Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

Jarb66's Profile Image

Jarb66 reviewed Harmony Bank

Aug 16th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Awesome Bank

Wow, finally a bank with no pushy sales gimmicks and fake smiles!!!!! This bank is not based on sales- it is all about the customer.. So no more trying to dodge your banker about some no-nonsense loan or better account they are trying to make quota on.. Stop in and see them, it really has such a different atmosphere.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Yourgoindown's Profile Image

Yourgoindown reviewed Banner Bank

Aug 16th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Don't Waste Your Time

Banner bank sends out advertisments to people's homes offering money to open an account. $75. is quite a chunk so my guess is they are in need of business. I applied online & was turned down. really? for a basic no fee no frills no nothing checking account that I was going to open with my own money...wow. If there are special requirements such as, must have excellent credit, be employed and not disabled then they should state it clearly in big bold letters at the top of their advertisments. I put that I was disabled & they do not have a section or anywhere to click on for that leading me to believe this bank does not cater to the disabled. I have never been denied a checking account with any bank and I have banked with Charles Schwab, BOA, Washington Mutual & Washington Trust. Much bigger corporations than Banner bank. I can see why they do not have good customer service nor do they have very many customers. I live accross the street from both Banner bank & two other leading banks. Banner's parking lot is always empty & I never see anyone inside. In fact, that is why I did not initally apply there when we moved to this state because they always looked closed. Well, I believe they also discriminate on who they want in their banks. Only stepford wives allowed perfect in every way. If not, move on.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

xrayspex's Profile Image

xrayspex reviewed FirstMerit Bank

Aug 15th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Awful

The bank does not transfer money from personal accounts to business accounts then charges poverdraft fee after overdraft fee.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

PARTSSUPPLIES248's Profile Image

PARTSSUPPLIES248 reviewed Bank of America

Aug 15th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Fees - Bank Of Thieves

Totally disgusted with this bank,. 10c overdrawn and they charge $35. 00 customer service sucks people are rude and ignorant! It's time people moved to banks that care!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

plumj123's Profile Image

plumj123 reviewed Investors Bank

Aug 15th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Do not get a mortgage with Investors Bank

Investors Bank notified me by paper mail (snail mail) of an upcoming change to my monthly payment amount. I am inundated with paper mail and I sometimes fall behind in reading it. It was also during the busy holiday period at the end of the year and I was working very long hours because I work for an investment bank. Because I missed reading the paper letter, I did not add on the additional $20 to my automatic monthly payment which is over $2000. Once I spotted the paper notice I sent them the additional $20 electronically from my bank account. It takes Investors Bank 2 days to process an electronic payment, so the $20 ended up posting 1 day late. Investors Bank did NOT try to call or email me to notify me that they were going to report the $20 shortfall that posted 1 day late as a MISSED PAYMENT to the credit bureaus. When I called Investors Bank and explained what they did to me, they told me to fax them a letter and that they would have the MISSED PAYMENT removed from my credit report. You can guess what happened next. I wrote the letter and faxed it to them and then they did nothing. Do yourself a favor and go to Quicken Loans. They will call you if they see anything unusual happening in your account or if you are even close to missing a payment.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Quinn's Profile Image

Quinn reviewed Capital One

Aug 15th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Done with this bank

Tried to process a simple domestic wire transfer. It took over one and half hours to process. #badbank

I'm done with them. Closing my accounts.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

SteveGibson's Profile Image

SteveGibson reviewed Frost

Aug 15th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Back to the Future

After finding that my NATIONAL bank was into everything including giving money to many causes I did not suport I changed to Frost. WHY? because they did not take TARP money and they have made moves to make sure they are first and formost financially strong, kind of like the banks I remeber from years ago. When you walk in you can tell the focus is different and once you understand they are not trying to grow fast as they can open a new location, then you understand that this realy is a solid "Old School" bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

karenfromaccountin's Profile Image

karenfromaccountin reviewed The Provident Bank

Aug 15th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Poor customer service/outdated technology

When I first joined The Provident Bank, I was thrilled with their Smart Checking account programs with a decent interest rate for completing reasonable tasks and their pleasant tellers initially. I even foolishly recommended this bank to others. While some of the tellers in the Clark, NJ branch seemed a bit slow, it was a new branch so I attributed that to the learning curve. From there, most of my business took place eithe virtually or at the Metuchen, NJ branch. The Metuchen branch is the only reason I am giving them any stars at all. Everyone at the branch is amiable, competant and pleasant to deal with. However, over the years, the interest rate has been reduced repeatedly, the requirements increased, and the banking hours are just completely inconvenient. My experience with the Clark branch never improved. I'm not sure what kind of training or even general manners these individuals have. I've finally had enough and am leaving the bank. I am so fed up, I'm leaving this review. For being open so few hours, their technology is far behind the times. Their interest rate (if you meet the increased qualifications) is no longer a benefit. They don't seem to care about my business with the bank, so I am leaving them and leaving a negative review. Don't bank here!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

NoMoreFeesSuntrust's Profile Image

NoMoreFeesSuntrust reviewed Suntrust Bank

Aug 15th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

SunTrust Pays Debits High To Low To Make Millions In OD Fees

SunTrust posts debits high to low, a practice that increases fees into the hundred from one overdraft. Please sign my petition to show them that must update their outdated policies. All the Big Banks have changed their polices and SunTrust refuses. We need to make our voices heard!

http://www.change.org/petitions/suntrust-bank-and-barack-obama-and-u-s-house-of-representatives-and-u-s-senate-and-north-carolina-governor-and-florida-governor-and-georgia-governor-and-west-virginia-governor-review-the-overdraft-policy-of-suntrust-bank-sue-suntrust-in-federal-court?recruiter=140868360&utm_campaign=twitter_link_action_box&utm_medium=twitter&utm_source=share_petition via @Change

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

GKnight's Profile Image

GKnight reviewed FirstMerit Bank

Aug 14th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Customers Beware!!!1

When you close a joint checking account it's not really closed. It remains open 30 days plus! past closing date. You will be charged for any withdrawals made on your closed account. The bank employees tell us that even though our account is closed it still remains active. You can still be charged for any charges made against your account. So is the account ever really closed???? We will never really know????

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates