Top Rated Banks

Some online banks may be better for your financial situation than others. Find the online bank that is the best match for you. Draw from the thousands of online bank reviews from customers to select your online bank.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Online Bank Reviews

ARRRUUUGH's Profile Image

ARRRUUUGH reviewed Synchrony Bank

Jul 28th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible Customer Service...and worst voice response system!

This is ABSOLUTLEY the worst telephone support system I have ever tried to work with. It appears to be designed and developed by high schoolers with a rudimentary understanding of programming and no practical business or customer service experience.

So GE...instead of changing your name to something inane and ridiculous how about spending a few dollars to fix that crappy system.

I wish there was a rating below zero because that is what this service deserves.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Tofujim's Profile Image

Tofujim reviewed Ally Bank

Jul 25th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Poor service

It takes too long to complete transactions. It took too long to credit my checks that I deposited with them and worst of all it is taking too long to get my money back. The customer service is very poor. I asked to close my account and have the check sent right away and I opted for the overnight Fedex. It was three business days later and I called asking where is the check, I was told that it was sent regular mail and it would be 7 to 10 business days before I would receive it. I then insisted on getting my money sooner as I needed it yesterday! Some customer service persons said I could have the original check cancelled and have another one Fedex to me but it still would take approx. 5 business days. I told them why is Ally Bank holding me up? I then asked for a Manager and this after 10 minutes holding on the phone. He stated that he was sorry but Ally Bank could not even cancel my check and that I would have to wait the 7-10 days to get my money. Needless to say this nothing short of robbery and I definitely will recommend everyone not open any account with these people. Oh, I was told by the manager that his superiors made the decision not to cancel the original check and that if there were charges due because of the money not being available they would look into reimbursing me. I told him the money was to buy a home and that if I lose the home due not enough money are they going to buy me a home?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

noahwa's Profile Image

noahwa reviewed Simple

Jul 24th 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Don't expect to have easy access to your money

We wired proceeds from a house into a new Simple account. Here is my first 7 days trying to get my money to use.

Day 1: Wired funds do not show up in my account. According to Simple customer service, it has shown up in their "partner bank", but it will not show up in Simple's account until the NEXT DAY. Which kind of defeats the purpose of wired funds, doesn't it? We set up an external account transfer to another bank, which they limit to $5,000.00 for the entire first 30 days of your account, apparently. Simple says the transfer will show up on Monday. We also "mail a check" to ourselves for $5,0000.00 on 7/20. Simple says it will be delivered by 7/24, Thursday.

Day 2-3: weekend

Day 4: The transfer does not occur. Our fault, actually because we sent it to an account that wouldn't accept personal names. However, Simple does not notify us that this does not occur. We find out later after we have written checks which have cleared and are getting NSF charges. Customer service will not reimburse any NSF charges and is happy to close the account. They make zero attempt at trying to retain you or being accountable for your awful experience. They send me a message letting me know I can always "transfer all the money to another external account." But when I bring up the $5k limit, they say, "oh yeah. But you can mail yourself a check". Yes, I want to mail myself a check that will take over a week and then take a check to another bank who will promptly put a 10-day hold on it. Brilliant idea, Simple!!!

Day 5-6: Try and transfer $5k out but am prohibited as the max is $5k/month for ALL EXTERNAL ACCOUNTS. I am stuck either having to "mail myself a check" which takes 5 business days, or using the debit card for an ATM, which just arrived today finally.

Day 7: The check I set up on Friday 7/20 has not arrived it is now 7/24. Apparently this takes 6 business days to get your check. I have sent a message to them, but not holding my breath.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

ometecuhtli2001's Profile Image

ometecuhtli2001 reviewed Synchrony Bank

Jul 23rd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Mystery interest and charges, cruddy web site

I got a card with GE Capital/Synchrony/whatever they're calling themselves through Banana Republic. Immediately there were problems because I never got the card or a statement. I called the day before payment was due only to find out that it had been returned to them because the apartment number (which I had specified) had not been included in the mailing address. The rep offered to re-send it, along with a copy of the statement, and take payment over the phone with no charge. Cool.

I spent the next week trying to get into their horrible web site to verify payment had gone through but I was unable to do so. My card finally arrived, as did my next statement which I paid early and in full.

I just got my third statement and it shows there is now interest and a nearly $300 balance even though the last two payments appear in the transaction list. I haven't bought anything since the last payment was made, and no charges are listed. The last statement did not have interest or additional fees, so it appears all payments have been made on time.

When I mentioned this to friends, those who have had GE/whatever said they have a nasty habit of doing this kind of thing. Totally not worth my time - I'm seriously considering closing down the BR card.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Quanta's Profile Image

Quanta reviewed Capital One 360

Jul 21st 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Checking Account Closed; Easier than Keeping a Patron

I opened a Capital One 360 Savings and Checking Accounts because I believed the Capital One backing would mean it was a reliable, safe, and customer service friendly financial institution. That did not turn out to be so true.

My Capital One 360 Savings Account is not the problem. My 360 Checking Account became a nightmare when a check I had written (actual CO 360 paper check) 4 months earlier was presented for payment which was very odd. For one thing, Capital One should never have tried to cash that check because of age, let alone let it be fed through twice more which overdrafted me during the week before Christmas.

Worse, I used my Capital One 360 Mastercard Checking Card at Target in the November - December period when Target pin pads were hacked. Capital One was good about informing me as soon as they realized my MasterCard Debit Card was compromised and issued a new one. Then, I realized that CO 360 was looking for a way to close my 360 checking account. I agree with other patrons of Capital One--their rules for closing checking are rather arbitrary and arcane and not consistent. Moreover, most banks will try and help their customers to reinstate their checking accounts after a year or two; there does not appear to be any such courtesy or grace with Capital One 360.

I have kept my CO Savings and Sharebuilder, but I am thinking of moving these elsewhere because of the internal bunk that goes on at Capital One 360.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

cgator77's Profile Image

cgator77 reviewed Ally Bank

Jul 18th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Best Banking Experience I've had

My wife and I have a checking and savings account with Ally Bank and we LOVE It!!! Interest Rates are incredible customer service is top notch and unlike other banks such as Bank of America who we left fees are not an issue for things like needing more checks. I highly recommend Ally and their website and phone app is much better than that of Bank of America as well. People in the past I noticed have had negative reviews but it seems like most of their issues were self-inflicted. They never have done us wrong and they seem to being getting better with time even, so take that for what it's worth.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

reduva's Profile Image

reduva reviewed USAA

Jul 16th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Top Notch

Very intuitive interface, great customer service, low fees...what else is there?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

barclaysrterrible's Profile Image

barclaysrterrible reviewed Barclays Bank

Jul 8th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Absolutely Abysmal Company. Unhelpful and arrogant staff.

The only reason I gave Barclays 1 star was because it was impossible to give them a zero, which is just what they deserve. This is an abysmal company with untrained and unhelpful telephone staff who do not know their posteriors from their elbows. They are rude, condescending and blatantly cheeky. I made a complaint about the way I was spoken to on the telephone and I ended up with £154 pounds as a goodwill gesture for their dreadful untrained staff mistakes. I will be leaving this establishment and would rather lick wasps than give Barclays another penny of my cash. Abominable service from an abysmal company.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

luckypra's Profile Image

luckypra reviewed Discover Bank

Jul 3rd 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Worst Customer Service

To start with I opened account due to $50 account opening bonus and thought what could be wrong with it.

Here what happened with Discover -

- One fine day I got call from my son school that check I issued returned due to some reason. That time school was not sure why, said need to wait till actual returned check comes back in mail.

- I called discover, asking why you returned my check. Customer agent said it never came for clearing, Did three way conference with school bank manager and school account holder. Customer agent said I have more than enough balance, and see no problem why it won;t clear. This was confirmed with two different calls to customer service and one time even supervisor was also get involved as agent said supervisor have access to more system.

- Once school received legal returned check. Reason confirm stopped payment which I never did from my side.

- I gave another call to customer service, Agent said I put in stop payment. I said I never did, He said let me check with supervisor. He said I did some time back in Feb-14 some stop payment. Today is June-2014.

- Here is what happened in Feb-2014, I did online bill pay for one of my monthly expense but during initial setup, I entered wrong address (instead of entering payee address I entered mine so check came to my address). I called customer service, she suggested to cancel check and setup bill pay again. Which I did and worked fine.

- Now customer service saying during cancel check process Agent might have made some mistake. She is not telling what exactly happened, But now I have stop payment on all of my checks. Just to keep in mind between Feb and June I issued checks and those got cleared perfectly fine. So I don;t believe story of agent made some mistake during cancel check, It that was the case then why it took 4 month for that stop payment came into effect.

- I asked for $35 charge back as return check charge, They need school bank account statement as proof why?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MaltshopChuck's Profile Image

2 out of 5 marks

Yesterday's Garbage

This bank used to be so good. The rates went right down.

Go with somebody who actually maintains a decent rate.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0