Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

nicolemcdougal's Profile Image

nicolemcdougal reviewed KeyBank

Apr 12th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible Customer Service

I wish I could give zero stars. My husband has been a Key Bank customer for decades, and today was the last straw. We will be switching banks.

We were treated as an annoyance when we had questions about our accounts (because it seems there was an error with the timing of credits and debits). Not only did it seem like we were annoying the tellers and managers with our questions, we were told several times that we should have known certain things. Our questions were not answered, we were not helped, and we were asked to move out of line to help other customers. We were told we could wait 20 minutes to be helped or make an appointment for Monday.

They were rude, unhelpful, and uncaring. So yes, this was the last straw.

The other straws were little things that all added up to one sad fact: Key Bank is no longer the local, friendly, caring choice. They are a big bank that chooses to focus on their profits over their customers. We will be moving our business to a local credit union who still cares about their customers like they are people.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

rodydoe89's Profile Image

rodydoe89 reviewed BBVA Compass Bank

Apr 11th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Absolutely Horrible Service

I have had nothing but problems with their online banking service. I switched to online banking because a couple of my checks had gotten lost in the mail, so I was trying to prevent that from happening again. Twice now I have scheduled an online payment and have it not go through. They had a representative call me and she was incredibly rude. I guess now I will have to go out of my way to stand in line at the bank to pay my bill just to make sure it will actually go through. As soon as I pay off my line of credit with them, I am closing my account. Absolutely ridiculous. I much prefer credit unions.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Customer4951's Profile Image

Customer4951 reviewed Suntrust Bank

Apr 11th 2015

2 out of 5 marks

Rude tellers and understaffed

While this branch is convenient the tellers are slow and rude. On a busy afternoon at 4:30 this week, only one teller was working both the inside and drive through simultaneously. A second teller sat with her window closed doing God knows what. Shouldn't a line of customers inside and out compel the second teller to open her window to serve customers? When you walk in they seem annoyed. At 5 minutes to 5:00 the teller jumped up to go and lock the door just as a customer was entering. She said we are closed but reluctantly let him in and rudely told him she was doing him a favor! It's as if they work for the government instead of a business! I was there to wire money and the only person who can do that was hard selling a HELOC to a lady while others waited without recognition for help! I have to assume he gets a comission.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

conviencefee's Profile Image

conviencefee reviewed BMO Harris Bank

Apr 11th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

BMO HARRIS BANK - CONVENIENCE FEE REALLY?

Just purchased a new vehicle, excellent credit history. Got a loan with this Bank, what a mistake. Bank not located in Michigan where we live. Well, to call in to pay on time, they charge a 10.00 convenience fee. Rep says to pay it online. To pay loan on line, they charge a 10.00 convenience fee! If I had known just to pay my loan on time or early, I had to pay monthly convenience fees, to pay on line, I would never had accepted this bank to finance my car loan. I am amazed, and to be told by the call rep, yep we can charge convenience fees. Seriously? Is this bank that hard up they get away with charging convenience fees to pay online, on time payments? And they don't even have anything to show your payment history....nothing... With a bank this large I am amazed at the crap shoot way it charges convenience fees to make a payment. Well, now it's mail in payments. Not paying 10.00 to make my on time payments. BMO Harris SHAME ON YOU! No good rating from me.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Sickofmwone's Profile Image

Sickofmwone reviewed MidWestOne Bank

Apr 10th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Still in the 20th century!,

their pop money transfers cost $2 and take four days even to transfer to someone in the same bank and bran I pay my mortgage to someone in the same bank and same branch and they take 4-5 days to get this person a physical check mailed to him. Who does this? I could drive to his house and hand it to him five times over. Where's the convenience? They are banking in the dark ages.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Cristy3423's Profile Image

Cristy3423 reviewed Suntrust Bank

Apr 10th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Poor Service!

This is strike 2 for this branch! The first strike happened a few months ago. I went through the drive thru and deposited $500.00 in cash. The teller gave me a receipt that showed a $5.00 deposit. Thank God I checked the receipt immediately so correcting this was not a major hassle. This time, I asked the teller to please reorder checks for me and put my current address on the checks. The teller reordered the old checks with the old address where they were sent.{ 100 miles away} I have been working all afternoon to try and resolve this issue. The branch manager has been busy and has not returned my calls. It's almost 5:30 on Friday afternoon now. My account may have been compromised since someone else has my checks and now I have to wait until Monday to get this resolved!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Billyshaune's Profile Image

Billyshaune reviewed Bank of America

Apr 10th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

worst bank ever

My father just passed and had a account there and the branch of inverness fl was the worst bank to deal with.staff was very rude and been charging my father past 6 years $ 67. for his safety deposit box and manager says he was NOT supposed to be charged and would not refund his money. And on top of that they charged to close his account.... will never use this bank or recommend it.....

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MightyRontor's Profile Image

MightyRontor reviewed M&T Bank

Apr 10th 2015

3 out of 5 marks

ID just to get change?

Don't get me wrong, I think their service is great, but now I need to be inconvenienced just to exchange a $10 bill for a roll of quarters to feed the parking meters at work. Why? Because of this:

"In June 2014, a U.S. District Judge ordered M&T Bank to forfeit $560,000 in drug proceeds that was laundered through its Perry Hall, Maryland, branch. At least eight times from 2011 to 2013, Deanna Bailey went to the branch and had head teller Sabrina Fitts convert cash — amounts from $20,000 to $100,000 — into larger bills. Fitts accepted a 1 percent transaction fee in exchange for not filing a Currency Transaction Report. This violated the Bank Secrecy Act of 1970 which requires all transactions of more than $10,000 to be reported to the Internal Revenue Service.

M&T Bank's pending acquisition of Hudson City Bancorp has been held up for more than two years by the Federal Reserve Board, which is unconvinced that the bank's anti-laundering controls are strong enough."

Source: wikipedia et al."

It's a one-for-one exchange; no fees, no deposits just converting a $10 bill for $10 in quarters. But because the Fed has them under a microscope, I have to prove their legitimacy? Not only is it insulting to me, but it's foolhardy because this "measure" is doing nothing to convince the Fed that you have better anti-laundering enforcement.

Oh, and your greeters and tellers have twice told me that it's about anti-terrorism and anti-laundering against terrorism.

M&T used to be 5 Stars.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Madonahoe's Profile Image

Madonahoe reviewed Citibank

Apr 9th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Citibank website is AWFUL

It directed me to 3 local branches today. The first 2 had been closed. And it told me the Clifton branch was open until 6 pm. But when I got here at 5 pm. There was a sign icon the door that for the last 4 months they close at 4 pm on Thursdays. I NEVER WOULD HAVE DRIVEN HERE IN RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC IF I KNEW THEY CLOSED AT 4. I only came because the website assured me they were open until 6 pm. Very very frustrating.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

salmanal's Profile Image

salmanal reviewed Bank of America

Apr 9th 2015

2 out of 5 marks

Wonderful When All Works...

I opened my account when I moved to San Francisco, B of A has the most ATMs in that city. The service was really good, depending on the branch in that city. The online, and mobile banking are some of the better features you'll get with a B of A account. 20 years later, I no longer live in San Francisco, and I see other banks where I am living now. The customer service in branches is great, but don't call customer service, it is mostly likely overseas, and terrible. I was accused of stealing my own B o A credit cards when I moved to a different state. Calling customer service twice did nothing.

They abruptly ended the calls instead. I had to visit a branch, and call an overseas representative to clear my name. This was too inconvenient for anyone, so I'm considering a different bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »