Top Rated Banks

Some online banks may be better for your financial situation than others. Find the online bank that is the best match for you. Draw from the thousands of online bank reviews from customers to select your online bank.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Online Bank Reviews

David20581's Profile Image

David20581 reviewed Charles Schwab Bank

Jun 20th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Money locked and no one cares or does anything about it!

I recently opened a Schwab Bank account because CNN called them one of the "least" evil banks today. I was using them just fine for over a year with no issues or complaints at all. They assured me when I signed up that even though there are no "local" branches near me in Minnesota I could call into the 24 hour phone line and request temporary ATM limits to access my money if necessary and so forth, so I went ahead and did it.

Yesterday afternoon I called in to get a temporary 24 hour ATM card limit increase because I need to take some cash out for a international trip I have coming up. They hung up on me while I was on hold to confirm the limit has been raised for 24 hours. When I went to use the ATM it didn't work, so I called in to find out Instead of raising the limit they blocked all of my 3 ATM cards from being able to pull out any money and no one on the phone there knows how to lift the block. It's now been over 24 hours and not only have they not increased the ATM limit on my card for me, they blocked all my ATM cards from withdrawing any money.

I've talked to customer service reps, managers, supervisors and now the "Client Advocacy Team" but still nothing, no one knows why my ATM cards are blocked, no explanations as to why its happening and no date if ever that they will be unblocked. Only way to get my money now is to close my accounts and hope they issue a check for the balance because they refuse to call me back or explain why they've locked my ATM cards, and I'm not willing to "FLY" to the nearest branch just to withdraw my money.

Think twice before putting your money in the hands of Schwab, at any moment they may lock your account, say no one knows anything, and leave you high and dry for an "unknown" amount of time. Today is Friday so I'll have to cancel my upcoming trip on Sunday because the department that put the block on my account that apparently no one can get a hold of is closed on the weekend.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Meliss's Profile Image

Meliss reviewed USAA

Jun 19th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Switched to USAA

After I got married, my husband and I discussed our finances. One of the questions that we asked ourselves was do we have a joint or a separate bank account. We decided that our household income would be in a joint account, but we would have a separate account for our individual savings. My husband recommend that we use his bank, USAA, for our joint account. I agreed to switch to USAA. My husband added me to his account and my paychecks where deposited directly in our account, however I still maintained a separate account with a local credit union.

USAA in my opinion is the best bank for one's banking needs. No minimum balance, free checking, thousands of preferred ATMs for free and if you use another banks ATM you get a refund, mobile deposits, manage accounts online, and overdraft and international transactions are the lowest compared to other national banks.

USAA is competitive in their rates with items such as: mortgage, auto loans, and credit cards. Also, they offer a special APR during deployment. USAA provides finical advice for retirement needs, insurance, and shopping discounts with participating business.

Another reason for this high review is because USAA gives extra advantages opposed to other leading banks like offering a vehicle storage discount for deployed soldiers, covering military uniforms under their insurance plans, and providing health insurance plans.

These special bonuses is what makes USAA the best bank and no other bank can compare.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

spfaff's Profile Image

spfaff reviewed Ally Bank

Jun 18th 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Customer Service Friendly But Unhelpful For Complex Issues

Ally Bank. I thought it was the smarter way to bank when I found out about them. They don't have branches and because of this, they are able to hand their tech savvy customers better interest rates and no fees at ATMs nationally. With no monthly maintenance fees on checking and saving accounts who could turn that down, right? Wrong.

I've been with Ally for over a year now and major unresolved issues have lead me to turn my back on the company, and have fueled my decision to take my money and deposit it elsewhere. Primarily, while Ally's customer service team is one of the friendliest I've ever dealt with, they are extremely unorganized and inefficient.

When a dispute came up with a merchant I had done business with, I filed for a stop payment. Ally customer service insured that the stop payment would be processed within several business days. Not only did this stop payment not go through, Ally requested I jump through several hoops of paperwork in order for them to supposedly help me solve my claim. I finally got fed up with being asked to submit more and more paperwork as well as being told I didn't need to submit certain documents and then being thereafter requested to do so. I eventually requested to speak to a supervisor who told me the facts: Ally wasn't going to be able to return my money after months of paperwork, and they could only help me prepare a case that would ultimately need to be settled in court.

My thoughts on that were simple: Ally Bank is not a team of lawyers, so why should I waste my time with them when I really just need to be talking to a lawyer. That's where I'm at now nearly a year later.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

spfaff's Profile Image

spfaff reviewed Capital One 360

Jun 18th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

They Will Close Your Account On The Spot

I had issues right from the get-go in initially funding my account. I created a transfer from another checking account and went about my business. I logged in from my mobile phone app later on that week to see the funds were not available and there was no record in my account activity of an incoming transfer. I attempted to transfer the funds again, only to find that this transfer was returned for insufficient funds while the initial transfer eventually posted and showed up in my account activity on the desktop website.

Capital One called me, and told me that basically they don't charge fees, but if it happens again they might close my account. OK. Well, I thought that was a little intense, but a bank has to make money not lose it, so I didn't get too upset about it.

Anyway, a couple months later I incurred other returns on my account and Capital One sent me a message online letting me know that my 360 checking would be closed in 30 days. I called up and spoke to a customer rep who informed me that it was a final decision, and there was no one in the company that I could reach out to. I was warned to take funds out of the account or it could become inaccessible after 30 days. I was very disappointed in this decision and that there was literally nobody I could reach out to in order to explain my situation.

Within the 30 days, I had a check not clear on my account and was called by a representative. He informed me that a transfer I had initiated was being returned back to my other checking account due to a hold on that account. He also informed me that both the checking and savings accounts were being closed immediately instead of at the end of the original 30 days.

I had been a customer for three months, and during a tight financial spot, Capital One 360 was so focused on minimizing losses on fees -they refused to let me pay- that they effectively lost me as a customer. I had just opened a ShareBuilder account for investments, and now I will stick with Scottrade exclusively.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

incognegro's Profile Image

incognegro reviewed USAA

Jun 13th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Crooks and criminals! Run now! You've been warned!

I became a USAA member when my Air Force Reserve recruiter recommended them to me. It seemed legit and I had a great experience with them for the first few years.

Then about three years ago, I had bill-pay setup and then they started retroactively bouncing my checks. When I called to complain, they said that the checks were drawn on the account on the day they went out, which completely defeats the purpose of automatic bill pay! I said " screw it" and cancelled my bill pay; I could pay my bills myself without the extra worry of USAA randomly changing bank policy just so they can get a few extra dollars from me in NSF fees. No muss, no fuss.

Then last year, I wrote a check to pay my rent while I was on TDY. I was already late when I paid it because USAA also had a new policy of retroactively bouncing physical checks that I would personally write and mail in to my leasing company two days early. I didn't make a stink about that, even though I hated that I couldn't trust them to do the right thing. But this time, I waited till I got paid, wrote the rent check on Friday (the same day I got paid) and went about my weekend. On Monday I got a call from the leasing company that I would be evicted if I didn't pay my rent. I checked my account and sure enough they bounced my check even though there was more than enough money to cover it. I called USAA and there was no explanation given. I demanded back the NSF fees and the $50.00 fee my leasing company charged. The lady I spoke to was nice enough to give me all that back, but the damage was already done.

If I can't trust you with literally the most valuable stuff I have: my money, then I want nothing to do with you. USAA made me look like a deadbeat to my leasing company and put a mark on my rental history.

If you value your credit and your money, you should steer far away from USAA. I have been telling everyone in my unit that USAA is a ticking time bomb waiting to blow up their lives. Run!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 1

Sharon H's Profile Image

Sharon H reviewed Ally Bank

Jun 10th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Ally Bank is Right on the Mark!

For the past few years I have banked online with Ally Bank and I am very pleased with having found them. I was searching CD rates several years ago and stumbled upon Ally Bank on the internet. I had never heard of them before. After doing a lot of research and reading about them, I decided to open an account with Ally Bank.

So far I have been very happy with Ally Bank. One of the greatest features is the fact that an actual human being answers the phone, and they can speak English! The phone only rings once or twice usually. I do not get an annoying and time-wasting recorded message. The Ally rep can usually solve my issues in just a few minutes. They are knowledgeable and intelligent, explaining my options.

Also their interest rates are usually higher than any other local bank with any security.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 0

XodoX's Profile Image

XodoX reviewed Ally Bank

Jun 9th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Worst bank ever. Disrespect customers!

Long story short. I wanted to change my address to a P.O. Box address. I made some mistake and the mail was returned. My account was then restricted. I called them to get it open again. They asked me a bunch of odd questions. They just thought I was a fraud. I told them it's my account and it's my money. Talked to countless people but nothing. I even obtained another SSN card because I couldn't find mine. All for nothing! Those morons just closed my account and I am currently banned from opening another count. You got to be kidding. Asking moronic questions such as where are you and how old are you today (like in years and days!).

Not enough they had to be bailed out but they treat you like crap. Horrible bank! When I first called, I didn't even know what happened. The guy kept on talking about home depot. Home depot this, home depot that. Told him I have no clue what he's talking about. Still kept going.

Finally I found out that they sent it to a home depot and HD called them (not true, I even called the store) that they received something for me. Not a big deal. So I mistyped the P.O. Box address.

And they wanted me to send the copy of my SSN card and driver's license by email. Enough said! Must admit I am not a native English speaker and I am pretty sure that set them off. Will file a complaint with the SEC. And I read similar complaints online. Either they are racist or they think anybody who is not a native speaker will defraud them! Who even asks for your SSN card? Couldn't find it right away and started to get mad cause they just kept on asking and asking for all kinds of things. Blood sample must have been the next thing!

Forgot the first guy's name. The other guy was David. Worst of them all was Cathy. Asking me how old I am in years and days. They must be hiring high school drop-outs. Worst things is the whole department is only 3 people, including the "supervisor" Cathy.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 2

isldgrl2008's Profile Image

isldgrl2008 reviewed Charles Schwab Bank

Jun 9th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible Servicing

My experience with Charles Schwab has been a nightmare. They are very slow in processing disbursements. They give the same scripted answers and lame excuses -- one more day, two more days, by Friday, by Tuesday-- but nothing is done.

My online account is not accurate and the customer service representative stated that it is not always updated accurately. So the online account is inaccurate, you call and the customer service representative give you lame excuses and inaccurate time frame and meanwhile the days go by and nothing is done. They are still holding my 401k and my Roth funds. The Roth is not vested but they told me the do the 401k first "then" the Roth, really?

I left my employer 30 days ago. They also try to scare me about withdrawing the money about taxes and fees, trying to convince me to keep my money there. No way. They are horrible. Fidelity gives me my money in my bank account within 3-5 days!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

animaltender's Profile Image

animaltender reviewed Simple

Jun 9th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Scam -- be careful

This sounded very good but I sent in the invite and filled it out including all my bank info. A week later, I got an information stating federal law required this. One thing they wanted was a notarized statement saying I wanted to open an account. Hmm they have my bank info and now they want proof I want to open an account. I have opened many accounts and never have had to provide a notarized statement. I don't trust banks that lie. I will be going to my bank to make sure they can not debt my account.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 4

pseykora11's Profile Image

pseykora11 reviewed Ally Bank

Jun 7th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

World's Worst Auto finance

Do not do business with National Auto Finance/Ally Auto. I attempted to obtain a certificate of title when relocating to a new state and this business spent 3 days jerking me around. I finally attempted to pay off the vehicle and they spent another 2 days jerking me around before providing a payoff amount. This business is so disjointed that one department doesn't know what the other department has told you. I totally recommend using any other business available to you.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0