nothing they can do for her and told her to contact the police....She has filed a police report...She is ruined with this bank...My ?? is why don't they go after the people who sent the check and deal with the Bank she was told to go deposit the other funds in...This is Ludicrous! The bank needs to work with the local authorities and the FTC on it...I am disgusted with Compass and telling her she is liable for this

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

DaveCollbran's Profile Image

DaveCollbran reviewed Suntrust Bank

Apr 14th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

DO NOT BANK WITH SUNTRUST

I closed my account with suntrust more than 5 years ago. I put in several requests and my account was at a $0.00 balance. The imbeciles who represent this disgusting organization did not close my account and allowing it to go into negative standing due to monthly maintenance fees.

Recently they sold my account to a third party debt collector and have no information since the account was closed. The representatives of this company have terrible attitudes and even worse customer service skills. They lack the knowledge and intelligence to successfully navigate their own internal computer system.

Crooked, stupid, swine. DO NOT BANK WITH THESE SCUMBAGS!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

qcqc's Profile Image

qcqc reviewed TD Bank

Apr 14th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

did not answer the phone DONT RESPECT CLIENT stay away from this BANK

very bad help when discuting loan needed.dont understand client need and type of job.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

bradle's Profile Image

bradle reviewed Wells Fargo

Apr 14th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Lackadaisical No Follow Through

We opened a business checking account in March. We got two business debit cards with it. They arrived in the mail with the sticker saying activate using your PIN. But we did not have a PIN. We thought the PIN would be sent under separate letter. Three weeks letter no PIN, I have done this before with Frost Bank no problem PIN under separate cover is there in one week. We have to go into the branch. The rep is totally using cliches oh sorry that happened. No explanation. My concern was a security concern. Big priority. We chose a PIN at the bank but never got an explanation for no PIN ever co,ing to us by mail. Slip up of some kind. Does not make me feel comfortable.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

BoycottWellsFargo's Profile Image

BoycottWellsFargo reviewed Wells Fargo

Apr 14th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

New terms, notice buried in boilerplate, fee charged, refused to reverse

I have had an account with Wells Fargo since they acquired Wachovia and my account at Wachovia. Recently they doubled their minimum daily account balance requirement on my grandfathered account. Notice of the change was buried in their terms and conditions. I did not receive an email or letter stating: Notice. Your Minimum Daily Account Balance has been doubled.

I dipped $10 below the new minimum daily account balance for a few days, and Wells Fargo assessed a $12 fee. I called their customer service number to request that the fee be reversed, since it was unfair to apply it without an obvious notice. The person with whom I spoke was a nasty, argumentative man. He said that the new minimum daily balance was in the terms on my account statement, that I had proper notice, and that he would not reverse the fee.

I also have accounts at Chase and Charles Schwab Bank. Charles Schwab has the best bank by far, with the fewest fees and hidden charges. Chase may not have the best terms, but their customer service is excellent. Wells Fargo is the worst of the three with terrible terms and terrible customer service -- but it is by far the most profitable for shareholders. (As a European visitor asked in the 1920s when seeing the lavish yachts of the leading Wall Street bankers, "Where are the customers's yachts?")

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

SMLaker's Profile Image

SMLaker reviewed Hometown Bank (Roanoke, VA)

Apr 14th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Love this bank!

Friendly, fast and efficient service. Great lobby hours make it very convenient to bank in-person when I need special services.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

NewBedfordMa's Profile Image

NewBedfordMa reviewed Santander Bank

Apr 14th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Predatory practices against the elderly.

My father has early stage dementia and cannot remember a lot of things. Last week when checking on the shared account that my sister holds with my 85 year old father, my sister found that all but 500 dollars of my fathers account had been withdrawn. Upon further investigation, she found that during one of his weekly withdrawals a teller at the ASHLEY BLVD. branch in NEW BEDFORD, MASSACHUSETTS talked him into putting all his money into a CD for 15 months.

