Top Rated Banks

Some online banks may be better for your financial situation than others. Find the online bank that is the best match for you. Draw from the thousands of online bank reviews from customers to select your online bank.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Online Bank Reviews

Sogden1966's Profile Image

Sogden1966 reviewed TIAA Direct

Jan 27th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

HELOC nightmare

I recently also had a horrible experience with TIAA with respect to a simple home equity loan. My issues stem from what appears to be a hugely bureaucratic organization that is ponderous at best. I jumped through every hoop asked, complied with all documentation requests only to be denied at last second because of an improperly performed appraisal. Understood that it isn't the banks fault necessarily, however no one seems to care that the error was not my fault either. The appraisal was for homes in completely different areas than mine that were nothing like my house, yet there are comparable homes 50 feet away that sold in 2014! My complaints were not handled or addressed either by TIAA nor the horrible company THEY hired to erroneously appraise my house. I called the appraiser, who agreed with me but then asked me what" I expected him to do about it" ....I said perhaps your job?? I had no support or recourse from TIAA nor the stepford wife loan processor who blithely apologized without really hearing me. Stay away from this company for financing, CLEARLY amateur and not ready for prime time. I have bought and sold 11 properties with several refinancing settlements as well and have never experienced this level of disconnect or incompetence. Utterly wasted 5 weeks of my time. Never again . Sean Ogden

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by TIAA Direct

Responded by TC_Talks

Jan 27th 2015

Thank you for your feedback. Providing excellent customer service is important to us and we apologize for your recent experience. We want to resolve the situation to your satisfaction. Email your full name and best way to contact you to bankingservices@tiaadirect.com and we will be in touch.

toddfox1988's Profile Image

toddfox1988 reviewed Nationwide Bank

Jan 26th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

horrible experience

Seemed great at first. Deposited a check with my phone, and then could not access my account anymore. After more than a week of "verifying" my account they told me they are going to send me a check and close the account.... On the 4th. So now another 2 weeks and I might have my money back. This was the worst experience possible with a bank go through anyone but them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

turningintoacockro's Profile Image

turningintoacockro reviewed Barclays Bank

Jan 25th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Dealing with this bank is like Kafka's Metamorphasis

I hold financial Power of Attorney (POA) over my father's accounts. I called Barclays customer service to make sure there was not going to be an issue with setting up a CD account for my father. They assured me that all I needed to do was set up the account online in my father's name and then fax the POA document once the account was established. I entered the information necessary to set up the account and then pressed enter. Half an hour later, the screen still showed that the application was processing. I realized that I had forgotten to enter a beneficiary, so I closed the window and attempted to re-enter the application. The application would not let me back in and urged me to call customer service, so I did so. Customer service then told me that they would not be able to give me any information about the application unless they could speak to my father. I explained that my father could not speak to them, which is why I have POA. They said that they could not speak to me without a POA, but that I could not send them a POA document until the application had been approved, putting me in the absurd situation of being unable to do anything to move forward on setting up this account. At this point, I no longer had any interest in an account with a bank that would force me into such an absurd situation. Even the customer service agent acknowledged the absurdity of the situation. I asked that they delete the application as they were obviously not interested in my father's business.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MJordan's Profile Image

MJordan reviewed Synchrony Bank

Jan 21st 2015

1 out of 5 marks

No Customer Service

Have tried to contact numerous times. Either the agent is unable to understand my english or i am disconnected. You cannot download to quicken from synchrony and no one knows why or even what quicken software is. For a back they sure lack in all areas. They even denied my husband credit because "applicant is deceased. " go figure

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Johnsnow44's Profile Image

Johnsnow44 reviewed Ally Bank

Jan 20th 2015

4 out of 5 marks

Online Banks Are The Way To Go

Just opened a checking account and now i don't have to worry about atm fees that cost me tons with a big bank checking account.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

veggivet's Profile Image

veggivet reviewed HSA Bank

Jan 17th 2015

2 out of 5 marks

Recent website redesign a total fail

I have been with HSA Bank for several years, and up until recently, have been satisfied with their platform. They allow transfers to TD Ameritrade, where I can purchase many Vanguard ETFs commission-free, and it was pretty straightforward to set up these transfers. When I logged in to transfer my 2015 contribution, I found the revamped website much more difficult to navigate than the previous version. I did finally figure out how to set up the transfer, but it took much longer than it should have.

Regarding their fees, as long as you keep a minimum of $5000 with them, you will not incur a monthly 'maintenance' fee. If you want to invest that amount, be prepared to cough up $27 over the course of the year for that privilege. Not unreasonable, in my opinion.

I had a question about a possible over-contribution for 2014, and I sent an email in early December. I received a response almost a month later, with an apology for the delay. I suspect that they are dealing with a larger than usual number of inquiries about the website redesign, and are totally in the weeds.

Since I only have to deal with them twice a year (once to make my contribution, and then once more to move those funds to TD Ameritrade) I will stay with them for the time being. If you anticipate interacting with their customer service department on a more frequent basis for problems with your debit card or payment issues, be forewarned you may be in for some frustrating experiences.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mmckeny's Profile Image

mmckeny reviewed Ally Bank

Jan 15th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible!!!!!

I deposited a check from BOA and was warned by the Ally mobile deposit site that the funds would not be available for 3 days. With that information I turned around and wrote a check for the deposited amount and mailed it off. Those checks have since been cashed and paid but Ally still has a hold on my original deposit 4 days after depositing and have notified me those funds will not be available another 4 days. Because of this they have put a hold on the entire check value plus another $3500.

So let me get this straight, they have my money but I can't use it or the rest of my money because why??????

Horrible inconvenience!!!!!

I would not recommend that anyone has multiple accounts with them so they have the ability to basically freeze ALL "your" money.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

martyz's Profile Image

martyz reviewed HSA Bank

Jan 15th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Customer Service Extremely Inadequate

Impossible to get them on the phone. Tried twice and hung up after 15 minute wait both times. Every time you call you get a message saying we are experiencing longer than normal wait times. This is BS!! They do not have enough staff. Sorry I opened an account with them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

annalog's Profile Image

annalog reviewed Ally Bank

Jan 12th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

You have to be retarded to bank anywhere else

I've been a Wells Fargo customer for 8 years now and have many accounts with them, including my mortgage, but I won't keep cash there. WF is paying 0.01% on savings. It's really insulting given their profitability. At Ally, I get 0.99% with no service fees or crap to deal with. And their customer service is outstanding.

A+ for Ally.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

lawdawg1231's Profile Image

lawdawg1231 reviewed Ally Bank

Jan 10th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Lack of communication, rude and inconsiderate even

Ally,

Failed to contact me on multiple occasions regards an issue with my account. When they did finally call my cell (which they had all along) I received a condescending attitude blaming my for their lack of communication. At this point I'm taking my banking elsewhere to be treated with respect and valued as a customer!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »