Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

krbankdisaster's Profile Image

krbankdisaster reviewed Regions Bank

Dec 9th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Mortgage

Bought a vaca home pre approved thru regions bank with excellent credit and 20% down and they pushed thru to underwriting after several delays and then proceeded to ask for the same documentation over and over again regarding coa and pushed back closing multiple times and the day of close they werent ready, didnt tell us and finished 3hrs after close and called title company and asked when the close was and was told 2. 5 hrs earlier. Worst mortgage company in the country.. Unprofessional, no communication and lack of interest.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

smmclane's Profile Image

smmclane reviewed Wells Fargo

Dec 9th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Satisfied

I have been a Wells Fargo customer since 1996 and I have virtually no issues. The Griffin Road branch staff have been responsive, friendly, & helpful whenever I have had a problem or concern.

My only issue is with the limit of movements between checking & savings, and this is a federal law. My wish is that the banking community would advocate for the customer to have the law changed - with today's interest rates, no one is moving funds to game the system!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

hoytman's Profile Image

hoytman reviewed Bank of America

Dec 7th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

I like

The staff in this branch has always been friendly. If people don't watch there checking account and be careful how you use your cards then you will have problems.

The teller on the outside has always worked for me.

Also concerning checks I deposit I always look and see how much I allowed to spend then. There is always going to be a hold on checks until they verify info, there is alot of fause checks out there

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

LEMIEUX03's Profile Image

LEMIEUX03 reviewed Atlantic Coast Bank

Dec 6th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Customer Service

I too have had very bad customer service experiences at atlantic coast bank. I had a balance in my checking to cover 4 charges which cleared, however the first 2 that hit at 7am the bank considered them uncollected and charged me 2 (two) $37. 00 fees which in turned lowered my balance and caused the next 2 (two) that hit at 8pm to have insufficient funds. They transferred the money out of my savings and then charged me a $10. 00 fee. In addition to 2 (two) more $37. 00 fees.

Then a charge hit the next day when i had my direct deposits and the bank said that i had insufficient funds and charged me a $37. 00 fee. I now have $200+ fees and have to also figure out other ways to pay my bills. The company insisted it was not their error, refused to send me proof, and would not refund me the fees because 8 months earlier i had the same situation occur. I was told that refunds are only done once in a life time? We went into the local office and sat with a representative. He looked over the account and could not understand why i was charged the fees.

He promised to give it to his manager to fix and they would call us. Guess what. It has been 4 days now and nothing has changed and no telephone call. Looks like we are going to have to drive 15 miles to address the issue again because the local branches telephone #'s are not posted. When you say you are going to do something.

Just do it! Both times we even inquired about an overdraft account, which other banks have. Guess what! They do not have that either. The bank considers your checking as an overdraft? That is absurd. I have been a customer for over 15 years and have been on a fixed income for 2 years with only 2 issues this year because i have a tight budget. Thinking strongly of going to vystar as i too agree it is not worth your time or safety of your money to use their services.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

PAbanker's Profile Image

PAbanker reviewed Citizens Bank

Dec 5th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Disappointed

Monday 12/1/14 I went to Citizens Bank 52nd Street branch in Philadelphia, PA to convert some GBP to US$ and experienced the worse level of incompetency, unprofessionalism and poor customer service ever. Their customer service representative assured me that they process foreign exchange so I got in line, approached a teller who told me there’s a transaction fee of $15 per bill so I would owe the bank $9. I tried to correct her by saying it had to be per transaction so she called her manager who agreed with her. The manager explained to me that it is similar to a cashier’s check where there’s a fee for every check so there’s a fee for each bill. They suggested I go to another branch.

Before leaving I called another branch and was informed that all branches are capable of processing foreign exchange and the fee is $15 per transaction. The person I was talking to on my phone was willing to speak to the teller who attended to me or any other employee but no one was willing to speak to her. I was told that the teller who assisted me went to lunch and it’s best to speak to the manager. After knowing that I was waiting on her with the representative on my phone the manager totally ignored me and went in the back. After the patience of the person on my phone ran out she decided to call the branch directly. I then asked to speak to the manager and was told that there isn't a branch manager but a teller manager (the same manager who went hiding).

I heard their phone ringing and I assumed the other branch was calling so I waited but no one assisted me. I went to the branch at 63rd and Haverford Ave and was told they don’t process foreign exchange. The branch at 13th and Market Street closes at 6PM; I got there at 4:10 PM and was told they were sorry, foreign exchange closes at 4PM. I went to Wells Fargo a few minutes before they close at 5PM and the process was simple and cost $7.50. I don't have an account with Wells Fargo but been with Citizens about two decades.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by

Dec 9th 2014

Hello PAbanker, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experiences in our Philadelphia branches, and I'd like to have someone from my team call you to learn more and to see how we can best help. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks, PAbanker -- we look forward to hearing from you!

JeffreySarasota's Profile Image

JeffreySarasota reviewed Regions Bank

Dec 5th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

They Lie to you to get your business & then Screw you!

Upon transferring to Sarasota, Florida I opened a checking account at Regions. Before I did, I was assured that they would not hold checks for unusually long periods since now checks virtually clear overnight. Immediately after opening my account my first deposit was a State of Florida reimbursement check for the Florida Pre-paid plan. They held the availability of my funds for almost two weeks. Their excuse was that my account was less than 30 days old. Now my account is 4 months old and I deposited a check from Chase that they are holding for an additional 10 days. The funds cleared over night but they refuse to make the funds available even though I have given them the phone number of the people from Chase that would verify my funds cleared. This bank sucks and so does the branch manager Jane Eggert who personally told me she would work with me to assure this doesn't happen. In today's times, this is no way to treat clients. They obviously use your money overnight and screw you while you can't even use your own funds. I recommend that you use any other bank before going to Regions.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Renee74's Profile Image

Renee74 reviewed Citibank

Dec 5th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Husband received a $2,300 check *FRAUDULENT*

My husband signed up to be a mystery shopper and received a $2,300 check from a criminal named William Dove (if this is his real name). The check was sent certified from a Aaron Smith in Port Henry, NY. They gave me his phone number and he (William) will not return my call. They use Citibank in DE as their banking people. Please be on the watch out!!!! These people need to go down!!!!!!!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

jmelvin23's Profile Image

jmelvin23 reviewed Chase

Dec 5th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Mobile Banking Deposit

For days I've been trying to make a Chase mobile deposit on my iPad. All's well until I get to the check image screen, but the screen is dark and I can't photograph the check. I know the camera is fine because I have no problems making Bank of America mobile deposits. Every time I call Chase they say that's it's because of the latest iPad update and the problem will be fixed the next day, but I just tried again today and it still hasn't been fixed - I'm very disappointed with the Chase mobile banking app.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

fairandbalanced1's Profile Image

fairandbalanced1 reviewed NVE Bank

Dec 5th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Do Not Bank Here, Esp Engle Street Location

If i can give this place no stars i would, this is the worst bank, their employees look miserable, treat you with no respect, and they don't even have basic bank functions. The worst bank ever. The branch manager enlisa lora has to be the most unfriendly, rude, and unhelpful. Worst customer service, i rather pay a monthly fee then go here and bank for free. Learn some customer service to all and not who you choose to be nice too

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

pixeleyz's Profile Image

pixeleyz reviewed FirstMerit Bank

Dec 4th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

There Is A Better Bank Across The Street.

While the people who work here are cordial, it is difficult to work with this bank. When my mom died, her ira was payable on death with designated beneficiaries. It should have been distributed the same day i requested it, but that was three weeks ago and my siblings and i still do not have our money. In fact, i just got a distribution check today, made out to my mom. They have known she was deceased for at least three weeks, and they know they should have disbursed the funds to her designated beneficiaries three weeks ago, but instead they are stonewalling and making it difficult to settle her affairs.

When a check is sent to a deceased person and there is no estate, somebody (me) has to make a trip to the courthouse and fill out forms (certificate of affidavit). It is needless complexity, when they should have released the funds asap, weeks ago. This is not the first time this bank has ticked me off, but i assure you it will be the last. All future banking in algoma will be done at bank of luxemburg just across the street, they are a great bank!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »