Top Rated Banks

Some online banks may be better for your financial situation than others. Find the online bank that is the best match for you. Draw from the thousands of online bank reviews from customers to select your online bank.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Online Bank Reviews

avezbanking's Profile Image

avezbanking reviewed Simple

Mar 13th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

An Internet Bank with a Personal touch

I've run the gamut of issues you can present to a bank, as freelancer with irregular income - I am the worst. What sets Simple a part from other banks, even comparable internet banks, is that they are proactive and communicate with you! I got a message today about my name being misspelled by a check issuer, and ended up having a very friendly chat where a cat picture was exchanged. I am so charmed that I am leaving a review wherever I can. They absolutely deliver on their promise: it's simple. Simple in the good way. Operated by human beings - good human beings. I am chucking my interest bearing Charles Schwab account, which has better perks, because I've never actually felt a genuine connection to a service provider the way I feel for Simple.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

RickLindgren's Profile Image

RickLindgren reviewed Capital One 360

Mar 7th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Great Customer Service!

We started with ING direct, when 360 took over we were a little concerned, but have been staying with them since because of their exceptional customer service. We recently had to reset our pin and was helped by Lisa, one of their helpful customer service members. She was very helpful and understanding. She knew the process very well and it felt like we were dealing with a close friend. Because of people like her, we plan to stay with 360 for a long time.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

countvidal's Profile Image

countvidal reviewed Simple

Mar 4th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Not a Big Bad Bank

Simple feels like your personal banker in your pocket. Support staff are always ready to help you. There is no getting transferred 4 times to somebody in india that can barely speak english.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

bankaman60's Profile Image

bankaman60 reviewed Ally Bank

Jan 17th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Five stars by any measure

I'm confused about the the three-star rating when most of the reviews give a glowing five-stars - maybe there were a few folks who gave one star and that dragged it down? Anyway, as most people have noted, Ally is clearly the best way to go for online banking; and for those who are put off by the lack of brick-and-mortar locations, try thinking of banking differently. If you own a smartphone and a computer, there is absolutely no reason to "go to the bank"! Everything you might ever need to do can be done online and/or on the phone. Ally's phone reps are terrific - smart and patient, knowledgable about the products, and speak clear English (and possibly Spanish as well - I haven't checked). The no fee ATM feature is for real, and it's so convenient. It's also awfully nice to get nearly 1% interest on your savings account when virtually all the other banks give you next to nothing (like .005% or some nonsense, which is effectively zero). You even earn a bit on your checking account. No minimum balances, great online and mobile banking interfaces, great customer service: a winning formula, to be sure.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 0

annalog's Profile Image

annalog reviewed Ally Bank

Jan 12th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

You have to be retarded to bank anywhere else

I've been a Wells Fargo customer for 8 years now and have many accounts with them, including my mortgage, but I won't keep cash there. WF is paying 0.01% on savings. It's really insulting given their profitability. At Ally, I get 0.99% with no service fees or crap to deal with. And their customer service is outstanding.

A+ for Ally.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

johngummadi's Profile Image

johngummadi reviewed Simple

Jan 7th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Love The Simplicity

Looks like the simple team actually had gone through the pains that normal people experience with traditional banking solutuions. Simple gives full controll over your money.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

thejbru's Profile Image

thejbru reviewed Simple

Jan 7th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Excellent Customer Service Backed By Slick Interfaces

I love my bank now. The simple (no pun intended) act of calling them and getting an actual person answering the phone is so refreshing. Any time i've had an issue, like when my card info was used for a shopping spree in ga while i live in mn, their response has been swift and human. Meaning they did things to make it right that you'd think your friend would do vs. What a bank's policy would have them do.

Recently, i received a message that my card would be replaced because they received news of a retail store's security breach that might endanger my card info. A bit of a hassle, but how great that they didn't wait until after there was a problem? Their web site and phone apps are top notch. I particularly love their "goals" feature that lets me set aside money a bit at a time either for bill payments or for planned purchases.

This feature has finally got me to stay within a budget for myself and made me more financially secure. It's great to see my "safe-to-spend" value when logging in vs. My actual balance as it lets me know how much i have that isn't already dedicated to my goals and budget. I can't recommend simple highly enough.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

danielsrcross's Profile Image

danielsrcross reviewed Simple

Jan 7th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Incredibly 'Current' Design, & Over The Top Customer Service

These guys may be one of the best organizations as a whole i've ever done business with! They have a mentality of keeping everything 'simple', and it's taken literally. With easy-to-use goal setting mechanisms, an actual person on the other end of the phone, and just an overall pleasant experience, this bank is a cut above.

Just a quick example: i was accidentally charged twice for a tiny, $10 purchase from a local retailer due to an error with simple's system last year. Not only did they recoup the damage within 72 hours, but the bank president sent me an email and a courtesy credit of $50 to make up for any inconvenience. Absolutely incredible group of people over a t simple!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Matt1900's Profile Image

Matt1900 reviewed Simple

Jan 7th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Simple Is A Great Bank - No Nonsense!

I've been a member for close to a year now. It's been really an enjoyable experience. The customer service is superbly friendly. They make you feel very welcome. The bank is an online/app only bank. No local branches. But that really just adds to the beauty of simple bank. It really is simple. It's a pleasure to use them as my main bank. I would not suggest using them as one's sole bank, definitely have a local secondary, but with that said--it makes an awesome primary.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

moneysaver21's Profile Image

moneysaver21 reviewed Capital One 360

Jan 6th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Enjoy This Bank

I have been with ING Direct now Capital One 260 and have no problems with

them. Its a great bank and i recommend them highly.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »