Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

cgator77's Profile Image

cgator77 reviewed Bank of America

Jul 18th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Worst Bank I've ever used

$31 it cost to order new checks. Are you serious??? Customer service is hit or miss and I have had multiple times where the 1-800 customer service has told me something to be told by the branch manager something different. Not worth the time or fees they love to charge at any opportunity! And the interest rates for savings accounts are a complete joke, don't even bother!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

pnutscbrown's Profile Image

pnutscbrown reviewed FirstMerit Bank

Jul 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Bank EVER!

This bank is just horrid!!! I loved citizens bank but now that it has become first merit I have been hit by fee after fee after fee. Its to the point of being ridiculous. Never ever ever get an account at this bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

4646ss's Profile Image

4646ss reviewed Citizens Bank

Jul 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

incorrect bank fees

Over the course of a year, I have had about 6 months where I can incorrectly been charged bank service fees. I have well of the minimum amount so as not to have fees. Every time I see the charges, I call my local branch. They are very nice and apologetic on the phone. However, it takes a minimum of 3 phone calls to get it resolved - each month!! This last happened in May, and I was told that it will permanently be fixed and it will never happen again. I did hope that was true - but it wasn't. For June and July I have again been given back fees. They never give me any interest, however they seem to hang onto my $25 fee for as long as possible. Planning on pull all of my money out of this bank, very frustrating!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

NOT2therescue's Profile Image

NOT2therescue reviewed Capital One

Jul 17th 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Credit INCREASES rarely happen

I have two Capital credit cards for over seven years. I apply for an increase every two years and I am declined. I have no history of ANY late payments for 7 years straight. I talked with a supervisor about it. I was given a $100.00 increase on 1 (one card) and the other card was declined an increase.

Credit Cards that I have had for less than 3 years gave me an availability of $1000.00 after a year on some card I got to $2000.00- $6000.00. I pay on time and before the due date.

Check this out: When I had a fico score of 740 Capital denied my increase. I was given an increase of 100.00 with a fico score of 680. My availability remains under $700.00 with Capital. Seven years of credit card history is nothing to Capital.

MY Belief: To gain an increase with Capital requires a certain income. Typically above 60K, history of on time payments PLUS a fico score in the 700's.

I will be ending my relationship with Capital soon!.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

savana's Profile Image

savana reviewed U.S. Bank

Jul 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Don't trust this bank with your money.....

7/17/2014

HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE. MANAGER WONT COME OUT OF THE BACK TO DEAL WITH A CUSTOMER. I put a stop payment on a transaction and was charge $35 for the stop payment fee. The bank paid the transaction anyway and now will do nothing to correct the situation. I am closing this account. You trust the bank to handle your money and then they play games and hold your money.. and there is nothing you can do about it.....At US bank the machines have more control than the humans.... they have no way to override the machines..... DON'T TRUST US BANK THEY WILL DO WHAT EVER THEY WANT WITH YOUR MONEY AND THEN TELL YOU TO POUND SAND.....

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

abqcar's Profile Image

abqcar reviewed Bank of America

Jul 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

BofA Intransigence regarding credit card dispute

I have since January been fighting with BofA over a charge posted by a vendor with which I disagree. BofA has been anything but helpful. I asked the vendor both in writing and orally for an explanation of its charge and never received a response. I asked BofA to delete the charge on account of the merchant's lack of cooperation but have encountered nothing but snotty letters from its customer "service" department. I asked BofA to provide me with any information it itself received from the vendor and have received nothing. In its last dollop of snot, it informed me it had exhausted its efforts to resolve the issue and that it would not reply to any further communications from me. I am filing a complaint against BofA and have intentionally avoided using my BofA credit card for the last six months, a time period in which I entered into a lot of credit transactions, because I don't want to give that company any further money in the way of merchant fees.

I have never encountered such a lack of cooperation from a credit card issuer. I never asked to have a BofA credit card (BofA gobbled up the original issuer) and will never, ever, utilize Bank of America for anything, even if it's the last financial entity on the planet. What a miserable, consumer-unfriendly company. I hope it follows the route of other financial institutions in the last few years and goes under. Good riddance!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ouchtheygotme2's Profile Image

ouchtheygotme2 reviewed Regions Bank

Jul 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Returned Internastional wire

spent hours tracing an international wire Regions wont provide documentary evidence they returned it So my usual reply to them is YOU STOLE MY MONEY!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

got2fly's Profile Image

got2fly reviewed Citibank

Jul 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible Bank - stay as far away as possible

I opened an account in Las Vegas.. I was living in Thailand, and needed an account to transfer my income into the USA. Since Citibank has a branch in Bangkok and they offer free international transfers from Thailand to the USA division, I decided to try it. Bad choice. Even though there is no fee for transferring money, they get about 4x as much out of you in the low exchange rate from Thai Baht to USD. I had another local account in Thailand, and was able to transfer my money to another US Bank for far less cost. The "Free Transfers" promise they advertise in Thailand is just a marketing gimmick. It is just a hook to get more of your money. Four times as much!

I use an address in the USA that is a PO box at a shipping business. When I opened the account, I told the assistant Mgr what I intended to do, and that this was a post office box. He said, "No Problem", It is the same address I use for other bank accounts. After I deposited several thousand dollars in the account, the account was suddenly blocked. I couldn't log in online, use the ATM card or transfer money. I called customer service and they said they couldn't figure out what was the problem but promised to call me back. They never did. Later I talked to a supervisor in customer service (which is a Philippine call center) and learned that my account was blocked because my original address was a PO box. No email warning, phone call or letter. Just blocked the account. I emailed my branch Assist Mgr. asking about this problem. He emailed me back saying that he was contacting the main office to try to get my account unblocked. Then no answer. I called/emailed him numerous times when I was in the USA and left messages but got no calls returned. Nothing. My money was in limbo for 6 months until I could get to a branch in Miami and close the account. Upon closing the account, it was the same NV branch mgr who unblocked it so it could be closed. He lied about contacting main office.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

claudia_corredorya's Profile Image

2 out of 5 marks

There are so many irregularities with my mortgage account!

Two mortgage payments were cashed by Carver but the money wasn’t transferred to DMI corp. (the company handling the payments). DMI sent me letters stating that I could lose my house! Since the payments weren’t transferred on time, there were overdue taxes that weren’t paid to the township. DMI reported the supposedly missed payments to the credit agencies, hurting my credit scored. I filed a case with the division of consumer affairs. Carver finally wired the money to DMI, but what I found more disturbing is that they managed the entire thing through emails as if nothing had happened. After 6 weeks, they just let me know through email that they reported back to the credit agencies and the money was in my account.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

tvuong2014's Profile Image

tvuong2014 reviewed Wells Fargo

Jul 17th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Is there a 0 star rating for the rudest customer service?

Wow, the worst customer service ever I've encountered in any places, small or large - and come from a large, well respected American company to boost.

Lost a debit card. Called in to cancel and replacement. They totally forgot about sending out replacement.

Call in again, ask about it after 4 weeks. The rep just fire off questions to verify my identity. That's reasonable except for the quick clips like interrogation sound. Jump from one question to another, if think and have not answer in 5 seconds, got irritated and jump to the next question. Asked about my transaction, receipts. Of course, we have to look through our batch of receipts. Just continue badgering us while we frantically looking. We asked her to hold on. Answer - "I'll hold on for exactly 1 minute then will hang up. You could call back when you're ready.".

Ask why the Bank would not care about lost customer card and wanted to terminate the call, then she relented and wait for another 10 seconds. Asked why did the bank not handle it the first time. She mumble about "oh it's in the record", then totally ignore the handling part (i.e. sending replacement, contact us, etc...)

Ask if they could expedite the process since they did not handle in the 1st place. No - and not an apology either - "You go to the local branch and get a temporary replacement". We supposedly get the issue resolve. Hopefully so. I'm not so sure that she may just throw it in the trash.

To end, she loudly read continuous paragraphs for 30 seconds without taking a pause for any question and end the conversation.

Wow, that's the worst customer service I ever got since coming into this country 40 years. Treat customer like a uneducated criminal trying to steal stuff.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0