Top Rated Banks

Some online banks may be better for your financial situation than others. Find the online bank that is the best match for you. Draw from the thousands of online bank reviews from customers to select your online bank.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Online Bank Reviews

Mellit's Profile Image

Mellit reviewed Capital One 360

May 23rd 2015

5 out of 5 marks

So much better!

I switched to capital one 360 because of the overdraft line of credit. I don't usually overdraft, but the times that I have by accident, I got totally reamed by wells Fargo. Like eight overdraft fees in one day. And usually for something dumb, like my husband took out cash without realizing I had bills coming out. It's really painful to lose hundreds of dollars in those fees when you already are on a tight budget. And sometimes you can't cancel scheduled bills in time, even after you know about the negative balance, so those overdraft too. I even turned off overdraft protection with wells Fargo, but they still would allow stuff to go through! They would approve my debit card purchases, or atm withdrawal, and then later when a bill came through they'd go back and charge me an overdraft for ALL of the purchases, not just the bill. Their excuse....that the stated date from the biller preceeded the purchases, even though the actual bill wasn't withdrawn until after the purchases. I'm not sure that's even legal, but they are getting away with it. These big banks will do anything to trap you in these fees. Cap One helped get us back on track. The overdraft line of credit saved my butt a few times, with no fees, which saved me more. I also love how they automatically deduct money from the account when I send a check or payment, even if the check hasn't been cashed. Being a scatter brain, I often forget about payments that I sent, which causes overdrafts. This checking account helps keep me on track. I've also had no issues with customer service. They've always been very nice and informative. I've had a capital one credit card since college. It is literally the only credit card I've ever had that doesn't raise interest rates. It's been the same rate for thirteen years, no matter how high the debt got. Other cards that I had at the same time raised their rates even when I paid faithfully. So, I paid those ones off and now only use the capital one card.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Texas_Aggies_WRTS's Profile Image

Texas_Aggies_WRTS reviewed Simple

May 12th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Best bank ever!

My previous bank took more in fees than what I put in, and that didn't feel right. (I reward them with a deposit, and they steal my money...). I overdraft by 12¢, and they charge me $35.00. That isn't fair.

Moving my funds to Simple, and banking with them for the past 3-4 months has been the most rewarding, refreshing banking experience I've ever had. The customer service is excellent, the software interface (both web and iOS) are pleasing to look at, and the goals feature built into the program works and is geared toward helping me save for my needs.

The customer service reps for Simple are humans. They care about their customers. They're professional, and sometimes respond with memes.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

mudeb123's Profile Image

mudeb123 reviewed Synchrony Bank

May 3rd 2015

5 out of 5 marks

No compassion for customers

I had an account with GE Capital which is now Synchrony Bank. I have always paid on time for the last year and I have never had a late payment and I always make double payments when I pay. My payment is due on the 27th of each month. I accidentally missed the April 27th payment somehow and when I discovered it, I immediately and promptly paid them. I called them to let them know that this was a huge oversight and I had always paid on time and never missed a payment. They had no compassion and said that they had already reported this to the credit bureaus. I begged them not to do this because it would hurt my credit score to have a late payment and they said it was their policy. I called back to ask how long this would be on my credit and the representative replied "forever". I think this is disgraceful. I could even understand if I had been 10 days past due or even a month but it was just a week and I begged them to reconsider, but they would not.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

OttoOtto's Profile Image

OttoOtto reviewed USAA

May 2nd 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Great place to keep my money

They keep things Simple, I've been a happy member for years. I don't understand how less banks have better banktracker ratings.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

chrisjeon's Profile Image

chrisjeon reviewed Simple

Apr 20th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Best Online Bank Ever

I use Simple and it is simply the best online bank I've ever used. The mobile app is simple and sleek, and the number of ATM's available in Manhattan is great. Although, if you don't live in a dense place like Manhattan, the number of atm locations go down quite a bit.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

avezbanking's Profile Image

avezbanking reviewed Simple

Mar 13th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

An Internet Bank with a Personal touch

I've run the gamut of issues you can present to a bank, as freelancer with irregular income - I am the worst. What sets Simple a part from other banks, even comparable internet banks, is that they are proactive and communicate with you! I got a message today about my name being misspelled by a check issuer, and ended up having a very friendly chat where a cat picture was exchanged. I am so charmed that I am leaving a review wherever I can. They absolutely deliver on their promise: it's simple. Simple in the good way. Operated by human beings - good human beings. I am chucking my interest bearing Charles Schwab account, which has better perks, because I've never actually felt a genuine connection to a service provider the way I feel for Simple.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 1

RickLindgren's Profile Image

RickLindgren reviewed Capital One 360

Mar 7th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Great Customer Service!

We started with ING direct, when 360 took over we were a little concerned, but have been staying with them since because of their exceptional customer service. We recently had to reset our pin and was helped by Lisa, one of their helpful customer service members. She was very helpful and understanding. She knew the process very well and it felt like we were dealing with a close friend. Because of people like her, we plan to stay with 360 for a long time.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

countvidal's Profile Image

countvidal reviewed Simple

Mar 4th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Not a Big Bad Bank

Simple feels like your personal banker in your pocket. Support staff are always ready to help you. There is no getting transferred 4 times to somebody in india that can barely speak english.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 1

bankaman60's Profile Image

bankaman60 reviewed Ally Bank

Jan 17th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Five stars by any measure

I'm confused about the the three-star rating when most of the reviews give a glowing five-stars - maybe there were a few folks who gave one star and that dragged it down? Anyway, as most people have noted, Ally is clearly the best way to go for online banking; and for those who are put off by the lack of brick-and-mortar locations, try thinking of banking differently. If you own a smartphone and a computer, there is absolutely no reason to "go to the bank"! Everything you might ever need to do can be done online and/or on the phone. Ally's phone reps are terrific - smart and patient, knowledgable about the products, and speak clear English (and possibly Spanish as well - I haven't checked). The no fee ATM feature is for real, and it's so convenient. It's also awfully nice to get nearly 1% interest on your savings account when virtually all the other banks give you next to nothing (like .005% or some nonsense, which is effectively zero). You even earn a bit on your checking account. No minimum balances, great online and mobile banking interfaces, great customer service: a winning formula, to be sure.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 6 ▼ No 1

annalog's Profile Image

annalog reviewed Ally Bank

Jan 12th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

You have to be retarded to bank anywhere else

I've been a Wells Fargo customer for 8 years now and have many accounts with them, including my mortgage, but I won't keep cash there. WF is paying 0.01% on savings. It's really insulting given their profitability. At Ally, I get 0.99% with no service fees or crap to deal with. And their customer service is outstanding.

A+ for Ally.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 4 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »