Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

leasea's Profile Image

leasea reviewed BB&T

Nov 11th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Lack of Customer Service

Our accountant advised use that BB&T has great customer service and recommended we consider changing from BOA. He has always steered us right, up until now. We opened a new business account in June and have had many customer service issues since that time. Each time I call I'm told I need to go to the branch where we opened the account, why have a call center? Unfortunately, they are no longer open on Saturday's and it's difficult to go to the branch without taking time off work. The latest issue started when I put in the wrong password and got myself locked out, my problem I know.

However, when I called I was told they didn't have a Resolution & Agreement on file even though they did have our signature cards. It was explained without that, they couldn't unlock my account and again, I needed to go to the branch. I explained today is Veterans Day, teh branch is closed. I have a copy of this form, could I fax it in order to get access to this account, was again told I needed to go to the branch.

I've had this account since June and they just now discovered they were missing something the branch was supposed to send when the account was opened. The responses from the call taker and her supervisor were unresponsive, clearly they have a paper they read off of, "go to the branch." I've told my husband the TD Bank commercials were referring to BB&T, complete lack of customer service.

I will be changing back to BOA, they may be large, however they have always responded immediately to my concerns without having to take time off to go to the branch.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Uhappywbank1's Profile Image

Uhappywbank1 reviewed Chase

Nov 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Can't Cash Their Own Checks!?

In the past i could go to any branch of the bank where the check was drawn from to get it cashed. Today i took a check issued by jp morgan/chase bank from my utility company (nicor gas) for $54. 00 to a local branch. I was told by both the teller & the manager that since i didn't have an account, they couldn't cash their own freak'n check!! (not even for a fee?! ) what a crock! I bank online and have no other easy way to get my 54 bucks!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Ricky_Ricky's Profile Image

Ricky_Ricky reviewed TD Bank

Nov 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Avoid! TD Bank Scarborough Town Center

I had a bad experience with the branch manager of TD Bank Scarborough town center named Jason. He has no respect with his customer . He doesnt know how to handle complain.He will never help or assist you in your complain .He is rude and Unprofessional .He doesnt deserve to be a brach manager . He needs more training specially in Customer Service and Ethical Cunduct.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

thedj1963's Profile Image

thedj1963 reviewed FirstMerit Bank

Nov 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Omg - They Screwed Me Over Again

First Meritt Bank in Willard is one of the most screwed up businesses in the world. Oh, i"m so mf'n pissed right now. These freakin' jokers screwed me over 3 years ago on a loan to buy a place because they took so long to process the loan - 4 months - and every month they'd inquire on my credit score. The multiple inquiries brought my credit score down so the bank then charged me an extra 1/4% interest on the loan. This time they've screwed me twice already on doing this one loan forcing me to cancel final signing and acquisition of the place 2 times.

I had an appointment at 1pm today to get the $15,000 only to find out they screwed the paper work up where they were gonna charge me $165 closing costs and an extra 1/4% interest on the loan. So now they have to redo the paper work which according to them will take days - then i sign them - and then have to wait another 3 days after signing before i can actually get the money. This is now over 2 weeks extra waiting because of this bank and since the property i"m buying is income producing property - they are actually losing me money out of my pocket due to their screw ups.

Do you think they are sorry and offer to compensate me for my loss due to their screw ups? Nope! By my calculations they will be costing me near $1,000 in lost income. Any lawyer on here wanna help me sue this worthless company? Because of their screw ups, the title company then has to refigure everything as well and draw up new papers because the amount due and dates will change. I've never been so pissed off in my life as i am right now.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Troykelly1's Profile Image

Troykelly1 reviewed FirstBank

Nov 9th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Nickel And Dime Bank

This bank charges me $5 a month for less than 3 bill pay a month. What if i have only one or two bills to pay that month? I lose. I'm taking my business somewhere else after over 10 years of dealing with this crap.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

blw1112's Profile Image

blw1112 reviewed PNC Bank

Nov 8th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible Customer Service

I am so saddened that the first time I go to this particular branch in Union, KY that I will now will be closing my accounts at PNC Bank. The service and pertinent information I have received from my branch bank in Florence, KY has always been excellent. Beyond excellent customer service! Cody in Florence opened my account almost 2 years ago and I have to say he should be the "face" for PNC Bank. It is sad that one particular branch can tarnish a relationship with the customer.

PNC in Union, KY I feel could have verbally informed me that by depositing a check instead of cashing it first would not be going into my account, now I find out until Wednesday morning because it is Saturday, then a holiday on Tuesday! This was Check N Go Check so you would think the 2 tellers that waited on me would know this was an urgent situation for cash. A simple "just so you are aware checks do no post until the next business day" and especially in this instance where it will actually be Wednesday!

I made this deposit at 11:14 am and realized at 11:30 am it was not showing up in m account. I called and this is when they explained the situation then also informed me that if I had called within 15 minutes they could have cancelled the transaction! Really???? You tell me if I had called 2 minutes earlier it could have been taken care of? So needless, I will be closing my account asap and going to US BANK where both of my daughters have been encouraging me to day for the past year!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Teacherdude0921's Profile Image

Teacherdude0921 reviewed First National Bank

Nov 8th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Fees And Unannounced Charges

I have been a long time customer. Recently i payed off a loan. They charged me $70 to complete the loan. I was never told a charge would apply. My girlfriends daughter was charged $12 on a savings account unfairly. This bank has become terrible.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jimtherepublican's Profile Image

jimtherepublican reviewed TCF Bank

Nov 7th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

TCF Customer Service Line Are A Bunch Of Liars.

Banked with them since 1985. I've been trying to get a new atm card since september 2014, it's november 2014. I'm part of the home depot breech. I've spent over 227 minutes on the phone and five visits to the branch trying to resolve this. One conclusion, their help desk is either totally incompetent or a room full of liars. No working atm cards but they're always going to send a replacement to me using some sort of 2 day mail service. Or i can spend $35. 00 for a rush service.

Was insulted by a branch manager who seemed more interested in that i close my accounts and she continue with whatever she actually does all day. Oh but if i wanted to stay and get a replacement faster, i could spend $ 35. 00... Loved the old branch, people were great. 29 years with the same bank says a lot in today's world. Too bad there won't be 30 years.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

gold7422's Profile Image

gold7422 reviewed Chase

Nov 7th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

They Ads Said, Earn Miles On Debit Cards

I just called and that is not true. That is false advertising! I am glad i called and asked before i switched my accounts over to them!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ltanis's Profile Image

ltanis reviewed First Niagara Bank

Nov 7th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Imcompetent

I financed my car through them 10 months ago. Come to find out that they accepted paperwork from the dealership and never verified. They told me that they accept everything that they receive as being true. Someone obviously didn't do their job and they do not want to own up to it. I will never use this bank again.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates