Top Rated Banks

Some online banks may be better for your financial situation than others. Find the online bank that is the best match for you. Draw from the thousands of online bank reviews from customers to select your online bank.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Online Bank Reviews

opinionator's Profile Image

opinionator reviewed Synchrony Bank

May 4th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Synchrony Bank

This is absolutely the worst financial institution I have ever worked with. After applying twice to be enrolled in autopay, it has not worked and I continue to receive late charges. When I phone their multiple phone numbers, I consistently get a machine. When I call to make a payment on the phone, I get nothing but a runaround. They tell me to pay online, but of course the website doesn't accept my login information because the autopay never worked. It is like being on a merry-go-round without ever getting the brass ring of making a payment.If it would be possible to give zero stars, I would. However, I must say that when I finally received a person who would take my payment on the phone after 25 minutes of trying, she was very kind, helpful, and effective! She gets the star.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mudeb123's Profile Image

mudeb123 reviewed Synchrony Bank

May 3rd 2015

5 out of 5 marks

No compassion for customers

I had an account with GE Capital which is now Synchrony Bank. I have always paid on time for the last year and I have never had a late payment and I always make double payments when I pay. My payment is due on the 27th of each month. I accidentally missed the April 27th payment somehow and when I discovered it, I immediately and promptly paid them. I called them to let them know that this was a huge oversight and I had always paid on time and never missed a payment. They had no compassion and said that they had already reported this to the credit bureaus. I begged them not to do this because it would hurt my credit score to have a late payment and they said it was their policy. I called back to ask how long this would be on my credit and the representative replied "forever". I think this is disgraceful. I could even understand if I had been 10 days past due or even a month but it was just a week and I begged them to reconsider, but they would not.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

OttoOtto's Profile Image

OttoOtto reviewed USAA

May 2nd 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Great place to keep my money

They keep things Simple, I've been a happy member for years. I don't understand how less banks have better banktracker ratings.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Busycid1's Profile Image

Busycid1 reviewed Ally Bank

Apr 30th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Disconnected customer service

My wife and I have IRA accounts with Ally. I requested a normal RMD on April 7th. After completing the required paperwork I mailed into the address provided in PA on April 8th. Today is April 30th. I have yet to receive the check even though it was withdrawn from my account April 17th (2015). Several calls later I'm repeatedly told - "it takes 7 to 10 business days for the check to reach me in Fresno, California" . Apparently the postal system only works Mon- Fri when dealing with Ally Bank correspondence.

No effort has been made to fix this problem.

An Ally customer can email or phone a customer center with a promise of a response within 2 to 3 business days. You cannot talk to a bank rep.

We'll be closing our accounts.

Before you make a deal to bank with Ally, be prepared to be served on their terms.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

reggie277's Profile Image

reggie277 reviewed Discover Bank

Apr 24th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

worst customer service ever

This bank has the worst customer service ever. I needed statements that were supposed to have been mailed several times and assured had been delivered and never did receive. They told me where i could go.

I needed help on a second occasion and they bent over backwards to prove they were correct and i was wrong. Automated processes are error prone and customer service directs you to these automated services. Calling to correct a mistake will lead to frustration and disappointment.

Would not recommend and will be taking my business elsewhere

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

danabana34's Profile Image

danabana34 reviewed Nationwide Bank

Apr 23rd 2015

1 out of 5 marks

The Worst Bank Ever

Tried to open up an account with them because my boyfriend just opened one up about a few days ago. Was told that i did not pass the verification and that i have to send in identification and now the app process will take an additional 2-3 days. So now im inconvenienced from opening my acct on thursday until tues or wednesday and because of this hassle i can only imagine what would happen to my money so i decided not to pursue this bank at this time.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

anon0314's Profile Image

anon0314 reviewed USAA

Apr 21st 2015

1 out of 5 marks

OverDrafted my account twice in one week and Hung up on me

I have automatic insurance payments set up so when I checked my account on the 15th and didn't see any money taken out I decided to pay manually to avoid any late fees from them messing something up with the payments.

Turns out the payment went through, so last friday I talked to a representative who told me the money would be back in my account on monday. Monday rolls around and sure enough no money and my account is overdrafted because of this. I talk to another representative who waives the Over Draft charge and she tells me that the representative whom I spoke to on the phone on friday never put in my inquiry for the $142 to be put back into my account, that they had charged me twice for. So she tells me that it should only take a day or two and the money will be back in my account. Well sure enough, again, this morning Tuesday, April 21, I wake up to find my account over drafted AGAIN and no sign of the $142.

They decided to bill me for something as my account was already negative, causing another over draft. I attempt to talk to billing again and I got hung up on.

Called back and I asked to speak to a supervisor and was not granted this request (there was no supervisor around they said). So now I am told that I have to wait until Thursday for the money to be back into my account all the while my account is Over Drafted. I have no money and I'm about as upset and disgusted with this so called bank as one can imagine.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

chrisjeon's Profile Image

chrisjeon reviewed Simple

Apr 20th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Best Online Bank Ever

I use Simple and it is simply the best online bank I've ever used. The mobile app is simple and sleek, and the number of ATM's available in Manhattan is great. Although, if you don't live in a dense place like Manhattan, the number of atm locations go down quite a bit.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MuddBuddha's Profile Image

MuddBuddha reviewed Synchrony Bank

Apr 20th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Closed good accounts

Had both Amazon and Wal-Mart cards through them. Never missed payments and account balance was low. Hadn't used either card for a couple of months when I was sent a letter stating they were closing both accounts because, "....your credit worthiness didn't score as well as other Synchrony customers."

Wow. Talk about regretting ever opening an account with them. Considering I was paying their high APR % willingly, you'd think they would be appreciative that I never missed payments.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

AledoBilly's Profile Image

AledoBilly reviewed Ally Bank

Apr 14th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

AN UN-TRAINED MONKEY could do a better job.

NO TITLE FOR NEW GMC thanks to Ally's "Customer Care" which is in the Philippines (you know, between China and Indonesia; next to Vietnam!) Isn't "Customer Care" an appropriate name! Ally's agent said I would get my title and a refund for overpayment in 4 days. Four days later Ally's Samantha Cooper sends me a two-sentence letter that read, "This is to inform you that Ally does not hold the title to the above described vehicle." Leaving me wondering: Why? Where is my title? What about my refund? Ally confirmed my refund was sent to the wrong address, and DMV confirmed that Ally gave them the wrong address to send the title resulting in my original title being destroyed.

Seems to me that any reasonable person (or entity called "Customer Care") that got returned mail would do a little simple research, like check to see if it was sent to the same address the buyer gave on the original contract. I provided the correct address. Isn't it funny how all fourteen invoices get sent to the correct address? But my title and refund get sent to an address that is not on the contract?

I should not have to wait in line at DMV and pay for a duplicate title for a new GMC. I want the original title, not a duplicate. I paid Ally in full. I provided the correct information on the contract. It is out of my control when Ally's people can't read an address on a simple contract that they prepared.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »