Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

Marni's Profile Image

Marni reviewed Wells Fargo

Apr 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible Customer Service

A bank representative said my account would be open until a certain date, I only had 8.00 dollars to pay. I went in before said date and they closed my account prior unbeknown to me. It was unfortunate since a massive tax return was being sent to the account. They opened a new account and said they would move the return to the new account, but sat on it two days and it was refunded. Then they gave me a checking account, again, state return is headed to the new checking account that is now closed but that I was told I would not have to use for 90 days as a courtesy to me for their mistake. No warning letter of disclosure, nothing through my online banking account to warn me that I wouldn't be able to log in. So of course I go to log in and cannot do so. Wells Fargo is the lousiest bank in the world!!!!! The representative at the Wells Fargo Albertsons Branch in Henderson Nevada (named Claudia) could not get it right. When my husband and I explained the mistake they made with regard to my account, she did not know how to help. My husband had to explain it to her step by step. Then when we went to main branch in Henderson, another bank manager failed to inform me that I had a time limit to use it before my account would close. Again, I was told I had 90 days to sit on it as a courtesy of their mistake. They have horrible help, flippant men and women working customer service. People who do not understand their own system. They also charge high rates just to bank with them. I'm extremely happy to not be using them as a bank and will be moving my service to US Bank, which I hear is far superior.

Screw you Wells Fargo! And you too Claudia!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

MonicaMcKoy's Profile Image

MonicaMcKoy reviewed Suntrust Bank

Apr 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Fees Have to be illegal somehow....

I agree with other customers. We are struggling financially and are suddenly being charged $36.00 for a NSF fee and then another $36.00 fee hits 6 days later if we haven't been able to correct the account.

My mother is currently trying to pay off the negative balance of her account as quickly as possible in order to close it and the sad part about it is that she has had this one and only account since 1969. That's right.....she opened this account 44 years ago in 1969 and has used it flawlessly until the last 6 months when, due to a relapse of her Multiple Sclerosis (which she has had for 28 years) cause her to struggle somewhat financially.

Ironically, that's the exact time that Suntrust started double charging the $36.00 fees from people who are obviously already hurting.

I never saw the addendum where this was added on but I would have thought a 44 year old account would have been exempt or at the least Grandfathered in somehow.

I certainly wish we, the customers could randomly go along and add whatever we wanted to to our own accounts that would be beneficial to us the way Suntrust has abused and taken advantage of it's loyal customers by randomly adding fees and new rules out of the blue.

And did I mention that we have made 5.....FIVE.....5........ attempts to speak to the branch manager Deaundra Wood regarding trouble with my mom's account starting back last November of 2013? Well we are still waiting for her to return our calls, messages and for her to respond to the 3...THREE visits we made to the branch even though it's 45 minutes away.

My mother has always had wonderful things to say about Suntrust and has helped several family members acquire accounts there throughout the years but believe me.....she is certainly speaking differently about them now. She is also taking too many relatives to count on with her to her new bank. I'm sure Suntrust won't feel a thing in losing 25 accounts but my mom is suddenly smiling.....all the way to her new bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MonChoix1008's Profile Image

MonChoix1008 reviewed M&T Bank

Apr 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Sneaky. Underhanded...

Not qualities you want in a bank.

Case in point: pulled up to the local branch where my husband and I opened an account. Before withdrawing money, wanted to check the recent transaction history (as I have done with other banks with no issues). The option given was "mini statement". After proceeding with the mini statement, was given a receipt sized sheet with a handful of transactions. Since I wanted to see more, chose the next page (another receipt sized slip) and one more page. When I checked the bank account online, I saw I was charged $3 total for these 3 tiny sheets. What?! At my own branch? Without warning? At least with other banks when you go to withdraw money, there is a courtesy warning that you will be charged some fee. So I inquired about this to a service rep. This is what came in reply:

"Although, a balance inquiry is free at an M&T ATM, a $1.00 fee is assessed for a printed mini statement."

"I wish to note this fee is noted in the Electronic Banking Card and Telephone Transaction Disclosure and Agreement you received with your M&T VISA Check card."

Yes folks, you should have known because it was given to you in the enclosure when you received your card in the mail. Therefore, M&T has full license to charge you for trying to find out about your recent transactions at one of their branches. Ridiculous. Who knows what other sneaky tactics they use to take your money.

Yes, $3 is certainly a small amount of money, but this underhanded practice gives me no reason to trust this bank. Suffice it to say, my husband and I will be taking our business elsewhere.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

mayvilleresident's Profile Image

mayvilleresident reviewed Mayville State Bank

Apr 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

not community friendly

The bank states in their slogan serving the community since 1885 . They employees can be rude at times. The bank's Policies are only followed when it benefits them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

triplet's Profile Image

triplet reviewed Capital One

Apr 21st 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Worst online banking ever......

Their accounts and credit cards are not consolidated even for business banking. So you have logins for every different credit card holder and the main company. Ridiculous! Of course they don't tell you this when enrolling (this was last month, not years ago). They say upgrades are coming soon.......

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Charlie0100's Profile Image

Charlie0100 reviewed Wells Fargo

Apr 21st 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Thank you for making me feel at home in your bank.

This is the place to be for your banking needs, My experience was wonderful on my first visit. The bank Manager and the employees are very Professional and Friendly, I am very happy to be a customer of this bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

Silhouette's Profile Image

Silhouette reviewed Bank of America

Apr 21st 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Unnecessary Fees

I put a large amount of money in my account to pay for one of my school fees. I thought that everything was taken care of, because there was enough money in the account to cover all the money that the school wanted from me. The school took money out of my account, and I was okay with this, because I thought everything was taken care of. This was not the case.

Bank of America took over a week and a half to process that amount of money. They also put a hold on my account. Then when the school finally took the money that I owed them out of the account, Bank of America told me that my account was overdrawn! This frustrated me, because there was enough money in the account!

Then they started adding overdraft fees onto my account.The overdraft fees were completely unnecessary; it was not my fault that the bank took too long to process the money. The overdraft fees started to build up, and I owed the bank $75, even though there should not have been a problem

I called customer service and was told that I would be refunded for my fees and that they would have everything taken care of by the end of the day. Yeah, right. It took them another 5 days to figure everything out, and I had to call them multiple times to make sure they didn't screw me over. If I hadn't been carefully watching my account, I would be in trouble.

Oh, and here's the kicker: while they were processing my money they told me that I had to wait for them to process the money before I could make any purchases. This was not a problem for me, because I am a college student with supportive parents. But, what if I was a single parent that needed to buy necessities for my children? A week and a half is a long time. They were lucky I didn't need to buy anything important.

But, this entire fiasco screwed me over with my school. I now have overdraft fees for my school, because of the bank's screw up! I'm unable to register for my classes, because of the bank's error. So, now I have to figure that out too.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

1225's Profile Image

1225 reviewed Capital One

Apr 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

International wire transfer service

Capital One Bank international wire transfer service is horrible since they merged with Chevy Chase Bank. Their international wire transfer service hour is 9 am to 2 pm. weekday.

(they do not international wire transfer on Saturday). I am working full time but I took the day off on Friday and went to Capital One Bank and do completed international wires transfer. However, the banker called later and said it is declined because banker did not put to wire purpose.

I do not understand why they need to know for transfer purpose, it is my money and will be withdrawal from my account (actually for my family support). They already checked my drive license and I got copy of transferred receipt, I asked them if they can fax to me I can put my signature and re-fax to them. But they denied my suggestion and told me that I have to stop by bank again. They should provide all information and make sure their job before customer finally stepped out of bank door.

This is second time, I got rejected. Last time, another Capital One branch banker made type error it also rejected. I never have seen like that before any of poor customer services. It is terrible and stupid banking system!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

unpleasecustomer's Profile Image

1 out of 5 marks

WHAT A JOKE OF A BANK

My whole experience sucks. Nothing but trouble. Hours are awful. Most tellers rude. I counted out my deposit money exactly. The teller was trying to multitask and was doing a terrible job of it. She was trying to do my deposit, talk on the phone, give directions, and she dropped my money, my slip, and finally had to hang up. Then she tells me my deposit was off by 50$. She counted out her drawer and said no, I didn't make a mistake. She shafted me 50$ and wasn't even apologetic. They only hire Black people, wait, maybe a White person every blue moon. The ladies sit there gossiping and more worried about their hair and nails. What a joke. I have been on the phone now for 15 min trying to get a simple question answered and NO ONE can answer. How long after I make a deposit until it shows in my account? That's sad. THE BEST BANK IS WOODFOREST NATL BANK. It is in many of the Walmarts but not TN. THAT'S WHAT'S SAD.

They don't have a night deposit. The reason I was given, they had too much trash left in it. IMAGINE THAT. Trash for trash.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jameslavelle's Profile Image

jameslavelle reviewed Citizens Bank

Apr 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

COLD, GREEDY, BLOODSUCKING THIEVES

I was a citizens customer for over 10 years. I have a checking, mortgage and equity line of credit. I have NEVER overdrawn my checking, made my line of credit payment early every month and had my mortgage payment automatically deducted from my checking. I also had direct deposit of my pay.

On feb 1st of this year, I had a severe financial emergency. It was a tough decision, but I had to withdraw most of my pay from my checking account. I did however, leave enough funds in the account to cover 6 smaller debit charges I had made. I fully intended to replace the money in 2 weeks to cover the mortgage, and I was more then willing to pay an overdraft fee to cover the missed automatic mortgage payment.

Before I could even begin to recover, the thieves stepped in and completely CRUSHED me with ridiculous fees. My all time favorite is their $6.99 a day for 10 day sustained overdraft fee. The only thing they forgot to do was come over and slash my tires.

My checking is now closed (good riddance) and I am now receiving threatening letters from the bank...they say I owe almost $1000.00 and if I don't pay they will report me to chexsystems and the major credit bureaus. Thanks Citizens

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0