Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

JudyZ's Profile Image

JudyZ reviewed Bank of Hampton Roads

Jan 20th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Great and friendly service

This is the best branch in the system! I recently had my personal and business accounts transferred to this branch because of their excellent service. And its personal. They greet me by name when I come in, they always answer my questions, the manager and asst. manager are helpful.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

elektrofreak's Profile Image

elektrofreak reviewed Commerce Bank

Jan 19th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

THE WORST

Commerce bank makes money every time I overdraft, over $35 per time which IMO is enough punishment for your loyal customers.. Then I deposited an insurance check which was over $3000 and "a decision was unilaterally made by the mgmt of the Demun branch to hold the check for 7 days" to punish me for overdrafts. This harms my child, my wife and myself. Given that they profit from overdrafts, why the extra "punishment"? Just to screw with your customers? Screw Commerce. DO NOT BANK AT COMMERCE BANK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

nsah22's Profile Image

nsah22 reviewed BBVA Compass Bank

Jan 19th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Very bad service

I live hour an half from the branch so I have to call to get information about getting loan, I spent a week to get someone to talk to of course I left many messages to call me back but no calls.. after I gave the info they need they said will contact in few hours and its been 3 days, tried to call today but no answer, I will close my account as soon as I get a chance to go there!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

nyf0725's Profile Image

nyf0725 reviewed Citizens Bank

Jan 19th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Closing personal account

My husband and I have been banking with Citizens for almost a decade, and we had an overall good experience with them. Last week we received a letter stating that they are closing our personal checking account. This came as a complete shock to us as we always maintained a healthy account balance, never bounced a check, never had any suspicious activity on our account. We both are US citizens, do not travel abroad, do not do any business overseas, and have no connection to any foreign entities, so we are really at a loss as to why this happened. We both have good credit scores. The bank is stating that, per the terms of our agreement with them, they do not have to provide us the reason for the account closure. This is not how a loyal long term customer should be treated, and we are very disappointed. I understand that banks are heavily regulated and try to mitigate their risks, however in our case, it makes no logical sense whatsoever. Very disappointed. We are switching to a different bank, and we surely will not recommend Citizens to anyone we know.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by

Jan 20th 2015

Hello nyf0725, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experiences in our Philadelphia branches, and I'd like to have someone from my team call you to learn more and to see how we can best help. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks, nyf0725 -- we look forward to hearing from you!

bankhater's Profile Image

bankhater reviewed Suntrust Bank

Jan 18th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

RUN FAR AND FAST FROM SUNTRUST

The actions, and business practices of SunTrust are egregious in nature, unethical, and border on illegal. SunTrust has hired consultants to MAXIMIZE BANK FEES, and has a company policy NOT to refund any fees or charges to the customer.

Unfortunately, you need to read SunTrust policies which state that if you have a problem with the bank you can not take them to court, you have to go to arbitration.

On a potential good side, depending when you closed your account. If you take them to arbitration and you are awarded only $1, SunTrust must pay you $7500. If you are awarded more than $7500 you will receive the higher amount.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

CNovak6's Profile Image

CNovak6 reviewed Wells Fargo

Jan 18th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible customer service, your money is not safe here!

I won't get into it too much, but I am so frustrated with Wells Fargo. I had money fraudulently taken out of my checking account from an online merchant (rhymes with BayPal) several months ago. After HOURS on the phone with customer service reps, at least 4 who all gave me completely different answers to my questions, I opened up a new account but was convinced to simply "freeze" the old account. I was told there was no way charges would be authorized from the old account number from now on. Well, wouldn't you know, the exact same thing happened again the other day. This time customer service was not only extremely rude, yelling at me and telling me I couldn't speak with a different manager, that I had to deal with her on the phone. Then when I insisted, she said she would transfer me, but simply put me back to the very beginning of the phone tree. I spoke with a different manager who was plain apathetic. He didn't care that I was upset, did not resolve anything, and basically gave me his blessing to go to another bank. That, I will. I miss Wachovia's customer service, even if they were lacking in other ways.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

SRT58's Profile Image

SRT58 reviewed Woodforest National Bank

Jan 18th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

The Best Bank

I have been banking here for over 10 years. I have never had an issue with this bank. The service is the best, they are so helpful. What I love the most is that they are open late and most holidays. Only wished they had more ATMs in other locations.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Woodforest National Bank

Responded by

Jan 20th 2015

Woodforest is dedicated to providing quality customer service and appreciate your feedback. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with others. On behalf of everyone at Woodforest, we appreciate your kind comments. We look forward to serving your future banking needs.

Diana9629's Profile Image

Diana9629 reviewed Chase

Jan 18th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

chase froze my account

Chase froze my account and let me without eating one day. I called them at 7 am and they fixed my issue at 5 pm. I have been a customer for 15 years... they f...up. instead of calling me at my cell, Nanda s. Senior vice president sent a f... letter saying that they close my account...instead of calling me....all happened just because I deposited check for $4000, a gift from my husband...I hate them

Diana H

Cell.....9629

Account ending 1165

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mborzy's Profile Image

mborzy reviewed Citizens Bank

Jan 17th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Adios Citizens - The worst bank ever (please read!!!)

I had a home equity credit line with citizens for about 1.5 years...until today. The experience was hell. My wife went to pay it down and paid the amount she was told. A month later a notice came of an outstanding balance. I called the branch and they told me that the letter was sent in error. I asked for and received a confirmation number. Then came another notice of outstanding balance along with late fees and a notice about foreclosure. I called the branch and was told to call the lender as the branch and the lending arms are separate. I called the lender and was told to speak to the branch. I mentioned my confirmation number and they had no record. I asked them if they could just tell me what the outstanding balance was for. They could not. I called the branch again and spoke to a banker who promised to sort it out. He didn't. Finally, I was able to get to a rep who explained that the payoff amount given to my wife was wrong and the charge was accrued interest up to the date of payoff. Given that it was their mistake, I assumed they’d erase the late fees. Wrong. Out of fear that my credit would be affected I paid it in full. Recently, I received another bill for $50. I called to find out why. I was told that it was a filing fee to close the line and to ignore it unless I was closing it. It didn’t sound right so I went to the branch to close the line. The teller told me that the $50 was an annual fee. I told her I wanted to close the line and she told me that there is a $350 closing fee so she could close it for me for $400 dollars. I asked her whether the $50 line fee was being paid in advance or arrears. It is an advance payment. I asked her why I am paying $50 for the next 12 months if I’m closing it now. She said she didn’t know but I owe $400 to close. I paid it because I could not stomach the thought of having to deal with Citizens any more.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by

Jan 20th 2015

Hi mborzy, we received your email and will have someone from our Office of the Chairman call you. Thanks for reaching out!

BH101's Profile Image

BH101 reviewed Comerica Bank

Jan 17th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Pitiful drive through service

Went to the drive through at Spring Valley/Midway on Sat. Jan 17th. First of all, you can't tell which lanes are open by the lights because the sun shines directly on the red/green lights making it hard to tell which one is lighted up. So Comerica thoughtfully (???) put cones in the lanes that were not open - at least I thought so.

I pull into a no cone lane, press the button to send the cartridge - no response. I press the button to speak to attendant - no response. I finally put my window down to ask another customer - 3 lanes down - if anyone was working. He said yes, then asked the attendant if they were servicing my lane and the response was NO - I needed to pull back through and get in the lane he was in. I was 3 - THREE - lanes away and they couldn't help me.

Comerica either needs to flash the green light on the open lane, place cones in ALL the lanes that aren't open, OR, novel idea, train their employees in customer service. They certainly lacked all three at this branch.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »