Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

pixeleyz's Profile Image

pixeleyz reviewed FirstMerit Bank

Dec 4th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

There Is A Better Bank Across The Street.

While the people who work here are cordial, it is difficult to work with this bank. When my mom died, her ira was payable on death with designated beneficiaries. It should have been distributed the same day i requested it, but that was three weeks ago and my siblings and i still do not have our money. In fact, i just got a distribution check today, made out to my mom. They have known she was deceased for at least three weeks, and they know they should have disbursed the funds to her designated beneficiaries three weeks ago, but instead they are stonewalling and making it difficult to settle her affairs.

When a check is sent to a deceased person and there is no estate, somebody (me) has to make a trip to the courthouse and fill out forms (certificate of affidavit). It is needless complexity, when they should have released the funds asap, weeks ago. This is not the first time this bank has ticked me off, but i assure you it will be the last. All future banking in algoma will be done at bank of luxemburg just across the street, they are a great bank!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Portland516's Profile Image

Portland516 reviewed Webster Bank

Dec 4th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Excellent Bank - Excellent Services

I have been banking with Webster for several years. I am impressed in their ability to provide timely communication to customers in the event of an outside vendor breach. The customer service staff is always helpful and ready to go an extra step to ensure the customer experience is positive. The Glastonbury branch has several experienced, professional and customer oriented employees. I rarely have to enter the actual bank, but when I do, my experience is always positive.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Bremer's Profile Image

Bremer reviewed Huntington

Dec 4th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Do Not Trust Huntington!!

This bank chain is awful!! I received a check from a future employer, or so i thought, and deposited it at huntington. I was told in the bank that as soon as the check showed up as available in my bank account i could spend it. It showed up as available in my account three days later. I called the bank again and they told me i could use it. I even called one of their call centers to double check and was told that since it showed up as available the check had cleared and i could use it.

I spent the $1500 the day it showed in my account on non refundable or returnable items. The next business day my account showed negative that amount of money. I talked to the bank and was told that the cashiers check i had deposited had been stolen and forged by my "potential employer" so not valid. I talked to the call center supervisor and was told that they were not responsible for what their employee told me. They said that i should have known better and should not have spent the check for two weeks to make sure it cleared. They were extremely rude, basically yelling at me, and blamed me for following their advice.

I filed a police report for the forged cashier's check. I then made an appeal at huntington requesting that they pay me back for the money they told me to spend. I turned in the police report, the correspondence i had with the "potential employer", a copy of the fake check, and the dates and people i spoke to at huntington who told me to spend the money. My request was denied and i am simply out the $1500. Do not trust this bank!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

shell1234ny's Profile Image

shell1234ny reviewed PNC Bank

Dec 4th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Thank the Lord for PNC Bank

I am farely new to PNC Bank, and I was in a pickle with someone cashing a check way before they were supposed to. I had a bunch of nsf fees and PNC bank helped me out and waived them all. I couldn't stop crying for all the kindness, I plan on sticking with this bank for a long time!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Davidbanker's Profile Image

Davidbanker reviewed Regions Bank

Dec 3rd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Drive in teller was rude!!!

i drove up, the girl did not look up, address me and when I tried to speak to her she was rude and walked away.

When I tried to call the branch and speak with a manager there is no way to get thru.

This is unacceptable!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

outwiththeold's Profile Image

outwiththeold reviewed Orrstown Bank

Dec 2nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Bank EVER!!

This bank twists everything to make it seem like your fault. Processed a transfer on Sunday to another account. Right away my checking account showed a debit... but they told me it didn't process until the following Tuesday. The accounts were both at Orrstown. Its caused me overdrafts, that they refuse to backout and they refuse to reverse my mortgage payment that shouldn't have been taken out.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

AmandaMarie's Profile Image

AmandaMarie reviewed Suntrust Bank

Dec 2nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

"you'll Have To Cash This At Another Bank", Said The Teller.

I went to cash in my check from work and the first time i went to this location the man working did this for me with no problems. Two weeks later i go back and get the lady on the left side and she told me that i didn't have enough money in my account to deposit my check and that i cant deposit it anyways since the check is from a different bank. Next time i'll just go to my usual bank in powell where i've never had an issue!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

crwahine's Profile Image

crwahine reviewed Chase

Dec 1st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Their Mission Is Not My Small Business

I have had a business account with chase bank and/or its predecessors for over 20 years. I just received a certified letter telling me that effective one-and-a-half months from now they are going to close my business account because my business is in hawaii and not in the contiguous united states. I called to find out more information and was told this is a business decision on their part. It has nothing to do with the account itself or the amount of money i deposit. I asked to have my complaint escalated to the executive department and today received a call that there is nothing that can be done.

They are closing my account. Now, for the last 14 years my business has been in hawaii and i have been banking electronically with chase; and there was no problem. All of a sudden because the state i live in is not contiguous i can no longer bank with chase? Are you kidding me? In this electronic age why does it matter to chase that the land i run my business on isn't physically connected to the other states in the united states? I am extremely appalled and offended by chase for this action.

You're going to cancel the account of a long-standing customer for that reason? Meanwhile your tagline on your web page says: your business is our mission. Well, i guess it's only your mission for the businesses in 48 states. I work in a service industry and believe that this is a horrible way to treat a long-standing customer who has never had an overdraft or any issue with their account!

And to add salt to the wound, at the bottom of this letter advising me they are going to close my account there is the following sentence: "we understand that closing account(s) can create challenges, so we are available to help you transition to a new institution. " really? Are you going to make the phone calls and fill out the paperwork so that my electronic withdrawals to the irs can be made and the automatic bill payments will be made? I highly doubt it! Horrible bank!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

GinnyFlip's Profile Image

GinnyFlip reviewed BB&T

Dec 1st 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Very Satisfied

My husband and I have been dealing with this bank for many years and we are very happy having them as our bank. They have always been prompt and helpful when needed and very professional as well as friendly. I recently lost my husband and they were very helpful with my personal financial needs. I trust them completely.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MCFJR's Profile Image

MCFJR reviewed M&T Bank

Dec 1st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Difficulty Using ATM At Bank

My wife tried to withdraw $1,000 at the atm machine this morning before the bank opened. The machine said the transaction could not be completed, but it gave my wife a withdrawl slip for $1,000, and the monitor displayed "pending. ". This was very upsetting to my wife. My wife called me and i went to the bank this morning and talked with the branch manager, who referred me to a woman called beverly. Both the bank manager and beverly were very pleasant, but they are not aware of the policies at m&t. They both told me we can only withdraw the maximum amount of $500 from the atm.

I told both of them that my wife and i have a gold card and we withdraw $1,000 on a regular basis from other branches, particularly the branch in dover, pa. Beveraly told me all the branches of m&t are the same and she called what i assume was the technical office of m&t. That office told beverly that $1,000 may with withdrawn from the atm with a gold card, which we have. Beverly then accompanied me back to the atm and the atm said the transaction could not be completed. Beverly called the technical office and they told her the problem must be with the atm at the 425 loucks road office.

Beverly finally prepared a hand check and we wainted in line for a teller and then completed the transaction, which should have only taken my wife a couple minutes. This was process wasted 50 minutes of my time this morning, which i did not appreciate. My wife and i will avoid using the atm at 425 loucks road, even though it it convenient to where we live. The personnel at that branch office should be educated as to how the atm functions. I rated the branch a one star, because that was the lowest rating i could give it.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »