Top Rated Banks

Some online banks may be better for your financial situation than others. Find the online bank that is the best match for you. Draw from the thousands of online bank reviews from customers to select your online bank.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Online Bank Reviews

DMauman's Profile Image

DMauman reviewed Ally Bank

Jan 2nd 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Ally Not Transferring IRA funds?

Have had various accounts with Ally for many years, and always was impressed with customer service - until now. We've had various CD's in our Roth and Traditional IRA accounts. Recently decided to (direct) transfer funds (upon CD maturation) to another institutional account consistent with our financial plan and work with a financial advisor. Completed all transfer documents completely, then got notice from Ally that they needed an original (not copy of) signature, and after horsing around with all that I now find that the funds still haven't been transferred after 3 weeks. Anybody else have such experience with Ally?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

crazybus32's Profile Image

crazybus32 reviewed Synchrony Bank

Dec 30th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst Customer Service

This is not a bank, it is a loan shark service!!! My Walmart credit card was transferred over to Syncrony Bank. I always pay my bill early and always pay more than the minimum balance. In June 2014 I paid my bill way to early and they make it as an extra payment for May. I called them and told them that was ment for June and was basically told "too bad". I asked if they could take that extra May payment and make it for June, they said no!! I asked if they would return the money to me and I would make another payment for June, they told me no! They wanted a double payment for June. I told them I didn't have the money for a double payment they told me, too bad! They charge me a 35.00 late fee every month since June! I have written letters that went unanswered. I have called, to no avail! The constantly call my house telling me Im delinquent and they send me emails all the time telling me I am delinquent! I wish I could pay this off and be done with them forever!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mayson's Profile Image

mayson reviewed Synchrony Bank

Dec 29th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Not Much Better Than Discover Bank

I chose to move my IRA Accounts from Discover Bank to Synchrony because Discover will not roll over any CD in an IRA to a MM. Your only option is to renew at market rate or transfer funds.You are at the mercy of Discover. Therefore I decided to transfer my CD from Discover upon maturity to Synchrony which will allow you to move a CD to a MM IRA account.

Caution, keep very good records. When ever I called Synchrony to confirm or see if they received my transfer forms, they could not give me an answer. In short I was doing their job. Constantly calling Discover and Synchrony to try to get a confirmation on a transfer. Often I had to send in a second request for a transfer. Due to synchrony sending in one form late I was charged a $100 penalty by discover.

When this is over or if I decide to transfer a CD in an IRA , I'll go with Fidelity.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

tivac's Profile Image

tivac reviewed USAA

Dec 29th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Cannot stress enough how great they are

I've been banking with USAA for years and never pass up an opportunity to praise them. Great customer service, great rates (on everything but savings accounts), and always a great experience.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Mikeocee3's Profile Image

Mikeocee3 reviewed Capital One 360

Dec 28th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible Experience - I recommend staying away

Problems with the Capital One 360 Checking:

Poor Customer Service - I mean poor, takes 3+ days to respond to an email - NOT friendly - I was actually sent an email that they would no longer be responding to my inquiries

Like another reviewer stated, pending transactions will disappear and then reappear, so it is not always accurate when you check your checking balance.

Deposits take forever to be deposited. I had a check take up to 7 days to be available in my account. Ridiculous.

Depositing cash is a huge hassle - although they do allow you to do that now

They all of a sudden cancelled my husband's check card due to a security breach and did not notify him at all. It was the strangest thing. We were out of town and his check card was getting declined. Luckily, I was with him. If not, he would have been stranded out of town with no access to any money. Thanks Capital One 360!

Has really gone down hill since Capital One 360 bought ING Direct. I'm very sad that it is no longer ING. Capital One is a horrible company and I will be closing all of my accounts with them soon.

I suggest looking elsewhere.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

netjon's Profile Image

netjon reviewed Capital One 360

Dec 23rd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible Experience

I tried to setup a "business savings" account with Capital One 360 for a small not-for-profit organization.

It was a horrible experience. I wish it were possible to rate either zero or even negative stars.

1) The instructions about one main form in the application were unclear. No big deal, we just redid the document when they told us what they wanted.

2) After turning in the updated document they said there was still a problem. It turns out they did not even read the cover letter we sent with the app explaining that we have both our incorporated name and a legal doing-business-as name. This is a very common practice.

3) After arguing with one guy who was just kinda repeating what he must have been reading from a manual I called the next day and talked to a "supervisor." This guy wanted me to redo the form yet again, making more changes than the first time. Petty changes. (Actually, I don't believe he was even looking at the application, I believe he was just being stubborn and unreasonable).

4) Now they want me to do a "name change" form even though we haven't changed our name.

I have no confidence that if I fill out any more forms that they will do a competent job. It feels like they have decided they don't want me for a customer for some reason and are just being jerks about it.

Yuck. Amazingly incompetent and unreasonably stubborn.

I have had a personal online account back since the days it was ING. My experience with them trying to setup a very simple business savings account is causing me to wonder if I want to cancel my personal checking account as well.

I wish I could talk to someone there who knows what they are doing. It is pretty clear that the guys in the business department do not. It is also clear that they would rather be difficult and stubborn than win a customer.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Salulu's Profile Image

Salulu reviewed Ally Bank

Dec 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible Application Process

It was like i am applying for a secret service agent positions with ally reps contacting me for the 4th time in 1 month trying to get me to continue furnish them with additional info bcos they could not verify my wife's address for a mm account. This was after we've given them more than enough info such as dl, ssn utilities, voter registration card, etc to validate her current address. They got hung up on an old address appearing on her dl. Terrible customer experience in the front end that made us jump to another competitor today. They made me feel like they are doing me a favor.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

dmdicks's Profile Image

dmdicks reviewed Ally Bank

Dec 16th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Disturbing Practices

I have been with Ally for 2 1/2 years. Yes they offer good interest rates with both checking and savings accounts. Yes getting customer service is somewhat easy. If you want to order checks, or check a posting, it is so simple, make the call and it's fixed, right? So Ally seem to do the simple things right. But what about when things go seriously wrong? I have a healthy account with high balances in checking and savings. I pay almost all of my bills through the Ally bill pay service. On two occasions Ally have paid my home mortgage payment twice in the same month even though it is set up as an automated single payment. On other occasions they have done the same with other automated payments. Attempts at getting this systemic problem fixed have been futile. If that is not bad enough how about this. Each month I have a retirement pension wired from England into my Ally account. On 6 occasions in the last year or so the payments have failed to show up. A detailed investigation has shown that Ally uses J P Morgan Chase to process incoming international wire transfers. Yes that would be the same J P Morgan Chase that has been penalized and heavily fined for international currency exchange rate fraud and other serious financial banking fraud. Two months of pressing hard has resulted in no solution to this problem. This is now in the hands of the FBI. The moral to this story is this. If you have an account with Ally, and you do not fall foul of their incompetence, you will win. If you do have any kind of serious problem you will lose. Ally seems to do business with some shady characters and they are both unable and unwilling to fix any problems that they will create for you. Good luck.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

imscot00's Profile Image

imscot00 reviewed HSA Bank

Dec 16th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

FORGET THIS ORGANIZATION

Useless, completely and people must work there because of poor choices. Forget customer service and that fact that you are the client, yes you are. Option 4....leave a message in their voicemail and they WILL call you back...........only if you have annoying music or sounds to play because they WILL NOT call you back, be assured about this.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

msysm's Profile Image

msysm reviewed Synchrony Bank

Dec 14th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Ridiculous Online System and bad customer service

I had issue with their online system. Every time I tried to login the system had errors. Called the customer several times. Every time they told me it needs 30-60 days to resolve the issue. 60 days to figure out why a customer can't login? Is it 1990? The most ridiculous bank ever! They even closed my account most likely because I keep complaining. Stay Away! They can't fix a minor login issue how can they keep your information safe!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »