Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

bradle's Profile Image

bradle reviewed Wells Fargo

Apr 14th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Lackadaisical No Follow Through

We opened a business checking account in March. We got two business debit cards with it. They arrived in the mail with the sticker saying activate using your PIN. But we did not have a PIN. We thought the PIN would be sent under separate letter. Three weeks letter no PIN, I have done this before with Frost Bank no problem PIN under separate cover is there in one week. We have to go into the branch. The rep is totally using cliches oh sorry that happened. No explanation. My concern was a security concern. Big priority. We chose a PIN at the bank but never got an explanation for no PIN ever co,ing to us by mail. Slip up of some kind. Does not make me feel comfortable.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

BoycottWellsFargo's Profile Image

BoycottWellsFargo reviewed Wells Fargo

Apr 14th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

New terms, notice buried in boilerplate, fee charged, refused to reverse

I have had an account with Wells Fargo since they acquired Wachovia and my account at Wachovia. Recently they doubled their minimum daily account balance requirement on my grandfathered account. Notice of the change was buried in their terms and conditions. I did not receive an email or letter stating: Notice. Your Minimum Daily Account Balance has been doubled.

I dipped $10 below the new minimum daily account balance for a few days, and Wells Fargo assessed a $12 fee. I called their customer service number to request that the fee be reversed, since it was unfair to apply it without an obvious notice. The person with whom I spoke was a nasty, argumentative man. He said that the new minimum daily balance was in the terms on my account statement, that I had proper notice, and that he would not reverse the fee.

I also have accounts at Chase and Charles Schwab Bank. Charles Schwab has the best bank by far, with the fewest fees and hidden charges. Chase may not have the best terms, but their customer service is excellent. Wells Fargo is the worst of the three with terrible terms and terrible customer service -- but it is by far the most profitable for shareholders. (As a European visitor asked in the 1920s when seeing the lavish yachts of the leading Wall Street bankers, "Where are the customers's yachts?")

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

SMLaker's Profile Image

SMLaker reviewed Hometown Bank (Roanoke, VA)

Apr 14th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Love this bank!

Friendly, fast and efficient service. Great lobby hours make it very convenient to bank in-person when I need special services.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

NewBedfordMa's Profile Image

NewBedfordMa reviewed Santander Bank

Apr 14th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Predatory practices against the elderly.

My father has early stage dementia and cannot remember a lot of things. Last week when checking on the shared account that my sister holds with my 85 year old father, my sister found that all but 500 dollars of my fathers account had been withdrawn. Upon further investigation, she found that during one of his weekly withdrawals a teller at the ASHLEY BLVD. branch in NEW BEDFORD, MASSACHUSETTS talked him into putting all his money into a CD for 15 months.

When my sister spoke to the manager, with my father present, my father denied ever making the transaction,. He further declares that wasn't his signature on the withdrawal slip because he didn't remember signing it. In the face of this obvious error, the manager said that inorder to get his money back into his checking account, my father will have to pay the early withdralwal fee.

Santander Bank employs deceptive, predatory, financial practices against the old and infirmed and then CHARGES them to correct the wrong that they did.

Despicable.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Renea's Profile Image

Renea reviewed Suntrust Bank

Apr 13th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible! They stole my ID and my Original Birth Certificate! Stolen by Kenneth (don't know what he is)

I had a check written to me from a Craigslist customer who was buying a purse from me for $75.00. I went there twice to try and cash it because it was written from a Suntrust account holder. The first visit Kenneth examined the check and said nothing negative about the check itself but said I needed marriage certificate and divorce decree to follow my last name changing, etc. etc. I returned a few days later after the manager said I could cash it with the ID I had which was my Ga. ID and my Original Birth Certificate. After waiting for quite awhile, he took me to a desk in the center of the bank and accused me of making this check myself...said it was a fake and I guess that I created it and printed it out myself and then made-up names or something on it. I started crying cause I had no idea about any of this and he was blaming me. Would I really come into a bank with a counterfeit check and forged names and try to cash it with my real ID and birth certificate? He refused to give me my ID and birth certificate back and told me if I open my mouth to say anything at all he would call the authorities. My son was with me and he said I had to get up and leave right then without my personal stuff if I wanted to have my son leave with me. So he threatened to have my son taken from me if I tried to speak or get my stuff. I was so upset and scared and with my son there, I did just that...I left. He also told me his manager was shady and did illegal shady deals and that I must be one of the people she does them with. I had only met her a year prior when she helped me get money Suntrust had owed me for 3 years. She is a honest person. Kenneth (teller?...asst. manager?...don't know what his position is) is an angry, unprofessional bullying thief! I have contacted the authorities myself now and was told that he had no right to keep my personal items and he acted illegally and that I should have called the police myself that day and he wouldn't have gotten away with it.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

ADaggerMiller's Profile Image

ADaggerMiller reviewed Fifth Third Bank

Apr 13th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

A rollercoaster ride

I don't want to have to think about my bank. Fifth Third calls itself the "curious" bank. I still have no clue what that ridiculous slogan means, because curiosity presumes interest in your customers's specific needs, and I don't see that. When I first opened my accounts at what is now Fifth Third, the bank had a different name. Then it was bought out. And bought out again. So here it is 2014, and it is Fifth Third, where many of the personnel seem poorly trained and disorganized, and the "experts" make numerous mistakes (as in calculating interest when I've gone in person to talk to a bank manager). I just spent several hours on the phone in the last week having them correct more of THEIR errors. It took three phone calls to finally straighten it all out. Their policies have changed and I was misinformed about which checking accounts were free. They agreed that I had been, and it was corrected, BUT it took a great deal of time and energy. I was also charged for an annual fee that has always been waived in the past, and was told there was no way to change it permanently, that I will need to call every year to have them do this. Banking at Fifth Third is a full-time job--for YOU. The left hand doesn't seem to know what the right hand is doing. I want to change banks so badly, but it's such a hassle, and my mortgage is there. That's another thing. Two years ago, when rates dropped, the mortgage guy did not tell me even when I point-blank asked him. I have refinanced since then, but I couldn't help feeling his omission was deliberate, just so the bank could get the extra money. Anyway, if you're looking for a bank, this isn't it!!!! I'm tired of being told I'm a valued customer. I want to see the evidence. I'm tired of thinking about my bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

lahoozaahotmailcom's Profile Image

lahoozaahotmailcom reviewed US Bank

Apr 12th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Bank Ever - Do Not Go Here

I have a common name - somebody walked into a bank with my account number and successfully withdrew money from my account - that is physically walked into a bank, and the teller allowed them to get my money. Now us bank is pointing the finger back at me as though i am a criminal. This happened in another state, at a branch i have never been to in my life. Do not, i repeat, do not use us bank unless you want your money stolen due to negligence. Worst customer service i have ever experienced in my life. Period.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

HerbalGerbils's Profile Image

1 out of 5 marks

Bad for regular banking, period.

I just moved to Kansas and opened an account last week. Was told i had to " apply " for a check card, say what !?!?!? And then I was watching tv and seen they have their name on a huge arena. These 2 items tell me this bank doesn't care about the little people, I will not do business with a bank that does this kinda stuff, also looked at their online ratings and its in poor to low quality for products and general banking.

Seeing that I had to" Apply " for a check card to access my own money I have decided to close my account. Also customer rep I opened account with says they don't issue cards at the bank when ya open it up due to id theft. This made no sense to me since they have to mail it and id thefts #1 place to steal from is the mail box. Why lie to your customers face? and why make a customer Apply for a check card like a credit card? That tells your customer that you don't trust them with their own money.

Went to use or sign up for online services and says i have to wait for approval for that too? Ya, so having less access to my money than I did with great western bank in the 80's isn't going to make me want to use this bank. I shouldn't have to apply for online services or access to my own money.

Downloaded their app for my iPhone, requires same approval that the online services do, says takes 7-10 business days to get approval, wont be with this bank long enough for that to happen.

Also, their overdraft rates are rediculas, I haven't incurred any charges yet since I have only just opened the account but after reading their deposit agreement after I got home. Obviously i cant spend any of my own money. No one will take the checks with no printed name on it.

Needless to say this account will be closed come monday. Still cashing 2 money orders to open an account over the weekend was cheaper than a check cashing places charges.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

KeithFroelich's Profile Image

KeithFroelich reviewed Guaranty Bank, WI

Apr 12th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Utterly inept and. for now. effective account tampering and ODP, up for which I did not sign.

This is truly a Mafia style operation where fair banking practices and customer complaints are not welcome. How many of us are out there, I wonder. I never had a problem with the bank until I called to inform them of two illegitimate charges. They instigated a two day investigation and pronounced the charges from FREE CREDIT SCORE and INSTANT CHECKMATE, two of the biggest scam artists online,to be valid. I called and talked to a very rude woman, i wish I'd written down her name, who was very adamant that I was lying and the charges would stand. She even referred to these bottom feeders as "merchants". Collusion-oh, obviously-why else would they accept the validity of the charges without considering what a 3 year customer says unless they got a kickback. Every other bank with which I've dealt, without questioning, gave me a provisional credit and made the charge back permanent within a month.(egTCF,the manager of local West St. Paul branch was incredulous over the story I'm about to tell you. I see now how they were setting me up for the largest cashectomy that's I've ever experienced. Absolutely diabolical. To my astonishment, they would not issue me a new debit card. Of course, once a customer becomes a mark, as I can see now that I was so considered, everything falls into place. I should mention they sent a couple goons who wanted to meet and "work"with me. A lawyer advised against it. The security officers who played dumb iare Jack Talbot and Todd Richarson, Pres and VP of Security'

Frightened, I withdrew $1400 from the bank, leaving enough to test their claim that when I was overdrawn, the card would simply be refused. GOTCHA! The card finally was refused but only after I had gone over my existing funds. I counted the original scam, illegal charges as part of the money left into the account. When I went into collect my SSDI check, they presented me with a statement which read -61.00. I immediately expressed my bewilderment and headed straight for the police.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

moseshernandez's Profile Image

moseshernandez reviewed Bank of America

Apr 12th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

worst experience banking with them and the customer service in this branch sucks. .

I closed my account Because of this branch... worst experience with this branch not one time but 3 or 4 times I been there even to cash my payroll checks they are unreal ..... because of this branch I would never open an account with BOA again..

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0