Top Rated Banks

Some online banks may be better for your financial situation than others. Find the online bank that is the best match for you. Draw from the thousands of online bank reviews from customers to select your online bank.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Online Bank Reviews

freshlife's Profile Image

freshlife reviewed Simple

Apr 11th 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Great for a bank but needs a few changes

I have been with simple four a couple of months now and I am happy for the most part with my experience. The one thing that really drives me crazy is that they don't allow you to write your own checks. I am smart to know why its setup that way and the limitations they have from being on-line based. You process the request for a check on the app or on the site it instantly pulls the money out of your account (which i really like) and it arrives in the mail. They use an external processing company to send you (or your payee) the check. It normally takes them two days of processing a couple days to mail it and then your check lies at the mercy of the infamous USPS. I'm averaging 12 days between requesting a check and receiving it. It's just too long of a process, and i would have known about these types of delays i'm not sure I would have signed up. Checks should arrive within 48 hours anywhere in the US. They should also provide another way for you to receive a check if you need one at a moments notice (buying a car, or lending someone money). I certainly wouldn't mind paying a fee to have an option to have one overnight-ed to me. I gave up on requesting checks from them and use my local bank to handle my checking. I love simple, i love the customer service, the app, everything... everything except this check system. They have to add some flexibility to this process to make it my one and only checking account.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jtur6879's Profile Image

jtur6879 reviewed Ally Bank

Apr 11th 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Fee Rape

Received $10 in interest but paid $40 in fees to access my money. Doesn't work out for me.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

AncaBarcu's Profile Image

AncaBarcu reviewed ING Direct

Apr 11th 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Average OK

I came home one evening and I found all the pension records of my neighbors in a bundle, not placed in their mailboxes, for anyone to take. I find this very unprofessional. After calling one representative over the phone about this, they very casually blew me off. I found that very disrespectful and I am quite sure what was done was illegal. I was very disappointed.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

davilajr's Profile Image

davilajr reviewed Nationwide Bank

Apr 10th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Nationwide is NOT on my side

I recently applied for a HELOC at Nationwide solely based on a quick review of lenders and their HELOC rates. Shortly after submitting and documenting my application, I contacted Nationwide because I had not received status of my application. The rep on the phone was courteous and, after reviewing his computer system, told me that the underwriting team needed a couple more documents related to my income tax returns and income which I immediately provided. Weeks went by and I then received an email indicating that they have made a decision on my application and that were unable to approve my application at this time. The email also said Nationwide would contact me by mail explaining its decision. Again, weeks went by and nothing came which prompted me to call them. I spoke to a lady who, from the beginning, sounded as if I had stolen one of her children from her home. She said the underwriting team had disapproved my application because I had not lived in the home more than six months. Where they obtained that information escapes me, I completed the application myself and showed them I had owned the property since 2010. By the way, my attempt to inquire where that information was taken from triggered a one way conversation from the rep to me to the point that I had to ask her why she was upset at me. She wouldn't provide me a direct name or contact person to resubmit evidence of my home ownership and simply said I needed to fax it to the number she was giving me. Anyway, Nationwide did not bother to contact me to confirm any information prior to, unilaterally, dismiss my application and sent me an explanation letter that never came. Having read the reviews others have provided here, I decided that Nationwide is not for me and will not follow up or attempt to support my application. Some reps at Nationwide are rude and simply NOT customer service oriented. They do not seem to have time for customers and their issues.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

chris152's Profile Image

chris152 reviewed Capital One 360

Apr 9th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Horrible Policies

I have had Capital One 360 account for over two years and will be closing my account as soon as I get access to my money. I will be closing escrow the next week on a home and had roughly 25k that was transferred into my Capital One account via ACH Direct Deposit on 4/6/14. The funds had complete swept over today 4/9/14. I needed to transfer that and the remaining balance to my US Bank account because I need to wire the money on 4/15/14 to the escrow company to finalize the purchase of my home. I transferred money from four other bank accounts on 4/6/14 and all those cleared by 4/9/14. I find out today, that Capital One has placed a hold on the entire 25k until 4/16/14. The funds and account info has complete swept to my Capital One account, but they are holding the money due to set internal policies.

I spoke to four different representatives who all basically told me it is there policy to hold ACH transfers for five additional days and there is nothing I can do to get the hold removed. I am not an expert, but I believe this violates section 229.10 of the FDIC. Either way, I will not bank with a company who arbitrarily sets their own rules and places holds on their customer's money with no regard as to the outcome to those policies. There are far to many better banks out there that value their customers.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MaJaLy's Profile Image

MaJaLy reviewed Simple

Apr 9th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Incomplete and haphazard

Received an invitation on 3/17, applied 3/18, was asked to provide address verification documentation, uploaded a current copy of my paystub. Received same address verification request 4/9 with no explanation other than "Dang, it didn't work." Called same day to cancel application, spoke to Elaina, got a vague "It will time out in 30 days, but we will retire your email address" response.

Not clear, not concise, not professional.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MikeA's Profile Image

MikeA reviewed GE Capital Retail Bank

Apr 8th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Phony Late Fees - GE Capital

These people are crooks. Got my motorcycle loan for Kawasaki through them, 0.00% APR. By the time the bill arrives, you have about 7 days to send the payment before it's "late". I sent it the next day a few times, from CO to GA. How long can that possibly take? I always see the check posted to my bank account either on the day its due or a few days after. Then they hit me with a $40 late fee. I'm positive that they do this on purpose since my loan has no interest payments. Total scam! Do yourself a favor and avoid these scumbags!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ShellyLang's Profile Image

ShellyLang reviewed USAA

Apr 4th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

The Worst. Keep Away. I wish there was a zero rating.

You can't deal with USAA without feeling like u need to check yourself into an anger management program. I literally complained yesterday and realized today that they messed with the services on my checking account.

They aren't the most affordable for insurance and loan rates contrary to popular beliefs and after they believe they have you in with a loan the customer service then goes to hell. I guess they mean that you literally owe them so they no longer care to be professional or competitive.

If I had any doubts about switching to Navy Federal they erased it today with their rude customer service. I'm going to be working double time to pay off my loan just to get rid of them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

JaniceInCO's Profile Image

JaniceInCO reviewed Simple

Apr 4th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Scam or bank only for excellent credit?

I received an invitation to apply and filled out all of the information including my SS#, bank account number and routing number to transfer my money.

After about 10 minutes I received an email saying my application was denied due to my credit score not meeting their standards. My credit score is currently 660.

Now they have my ss#, bank account # and routing information and an email with no reasonable explanation as to why I was denied. Now I am very concerned!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

BradGregson's Profile Image

BradGregson reviewed Ally Bank

Apr 3rd 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Deceptive, Customer Service Awful

This bank is very deceptive. They intentionally withold deposits to draw overdraft fees. I initiated a transfer from another bank in time for a payment to be made from my Ally account. Despite not ever showing a negative balance on my account and my transfers showing up on my account before the payment was made, they charged me an overdraft fee.

When I called customer service, the lady talked to me like I was stupid. When I asked why they had charged me an overdraft fee despite the money being there, she said they have a right to withold transfers from "available funds" for up to 5 days after a transfer is made.

They apparently decided to withold my money which I had transferred in time until I overdrafted...then it became available. They have pulled crap on me in a similar situation(they only allowed a certain percentage of a large deposit to be made available for 10 days after it was deposited) before but I was stupid and fell for it again. Closing this account ASAP. Save yourself trouble and go with a local bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0