Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

palfaro38's Profile Image

palfaro38 reviewed Regions Bank

Sep 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Very Bad Financial Advice

I am a customer of regions for years and a few days ago was contacted by mr. Peter [Redacted] ( champions gate branch - regions bank) offering me a credit card. I told him that i couldn't afford another credit card. He was checking probably my profile with the bank and at that time, and told me that he knew that i had a personal loan with regions with a fixed interest. He could get me a credit card with 0 % to transfer the balance of my personal loan to that new credit card with 0 % for 12 months.

He also explained to me that once open the credit card the balance in my personal loan would be transferred automatically to this new credit card. He did open the credit card but the balance was never transferred. I waited a few days and asked peter yelverton about it and he said that he was about to call me to let me know that the transferred is not possible because " both loans belongs to the same institution".

Of course he knew that from the beginning and he still sold me a credit card that i don't need. Later he advised me that i can go to any business that i know and pay with the credit card and asked the business to give me the cash to pay off my personal loan. I can not believe that a "financial adviser" told me that. I am completely unsatisfied with this person and with the bank. They sold me something that i don't need and lied to me to probably get his commissions.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

kingjohnvi's Profile Image

kingjohnvi reviewed M&T Bank

Sep 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Only staying because it's too hard to leave

After receiving $300+ in fines over the course of a few days from this bank, I figured I'd have to step up and say something. I've used M&T my whole life, but that's only because I have everything hooked up to my M&T bank account and it's too much of a hassle to switch everything elsewhere.

Don't get me wrong; M&T has its upsides. The 24-hour ATM cash/check deposits is a huge time-saver. It's so convenient that it almost makes up for their awful hours, which are so short that I'm almost never actually able to make it in due to my own work schedule.

Where the bank really gets me is the customer service. Time and time again I've had to deal with people at the banks talking down to me, ignoring my issues, and blatantly treating me like they don't care. Frankly, it's disgusting.

I know banks are typically at least a little greedy, but don't ever go into even a dollar of debt with M&T. Once you're in debt, they will do everything in their power to keep you in debt with constant, ridiculous fees that they won't tell you about until it's far too late.

M&T doesn't treat me like a customer, or even really like a person. They treat me like a sack of money, and that's not what I need in a bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jimrlinehan's Profile Image

jimrlinehan reviewed IBC Bank

Sep 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Bank In America

Ibc is hands down the worst bank in america. (does not even rank 1 star. )

extremely incompetent employees. They are all trainees, you will never find the same clerk twice nor one with any knowledge of banking. Extremely bad service. You will be forced to wait outside in the weather until an employee inside hears your knowing on their door and buzzes you in. This is due ibc being robbed so often. Wait times:

inside banking, simple transaction: min. 15 minutes. Drivethrough: simple deposit: min 20 minutes. Telephone call time: you will rarely if ever reach anyone with any knowledge, if you do, you will average hold times of 25 mins and longer. Email? Forget it. Faxes? Forget it. Mobile banking? A complete joke, forget it. Photo deposits? Ibc does not do that. After hours banking? Non existent

lost checks, deposits, transactions? Routine with ibc. Overcharges? Ibc will at a minimum routinely charge $35 for each and every incident of overdrafts, returned checks, stop payments, or any simple bank business you need. Free checking? No way. If you value service, competence, intelligence and just overall safety of your finances and business, do not use this bank. You would be better off with a mason jar buried in the bank yard.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Stoly51's Profile Image

Stoly51 reviewed Bank of America

Sep 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Guidelines

Definition: a rule or rules giving guidance on how to behave in a situation.

Not rules governing a situation.

Having had mortgages with BoA and still having my primary residence mortgage w/BoA,I applied to refi at a lower rate. Currently paying about $1000.00 mo., refi would be about $600.00 /mo.I have never been late or skipped a payment in my life. BoA tells me their guidelines say I cant afford a mortgage payment of $600.00/mo. REALLY ? I am slowly removing all my business from BoA. What a bunch idiots !

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MA12345's Profile Image

MA12345 reviewed Webster Bank

Sep 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Embezzaling Scumbags

Webster Bank is a pathetic excuse for banking! The automated system that they offer can't be trusted, period end of story! Made an ATM withdrawal which showed the remaining balance to match what the automated system said. Direct Deposit paycheck going in 4 hours later as in end of business day! Well this scumbag excuse of a bank thinks its ok to embezzle $185 saying there was not enough money to cover transactions! BS, i have it on printed ATM receipt along with work direct deposit check going in 4 hours later! Thieves should be prosecuted. Bottom line is, stay far away from this bank because they will steal your hard earned money and not admit their system is flawed!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

junior's Profile Image

junior reviewed Santander Bank

Sep 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Rude and unprofessional service

I dread every time I have to go to this bank! They take their time coming to the drive-up window and are not friendly. When they smile, it is not sincere. I needed to speak to a person behind a desk for a particular matter and was ignored for about five to ten minutes before I was even acknowledged. The person who took care of me was direct and unfriendly. Never asked, Is there anything else I can do for you today?" This person was in a rush to get rid of me!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

marynell's Profile Image

5 out of 5 marks

1 word: Family

All i can say is i am treated like family there you don't get a higher compliment there is no way to even try to compare them to the rest they are uncomparable

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

BlueJay's Profile Image

BlueJay reviewed Chase

Sep 9th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Canceled card without notifying me

I am so annoyed with this bank. I deposited a check into my account on a Sunday afternoon, and was informed that it the whole check would be available 2 days later, and some was available now. When I went to purchase a money order it would not go through. The next day I tried to use my card again and it was declined. I had to go to a bank teller who informed me that my card had been canceled!!! I was beyond pissed especially since I never got a text, email, or phone call about this. They just locked it cause they claimed they suspected fraud. I'm so over this bank

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

rtm727's Profile Image

rtm727 reviewed TCF Bank

Sep 9th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

How are you not online in 2014?

Besides the annoying long wait times on the phone, always at least 15 minutes. How is it that a bank in 2014 doesn't offer any services online!? I can veiw my account!? wow, thanks. I can't even pay my card online. I had my real bank send them a check through the mail the only way they could and TCF denied it and said that account number for my bank didn't exist! WHAT!? and then tried to cahrge me late fee. I have only had this account for 2 months nad have already had a problem each month.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

JeffM's Profile Image

JeffM reviewed Hancock Bank

Sep 9th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Not helpful

I have had an average of 3 business accounts at this bank and I am displeased with the lack of customer service and a cavalier attitude toward my needs as a business founder and CEO. I am denied read only access to my accounts and told I do not have access. Spoke to the Assistant Mgr. and got n o-where. I plan to move my account to Sun Coast where my need for information is welcome.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates