Top Rated Banks

Some online banks may be better for your financial situation than others. Find the online bank that is the best match for you. Draw from the thousands of online bank reviews from customers to select your online bank.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Online Bank Reviews

GBPackerFan's Profile Image

GBPackerFan reviewed HSA Bank

Oct 28th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Feels Like A Scam.

I currently have an hsa at chase. Very good online interface and easy to use but they just hit me with a $3/month fee so i looked at hsa bank to save money and get a better interest rate. However when i tried to contact them i had to go through a gauntlet of "sales pitches" for medical alert systems, major retailer rebates and then they tried to con me with a collect call callback scheme! This is an unprofessional outfit that seems like they are running a scam to just nail you with charges for stuff you don't need. I will look elsewhere for a place to park my hsa funds as i don't trust these folks. Buyer beware!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

rubenmarcos's Profile Image

rubenmarcos reviewed Bank Of Internet

Oct 28th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Denied

Terrible experience signing up for an account. I tried twice and both times it told me there was a problem verifying my identity. So I called them on the phone to ask what part was missing and they said that "At the time I was not approved for that account". It's a checking account! They literally don't wan't to accept my money. I didn't apply for a mortgage or anything, just a simple checking account. They refused to give me a reason and told me to "Try again at a later time"

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

CreativeJojo's Profile Image

CreativeJojo reviewed Ally Bank

Oct 28th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

The Best, Most Well Rounded Online Bank For Beginners.

If you're just getting into banking, like myself, this is by far the best online bank. I didn't learn much from my parents about finances and i'm just beginning college. I went ahead and tried many online banks and did a great deal of research on banks and finances over the past 2 months. This bank may not have the greatest rates in any one specific area, but most of ally's competitors require a large minimum deposit.

If you're just beginning from scratch like myself, this bank has the best interest rates and perks; it is the most well rounded bank if you're starting from $0. Most importantly, hands down, ally has the best, most friendly customer service. Everyone knows exactly what they are taking about, they are very quick to respond and they can help you become a little more financially literate. 5/5

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jerryturnerlivecom's Profile Image

jerryturnerlivecom reviewed USAA

Oct 27th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Experice Ever! Poor/lack Of Communication!

Ok, after serving over 20 years, and thinking that maybe people with the same sense of commitment, would be a great group to handle our families savings. ""what a mistake"

first - had to open an account, then wait for it to be verified, then could not made deposits till receive atm card. (wait have to activate card first)

second - account has to be active for four (4) weeks before you can make deposits using your computer or phone, but can use a post box office to make deposits. Nearest one system down, so have to wait! Finally able to deposit checks (6 payroll) fund available, don't know can't access account. Go to atm to check status atm card want work. So after seven days called usaa to inquire about not being able to access account or use atm card. Wait wait wait we (usaa) has blocked your account due to suspicious behavior "you deposit 6 checks at one time they were not in sequence, so we are having you investigated!!

What!!! They are payroll checks they were cleared though my employers accounts so why. Oh they investigation will be over tomorrow and your funds will be available after midnight tomorrow. Wait why was i be investigated, it was for your own protection. We at usaa are a small conservative company that is only concern about your protection. So usaa used our money to make money for * days and though those checks have cleared and posted to our acount we could not access them.

So checks written returned do to insufficient funds, so my family looks like we can't paid our bills. This company has held my money without proper authority, failed to contact me to discuss their unfounded concerns or to at lease notify me that there was a problem. Nope they just held our money and said we know what best for our customers, you are to dumb, old or suffering from whatever. Give us your money and we will tell you when and how you can spend it. Just want to get our money out of this joke of an bank

best bet use one of our military credit unions!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

CrissyBaumanYahooc's Profile Image

CrissyBaumanYahooc reviewed Capital One 360

Oct 27th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Happy Customer For 2 Years Now

I first opened a capitalone360 account two years, mainly because they had a promotion that if you opened an account and set up direct deposit, you got free money (i think it was $50). I opened a checking account and savings account for myself, plus one of each for my niece and nephew. No complaints so far. I should mention though that my primary checking account is at a local bank. But part of each paycheck is direct deposited into my capitalone360 savings account, and it is very easy to transfer money from captialone360 into another account, even at another bank. Deposits via mobile phone or scanned image is now available with capitalone360, but i don't think i've ever tried it.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

dmauldenwindstream's Profile Image

dmauldenwindstream reviewed USAA

Oct 26th 2014

3 out of 5 marks

USAA Was Fantastic - Now Only Fair

I joined USAA in 1977. I used to have all my banking, savings, loans, credit cards, insurance (cars, boats, motorcycles, home, life, etc) with usaa. They used to be the best in service and rates. Over the last 6 or 8 years, i have gone elsewhere for home ins, car ins, boat ins, motorcycle ins and savings account, credit cards, etc because i get much better deals. I still have life ins and some banking with usaa, buts that's about it. I have their credit cards, but rarely use them.

Usaa is trying to be too many things to too many people and has lost it's unique customer base. Usaa wants loyalty from customers but is unwilling to give any in return. Over the years, usaa has gone from a personal, military officer only, oriented base to give the masses the standard banking and insurance company practices. Take it or leave it. Usaa is now just another modern day banking/investment industry driven by profits and greed, rather than the service it used to be famous for.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

NoleNation11's Profile Image

NoleNation11 reviewed Capital One 360

Oct 24th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Credit Card Service is great

Online banking is very easy to use. Made 6 consecutive payments and my credit line increased. Only keeping the card for a year but in that year I have had no problems.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

pelaundrymailcom's Profile Image

pelaundrymailcom reviewed HSA Bank

Oct 24th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

HIGH FEES SLOW TRANSFERS!

If you enjoy high fees and a $25.00 closing fee this is your bank. Also be prepared to wait 3 days for transfers into your account. Try your credit union they normally are free.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

robmcc2014's Profile Image

robmcc2014 reviewed Synchrony Bank

Oct 24th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Hostage Bank

This bank will hold hostage anyone who uses a "Special no interest Dental account" there is no way to apply for any other program they offer like a new 14% 5 year program, they want to keep you at 26.8% predatory interest. This is a carbon copy of GE Credit policy, the most blood thirsty loan shark. Don't drink the KoolAir, use any credit card for dental finance not CareCredit.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

HatingOnSynchrony's Profile Image

HatingOnSynchrony reviewed Synchrony Bank

Oct 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Experience

So i purchased an expensive appliance which is financed thru synchrony. I sent in a payment via regular check. Then set up auto pay so that a specific amount would be withdrawn each month. End of story right? Wrong. I get an email about a month after autopay is set up telling me that they withdrew, and then redeposited my payment. So they withdrew it, ok? I'm told by customer service that the bank account info i had entered into my profile was incorrect and so now my account is past due.

Well, synchrony was able to withdraw the money, so how is it that my bank account info is wrong? Really? Poor customer service coupled with issues over autopay. If i can transfer the balance i owe to synchrony over to any other bank i will do so and know that i'll get 100000% better service. Moral of the story, don't go with synchrony. Big waste of time.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates