Top Rated Banks

Some online banks may be better for your financial situation than others. Find the online bank that is the best match for you. Draw from the thousands of online bank reviews from customers to select your online bank.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Online Bank Reviews

incognegro's Profile Image

incognegro reviewed USAA

Jun 13th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Crooks and criminals! Run now! You've been warned!

I became a USAA member when my Air Force Reserve recruiter recommended them to me. It seemed legit and I had a great experience with them for the first few years.

Then about three years ago, I had bill-pay setup and then they started retroactively bouncing my checks. When I called to complain, they said that the checks were drawn on the account on the day they went out, which completely defeats the purpose of automatic bill pay! I said " screw it" and cancelled my bill pay; I could pay my bills myself without the extra worry of USAA randomly changing bank policy just so they can get a few extra dollars from me in NSF fees. No muss, no fuss.

Then last year, I wrote a check to pay my rent while I was on TDY. I was already late when I paid it because USAA also had a new policy of retroactively bouncing physical checks that I would personally write and mail in to my leasing company two days early. I didn't make a stink about that, even though I hated that I couldn't trust them to do the right thing. But this time, I waited till I got paid, wrote the rent check on Friday (the same day I got paid) and went about my weekend. On Monday I got a call from the leasing company that I would be evicted if I didn't pay my rent. I checked my account and sure enough they bounced my check even though there was more than enough money to cover it. I called USAA and there was no explanation given. I demanded back the NSF fees and the $50.00 fee my leasing company charged. The lady I spoke to was nice enough to give me all that back, but the damage was already done.

If I can't trust you with literally the most valuable stuff I have: my money, then I want nothing to do with you. USAA made me look like a deadbeat to my leasing company and put a mark on my rental history.

If you value your credit and your money, you should steer far away from USAA. I have been telling everyone in my unit that USAA is a ticking time bomb waiting to blow up their lives. Run!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 1

Sharon H's Profile Image

Sharon H reviewed Ally Bank

Jun 10th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Ally Bank is Right on the Mark!

For the past few years I have banked online with Ally Bank and I am very pleased with having found them. I was searching CD rates several years ago and stumbled upon Ally Bank on the internet. I had never heard of them before. After doing a lot of research and reading about them, I decided to open an account with Ally Bank.

So far I have been very happy with Ally Bank. One of the greatest features is the fact that an actual human being answers the phone, and they can speak English! The phone only rings once or twice usually. I do not get an annoying and time-wasting recorded message. The Ally rep can usually solve my issues in just a few minutes. They are knowledgeable and intelligent, explaining my options.

Also their interest rates are usually higher than any other local bank with any security.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 0

XodoX's Profile Image

XodoX reviewed Ally Bank

Jun 9th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst bank ever. Disrespect customers!

Long story short. I wanted to change my address to a P.O. Box address. I made some mistake and the mail was returned. My account was then restricted. I called them to get it open again. They asked me a bunch of odd questions. They just thought I was a fraud. I told them it's my account and it's my money. Talked to countless people but nothing. I even obtained another SSN card because I couldn't find mine. All for nothing! Those morons just closed my account and I am currently banned from opening another count. You got to be kidding. Asking moronic questions such as where are you and how old are you today (like in years and days!).

Not enough they had to be bailed out but they treat you like crap. Horrible bank! When I first called, I didn't even know what happened. The guy kept on talking about home depot. Home depot this, home depot that. Told him I have no clue what he's talking about. Still kept going.

Finally I found out that they sent it to a home depot and HD called them (not true, I even called the store) that they received something for me. Not a big deal. So I mistyped the P.O. Box address.

And they wanted me to send the copy of my SSN card and driver's license by email. Enough said! Must admit I am not a native English speaker and I am pretty sure that set them off. Will file a complaint with the SEC. And I read similar complaints online. Either they are racist or they think anybody who is not a native speaker will defraud them! Who even asks for your SSN card? Couldn't find it right away and started to get mad cause they just kept on asking and asking for all kinds of things. Blood sample must have been the next thing!

Forgot the first guy's name. The other guy was David. Worst of them all was Cathy. Asking me how old I am in years and days. They must be hiring high school drop-outs. Worst things is the whole department is only 3 people, including the "supervisor" Cathy.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 2

isldgrl2008's Profile Image

isldgrl2008 reviewed Charles Schwab Bank

Jun 9th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible Servicing

My experience with Charles Schwab has been a nightmare. They are very slow in processing disbursements. They give the same scripted answers and lame excuses -- one more day, two more days, by Friday, by Tuesday-- but nothing is done.

My online account is not accurate and the customer service representative stated that it is not always updated accurately. So the online account is inaccurate, you call and the customer service representative give you lame excuses and inaccurate time frame and meanwhile the days go by and nothing is done. They are still holding my 401k and my Roth funds. The Roth is not vested but they told me the do the 401k first "then" the Roth, really?

I left my employer 30 days ago. They also try to scare me about withdrawing the money about taxes and fees, trying to convince me to keep my money there. No way. They are horrible. Fidelity gives me my money in my bank account within 3-5 days!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

animaltender's Profile Image

animaltender reviewed Simple

Jun 9th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Scam -- be careful

This sounded very good but I sent in the invite and filled it out including all my bank info. A week later, I got an information stating federal law required this. One thing they wanted was a notarized statement saying I wanted to open an account. Hmm they have my bank info and now they want proof I want to open an account. I have opened many accounts and never have had to provide a notarized statement. I don't trust banks that lie. I will be going to my bank to make sure they can not debt my account.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 3

pseykora11's Profile Image

pseykora11 reviewed Ally Bank

Jun 7th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

World's Worst Auto finance

Do not do business with National Auto Finance/Ally Auto. I attempted to obtain a certificate of title when relocating to a new state and this business spent 3 days jerking me around. I finally attempted to pay off the vehicle and they spent another 2 days jerking me around before providing a payoff amount. This business is so disjointed that one department doesn't know what the other department has told you. I totally recommend using any other business available to you.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

dsflynn2000's Profile Image

dsflynn2000 reviewed Ally Bank

Jun 6th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Harrassment, sending american jobs overseas?

First of all, Ally out sources jobs to the Philippines. These are American jobs that they are paying third world people a fraction of the pay to perform. Ally could be employing Americans. To top it off these people that are receiving money that could be going into Americans pockets are the most infuriating souls to ever pick up a phone. They harass account holders and they are mostly Americans. Boycott Ally!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

rjakjr's Profile Image

rjakjr reviewed Ally Bank

Jun 6th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Their heads are up their collective backside.

I called to open a new account based on the good reviews I've seen online, this was last Wednesday. I called back Thursday, I was told to call back Tuesday because it needed time to be set up. I call back Tuesday and (after having to tell the clueless customer service employee that I was not calling for an auto loan). I get the scripted (yes, scripted, I've worked at call centers and know how it goes) statement about unable to to be set up and I'll get a letter in 5-7 business days stating the reason.

Here's my one question, Ally Bank, do you consider yourself so great that you have some platinum credit card requirements just to open a checking account?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MACUSER100's Profile Image

MACUSER100 reviewed Ally Bank

Jun 5th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Don't Understand the Complaints

I really can't understand the complaints about Ally Bank; other then when I added my wife to my accounts (it took them awhile) I've had nothing but praise for this bank. Customer Service is excellent - I've never waited longer then maybe a couple minutes and I can get help 24 / 7 (once I called at 3AM New Year's Eve -- yea, a little drunk-- but still got the help and job accomplished).

I'm drawing a higher interest rate with both my Saving Account and Money Market Account then I did with a 19 month CD at US Bank. I had and have a few CDs with Ally and one time needed to cash one in before the maturity date -- only lost the interest; other banks you lose the interest plus penalty. I use any ATM machine and they reimburse the charges, Bill Pay and all the extras - all free. Love this bank!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 0

Aces324's Profile Image

Aces324 reviewed ETRADE

Jun 2nd 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Great until it's bad

Honestly it's been pretty ok. I switched to eTrade for the convenience of online brokerage and online checking. I figured it would be nice to have both accounts in the same place and brokerage accounts don't have the same federal transfer restrictions of a savings account. All in all it started great.

Then the bad started. Month after month they were locking my account on because of suspicious activity. It was the same transaction every month -- my rent. I never moved, it was literally the same amount to the same merchant every single month. Finally they decided that rather than lock my account they were going to hold double my rent. Needless to say, I got a little pissed as this overdrafted me by over a grand. Their explanation was garbage and it took all day to return my funds. So a whole day of no account use.

Use them for brokerage, never for checking, far too incompetent.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0