Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

mjsmesa's Profile Image

mjsmesa reviewed Bank of America

Nov 13th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

1904 N Lindsay Mesa Az. Poor Cust Ser Mgr Lacks Common Sense

We had 3 minutes worth of simple business to conduct and stephanie (branch manager) let the 2 of us sit there for 50 minutes. She knew we were there and could of easily, without any inconvenience to anybody, taken care of us and we could have been there less than 10 minutes. We have had business account's with bofa for several years and would not recommend (at least this branch) to anyone. Stephanie works like a robot lacking simple customer service common sense. A position at the town library may be better suited for her simplistic mind.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

kngreer's Profile Image

kngreer reviewed First Tennessee Bank

Nov 13th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

No Customer Service

First: I have been banking with FT for over ten years but due to fraud had to open another acct last august. Now they only acknowledge me being a customer for about a year instead of 10. I recently had an overdraft issue and waited so long they were on the verge of closing the acct. I spoke with a CSA and she helped reverse the charges and I agreed to pay the balance. The same day the branch manager went into my acct and closed it (blaming it on automated computer practices) He then told me that at midnight the acct would be back open, which it was not. I called and tried to speak to the same branch manager around 11pm the next day but he was not in the office.

When I asked the teller to talk to his supervisor or ANYONE that could help me. She lied and told me that he was the branch manager for all Cool Springs and he was the only one who could help me. I called CS back and had no problems getting his supervisor information and left a message for a call back. I decided to call the branch manager back just by chance of reaching him. AND HE ANSWERED. He informed me that my deposit that HE told me to make was not sufficient to open the acct and I would have to put more money in it, which I did and the acct is still not open. When I asked him why did he tell me yesterday a specific amt to open the acct and now today a different amt. His respond was that the acct should not be re-opened anyways but he was doing me a FAVOR.

Usually a customer would have to open a new acct. The only reason he was re-opening my acct was because I had set up direct deposit for that acct again. It seemed his only worry was more money. They even had the audacity to make me pay for another debit card. I have several great experiences with FT but this one seems to trump all the others.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

JoeyD's Profile Image

JoeyD reviewed Investors Bank

Nov 13th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible Policies

I am not a customer of Investors Bank, nor will I ever be after my first and only experience with them. I received a refund check from my oral surgeon's office and when I walked into the branch to cash the check (written on Investors Bank check) they would not cash the check if it was not a payroll check or if I did not have an account with them. As I typically use my own bank for financial transactions, I'm not aware if this is an industry standard or some garbage policy made up by Investors Bank.

What good is paying someone by check if the bank it is drawn on will not honor it? Absolutely stupid. The tellers at the bank on Route 38 in Mt. Laurel NJ were of ZERO help and extremely condescending. After refusing to honor THEIR check, I left the branch and noticed that TD Bank (my bank) across the street. Kind of crazy that TD Bank had no problem in accepting the check drawn on Investors Bank. I will never accept another check drawn on Investors Bank and I will never do business with them. EVER. The worst customer service experience I've had in a long time and will not tolerate it.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

tsbeast's Profile Image

tsbeast reviewed U.S. Bank

Nov 13th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Decline Card

Twice within six months my card has been declined over a six dollar transaction when I had over four thousand dollars in the account. This time their excuse was they issued a new card and deactivated the old one. The "old" one does not expire until November of 2015! Why would they issue a new card? The last time they claimed they had called me to tell me they were deactivating the card due to suspicious charges, but they never did call. I know because my phone has a call log on it and there was never a call from US Bank. Too bad because their customer service personnel are wonderful, but the bank is AWFUL!! After more than ten years with them, I'm taking my account elsewhere!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

angus_magillicutty's Profile Image

angus_magillicutty reviewed Citizens Bank

Nov 12th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Amateur hour.

I've been with citizens bank for 8 years now and i'm just now in the process of leaving. At first, they were definitely better than the prior bank I used, but then things got worse:

I had been depositing checks made out to my name in my one and only account with them, a dba small business checking account, but one day a bank officer told me it's not allowed any more and that I needed to open a personal checking account in order to deposit these checks. This account of course, I had to keep $1,500. Dollars in to meet the minimum balance and not incur a fee. As it turns out - this was a lie. Then I started having regular bogus charges on my account from bogus online transactions.

These must have happened at least twice a year and each time I made a dispute, the bank killed my debit card and I had to wait for another and of course change account numbers for my online transactions, etc. The last straw for me is (now) an absolute inability for them to allow my paypal charges on ebay because of a bogus charge I disputed from a merchant calling themselves "paypal."

For some reason, a bank of their size couldn't distinguish between the real paypal and some dipstick calling themselves "paypal" and to top it off they have lied to me repeatedly about a slew of chargebacks from paypal purchases I made on ebay. They lied-to-me, or, they really just don't know what they themselves are doing. This "unauthorized transaction" business has caused me so much wasted time and anxiety. I even got into screaming matches on the phone with citizens bank people over this because even after begging them to please allow my paypal transactions, they still claimed the issue was not on their end (R10, ACH return - yeah, paypal told me. )

And I can't even comment on their mortgage department because I'd probably have a heart attack reliving that catastrophe where 3 closing dates came and went while I put myself up in an apartment and then a motel.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by

Nov 18th 2014

Hello Angus, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experiences, and I'd like to have someone from my team call you to learn more and to see how we can best help. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks, Angus -- we look forward to hearing from you!

lmoore's Profile Image

lmoore reviewed Mercantile Bank

Nov 12th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Financial Connection

Financial Connection "phone service banking" is a great idea. Day-to-day function & availability is an all-out disaster. Seems they let the inmates run the asylum. Need professional manager to manage with priority given to customer needs)NOT the "techies")--time to "clean house"! Bank image being affected.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

momheckler's Profile Image

momheckler reviewed Regions Bank

Nov 12th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Communication

Your customer service number is a joke. What makes the people in charge of this system think a person will hold for 8 minutes in order to ask a question of someone in a specific branch of your organization? I don't mind so much pushing buttons ordered by a machine if there is a hope of being connected to a person when i push the appropriate button, but your system is ridiculous!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

rr's Profile Image

rr reviewed Univest National Bank and Trust Co.

Nov 11th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Outstanding!

I am surprised to find all the negative comments here. I left Harleysville National Bank a few years ago because they were taken over by First Niagra. I don't like big conglomerates and the online banking when down the tubes. I do most of my banking online, and I prefer small town U.S.A. where people are people and not machines, which is why I chose Univest. I only have personal accounts and I don't download my transactions except as a pdf, so I can't comment on what jaallender wrote, but the online experience has been great including the online bill pay which I use regularly.

I bank mostly at the Green Lane, PA branch and have found the staff there knowledgeable and courteous. The only negatives I can say, is that I am on the edge of their branch territory so sometimes it is a little inconvenient if I am going the opposite way from where the branches are, and want to make a bank stop. The other is that the online banking times out two quickly, meaning I get prompted to click "Stay Logged On" too often. It happens even if I am in Bill Pay clicking on things. I don't think it should time out if there is activity. However, I do find this happening with other online pay systems such as my credit card systems.

My one daughter banked there until she moved away. She is the reason I went there. She recommended them and allowed me to check out the online banking before I signed up, which was a big plus. I personally have 3 accounts there, and my youngest daughter opened up an account a short time ago. I give them like a 4.8 only because of the frequent online time outs.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

arsosatx's Profile Image

arsosatx reviewed Sunbank, National Association

Nov 11th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible Bank

Worst banking experience ever. I opened my account on oct. 8 or 9 and still haven't received my debit card. I've called and gone into the branch office, and i'm always given a different date that my card was sent out. They also told me i should have paid attention when i opened my account. That was pretty rude. Especially since one person told me 4-7 business days and another told me 10-17. Last week, i was told the card had been re-issued and sent to me again because of some bank security breach and their computers. Today i was told that the card had been sent back to them, they received it on oct. 27, and that i needed to answer a bunch of security in order for it to be sent to me again.

Why didn't they contact me to let me know i needed to go thru some procedure in order to have it resent and receive my debit card? Banking with them has been a terrible inconvenience. Not only do i waste gas (& time - the wait there is looong, even when there is no line at all) going to the branch office in order to get money, but since i don't have my debit card, i missed a mandatory training session for a job one morning; when i woke up to car problems and didn't have the cash to get it fixed in time. The job was given to someone else. I'm just hoping i'll get my card within the next couple weeks. I'll go thru us bank. If i don't get my card, within 14 days, i'm closing my account.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

leasea's Profile Image

leasea reviewed BB&T

Nov 11th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Lack of Customer Service

Our accountant advised use that BB&T has great customer service and recommended we consider changing from BOA. He has always steered us right, up until now. We opened a new business account in June and have had many customer service issues since that time. Each time I call I'm told I need to go to the branch where we opened the account, why have a call center? Unfortunately, they are no longer open on Saturday's and it's difficult to go to the branch without taking time off work. The latest issue started when I put in the wrong password and got myself locked out, my problem I know.

However, when I called I was told they didn't have a Resolution & Agreement on file even though they did have our signature cards. It was explained without that, they couldn't unlock my account and again, I needed to go to the branch. I explained today is Veterans Day, teh branch is closed. I have a copy of this form, could I fax it in order to get access to this account, was again told I needed to go to the branch.

I've had this account since June and they just now discovered they were missing something the branch was supposed to send when the account was opened. The responses from the call taker and her supervisor were unresponsive, clearly they have a paper they read off of, "go to the branch." I've told my husband the TD Bank commercials were referring to BB&T, complete lack of customer service.

I will be changing back to BOA, they may be large, however they have always responded immediately to my concerns without having to take time off to go to the branch.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates