Top Rated Banks

Some online banks may be better for your financial situation than others. Find the online bank that is the best match for you. Draw from the thousands of online bank reviews from customers to select your online bank.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Online Bank Reviews

Salulu's Profile Image

Salulu reviewed Ally Bank

Dec 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible application process

it was like i am applying for a secret service agent positions with ally reps contacting me for the 4th time in 1 month trying to get me to continue furnish them with additional info bcos they could not verify my wife's address for a MM account. this was after we've given them more than enough info such as DL, SSN utilities, Voter Registration card, etc to validate her current address. they got hung up on an old address appearing on her DL. Terrible customer experience in the front end that made us jump to another competitor today. they made me feel like they are doing me a favor.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

dmdicks's Profile Image

dmdicks reviewed Ally Bank

Dec 16th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Disturbing Practices

I have been with Ally for 2 1/2 years. Yes they offer good interest rates with both checking and savings accounts. Yes getting customer service is somewhat easy. If you want to order checks, or check a posting, it is so simple, make the call and it's fixed, right? So Ally seem to do the simple things right. But what about when things go seriously wrong? I have a healthy account with high balances in checking and savings. I pay almost all of my bills through the Ally bill pay service. On two occasions Ally have paid my home mortgage payment twice in the same month even though it is set up as an automated single payment. On other occasions they have done the same with other automated payments. Attempts at getting this systemic problem fixed have been futile. If that is not bad enough how about this. Each month I have a retirement pension wired from England into my Ally account. On 6 occasions in the last year or so the payments have failed to show up. A detailed investigation has shown that Ally uses J P Morgan Chase to process incoming international wire transfers. Yes that would be the same J P Morgan Chase that has been penalized and heavily fined for international currency exchange rate fraud and other serious financial banking fraud. Two months of pressing hard has resulted in no solution to this problem. This is now in the hands of the FBI. The moral to this story is this. If you have an account with Ally, and you do not fall foul of their incompetence, you will win. If you do have any kind of serious problem you will lose. Ally seems to do business with some shady characters and they are both unable and unwilling to fix any problems that they will create for you. Good luck.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

imscot00's Profile Image

imscot00 reviewed HSA Bank

Dec 16th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

FORGET THIS ORGANIZATION

Useless, completely and people must work there because of poor choices. Forget customer service and that fact that you are the client, yes you are. Option 4....leave a message in their voicemail and they WILL call you back...........only if you have annoying music or sounds to play because they WILL NOT call you back, be assured about this.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

msysm's Profile Image

msysm reviewed Synchrony Bank

Dec 14th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Ridiculous Online System and bad customer service

I had issue with their online system. Every time I tried to login the system had errors. Called the customer several times. Every time they told me it needs 30-60 days to resolve the issue. 60 days to figure out why a customer can't login? Is it 1990? The most ridiculous bank ever! They even closed my account most likely because I keep complaining. Stay Away! They can't fix a minor login issue how can they keep your information safe!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

contest718's Profile Image

contest718 reviewed Capital One 360

Dec 11th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

This is my favorite bank

This is by far the best bank I have ever used. I have alternate checking account with another bank and I will probably close it. I have banked with Capital One 360 (formerly ING) for 3yrs now and I have never been happier. This bank is very friendly, easy to use, has a automatic overdraft that you can use at anytime. There are no fees and only a small interest payment if you use the overdraft. I think we pay them like .07 for the use of it when we access it. You also get a $5 checkbook, can transfer in and out from external checking accounts and my favorite is online check deposit. I Can not say enough positive things about this bank. I actually have no negatives to say about this bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

HSA_user's Profile Image

HSA_user reviewed HSA Bank

Dec 11th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Changes they've made are a BIG PAIN in the REAR

I've been a somewhat happy HSA customer for the last 5-6 years...but they recently made some BIG changes that make our ability to use this bank a royal pain.

History: Every HSA Bank customer is issued a debit/credit card for paying for their valid medical expenses out of their HSA Bank account. It all worked very well for the past years. A few weeks ago, I received a new HSA debit/credit card in the mail. As I always do when something like that happens, I destroyed the old card and put the new card in my wallet. Next time I went to the Pharmacy to pick-up a refill (a valid HSA charge) they declined the transaction. It took 3-4 days to get through to the bank (they just can't answer the number of calls they are currently getting from upset customers) to finally find out that the new card ONLY works at a VERY LIMITED number of pharmacies in our town. All they had for me was some work arounds that are a big pain in the rear.

If you are looking for a bank for a Health Savings Account...stay away from this one until they get their act together.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

retirement70's Profile Image

retirement70 reviewed Synchrony Bank

Dec 11th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

the worst in the world to deal with

Have been trying to pay my QVC bill for three weeks have made 8 calls have gotten the run around between this bank and QVC for that time have lost my card and have no statement because the bank says they cant send it top my email address because its not correct although QVC has no problem sending me ads. now finally they say I can send it in after 3 weeks but I need to put my social on the check there is no way IO am sending my social thru the mail for just anyone to get they have not been cooperative at all I am 70 and not stupid but if they want my money they are going to have to start cooperating with me otherwise ruin credit at this point I do not care you will not get paid till you find a way for me to pay you witrhout putting my life out there for anyone else to get!!!!!!!!!!! My advice to anyone out there do not do business with this bank or anyone connected with them or QVC

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

sinistraltiy's Profile Image

sinistraltiy reviewed Ally Bank

Dec 9th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Consistently Terrible Customer Service

Terrible customer service; don't let their TV commercials fool you. Been a member for 3 years and everytime I call I get asked a million questions to identify me, confirmation they can solve my problem, then 20 minutes of discussion and being placed on hold to be told they are an internet bank and cannot provide basic services like issue an ATM card for a joint account holder who is on the account.

The they tell you their loss preventino department will call you back in 1-2 days and if you are lucky you may get a call in 7-10 days and the scenario starts over again. Terrible Terrible Terrible customer service.

BUT, you can fax a wire transfer to fax $20,000 to another account and they process immediately with no verification. Go Figure.

The few pennies you make in additional interest is not worth the consistent aggravation of the poor customer service processes they have in place.

As icing on the cake, you have to verify your phone number and email every time you call them to be sure they have current records - even after its the 10th phone call that day to resolve an issue.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

albemarle's Profile Image

albemarle reviewed CIT Bank

Dec 9th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Service Is Bad, Bad, Bad

Terrible experience. They couldn't get my online account straight and even though i tried to get to a supervisor, they were never available. They promised to have a supervisor call me (twice) and i'm still waiting, days later, for their call. Go elsewhere.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

starfire's Profile Image

5 out of 5 marks

Nichols, N.Y. Branch

I don't know what branches the bad reviews were about but I have been banking with the Nichols, NY branch for so many years I don't even remember the year I started banking there. Has to be somewhere around 40 years I think. I love my bank and would be devastated if I had to change. I used to live part time in Florida and had personal experience with accounts in 3 different banks there. 2 were not good experiences. 1 was OK. Believe me - Nichols Branch is excellent.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »