Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

joonieboony's Profile Image

joonieboony reviewed First Niagara Bank

Oct 13th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Bank I Ever Met

1. Cheated on my money for 250 dollar, cash back program

2. Make an appointment but never show up.

3. Make mistake for type of saving account and over charge me.

4. I change type for checking account from plus to normal, but never response. Then i close account then :) in the end.

Bye!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

prdi99aolcom's Profile Image

prdi99aolcom reviewed PNC Bank

Oct 13th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

No Problems At All

I have been going to the same pnc branch for many years and have never had a problem. They have always been friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

CindyLehrkeyahooco's Profile Image

CindyLehrkeyahooco reviewed Waterstone Bank

Oct 13th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Not Impressed!

This bank does not impress me whatsoever. My husband opened up an account (making a very large deposit). The following weekend, we went in to the bank so he could add me to the account. They denied adding me to the account due to a chexsystems report - which showed no negativity - never bounced a check or closed a account due to being overdrawn. . . Just simply to many (unauthorized) inquiries.

There was a firm that inquired on my account several times (same firm, but on behalf of various lending facilities). Waterstone confirmed that there was nothing negative on there - but refused to put me on this account. What a complete joke. I did resolve this with chexsystems - my report has now been corrected - but we are pulling all our funds out and going elsewhere! The president at the bank said she had the authority to override the decision but refused to do so. Again, we had a lot of money sitting in this account and recently purchased a lot from them (with cash). Goes to show - they don't care about their customers. Much happier at the other bank :)

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ekim57's Profile Image

ekim57 reviewed Charter One Bank

Oct 12th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Always Great Service

It seems when i go to my local branch i always am treated as if i am family which is great because i don't have to go in to see a teller as much as in the old days.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

custrespect's Profile Image

custrespect reviewed PNC Bank

Oct 11th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

PNC Steals Funds Disguised As 'maintenance Fees, Etc."

PNC steals money from customers via 'maintenance fees' & 'paper statement fees'. When the acct was set up this was not policy. I have a minimum of 4 accts with this disingenious institution. Upon checking my accts last evening, i discovered that they were stealing 14. 00 per month from my acct beginning in sept. Upon meeting the branch manager, i was informed that the "rules recently changed". I called it a theft which is exactly what it is. With 4 accts with this branch you would think they would have enough respect for their customers to prevent this type of manipulation & bogus fees. Was informed that thes trumped up charges could be resolved by adding a bit more to my acct (keep in mind i have 4 accts totalling a significant sum).

Or, that online banking would prevent this. Soooo, PNC has little respect for me as a customer that they would rather lose all my accts bc they are intent in stealing $14. 00 per month from one acct. They did replace $14. 00... But they still owe me the $14. 00 they stole for october 2014. If someone stole money from them it would be a crime; punishable in a court of law. America we have to wake up. Why is it ok to steal money from customers disguised as 'maintenance fees or paper statement fees'. As i advised the branck manager, the information i need on these statements can fit on 1/3 of a page. The other 2/3's of the page are pnc bank propoganda. I will post on as many boards as my fingers allow me to type. PNC is a rip off.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

glaefilyahoocom's Profile Image

glaefilyahoocom reviewed Washington Federal

Oct 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Thieves And Crooks, Do Not Open An Account With These People

I foolishly deposited a few thousand dollars with them after my account was transferred to this bank, without my consent or approval, from a closing bank of america branch. Since then they have done everything in their power to keep me from withdrawing my own money and have made it an absolute nightmare to move my money around or try to get it back from them. I tried calling their customer service line--3 hours on the phone with rude, incompetent and dismissive representatives.

Do not sign up with this bank, you will regret it! Specific bank employee causing problems with my latest transaction, trying to refuse me the right to transfer my money because he "thinks i am trying to close my account": scott hammes

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

gd1493gd's Profile Image

gd1493gd reviewed Peoples United Bank

Oct 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Fees, Fees, Fees, And More Fees!

People's is full of fees! This is the stuff people's doesn't want you to know.... I have a personal checking with automatic direct deposit because if you don't have automatic direct deposit it is another fee! I also have a business checking account. The personal checking gets about 20 dollars a month in fees (due to nyce bill payments such as my verizon phone bill, paypal, and geico auto insurance payments) i pay a fee of 2. 95 every transaction for the "luxury" paying my bills! These fees add up like crazy because merchants don't want to get charged a credit card fee so they run it as an instant debit transaction and that means people's is going to charge you, the consumer!

And some companies can use your bank card as a debit card and not even ask for your pin # so you never even know... And yep, people's charges you a fee. People's says it's not their problem and they have been very unhelpful. They blame it all on the merchant. But people's is the one with the stupid hidden fee! People's corporate number tells you to talk to your local branch, branch tells you to call corporate, it's a huge run around. And they answer your questions in strategically worded ways to not give you the answer that you were really looking for, but to deceive you so they can keep their fees adding up.

Plus.... I just found out today a new policy i never even had to sign for states my business account must maintain over 1,000 dollars or else they take out 7. 95 a month. I never even saw this in their disclosure they claim they sent, but i signed out of paperless billing to avoid more fees. They don't care. Banks are screwing the little people left and right nowadays, it is so sad. The bank is no longer your friend like in that christmas movie, it's a wonderful life. We've lost all sense of community and common good and truthfulness and honesty. Everyone is out for themselves and people's can get right in line with everything else that's gone downhill in this greed-based society.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

a_carpenter08aolco's Profile Image

a_carpenter08aolco reviewed TD Bank

Oct 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Canadian Money

Do not try and get your money exchanged back into American from Canadian. Now I have always liked TD Bank, however, they are getting worse and worse when it comes to customer service. The people are getting ruder with sour attitudes. I needed to exchange some Canadian money back into American and of course you always end up with a lot of change because their smallest bills are actually in coin. I was informed by the "manager" of the Rochester Branch in New Hampshire that they "do not take canadian coins" and they "don't have any way of sending them". Ok, first, what happened to being nice. there was no "I'm sorry ma'am we are unable to accept the coins back" or any other apology.

The "manager" was not only rude to me but she was rude to the poor girl that was trying to process the bills that they could exchange she told the teller to just wait until she has a chance to come over there, (when she should have stayed when she was there to begin with). The teller that was trying to help me was obviously new or unfamiliar with the way there system worked when it came to the foreign exchange program as well as the system period. (The person ahead of me was just depositing and getting cash back) She was asking questions to this "manager" on what to do about this message and that message. "The "manager" decided at this time to take a customer and proceeded to tell her that she was overdrawn in her checking account and by how much!"

This was loud enough for the people in line and the person over at the table filling out a slip to hear. Sorry but that is just rude. Because of the 'managers' rudeness I decided to help the teller out of her misery by saying "don't worry about it ma'am, lets just cancel the idea and I will go somewhere else where they treat their customers and staff better. You my dear have a great day!" I have heard a lot of people complain about the way they treat their customers, however this was the first tim

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Ellie234's Profile Image

Ellie234 reviewed TD Bank

Oct 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

TD Travel Rewards Problematic

I took a trip in early august, and the travel rewards centre made my flight reservation, but ultimately i booked the hotel myself. However, all my points were used, and they credited my visa with the amount. I did pay for my hotel with the visa card on my return. Two months later, without my knowledge or consent, the rewards centre debited my visa card with a large amount, not the sum that i had used for my travel.

It took over one hour on the phone, speaking with five different people, to have someone say that they had credited back my points which i thought i had used and so debited my account. I told them i had purposely used the points and wanted my money back. Liane was quite impolite and stated that it would take at least three business days for a refund to occur to me. Because this occurred close to a long weekend, it meant that i cannot use the card for about a week. I had been planning to use it for some supplies, but it is impossible, as the amount taken represents about the amount left on the card.

I then wrote to the bank ombudsman, but have received no acknowledgement from them. Very, very questionable actions and follow-up service. As this was my sole credit card, i will be applying for one at another institution not affiliated with td, and will substitute that for this card. I could never trust the rewards centre again.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

csichicago1yahooco's Profile Image

csichicago1yahooco reviewed U.S. Bank

Oct 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Ridiculous Bank Fees

I was banking with charter bank which I loved and never had a problem. When US Bank was taking over Charter, I was getting ready to close out my business account which I hardly was using there but thought I'ld see what this new bank is like. Well accidentally a payment was processed thru by this company that i had told to use another bank account of mine and they didn't and it caused this account to be nsf and overdraft and then another auto pay went through and American Express tried to get a $175 payment from them that I did not authorize.

I was never aware of all of this and I guess bank fees were being assessed and then I received a post card that they wanted $535!!! I went to the bank to discuss this and they said they didn't have access to my Charter account even tho they bought out Charter? But would try to find out what happened and after a month i finally was able to get a hold of charter myself since us bank didn't seem to be following up for me. I brought in the paperwork to show them and somehow a $217. 00 overdraft from Charter turned into a $535 balance with US Bank.

I finally had to contact the CEO of US Bank in Minnesota to get this resolved and they ended up charging me the original $215. So I was happy to get this resolved.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates