Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

Max_Power's Profile Image

Max_Power reviewed New York Community Bank

Nov 15th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Website Ever

I'm an IT professional. I do EVERYTHING online. So, when a website such as NYCB's advertises 'going paperless', I never hesitate. Sign me up!!!

For the first time ever in my entire 20 years of using the internet, I'm reverting to paper statements.

I have three mortgages with NYCB and I signed up for paperless statements on all three. Here's the rub: You have access to a whopping 2 months worth of statements.....2 MONTHS!! After that, they are gone forever!!! Who designed this feature? Snapchat? At least with paper statements I can look through my mortgage's history.

That's just beginning. That's suckiness by design. The website itself is an abomination. 404 errors all over the place, all the time. It seems more links are broken than intact. Sometimes, it just refuses to load. I have a friend with a mortgage through them as well. She called once because she thought here computer was 'broken'. She said, "The nycb site just spins and spins. I think I have a virus." I told her "Nope, you don't have a virus, you have an account with NYCB. Their website is always like that."

Please PLEASE sell my mortgage to somebody else so I don't have to fight with your website anymore!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Gjones's Profile Image

Gjones reviewed Wells Fargo

Nov 15th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Closing My Son's Account Because He Deposited Money

My son goes to the University of Nebraska. We opened a college account in Texas so i could transfer funds to him. He received a tuition refund check and i told him to deposit it in his savings account. The bank fraud department froze both his saving and checking accounts because the check was from the state of nebraska (although the bank knows he goes to the university there). I called them and they told me they were in the process of closing his accounts.

The executive said he would expedite the review, but it would be 2-3 business days. They didn't even bother to call me. My son found out when his debit card was declined. I understand freezing the funds in his savings until the check cleared, but he had several hundred dollars in his checking account that he cant access. Really? I am sooooo angry right now. I have to find a way to get him some money in the meantime.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Markssw's Profile Image

Markssw reviewed TD Bank

Nov 15th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Never Again

It is a ridiculous bank. I used to bank with them until i opened an account with bank of america. They can't even come close to the service level some of the other banks offer. The customer service doesn't seem to care about their clients. Whenever i visited the branch, i ended up wasting lot of time waiting in queues, slow processing, and in-professional tellers who never knew how to handle even standard processes. They often had to go check with some higher up keeping clients waiting for several minutes.

On top of poor service, in 2013 there have been several cases of valid customers getting their car towed away while they were banking. They tried to put in a process to ask every customer if they are parked int the lot but that was never fool proof. They once towed one of my friend's car, who was also a td customer. The bank has given out contract to a private towing company called dependable auto, who is always on the look out to make some extra cash by towing away cars even before validating. Worst part is they damaged the exhaust of my friend's car while towing and there was no accountability from either the towing company or td bank. If you are driving to this bank, don't park your car in their parking lot.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mjmiele7's Profile Image

mjmiele7 reviewed Wells Fargo

Nov 14th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Branch Manger Very Unprofessional

I just got off the phone with the branch manager from the Washington branch named [Redacted] who didn’t return any of my calls for two weeks in question to a Savings account that I have with Wachovia. He was so rude and unprofessional I couldn’t believe it. I was constantly getting told to listen to him as if I was a child and not a customer who has their mortgage with this financial institution. After explaining I would like to speak to his manager he told me he was the manager and if I would like to speak to anyone else to call Customer Service. I will now be closing my accounts out with them all because this Branch Manager thinks he can talk over people without listening to what they have to say.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

rockhunter's Profile Image

rockhunter reviewed Capital One

Nov 14th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Borrowers Beware

I have the worst experience ever dealing with capital one. It's worst than dealing with a crooked used car lot. They lure you in with a great offer then pull a bait and switch. After you have signed and agreed to the terms and rates they change everything hoping that you will go for it. They promise you the world, but will not keep a single one. Amanda at the dennim springs office is the worst.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

angrybankcustomer4's Profile Image

1 out of 5 marks

Do Not Use This Bank!

Georgia banking company needs to be boycotted. Because when we made an account it was just a regular checking account, so as long as we had the money in the account we can do banking transactions you know like cashing checks, paying bills, and etc. We started writing checks off the account for withdraws more than usual. So now they are closing my account when none of these checks have bounced and there is still plenty of money in the account and all checks cleared.

We received a letter in the mail just saying they closing the account because there was "abnormal" activity. All that was going on was that checks was being cashed off of the account. They tried to make out like that "they weren't comfortable with it" and that they were going to write me a 'certified bank check"

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

TickedoffwithTD's Profile Image

TickedoffwithTD reviewed TD Bank

Nov 14th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

No "convenience" In Mobile Banking

There's a 30 day limit on what i can deposit to my td small businesses account using the mobile banking app. It's well below the amount i generally deposit each month. So now i have to go back to in-branch banking; where the convenience in that. Why bother offering a mobile app if there's no real convenience to your customers?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

2findthesafestbank's Profile Image

2findthesafestbank reviewed Arvest Bank

Nov 13th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

This Bank Is A Good Bank

Although no bank is perfect, as nothing that has people running it could be. This bank is in the tops. For one, they did not take government bailout money (as the largest banks did). They didn't need to because they did not make a lot of bad loans. That says a lot! They are not nation wide, i think they are in 4 states now. I read that the are the largest bank in arkansas though. I have moved but have decided to keep my account after all the research i have done on banks. With this economy you want to be sure your money is in a safe bank. I can do online and photo check dept. And i have no problem with anything.

When i bought a house, they serviced my loan too through Arvest Mortgage. That was nice because i've heard horror stories about mortgage loans from friends and clients who had home loans with bank of america. As i already stated, they are not perfect, but i would say compared to many others, they rate very well in all areas of banking.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mkdriggs's Profile Image

1 out of 5 marks

First National Bank Of Rogers - Dixieland Branch

I have banked with first national bank of rogers, formerly bank of rogers, and part of the first national bank of fort smith banks for several years. I was treasurer for a local business and we also did business with them for several years. But..... I have to say they have certainly gone down hill over the last couple. They used to be more of a "hometown" bank. But no more. I recently had a fraudulent charge a my debit card.

They really acted very unconcerned. When i went into the bank to see if they had a new debit card for me, (i was to receive a call 3 days earlier when the machine was fixed, i did not) i felt they didn't have time for me. When i asked what was the point of having a visa backed card when all they told me was i could call the 800# of the business that had the charge, they told me they would turn it over to the fraud dept and i would get a call that day or the following. It's been well over a week and they told me after i called them today that it had been a pre-authorized charge and just today hit my account.

Really?? It was a cleared charge. I caught it on my daily download 3 weeks ago. Today i was also told that the merchant should really give me my money back, but she guessed the bank would have to do it. Needless to say, i'm closing all my accounts with this bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mjsmesa's Profile Image

mjsmesa reviewed Bank of America

Nov 13th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

1904 N Lindsay Mesa Az. Poor Cust Ser Mgr Lacks Common Sense

We had 3 minutes worth of simple business to conduct and stephanie (branch manager) let the 2 of us sit there for 50 minutes. She knew we were there and could of easily, without any inconvenience to anybody, taken care of us and we could have been there less than 10 minutes. We have had business account's with bofa for several years and would not recommend (at least this branch) to anyone. Stephanie works like a robot lacking simple customer service common sense. A position at the town library may be better suited for her simplistic mind.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates