Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

Nancygian's Profile Image

Nancygian reviewed Chase

Jun 23rd 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Chase bank sherman way and sepulveda

Alex Chacon relationship banker is an unexperienced And not knowledgeable banker. He provided me with wrong information and falsely introduced her colleage as the bank manager. He purposefully wasted 2 hours of my time and made me to bring my sister to the bank only for paying off her car loan which usually banks dont care who is paying the payment, his supervisor Norma Vicente announced herself as the branch manager and supported him with wrong information.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

customer1960's Profile Image

1 out of 5 marks

small town bank

wallkill valley savings and loan has a rich history of service. the recent expansion and hiring of a lot of new people has destroyed that. The service is not consistent and the on line banking is not dependable to use. They changed the bank web page and now have all their pictures there but I could not get into my account or pay my bills.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

gtoguy's Profile Image

gtoguy reviewed U.S. Bank

Jun 23rd 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Careful Using US Bank ATMs, Even at US Bank branch!

If the ATM is not physically built into the wall of the branch or inside the front entrance of the bank, the ATM is not part of/Or serviced by US Bank. I made a $1250.00 deposit at a US Bank branch in Gresham Oregon. The deposit consisted of 3 checks. The machine only counted one of the checks and gave me no option to dispute the amount of the deposit. The only option it gave was to return deposit and cancel transaction. When I tried this, the machine locked up and would not return my deposit. The machine simply stated "An Error Has Occurred, Please Contact Your Financial Institution". To make matters worse, it did not print a receipt for the transaction and it took my ATM card. At this point I have no proof I even tried making a deposit. Now it gets even worse. After going into the branch, I was informed that there was nothing the bank could do to rectify the problem. Its in the hands of the service company that owns the ATMs. I was told if I had used the ATM in the wall, they could have fixed the problem. I had to file a claim with the bank and an investigation would take place. At that point, I was told it would take close to 10 days to process, and that if there was an issue with the claim at could take up to 45 days. Mean while I'm out the $1250. THAT IS UNSATISFACTORY! When this is all rectified, I am moving on. I think its time for a CREDIT UNION Checking Account.

Owner, Advanced Auto. Tech.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

krisjoshdckr's Profile Image

krisjoshdckr reviewed NBT Bank

Jun 23rd 2015

2 out of 5 marks

beware

I opened a savings account for my son when he was born. My husband and I have a checking account with them as well. When we moved a few years after opening my sons account we changed our address with NBT for our main account. My name was also on my sons account but we forgot to update that address. Since he was a baby we did not add anything to his account for a while. Apparently they tried to notify us that my sons account was inactive and they were going to send the money to the state as unclaimed funds. They said they sent letters to our old address we never received any letters. My checking account is active, they never tried to call or bothered to look up any information about me they only used the address my sons account had with it never even tried to call the number on his account. His account was closed and the money was sent to the state. Now i have to contact the state and go through a lot of headache to hopefully recover the money. How much trouble would a courtesy phone call been?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Ljolejarz32's Profile Image

Ljolejarz32 reviewed Commerce Bank

Jun 23rd 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Frustrated at first, but Jenny was WONDERFUL!

I went in to do an early payoff on a loan and had spoken with the 800 linr customer service a few times prior to going in, to make sure I knew what to expect, so when the teller started telling me that they couldn't do what I was expecting, the situation became very frustrating. Hindsight 20/20, I got a bit more upset than I like to admit, and I did apologize to Jenny after the fact, but she was the one that the teller called over, and she was extremely patient and went above and beyond to help alleviate the situation and get the process completed. She was very understanding and very pleasant to work with. If you need anything from this branch, ask for Jenny!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Scottish1's Profile Image

Scottish1 reviewed Webster Bank

Jun 23rd 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Deceptive

Webster bank has a horrible online banking system that is conveniently a day behind to trick you into over drafting. It may say that you have money in the account at that particular time even though a check has been presented against your account and on their system it has taken the money out, it still shows the money in YOUR account. They told me that it takes a while for it to show on your online banking account. Really? Didn't know computers took that long to talk to each other. Takes a day for your online banking to show your true account balance. My TD and BOA accounts all show real time balances and take pending payments out of your available balance. I am sure this will be my 3rd class action lawsuit I'm involved in with Webster bank and their deceptive practices.

Oh and customer service is just like every bank. Anyone that thinks they do anything better than any other corporate bank must have a relative that works there. The fake hello from clear across the bank when you walk in by someone who is not even looking at you. There are good and bad tellers just like there are happy and miserable people. Their fees are some of the highest I have ever seen. Oh and want to write your kid a check for an Xmas gift? Well if it is a Webster check and they go to Webster to cash it and they do not have a Webster check they will charge them to do so. Not sure if it is $5 or $7. So really Webster is charging you and the person you write a check to a LARGE FEE. They changed my checking account titles "totally free checking" to something else and started charging both my accounts. They charge for everything I have seen a bank charge for. This bank is at the top of the lists of why not to bank at a bank. Go to a credit union. Better rates and less fees.

Anyone who gives this bank a good review has no clue what a good bank is.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

z3constance's Profile Image

z3constance reviewed PNC Bank

Jun 23rd 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Bait And Switch

I opened a checking account and then was cheated out of the promotion promised. Even the csr who opened my account tried to help me, but main office refused and even though she told them that she knew it was valid. Also, mobile banking is a joke. I plan on going to a different bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Keaper2014's Profile Image

Keaper2014 reviewed Wells Fargo

Jun 23rd 2015

1 out of 5 marks

They Use Any Excuse To Charge Excessive Fees

When wacovia was a bank, it actually cared about its customers. Wells fargo, on the other hand are run by a bunch of thieves who use any excuse to charge accounts unwarranted fees. I deliberately cancelled my overdraft protection because my phone account had a habit of auto billing my phone 2 days prior to it being owed, then wells fargo would hit me with a 35 dollar overdraft fee. Wells fargo representative said, "well if you go try and buy something and there isn't money in your account, then we won't pay it. " i said, "good, then that means you won't hit me with 35 dollar overdraft fees. "

i recently set up direct deposit for my paycheck. Originally i intended to use wells fargo and thus, set it up so that 50 bucks would come out of that account and go into my credit union account. Turns out it was easier to just set it up with my credit union. Before i cancelled the 50 transfer, wells fargo paid my credit union 50 even though there wasn't enough to cover it (contrary to what they had previously told me), then they again charged my account another 35 dollar overdraft fee. When i pointed out that "they" told me that if i didn't have enough money in my account they wouldn't pay, they said, "that's different. " conversely, after they hit me with an overdraft fee, with other monies i put into the account to cover the 50 transfer, it made me have a negative 62 cents where they again billed money not in the account. I have had it with wells fargo. They make money just off of the money i have in my account, pay virtually no interest, then charge me exorbitant overdraft fees after they told me they "wouldn't" pay if i didn't have overdraft protection, which is just another scheme to bilk the customer. The ceo and managers obviously never heard of sigma six and developing outstanding customer service. I will never in life recommend this bank to anyone.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

saravananravim's Profile Image

saravananravim reviewed Citibank

Jun 22nd 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Would totally avoid this bank...

Citibank customer service representatives have no idea what they are talking about...

would not recommend this bank for any product..I personally would not go anywhere near this bank...

their representatives promise a fee waiver after negotiation but it would not reflect in the papers...

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

heychrisbaker's Profile Image

heychrisbaker reviewed Wells Fargo

Jun 22nd 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Great Customer Service...

I am writing to you to express my appreciation for the excellent customer service which I had received from Personal Banker Alexis Cooke (NMLSR ID: 598904) in my last visit to the 2040 Broadway Branch. Ms. Cooke was very warm and accommodating, and very helpful to me with my business banking needs.

Alexis gave me first-class, 5-star, A+ service and it is duly noted.

I hope that this is the kind of service that will be present in all your Wells Fargo Branches permanently as this is exactly what the customers want to have.

Sincerely,

Christopher Baker

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »