Top Rated Banks

Some online banks may be better for your financial situation than others. Find the online bank that is the best match for you. Draw from the thousands of online bank reviews from customers to select your online bank.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Online Bank Reviews

DenisKitchen's Profile Image

DenisKitchen reviewed Simple

Sep 16th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Loved Them For 2 Years. Now Payments Broke. Balance Wrong

I really loved this bank. I loved their site, and i loved their policies. If you've ever been charged a fee from a bank, you'll love simple because in the years i've had an account i've never been charged a fee. They've make it very easy to stay on top of my money. .. Until this past month! I haven't been able to make payments reliably. This has been a huge source of stress and problems for my finances this month.

Despite not seeing my payments post in the activity list... The money is gone from my balance. So where did it go? Who will help me? Their customer service phone and email contacts are swamped. Right now i'm using a different bank until this payment problem gets sorted out. I am trusting and hoping that my balance is returned to an accurate accounting. Very disappointing give how much i loved simple up to this point.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

mpmart's Profile Image

mpmart reviewed Ally Bank

Sep 16th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Ally Bank And It`s Rudeness...

I bought a car and i made a mistake of not checking out this bank before accepting them is my financial institution. Employees are rude, have no knowledge of what they are doing. I can`t wait to get out of it... I will never use them again. I`m thinking in paying off instead of waiting and give them more interest.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

TheMonopolyMan's Profile Image

TheMonopolyMan reviewed Simple

Sep 15th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Simple Banking? More Like Awful Banking

If you bank with monopoly money and don't care about having correct balances, being charged multiple times for the same purchase, or even just being able to use your debit card to buy dinner for your date, then "simple" is great! However, if you tend to use real money and care about having that real money available, then "simple" is god awful! These people should be shut down.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

OlafHastein's Profile Image

OlafHastein reviewed Simple

Sep 14th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Amazing

Never thought I would actually get excited about my bank, but Simple is so awesome!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

saki26's Profile Image

saki26 reviewed Simple

Sep 13th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrid! Do Not Use Them!

I had my card compromised made the company aware of the issue and they sent me a new one and it happened again!!! Then they cancel me because 'i" failed to keep my information safe! Unbelievable!! When attempting to speak to someone there they refused to actually speak to me and only thru the app. This was just a small balance account for myself for little things for my son and i to do things and they have left me high and dry. Absolutely the worst customer service i have ever received.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Criseyde's Profile Image

Criseyde reviewed Simple

Sep 13th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Terrible Bank, Great Software

The previous reviewer has Simple pretty much exactly. Their website and mobile app are great tools that work well and make budgeting easier than any other stand alone software I've found. Unfortunately, the banking side of things is riddled with problems. Check deposits adhere to arcane rules and delays (only the first 200 dollars is available the next business day, the rest clears at some point in the future), transfers from another bank take three business days to process, and recent maintenance introduced a host of check hold display errors. Using their integrated customer support messaging feature seems to be on a permanent three or four day delay, however calling customer support seems to work relatively well, but are only open during limited weekday hours.

One of the more deceptive thing that's advertised on the site is their range of fee-free ATMs. They list several chain businesses where one can "find free ATMs", however they must be through STARsf. I discovered this after finding a fee on my statement for a machine I used at one of the businesses listed beneath their finder. It was my mistake for not double checking, but this is definitely misleading.

If things like Schwab Bank (which offers same-day check-deposits, saturday hours, 24 hour customer support, and unlimited fee-free ATMs), Simple cannot compete. I will gladly use less elegant software and use a bank that works where it counts. I tried simple for two months and am rushing back to my previous bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

tres1162's Profile Image

tres1162 reviewed Simple

Sep 13th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Why I'm Closing My Account

I tried out Simple Bank for three months this summer. The things I really liked about Simple were the beautiful interface and the goals feature.

Problems began when I finally signed up. They never sent the card and it took a month and a half to receive it. I don't know what happened, but after talking to customer service a few times they said they would "overnight" it. It still took several days to receive.

I shrugged it off because I really wanted to try out the goals feature. I started transferring in funds and was initially satisfied. All was well. Then they did a huge maintenance update in August. After that, everything fell apart. Ever since then, they've had numerous glitches and bugs. Balances fluctuate for no reason and my card was locked out for 3 days during the update. I had no access to my own money. Since then, it feels like Simple has fallen apart.

Simple also won't let you write personal checks—they have to print and mail them out for you. A check I had sent to my business partner never arrived. That was extremely embarrassing. I tried to contact customer service for over an hour and couldn't get through. I used the messaging feature to contact customer service and it's taken three days each time to get a response. Very unreliable—the delay made me look very unprofessional to my partner.

I'm actually kind of sad about the whole thing because I had high hopes for Simple. They have a great looking website and customer service used to be great. I explained it this way to a friend:

Simple Bank is like taking a plain cheap $2 bundt cake from Walmart, and having Martha Stewart frost and decorate it in the most lavish fashion. It would look amazing, but would still taste like cardboard.

Simple has a beautiful website and app but the infrastructure is still deeply flawed.

In conclusion—I'm going back to my old credit union. They have a lame looking website, but at least they have it all together.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Cass1618's Profile Image

Cass1618 reviewed Simple

Sep 12th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Amazing Bank. Hope They Resolve Their Issues!

I have been using simple for about 1. 5 years and i am very glad i did! I have always had trouble saving money and simple was absolutely a life saver for me. I had been making approximately the same income for 3 years and not managing to save any money. After using simple for one year, still making the same income, i managed to save $15,000! Their customer support was excellent, every time i messaged them a question they would respond the same day. I usually prefer to communicate by message rather than phone so it worked out well for me. I also love their interface.

The best thing about this bank, is when you make a transaction it posts to your account immediately (as in within a couple of minutes at the most). So your displayed balance is never missing any transactions so you never end up thinking you have more money than you actually do. I have never experienced another bank with this feature. It takes away the need to independently keep a ledger of how much you spend. However. I would not recommend signing up for this bank today.

For the last month or two, they have been having some major problems. I tried to have two checks sent a few weeks ago and have no idea whether or not they were ever sent. I sent them a message two days ago and they have not responded. I tried calling and they ask that you only speak to a representative about emergency issues. I stayed on the line for a few minutes and decided to keep waiting for them to respond to my message instead.

Fortunately, i have usaa as my backup bank, so i can send checks from there for expenses that i need to pay currently. The experience i had in the past with an amazing online outweighs the current problems they are having, so i would recommend giving them a bit more time to figure out their issues and then signing up. I would strongly suggest keeping your old bank account as a backup and keep a small reserve fund in case they have issues in the future.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ldt1993's Profile Image

ldt1993 reviewed Discover Bank

Sep 11th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great Card!

Great Bank! I have their discover it card and couldn't be happier!

Use http://bit.ly/1lYg8Qy

for a $50 BONUS upon approval!

Currently I have earned $75 cash back this month JUST for using the card for gas. Next month starts their Christmas bonus which pretty much gives you 5% cash back using any store you would normally shop at during the holiday season! This starts in October. Last year I earned the max cash back just by shopping Amazon!!

What do I use my cashback on? That is easy! I pay my bill! Simple as that!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ldt1993's Profile Image

ldt1993 reviewed Capital One 360

Sep 11th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great Bank

I have been a customer for a few months now and can safely write a review and say that capital one 360 is an amazing bank!

First, I would like to invite anyone to use that link to try out 360. No min deposit and you will receive a $50 CASH bonus in your account!! Up to $100 if you open savings, checking, and other available accounts.

Let me first say I have not had any of the mentioned problems with capital one. They have top notch CS and I love how they don't have any fees what so ever! It is very easy to deposit your money! Can't ask for a better bank

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates