Top Rated Banks

Some online banks may be better for your financial situation than others. Find the online bank that is the best match for you. Draw from the thousands of online bank reviews from customers to select your online bank.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Online Bank Reviews

MichielOosting's Profile Image

MichielOosting reviewed Ally Bank

Aug 30th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Only permanent US citizens are welcome.

I am a Dutch employee here in the USA during an Expat contract and have a LIB Visa; this visa allows me to work in the USA for the company I was send over as an Expat and gave me the formal paperwork that allowed me to apply for a US SSN number and to open an US bank account.

Ally bank has in his policies that only permanent residents are allowed to open a bank account with them while it is totally legal for people with an L1B visa to do so (like UMPQUA bank will do).

Therefore I would not recommend to open an account with them since they are not aware of the global changes of doing business international.

Regards,

Michiel

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

flowineddy's Profile Image

flowineddy reviewed Ally Bank

Aug 29th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst auto leasing company ever!!!

We leased a vehicle through Ally and then decided to buy the car at the end of the lease. Instead of being able to buy it for the residual, they tack on $2,500 for absolutely no other reason but to keep you from buying the car in hopes you'll lease another car. I've purchased several vehicles we originally leased over the years and have always purchased them for the residual value which makes sense. They don't even try to justify the $2500 penalty, they just say "sorry." Stay away from this company at all costs, they're simply greedy and they absolutely lack any sense of customer service.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

rpbreault's Profile Image

rpbreault reviewed Simple

Aug 29th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Wow what a terrible turn for the worst

First, I have written 4 reviews in my whole life, so I only write when I have conviction for something that I love or gives me great grief. I started off banking with Simple about two or three months ago and loved it. After this last update to their server, it has been one of the most challenging experiences that I have ever endured. It started with double postings in my spending log, at times it would give me inaccurate balances. Following this came the worst part....NOT MAKING PAYMENTS. I attempted to pay a credit card and send a check 3 times with no luck. After I let them know of my displeasure they gave me alternatives, including going through another bank?!? I thought their motto was that they wanted to replace my bank? After starting to migrate to another bank, I cancelled all scheduled payments through Simple. The real kicker is...yesterday they sent out a payment to my credit card and it wasn't scheduled. Customer service went south too, it takes on average 3 days to hear back from them and they will do whatever it takes to not get on the phone with you. I highly recommend avoiding this bank.

Another funny thing, they created a nice new shiny app to go along with their bank while these problems were unfolding. My suggestion, make sure you operate smoothly and manage transactions before trying to impress people with slick apps.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

angrycustomer523's Profile Image

angrycustomer523 reviewed USAA

Aug 29th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Steals Money From Victims Of Fraud

They won't accept police reports and even if you send one in they refuse to read it. False advertising of protecting veterans and soldiers.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

taraelizbth's Profile Image

taraelizbth reviewed Simple

Aug 29th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Simply Stay Away

I was really interested by this bank but it has become nothing but a nightmare recently. I work outside of the country so an online bank is exactly what I needed. The problems started in the beginning of August. I went to the US to visit my family and sent some money to my simple account. At that time they updated their systems and I was one of the unlucky ones whose card did not come back online, leaving me stranded with no money at all (and this was my only bank) Customer services solution for me was to find another form of payments until they could fix the card (impossible they had all my money!)

Then it was finally fixed..but all payments started posting double to my account. Also the money keeps dissapearing. Currently my account is showing I'm in the negative but i should have over $100.

Another issue that is a little unique to my situation is I dont have a cell phone number but all things you try to do on your account need to be verified through a 4 digit pin sent to your phone. I can't send money or even change any settings on my account. Basically my money is held hostage right now by Simple. Customer service has also been very slow at responses lately.

The bank has potential but it just isnt there yet. Proceed with caution!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

spinoza21's Profile Image

spinoza21 reviewed Simple

Aug 27th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Awful!

My experience with simple started out simply enough. I wasn't happy with my old bank and the idea of having a completely virtual bank sounded appealing. I slowly migrated to simple (being a little gun-shy on no longer having a check book) and finally switched over completely about two months ago. Everything was running fine until suddenly i received a notice that simple would be down for an evening (including atm usage). I figured that was strange for a bank, but thought nothing of it. I'm not sure if it was causal, but immediately afterwards is when my experience with simple fell apart. I had two scheduled payments that were suddenly never sent. Customer support at simple suggested that i find another way to pay my bills. Having *just* closed my old bank account i had to get money orders and deal with the hassle of mailing checks while traveling overseas. Furthermore, the contacts were completely dropped from my account and when the next payment cycle came up again the payments were never sent. The technical issues have now dragged into a second month and despite the warm communication from the customer service team, no end appears in sight. What is the point of having a bank that you can't rely on? What a shame.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

andybsmith01hotmai's Profile Image

andybsmith01hotmai reviewed USAA

Aug 26th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Been With Them Nearly 20 Years.

Usaa is spending lots of money on worthless programs we could get for free on the internet. They literally employ hundreds of people to sell us services that actually work against us as veterans. What might be nice is stop spending money on crap programs and give us competitive interest rates. I have a 830 credit score and can better rates easily elsewhere every time on every loan. Usaa is always higher by. 5%-1%

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

richards's Profile Image

richards reviewed Discover Bank

Aug 26th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Delaying transfer and no extra interest

Have a number of IRA CD's. One recently matured and I decided to withdraw the funds. Filled out their form to have funds sent electronically to my local account. Received a written confirmation dated August 11 that funds would be scheduled for transfer on August 20. Called DiscoverBank on August 26 when funds did not arrive at my bank. Was told initially by customer service that funds were actually transferred on August 21. When I pressed to speak with transfer department, she put me on hold and came back to say that the funds transfer was actually initiated on August 22, and that there was no actual transfer department that I could speak with. Why am I not being paid extra interest for the day (or two) that DiscoverBank held my funds before actually initiating the transfer?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

nicholasj18's Profile Image

nicholasj18 reviewed Simple

Aug 25th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Replace your Bank! Think again!

I have had Simple for about three months. Their banks solutions aren't impressive but they are simple and it works. Lately I have been declined at stores and online even when I have money in my account. I tried calling but they direct you to their online system which tells you to wait. It has been seven days and I can't use my card. I'm glad I didn't jump ship completely and after this debacle I will be closing my account. The fact that they are overwhelmed by this is appalling. I would rather pay fees then not have access. This problem should never be considered ok.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Laurengirl's Profile Image

Laurengirl reviewed Simple

Aug 25th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Can't even call it a bank, a bank wouldn't allow such issues

I was lured in by the flashy advertising. I'll admit it. But this is the crappiest bank ever. I would hesitate to even call it such, most banks wouldn't allow the kinds of issues that I and many other customers have experienced. Since their recent "upgrade", I have not had one successful transaction. This was three weeks ago. Nearly a month. I can't receive money, I can't transfer money out, my account tells me I have no money when I do, it's ridiculous. Every time I've tried to do something, anything, I've had to call customer service, which tells me EVERY TIME that they've never seen this before and will have to get their "engineers" working on it. Bull. I have to wait for a final direct deposit from my employer and then I'm out. Be warned.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates