Top Rated Banks

Some online banks may be better for your financial situation than others. Find the online bank that is the best match for you. Draw from the thousands of online bank reviews from customers to select your online bank.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Online Bank Reviews

Jeanniesrose9gmail's Profile Image

Jeanniesrose9gmail reviewed USAA

Oct 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Changes Release Of Deposit Dates Daily

My husband and i are desperate for help! My husband has been a member of usaa for years (my two active military sons are, as well), but we have been denied our deposited funds. My husband deposited his paycheck 7 days ago from today, and was initially given access to $500 to aid us during the wait. My husband was told it would take 5 days to clear. Two days later the $500 access was removed. My husband has called numerous times and even emailed but nobody will help us. My husband called his employer's bookkeeper to ask if the check had cleared, and was told that it had.

My husband had received an email from the ceo of usaa assuring him that the matter would be investigated and we would hear from an usaa rep. We had not heard from anyone from the usaa's office. Finally today, my husband was able to contact the ussa's office that could remove the hold. The woman named "erica" refused. Even after my husband explained that i'm disabled and unable to see my doctor, buy my medication, fuel to get to work, and to buy food. We are not asking for a loan, we are asking for access to the money my husband works hard for. The latest date for release is next friday, the friday my husband gets paid again. The next course of action is contacting an attorney. We are desperate for help!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

terryqmediagroupco's Profile Image

terryqmediagroupco reviewed Synchrony Bank

Oct 14th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Customer Servce Ever

At least three customer service folks couldn't speak decent english. Phone lines were completely distorted. There online account interface doesn't display amounts paid correctly and their customer service folks could not help or direct me to the appropriate people. We purchased an ac system through a local dealer, but never, never again if they continue using this "financial" service.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jimmygaudetgmailco's Profile Image

jimmygaudetgmailco reviewed USAA

Oct 13th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

One Of The Worst Banks Ever Stay Away!

They charge you $8 to overnight a new card but they wont tell you! They instead snail mail you a card, then when you cal land ask they will for a fee overnight you a card but only if you ask and that card will be an exact replica you know just in case someone stole your card enroute!!! Smart huh?

Then since its an online bank only. The FDIC will hold any check $1 over your normal everyday balance so for 2 weeks you dont get a penny from that car you sold! Smart? It gets better. Any notion you dont understand a charge automatic shutdown you dont know what something is for and call to ask automatic shutdown your in kuwait and ask a question. You guessed it you dont eat for 2 weeks. Then theyre auto and insurance is hundreds of dollars more than anyone else

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mortram's Profile Image

mortram reviewed Simple

Oct 11th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Significantly Degraded Experience Since Acquisition

I was an early simple adopter and loved it, and have used it as my primary checking account. But since they were acquired this year and have been transitioning their operations, i have had terrible problems with my account and the website that a bank should never have. My scheduled payments disappear or do not display (you never know which). My available balance is incorrectly reported.

A check for over $1,000 was returned by the post office and simple never notified me or credited the money back to my account (until i called them to ask what was up). Their customer service is good but without a reliable banking experience, sadly i have to leave it. Too bad because they still have the best online banking interface, although other banks like chase have begun to catch up.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

harringtonedward1g's Profile Image

1 out of 5 marks

Very Disappointing Customer Service

I tried to make an online transfer to my brokerage account. The transaction was blocked for no good reason. Then customer service said they could not help me or remove the block until tuesday when the corporate office is open again from 9am to 5pm. That's not customer service.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

skipper29's Profile Image

skipper29 reviewed Charles Schwab Bank

Oct 8th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Used to be Good, Not anymore

I had a brokerage account and a high yield checking account. I was using my ATM/Checking far too often (online shopping, traveling, etc---FYI: I never over drafted or bounced a check). But I decided to open a new checking account with them to better manage my finances for the holidays and the new year and close the current one. Guess what?

I was denied a new checking account due to something they perceived negative on my credit report. Not only was I denied a new checking account but they ended up closing my current one at random. I find it interesting that they kept the brokerage account alive and well. Point being, if you have good credit this bank may not be for you. I think they require excellent or near perfect credit. (yes, they do pull a hard inquiry on your credit when you attempt to open an account).

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jterrineyahoocom's Profile Image

jterrineyahoocom reviewed Able Banking

Oct 8th 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Almost Satisfactory Initial Web Chat Account Set up Inquiry

The agent was direct in responding to all of my inquiries, except when it concerned the full list of fees. A simple yes or no would have more than suffice. Certainly, it would have calm any lingering doubts.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

79Sunflower's Profile Image

79Sunflower reviewed Simple

Oct 4th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Things Started Out So Well, Until..

I really really loved this bank until it declined and sent back my employers direct deposit because the address listed (a p. O. Box - they do not accept them as mailing addresses) did not match the address i have on file. A deposit with my name and correct account information, but p. O. Box vs. Physical address was sent back to my employer. I don't know about you, but that is a deal breaker.

I need my money, i don't work for free! It took weeks before things were corrected and i had available funds. And this is common, online transactions have been declined if i do not enter in my apartment number or if i write half street vs. 1/2 street. Yes, that tiny bit of a difference can mean the difference between accepted and declined. I appreciate the thoroughness, but until they allow p. O. Box addresses to be used as a mailing preference and cash deposits, i have to move back to the big guys.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Deevanj's Profile Image

Deevanj reviewed TIAA Direct

Oct 3rd 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Terrible Experience With a Mortgage- And the Followup

We are in the middle of a horrendous mortgage experience that brought us up to the wire of one day before closing, only to be rejected at the 11th hour. We have been jumping through hoops for weeks to provide all document ion. the mortgage consultant even called our real estate agent for a rental property we own in New Jersey to verify why we have to both tenant and landlord names on the security deposit bank account and that our tenant is not really a family member. They would not believe that its actually the law in NJ. We have great credit scores (791 and 747) and have 20% down etc. Got preliminary approval and moved ahead with the process only to be told one day before closing that the rental income from our house in NJ won't count as income because we haven't rented it out for at least two years. Huh??? They couldn't tell us that at the beginning of the process? They even made us get an appraisal on the rental home-cost over $600 ! Really? I own that home already! So now we have paid for an appraisal on the house we want to buy and the house we already own that's rented. Total cost $1300. We stand to lose close to $10,000 now on the house we are trying to buy in NC. One day before closing it all falls apart because TIAA Direct is irresponsible and unprofessional. I only went with them because I have a retirement account with TIAA Cref. I am planning on initiating a lawsuit to recover damages but this has been an awful experience. The worst ever. Stay away from TIAA Direct. They are simply awful.

TIAA Direct Responded to My Post

Last week we were denied a mortgage one day before our scheduled closing. In frustration, I posted a negative review on mybanktracker.com. I am happy to report that I got calls from top management and the decision about the mortgage was reversed. We closed on our house within the week. I respect the fact that this company cared enough to do the right thing, however their business practice put us through a roller coaster of emotion.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

drmembrane's Profile Image

drmembrane reviewed Capital One 360

Oct 2nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Why Can't I Give Them Zero Stars

I do computer security for a living. I have a car loan through capital one and just the one account i have their security is appalling, their understanding of corporate networking is worse. Migrating people to a new site with no notice and worse, no links from the old site to the new. Forcing me to call customer service to fix my site.

I get on the phone and they can only identify me by my social, sorry, i know better than to give that over the phone, if you want my car payment you'll have to find a different way to identify me. Unfortunately they don't allow me enough characters to list all the problems i've had and found with their broken system, for example taking a month and a half before i could make my first payment because they were setting up my account then trying to charge me a late fee. I knew nothing about capitalone before this car loan, i'm glad i didn't set up a real bank account with them now.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates