Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

Sickofbankfees's Profile Image

Sickofbankfees reviewed Citizens Bank

Mar 23rd 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Just looking to make money

I gave them another try after winning a suit against them a few years ago and opened a small business account. Big mistake! I made a mistake in subtraction and overdrew .34, and I was charged $35. I went to the ATM the day I received the notice to deposit the funds, but the receipt said I was still overdrawn $6.99! They were charging me daily! Last I knew the law says you can only charge an extended overdraft fee ONE time. I guess they are above the law. I called and was basically told "too bad". I am sorry I gave them a second chance. Should have known better. I will be closing my account tomorrow.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

goneelsewhere's Profile Image

goneelsewhere reviewed Webster Bank

Mar 22nd 2015

1 out of 5 marks

REFUSAL OF LAON

I REQUESTED A LOAN TO PAY OFF MY CREDIT CARD WITH YOU, SO MY DEBT WOULD NOT HAVE CHANGED. I WAS TOLD I OWE TOO MUCH AND MY INCOME DIDN'T QUALIFY???? MY DEBT AMOUNT WOULD NOT HAVE CHANGED, I AM NOT LATE PAYING MY BILLS OR EVER MISSED A MONTH. I HAVE HAD LOANS WITH YOU BEFORE AND NEVER DEFAULTED. I'M 68 YRS OLD, PROBABLY TOO OLD FOR A LOAN. I WAS GOING TO CHANGE BANKS INSTEAD I OPENED A SAVINGS ACOUNT ELSEWHERE AND THE MONEY IN YOUR BANK'S SAVINGS ACCOUNT WILL BE LESS AND WILL NEVER INCREASE. WHEN I NEED SOMETHING I WILL GO TO MY OTHER BANK.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Anonymous2015's Profile Image

Anonymous2015 reviewed Bank of the West

Mar 21st 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Poor Customer Relations

I arrived prior to the bank's opening. I waited a distance from the door and ate my snacks. I was not bothering anyone, yet some lady came to me and said I couldn't sit there and had to go somewhere until the bank opened. I have been a customer for over 15 years and this has never happened. I was very tempted to find another bank. I usually have a pleasant experience there. Not today. Totally burst my bubble today. I felt like I was being treated as some criminal. The lady didn't even bother to find out what my bank business was or who I was. Nothing.I think she was entirely very very rude. Please treat others as you would want to be treated. I may be finding another bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

reapirr's Profile Image

reapirr reviewed Bank of the Sierra

Mar 21st 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible Bank in every way shape or form!

Their hours suck,their customer service sucks,you lose your card or just need a new one they charge you for it,and it goes on & on & on.Do yourself a favor and go to Well's Fargo like i did & you'll be treated like a bank should treat you for having your money there unlike the BOS!To be honest i really don't know how in the hell they stay in business i really don't,and as far as being voted the #1 online bank 4 years in a row well there's an easy explanation for that which is THEY BRIBED SOMEONE!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

wendij74's Profile Image

wendij74 reviewed Santander Bank

Mar 21st 2015

4 out of 5 marks

so far so good

I have had a very pleasant experience w everyone in the office so far. They have all been very helpful to me. My only problem I have experienced is the "bankers hours" lol being that they are only open til 5pm. Other than that I like them

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Blewcrowe's Profile Image

5 out of 5 marks

I like local!

Seems like by the time a bank names's ink dries on the paper, the bank is sold again; all with promises that nothing will change, and it always does. I like local. From ancient beginnings Elmer Bank has stood steadfast. I don't know if they can survive forever independently with the cost and personnel slashing the conglomerates do, but congrats to Elmer for doing it better than most others.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

bdarnell2239's Profile Image

bdarnell2239 reviewed TD Bank

Mar 20th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

thieves

Do not deal with this company. I paid a payment on my account online the same day it was due. I paid around 7pm, come to find out that their cutoff was 5pm in the afternoon ...really talk about bankers hours even online.... anyway after 5pm it goes on the next day which not only caused late charge but in my case also dropped my line of credit from $3800 to zero.... they reimbursed my late charge but decided that i was no longer a customer they wanted..... ooh well i'll still use their money at zero interest for the next two years.... dont deal with this bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Petersen9977's Profile Image

Petersen9977 reviewed New York Community Bank

Mar 20th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Change of Password due to change of Log-On procedure

Had to change my password because MynyCB changed their Log-On System.

Went to my branch on Northern Blvd. in Jackson Heights, NY, 5 times. Called their tel# 877-786-6560 at least 3 times, and wrote one Contact-Us letter. Was still not able to get into my account. Found out myself, that it only worked on SAFARI, and NOT on FIREFOX. However, I still can not get in with my I-Pad, which only has SAFARI. Called again today and they suggested I sign up for Internet Explorer.

Now, I new that there was something very wrong with the log-in to Mynycb.

Internet Explorer is supposed to be phased out, so why should I now make it my primary browser? Why is their system not set up that I can get in on Firefox with my Apple computer? Why can't I get in on the I-Pad via SAFARI. Why does it take 5 to 10 minutes to reach a person on 877-786-6560? Why is your new system built on failing or obsolete or runner-up browsers? I have been with your bank at least 20 years and was very satisfied with the service. Lately, however, with all the renovations and "improvements" going on, with an ever-changing team of new employees, I am losing trust in this bank. I would be very grateful if MYNYCB could answer my questions, and/or advise me.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Jerelithus's Profile Image

Jerelithus reviewed Peoples United Bank

Mar 20th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Prepare to be robbed

Every transaction or change you make you will pay for. When my bank was Merrill Bank I had much better luck and as a matter of fact when I accidentally overdrew once they forgave me for it and didn't charge me when I knew full well it was my fault. Now I had debit card network charges, monthly charges, charges for charging me so much, I since have changed my bank account, but I wanted to keep a savings. Come to find out there is a charge for not having a minimum balance, they did not tell me that part so I'm finally going to dump them.

Basically you give them your money and they come up with fees to justify taking it. There is no point of opening an account that's a savings or any other type of account if you want to save money. Give a man a gun and he can rob a bank, give a man a bank and he can rob the world. I have since gotten a car loan at a credit union, and have a checking and savings that I get monthly dividends into my account which for the first month is more money than I have ever gotten in interest from this bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

oldcoastie's Profile Image

5 out of 5 marks

Consolidated banking and finances

We consolidated almost all financial accounts here when other user-friendly local banks hit tough times and were bought by big, less-friendly banks. Very happy with their banking, financial and investment support, and integrated trust departments. Can't comment on their insurance products...don't use.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »