Top Rated Banks

Some online banks may be better for your financial situation than others. Find the online bank that is the best match for you. Draw from the thousands of online bank reviews from customers to select your online bank.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Online Bank Reviews

Sewarda's Profile Image

Sewarda reviewed Bank Of Internet

Sep 4th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Alert!!!!! They Will Hold Up Access To Your Deposited Funds!

Watch this bank, they say your deposits will post the same day, if done before a certain time, maybe this is true. They neglected to say, they are not going to give you access to your money for more than 5 working days. They started this in july 2014. I was told they sent me a notice of this. I ask for a copy of the notice, stating they had a mandatory 5 working day hold on all deposits not made in their location (including cashiers checks and money orders), from two of their call center personnel. Their reps said they had no access to it the letter. They also stated that i was emailed the notification in june of the policy change. I found no email from them in june stating this. I also received numerous excuses as to why they were doing this, and was informed that i waived my rights to having access to my money iaw the banking regulations. Watch out constant deposit problems.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

laurabun's Profile Image

laurabun reviewed Synchrony Bank

Sep 4th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Misleading 'contracts'

I applied for the Amazon.com Credit Card which is handled by Synchrony. I received a postal letter from them harassing me to finish my account registration because I had selected electronic billing. NO I DIDN'T! I specifically requested postal mail because that's how I take care of my business. Don't send me a letter that's rife with threatening overtones!!!! It will piss me off and I'll just cancel. I must say tho, the fellow that assisted me via e-chat, who helped me recover my "lost" password::::: BECAUSE I NEVER SIGNED UP FOR ELECTRONIC-ONLY BILLING!!!!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mandymarie1234's Profile Image

mandymarie1234 reviewed Ally Bank

Sep 4th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible Customer Service

I have a home loan on the line and my home loan officer needs documentation thru Ally indicating my loan has been paid in full on my leased car I turned in over a week ago, the loan has been paid in full over 3 weeks now. I have talked to 15 people and no one seems to care I have a home loan pending and I need documentation indicating my loan at Ally has been honored. They tell me my car inspection needs to happen first, which I was told that was going to happen within 24 to 48 hours but over a week later my car still has not been inspected, but in the same sentence they tell me my loan has been terminated. No one seems to care I have a home loan pending and I need this loan that I paid IN FULL over 3 weeks ago to show a zero balance. I can't believe how these people can screw one someone's life, especially when I have honored a loan in FULL. Very disappointed in Ally and I do NOT recommend anyone use them. I did not have a choice when I leased my vehicle, Ally was picked because I leased a GM car. My mistake and will NEVER do that again!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

RoGale's Profile Image

RoGale reviewed Discover Bank

Sep 4th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst banking experience ever

Suckered in to setup account for $50.00 promotional offer and $0.10 per transaction. I've never received the $50.00. They also have found it impossible to correct my name on the account even though I've contacted them about it several times. A deposit I made via their mobile app has taken over 2 weeks to clear. Nothing but trouble with this bank. I recommend you stay away from them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

benjaminmeyer2013's Profile Image

benjaminmeyer2013 reviewed Simple

Sep 3rd 2014

5 out of 5 marks

It really is just simple.

It's fantastic how the goals, payments, and when-to-work work together to give you a fantastic outlook of how much money you have and what you will need. It makes managing your cash flow so much easier! Also, the mobile app and website allow you to interact with your transactions at a much more meaningful level. You can mark a transaction as a friends night out and see all the related transactions, or for a specific trip or event and make it easier to find later on. Receipts can be attached, either a photo or document, to the transaction in case you ever need them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

SNEAKR's Profile Image

SNEAKR reviewed Simple

Sep 3rd 2014

5 out of 5 marks

best baking experience

Simple to is simply Best baking experience ever. The app is indispensable, the service and support is priceless. I'm almost hesitant to share because I don't want it to be ruined in someway by others. It's rare and amazing and I want it to stay that way.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Hunterman1's Profile Image

Hunterman1 reviewed Synchrony Bank

Sep 1st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible IRA service

I opened a new IRA transfer account. When the money was sent, it apparently sat on someones desk for over three weeks. Four times I called about my deposit. I was basically told it was my problem. Of the four people I spoke with about my deposit, not one person offered to help me or try to locate the deposit.

I finally got a stop payment put on the deposit. I notified Synchrony of the stop payment That notification also sat on someone's desk because several days later I got notification that they had deposited the check and in the same mail I got notification from them about the stop payment. All this proves to me that no, one was paying attention to what I was telling them. My documents and money was sitting on someones desk and no cared enough to look into my problem. It is really frustrating. For them, It must really be easy to get new customers. All they had to do was help me. Just think about it being you. Not again.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MichielOosting's Profile Image

MichielOosting reviewed Ally Bank

Aug 30th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Only permanent US citizens are welcome.

I am a Dutch employee here in the USA during an Expat contract and have a LIB Visa; this visa allows me to work in the USA for the company I was send over as an Expat and gave me the formal paperwork that allowed me to apply for a US SSN number and to open an US bank account.

Ally bank has in his policies that only permanent residents are allowed to open a bank account with them while it is totally legal for people with an L1B visa to do so (like UMPQUA bank will do).

Therefore I would not recommend to open an account with them since they are not aware of the global changes of doing business international.

Regards,

Michiel

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

flowineddy's Profile Image

flowineddy reviewed Ally Bank

Aug 29th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst auto leasing company ever!!!

We leased a vehicle through Ally and then decided to buy the car at the end of the lease. Instead of being able to buy it for the residual, they tack on $2,500 for absolutely no other reason but to keep you from buying the car in hopes you'll lease another car. I've purchased several vehicles we originally leased over the years and have always purchased them for the residual value which makes sense. They don't even try to justify the $2500 penalty, they just say "sorry." Stay away from this company at all costs, they're simply greedy and they absolutely lack any sense of customer service.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

rpbreault's Profile Image

rpbreault reviewed Simple

Aug 29th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Wow what a terrible turn for the worst

First, I have written 4 reviews in my whole life, so I only write when I have conviction for something that I love or gives me great grief. I started off banking with Simple about two or three months ago and loved it. After this last update to their server, it has been one of the most challenging experiences that I have ever endured. It started with double postings in my spending log, at times it would give me inaccurate balances. Following this came the worst part....NOT MAKING PAYMENTS. I attempted to pay a credit card and send a check 3 times with no luck. After I let them know of my displeasure they gave me alternatives, including going through another bank?!? I thought their motto was that they wanted to replace my bank? After starting to migrate to another bank, I cancelled all scheduled payments through Simple. The real kicker is...yesterday they sent out a payment to my credit card and it wasn't scheduled. Customer service went south too, it takes on average 3 days to hear back from them and they will do whatever it takes to not get on the phone with you. I highly recommend avoiding this bank.

Another funny thing, they created a nice new shiny app to go along with their bank while these problems were unfolding. My suggestion, make sure you operate smoothly and manage transactions before trying to impress people with slick apps.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

Featured Rates