Top Rated Banks

Some online banks may be better for your financial situation than others. Find the online bank that is the best match for you. Draw from the thousands of online bank reviews from customers to select your online bank.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Online Bank Reviews

Maloney's Profile Image

Maloney reviewed Capital One 360

Apr 24th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Posting time frames are ridiculous-360 checking/savings acct owner

Pros: Accessibility

Cons: Posting times frames are too long, mobile app is terrible, account alerts are slow (lag time is up to a full day, customer service is lacking

It takes three business days for funds to become available if money is transfered from a 360 savings account to a 360 checking account. An internal transfer, between accounts that I own. At one time I had a regular Cap one checking account and funds were available immediately upon transfer. So it can be done. If the funds are there, and the transfer is digital, it should be available immediately.

Another BIG issue I have with this bank are the alerts. There are not many alert options and alerts have a 24 hour lag. I have a Chase account, if a withdrawal is made....I receive an alert immediately to my phone/email. This prompt service mitigates risk and prevents theft. Again, this is a programming issue that can be solved.

In closing, I am sorry I opened these accounts and will be moving all of my money to Chase bank. Capital One 360 is great if you want to give your 11 year old a bank account, it is not for adults who have EFT deposits and actually use their bank account to spend money.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

hackbank's Profile Image

hackbank reviewed Bank Of Internet

Apr 22nd 2014

5 out of 5 marks

hackerhamza

any one with usa local banks and equity account platinum card

> hacking school grades am hacker i leave in texas i can hack anything

> for you load money to your bank account when i load money to your

> bank account no upfront fee i do it we share it 5050 i need accounts

likes old boa welsfargo usaa navy credit union local banks equity

and a lots if you got university grades to hacks to clears criminal

records to breaks any data you hire me for that one i travel to your

place to do it asap for you or i do it here email me if u need good

email alexseybelan@financier.com

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

5674's Profile Image

5674 reviewed USAA

Apr 22nd 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Credit card balance transfer , despicable!

I took the bait when USAA sent me a offer of low credit card balance transfers, so I transferred my high rate cards. What I did not know is that after a short promotional period they would treat the balance as a cash advance, big bucks as we all know. I now pay more than before I transferred my balances! . So I asked if I can pay off what they considered "cash advances" separate from my regular credit card balance, NO!!!!

I take full blame for not getting out my microscope to read the entire journal (agreement) but, dammmm!

So, don't buy into all the "we help military personnel and their family's" crap. Your better off with Capitol One or other major credit card companies who don't go waving the American Flag while they give you a financial enema!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

caponesucks's Profile Image

caponesucks reviewed Capital One 360

Apr 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Bait and switch - stay away - they suck

CapitalOne allowed me to create a sharebuilder IRA account on 4/15/14 and tag the contribution for 2013. I thought this was great because it saved me a trip to the branch of my credit union.

I funded the account with a transfer from another account. Two days later I received a notice that they added the funds to my 2014 IRA. No explanation until I called and they said - "oh, well it takes more than a day to transfer the money and you opened the account on 4/15 which is the tax deadline"

I didn't open the account with my other online bank because they had logic built into their app which prevented selecting 2013 if I was transferring money.

Stay away - they're another big bank and they've lost my business. Should have stayed with my local bank.

I have filed a complaint with the Federal Consumer Protection Bureau and I'm interested to see if this is much more wide spread.

On the plus side, they did answer the phone when I called - but they were useless in fixing the problem.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Eric0626's Profile Image

Eric0626 reviewed USAA

Apr 17th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Sucks as a bank

USAA was always good until I had to file bankruptcy. I am trying to set up a transfer to a different bank so that I can transfer funds there. This is the third transfer that I've set up with USAA, the first two I did not require documentation and now they have to mail me a paper just for me to send back in for them to do this.

One representative told me it was U.S. Bank that was requiring this documentation and the other representative was telling me that it was USAA. Which is it USAA?

They cut off access to the website because of the bankruptcy and now I can only access it on my cell phone or the mobile site, I have no idea why they would do this?

I love their car insurance but I think their bank sucks!

The only reason I bank with them is so that I can receive my paycheck early. Beware if you bank with them and go through bankruptcy, they will treat you like a redheaded stepchild after that.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

JIMMYGJR's Profile Image

JIMMYGJR reviewed Discover Bank

Apr 16th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

BEST CREDIT CARD/BANKING EXPERIENCE EVER !!!!!!!

I've had a Discover Card for over 25 years. Any merchant dispute I had was resolved by Discover in a timely manner. I've since been using Discover Banking. Again, my experiences on the phone and on-line have all been extremely positive. Although there are other banks currently offering CD rates a bit higher than those of Discover Bank, I would not change banks for a minimal 20 basis points. Service is just as important as the rate of return.

I would and have recommended Discover Card and Discover Bank to anyone who is looking for quality service and returns!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Mariacatalina's Profile Image

Mariacatalina reviewed Ally Bank

Apr 15th 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Offers no ATM cards and changing to a joint account was a nightmare.

Ally bank offers great rates but mediocre service. When I got married and added my husband to the savings account it was a mess. My husband for some reason couldn't not get access to the account after many calls and emails representative finally figured out that they needed to create a separate username and password for him. After that was sorted we decided to expand to a high interest checking account where inspecifically told the representative that I do not use debit cards thus to only send us at, cards. Today I received a debit card and have been told that ATM cards are not offered or available. Debit cards are the devil and banks want you to use them as it benefits them solely. If you lose a debit card or someone gets access to the number, then all your liquid assets are frozen until it's all sorted out. With all the id theft these days I refuse to use these cards and am highly disappointed that I have no other alternative other than closing my accounts that's were so hard to open in the first place.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mpuppet's Profile Image

mpuppet reviewed ETRADE

Apr 15th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Locked out of account

etrade locked me out of my account because I attempted to wire money to a bank account in my name in the UK. I had followed their directions and attached a copy of my passport.

I called them the minute I noticed their call but they acted very suspicious and said I needed to talk to the "Unit" that handles these issues. Four days later when this special unit got around to calling me, I find out that this unit is the security unit. Paranoid does not describe the mall cop I spoke too. I did not have the correct phone number for my account he finally told me. This was an account that was bought out twice so the original phone number was 20 years old and 6 residences previous. But I had answers for all of their other questions. Not good enough. Dude was such a jerk. You know, the IT security dude. Sorry for those of you who are good ones. This guy was a cop wanna be. You know how they talk to you. Guilty until proven innocent.

I told them to forget about the wire, I would transfer the money to another U.S. account that has resided on my quick transfer screen for a couple of years. Nope. Still locked out until I go to the U.S Consulate and get a notarized affidavit for identity. Because the alternative in the UK seems to take over 2 weeks.

If eTrade wants to have strict security then introduce a number validation card like B of A or others. Or have more security questions like other banking and brokerage accounts.

All activity on an account seems suspicious to them. Well my suspicion is that this is the cheap way to maintain security and they use your cash while the account is in lock down. Just a little extra interest to keep them afloat.

When my account is unlocked, everything will be moved.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jogden's Profile Image

jogden reviewed Charles Schwab Bank

Apr 14th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

copy of check refused to deposit

I had a copy of a check I needed to deposit (original was destroyed) in my Schwab account but the local branch manager (West Portal Branch in San Francisco) refused to accept it. Telling me it was not "standard" even though the copy is as legal as making a deposit through your smart phone where you take a picture (create a copy) to deposit it. Very frustrating experience. Now I have to go back to issuing bank, request a stop payment on the old check and have them reissue all to satisfy this middle level manager who does not understand common banking practices.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

lazylazyjoe's Profile Image

lazylazyjoe reviewed Ally Bank

Apr 12th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Excellent.

Have had ally for over 2 years. Best bank by far.I tell everyone about them. Can't believe they have anything to do with GM.

There's no monthly fee/minimum.& quick setup. But, that's common these days.

Interest on your checking.

No ATM fee. They even give you back the money the ATM charges you. One month I used $75 of ATM w/d's and got it alll back.

Low overdraft fee of $9.Free savings link for overdraft protection.

Transfer to other banks online.Free bill pay.

Deposit checks,popmoney, account details from your phone.

Customer Service is excellent too.

Never waited for than 4 minutes and most of the time there's no wait at all.App shows you wait time before you even call them. You can chat online for talk on the phone to someone 24/7 with almost no wait.

All communication they send you is stored in PDF that you can accesss.

I recently had to ask for a chargeback to MLB.com. They issued me a provisional credit in 3 days while chargeback is in progress.They sent me a form & prepaid evenvelope to fill out which I lost & reprinted (Luckily, all communication is in your profile). They even called me to make sure I didn't have any trouble filling it out.

The only situation you shouldn't consider Ally is if you make all your deposits in cash (no cash deposits), need integrated loans, or just really like going to a bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0