Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

knight87's Profile Image

knight87 reviewed Green Dot Bank

Feb 23rd 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Fraudulent Bank. They Steal Your Money

I never heard of an actual FDIC bank putting a hold on your account to prevent fraud if you never incurred any fraudulent charges on your account. My account is brand new. I have never had green dot card before and never will again! I went to activate my card after i had my income tax direct deposited to my account. This is not chump change but i aint no millionaire either.

I had plans to make sound investments with my money and get some transportation for me and my two daughters who i take care all by myself. Do you think these bloodsuckers care. I kept sending in my id to verify my account is not fraudulent (mind you this a new account, never been activated), they keep telling me they haven't received it and that is nothing they can do until they receive that document.

However, it is something i can do! I will keep calling to find out when they are going to give me my money. As well as tomorrow morning i am going to report them to the irs and see if they cant get me in touch with the proper authorities to sue their butts. Oh, trust, just like the last reviewer i am making it my personal mission to make sure this bank is taking down by the feds!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

francovd's Profile Image

francovd reviewed Capital One

Feb 23rd 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Great Customer Service

I had an issue with a transaction after ordering an item online. Carissa was very helpful with solving my issue. She stayed on the line with me for over an hour and went above and beyond with a three-way call with the company I ordered an item from. She assisted me with a conflict I had while on the three-way call. Carissa was very polite and helpful. I cannot thank her enough for helping me.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

msmolly999's Profile Image

msmolly999 reviewed Capital One

Feb 23rd 2015

2 out of 5 marks

1099: Terrible Online Customer Service

I have two accounts at Capital One because of the ease of sending bank to bank transfers. They were years ahead of their competitors on this. However they now have fallen far behind in terms of online service. Today was only the last in a chain of events that will lead me to move my accounts. When i did not receive my 1099, i assumed i would be able to access one online. When i couldn't find it, i tried to use the chat function on customer service, but it was "not available.

I wrote an email, for which i received no response within 24 hours, not even an automated response that my email had been received. I then tried online again and after several minutes of q&a was told there was no way to receive my 1099 except via regular mail. (not online, fax or email) she then told me to go back and write another email requesting a replacement 1099. When i balked she said she could request it for me (not sure why she didn't do this initially).

After waiting five minutes, i asked her if she was still there. She then responded that i should receive my replacement 1099 in two weeks. Two weeks? This would be such an easy thing to put online. All the information is available there, just not the tax form. I use several banks and this is the only one that does not make these tax forms available online.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

chio12345's Profile Image

chio12345 reviewed Citibank

Feb 23rd 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Avoid Signing Up At All Cost

Terrible customer service

they will mess up your account if you don't respond to their 1 million security questions (a lot more than any other bank)

put a security block on your card and cause you embarrassing moments when trying to use it

sign you up for their other products (savings and every day accounts) without consulting with you and causing extra hassle to you so you have to call, go through their 1 million questions so you can cancel the unwanted products

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Doerayme's Profile Image

Doerayme reviewed Suntrust Bank

Feb 22nd 2015

5 out of 5 marks

See Cliff!

Amazed at the professional and quick service from this small branch in a safeway! See Cliff. He has helped our family tremendously and i left another bank just to open an account at suntrust. Seriously, the best move.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

johnjo's Profile Image

johnjo reviewed Bank of America

Feb 22nd 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Poor Service To Valued Customer

MBNA as it is known in UK, do not take a credit card out with this company, i had one for many years but following a complaint from me, the complaint was handled poorly, they do not admit when they are clearly in the wrong and referred me to credit reference agencies. The tone of customer service staff was apalling, they refused to accept any liability, so i closed the account. Beware, if in uk look elsewhere for credit cards, not mbna if you want a good service.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

OneTimeSRP's Profile Image

OneTimeSRP reviewed U.S. Bank

Feb 21st 2015

1 out of 5 marks

To Transfer Significant Amounts Of Money, Do Not US Bank

US Bank has ridiculous limits on transferring money: $1200 per month to an external account, $1000 4 days apart with a max of $4000 per month if you use popmoney. Plus they charged $20 for a transfer into an account from an external account! If your looking at a loan, they are competitive but not for a regular checking account. I sure wish i would have done some research before using us bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

BethC's Profile Image

BethC reviewed Regions Bank

Feb 20th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

I Miss Regions So Much!

When i moved to utah, i was disappointed that no regions branches are in my area. I held off on closing my account for about a year because my experience with regions over several years was great. Now i'm reminded why. My current bank, bank of american fork, does not treat customers nearly as well as regions. When i had a purchase dispute a few years ago with a fraudulent vendor, regions acted as my ally and took care of the issue immediately and credited my account with kindness and responsiveness.

Even though it was a $20 dispute, they treated it with the respect of a $2,000 issue. My current bank has treated a recent dispute for the same amount ($20) with the same disrespect as the vendor who never mailed the item i ordered. First, they called the vendor and agreed to a compromise without asking me if it was okay, and now they're ignoring my requests for followup. The difference between the way regions made me feel like a valued customer and the way my current bank treats me is night and day.

Regions also took care of other issues with my account as they arose here and there, always with a prompt care for the fact that my money matters to me. If regions ever opens a branch in the salt lake city area, i will make a beeline to that location!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Rlbaseball's Profile Image

Rlbaseball reviewed First Commonwealth Bank

Feb 19th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Lack Of Professionalism And Rudeness.

I went to cash a check at the Forest Hills office on Feb 19, 2015. The drive through was suppose to open at 8:30 am. There was a red x on the lanes indictating they were not open. I proceeded to go i to the bank, and was waiting to be waited on. The manager had his back to me, and started talking to the tellers about customer relations. He actually said that they can read an individual when they enter the bank. He said to be careful when dealing with these people.

He instructed his staff to put amounts of money in certain draws when they get a certain amount. He said they have too much money on hand. He also said to greet people when they enter etc. I was perplexed at this conversation. The manager was clueless about who was in the bank etc. I had a black tossel hat on and black coat. I guess i was the character he was referring to. The woman teller motioned to me to come to her area. As soon as i gave her the check, she said to me in a smart tone id?

I have dealt with this woman numerous times, and she wanted either to impress her boss or use a power play. I told her, you have got to be kidding. The manager told me i was raising my voice, and i told him get serious. The other teller there knew me, as imhave had my account in first commonwealth since it was great american federal. I have never experienced a bank so unprofessional and rude. I will be closing all of my accounts.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jnocerino's Profile Image

jnocerino reviewed Citibank

Feb 19th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

A Simple Accomodation To A Long Time A Customer: Denied!

I work in the bronx and would have to take a half day off from work to get to park slope branch where my account was originated 20 years ago, so i wrote a $6,700- check to a friend who agreed to do me the favor and withdraw cash i needed to make a business transaction. The check was written to her name. She had proper id. There was more than enough cash in my account to cover the check.

The branch refused to cash the check! She called me to tell me what was going on, so i called the branch, but there was no answer. I called the Citibank number on my card and spoke to a nice lady in kentucky who said it was the branch's discretion as to whether or not to cash a check over $5,000-.

I asked them to intervene. She said no problem, and called the branch explaining that she had me on the phone and i passed all their security tests and could they please cash the check. They refused! I am furious beyond words! There are plenty of places to put your money. This is the wrong place. After years of tolerating abusive fee practices, i finally was pushed over the edge. I learned the hard way. Don't you make that same mistake.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »