Top Rated Banks

Some online banks may be better for your financial situation than others. Find the online bank that is the best match for you. Draw from the thousands of online bank reviews from customers to select your online bank.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Online Bank Reviews

toillenehoc's Profile Image

toillenehoc reviewed Synchrony Bank

Feb 24th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Stay Clear of Synchrony's IRA Dept.

Incompetence abounds! Upper management is well insulated. Try calling their home office in Utah at 801 816 4760. They NEVER answer and don't return messages. Where is Margaret Keane, the head honcho? Perfect example of the right hand doesn't know what the left hand is doing. Go to Barclays or TCF to get the 1% rate.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

WEB2013's Profile Image

WEB2013 reviewed Ally Bank

Feb 22nd 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Spend Less On Commercials More On Customer Service

How this bank has numerous positive reviews is beyond me. The application process for a simple savings account (their rate is the best for basic savings, hence the single star, but rate means zero if you can't access your account) was such a cluster i opted out of the account process. The process went something like this: fill out the application on-line then wait... And wait... And wait... No emails, no calls; go online and submit and inquiry to which you get a response of 'we can't respond because email is not secure. '; call... Hold... Hold... Hold, hang-up (repeat for 2 days) call again on a sunday and finally get through to a live rep who indicates that they need a dl or utility bill to verify identity.

I guess the multiple identifying questions, along with the funding bank account info for deposit, on the application weren't adequate? Again, this is for a basic savings account (not brokerage) and i'm sending them thousands of dollars and they have the account info from which to pull these funds but they need a utility bill with my address to make sure i am who i say i am?! (of course utility companies are the pinnacle of identity security i'm sure). Per the rep it's the patriot act that necessitates this request, but odd that other on-line accounts didn't need this extra info (and a utility bill, really)?

Giving them a big break and assuming this extra id step is necessary that does't excuse that a bank w/o branches shouldn't have the lack of notice/relationship/decent customer service via technology that necessitated i pull my application. I have to state the rep was professional and friendly but the process and taking over 6 days to actually get to speak to a person, honestly had me questioning if i fell for a scam and someone highjacking ally to get personal information. Bottom line, go with capitalone360, lower rate but top tier support and website.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Ferryboater's Profile Image

Ferryboater reviewed CIT Bank

Feb 22nd 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible Bank

After trying to get info on transferring money in to open a CD, I learned that I'd first have to apply online before getting access to transfer forms. The online process required detailed information and when I called because I needed help with the app, I got the least customer-oriented CSR I've ever dealt with. She was annoyed when I asked her to walk me through what I was having difficulty with and said "this is an online bank." I used up a lot of printer ink before deciding I want nothing to do with this bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ljcann's Profile Image

ljcann reviewed Synchrony Bank

Feb 18th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Stay Away!

Synchrony Bank makes it as easy as can be to deposit money but next to impossible to take it out. As a result, i closed my account on february 4, 2015, and today is february 18th and i still do not have my check for over 600k when i called them, they told me they can not even begin to process a lost check claim until february 20th. I have to mail them a claim form because they can not accept the form faxed or emailed and once they receive the form, they will send me a replacement check in the mail within 48 hours. I think they are scammers.

Just a way to hold on to our money longer. Also, at no time did anyone offer to bump this up to a higher level or go out of their way to try to help me. It was as though they were reading from a script. Sorry, but these are our rules. When i asked if they would be concerned about not having access to over 600k of their money for 14 days. I got the same canned response. Sorry this happened,but these are our rules.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

brapitt2's Profile Image

brapitt2 reviewed Ally Bank

Feb 18th 2015

4 out of 5 marks

Great Online Bank

Great online bank to take advantage of high interest rates on checking and savings accounts.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Smallz44's Profile Image

Smallz44 reviewed USAA

Feb 18th 2015

3 out of 5 marks

Ok For Some Services

USAA Bank has limited to offer but what they do offer is great

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

bobbiebucher's Profile Image

bobbiebucher reviewed Synchrony Bank

Feb 18th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible!

These people bothered me late at night every single night of the week, even though i was paying my card off. In the end i had called to reschedule a payment and the guy told me that i didn't even have a payment in the system to cancel and reschedule (but i knew there was one in there) i left it alone and a few days later i had $600 come out of my bank account which i didn't have at the time. I called to see if someone could do anything about this and no one would help me. Very bad experience, i wouldn't give any stars if it didn't make me.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

urbannagirl's Profile Image

urbannagirl reviewed Synchrony Bank

Feb 14th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible Company! Never Again!

Horrible company and i will never again open any credit account that they are the bank for!! Lowe's, amazon, qvc, paypal will all go down the toilet with these people being the credit card company for them. Just closed my lowe's account because they took 10 days to post the pay off to my account that i made in the store and then lowered my credit limit to $100. 00.

Really? What is one to do with that type of limit? Also contacted lowes corporate headquarters. Not that it will do any good for me but maybe for others that still have an account with devil known as synchrony bank! No i did not have one missed or late payment on lowes or any other of my credit accounts. Seems they can close or lower your credit when they seem fit to do so!! Had to add the one star. They deserve no stars!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jgwr1206's Profile Image

jgwr1206 reviewed Ally Bank

Feb 9th 2015

4 out of 5 marks

Very Little To Complain About

I love Ally, mostly for it's interest rates and lack of any atm fees anywhere. My only smallish gripe is that to change my wife's name on the account or add someone to a joint account, ally still requires faxing or mailing in a bunch of documents. Who has a fax anymore?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Lucrezia's Profile Image

Lucrezia reviewed Capital One 360

Feb 8th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

How Unsecure is Your Money?

Very. Capital One 360 is a risk. Your money is not secure. If you think it is...God help you if you need reimbursement on fraudulent charges. I'm getting ready to take them to small claims court over $400 in fraudulent online charges. After a mere 3 days deliberation and having NO access to my iTunes Account where my debit card was fraudulently charged and the charges are specified, they arbitrarily closed my disputes and refuse to reimburse me. After only 3 days of daily $9.99, $14.99, $1.99, $24.99 daily charges of months and months when no one notified me, they decide I there was no error?

I was charged twice when I had no internet. Huh? How is that possible? And yet Capital One 360 keeps denying my claims. Now they're not letting me into my account where I still have $980 + money waiting to be transferred to my other bank account. Are they holding my money hostage? Will they steal that money? Not while I still have my iPad and my fingers work. Small claims and FDIC here I come.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »