Top Rated Banks

Some online banks may be better for your financial situation than others. Find the online bank that is the best match for you. Draw from the thousands of online bank reviews from customers to select your online bank.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Online Bank Reviews

Nitza's Profile Image

Nitza reviewed Capital One 360

May 17th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible customer service

I loved ING Direct. But since Capital One took over this bank, it has gone downhill fast. Now they finally have paper checks. Up until now, only online payments were possible. These are special checks and I was told that checks from another printer will not work. But computer checks are not available and the people there are nasty. I have no intention of going back to writing checks by hand.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

freddycat's Profile Image

freddycat reviewed Synchrony Bank

May 15th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Chase Visa xfered to Synchrony - no access for 1 week

I've been reading all the reviews about Synchrony Bank and with my Chase Visa account now being handled by them. I will be closing it as soon as I have access.

I've been trying to pay the balance for a few days and keep being told it will be available on X date. Now the date of availability s Mon. May 18th / switched from today Fri. May 15th. How can they keep your account history from you for so long? What if I needed to dispute a charge?

I just want to pay it off, close it and be done.

Wish me luck.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ScottDT1's Profile Image

ScottDT1 reviewed Ally Bank

May 13th 2015

2 out of 5 marks

WHERE IS MY PAYCHECK DEPOSIT?!?

I decided to give Ally a try after a couple of years of cajoling from my wife. I opened a checking account and a savings account.

I have used Wells Fargo for the last decade, and despite all of there downfalls, I find their online banking very easy to use and understand. With WF, when I deposit my paycheck via their mobile app, I immediately get an email confirmation that the check has been accepted with a visual confirmation via an image of the scanned check, and I'm able to go online to see a pending status for the check. Funds are almost always available by the next business day.

So I deposited my first paycheck to Ally via their mobile app on Tuesday at 3:30 Pacific time. On completion, there was a big green check mark and a message that transactions after 4:00 Eastern would be processed the next business day. I never received any other confirmation via email or otherwise that the transaction was pending. So the next say -Wednesday, still no email and online I can find no verification that the deposit is pending. Wednesday evening I call Ally customer service and explain the situation. The rep puts me on hold (with a big sigh before doing so) and when he comes back, he explains that I should see something later that evening or the next day. I ask him, "Isn't there a way for me to at least see that it is pending?" Apparently there isn't. Then I ask the rep to confirm from his side that it is pending. He says he won't be able to see anything until I do. He says the "big green check-mark" I saw when I used the mobile app was my only confirmation.

So... deposit Tuesday afternoon and I have to wait until Thursday to even see if the deposit was accepted. If is wasn't for some reason, I have to start the whole process over again.

Not a good first impression, Ally.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

bankcustomer5's Profile Image

bankcustomer5 reviewed Ally Bank

May 12th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Unable to open account after a lot of time and effort!

After completing the online application for a savings account and answering the identity related questions, a message appeared telling me that I would be contacted by Customer Service. Called customer service the next day and was told to fax in my drivers license. Faxed the license immediately. Called customer service the following day. They confirmed they had received the fax but nothing had been done yet. The rep told me he would enter a message in the system to expedite. Waited two more days and called again. Was told that the fax was not legible and I needed to email a copy of my license!!! By that time, I was sick of the whole experience and waste of time and I withdrew my application. During the 5 days since starting the application, even though they had all my information, they never contacted me and I was the one initiating all the calls.

Decided to go with another online bank and it took 10 minutes to open a savings account with them!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

topdog's Profile Image

topdog reviewed Ally Bank

May 12th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

cant even set up an account

I've tried to set up a simple savings account both online and over the phone.

they got all my information including social security # then told me that it would take a week and I would be notified by letter. notified about what?

if Ally is this picky then they should disclose this upfront in their promotion before they get all this personal information.

they have no clue about customer service.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Texas_Aggies_WRTS's Profile Image

Texas_Aggies_WRTS reviewed Simple

May 12th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Best bank ever!

My previous bank took more in fees than what I put in, and that didn't feel right. (I reward them with a deposit, and they steal my money...). I overdraft by 12¢, and they charge me $35.00. That isn't fair.

Moving my funds to Simple, and banking with them for the past 3-4 months has been the most rewarding, refreshing banking experience I've ever had. The customer service is excellent, the software interface (both web and iOS) are pleasing to look at, and the goals feature built into the program works and is geared toward helping me save for my needs.

The customer service reps for Simple are humans. They care about their customers. They're professional, and sometimes respond with memes.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

cksystems's Profile Image

cksystems reviewed Synchrony Bank

May 8th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Website is a pain

I miss typed the External bank routing number, I tried to delete or , edit the info, COULD NOT, I tried adding a new external bank account, website would not let me, called them they said they will have a tech support department do it, This is my 3 rd day , still not done, I don't feel good about this bank any more, I am closing the account.

It is a bad feeling when you lose trust in your bank.

I called them at 8Am, the answering service took my number , told me they will call back, wellll I got a call back at 4:00PM.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

David_ell's Profile Image

David_ell reviewed Capital One 360

May 8th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Worst bank in the Nation

During the short sale process, the Capital One ask me several documents. I have submitted all documents right a way. But each time after I submitted documents they never give satisfactory answer why still they are not approving my short sale! They just silent. I was keep calling them, but I did not get any right answer, why they are not approving ! It was very frustrating and painful to work with the Capital one. Who did not approve my short sale! I loose my house. Never take mortgage or line of credit from this bank. You will not get any help.

During the short sale process, the Capital One ask me several documents. I have submitted all documents right a way. But each time after I submitted documents they never give satisfactory answer why still they are not approving my short sale! They just silent. I was keep calling them, but I did not get any right answer, why they are not approving ! Everyday they said we will respond you by tomorrow or next week. They never respond me. If I call them they said whatever they talked with me previously they are not true. I told them the name and number that I spoke with the person, but they did not give me a right answer. It was very frustrating and painful to work with the Capital one. Who did not approve my short sale! I loose my house. Never take mortgage or line of credit from this bank. You will not get any help.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

opinionator's Profile Image

opinionator reviewed Synchrony Bank

May 4th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Synchrony Bank

This is absolutely the worst financial institution I have ever worked with. After applying twice to be enrolled in autopay, it has not worked and I continue to receive late charges. When I phone their multiple phone numbers, I consistently get a machine. When I call to make a payment on the phone, I get nothing but a runaround. They tell me to pay online, but of course the website doesn't accept my login information because the autopay never worked. It is like being on a merry-go-round without ever getting the brass ring of making a payment.If it would be possible to give zero stars, I would. However, I must say that when I finally received a person who would take my payment on the phone after 25 minutes of trying, she was very kind, helpful, and effective! She gets the star.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mudeb123's Profile Image

mudeb123 reviewed Synchrony Bank

May 3rd 2015

5 out of 5 marks

No compassion for customers

I had an account with GE Capital which is now Synchrony Bank. I have always paid on time for the last year and I have never had a late payment and I always make double payments when I pay. My payment is due on the 27th of each month. I accidentally missed the April 27th payment somehow and when I discovered it, I immediately and promptly paid them. I called them to let them know that this was a huge oversight and I had always paid on time and never missed a payment. They had no compassion and said that they had already reported this to the credit bureaus. I begged them not to do this because it would hurt my credit score to have a late payment and they said it was their policy. I called back to ask how long this would be on my credit and the representative replied "forever". I think this is disgraceful. I could even understand if I had been 10 days past due or even a month but it was just a week and I begged them to reconsider, but they would not.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »