Top Rated Banks

Some online banks may be better for your financial situation than others. Find the online bank that is the best match for you. Draw from the thousands of online bank reviews from customers to select your online bank.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Online Bank Reviews

skypilot's Profile Image

skypilot reviewed USAA

Apr 2nd 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Wouldn't go anywhere else for insurance--home and auto

Been with these folks for 46 years. The rates may be a bit lower with other folks, but most don't take into account the subscribers share savings account which accrues money every year we have had it.

Except for a claim for a totaled Olds Diesel in 1985, I have never had a problem with repairs and the warranty that USAA provides. The diesel incident was resolved but it took negotiation and waiting out the Colorado adjuster. The attorney was paid by USAA as there was a court action in Louisiana but USAA stood behind us all the way. We only paid out our deductible ($50.00).

Now with the internet, jpg, pdf and the like, things get taken care of quickly. It is also good to get other bids, but we have found that the USAA recommended shops are the best anyway.

Their policy service folks are top notch and know all the options and work to keep your costs the lowest for your situation.

Disclosure: We have never been USAA employees. We are both career retired line naval officers who have lived in California, Louisiana, Pennsylvania, Montana, Washington State, Oregon, Rhode Island, Florida, Viet Nam, Saudi Arabia, Philippines, Japan and Guam.

There was only one time when USAA didn't cover us. We didn't own anything worthwhile when oversees. But we have been members all the time. Our daughter, an executive in a Fortune 50 (yes 50, not 500) company is as well.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

Easley312's Profile Image

Easley312 reviewed GE Capital Retail Bank

Apr 2nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible Customer Service

1st off you can only post a payment on line via a debit card when there is someone there. So if you work 3rd shift you have to use your bank account. Which takes more time to process.

2nd A few hours after you post you will recieve a email saying that your payment has posted with a confirmation number. THIS IS NOT TRUE!!! This email that says it has posted means that it will post within the next 24 hours. When you ask customer service why did you receive an email if it hasn't posted they either repeat the same company line of " It takes 24-48 our for our system to post" or they hang up on you. Took me 2 hours to finally get to a supervisor that once again did nothing. Once this account is paid off I will never use GE again.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

dahaase's Profile Image

dahaase reviewed Charles Schwab Bank

Mar 24th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Best banking experience I've ever had

I was with BofA for a number of years. As their service declined to basicly no customer service, I decided to change switch over all my accounts to Schwab, where I have my investments. So far, I've had no complaints. I've felt the customer service has been excellent. I hardly ever have to wait to be helped and each time it's with a live person in the U.S. They have always been polite and knowledgeable. I have had no trouble using my phone to make deposits. In fact, they generally get credited to my account within 2 business hours.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

boulder's Profile Image

boulder reviewed Bank Of Internet

Mar 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

beyond poor. rinky dink operation in every sense.

closed account. bank of internet sent a check with remaining balance that was not valid, so was unable to deposit. almost two weeks later and still haven't gotten a response (or the funds) from their customer service.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Keenan's Profile Image

Keenan reviewed TIAA Direct

Mar 19th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Terrible

This bank advertises great interest rates for money markets but it's not worth the trouble. I can't even make deposits to my own bank because every time I try to log in to mobile banking it says my password is reset. I've spent an hour on the phone with customer service and I received FOUR emails saying that my password has been reset. They were unable to resolve the issue. I actually ended the conversation letting them know that I'd be withdrawing my money and literally taking my money to the bank...elsewhere.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by TIAA Direct

Responded by TC_Talks

Mar 22nd 2014

Providing excellent customer service matters to us. Email your full name and best way to contact you so we can resolve the issue to bankingservices@tiaadirect.com.

NCEGO's Profile Image

NCEGO reviewed Ally Bank

Mar 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Tried to delay an Auto Loan

Called in February (21st) to try to delay a car loan payment. We were told that if we paid the interest that we could delay the payment one month, which was ideal.We were told that they would fax a form for us to sign within the next 24 hours, and they did not have e mail access to send the form. We paid the interest payment as we were told. We waited for the form to arrive, but it never did. We have a dedicated phone line for faxes. On the 5th of March we called back after receiving a collection notice on the remaining balance of the payment. They told us that since they never received the form that the payment would no longer be deferred. They started the process again and told us once again that they would fax the form within 24 hours, well 24 hours came and went with no form. We called back yet again and were told that it can take up to 48 hours. We waited another day, and no form. We also received a collection call. We called again and they no response. We opted to pay the outstanding balance to make sure they didn't ding our credit. After making the payment we received a bill for $6 for a late fee. We paid the $6. We are now current and still getting collection calls. We call them and they do not know why we are getting calls. To think we were considering taking all our banking business to Ally. NO WAY!! We are now going to refinance our car loan. This bank has no clue.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

cortiz2315aolcom's Profile Image

cortiz2315aolcom reviewed USAA

Mar 17th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Amazing Customer Service

Every experience has been amazing. The nicest agents who are informative and seem very inclined to resolve any issues. Plan on getting my mortgage and next car loan from them!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

fussythe1's Profile Image

fussythe1 reviewed Ally Bank

Mar 16th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Pure Unadulterated Crummy Service and Policies

Ran into a problem in being able to upload deposit using Ally services ... banking personnel not helpful or problem solving. Overall, the worst experience I have ever had with a bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

nodiscover's Profile Image

nodiscover reviewed Discover Bank

Mar 14th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

No to Discover Card!!!!!!!

In no way will I recommend Discover Card to anyone at all!!!! My family had the card years ago and because of some very hard medical issues was not able to pay the bill. No fault of our own. That was years ago and now they have their cruel lawyers constantly taking us to court for money we cannot pay and have told them over and over and over again. Frozen account to where now we cannot even have a bank account. It is wrong to prey on the people who have had bad luck and just cannot pay. We are living on $45 a week now and still being called into court to answer questions that were just answered a few month ago. Never would I encourage anyone to get Discover Card

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

bluemagic's Profile Image

bluemagic reviewed Bank Of Internet

Mar 14th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Awful bank making too many serious mistakes and underpaying the interests

I wonder if the other customers have gotten similar experience with the SAF Branch. They make far too many serious mistakes, and are very slow in correcting them (if they eventually decide to do so). You should double check and calculate your interest payment to make sure they are not underpaid. Mine has been underpaid for about half. They also haven't been keeping their promise. If you also have such experience, please let it known so that they can improve their service.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0