When my sister spoke to the manager, with my father present, my father denied ever making the transaction,. He further declares that wasn't his signature on the withdrawal slip because he didn't remember signing it. In the face of this obvious error, the manager said that inorder to get his money back into his checking account, my father will have to pay the early withdralwal fee.

Santander Bank employs deceptive, predatory, financial practices against the old and infirmed and then CHARGES them to correct the wrong that they did.

Despicable.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Renea's Profile Image

Renea reviewed Suntrust Bank

Apr 13th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible! They stole my ID and my Original Birth Certificate! Stolen by Kenneth (don't know what he is)

I had a check written to me from a Craigslist customer who was buying a purse from me for $75.00. I went there twice to try and cash it because it was written from a Suntrust account holder. The first visit Kenneth examined the check and said nothing negative about the check itself but said I needed marriage certificate and divorce decree to follow my last name changing, etc. etc. I returned a few days later after the manager said I could cash it with the ID I had which was my Ga. ID and my Original Birth Certificate. After waiting for quite awhile, he took me to a desk in the center of the bank and accused me of making this check myself...said it was a fake and I guess that I created it and printed it out myself and then made-up names or something on it. I started crying cause I had no idea about any of this and he was blaming me. Would I really come into a bank with a counterfeit check and forged names and try to cash it with my real ID and birth certificate? He refused to give me my ID and birth certificate back and told me if I open my mouth to say anything at all he would call the authorities. My son was with me and he said I had to get up and leave right then without my personal stuff if I wanted to have my son leave with me. So he threatened to have my son taken from me if I tried to speak or get my stuff. I was so upset and scared and with my son there, I did just that...I left. He also told me his manager was shady and did illegal shady deals and that I must be one of the people she does them with. I had only met her a year prior when she helped me get money Suntrust had owed me for 3 years. She is a honest person. Kenneth (teller?...asst. manager?...don't know what his position is) is an angry, unprofessional bullying thief! I have contacted the authorities myself now and was told that he had no right to keep my personal items and he acted illegally and that I should have called the police myself that day and he wouldn't have gotten away with it.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

ADaggerMiller's Profile Image

ADaggerMiller reviewed Fifth Third Bank

Apr 13th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

A rollercoaster ride

I don't want to have to think about my bank. Fifth Third calls itself the "curious" bank. I still have no clue what that ridiculous slogan means, because curiosity presumes interest in your customers's specific needs, and I don't see that. When I first opened my accounts at what is now Fifth Third, the bank had a different name. Then it was bought out. And bought out again. So here it is 2014, and it is Fifth Third, where many of the personnel seem poorly trained and disorganized, and the "experts" make numerous mistakes (as in calculating interest when I've gone in person to talk to a bank manager). I just spent several hours on the phone in the last week having them correct more of THEIR errors. It took three phone calls to finally straighten it all out. Their policies have changed and I was misinformed about which checking accounts were free. They agreed that I had been, and it was corrected, BUT it took a great deal of time and energy. I was also charged for an annual fee that has always been waived in the past, and was told there was no way to change it permanently, that I will need to call every year to have them do this. Banking at Fifth Third is a full-time job--for YOU. The left hand doesn't seem to know what the right hand is doing. I want to change banks so badly, but it's such a hassle, and my mortgage is there. That's another thing. Two years ago, when rates dropped, the mortgage guy did not tell me even when I point-blank asked him. I have refinanced since then, but I couldn't help feeling his omission was deliberate, just so the bank could get the extra money. Anyway, if you're looking for a bank, this isn't it!!!! I'm tired of being told I'm a valued customer. I want to see the evidence. I'm tired of thinking about my bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

lahoozaahotmailcom's Profile Image

lahoozaahotmailcom reviewed US Bank

Apr 12th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Bank Ever - Do Not Go Here

I have a common name - somebody walked into a bank with my account number and successfully withdrew money from my account - that is physically walked into a bank, and the teller allowed them to get my money. Now us bank is pointing the finger back at me as though i am a criminal. This happened in another state, at a branch i have never been to in my life. Do not, i repeat, do not use us bank unless you want your money stolen due to negligence. Worst customer service i have ever experienced in my life. Period.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0