Top Rated Banks

Some online banks may be better for your financial situation than others. Find the online bank that is the best match for you. Draw from the thousands of online bank reviews from customers to select your online bank.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Online Bank Reviews

JaniceInCO's Profile Image

JaniceInCO reviewed Simple

Apr 4th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Scam or bank only for excellent credit?

I received an invitation to apply and filled out all of the information including my SS#, bank account number and routing number to transfer my money.

After about 10 minutes I received an email saying my application was denied due to my credit score not meeting their standards. My credit score is currently 660.

Now they have my ss#, bank account # and routing information and an email with no reasonable explanation as to why I was denied. Now I am very concerned!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

BradGregson's Profile Image

BradGregson reviewed Ally Bank

Apr 3rd 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Deceptive, Customer Service Awful

This bank is very deceptive. They intentionally withold deposits to draw overdraft fees. I initiated a transfer from another bank in time for a payment to be made from my Ally account. Despite not ever showing a negative balance on my account and my transfers showing up on my account before the payment was made, they charged me an overdraft fee.

When I called customer service, the lady talked to me like I was stupid. When I asked why they had charged me an overdraft fee despite the money being there, she said they have a right to withold transfers from "available funds" for up to 5 days after a transfer is made.

They apparently decided to withold my money which I had transferred in time until I overdrafted...then it became available. They have pulled crap on me in a similar situation(they only allowed a certain percentage of a large deposit to be made available for 10 days after it was deposited) before but I was stupid and fell for it again. Closing this account ASAP. Save yourself trouble and go with a local bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

skypilot's Profile Image

skypilot reviewed USAA

Apr 2nd 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Wouldn't go anywhere else for insurance--home and auto

Been with these folks for 46 years. The rates may be a bit lower with other folks, but most don't take into account the subscribers share savings account which accrues money every year we have had it.

Except for a claim for a totaled Olds Diesel in 1985, I have never had a problem with repairs and the warranty that USAA provides. The diesel incident was resolved but it took negotiation and waiting out the Colorado adjuster. The attorney was paid by USAA as there was a court action in Louisiana but USAA stood behind us all the way. We only paid out our deductible ($50.00).

Now with the internet, jpg, pdf and the like, things get taken care of quickly. It is also good to get other bids, but we have found that the USAA recommended shops are the best anyway.

Their policy service folks are top notch and know all the options and work to keep your costs the lowest for your situation.

Disclosure: We have never been USAA employees. We are both career retired line naval officers who have lived in California, Louisiana, Pennsylvania, Montana, Washington State, Oregon, Rhode Island, Florida, Viet Nam, Saudi Arabia, Philippines, Japan and Guam.

There was only one time when USAA didn't cover us. We didn't own anything worthwhile when oversees. But we have been members all the time. Our daughter, an executive in a Fortune 50 (yes 50, not 500) company is as well.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

Easley312's Profile Image

Easley312 reviewed GE Capital Retail Bank

Apr 2nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible Customer Service

1st off you can only post a payment on line via a debit card when there is someone there. So if you work 3rd shift you have to use your bank account. Which takes more time to process.

2nd A few hours after you post you will recieve a email saying that your payment has posted with a confirmation number. THIS IS NOT TRUE!!! This email that says it has posted means that it will post within the next 24 hours. When you ask customer service why did you receive an email if it hasn't posted they either repeat the same company line of " It takes 24-48 our for our system to post" or they hang up on you. Took me 2 hours to finally get to a supervisor that once again did nothing. Once this account is paid off I will never use GE again.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

dahaase's Profile Image

dahaase reviewed Charles Schwab Bank

Mar 24th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Best banking experience I've ever had

I was with BofA for a number of years. As their service declined to basicly no customer service, I decided to change switch over all my accounts to Schwab, where I have my investments. So far, I've had no complaints. I've felt the customer service has been excellent. I hardly ever have to wait to be helped and each time it's with a live person in the U.S. They have always been polite and knowledgeable. I have had no trouble using my phone to make deposits. In fact, they generally get credited to my account within 2 business hours.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

boulder's Profile Image

boulder reviewed Bank Of Internet

Mar 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

beyond poor. rinky dink operation in every sense.

closed account. bank of internet sent a check with remaining balance that was not valid, so was unable to deposit. almost two weeks later and still haven't gotten a response (or the funds) from their customer service.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

drfromnh's Profile Image

drfromnh reviewed GE Capital Retail Bank

Mar 21st 2014

2 out of 5 marks

GE Care Credit, sounds great, lousy service and support

I receive "urgent" calls telling me to contact GE Capital immediately regarding my account. My calls go through an automated system that accepts my account number and personal information and then tells me it can not handle my call at this time, call another number which is given once, rapidly. Going through this twice in order to get the number, I get through to an Indian person in a room so noisy he can't hear me and he keeps asking me to speak louder. Finally I give him my SSN to check my account and my call is dropped. I go through this two more times to finally speak to an associate who tells me my account is current and there is no action needed. Interest-free medical cost loan is a great deal but it comes with incredibly poor service.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Keenan's Profile Image

Keenan reviewed TIAA Direct

Mar 19th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Terrible

This bank advertises great interest rates for money markets but it's not worth the trouble. I can't even make deposits to my own bank because every time I try to log in to mobile banking it says my password is reset. I've spent an hour on the phone with customer service and I received FOUR emails saying that my password has been reset. They were unable to resolve the issue. I actually ended the conversation letting them know that I'd be withdrawing my money and literally taking my money to the bank...elsewhere.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by TIAA Direct

Responded by TC_Talks

Mar 22nd 2014

Providing excellent customer service matters to us. Email your full name and best way to contact you so we can resolve the issue to bankingservices@tiaadirect.com.

NCEGO's Profile Image

NCEGO reviewed Ally Bank

Mar 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Tried to delay an Auto Loan

Called in February (21st) to try to delay a car loan payment. We were told that if we paid the interest that we could delay the payment one month, which was ideal.We were told that they would fax a form for us to sign within the next 24 hours, and they did not have e mail access to send the form. We paid the interest payment as we were told. We waited for the form to arrive, but it never did. We have a dedicated phone line for faxes. On the 5th of March we called back after receiving a collection notice on the remaining balance of the payment. They told us that since they never received the form that the payment would no longer be deferred. They started the process again and told us once again that they would fax the form within 24 hours, well 24 hours came and went with no form. We called back yet again and were told that it can take up to 48 hours. We waited another day, and no form. We also received a collection call. We called again and they no response. We opted to pay the outstanding balance to make sure they didn't ding our credit. After making the payment we received a bill for $6 for a late fee. We paid the $6. We are now current and still getting collection calls. We call them and they do not know why we are getting calls. To think we were considering taking all our banking business to Ally. NO WAY!! We are now going to refinance our car loan. This bank has no clue.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

cortiz2315aolcom's Profile Image

cortiz2315aolcom reviewed USAA

Mar 17th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Amazing Customer Service

Every experience has been amazing. The nicest agents who are informative and seem very inclined to resolve any issues. Plan on getting my mortgage and next car loan from them!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0