Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

ShakeTheMoneyMaker's Profile Image

ShakeTheMoneyMaker reviewed TCF Bank

Apr 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Is this kind of graft really legal, now?

I thought it might interest you to see William A. Cooper, CEO of TCF Financial Corporation's 2013 winnings playing the multiple $37 bounce fee game, denying that the "available" daily online balance you can view online as a customer, is not the one they base your "available" balance on...They do this by denying that the "available" online balance that you see does not reflect your actual available balance. I'm not referring to the ledger which also shows that you were in the black, I'm referring to the number in the upper left corner of your online ledger called "available" balance.

They simply deny that the funds were actually available.

Once the bounce fees start piling up, they can make a 2 - 3 hundred dollar killing in a matter of days, since the "available" daily balance isn't something the customer can go back and retrieve. You'd be wise to do a print screen of your daily "available" balance, daily! Without it, it's your word against theirs as to when YOUR funds, deposited into YOUR account were available.

Nice hustle, Mr. Cooper...

Oh, right, Mr. Cooper...Here's his graft winnings from 2013:

TCF Financial Corporation

CEO William A. Cooper - Compensation for 2013

Salary $1,500,000

All other compensation $276,337

Non-equity incentive plan compensation $3,000,000

Change in pension value and nonqualified deferred compensation earnings $5,681

Total Compensation $4,782,018

Options Exercised for 2013

Number of securities underlying options exercisable 800,000

Stock Ownership for 2014

Number of shares owned 1,139,681

Nice, huh?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

WellsFargocheatedm's Profile Image

WellsFargocheatedm reviewed Wells Fargo

Apr 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

I was cheated

I have autism. A bank employee named Abraham promised that i would get $25 if I opened a checking and saving account Also, that I would pay no fees. The bank never gave me $25 and charged me fees. Now I have no money. Please help me.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

nightbirdx's Profile Image

nightbirdx reviewed KeyBank

Apr 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Key Bank gets my vote for the worst bank ever!!!!!

I opened an account and made an online deposit of $50 from a savings account. The transaction was not completed-perhaps because I typed in the wrong account number, or some other error. I have no idea why it did not go through as I have had a few hundred in the savings account for 15 years.

I received no notification that the $50 deposit did not go through .Within days of the $50 deposit I then had hundreds of dollars deposited directly from my paycheck. I stopped in at the branch to get an ATM card and order a debit card. Nothing was said about my account on that day.

Five days later my debit card arrived and when I attempted to activate it I was connected to customer service agent who told me that my account had been closed because the $50 initial deposit had been drawn on a non-existent account! I asked how I was to access the money deposited and was told that they would send me a check, but they were not sure when it would arrive. Additionally, until the cancellation of he direct deposit can be processed a good part of my paycheck will be sent to Key Bank.

Their customer service is lousy and they don't know what they are doing.

Do not open an account with Key Bank!!!!!

I am also filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and I encourage everyone else to do the same.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Linksvu's Profile Image

Linksvu reviewed KeyBank

Apr 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

A bank with much needed improvement in the customer service and service offerings departments

I was a long-term (over 10 years) customer of KeyBank, and even defended them on a few occasions with family members, but finally reached the point where their weak, and weakening, quality of customer service was not worth keeping all of our business with them. Here are the main reasons:

I do not have much experience with other mid- to large banks but Key impresses me as very greedy and stingy: overdraft "rules" heavily skewed in their favor; fees or penalties for just about anything they could find; and their credit offerings were a fraction of other institutions.

Clear sub-par service: a very unfriendly and unhelpful corporate call center (most answers were go to a local branch); difference types of accounts managed completely separately (loans, credit cards, checking accounts, line of credits, etc) with no communication between departments; and turn-around times were downright terrible (one car loan took over 3 months to close!).

With all of the other banks and offerings out there, as a long-term customer I simply could not put up with such a low service bank, with below or just average offerings (online was acceptable, bank staff was usually acceptable) any longer.

I will never go back to such a lowly bank as KeyBank having experienced USAA now - a real bank that cares about their customers and offers services that lead the industry.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

fhpmanagementgmail's Profile Image

fhpmanagementgmail reviewed BB&T

Apr 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

dishonest and extremely sneak!

We moved bank accounts from Bank of America,Wells Fargo to BB&T thinking that they had good customer service. We signed up for the overdraft protection which was a line of credit we were told they would never be any fees we just pay the interest on the money we borrowed. We did this for several years with no problems. My husband and I very rarely check our bank account or look at the statements we know what we're spending and we know we have the money to cover it if we don't it's covered by the protection plan we always just move the money back. After looking at our today going back several months we found we have been charged over $400 in fees due toaAinu $9 fee that they enacted but never notified their clients about. Today I called the bank and ask them if they could go ahead and reverse those charges since they never notified a I was told no but in the future if I didn't want to be charged the $9 fee I can move the money myself. use caution when using this thanks they are very sneaky and often put things in fine print or do not notify you of changes. Very disappointed we just did another refinance they have several loans with us and several accounts. Bad customer service for this instance.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Iqbal's Profile Image

Iqbal reviewed Suntrust Bank

Apr 10th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Excellent

Very helpful and friendly

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

Jeggedda's Profile Image

Jeggedda reviewed Wells Fargo

Apr 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Fraud Protection Is Non Existent!

Had someone obviously clone my atm card and use it to withdraw from a wells fargo atm $240. Then they bought gas at a gas station for another $60. Contacted wells fargo when i saw the charges on my online account. Seemed very helpful and started an investigation. 4 days later i receved an email that they have completed their investigation and have sent me a letter to their findings. I received the letter and was floored. They said i must have :

a) forgotten that i used my card for those withdrawls 60 miles away.. Or

b) let someone use my card with my permission. My card was in my wallet and i did not use it or make those transactions, or let anyone else use my card. Contacted wells ffargo and was told the fraud case was closed and i could not appeal it or do anything further. Have a nice day.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

karina0502's Profile Image

karina0502 reviewed Bank of America

Apr 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Disappointing worst Banking Exeperience

My experience with Bank of America "Disappointing"

I am very disappointed with Bank of America, I have been a loyal customer for several years now; never had an incident with them, but at the 1st incident that happens to me, Bank of America is quick to dismiss my case. Having my identity stolen, and make me liable for something I did not do.

On March 6, 2014 my identity was stolen from a pomp at a gas station near my home, where I entered my pin. I them when on about my day, until I realized $500.00 dollars had been withdrawn from my savings from one of Bank of America locations, and $641.98 was charged at a Macyâ??s Store Location all near my home. Once I notice those charges, I immediately contacted Bank of America Claims Department to make them aware of those fraudulent charges, on which 2 claims were opened. Within 1 week Bank of America determined those charges were by me since a pin number was entered at the time of the charges, and I was been held responsible for it. The claim center department never contacted me in reference to the claim, but yet determined I was liable.

At this point is April 10, 2014 over a month now and the situation goes on; the claims department customer service are not willing to help nor they care what is happening to me. I did everything I was told to do, I filed a police report, gave them my statement. In my desperation i mentioned to them, to please contact their Bank of America Location where the money was withdrawn to obtain a footage of who took the money, but to them is not enough evidence. It is very sad, I am a hard working American who lives pay check to pay check, who trusted Bank of America with my money and information, now my information is out there and no one cares. To have this happening to me, were Bank of America will not protect my money it is devastating, I has cause me a lot of stress and headache. At this point I will be reconsidering, my loyalty to Bank of America.

This could happen to anybody that is why, I want my story to be an exam

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jeffo's Profile Image

jeffo reviewed BB&T

Apr 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible phone service

Trying to get a third health savings access card for daughter. Finally made contact, then only two show up in mail. Took 45 minutes to finally contact person the first time who took information...now we have to do same thing again.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

tarakate82's Profile Image

tarakate82 reviewed Wells Fargo

Apr 9th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst banking experience of my life!

I was the victim of a fraudulent scam, my identity was stolen, and instead of helping me, this bank closed my account! I have no access to my funds, and can't believe they'd treat their loyal customers like this (I banked with them for well over a decade). This is a horrible bank! They will screw you over in your moment of need!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0