Top Rated Banks

Take control of your banking experience. Read reviews from real bank customers. Our users have posted thousands of reviews, sharing their experiences with thousands of banks. Our bank reviews can help you decide your next banking relationship based on what fits your needs.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Bank Reviews

Nubz262's Profile Image

Nubz262 reviewed Guaranty Bank, WI

Jan 15th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Overdraft Fees Downright Criminal

Being a customer for over 10+ i have had enough. Their overdraft policies have allowed my account to exeed -800$. I have tried over and over again to access my account online and via phone only to have customer service redirect me again and again. So when i first overdrafted i had no idea as i was able to keep using my card for sodas and snacks at my work. As well as automatic withdrawals from my insurance.

I have registered my email and asked how hard is it to email me a notification the instant i overdrafted as i wasnt made aware until they sent a letter in the mail. I argued for hours that it didnt make any sense that they would allow me to get that negative. If i didnt have the money why did you keep allowing funds to be withdrawn?

So after seeing that i basicly spent 37 dollars for a soda and calculating the total amount i spent they made over 600 dollars from their overdraft fees. I had no choice but too use their fresh start program. Which after being unemployed could no longer pay. So now when my unemployment comes in they take it all and leave me nothing. If their was an option to give them negative stars i would. No one should ever go to this bank and anyone who was a customer should picket outside their branches and point people the other way. This bank is pure evil.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

CAPTDAN's Profile Image

CAPTDAN reviewed Citizens Bank

Jan 15th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Bank Ever

Not only was their mortgage process intrusive and complex, we had a burst pipe in our house, and since they require the insurance policy to name them, the check had to go to them. It's been a nightmare trying to get them to pay for the repairs. Basically although the insurance company sent us 40,000 they want us to pay for the repairs first and then they'll give us the money. They are sloooow and bureaucratic, the worst customer focus ever. Do not ever deal with them if you can help it.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by Citizens Bank

Responded by

Jan 20th 2015

Hello CAPTDAN, I am from Citizens Bank's Office of the Chairman. I am very sorry to hear about your experiences in our Philadelphia branches, and I'd like to have someone from my team call you to learn more and to see how we can best help. Can you please email your name and a phone number we can reach you at to AskCitizensBank@citizensbank.com? (Please do not include any personal information such as social security numbers or account numbers in your email.) Thanks, CAPTDAN -- we look forward to hearing from you!

poppy9422's Profile Image

poppy9422 reviewed PNC Bank

Jan 15th 2015

2 out of 5 marks

PNC Visa Card

My mom is a loyal customer of this bank. She recently had a two week stay in the hospital and a three week stay at the nursing home. By the time I went through her mail, she was two months late. My poor mom is never late and she was mortified. We called the PNC credit card and immediately paid the balance. The next day her card was cancelled and a subsequent application was denied. They gave us no warning that the system would automatically cancel the card, even though it was paid in full. Not a good credit card to do business with. Happy I do not have a PNC credit card.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

chart's Profile Image

chart reviewed TCF Bank

Jan 15th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

TCF are thieves

They don't process deposits made after 3;00 pm, for 24 to 48 hours, but they process checks around the clock. This action causes bounced checks, if you run close to the edge, like almost every American is doing these days. 37.00 for every NSF. Supposedly, if your NSF is less than a dollar, they don't charge you, but they did me, 37.00 for a lousy .23 cents that I made good with a 100.00 deposit on the same day. But since I work until 5;00, my 100.00 deposit will sit there, unaccounted for until 2 days later. Stay away from this bank. The only reason I gave them a star is because I can't post this without leaving at least 1.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Bankhate's Profile Image

Bankhate reviewed Wells Fargo

Jan 15th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Just awful

Have always hated this place. I have my mortgage through them, so I have to occasionally go here, unfortunately, these people are obnoxious!! They try to push all kinds of banking services on you after you tell them you aren't interested many times. They won't let up either. I just wanted to pay my mortgage. I felt attacked. There customer service reps are so fake! The ask you many many unrelated, intrusive questions. I would never voluntarily bank here.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

yonemoriantal's Profile Image

yonemoriantal reviewed Bank Of Hawaii

Jan 15th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible Bank

They overcharged me fees and no dispute in writing and person solved the issues. They just keep sending form letters

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

nidan's Profile Image

nidan reviewed Santander Bank

Jan 15th 2015

2 out of 5 marks

S-L-O-W

Not sure why but branch on Chickering Rd is slower than ever. One teller in particular. Often there will be three tellers. Two of them are unavailable (little signs telling you go to another teller in front of them). Even when several customers waiting, only one teller will serve people. Then it literally takes 2 to 3 times as long for a simple deposit than it did in the past. I can't imagine why.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

randygyrl's Profile Image

randygyrl reviewed Fifth Third Bank

Jan 15th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

HORRIBLE

Last year, my husband and I decided to take out a mortgage loan with 5/3 even though we could have paid cash. We wanted to establish more credit. We told the finance officer she had between 2-3 months before our closing date. One week before that date, we were told we had to pay off three other smaller loans, close my medical line of credit and get a verification. Unbelievable! Needless to say, we did NOT close on the given date even though they had ample time and we later found out that the officer in charge of our loan had another issue/grievance with the precious owner of the home we were trying to buy. What a perfect saboteur for the reigning bank of hell! FYI: I didnot want to give any stars but I was unable to post my comment without doing so. They are NO stars!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Jj312's Profile Image

Jj312 reviewed S&T bank

Jan 15th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Helped me out so much

When I was with c&g for 8 years did all my billing throw the. Out of no were they close my account can't tell me y . So I went to s&t bank they did ever thing to help me out and all very nice and awelays people there to help u I am happy there my new bank keep up the good work

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Ablinkin's Profile Image

Ablinkin reviewed KeyBank

Jan 14th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Over twenty years with Key and I'm about to switch

I've been with Key about 20 years. And I might add that the one thing I will not tolerate is rude employees. There are to many banks available to put up with that.

Today I received a notice that my Key credit card had been closed. WHAT? No bills received for over two months and we keep a small balance on it anyway.

Call customer service and don't get through for 20 minutes, next I spot a number to Key Security and call that. That is where the rudest employee I've had the "pleasure" of dealing with at Key. I might as well been unemployed and living on the street for the way this person treated me over a balance of less than three hundred dollars. I offer to pay the account through my savings or another credit line. Not good enough, check routing number only. What? Take it out of my checking then. Not good enough.

We had been getting paper bills and somehow got switched to email billing which went who knows where, so two payments were missed. My fault of course for not checking sooner,but with Christmas time etc etc etc.

We do electronic billing with Key and NEVER did this card show up on our accounts. Never! But yet our credit line is there along with savings and checking.

Tomorrow I'm going down to pay off the card and cancel it. Also I'm going to pay off my credit line of 300 dollars balance also. Then I'll decide it Key gets and more business from me.

I'm sure my credit report will take a ding, but ultimately Key will probably lose my business permanently..

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »